Goosen’s season is over

Johan Goosen will be sidelined for the rest of the year as he undergoes surgery on his knee on Tuesday.

The 20-year-old Springbok flyhalf suffered a Grade 3 medial tear in his left knee during the first half of the Rugby Championship Test against the All Blacks last weekend.

Goosen confirmed to keo.co.za that he will go under the knife at 12pm on Tuesday. The final decision was made after doctors and specialists had different opinions on Monday.

It was believed that without surgery, there was still a chance for Goosen to recover in time to feature during the Boks’ end-of-year tour to Europe in November.

However, surgery will allow the player to enjoy a full recovery. He is expected to spend three months on the sidelines.

Goosen has had an unfortunate run with injuries in 2012. He suffered a dislocated shoulder during the Cheetahs’ 36-33 loss to the Highlanders in Bloemfontein in April. He also struggled with a heel niggle during the Rugby Championship.

Goosen’s absence will allow Morne Steyn, Elton Jantjies and Pat Lambie to compete for the Bok No 10 jersey during the November Tests.

874 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1218 » Show All

• 301.NagouGrote: Reply to this comment

FROM INSIDE THE BOK CAMP
    I spoke to a source very close to the BOKS and I thought I would share some of the insights with the bloggers here. It may explain a thing or two – The guy being involved with rugby and the BOKS knows the game – here goes:
    1. Louis Koen as a kicking coach is changing the kicking styles of the kickers – he was very critical of Koen – wont repeat what he said.
    2. After the game the senior BOKS were devasted about the loss – Apparently the juniors – and here I do not want to mention names – were still laughing and joking – now what does that tell you? For me there is something serioulsy wrong with the culture within the squad if the guys are all not devastated about the loss.
    3. My source singled out Goosen as a humble serious young man extremely talented but injury prone _ the Bok management will have to find a way to look after him otherwise they are going to break him -
    4. He was severly critical of the coaches and suggested Vlok, Nienaber and McFarlane as alternatives.
    5. But the worst for me was the fact that every All Black stopped to talk to Joost who according to my source is a very sick man who can hardly speak or walk.They wished him well and spoke nicely to him and brought him presents from NZ and thanked him for the impact he had on rugby in NZ. In contrast only JDV and a BOK management team member spoke to Joost none of the other BOKS. JDV hailed Joost as the biggest icon of Bok rugby at the after function. Now I do not know what this tells you but for me it says the ABS are decent guys and the have a good culture in the team as opposed to our Prima Donnas – For me the rot in the fish starts at the head – What sort of culture is Heyneke breeding there? I would love to read your comments.

• 302.nama1: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-287:
    “quotas forced after the 1995 RWC!”

Don’t be stupid. What about Chester?

What was the overall winning percentage of the Boks pre-1995 and what is it currently?

The AB improved while the Boks stagnated.

@grant10-291:
    Losses against England and Ireland.
    Draw against Scotland.

:lol: :lol:

• 303.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-299: kia ora boet..

how good were the blackness? so sorry Ive missed bakkies implosion this week, I do wonder if HG enjoyed France at this time of year, and I can just bet both Katman and Gunther have been very vocal with their ummm “diversions” (I think they call it humour, but I thought it would have to be at least a little funny)..

isnt it great that blokes like them have had it served back in such large portions.? many many predictions before the game had the blackness succumbing to the might of the grren, but that might is imaginary and the dream they all live in is beautiful to watch,,,

I do feel for our Saffa brothers, they cant help their stupid :D

• 304.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-298:

Not for the first time I agree with you Poops…There really are some deluded half-wits on here sometimes..Have you seen the start of this thread?!?!?!? Seems like they all come out after sunset likethefuckingcockroaches they are.

But there really are some level-headed, sometimes a bit emo, types on here too..but that win ratio certainly is damning

• 305.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-291: The way we are playing we could very well lose to Ireland and England. Who knows even Scotland we lost to them once on their soil with Matfield being captain eoyt 2010.

• 306.phil72: Reply to this comment

@nama1-295:

Problem is that the sharks do not have confidence with lambie at fly half… over the past 3 odd years they have recruited 2 internationals in Hernández and mchilak and and for next year hey want to get hold of Jantjies????? Maybe Lambie needs to move along to a franchise they would play him at 10?

• 307.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-298: Poppa dude ive had some good convos with you but if were all so **** why do you continually hang out here with us? If the All Blacks accolades were so great surely that would suffice? Ive never hung out on english blogs during and after a B&I Lions tour so I dont really get the acid bitterness you keep spewing forth here. Its very unbecoming and unsportsmanlike. And if your answer is people on here have been doing it for ages then really youre no better than them are you? Give it a rest mate.

• 308.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@NagouGrote-301:

Hopefully your source has some pull re: the selection of staff. Hopefully this sentiment is felt by other senior staff who could actually affect some change.

• 309.Puma: Reply to this comment

@phil72-306: Go read my post 300. Lambie played most his games this year at fh. Only when he got injured did Fred play fh.

Hernandez came to Sharks when Lambie was 19 years old. He had not played a Super Rugby game yet. Hernandez left with a back injury. He was NOT brought in that we never rated him. Jeez get your facts right. Lambie was 19 years old man. Plum played Lambie at fb to bring him into Super Rugby which was the right thing to do. He stared his first game against the Highlanders in NZ. Lambie then went on to CC after the 2010 Super Rugby to play inside centre for a few games for Sharks and then Plum only switched him to FH. The right thing to do with a young player. Ease him into the fh position. He was brilliant in the CC final of 2010. Then started all games at fh in 2011 for Sharks at fh until he picked up a finger injury.

• 310.poppa69: Reply to this comment

257.katman said:
    6 Oct 2012, 14:21 pm
    All Blacks are gonna be reduced to 50 shades of grey. Moaning softly, sweating profusely and mumbling, “oh god, oh god”

classic Katman, loving it…

• 311.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-309: stared = started

• 312.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-307:

He is baiting the morons on here Slummie..it is not aimed at rational people such as yourself.

• 313.NagouGrote: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy 308 Unfortunately he is not in a capacity to have an influence but know some of the BOKS well and can certainly judge the feeling and I dont like what I hear.

• 314.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-299:

I too have lost count with who the next saviour of SA rugby is going to be.

• 315.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-312: yeah fair play but honestly what a waste of time and life. Surely there are better things to do with ones time.

• 316.husky: Reply to this comment

@Nagou; Sort of confirms some of my feelings. My gut feel is that the AB’s respect rugby somewhat more than many SA players. As you say, SA’s players don’t seem to have been inculcated into the same culture of respect for the game. Also RM actually seems a good guy (I’ll wash my mouth out with soap now). Refs love him (CJ told us) and remember the storey with Heyneke’s sone and RM’s boots. Heart warming.

• 317.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-294:

What you on about?

Goosen was/is ready for Test rugby.

He tear the Aussies a new one and vs the AB’s we were in relative control before he left, soon as he went our backline went to pieces.

However we put it though this situation is the end result of poor selection and planning by HM in the first place.

Jantjies should’ve gotten game time vs England already since in MEYER’S VIEW Lambie’s no flyhalf.

I for one still backs Goosen along with Jantjies & Lambie to take Bokke forward

• 318.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Kaizan-294: This whole habit of hailing any new young prospect as an immediate superstar is such bull sh*t

I mean how can some SA fans expect these guys barely out of school to mix it up against guys like Carter, McCaw and co and demolish them? What freaking dimension do these idiots live in?? And already on the weekend it started, oh Goosen’s overhyped, he’s a p ussy, he’s soft, he’s got no BMT etc etc…***** the mind boggles! Considering it was the same c ocktonsils who were hyping him up beyond all sense of reality to begin with!

The guy has incredible talent, there’s no question, and most saffer and kiwi guys aknowledge that (except that diarhhea-stain Poppa ) but the’s got a long long way to go and a lot to learn still…same goes for EJ…plenty of talent, bit talent means sqaut when it’s undeveloped and wasted the way the current coaches are wasting it

The kwis HAMMERED us, anyone with their eyes open could see that, even with 9-0 openalty count and 14 men, they reamed us. I can’t even decide where it went most wrong, it went wrong everywhere. Fitness, discipline, placekicking, defence…..etc etc etc they outclassed us all the way, and it f ucking galls me to have to say it, but truth is not a democracy.

And the coach and captain can waffle on about that ‘soft moments’ bulls*it and how we’re ‘almost there’…almost there is not there, everyone in this setup needs to put up their f ucking hands and start stepping up, starting with Heyneke and his ‘coaches’, closely followd by the senior players. It’s not the coach making rubbish decisions out there, taking wrong options, slacking on defence or not finding touch. We’ve become ****** deluded about how we could have won if we’d done this or that, or we actually won exept on the scoreboard, or we could have won if we landed our kicks bla bla bla bla it;’s so ****** boring…..and worse of all, the ref excuses (Bakkies bugbear) Rolland couldn’t have won that game for us if he cut off one of McCaw’s arms stabbed Nonu and kicked Carter in the nuts, we were that k ak in the last 50min

The sooner the whole bok setup stops congratulating themselves on beating a decimated aussie side, & how close they are to the AB’s (!!!) and starts feeling some damn shame and start focusing on doing the basics right, getting better and fitter and stronger, the sooner we’ll start winning regularly again.

• 319.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-297:
    Don’t we know it Transie. He can try to deny it all he can.

@NagouGrote-301:
    Interesting points raised.

So Koen is die remskoen wat ons skoppers laat flop met hul skoppe pale toe.

Isn’t McFarland there already as Defensive coach? Why would you want McFarland and Nienaber in the same set up? They are both defensive coaches.

On Joost. Didn’t he hand over the jerseys in Argentina recently?

@phil72-306:
    Therein lies the biggest problem for Lambie to be considered at FH for the Boks. If his franchise don’t trust him there, why should the Bok coach?

Watch Puma on his PR mission for Lambie at FH. :lol:

*Just joking Puma

• 320.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@NagouGrote-313: Yeah I just get the general overally feeling that there is too much chopping and changing at the Boks with the injuries. Too many young players drafted in who should never have been Boks or certainly arent ready yet. Attitude is key. Apart from this their attitude to playing is lacking in the extreme. All in all Bok rugby is just a bloody mess. Id have to say even Pieter de Villiers was doing better than this. The Boks were in quite good form at the RWC. Its just a joke at present.

• 321.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-307: because I didnt appreciate the bitterness spewed forth in 2009… that really opened my eyes to how little SA’s respected NZ rugby..

now, Ive had the absolute pleasure in being able to hand it back for the last 3 years with compound interest,,

its a dish best served cold, apparently :D

• 322.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@NagouGrote-313:

If that’s true then it certainly does not sound like a squad of players interested in representing their country. Sounds more like a bunch of hyped-up money-grabbers. Some strong leadership is now needed in the Springboks and this should come from management and senior players.

This could be the reason for the indiscipline and lack of ambition shown by these bunch of clowns.

• 323.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-318: well said and nice and honest – All the Boks have to do is study a few tapes of the All Blacks playing and then compare it with their own. Coaching couldnt be simpler really. The All Blacks are the most complete and perfect team in rugby right now by quite some way. Furthermore mental attitude is EVERYTHING.

• 324.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@NagouGrote-301: It blows my mind that only two of the Bok camp went to speak to Joost…is that a cold hard fact? I find it hard to believe but if it’s true it’s pretty disgraceful

• 325.phil72: Reply to this comment

@Puma-309:

If you are good enough you are old enough. Lambie has not been the first choice FH at the sharks for 4 years now and why would the sharks want to sign Jantjies for next season?

Lambie would be much better of applying his skill at either WP, Cheeters or even the Kings. Can assure you they will play him at FH!

• 326.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-321: bud you are taling about a handful of lame poephols who sit around here and blog rubbish all day… and youre fast becoming one of them so catch a wake up – 2009?? seriously?

• 327.NagouGrote: Reply to this comment

@Husky 316 Yes I have no doubt that the one element you cannot coach into a team is spirit and mindset and i have no doubt that is were the AB had an advantage and that is why the BOK could win WC of 1995 and 2007 when they had senoirs and a captain and coaches who could influence and create and effective team culture – I wish i could tel you more about some of the younger Prima Donnas but then it is his opinion and I cannot confirm the facts.

• 328.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1-319: Nama budddy, Read my post 300. Lambie played 9 games for Sharks at fh and only 3 and a half at fb. How can this idiot Rich think that Lambie was MOSTLY used at fb for Sharks this year? He was not. Fred mostly played fb when Lambie was out injured.

• 329.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-328: Sorry mistake there. Fred mostly played fh not fb when Lambie was out injured.

• 330.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@NagouGrote-327: I’m trying to imagine young players in 95 joking and laughing after a big loss….can’t imagine it somehow

• 331.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-317: I am on about starting Goosen too soon. Read “starting”, not “blooding”.

Goosen is talented, but Heyneke Meyer threw him in the deep end and it has damaged his confidence. Hence why he missed all his kicks. His game against the All Blacks to be honest was not up to his standards. He did not play with confidence and has ended up injured.

So now we have an injured young talent whose confidence has been damaged.

I repeat, it would have been smarter to start Lambie (who already has experience starting for the Boks) and bring Goosen on for the last 20 minutes. This should have been the template for the entire rugby Championship.

Then we would have a situation where Lambie has gametime at flyhalf and Goosen has been eased into the set up with his confidence still in tact.

• 332.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-318: Agreed.

• 333.Puma: Reply to this comment

@phil72-325: 4 years ago Lambie was 18 years old. What the heck are you talking about? How could he have been playing Super Rugby? He has been our 1st choice fh since 2010 from CC into Super Rugby 2011 and 2012. Jeez get with it man.

• 334.husky: Reply to this comment

The scary part is that it does not seem like HM has a plan. He’s behaving a bit Strooli like and a Kamp Staaldraad may be in the offing. Funnily enough I have no probelm with M Steyn back – provided he can kick efficiently. As for Pissant wanting Steyn to implode – not nice. HM should be making sure he doesn’t implode. One area where HM has been ok’ish is not blaming guys like Goosen as the Mullett would have done.

The EOYT should be straightforward. Get a reliable kicker (place and tactically), get the set pieces sorted – they are even more important in the NH, sort the defensive patterns, players must learn to protect the ball, support the ball carrier. Prepare to win matches 9-6 if necessary. Have a squad system.

Simpel goed ne; who’s going to do it? Doc Craven can’t be resuscitated they say.

• 335.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-286: I’m talking about YOU, poepol, not your rugby team. YOU are a tepid puddle of runny poop.

How come you can only define yourself by your national rugby team? And not just you – most Kiwis. You can’t make a distinction between your own identity and that of a bunch of athletes you’ve never even met. I don’t want to get into a whole nationalist debate here, but it’s not healthy to believe you, as a person, are good or bad or successful or a failure because of what some guys did with a rugby ball. I mean, that’s fun and all, but there’s a lot more to life. Or there should be.

• 336.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@husky-334:

Seems you are not reading what I am writing correctly.

• 337.shooter: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-321: a life not worth living indeed. being a poepol 24/7.
    you have no class, no style and no clue.
    what does it take to constantly regurgitate the same old lame vitriol. passes the time. because there is nothing better to do?
    One day you will wake up and wonder what happened to the time. that… is the reality. sad mudderfukker.

• 338.NagouGrote: Reply to this comment

@Atreides 330 Yes exactly – ABout Joost – remember this was a sort of special occasion for him – it called for people especially your own BOK players to at least chat to you – surely Jean has spoken to Joost may times before – but the contrast of the ABS speaking to Joos,t and I saw the photo he took of where Hansen spoke to Joost, and so few of the BOKS just made him very sad. Heyneke teach the guys some manners.

• 339.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@nama1-295: Like I said before.You know
    your rugby.I do not think that Schalk will come back the same player.
    Would like to remember him & Juan as they were

• 340.phil72: Reply to this comment

@Puma-333:

2011/2012 Michalak played 21 games for the Sharks in super rugby and most of them at FH. But my biggest concern is why are the Sharks wanting to recruit Jantjies for the 2013 season?

• 341.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-318: good post. Little bit on the chewy side for my liking. But the general idea is just about right.

• 342.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

@NagouGrote-301: Great post.

• 343.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown-326: see posts 335 and 337..

this is why I do it..

it delights me so much to have these guys point out my “faults”. all because they believe they are better than me.. its that same belief that destroys bok rugby..

they can continue to believe what they want, the laughs I get at seeing them respond is worth it all, and then some..

hows that fifty shades of grey working for you katman? :lol: :lol: :lol:

• 344.charo: Reply to this comment

@Puma-333:

methinks our mate philemon12 here is still smarting from the 4:1 the sharks have given his team this year.

such anguish causing outbursts from his grubby little nought.

• 345.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@NagouGrote-301: No 5 makes me cringe; I can quite believe that the New Zealanders did that.

The Aussies would’ve too.

Good people with good hearts.

• 346.nama1: Reply to this comment

@husky-334:
    “As for Pissant wanting Steyn to implode – not nice.”

Read again what he said.

I think he meant this site will implode if Meyer selects Steyn again.

• 347.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@shooter-341: I think i’m trying to say we need to harden the F up

• 348.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@phil72-340: As cover for Patrick, what happens if Pat gets injured like this year or the year before when we had to rely on Bosman at FH against the Crusaders? remember that nightmare at Twikenham?

• 349.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Puma-328:
    Yes Puma but the point is that Lambie must play FH next year to prove himself as the best.

Your Sharks team were not too flash while he was playing at FH. It was only after the Froggie started to play there that you played good rugby.

• 350.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@phil72-340: Phil you have no clue what ur talking about re Lambie.

Lambie has played mostly 10, he got injured and at that stage both Viljoen and Ludick were in poor form.

Freddy was brought in at cover for scrummy as we only had Mcleod at the time with the back up 9′s injured.

With Lambie getting injured Plum was forced to play Freddy at 10 and on the return of Lambie a few weeks later Plum was left with no choice, LUdick and Viljoen in poor form , and he wanted both Lambie and Freddy on the park because they were in form.

after that specially Ludick regained form and as such even now is prolly the inform 15 in SA.

Lambie in the meantime got injured again in the Bok match against England, HOw hard is this to understand????? NEVER DID PLUM DROP LAMBIE OR PLAY HIM AT 15 BECAUSE FREDDY WAS BETTER

people should stop making up stories to suit their agenda’s

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 1218 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.