Butch leads, Jantjies benched

Flyhalf Butch James will captain the Golden Lions when they host the Blue Bulls in an important derby this Saturday.

Coach Johan Ackerman has resisted the temptation to push Elton Jantjies straight into the starting side, and so the returning Bok flyhalf will play from the bench.

James’s elevation to captain is also the result of CJ van der Linde starting in place of regular skipper JC Janse van Rensburg. Pat Cilliers is also back from Bok duty to bolster the front row, while another returning Bok squad member in Lionel Mapoe is included on the bench.

Jaco Taute, who started for the Boks at outside centre last week, has been rested according Lions management.

Golden Lions – 15 Ruan Combrinck, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Deon van Rensburg, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Butch James (c), 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Dercik Minnie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 CJ van der Linde.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 Paul Willemse, 19 Warren Whiteley, 20 Whestley Moolman, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Lionel Mapoe.

291 Comments

• 1.cane: Reply to this comment

Butch………………………….One good reason not to support the Lion Dragons.

• 2.cane: Reply to this comment

Love to see Mitch,
    slap Butch
    with his balls.

• 3.Puma: Reply to this comment

Seeing that Butch is captain it is understandable he is starting. Though still a bit surprised as Jantjies has only been with the Boks for two weeks and so has Mapoe. Both should have started this game. Unless Lions don’t want either injured for the semi.

Think Taute must be carrying a injury to be rested.

• 4.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Butchie playing some incredible rugby at the moment.

Only got better with age.

• 5.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

continuety…interesting.

but it is all going to happen up front this weekend. Elton coming on later will add impact but the bulls bench,by default with their returning boks is looking pretty impressive as well. should be a decent game.
    I also prefer the bulls playing afternoon or late afternoon. I hate these 19:00 kickoffs for the bulls.
    i fancy the bulls to take this one

• 6.Puma: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-4: When does Butchie’s contract with Lions expire? You have any idea? Wouldn’t mind if we got Butch back to cover for Lambie next year.

• 7.grant10: Reply to this comment

Lions keeping their powder dry for the Semis…..

• 8.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Puma-6:
    End of this year.

I think he is looking for one more season somewhere. He would be a great backup to Lambie.

I heard via the vine that he had chatted to the Sharks. Not sure what came of it.

• 9.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

Werner Kruger doing cart wheels atm…. no JC.

• 10.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-5: With you on earlier time for rugby to be played. Not very keen on the 19:00 kick off either. Especially in Durban when the humidity is here. Ball just too slippery that time of night.

• 11.Puma: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-8: I think he would be great for one season. Would be a great back up for Lambie. Experience counts plenty too. Hope Sharks never turned him away.

• 12.lovemuscle: Reply to this comment

Taute has been dropped cos he’s signed on the dotted line somewhere else. Either the sharks or province. Ackerman making a statement…

• 13.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Puma-6:

jeez, what is it with the sharks….look, you can’t contract every player in SA.
    You are not Chelsea and you do not have Abromovitz’s money.
    You have some braais on the parking lot generating some extra cash flow to pay for all the Saterday casual stewarding staff.

• 14.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-13: Is that how the Bulls generate cash to grab all the young talent?

• 15.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-13: hahahaha. Good one. :)

• 16.Puma: Reply to this comment

@lovemuscle-12: I doubt that is the case. Think players are rested for the semi. Think Taute might be carrying a injury. F. Vander Merewe, Grobbelaar, JC. Van Rensburg and A. Coetzee are also rested.

Just looking at the rested players and the players to start for Lions they have a really good squad now, what a pity they will not be in Super Rugby next year.

• 17.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-16: jeez, meant F. Van der Merwe

• 18.NicG: Reply to this comment

Butch on form is the better FH – he has an allround game whereas Jantjies can’t defend for s***. Am surprised that Mapoe isn’t in ahead of Van Rensburg.

Am waiting for a thunderous response from all those with Jantjies h@rd-0ns!

• 19.skunk: Reply to this comment

Wonder how deep M. Stain will be standing. Butch will enjoy himself…

• 20.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop-14:

No we sponsor Boer Soek n Vrou.

• 21.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@skunk-19:

Am guessing jaque potgieter and butch will get to know each other. And then Dean will introduce himself later on….if butch is still on the field.

• 22.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Taute signed for the Stormers.

• 23.skunk: Reply to this comment

Brig

So the battering ram will stand at flyhalf? Lions by 50 if thats the case…

• 24.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-21: Methinks the referee has already been instructed to carry extra yellows & reds in his pocket…

• 25.grant10: Reply to this comment

bulls will cruise home in this match….

then its off to Shark tank to try and win a semi there….good luck with that Bulls

• 26.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@grant10-25:

should’ve won the last time there.
    the team will fancy it if they do indeed get the win and qualify

@skunk-23:

potgieter runs a lot of angles back across into/past the flyhalf channel

• 27.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@grant10-25: Hopefully not.My money is still on them contesting the play-off game.

• 28.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

who fancies a wp vs bulls final at newlands?

will wp choke yet again?

• 29.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

pity

would’ve been nice to see the subplot of morne vs elton play out.

bulls to grind a win by hook or crook.

• 30.katman: Reply to this comment

Why not start Mapoe? It’s not like he was used for the Boks – should be fresh as a daisy. Now we have bloody Deon van Rensburg at 13.

Next, why start Willie Britz ahead of the electrifying Warren Whitely? Britz is a lumbering journeyman next to Whitely.

Also, I suspect Taute’s omission has to do with his signing elsewhere.

An finally, Ross Cronje has done buggerall to impress since his move from the Shoks.

• 31.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@katman-30: ok so now you see why the Sharks did not whant him?

• 32.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@katman-30: Rarely agree, but spot on each point.

• 33.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@katman-30:

I’m thrilled mapoe is not there. He’s a moneygrabbing schizter, but he can play, no denying that.

everyone else is kak, pick who you want , the bulls will drill you. :lol:

• 34.Horings: Reply to this comment

Go Sharks and Cheetahs. Bulls to win easily to secure away semi against Lions. Cheetahs to back their win up at Newlands with a win in the tank and Bulls vs Cheetahs final and Bulls to win it. Most undeserving winner of the Currie Cup ever (except Sharks 1990) but we will take it.

• 35.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Lions … die Vodacom Cup Std Currie Cup is verby nou … nou gan julle kak!

• 36.Puma: Reply to this comment

@katman-30: Not really sure if Ackerman wants to really win this game. Could be saving players from injury and have them ready for the semi.

Think Lions have known all along that Taute will be signing with another franchise. I think he may have a slight injury.

• 37.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-34: Huh? Natal won the 1990 Currie Cup fair and square.

• 38.Craven: Reply to this comment

Lions repaying the Bulls for their vote in the Superugby relegation saga? If the Bulls win they have a good chance of not playing a promotion / relegation match for the Currie Cup.

• 39.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Puma-36: Ackers is confident his B-team can klap the bottom dwellers

• 40.skunk: Reply to this comment

Brig

He runs into a lot of brick walls. Never the flyhalf channel. Hepreffers running onto the bigger boys to prove how sterk he is. The point is Morne will stand too deep because of fear.

• 41.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-27: hope so too!!

• 42.Puma: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-39: Not so sure. I think Ackerman is saving his players for the semi against Province. For now it is looking like it will be:

Lions/WP semi at Ellis Park
    Sharks/Bulls semi at the Tank

• 43.katman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-33: Groot woorde. As dit nie gebeur nie, kan ons jou rang drop na Kolonel van Zyl?

• 44.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-39:

the biggest joke is that, even if involved in a promotion relegation game which I have a sneeky suspicion could well be against the Pumas anyway and not the dreaded Spears.

any of these sides(bulls,cheetahs,griquas,etc) should put 50 ontop of those okes.

• 45.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@katman-43:

private van zyl

• 46.grant10: Reply to this comment

Early in the week already Ackermann said he would rest players as the sharks are likely to beat Griquas in Durbs anyway….so Lions are just resting the main manne….

wi;ll be a Lions Stormers semi

and a Sharks Bulls semi…

Probably a Lions Sharks final at The Tank I reckon

• 47.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@cane-2: perverse, anyhow one Butchie special would have old man Mitchell down and out

• 48.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Puma-42: of course he is…

@Brigadier Van Zyl-44: Really dunno why they would even bother with promo games…unless they get Bryce to ref them the 2nd leaguers have no chance

• 49.Puma: Reply to this comment

Sharks will have all their Boks back next week. Beast, Jannie, Burden, Coetzee, Alberts, Mvovo and Lambie.

Should be interesting that.

• 50.super_adi: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-44: Kings have already secured a playoff space by finishing top of the log. The outcome of the final is irrelevant

• 51.Provvas: Reply to this comment

If Griekwas beat the Sharks that will put the cat amongst the pigeons!!

Then The Bulls game becomes more interesting as the lions will have a chance for top spot and the bulls will need to play to get out of relegation.. Should province off course beat the cheetahs and the chettahs get some bonus points…

• 52.Puma: Reply to this comment

So of Jean de Villiers has to play all the remaining games for Province in the Currie Cup, he sure will be buggered I think for the eoyt. For that matter Habs will be as well. They bothed played almost non-stop this year. Eben, Bekker, Vermeulen all had breaks either in the RC or Super Rugby.

Pleased Plum is giving Beast and Alberts a much needed rest. Thought Jannie might have got a rest. Though on the bench so not sure how much game time he will get. Hope not much as he also needed to rest this game.

• 53.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-52: Pity Kanko is still in the Land of the Sun. and Bissy is injured

• 54.Hondo: Reply to this comment

‘Butch leads, Jantjies benched’
    Wisdom has preveiled 18 months too late

• 55.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-54:

Why

• 56.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-53: Are you and Khoza related??? :lol:

• 57.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-56: Or shall we say Xhosa ?? :wink:

• 58.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-57:

You talking to yourself?

• 59.skunk: Reply to this comment

In comes the village idiot Hondo…

• 60.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-53: Yes huge pity. Jeez our loose trio was brilliant with Kanko there. Remember him playing superb during 2007 but has to be the best I have ever seen Kanko play. Still for me if he can play like that then he is the best 8 in SA. If he plays like that I rate him far better than Vermeulen. Plenty skill and fast. Like a 8th man to be fast with good skills. Great in the lineouts too.

• 61.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Hondo, you must be colour blind :lol: oh wait you only see white!!! and Xhosa only sees Black, as a combo you 2 could have made a good Sharks supporter for the black and white :lol:

• 62.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-60: meant this year has to be the best Kanko has ever played.

• 63.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-58: Yes becaause i knew Hondo wouldnt catch onto what is said :lol:

• 64.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-60: True Pooms, i did an article earlier on the Sharks depth, some positions still concern me

• 65.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-54: 56 and 57 were meant for you

• 66.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-53: We gonna miss Bissie at the start of of Super Rugby next year. This year we were without Beast. Bissie only comes back in April. Hope the other two step up. Kyle looked good last week. Then before Burden was called up to the Boks he was playing really well. Now with absolutely no game time not sure how game ready he will be.

• 67.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-45: No! No! No!

I think your new name should then be Sad Sack!

• 68.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Wow, so Elton isn’t even the best 10 at his province :) Lambie though, is. Fishing anyone?

On Ross Cronje. He is the WORST 9 playing 1st class rugga in SA by a country mile. Slow, loopy pass etc.

Him and his boet were kak kak kak. Poor version of the Eberson twins.

• 69.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma-62: how many games did kankowski play and excelled, 3 or 4?

that can hardly be called a “year”?

• 70.grant10: Reply to this comment

Stormers
    1 Kitshoff
    2 Liebenberg
    3 Cilliers
    4 Etsebeth
    5 Bekker
    6 Kolisi
    7 Elstaht
    8 vermeulen
    depth

Rhodes…Carr….Schalk…..De Kock Steenkamp….Armand…Scarra….Brock….Carstens…

Pity about Koster and D Fourie…

And would be a major coup if we were to entice F Louw home….

• 71.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-60: Vermeulen’s skills on the ground has put him ahead of Kanko. Both Kankowski and Spies do not know how to contest on the ground. I think Rassie, believing that an 8th man is fairly good positioned to be a fetcher, has played a crucial role in Vermeulen obtaining this skill.

Other players that need to perfect this skill are props and of course hookers. If the Boks can pick Coenie, Bismark, Louw and Vermeulen then we will be very difficult to beat on the ground. I have also been impressed with Frik Kirsten’s skill on the ground at the Bulls, but he needs 2 or 3 super rugby seasons to be in contention.

• 72.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-66: yeah for sure

Cooper seemed to be in fine form last weekend, even after such a long injury lay off

• 73.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-69:

He was very good in most, and brilliant in 3-4 matches.

He used to lose the ball in contact quite often. He’s sorted that out. Hard bugger now it seems.

• 74.Horings: Reply to this comment

@grant10-70: No fetcher. How do you feel about that part of the team?

• 75.super_adi: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-68: Lions are resting all of their key players which obviously includes Jantjies in anticipation of the home semi next week. The Bulls match will, in all likelihood, be a dead-rubber for them after the Sharks win on Friday. Don’t be so foolish.

• 76.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Horings-71:

Fair point. But when Bissie comes back (and if Louw is playing), I would start with Kanko.

Kanko
    Brussow (if he ever get’s over these &^^%* injuries).

• 77.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Puma to Kanko : “I am your grandfather”

• 78.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@super_adi-75:

My first bite…..it’s a big one…..jeez you guys are easy.

• 79.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-71: Yes but last week he was not THAT great. Thought he was just too slow.

• 80.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-70: Grant with thaat pack and backline surely hard to beat next year?? Stormers favourites now, Bulls dont have the forwards i think

• 81.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-71: I would like us to have a 8th man like Read anytime. Read is fast and has good skills does everything Vermeulen does and fast. Kanko was brilliant for Sharks in the last part of the Super Rugby. Superb as well in the line outs.

• 82.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Puma-79:

Agree.

The current Bok trio does lack pace. Louw is fine, but Alberts and DVM aren’t exactly rapid.

An 8th man needs some pace, as he often makes covers tackles.

• 83.Horings: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-76: I have realised the only way to beat the All Blacks is to slow their ball down, without comprimising lineout efficiency and physicality. Kanko can play against Aus, but because we always get Rolland or some other Irish ref against the All Blacks we need to pick a team that will play the game like a Northern Hemisphere team. The ref will allow us to slow the ball down.

• 84.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-73: when meyer picked kankowski for the england series, it was not on the back of brilliant performances that justified his inclusion, even in PE he wasn’t flash certainly better than useless pottie but nothing wow…

• 85.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-81: Sorry meant = Reid

• 86.grant10: Reply to this comment

All being fit….

Stormers 22

15 Taute
    11Habana
    12 JDV
    13 JDJ
    14 Aplon
    10 Jantjes
    9 Duvenhage
    8 Vermeulen
    7 Elstaht
    6 Kolisi
    5 A Bekker
    4 Etsebeth
    3 Cilliers
    2 T Liebenberg
    1 Kitshoff

16 B Harris
    17 M Rhodes
    18 Scarra Ntubeni
    19 S Burger
    20 P Grant
    21 Brache
    22 G VD Heever….

not too shabby…

• 87.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Puma-81:

Read suprised me. When he started out I thought he was very very average. He shoved that opinion down my throat. Great player.

• 88.Puma: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-82: With Alberts and Flo there we could have Kanko. For me that would be a better balanced loose trio. Kanko adds the pace as well.

• 89.Horings: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-80: No we don’t. Bulls need to bring Steenkamp and Rossouw back.

• 90.Puma: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-87: Best 8 in the world right now.

• 91.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-84:

You are correct. Kanko never deserved to play against England. Hell, I think he had only played 2 games or something after injury.

• 92.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Horings-74: would love to get F Louw back….it is a concern for sure

• 93.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-72: Yes agree, was suprised to see him play so well after a long lay off. Need him to play like that again this week. Not sure what kinda form Burden is in now after his long lay off with the Boks.

• 94.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma-85: it is Read…

• 95.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-86: That is a great backline Grant, but I think you have to forget Duvenhage. Groom looks like a better player and would be with Jantjies there.

• 96.grant10: Reply to this comment

If Stormers could get F Louw or Brussow we would be well set for a real charge at that damn elusive heart breaking title!!

• 97.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-94: Is it? Just checked and it said Reid. Anyhow everyone knows who I mean. So not a problem.

• 98.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma-95: Groom very good prospect….Schreuder and Duvenhage also decent….

Depth is so damn important in superrugby…..hectic tournament that !

• 99.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-86: This will prolly be the Sharks 22

1 Beast
    2 Bismark
    3 Jannie
    4 Alberts
    5 Bresler
    6 Daniel
    7 Coetzee
    8 Kanko
    9 Reinach
    10 Lambie
    11 Mvovo
    12 Fransie Steyn
    13 Jordaan
    14 JPP
    15 Ludick

16 Burden
    17 Herbst
    18 PSDT/ Jandre
    19 Botes/Deysel
    20 Mcleod
    21 Bosman
    22 Odwa

• 100.Horings: Reply to this comment

@grant10-92: I believe the best the Stormers have played in the last few years were in the lead up to the 2010 final. I don’t know if JdJ at 12, J Fourie and Louw had anything to do with it, but the only reason the Stormers did not win that year was FdP’s performance in the final.

I rated JdJ, but he has not developed any part of his game since then. He was at his best then.

I am not sure you can regain the form shown in 2010 again without these 3 players. Etzebeth, Jantjies, Taute, Cilliers, Kolisi are welcome additions though.

• 101.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@grant10-98:

Groom is your best 9. The Stormers backs actualy looked pretty good when he came on against the Sharks at Newlands.

Duvi is just too average.

• 102.Puma: Reply to this comment

Stormers likely starting XV for next year:

15 Taute
    11Habana
    12 JDV
    13 JDJ
    14 Aplon
    10 Jantjes
    9 Duvenhage
    8 Vermeulen
    7 Elstaht
    6 Kolisi
    5 A Bekker
    4 Etsebeth
    3 Cilliers
    2 T Liebenberg
    1 Kitshoff

Sharks likely starting XV for next year:

15 Ludik
    14 JPP
    13 Jordaan
    12 Fransie
    11 Mvovo
    10 Lambie
    9 Reinach
    8 Kanko
    7 Marcel
    6 Keegan
    5 Bresler
    4 Alberts/ JM
    3 Jannie
    2 Burden (Bissie back in April)
    1 Beast

Jeez just looking at both Sharks and Stormers. South Africa have massive talent. Just have to wonder how the heck we can’t win the RC????

• 103.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Puma-97: where did you “check”? :D

• 104.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-69:
    ag transie, you know the sharkies assesments of their players is like time dilation and length contraction in special relativity theory.

if the player is wearing a combination of white and black, has a blinder in one or two ‘short’ games in a long series…. somehow or the other his perceived ability and worth as a player is massively warped in the space-time continuum.

to the extent that he come to possess these attributes over spans of time far in excess of the actual time played.

a second spent here on earth become hours spent in the kzn space-tme continuum….

hours spent here on earth become become days there….

days here become years there….

and before you know it….

‘legends’ are spoken of….

fondly remembered for their exploits on the rugby field…

whispered of like it was yesterday….

when in fact…. it was yesterday…..

• 105.Puma: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-101: Agree. Especially with Jantjies there. Stormers have to have Groom.

• 106.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-103: Honest on the internet.

It had him there as Read and Reid. Go check. I remember Read and just checked and thought I made mistake so corrected myself.

• 107.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-104: :lol:

where has this bakkies been? funny guy

well put! :D

• 108.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-104: Huh you should talk! Heineken Meyer was appointed on just such a continuum! Got the Bok job based on a S14 he didn’t win but was handed to him by the incompetence of a Kiwi ref! go figure!

• 109.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-98: Yip a team needs plenty depth with such a long tourney. Injuries are always going to play a roll.

• 110.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-107: ag Transie the Sharks must have rejected you in a bad way for you to carry such bitterness towards them! shame build a bridge and get over it! You are becoming predictable and some would say boring.

• 111.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-91: it’s just that when some here say “kanko had his best YEAR” ahem…really?

let’s not get carried away…

• 112.charo: Reply to this comment

dawn to transformation : i want to be your mother

• 113.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-110: ncaaaawwww hello to you too :D

what have i said that got stuck up you gullet?

• 114.Puma: Reply to this comment

@charo-112: :)

• 115.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-107:

• 116.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo-112: :shock: wtf?

• 117.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-108:
    make no mistake,i am bitterly dissapointed and unhappy with many aspects of meyer’s tenure so far.
    i really believed it would be so much better.

i think we have to appreciate the scale and gravity of the task before him, building a new bok squad from scratch.
    still, no excuses.

• 118.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@charo-112: :lol:

• 119.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-110: Hiyas M hun, you well?

• 120.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@charo-112: HIyas charo

• 121.nama1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-86:
    Why Duvenhage at 9?

He was one of the main reasons why we stumbled at the last hurdle in both finals in 2010 and in the S14 semi final last year. In this year’s semi, he played OK but you need your players in vital positions to take the big games by the scruff of the neck. DD has never give any indication that he can do that.

Schreuder, by kicking the ball away in the 78th minute of the semi final while were were trailing by 7, showed that he does not have the rugby nous for the big occasion.

Let Groom get experience, work on his weaknesses (kicking) and we’ll be in business imo. We need Groom to come through if we want to win cups.

• 122.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-113: Why today plenty :) and today you just do not whant to pee me off!!! But hello and now say sooooomnething nice about one of our players come any one (not Sburra that would be nepotism though) I dare you!

See my old lady is involved in shady dealings again :evil:

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@charo-112:
    i dont even know where to begin with that….

• 124.grant10: Reply to this comment

@nama1-121: Yes….Also feel Duvenhage trys too hard to be another FDP…….but he does appear to be an AC favorite….

I also like Groom…

• 125.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Potential Bulls 22

15 Zane Kirchner
    14 JJ Engelbrecht
    13 Lionel Mapoe
    12 Francois Venter
    11 Bjorn Basson
    10 Morne Steyn
    09 Francois Hougaard

8 Pierre Spies
    7 Jacques Potgieter
    6 Dewald Potgieter
    5 Juandre Kruger
    4 Flip vd Merwe
    3 Marcel vd Merwe
    2 Chilliboy Ralepelle
    1 Morne Mellett

16 Willie Wepenaar
    17 Werner Kruger
    18 Paul Willemse
    19 Arno Botha
    20 Jano Vermaak
    21 Handre Pollard
    22 Jan Serfontein

Exciting youngsters coming off the bench…

• 126.nama1: Reply to this comment

@charo-112:
    Sugar-mommy??? :wink:

• 127.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-119: not really, in a bit of a mood! My very best friend’s (she is closer to me than my own sister) husband is having an affair and I am trying to help her pick up the pieces. Just cannot believe someone can cause so much pain with so little thought and why? Just cause he cannot keep it in his pants :evil:

• 128.charo: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-123:

makes a change from all this “who’s your daddy/grandad” k@k going round?

• 129.charo: Reply to this comment

@nama1-126:

she does drive a beemer i’m told?

• 130.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-127: AWW so sorry hun, why do some men find it hard to keep it in the pants?? cant they see the hurt they cause??

• 131.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-117: Hat off to you Bakkies! Good reply and better than I would have given! I gave Meyer the benefit of the doubt, but why can we not be like the ABS and stop having to rebuild every 4 years! I whant to be good consistently! actually I whant to be great consistently.

• 132.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-125: Pollard has not even played Currie Cup, well not that I have seen. So not sure if he will be there for Super Rugby. Will probably be the 10 they have now playing CC that will be on the bench.

• 133.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-132: If he is good enough he is old enough boet

I hear very good things re youn Robert Du Preez jnr the captain of our Sharks under19 team,
    He is a strong running flyhalf, so who knows, maybe he is destined for greatness too,He the same age as Pollard i think

• 134.nama1: Reply to this comment

@charo-129:

• 135.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-133: I agree there, just don’t see the Bulls playing him in Super Rugby next year.

@sharks_lover-133: Have not watched our U19 team much. So have not really seen much of him.

• 136.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-130: and to make things more confusing, he is actually a really good guy!!!! Its a mistake, a huge one, but a mistake none the less! But stop think and go home rather, the repercussions are huge! Its difficult for me to remember that he has actually been a really good husband up to this fork up, I can only imagine how she feels! And there are two beautiful girls involved a 16 year old and worse still a 3 year old! Sad man! just makes me angry!

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-122: i hardly ever watch the Sharks but i liked how Meyer Bosman faked a tackle on Raymond Rhule on Saturday, it was vintage “turnstile” stuff :D

• 138.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-136: MAn thats so silly, I hope his wife wife can something hold it together for her and the kids sake.

• 139.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-136: HOw is hubby and the lil ones doing by the way?? they preparing for there Sharks debuts yet? :lol: our future Sharkies :wink:

• 140.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-136: sorry for you friend, but dudes don’t go hunting elsewhere if they getting ALL the meat at home…

#jussayin don’t lynch me!

• 141.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-137: hahahaha Okai its an attempt, I will accept :lol: :lol:

• 142.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-104:

LOL BakMan

Like Lambie going from good to brilliant in the space of a couple of days if you follow the threads from Monday til now!

• 143.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-127:
    i am sorry to hear that and for your friend too.

i can only tell you that in my experience almost to a man, every last guy on earth is a basturd. its just in their (our) nature to be so, i dont know why.

even i, to my eternal regret, have one time in my life (just one time, but it was one time too many) cheated on my partner, at the time. to say she was devestated is an understatement and in the end it led to to the break up of our relationship.

the worst of it all though is that i was, and to this day, remain deeply in love with her. it must certainly have broken my heart far more than it did hers.
    we have both moved on and have partners too but there is/will always be this deep feeling of care/love/affection (i dont know what to call it) that i will have for her.

even when i see her, every so often, after all these years there’s always this electric spark in my eyes, and hers.

i hope it works out for your best friend.

• 144.2k3: Reply to this comment

I have a sneaky feeling that Transie secretly supports the Sharks.
    Am gonna go off on a tangent here, I thought that the other responsibility of a no 8 was to offer something on offense as well, then why do some here claim Duane Vermuelen is the best 8 in the country and yet offers absolutely nothing, diddly squat on offense, yes he is willing to tackle himself to the ground, but does faark all going forward

• 145.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-140: Transie can’t comment on that side I am not a voyeur. But have to admit the thought had occurred to me but then surely he shoud have discussed it with her, don’t know just saying?

• 146.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-143: hahaha hogwash, the last bits of this post!

• 147.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-142: Please show where anyone has said Lambie is brilliant??

• 148.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@charo-128:
    yes, it certainly does

@Sharksgirl-131:
    *sigh*

if i could put into words how this journey, at times, makes me feel….

i hear you sister… i hear you…

• 149.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-143:
    Who would’ve thought!!!

Bakkies a romantic soul at heart. :lol:

• 150.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-139: My fam is fine! The boys are doing really well! Malcolm the Sharks’ future opensider, is progressing really well. The 1st team coach has told us that they are eying him out for 1st team when he is 16, just needs to beef up a little (SA and obsession with size ;) ) So we are pleased with that. In this regard he is going to gymn When we played against Affies (Affies slaughtered us)their coach was introduced to us and he stated that we had a good little fetcher that he would welcome him to Pretoria so I am really thrilled its not only his biased mom that thinks he has potential even an unknown coach noticed :) He has also got into the A water Polo team and just before the holidays spent a week at Rodenbosch High school for the Water Polo tournament so he is doing well. The little one is plodding along still in primary but also doing well in his rugby, we have now applied for him to attend Maritzburg College and are aniously awaiting their reply.

I am of course very well :)

• 151.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-142:

like fox news,
    i report, you decide :grin:

@Transformation-146:
    no boet, from the heart here transie, honest.
    it was one of my major life lessons and in many ways changed me as a person.

is it the emotions..?..

i know what am i thinking showing emotions on a rugby blog…

tut tut tut

i will go and sit in the corner…

• 152.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Puma-132:

Perhaps they won’t… But would rather have him ahead of Fouche.

• 153.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-149:

i’m must be getting soft in my old age, nama

i dont know where this stuff is coming from sometimes :lol:

• 154.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-143: Wow Bakkies I am starting to reeeealy like you! It is refreshing to read an honest reply and to see the other side of a story, one tends to view situations only from ones own gender bias and its good to see that mistakes can be made and learned from! I hope I get the wisdom to advise her correctly to make the right choice, maybe this is a relationship that can be saved.

Back to Rugby, your predicitons for final CC 2012?

• 155.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153: Dont mention ‘soft’ and ‘old age’ in the same sentence……..

• 156.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-151:
    Bakkies why so emo today.

Staying with one person for the rest of your life is very, very hard.

• 157.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-156: Easy..just find the right one and with a lot of hard work and commitment it’s a walk in the park and a moer of a lekker walk it is!!

• 158.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-157:
    I’m to married to my soulmate. I think………. or I hope :lol:

Yes, the good times, cancels out the bad times.

• 159.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-154:
    no worries, and i hope it all works out.

final..?.. bulls 25 – sharks 10… what else…?. :lol:

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-155:
    point taken… :lol:

@Jeraldjay-156:

i dunno boet, it must be this aftermath of our rc campaign. taking stock of where we’re at and all that. its leaves me pensive i suppose (if pensive’s the right word?)

yes, it is.. and from my experience love is something worked at every single day and even at its best is never perfect.

• 160.grant10: Reply to this comment

Sharks will beat Lions in CC Final at the Tank….

My call…

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-157:
    there you go
    in a nutshell ‘hard work and commitment’ is exactly all it is.
    simples :grin:

• 162.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-160:
    good fokkenn call

i dont like it :lol:

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-162: Niether do I ….

I would like to sort you okes out at Newlands….

But I would not place money on that outcome….

WP cant win at Ellis Park….

And Sharks will moer you okes 6 love at the Tank….

• 164.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-160: ja, sharks are you 2nd team we know boet!

• 165.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163: Stranger things have happened Grantie, like Bakkies making eyes at Welsh scrummies :-) :-)

• 166.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-164: LOL

Yes….used to be…but we all know that Plod fellow ruined the relationship…..with him not there anymore I must admit the heart is ruling the head now and again….I do like the way they played the last few months….

But Luke still my man so next year it is Stormers….Kings…Sharks….Cheetahs…….Valke….Pumas….Uct…mATIES…………………………………………………………………………………………………Toulon….Munster………………………………………………………………………………………..Bulls

• 167.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-165: WP should have rested JDV this week…..maybe Bekker as well….then throw the kitchen sink at Ellis Park…

• 168.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

13 Deon van Rensburg

Butch a true profeessional.

• 169.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-167: All the frontline Boks should have been rested for the duration of the CC.

• 170.Horings: Reply to this comment

Can someone please clarify in terms of the loan agreements when the player needs to return to the Lions. If the playoff game is in the finals series of the super 15 and the player needs to return to the Lions for the playoff then I can not see why the Stormers will pick Taute and Jantjies for the entire season.

• 171.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-166: Province confirm Bath approach for Koster?????

will Flo be coming back?

• 172.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-169: I said on a previous thread the CC finals should be played on the same weekend as the first two November tests and the CC should expand to 7/8 teams. In this way teams with Boks in it will not have a relegation threat hanging over their heads and teams going for semis will surely not pick their Boks for one or 2 games only to replace them again for the semis.

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Horings-170: surely they don’t have to play promotion relegation games while super rugby is still on?

• 174.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Horings-172: Sounds too sensible a solution for SARU :-)

• 175.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@grant10-166: you forgot Namibia

• 176.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Or simply centrally contract the players and have the Bok management keep them out of the whole CC.

• 177.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-173: But the CC starts the week after the super rugby tournament and teams will not want to wait until the end of the year to play such a game. Also, teams in that position will not be affected by the super rugby finals.

• 178.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-176: Not whilst we have “bulle bo bokke” kind of attitudes…

• 179.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-176: I do not think unions will allow it.

As far as I know Saru is responsible for the CC and if the sponsors are OK with it then they can implement my idea next year.

Saru will not convince any union to rest their Boks if promotion relegation is part of the CC.

• 180.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-170: The Lions have 1st option to use their players in the promotion/relegation match afa I understand it.

So if, for example the Stormers end up in last place amongst the SA teams, Taute and Jantjies (if he signs) will play for the Lions against the Stormers in the promotion/relegation match.

Would be interesting to see where SARU fit in this game because it looks as if the Lion’s players will be spreads among the franchises. That means they can’t set a date now because they don’t know if anyone of them will reach the final of the S15. A week or two later the RC starts and some Lion players may be involve with the Boks. Returning from the RC, they go straight into the CC and after that the EOYT.

When exactly is a opportune time to play the promotion/relegation match?

December?

• 181.Horings: Reply to this comment

An expanded CC with no Boks will provide the chance for the Lions, Cheetahs and the Kings to build confidence for a possible Super 15. Odds are that the Cheetahs or Bulls will win their promotion relegation match for the CC and Lions will probably win their promotion relegation match for the Super 15 next year so we need to find a place for the Kings. From the start I thought an extended run in the Currie Cup is the place to start.

• 182.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Horings-179: The unions won’t allow your plan either.
    So back to square 1 where the best option is to follow the NZ route.

• 183.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-177:
    The Lions may be affected. One/some of their players may be involved in the final of the S15 with their adopted franchise.

• 184.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-180: The unions will not allow a date that late in the year. If they allow it they will not be able to contract players and the Lions and Kings will have no chance to get out of a yearly promotion relegation scenario.

The Kings cannot even get players and they knew from August that they will play super 15 rugby.

• 185.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-182: CC formats have been changed regularly, but to convince the unions that we are no in charge of your players will not fly. I am also not sure whether Saru is professional enough to do it. I think the Bulls and Sharks unions are defintely more professional and hopefully WP are catching up after Rassie made it clear where their problems lie.

The NZ model works well, because the first priority for them is NZ rugby. With Saru we have alterior motives behind every single decision.

• 186.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-171: Where have Bath seen Koster play?, in High School?

• 187.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-184:
    My thought exactly.

I just can’t see where they’ll fit in the match.

The Lions will want to play there best possible team, so it can’t be scheduled while some of their players are still playing for their “new franchises.” Keep in mind that they would want their players to train together for a week or two, maybe play a friendly, before they play the promotion/relegation match since their players will come from all these different franchises while some will only be playing Vodacom Cup during the RC.

• 188.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-183: The Lions will be affected and that is why the clause where the players need to be released for the promotion game is in their contracts, but the teams in the finals will not be affected because they are not the worst SA team.

• 189.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-187:
    During the S15…sorry.

• 190.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-187: Maybe one of these “journalists” need to find out. I think it is quite important. Can you imagine how the Stormers will feel when the date is set for the super rugby finals series and they cannot play all their players on loan?

• 191.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Horings-181: Good idea on paper if you don’t take into account the Super Rugby money the SR participants would be having, virtually continuing their dominance

• 192.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-188:
    OK, I get you.

Let’s for example say that Jantjies and Taute play a pivotal role in getting the Stormers to the final of the S15. SARU then decide that the promotion/relegation match must take place on the same day as the final, then Stormers will not be able to select them for the final because they will be playing for the Lions.

Mmmmmmmmm… dit kan kak wees. :lol:

• 193.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-190:
    “snap”

• 194.Horings: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-191: OK, but as things stand now the Kings will probably not win any of their promotion relegation games in the next year. Kings will struggle to get into the Currie Cup if the Springboks are available for that promotion game and if they do not play CC with no assurance of super rugby how will they win their super rugby promotion games in future. The sensible thing should have been CC rugby since the Spears got onto the scene. Now we have wasted 5 years and throwing them into an impossible situation.

• 195.Horings: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-191: I want the Kings to be in the equation. There is definitely more players in super rugby teams that went to school in EC than in the NC, but a NC team (Griquas) is more in the SA rugby equation than the EC.

• 196.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-195: And with them in super rugby I can go to Loftus once a year and boo Luke Watson.

• 197.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-190: Seems as the promotion – relegation game will take place after Super Rugby. Just read this article about Callie Visagie going on loan to the Bulls

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Visagie’s agent, Eduard Kelder, confirmed the move and that Visagie had agreed to extend his contract with the Lions for the next year. He will rejoin the Lions two weeks before their promotion-relegation match after next year’s Super competition

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

As you can see from part of the article I copied that the promotion – relegation game will take part after Super Rugby and it seems the players have to be back with Lions 2 weeks before the relegation game is played. Probably to allow all players to gel again.

• 198.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-192: And it will not only be one match. It will be a home and away scenario.

• 199.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-197: In the middle of the Currie Cup???

• 200.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-197: And if it is just after super rugby and they need to be back 2 weeks before that game then the same problem exist.

Ek verstaan miskien nou hoekom die Bulle nie so hard gejag het nie. Hier is ‘n slang in die gras.

• 201.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-199: Well it does not state exactly when they will play the relegation game, just that it will be after Super Rugby as you can read. Also they have to be back 2 weeks before the relegation game. Not sure if it is during cc or not, just that it will not be during Super Rugby. Which is a good thing.

Read that article on Sports24.

• 202.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-200: NO what it is saying is it will be after Super Rugby, so of course they have taken into account the 2 weeks for players to be back. It will be at least 2 weeks after Super Rugby or later. Not sure when, but what they are saying it will not affect players on load and their adopted franchise, as it will only take place after SR.

• 203.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-201: They will in any case need to be back for their Currie Cup campaign, so I do not think it would have been necessary to say it if the game would have been played after the CC.

If it is the week after the super rugby finals then the 2 weeks before the game will be right in the middle of the super rugby finals.

Did the Currie Cup start the week after the super rugby finals this year? I think it did. Maybe they will play a midweek game?

• 204.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-202: load = loan

• 205.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-203: I don’t remember exactly when CC started. Well the date. I think they will have taken into account CC that comes after. I doubt there will be anything to worry about. It might even come after CC who knows, just the article states it will be after Super Rugby. So we know that tourney will have been completed with out the hassle of players having to leave to play relegation.

• 206.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Horings-200: presies, Juis hoekom die Sharks nie hard jag nie, net 1 Leeu gaan Sharks toe, Franco VD Merwe, en ek glo niw hy gAAN speel tyd kry nie

• 207.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-202: OK scratch my second paragraph, but I am still not sure how it will pan out. Do you think Saru knows?

• 208.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Puma-197: @Horings-199:
    The RC will be taking place then. What happens if Meyer picks Jantjies, Taute, Mapoe etc for his squad?

• 209.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-203: So Franchises having the Lions players don’t really have to worry. They will have them until the Super Rugby has been completed.

• 210.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-207: No for now doubt Saru knows. The only spare month with nothing on is December. Will they play it then?

@nama1-208: I know. Somehow don’t think it will be then. Just that the article says it will be after Super Rugby. When I have no clue, could be December. Then that is a bit late. Like Horing says, it could be a mid week game.

• 211.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-206: Exactly. This could mess up a Franchise or Union when the relegation game has to be played if they are relying on their loan Lion players. For now they don’t have to worry about Super Rugby as I read it will only come after, when I have no clue.

• 212.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-209: OK, then it is cool, but I think some things have not been thought through, especially taking @nama1-208: point into account.

It will then probably be after the CC before or after the CC promotion/relegation game. Kings may play rugby well into November next year. As I explained previously this will have negative effects on long term player recruitment for both teams.

• 213.Horings: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-206: En gewoonlik is die Sharks voor in die koor met so proposisie.

• 214.nama1: Reply to this comment

The S15 this year ended on the 4th August

The RC started on the 18th August, exactly two weeks after the S15.

There is no reason to believe it will be any different next year. The S15 final will take place on August 03 next year. One can probably assume that the RC will start on August 17th. Now, when are they going to play if there are Lions players involved with the Boks?

Something does not add up.

• 215.Horings: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs must be loving this, but why did they not get into the act. Are these loan agreements too expensive? They only got Caylib Oosthuizen and that is because both WP Nel and Marcel van der Merwe is leaving. I should have thought if their is one team that needs depth it is the Cheetahs. And obviously the Kings.

• 216.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-212: Think it is a massive mess up. Saru is to blame here. I for one think we have to have the EC (Kings) in Super Rugby, but really not at this cost. Lions players now getting buggered around too, all of the country at different franchises. Should have only brought in Kings after 2015. By that time we would have been allowed to have 6 teams in Super Rugby.

Now Kings don’t have a chance really. They in for a year then back to where? They not even playing in CC just yet. Crazy really. Should have been thought out properly first. Kings need at least 2 years to get themselves going. Lions too just starting to get a really good squad together and now lose plenty of their players. Feel for the Lions too and their supporters. Just can’t imagine the largest city in SA not having a Super Rugby team. Big mess up. After 2015 was the right time to bring in the Kings. Then no relegation match to play and they could get on with building a good team.

• 217.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-212:
    One week after the CC final the Boks usually go on the EOYT. Some Lions players may be with the Boks in Europe then. :smile:

• 218.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-216: Agree, surely they could have been guaranteed a CC spot since 2008. That would have given them 7 Currie Cup seasons before their first super rugby season in 2015.

• 219.nama1: Reply to this comment

Another solution may be to say that there is not time to play the promotion/relegation match and therefor the Kings will stay up for the next year. :lol:

• 220.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-215: The last time I looked the Cheetahs looked like they have quite a good squad for next year. Saw a post by someone today on another blog with all the Cheetah players for next year. Their backline especially looking very good too.

• 221.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-217: HAHAHAHA!!! Wat ‘n fokop!

Boxing day rugby it is. They can play it just before the boxing day T20 in PE.

• 222.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-218: For sure and they would have stood a far better chance in Super Rugby. How can the Kings get only one year before having to play a relegation game? Crazy they never going to be ready. They are set up to fail. Feel for them too. Should have definitely waited until after 2015 where there was no relegation match to take place. That way they could get a really good team going after playing CC.

• 223.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-221: hahahaha. :)

Ag, jeez feel sorry for both teams really. Had to have a chuckle at that though…..hehehe.

• 224.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-220: They always have a very good starting XV, but each year either Brussow or Juan Smith or Goosen gets injured and then Riaan Smit needs to step up. The gap between their stars and the next in line is too big. Depth in their tight 5 is especially important and players like JC Janse van Rensburg, Maku, CJ vd Linde, etc would have been good.

• 225.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Puma-222:
    There was no guarantee that SANZAR would agreed to a 16th team after 2015, Puma.

• 226.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-224: Have to agree. If they pick up a injury to one of the top players they struggle.

Not sure how long Goosen will be out with the knee op. Read it was 3 months then read another site and it said 6 months. So not too sure. But if he is back and the players they have don’t pick up any injury they have a very good backline too. Looking forward to see how Rhule goes in the Super Rugby next year. Jeez he is a exciting talent.

• 227.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-224: They only have 3 Boks and they are struggling to avoid a promotion relegation game in the CC, although Griquas adds some depth too.

• 228.Puma: Reply to this comment

@nama1-225: I know, but think they just they might. Hope so that will solve our problem here. Then of course do we have to play home and away against 5 other saffa teams? So yeah, not so sure now either. Something has to be done about it though.

• 229.Horings: Reply to this comment

Can you imagine the logistical nightmare it is for a team manager to prepare for a end of year training camp, if you only know if that camp is necessary at the end of november?

• 230.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-228: Actually by 2016 think there will be a new format in place and we will be able to have 6 teams and doubt there will be home and way games against your own conference teams. Hope that changes.

• 231.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-229: For sure. Would be crazy that.

• 232.Puma: Reply to this comment

Cheers Horings and Nama. I am out of here now.

Catch up tomorrow.

• 233.Horings: Reply to this comment

Mid week games in between the RC breaks seems to be the only choice. Hopefully the Bulls play the Lions before or after these games.

• 234.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-232: Me too. Cheers! Hopefully Ryan and some other journos read our conversation.

• 235.nama1: Reply to this comment

Cheers Puma.

• 236.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Well that was boring.

• 237.Bagel: Reply to this comment

You mean civil

• 238.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

boring – civil.. same kettle of fish
    where the spicy rice and guocomole, kinda smells like cauliflower cheese

• 239.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

sometimes rugby can get as boring as skittle sticks or soccer.. lets hope it evolves out the dung its occupying presently.

‘professionalism’ killed the goose with the golden egg, its just one more frarted out fraternity pretending its seriously yearning for excellence when its all and only about money bottom line.

• 240.phil72: Reply to this comment

Bulls by 20…..

• 241.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-239: ‘Football’ is not boring.

• 242.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

anyone that can sit through watching 90 minutes of boring goddamn ‘football’ gotta have rocks in their heads.. I much rather watch baseball or volley ball .. ladies volley ball now that’s even better than rugby.. or even handball or basketball than sit through 90 minutes of that boring goddamn pastime they call the ‘beautiful game’

• 243.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bagel: how are the studies dude?

don’t get into it with skop, he missed el clasico on sunday night busy arguing with cab about inane big bang theories…

skop only enjoys athletics & a bot of stick fighting – loads of skill & endurance required for this one!

• 244.Transformation: Reply to this comment

bot = bit

• 245.nama1: Reply to this comment

Interesting stat wrt the AB try scoring in the RC. Only one was scored by a forward.

Jane: 5
    Dagg: 3
    Savea: 3
    Aaron Smith: 3
    Nonu: 2
    Conrad Smith: 1
    Whitelock: 1

• 246.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163:
    sjoe!
    sounds bad… :lol:

• 247.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bagel

Summarise Puma and Horings debate in one sentence please!

• 248.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

in fact I reckon this homosapien has gone wacky wonky all fck’d up..

how can these people invest so much time and money over something that means so little really in any reasonable life?

check these dudes.. I was standing in the bank today and on the TV is some or other golf competition somewhere in the world.. can you dig this sh’t .. some grown adult men spend their entire lives whacking a little wound up ball of elastic around a beautiful golf course as if this little wound up ball of monstrosity is the be all and end all of their entire existence. They stand over this little ball of elastic and suss out how they gonna whack this thing as far as they can.. then they walk off after this little wound up thingamajig as if it represents the be all of life itself …and they try sink this little love of their life into a little hole…by working out the lie of the green the slope of the fall the cut of the grass the strength of the wind and how much energy of pent up concentration they have to invest in all this stuff..

and the best part of this sh’t is these grown up adult evolved orangutans get payed mega millions of dollars to actually perfect this sh’t as if it ever meant anything to anyone of any value..

Crikey f’ng Moses who devised this pent up pastime as some spectacular sporting code.. like you really got to be at the top of your human powers of peaked persuasion to whack a little wound up ball of elastic around a garden of Eden and try sink the little bugger into a goddamn hole…what kind of moron is this homosapien.. don’t he have FAR more important things he gotta consider before he croaks off into the never ending vortex of never never land?

I mean fokking ma voort after a goddamn oval rugby ball and trying to moer some poor opponent into brainless oblivion has at least some kind of warped fck’d up barbaric merit.. but smacking a little bound up ball of elastic and getting paid MEGA f’ng bucks to do so.. gotta be the most inane damn idiocy ever devised by this evolved orangutan who reckons he’s as smart as God in his make believe pleasure land.

• 249.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No wait. I got it.

When will the promo relegation game be played.

• 250.katman: Reply to this comment

Spoken like a spaz who wouldn’t have the coordination to put together one decent strike of the golf ball in a hundred thousand attempts. Stick to chess and decoupage, or whatever it is that flatfooted, pigeon-toed, asthmatic, lactose intolerant, eczema-ridden social lepers like you excel at.

• 251.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

el classico.. that must be when the one ponce with the white shirt tries showing how much more of a prima donna he is than the other ponce with the stripy shirt and see who can dance and dive theatrically better than the other one. for 90 minutes solid.. and they try and tell you this is riveting entertaining sport.. up and down the goddamn field.. pass to this one then pass to that one like ping pong or pinball on grass.. the ball kinda ricochets from one pair of boots to the other and if you really lucky.. you MAY be rewarded sometime within 90 minutes of playing time with the ball actually landing up in the opponents net.. if you lucky.. otherwise plenty times it misses or gets blocked before it reaches the goal. Which is the object of the exercise after all.. to kick the ball into the opponents net, sometime within 90 minutes at least once and hopefully more than once..

No wonder Willy Webb Ellis decided this was a loada codswallop and picked the bloody boring thing up and started high tailing it to the other end.. at least Willy Webb Ellis had some goddamn grey matter between his ears and realized if you wanna make something HAPPEN within 90 minutes get after the damn thing and make with some ACTION of getting the object of the exercise DONE…thank fck

But now in saffa land they reckon its all about hoofing it between the sticks.. that is NOT what Willy Webb Ellis had in mind.. maybe the bokkies should stick to soccer and let those that wanna run and CARRY the ball get on with getting the job done.

• 252.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

check this little snot nosed pseudo closet racist come here and pretend he’s a fckng ‘sportsman’ (or so he thinks) for smacking a little wound up ball of elastic around some green grass and that represents ‘sport’ to this pseudo little fucknut gone all haywire wrong…

stick to bullshitting you little runtcunt piece of trash.. like I already told you any time you need your fckup head fixed for you say the word I fix your rancid fck’d up arrogance so quick you be thanking me profusely till your dying day little piece of pseudo racist cn’t gone wrong.

• 253.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

For all those feeling sorry for the Lions, here’s a reminder why thy’re out…

2006 – P 13, W 2, L 10, D 1
    2007 – P 13, W 5, L 8, D 0
    2008 – P 13, W 2, L 10, D 1
    2009 – P 13, W 4, L 9, D 0
    2010 – P 13, W 0, L 13, D 0
    2011 – P 16, W 3, L 12, D 1
    2012 – P 16, W 3, L 13, D 0

TOTAL – P 97, W 19, L 75, D 3

• 254.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-253: tell it to the white redundant rooibontes around here.. they still getting to grips with the fact that their hegemonous heritage has already gone belly up and its time for a new set of circumstances to see if they can ressurect a destitute dynasty to step up to the plate

• 255.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-248: I read the first 3 lines of your post and I propose who are you, (who must around spend roughly 10 hours a week -conservative – guess arguing on this blog with people you’ll never meet, to comment on people wasting time?

Also you’re usually really pissed off so you can’t be enjoying it can you?

@Transformation-243: Very good thanks Transie.

Finishing off third year and pushing for Honours if I can up my work ethic. It’s pretty despicable to be honest haha. Too much Sport on the weekends to watch!

• 256.katman: Reply to this comment

So what is it, you drooling fcken windowlicker? Am I a racist or a pseudo racist? Do you even know what pseudo means? Trying to pass yourself off here as someone of “intellect”. What a tremendously sad fcken joke.

• 257.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-255: that’s what people do on blogs.. they waste time.. this is a blog after all.. a time wasting escapade of zero consequence.. so what you doing here then.. like me.. you wasting time..

just like this pisswilly little fuckface katmankunt who spends most parts of his day here.. I just come on usually at night time to waste some time..

@katman-256: you a closet racist.. a pseudo intelligent pseudo enlightened racist.. that’s who you are.. get it through your pseudo intellectual head.. and get to know who you are.. that way you can try fix the fuckup pseudo intelligentsia bourgeois racist prick you are punk face twit.

• 258.nama1: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-253:
    Nothing to be proud of.

Why are they complaining?

• 259.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-257: That’s the last resort of the weak and feeble, my socially retarded friend. When you have nothing else left in your little sack of insults, turn to the racist catalogue. Whattacock.

• 260.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-254:

Boktos

SeasonPool/Group

No of Teams

Position

Play-Off Result

Currie Cup

6th

Currie Cup

3rd

Currie Cup

6th

Currie Cup

6th

Currie Cup Section A

5th

Currie Cup

14th

Currie Cup

9th

Currie Cup

7th

Currie Cup Section X

5th

Bankfin Cup1

1st

Losing Finalists

Currie Cup Section X

7th

Bankfin Cup1

3rd

Currie Cup Section Y

7th

Bankfin Cup1

3rd

Currie Cup Qualifying

First Division

Currie Cup Qualifying

First Division

Premier Division Section X

5th

First Division2

First Division

4th

Losing Finalists

First Division

2nd

Losing Finalists

First Division

6th

First Division

4th

Losing Semi-Finalists

First Division

2nd

Champions

Promotion/Relegation

2nd

Failed to win promotion.

First Division

2nd

Losing Finalists

• 261.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-259: who got chips the size of Gibraltar weighing them down you miserable little piece of pseudo intelligent racist scum.. who.. you pisswilly little ultra right racist prick..?? you and that other white garbage creep that think your white racist arse smells like strawberry puffed up candy floss.. you and that other piece of ultra right ‘English speaking’ racist trash and who got the absolute GALL to raise your precocious little fucknut racist voice telling them they got a racist chip on their shoulder when it is YOU ‘anglicized’ racists and you ALONE with the absolute malady of racism eating through your very core.. you pseudo enlightened racist scum.. that is WHO you are.. racist scum.. you think I don’t SEE who you trying to pretend you are NOT?

• 262.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-260: whats all that

Lions or EP results?

• 263.katman: Reply to this comment

Ha ha ha, what a cheap phony little ****** you are. Little jewish man from the Rand, living in your suburbs, shopping in your malls, driving your middle class cars for decades and decades. And your BIG contribution to the struggle was that you voted PFP? Because that all the law allowed you to do? And you have the gall to come and lecture me? Call me a racist? You ARE the old South Africa, mate. Old white toppies like you – jew or gentile – are first up against the wall. So stuff that in your organic bong and smoke the fcker. You’re a fraud.

• 264.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-260:

Sorry about that, I was trying to edit EP/Elephants/Kings’ CC and First Division stats

Since 1888 they’ve never won the CC (or even reached a final), First Division, Bankfin Cup or Vodacom Cup

The Lions have won the Super 10, 10 Currie Cups and 4 Vodacom Cups

EP/Elephants/Kings

1992-1995 4 times 6th

1996 7th

1997-1999 14th, 9th 7th

2000 5th Section X CC 1st Bankfin cup

2001 7th Section X CC 3d Bankfin cup

2002 7th Section X CC 3d Bankfin

2005 5th Section X CC

2006-2011 First Division 4x 2nd, 2x 4th, 1x 5th and 1x 6th

• 265.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-263: I got fckall struggle credential kntface.. I told you that already.. I got sweet fanny fckall struggle credentials whatsoever .. but I see racist swine **** like you through and through, .. and when little runtcunt garbage filth the likes of you want to start throwing racist chirps regarding others racist chips on the shoulder remarks around here you little feeble fuckup ultra right racist garbage cn’t then I TELL you WHO you feeble little pseudo intellectual piece of ultra right racist Cn’t ARE..

You f’ng piece of outright garbage trash that you are.. WHO the fck you little feeble fuckwit filthy racist scum think you are chucking your little cleverdick innuendos around that OTHERS have racist chips on their shoulders when it is YOU and that other ‘English’ speaking racist garbage filth that you hobnob rub nose in cahoots with here who need you f’ng racist lights turned out.

• 266.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-265: You got nothing, pal, except your years and years of anger and this handy thing that fell into your lap with he dawn of democracy: the “you’re a racist” accusation. It’s handy because you can just fling it around willy nilly, it needs no qualification and it puts you on the other end of the accusation. Or so you think. But we see through your old school white hide, pal. You don’t get to use the accusation. You haven’t changed your spots at all.

• 267.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

little cn’t pretends he’s an enlightened white English speaking snob nosed little bourgeoisie hobnobbing intelligentsia educated supreme white trash intellect, and he reckons he can tell what a fraud is…

• 268.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-266: listen fckface I see you you miserable little two faced RAT… I see you and these white arsed pieces of ‘superior’ educated garbage snob nosed racist scum right HERE you miserable little fckface racist RAT.. keep it up.. there is NO hiding from the fact of WHO you little piece of racist scum faced rat ARE.. NONE at all.. keep showing who you are you garbage racist scum.. and I’ll keep calling you out for who in FACT you ARE.. punkface racist piece of trash rat.

• 269.katman: Reply to this comment

Saying it over and over and over and over and over won’t make it so. But don’t stop. It’s amusing to see how many combinations of your childish profanities you can string together before the whole pattern starts to repeat. It has an almost mathematical beauty. Please carry on.

• 270.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

by all means you are a RACIST katmankunt.. no matter HOW you try pretend and hide your REAL inherent thoughts and scum faced intentions.. your outright racist remarks are absolutely visible to anyone who can see you for EXACTLY who you are.. a white skinned outright filthy racist.. that is who you ARE.. get to GRIPS with the reality of the fact.. and perhaps you can get RID of the real racist malady eating through your fckup pseudo intelligent ‘superior’ racially infested brain.

• 271.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

haha
    You two at it again.
    wow, who needs kiwis if you guys rip each other apart . We can never make you guys that angry no matter how hard we try
    ;-)

• 272.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

Make it stop

• 273.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

get rid of the pseudo insinuating garbage filthy two faced underhand racists and it will stop

• 274.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-271:

I have to congratulate you Hurricane, I had the nicest leg of lamb from your part of the country on Monday for Thanksgiving

It came from the New Zealand Lamb Co in Wellington

I know lamb well, used to breed sheep in SA, and this one was as good as any, thanks

• 275.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-274:
    Yeah i heard we make a good lamb. Practically all of the good lamb gets exported.
    Glad you enjoyed it.

• 276.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-275:

They’re not that fond of lamb over here, I don’t know why

A friend of mine in the US said during WWII the Army ran out of meat and started buying lamb and mutton from American farmers, and the guys sold all they had to them, including old tough ewes.

That combined with Army cooks put a generation or two of Americans off lamb

• 277.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-276:
    haha
    Thats a laugh.

• 278.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-264: i’m sure you realised that Mxhosa was posting SUPER RUGBY results since the GLRU wanted to ‘stand alone’ from the Cats franchise…the South Eastern Cape franchise aka the Spears/Kings do NOT have an equivalent history of results, good or bad, to compare as the Lions were illegally allowed to continue their mediocrity for 7 whole years without consequence.

it is no coincidence that in 2006 & now in 2012 the same franchise is still faced with relegation but the difference this time is the Hoskins has NO f.cking room to be corrupt & buy shares in the Kings will the sole purpose of DESTROYING them & allow the Lions to continue their mediocrity uninterrupted.

• 279.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

AIG new AB jersey sponsor, huge amount of money which will safeguard the game in NZ.

• 280.Transformation: Reply to this comment

blackpanty is probably having a FIT right now, a SPONSOR’S logo on their hallowed all black jersey? i thought it was only the likes the Springboks who ‘prosticuted’ their jersey & honour :roll:

Controversial insurance giant
    AIG will sponsor the All Blacks
    until at least early 2018, in a
    deal which includes having its
    logo across the front of the
    black jersey.

AIG was bailed out by the US government to the tune of
    $182 billion in 2008, one of the
    biggest failures of the global
    financial crisis.

While the company has since
    recovered somewhat, and is
    buying back its stock from the
    US Treasury, there is still
    concern the company’s
    underlying businesses are still
    struggling, according to
    Businessweek.

• 281.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-280: cue Bakkies – the financially bankrupt sponsoring the morally bankrupt

• 282.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-281:
    nail on the proverbial farking head trupi….nail on the farking head….

• 283.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-280:
    Apparently O’Neil has resigned as head of the ARU.

• 284.foxpox: Reply to this comment

Another shambles in South African Rugby, with the effective undermining of the Lions Rugby Union in terms of the Super 15 !

THE KEO CONNECTION

Highbury Safika Media (HSM) is a publishing house boasting a portfolio of over 30 magazine titles and numerous online publications. Amongst these are SA Rugby Magazine and Keo.co.za – the website of Mark Keohane and other SA Rugby writers such as Ryan Vrede and Jon Cardinelli.

Keohane has been a public figure since his days as Springbok Communications Manager under the ill-fated reigns of both Harry Viljoen and Rudolph Streauli, until he resigned in protest over SARFU’s handling of the Geo Cronjé racism debacle involving Quinton Davids. Keohane went on to publish a book about the episode and the state of the Springboks in general, and was widely criticized by Springbok players (most notably Corné Krige) as deliberately attempting to sow division within their ranks and to undermine SA Rugby in general.

In recent times Keohane has been busying himself in the extensive business interests of HSM, as well as media relations of other entities, such as Jake White’s Winning Ways – a business partnership which ended in a heated law suit, kept hushed away out of the public sphere. Even more recently, however, HSM -and Mark Keohane in particular – were awarded the contract to manage the media, marketing and public relations of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC). The awarding of this contract was never put up for tender, as is standard government procedure, but was rather awarded directly to HSM (although Keohane states that normal application took place, the fact remains it should have gone to tender).

And this is where the Keo connection begins to reveal itself.

During his time at SA Rugby, Mark Keohane worked alongside the likes of Rian Oberholzer (President of SARFU), Songezo Nayo (Managing Director), Gary Grant (Marketing Director) and the current president of SASCOC – Gideon Sam (Springbok Team Manager).

All four names mentioned above are currently directors of sports marketing company Accelerate Sports, with Gideon Sam being appointed as Chairman. Gideon Sam also serves on the Lotto Distribution Board, but excused himself when dealing with the funding grant to SA Cycling, a grant from which Accelerate Sport received commission to the tune of R 26 million – a blatant conflict of interest.

Accelerate Sport, through their subsidiary Access Facilities and Leisure Management (AFLM), were also awarded the contract as operations manager of the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium. It is reported that this contract brings in a whopping R 600 000 a month to the coffers of Accelerate. It is the duty of AFLM to source events to be staged at the stadium to generate revenue and keep the stadium sustainable.

And here the connection between rugby and Accelerate begins to become clear.

The contract between AFLM and the Nelson Mandela Bay Metro states that, above the R 600 000 a month, AFLM are to be awarded performance bonuses based on the revenue they generate, providing this amount exceeds R 12,5 million a year. The structure of this bonus is as follows:

The Operator will be paid 10% of any amount above R12.5 million but less than R15 million, and then:

• 12.5% of any amount in excess of R15 million but less than R20 million;

• 15% of any amount in excess of R20 million but less than R25 million; and

• 20% of any amount in excess of R25 million.

It is thus blatantly clear that it is in the best interests of Accelerate to find events which will draw spectators, such as concerts etc.

But what better way to ensure constant revenue, week after week, than playing host to a top tier sports team. If only the Eastern Cape had one.

But wait, Accelerate have strong ties to SARU, they do after all boast an ex-president in their ranks. Would it at this point seem ludicrous to suggest that Oberholzer, Sam, Grant and Nayo used their previous connections to SARU to, excuse the pun, accelerate the Kings’ inclusion in Super Rugby so as to ensure that their business interest was being looked after, leading to SARU’s shock announcement at the Heyneke Meyer press conference about the Kings’ guaranteed inclusion in Super Rugby for 2013? Surely not.

So where does Mark Keohane fit into all this?

Keohane has recently stepped up his anti – Lions rhetoric in his articles, and while not directly naming the Kings in his most recent one, it is clear where his views emanate from. The vested interest he has in servicing his ex-colleagues at SARU (SASCOC contracts etc.) has clearly skewed the views of an already overly opinionated man.

But wait, there’s more.

After the establishment of the Kings, the son of Cheeky Watson – president of the Eastern Province Rugby Union (under which the Kings operate) – Luke, was brought back from Bath to play for the Kings. In May 2011 HSM (with Mark Keohane again at the forefront) announced that it had decided to enter into the field of player management, a first for the publishing company. Furthermore it was announced that their first client would be none other than Luke Watson. Queue the Mark Keohane propaganda machine.

The cover of the very next SA Rugby magazine was adorned by – yes, you guessed it – Luke Watson, with the rather flattering caption “Return of the King”. This was to be only the start of the Keohane marketing hype surrounding Watson and the Kings.

At the same press conference where SARU dropped the Kings bombshell on an unsuspecting audience, Ryan Vrede, a HSM journalist, asked Heyneke Meyer if Luke Watson – a player languishing in the second tier of SA Rugby and who hasn’t been in Bok contention since mid-2008 – was a contender for the position of Springbok captain. These blatant attempts by Keohane to force the name of Luke Watson into mainstream media while he has done nothing to get it there serves to illustrate the hidden agenda and inherent corrupt nature of a man who has lived off the rise and fall of others for far too long.

Not only has the media machine being rolling for Luke Watson, but others being managed under yet another Accelerate Sport company – In-Site Athlete Management – have been enjoying a rise in publicity in SA Rugby magazine as well. Willem Alberts received some ego stroking in May 2011, as did another In-Site managed player -Joe van Niekerk – in March 2012, with the article stating that he is playing the best rugby of his career at Toulon. Buttering him up for a big money move back to SA perhaps?

It is clear that Keo’s connection into Accelerate stretches deep, with an “I’ll scratch your back you scratch mine” policy which benefits both sides. Gideon Sam made sure he looked after Mark with the awarding of the SASCOC account, Mark in turn ensures that the business interests of Accelerate Sport and its stakeholders remains in the mainstream media, and they all walk away happy.

The reason why Keo has gone on a Lions bashing campaign of late should come as no surprise when taking the above into account. Mark Keohane is no longer a journalist; he hasn’t been for quite a while. He is a businessman with a platform to promote his interests and those of others close to him, a platform which he uses selflessly and without shame.

He is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. He is the worm in the apple, and the rot starts with him.

• 285.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-253: Well , well we have a new statitician in our midst. mxhosa. Please show any RUGBY competitions that the Eastern Cape have won in the last 100 years.

• 286.Wanderer: Reply to this comment

@Puma-36: Do you really read properly, Taute is only signing for the S15 comp and is available two weeks before the promotion relegation match, his agent has not confirmed with the Stormers as yet as the LIONS want to ensure that all the players going on loan contracts are getting game time.
    It seems you get all flustered just thinking of having some decent players for a change.
    Hell please read the articles and try to understand the content, while you are about it try some other rugby websites as well. Most of the guys commenting here are stuck here, I promise you do not need any money or a passport to brouwse around.

• 287.Wanderer: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-22: No you are so wrong he has not signed yet and he only wants to play at full back.

• 288.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@umkhonto-285:

What do titles won in the last 100 years have to do with SR? The Lions won the CC last year, yet they’ve only won 6 games out of 32 in the last two seasons of SR, with essentially the same squad….

Bottom line is that they are a kak SR franchise and they have been since SA was allowed to field five teams in the competition. They’ve done this whilst fielding least number of black players of any franchise. Have you seen their starting line-ups for the last two weeks?

By the way, if the King/Spears had been awarded SR status, as they should’ve been in 2005, they might have been in better placed to negotiate with the following players:

Keegan Daniel, Ryan Kankowski, Steven Sykes, Nikolai Blignaut, Jacques Potgieter, Luvuyiso Lusaseni, Siyabulela Mdaka, Lubabalo Mthembu, Sisa Mafu, Dewald Potgieter, Bandise Maku, Lubabalo Gwavu, Siya Kolisi, Davon Raubenheimer….. Zane Kirchner, Bjorn Basson, Lwazi Mvovo, Luzuko Vulindlu, Sbusiso Sithole, Luvuyo Mhlobiso, Yondela Stampu, Simpiwe Mtimkulu, Tim Whitehead, JJ Engelbrecht, Paul Jordaan…. Some of the black names yo won’t recognise, but some were baby boks and schoolboy stars who went to different provinces, starred in their age group teams but, for one reason or another, were never quite afforded the same opportunities as some of their peers.

Consider this… between 2005 and 2007 the Cheetahs won 2 titles and shared 1. In the same period 2006 to 2008, they P 39, W 10, D 1, L 28, SR games. In fact, despite being a very good CC side over the last ten years, they’ve never won more than 5 games in a season of SR.

And to answer your question…. Border shared two CC’s with WP in 1932 and 1934

• 289.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-288: How can you say what do titles to do with SR, they have everything to do with RUGBY, when you see who is replacing the Lions and what they have achieved in th last 100 years it makes no RUGBY sense.

You run off names of players who where born in EC or where schooled there, it means sweet fanny adams as long as EC is a sht hole nobody will want to die there.

Shared CC makes for fantastic trophy cabinet !!!

• 290.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

LOL! I see reading is not one of your strong points.

I guess, Brayn Habana, Jacque Fourie, Heinke vd Merwe, Brian Mujati, Joe van Nierkerk, Schalk Brits, Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Louis Ludick didn’t wanna die in the shithole that is Joburg? Is that why they left? Or is it that they didn’t wanna be associated with a kak franchise? Most recently, Josh Strauss, Paul Willemse, Michael Rhodes, Pat Cilliers, possibly Jaco Taute, Lionel Mapoe, Elton Jantjies didn’t like life in Joburg? Hence they have left or might leave… Nee boet, it’s simple, no SR equals player exodus….

The Lions’ achievements over the last 100 years have got nothing to do with next season’s SR. And please don’t make me repeat what I’ve already said.

• 291.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

It seem historys repeating itself you give me names of players born or schooled, who never even played cc for Eastern Cape and you then give names of players that have been blooded at the Lions, I have no problem with players moving to other provinces it is called improvement of his or her life.
    It is the Kings supporters who name every lameass that has been born in a eastern cape, you are not seriously expecting these people to stay because you have SR

Complete Pipe dream, this will be a flash in the pan.

Next year the Sharks and bulls will buy all your good players and they will leave.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.