Goosen’s season is over

Johan Goosen will be sidelined for the rest of the year as he undergoes surgery on his knee on Tuesday.

The 20-year-old Springbok flyhalf suffered a Grade 3 medial tear in his left knee during the first half of the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks last weekend.

Goosen confirmed to keo.co.za that he will go under the knife at 12pm on Tuesday. The final decision was made after doctors and specialists had different opinions on Monday.

It was believed that without surgery, there was still a chance for Goosen to recover in time to feature during the Boks’ end-of-year tour to Europe in November.

However, surgery will allow the player to enjoy a full recovery. He is expected to spend three months on the sidelines.

Goosen has had an unfortunate run with injuries in 2012. He suffered a dislocated shoulder during the Cheetahs’ 36-33 loss to the Highlanders in Bloemfontein in April. He also struggled with a heel niggle during the Rugby Championship.

Goosen’s absence will allow Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies and Pat Lambie to compete for the Bok No 10 jersey during the November Tests.

874 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1118 » Show All

• 251.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-249: Shutup wench… And thats probably the most honest thing you ever heard on this site…

• 252.nama1: Reply to this comment

@shooter-243:
    Tell us a bit more about the “Maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaany positives to take out the first season.”

• 253.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Got to laugh at how you blind fools actually cant see how embarrassing Vermeulen actually is as an International No 8.

The only thing going for him is size… Actually he is about as effective as Spies has been the last few years…

He is an average to fair blindsider masquerading as an 8 – as shown plainly by Read…

Yet you fools masquerading as “experts” and “Docs” reckon he is the farken real deal business…

Farken myopic, tunnel visioned idjits…

• 254.Dawn: Reply to this comment

All I hear is wawawawawawawblahblah

• 255.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

the only positive anyone can take out of the first season is that some of those with blue/black blinkers on a few weeks ago have suddenly found themselves all shrouded in the light of awakened understanding that this so called messiah Heyneke isn’t a messiahs arse?

That’s about the biggest positive anyone can take out of watching Boks produce 2 ****** wins vs England, one ****** win vs Argentina, and one reasonable win against an injury ravaged fckd up Australia, 4 wins 3 of which were ******, out of 9 games, that kinda puts the mockery on any goddamn positively passive realization that Boks have gotten lumbered with a ****** coach way out of his dumbfck league.

• 256.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I watched JdV closely these last couple of tests… and I do concede one thing about him – he is a clever player…

Clever at manoeuvring himself out of the firing line in defence… He is a walking passenger especially on D. Effectively the Boks are one man down in the wide channels as a result of his continual avoidance, as demonstrated in the 2nd half on Saturday…

Its actually an indictment on these AB’s being a “great” team that they didn’t wake up to this earlier…

A disgrace actually in terms of frontline leadership and claims to greatness.

• 257.katman: Reply to this comment

Why is everyone fighting here? Has skoppie been stepping his unique brand of sht through this thread again?

• 258.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-232: They will listen to the coach who encouraged and
    kept the faith with them.IMHO the best coach we have

• 259.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-240: HG I praised them as a great team.I am not a CC but credit where it is due.

• 260.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Fark me, and isn’t it plain to see that Hougaard hasn’t a clue what is cutting as an International wing…

An embarrassment…

But because he is an “it” player / a farken mock welsh imitation tattoo canvas that appeals to the trendoids, the majority – especially on this segment of blogfuckery – are absolutely blind to this…

• 261.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Must ask where all the Coenie fanboys are now…

WTF… Doodpoes my farken left foot man…

He was absolutely smoked on Saturday…

He actually single handedly demonstrated how underrated Doc DuP actually is.

• 262.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-250:
    Honestly HG, how come you did not see the “the symptoms of his terminal Bok coaching illness…” when Meyer omitted Heinrich Brussow from his 40 man training squad….when he included people like Jaques Potgieter, JJ Engelbrecht, Wynand Olivier, Jano Vermaak in that same squad even though some of them did not even play much rugby in the S15 and a guy like Potgieter was out injured at that stage and haven’t played rugby for weeks?

How come you only saw “the symptoms of his terminal Bok coaching illness…” after the absolute diabolical treatment of Keegan and Lambie?

• 263.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-244: Hi Skop.Remember the exchange we had about obscenity free posts.You were doing so well,but have back slidden.I realise that you are being provoked bt you “rise
    to the bait like a trout to the fly”
    My advice of following the AA precept of 1 post at a time still prevails.

• 264.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Please select Morne for the EOYT Heyneke. I cannot wait for the comments on this site to completely implode!

• 265.nama1: Reply to this comment

I give you credit for seeing the light but don’t act as if you were the one who discovered it.

Doc has been playing good rugby since the EOYT in 2010. There is nobody better than him in SA at the moment.

• 266.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-259: They are a good side… But nowhere near the AB “losers” of 95/96, Mallets record equalling Boks, the England side of 2002/03, the Aussies of 90/91… Yet.

The stain of a dishonest RWC 2012 final will haunt them for a while to come… Not to mention that the top five opposition aren’t quite setting the world alight either…

They are certainly the best in average times of International rugby… But best of average is good at best… certainly not great.

• 267.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

AB’s were made to look a lot better than they are under the capitulation of this fckup boertjie hero messiah leading the charge of the fckup brigade in reverse. This dumb fck white coach is thicker than all his branded white fckup disciples all lying in a heap one on top of the other as is so pathetically portrayed in this boertjie paradise all fck’dup to hell.

Now the souties are crying there not enough souties in the team while the boertjies are moaning that their messiah isn’t a messiahs arsehole. So where to from here for the poor fckd up bokkie deluded psyche,? I know,., bring back the colored dude at least one clown can laugh at himself and make light of all the dreary fck’d up anxiety

• 268.nama1: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-264:
    No doubt Morne will be in the squad and in the starting line up for good measure.

I have no doubt about that. Meyer made it clear that he did not throw Morne to the scrap heaps when he dropped him. He was merely giving him a “mental break.”

• 269.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

THREAD GOING FERAL AGAIN.LEKKER

• 270.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@nama1-268:

At least November will be entertaining from a rugby front then on here.

• 271.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1-262: Actually, I don’t reckon Ratel deserved a Bok call up…

It is obvious why those other names were selected… as it is obvious why Stormers players are now flooding the Bok squad…

Its this traditional North / South supremacy bulls.hit belief that is leading the Boks straight back into the dark ages…

But you blind fools cant see this – because you believe it too… Its just that you are the southern side of this “traditional power” coin…

The bottom side of this farken yearn for the past, dream of bygones, “when the traditional powers are strong, Boks are strong” flipping coin…

Dumbfucks

• 272.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-271: I w ould like to see.

Fullback.Everybody is a pale imitation of Andre Joubert but le Roux the closest

Left Wing Ruhle
    Right wing.Habana

Outside centre.I honestly dont know
    Inside Centre Frans steyn

Flyhalf. not exactly Naas but Lambie
    Scrummie. Once again I honestly dont know.

Cannot be accused of bias here. 2 sharks

W e need thinking innovative players who play the situation.

• 273.poppa69: Reply to this comment

bewdiful..

a 20 points to zero second half..

an inaugural TRC with NZ forever etched as the first winners..just like the world cup.

not one loss throughout TRC

Games played at FNB, Soweto

ABs 2 wins

SA no wins..

SA rugby is k@k … perhaps you guys SHOULD go up north, you seem to be at their skill level..

I tipped an AB win by 14, imagine my surprise when it was by more..

16 straight wins

World Champions actually giving credence to the title..

Bakkies still seeing tokoloshes everywhere wearing black..

life just doesnt get any better..

• 274.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

The REAL shining lights of the 2 out of 6 success era of Traditional Power Meyer so far are, in order:

1. Francois Louw (How Stormers not only let this player go but did not let him play to his full capability like he has demonstrated the last few games and the RWC QF too, demonstrates truly why they will never win anything at all)

2. Brian Habana.

3. Jannie DuP

4. Coetsee before his brainwashing.

• 275.nama1: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-270:
    OH YES!!! :lol:

@Heavens Game-271:
    In the match 22 on Saturday, there:
    7 Stormers
    5 Sharks
    3 Bulls
    3 Cheetahs
    2 Lions
    2 overseas players

I fail to see where your ” traditional North / South supremacy” conspiracy theory fits in.

No man…… just admit it, you are still pissed because of the way Keegan and then Lambie was treated by HM. :lol:

• 276.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-274: Coetzee is another overated player – if u think Vermeulen is average then ja shame Coetzee just concusses himself against anything in reach. Try effing Kolisi for a player with some real brains.

• 277.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Sharks fans haven’t seen the light.The only reason they so pissed off at Heyneken is the fact that he turned Lambie into Forest Bum and discarded their captain of captains.Sharks fans remind me of adulterous husbands that got caught out.They don’t cry because they realised the errors of their ways,but rather for being exposed as cheats.

• 278.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-275:

@HG
    Oh, and the only reason why you felt that Brussow did not deserve a call up was because HM preferred a Sharkie (Coetzee) in his place.

Be honest now. :lol:

• 279.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-273: All of that, and you’re still a rancid little puddle of poop.

• 280.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@nama1-265: thank you for that.And no no8 playing better than KD

• 281.wnbb: Reply to this comment

KD is CC quality…fact.

• 282.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Pissy would like Morne Steyn back in the saddle, Herr Goebels would like Lambiepambie at 10, the kaapse klopse would never be satisfied unless Jantjieriekie is standing in the fly half channel. Jake the Fake last white shrinking violation is sticking his knife in from goolongondwanaland, as if he got any goddamn clue what cuts where.

Mallet is perhaps the only genuinely rugby educated guesser in the country along with the ASHwise man as to wtf is actually going down before the rest of the countryside’s befuddled eyesight. So I got a solution for the problem, pick a neutralized neutral, somebody without any hidden agenda, not a petty self seeking prick who don’t want politically charged fetchers passing lukewarm water into his bragging braai beer bottles, or a Sieg Heil little dictating hit and run merchant trying his level best to resurrect the last white tribal hereditary herd in Africa to try prove to himself that supremacy stakes still count, nor a poor insufficiently enlightened stooge put in place by petty political pressure. Just pick a neutralized neutral somebody with zero axes to grind. I got the solution, pick a nonentity nobody, that way if he fcks up its easy as pie, a crucifix or a gas chamber is the easy as pie solution to eradicate the imposition from out of the last heilige bastion of collected colloquial contempt.

• 283.grant10: Reply to this comment

Play Pat at flyhalf

——————————————————————————–

by Gavin Rich 09/10/2012, 12:00

If you’re reading this column because you think the headline is an indication I am calling on Heyneke Meyer to play Pat Lambie at flyhalf, I am sorry to disappoint.

The call is not to the Springbok coach, but to Sharks coach John Plumtree, who by playing Lambie at fullback for most of Super Rugby effectively ruled him out of consideration for the pivot position in Meyer’s team.

“What about Lambie?” was a whisper that came out of Durban when Meyer decided to entrust young Johan Goosen with the No 10 jersey after he finally accepted that Morne Steyn needed to be excluded from his team.

Well what about him? If he’s not playing flyhalf for his franchise or provincial team, you can hardly then push for him to play that position for his country. Sorry, but if there is one thing that Meyer definitely has right, it is his line that he is not going to play Lambie as a flyhalf if he is not playing there for his province.

So in answer to the incredulous email I received from someone who rates himself highly as a commentator on South African rugby but lives overseas, and asked how Meyer could possibly play Elton Jantjies and Zane Kirchner in key positions, I have to forward a question of my own – if you don’t play Jantjies, who do you play?

It can’t be Lambie if he is not playing there for his union, and frankly if you don’t know what Jantjies is capable of as a flyhalf, then it underlines the problems associated with being a critic on matters related to South African rugby when you live many thousands of kilometres away.

Had the person in question been at Soccer City this past Saturday he would have heard the rousing reception Jantjies received when he came onto the field. He would also have heard how the noise in the stadium reached a crescendo when he was called up to take a kick for goal.

The message in all that was that most South Africans who live here and have seen Jantjies play flyhalf for the Lions week in and week out during the Currie Cup and Super Rugby seasons know what his abilities are. He may play for a struggling union, but like Lambie did in 2010, he helped spearhead a Currie Cup title for that union in 2011.

And the respected coaches who have worked with him, such as former All Black mentor John Mitchell, as well I am told as former Bok World Cup-winning flyhalf Butch James, are quite emphatic that he is good enough to play international rugby.

There are still aspects of his game that Jantjies needs working on, but then you would say the same about both Lambie and Goosen. The last mentioned is definitely the man for the future and for the 2015 World Cup, but all the flyhalves are a work in progress and Jantjies, apart from his playing ability, seems to have a good head on his shoulders. As the pack had simply run out of puff by the second half, he can’t be blamed for the defeat at Soccer City.

My backing of Jantjies is a change from a year ago. After what Lambie did for the Sharks in 2010, I thought he was the business. But if the Sharks really rate Lambie highly as a potential match-winning flyhalf, they should not be playing anyone else ahead of him, particularly when Louis Ludik has shown that he is as good as any fullback currently playing in that position in this country.

So if South African rugby is going to gain anything from a sudden full-strength snippet of Currie Cup that frankly is counter-productive to the Springboks and the national good, let’s see Lambie play flyhalf in these remaining weeks.

It looks as though injury is going to force Goosen to miss the end of year tour, and unless Meyer goes back to Steyn or to Peter Grant, who I am also starting to change my mind about now that I am seeing what the Boks might need to become more of an attacking force, that really does leave only Jantjies.

Jantjies says he is ready, I believe he is ready, and deep down I think the same of Lambie. But if the Lambie supporters want to give Meyer food for thought, their man has to wear the No 10 for his province and do what he did so effectively in 2010. If he doesn’t, his capabilities will start becoming a myth rather than any sort of fact

• 284.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-281: Fact is he plays better
    than all the other No 8,s inCC.What does that make the.

• 285.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

the = them

• 286.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-279: and youre still supporting a team that is rubbish, is built up by dckhead supporters like yourself who believe you guys have talent?

bwahahahahah

SA rugby isnt k@k, its fcken embarassing..

what is it now, 14 games ahead in the head to head stats? 34 wins versus 12 since 92?

please, keep giving it to me, the rugby stats of the last twenty years are such a delight and make you look like the sore loser you are

SA rugby is brainless, like its many supporters who continue to believe you guys have the talent to compete… you guys cant even get ahead of the Aussies on the rankings, a team you guys all berate and give them heaps, but they continually outdo you guys… its farken classic the delusion you all live under

get real, you guys are rubbish…FACT!!!

• 287.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

poppa69 what was NZ’s win ratio against SA before we HAD to pick 3+ quotas per game? – I.E. before 1996?? quotas forced after the 1995 RWC!

• 288.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-274:

1. Flo moved since he was seen as surplus to Bok requirements. Meyer only turned to him once ish hit the fan with Potgieter.

2. So no credit to the Stormers management for sticking with him even when everybody was calling for his head? Hypocrite you are.

3. Jannie’s been steady since RWC 2011, waar was jy?

4. Coetzee started with a spark but has faded as the season continued.

• 289.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-277:
    That’s why some of them are so quiet when HM and his performance as Bok coach is under discussion. They want to be able to say, “I always had trust in Meyer,” if ( a big IF) he eventually gets it right.

Gone are the “a Bok team must play to win every test” that we’ve heard when Meyer was appointed. You now have to “be patient, Meyer has a plan…things will come right.”

• 290.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-287:

You mean those same years when players of color weren’t allowed to play against the Boks in SA?

Goold old days ne.

• 291.grant10: Reply to this comment

Ireland, Scotland and England await…..

Going to be tough…..If we lose a game or 2 then the heat will be well and truly on maximum……

Mallet watching quietly……

I wonder?????

• 292.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-286:

Choker

• 293.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Oh, I’m going to enjoy this.

• 294.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

There were a few of us who warned about the dangers of starting Goosen so soon. And despite the strangely aggressive responses we were given that Goosen will be fine to start and has no problem with pressure or injury, our warnings unfortunately became reality.

Goosen is potentially world class, no doubt. Jantjies too…. But starting a talented 20 year old flyhalf so soon in his career (especially after the South African rugby public has just eaten Morné Steyn alive) was definitely a mistake. Goosen has shown glimpses of exciting play, but overall, he his nerves have got the better of him and he has not played with the confidence we know he is capable of.

Why?

Because these things take time. He is 20 for ******’s sake…..

When a rampaging Schalk Burger hit the scene, he was amazing from the word “Go”…. But Flank is a very, very different position from flyhalf. Flyhalf requires technical precision and mental control. For this reason, it is almost always better to phase in a young flyhalf gradually.

Otherwise…

You get a potentially world class flyhalf missing his kicks, damaging his own confidence and then getting injured for the rest of the year.

The smarter option would have been to start Lambie at flyhalf for the rest of the Rugby Championship (to be honest, I would have been starting him from the very first test against England instead of Morné)…. After 5 or 6 tests of Lambie starting, with Goosen coming on for the last 20 minutes, you then make a call on whether to reverse the roles.

Unfortunately, we now have situation where Goosen’s confidence is damaged and Elton’s confidence is damaged and Lambie has not been given any game-time.

So I would now like to know where those people are? The ones who so aggressively told us we were completely and utterly wrong when we warned about starting Goosen so soon… Where are they now?

• 295.nama1: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-280:
    I’ve been on record wrt my admiration for Keegan.

My dream loose trio, all players being fit, would be:
    6. Heinrich Brussow
    7. Schalk Burger
    8. Keegan Daniel.

Skills, brawn and brains. :lol:

@grant10-283:
    Not necessarily directed at you G10 but since you post this article by Rich.

” If he’s not playing flyhalf for his franchise or provincial team, you can hardly then push for him to play that position for his country. Sorry, but if there is one thing that Meyer definitely has right, it is his line that he is not going to play Lambie as a flyhalf if he is not playing there for his province.

I can agree with the 1st part of what Rich says. Lambie has to play FH for the Sharks if he wants to be selected there for the Boks. But.. how does one explain Meyer’s selection of:

JdV (a 12) at 13.
    Taute (a 15/11) at 13
    Habana (a 11) at 14
    Hougaard (a 9) at 11

None of the players above played for their franchises in the same positions where they were selected for the Boks.

Lambie and his supporters may feel aggrieved by his treatment therefor.

• 296.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Mallet is the last guy to talk about playing exciting rugby… when he coached italy his gameplan was >>> give away as many penalties as possible – keep the score as low as possible….

• 297.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-275 : “I fail to see where your ” traditional North / South supremacy” conspiracy theory fits in”

you won’t see it…as soon as Meyer dropped “the Christian Cullen of loosies” and made Lambie grow a splinter as big as the tree in jack & the beanstalk up this bum, the love was GONE! :lol:

i recall HG predicting how the Sharks were going to beat the Stormers at Newlands in the semi, words to the effect of :the Sharks should take leaf right out of Heyneke’s Execution over Innovation”

now all of a sunday he is the Oracle

• 298.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so

2 wins out of 6 in TRC

4 wins out of 9 tests, with all this “amazing talent” ?

bwahahahaha

a talent for deluding yourselves is the only talent you Saffas have,,

vatso mamparras..

• 299.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

291 Is Mallet the next saviour?

• 300.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-283: Did this idiot Gavin Rich actually watch Super Rugby? Lambie played most of his games for Sharks at Flyhalf NOT Fullback. He played 3 games at fullback and 9 games at Flyhalf for Sharks. He only missed out playing flyhalf when he picked up a injury to his mouth against Brumbies and Canes on the away tour. Then when we got back Lambie started again at fh against Chiefs, Force and Landers. Against the Cheetahs he had flu. Man it irates me that some think Lambie mostly played fb this year. He NEVER he played mostly fh for the Sharks. It was because he picked up the injury playing for Boks against England that we never saw him again play fh.

Lambie played FB against the Stormers at the Tank then again against the Lions. A half game at fb against Cheetahs and the final. That idiot Rich should take notice before writing his articles.

Lambie at fh this season.

Bulls
    Stormers
    Lions
    Reds
    Tahs
    Blues
    Chiefs
    Force
    Landers (Lambie was mom here)

Played FB against

Stormers at the tank
    Lions at Ellis Park
    Cheetahs at the tank (only half a game due to injury)
    Final against Chiefs.

So he only played 3 and a half games at fb. 9 at flyhalf. Was injured for 5 games counting the play offs. Rich should get his facts right first.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1118 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.