Goosen’s season is over
9 Oct 2012
Johan Goosen will be sidelined for the rest of the year as he undergoes surgery on his knee on Tuesday.
The 20-year-old Springbok flyhalf suffered a Grade 3 medial tear in his left knee during the first half of the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks last weekend.
Goosen confirmed to keo.co.za that he will go under the knife at 12pm on Tuesday. The final decision was made after doctors and specialists had different opinions on Monday.
It was believed that without surgery, there was still a chance for Goosen to recover in time to feature during the Boks’ end-of-year tour to Europe in November.
However, surgery will allow the player to enjoy a full recovery. He is expected to spend three months on the sidelines.
Goosen has had an unfortunate run with injuries in 2012. He suffered a dislocated shoulder during the Cheetahs’ 36-33 loss to the Highlanders in Bloemfontein in April. He also struggled with a heel niggle during the Rugby Championship.
Goosen’s absence will allow Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies and Pat Lambie to compete for the Bok No 10 jersey during the November Tests.

874 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 18 » Show All
9 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
@Heavens Game-197: Excuse me Nostradamus (not). You were Meyer’s No 1 praise singer. Don’t be joining the ranks of the enlightened at this late stage with ‘I told you so’s’.
You are about 6 months too late.
9 Oct 2012, 11:54 am
@ 196 pedigree
AMEN.
9 Oct 2012, 11:58 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-201: I was mistaken initially. But for the right reasons.
You, my dear, wouldnt understand this.
9 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@Rage-200: Hear hear. If the ref had blown correctly in the first half, the AB’s could have had 4 tries by half time and nil to the boks. I can understand bok fans complaining about Bryce in the WC semi, but in this case the ref was blatantly only reffing the AB’s, the boks got lots of penalties, yet they were still thrashed.
Rather than reading one eyed blogs that confirm your own prejudices, buy a copy of richie’s book which has just gone on sale. It has some great insights into what has made this such a successful all black team.
9 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@Heavens Game-203: You were mistaken because you bought into his little “make all the Sharks Boks” sneakyasshit PR move.
You have since stepped into the light
Don’t let it blind you.
9 Oct 2012, 12:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-196: Sharks, what is the meaning of your nic? I don’t get it
9 Oct 2012, 12:08 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-205: Nope, you are wrong again. I see through Meyer in the same way I see through you…
You see, in the vein of Jim Telfer’s “Honest Rugby Player” (not that you would know anything about this), you get honest rugby players and dishonest ones. Similarly you get the same with supporters and rugby people in general. Meyer has proven he is dishonest.
Similarly you do too… “Doc”
9 Oct 2012, 12:15 pm
@jacoshark-193:
Agree 200%.
People go nuts when I say we should decide on Elton after he’s played for the Stormers. Then we can see how he plays when he isn’t allowed to play ‘risk free’ rugby.
I played for a pretty kak school, and looked pretty good because I had free reign to do what ever the hell I wanted. When I played club rugby after school, I had to change my game to suit a vastly superior team. I kicked for my club, and initially my kicking % was shocking because suddenly all kicks were pressure kicks.
Elton might turn out to be even better at the Stormers (I hope so), but for now, I would go with Lambie because I’ve seen him at every level (and excel at every level too).
9 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-201: i was laughing while reading his post thinking “what happened to Sharks and Bulls are honest and true Springboks supporters” and that “Meyer is a kenner and has realised that the Sharks are the pre-eminent saffa team hence he has picked 9 of them in his RC squad”
latter-day Prophets (they shout the loudest)
9 Oct 2012, 12:26 pm
@Heavens Game-207: Whatever floats thy boat old fella. Being the sound judge of all things integrity related (Meyer: from God to dishonest fraud in 6 months)I value your opinions, on me, rugby and all things relevant
@londonshark-208: Meyer is never going to go with Lambie at 10. Lambie’s only chance of forcing Meyer’s hand I reckon, is by absolutely nailing the 10 position for the Sharks in what remains of the Currie Cup, and then in next year’s S15.
9 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
@Transformation-209: The Church of the Latter Day saints/sinners and prophets……HG is the founding father.
9 Oct 2012, 12:30 pm
I am sincerely and totally petrified that Meyer is going to go back to the Dark Ages of M Steyn and Spies…..
truly farken concerned !!!
9 Oct 2012, 12:31 pm
Jantjes and Lambie must be the 2 10s on eoyt….
Just hope none of them get injured…
9 Oct 2012, 12:32 pm
@grant10-212: Yeah those dark days of 2009 are a scary thought. 5 out of 6 wins in the Trinations.
9 Oct 2012, 12:33 pm
@Rage-200: Relax mate i agree, just posted so people could see whats being said out there, it’s more about his team selections that i agree.
9 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
@super_adi-214: Brussow and Bissy ring a bell….
9 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-196: Cab agree with that, maybe we do have it though, but our coaches do not allow us to use it??
Plum talks about the players being allowed to express themselves on the field and play the situation?? can HM do the same??
9 Oct 2012, 12:39 pm
@sharks_lover-215:
Its funny. Here is our Media praising the Boks and saying they will be a team that will be a #1 team,and then the SA media like a couple of fans moaning…lol
Blik is on the Bakkies path now. He even believes the Chinese and the Indians agree with him…..
9 Oct 2012, 12:40 pm
Notice that when yours truly,the real Kat – the real honest, knowledgeable poster is away, how the number of posts/responses decline hugely….
9 Oct 2012, 12:41 pm
@Hurricane-218:
hurricane, the sport is about outsmarting each other on the field of play, Kiwi’s outsmarted us, thats a fact, and congrats on the win mate,
9 Oct 2012, 12:42 pm
@Heavens Game-219:
hiyAS HG
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-210: And that you should… Not that I really care whether you do or don’t.
@Hurricane-218: Probably a member of the Flat Earth Society as well.
@sharks_lover-220:
Cheers mate.
9 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-223:
haha
9 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
@Hurricane-218: And to each their own i say
Did you read about Richie saying Bryce did wrong by the Boks?? honest fellow he is
9 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
Herr Goebels, your Saint Heyneke turned out to be a false prophet dumbfounded dumbfck, so now what you gonna do about it? don’t come here pretending you knew this all along when the actual words spurting out your mouth were exactly the contrary not even 2 months ago. If anyone has proved dishonesty here you gotta be right at the top head of the class.
I told these dumb fcks to play Hougaard at 9, Pienaar and Goosen, (or if failing fitness then Jantjies) at 10, Taute / Lambie at 15 not Kirchner, De Jongh at 12, JdV at 13. If they needed another wing / center on bench Jordaan or Mapoe, not Mvovo. And they would not have capitulated like a goddamn jelly wobble jerrycan in front of the advancing hordes of Atilla the Hun.
9 Oct 2012, 12:46 pm
It seems the standard of Keo poster has declined rapidly…
In short, just not interesting enough…
9 Oct 2012, 12:47 pm
@sharks_lover-226:
SL, we all know he did wrong.
You would have to be an idiot to believe he reffed a good game.
But Richie is one of the greats and a really nice fella as well.
9 Oct 2012, 12:48 pm
@sharks_lover-221: Huzzit SL… Absolutely schweet that the Dynamite have secured a home CC semi already…
9 Oct 2012, 12:48 pm
@Heavens Game-228: well make it interesting for us
9 Oct 2012, 12:49 pm
@sharks_lover-217: Yes, the Sharks towards the latter end of Super rugby started playing a superior almost Kiwi like offload type game (and totally ditched their, “loose forward carries it up – bash, loose forward carries it up – bash” strategy that the Sharks had used for some while), and most thought the Sharks players selected for the Boks might continue with this…
The truth is, that was never going to happen, firstly because Meyer does not want to play that way, and he made that clear, and secondly, the player’s who thrive in that type of game, Keegan and co, were never going to be long term selections for Meyer (he made that clear as well).
So what happens now? Do players like Keegan, Marcell etc continue to believe in THEIR type of game, even if it means they will never sniff a Bok selection again, or be relegated to the bench? Or will they revert to the ‘Meyer style’, even when vack at their unions in order to try and impress Meyer? It might sound stupid, but I think it’s a legitimate concern.
In your team’s case, it is obvious that Plumtree has very little regard for Meyer, his man management, and his strategies. Who is going to suffer = players?
9 Oct 2012, 12:49 pm
@Heavens Game-230: lol yup. Boys doing us proud again,
6 playoffs at home 6 years in a row
9 Oct 2012, 12:52 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-232: I again aagree with you on this.
Lets hope Plum gets them to believe in how he had them playing, It does seem to be the case though as one sees it in the CC team still going forward.
I was one that thought HM should be given a chance, not shy to admit it, but how dissapointing he has been.
In players with skills like Daniels? Hm wouldnt know what to do with that kind of skill set if it smacked him between the eyes.
9 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@Hurricane-229: Agree mate.
9 Oct 2012, 12:56 pm
@fitz1ella-227: Its seems that the only thing that I was slightly mistaken about what the fact that
although you can take the Meyer out of the Bulls, you cant take the Bull out of Meyer…
He is confused, irrational, outdated and dishonest…
Quite similar to you in some ways… Especially since you were his acolyte when Jake White had something to say about him…
Now read and learn something new… Your latest shy’te is getting repetitive. You didn’t even thank yours truly for the supremacist angle that you been harping on and on about lately…
9 Oct 2012, 12:59 pm
Is it just me or is this Goosen okie a bit fragile and injury prone? This may turn out to be a very short career if he keeps it up. Brussouw another done in completely by the injury curse.
All I have to say is super Gangnam Style! Hop!
9 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
And as for these farken Kiwis… the fact that they gonna probably break the consecutive wins record is going to send the fullas into ejaculations of arrogance never seen before in planet rugby…
Not that they needed to be any more arrogant than they already have been…
Farken All Black Fascists… and their Sieg Heilesque Hakamania
9 Oct 2012, 13:02 pm
@sharks_lover-226: He was using it as a subtle excuse to whinge about Bryce’s reffing of the super15 final.
Henry also acknowledged it in his book, but he had to i guess. He compared it to our QF in 2007
9 Oct 2012, 13:06 pm
I see all the usual suspects… the usual Cape Crusading apologists have already put the All Blacks on their Nuremburg like pedestals…
Kapo Sieg Heil Pango
9 Oct 2012, 13:07 pm
@Hurricane-218: that’s not “praise” that is a “prediction” at best…”the boks can be the best side in the world” – proviso – IF THEY ARE COACHED PROPERLY TO PLAY TO THEIR TALENTS AND NOT THE PERCIEVED TRADITIONAL STRENGTH.
on Re>union last week TJ had Foster in the studio and was praising him for the way the ABs have stuck to perfecting this “new” expansive way of playing where they’re quick to push the passes wide, regardless if it’s forwards or backs outwide everyone must master the skills of keeping the ball moving – exhibited in Dunedin – Dagg’s try where both Whitelock & Read pulled off 1-handed off-loads.
Fossy replied: “we persevered with this strategy because we knew we weren’t forcing a way of playing these guys cannot grasp or execute, it was just a matter of getting it right in pressure situations and when they got comfortable the passes started to stick.”
now between Hansen, Foster, Maclean & Byrne they all have a minimum of Super Rugby coaching experience while in the SA coaching staff, only Meyer has coached Internationally as an Assistant at best.
the Bok coaches are intellectually inferior, something Jake White pointed out after the Argie game at Newlands ir 1st round!
9 Oct 2012, 13:09 pm
Its also interesting to see that those journos and supporters of the “Traditional Powers”… The same “traditional powers” spearheading the latest Bok “conquests”… Those North/South “Giants” are farken whining like stuck pigs about the Currie Cup…
Farken dishonest twats deluxe.
9 Oct 2012, 13:11 pm
Whatcanyoudo….. there is so much self-contradicting going on here, its even funny.
Bring in Goossen NOW. Bring in Jantjes. Drop Morne.
Meyer is a fool for bringing in Goossen. Jantjes thrown to the lions!
Taute is the man. No Meyer v*ked him up already, already a lost case.
Only one captain. JDV. Drop JDV. Hougaard must start. Hougaard not a wing!
Frans Steyn. Lambie. Centre fullback or flyhalve.
The possibilities for not agreeing is endless.
Most everybody going on about negative issues.
There are plenty of positives to take out the first season.
Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaany.
9 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
what kakkas you talking supremacy garbage, which ‘yours truly’, you? Please man, White and Meyer are peas in a f’ng pod, supremacy arseholes united, like the rest of the 80% fcknuts who still harp on about supremacy bokkie rugby. I seen supremacy oozing out these arseholes backside since delinquency day already, you think its news to me? What is far more interesting is where has all your ‘Heyneke’s going to lead the new Boks breed to the promised land’ you were singing so profusely when I was front of the queue telling you he ain’t? What’s changed since then, your specs or the fact he dropped Keegie out his squad and Lambiepambie been riding bench?
9 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-232: @sharks_lover-234: all you need to listen to are all the players when interviewed…like robots
“we believe in the coach’s vision and we’ve bought into the gameplan”
drink the kool-aid or cool your jets on the bench…
9 Oct 2012, 13:17 pm
@Heavens Game-242:
What you blathering about
9 Oct 2012, 13:18 pm
@Transformation-245: It’s agree or get dropped it seems
9 Oct 2012, 13:19 pm
@shooter-243: Meyer’s selection are the most GLARING negative!
- Pottie at 7, Alberts at 8
- Selecting & dropping Keegan
- JJ Englebrecht over de Jongh, drop Engelbrecht pick de Jongh on the bench, pick Taute – in a position he only played in junior rugby and in 2010 for the surrender monke.y Lions in a season they lost ALL their games – over de Jongh.
- picking Goosen after a lengthy injury straight into the Bok team against Cheetahs medical stuff advice!
- playing Goosen when his heel is fecked!
- Dean Greyling selection
- ALL of Heyneke’s SUBSTITUTION decisions starting with the England series, PUTRID!!!
9 Oct 2012, 13:20 pm
@Heavens Game-242:
Ironic you talking about the level of debate here when all you can manage is Hiyas Schweet Boom
9 Oct 2012, 13:21 pm
@fitz1ella-244: Actually, Meyer dropping Keegan and underplaying Lambie are EXACTLY the symptoms of his terminal Bok coaching illness…
The fact that they are both Sharks is incidental to me and most other honest rugby supporters which clearly are in the minority on this farkedup part of planet rugby’s blogosphere…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 18 » Show All