Butch leads, Jantjies benched

Flyhalf Butch James will captain the Golden Lions when they host the Blue Bulls in an important derby this Saturday.

Coach Johan Ackerman has resisted the temptation to push Elton Jantjies straight into the starting side, and so the returning Bok flyhalf will play from the bench.

James’s elevation to captain is also the result of CJ van der Linde starting in place of regular skipper JC Janse van Rensburg. Pat Cilliers is also back from Bok duty to bolster the front row, while another returning Bok squad member in Lionel Mapoe is included on the bench.

Jaco Taute, who started for the Boks at outside centre last week, has been rested according Lions management.

Golden Lions – 15 Ruan Combrinck, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Deon van Rensburg, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Butch James (c), 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Dercik Minnie, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 CJ van der Linde.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse, 18 Paul Willemse, 19 Warren Whiteley, 20 Whestley Moolman, 21 Elton Jantjies, 22 Lionel Mapoe.

291 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-142:

like fox news,
    i report, you decide :grin:

@Transformation-146:
    no boet, from the heart here transie, honest.
    it was one of my major life lessons and in many ways changed me as a person.

is it the emotions..?..

i know what am i thinking showing emotions on a rugby blog…

tut tut tut

i will go and sit in the corner…

• 152.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Puma-132:

Perhaps they won’t… But would rather have him ahead of Fouche.

• 153.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-149:

i’m must be getting soft in my old age, nama

i dont know where this stuff is coming from sometimes :lol:

• 154.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-143: Wow Bakkies I am starting to reeeealy like you! It is refreshing to read an honest reply and to see the other side of a story, one tends to view situations only from ones own gender bias and its good to see that mistakes can be made and learned from! I hope I get the wisdom to advise her correctly to make the right choice, maybe this is a relationship that can be saved.

Back to Rugby, your predicitons for final CC 2012?

• 155.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-153: Dont mention ‘soft’ and ‘old age’ in the same sentence……..

• 156.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-151:
    Bakkies why so emo today.

Staying with one person for the rest of your life is very, very hard.

• 157.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-156: Easy..just find the right one and with a lot of hard work and commitment it’s a walk in the park and a moer of a lekker walk it is!!

• 158.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-157:
    I’m to married to my soulmate. I think………. or I hope :lol:

Yes, the good times, cancels out the bad times.

• 159.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl-154:
    no worries, and i hope it all works out.

final..?.. bulls 25 – sharks 10… what else…?. :lol:

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-155:
    point taken… :lol:

@Jeraldjay-156:

i dunno boet, it must be this aftermath of our rc campaign. taking stock of where we’re at and all that. its leaves me pensive i suppose (if pensive’s the right word?)

yes, it is.. and from my experience love is something worked at every single day and even at its best is never perfect.

• 160.grant10: Reply to this comment

Sharks will beat Lions in CC Final at the Tank….

My call…

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-157:
    there you go
    in a nutshell ‘hard work and commitment’ is exactly all it is.
    simples :grin:

• 162.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-160:
    good fokkenn call

i dont like it :lol:

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-162: Niether do I ….

I would like to sort you okes out at Newlands….

But I would not place money on that outcome….

WP cant win at Ellis Park….

And Sharks will moer you okes 6 love at the Tank….

• 164.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-160: ja, sharks are you 2nd team we know boet!

• 165.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163: Stranger things have happened Grantie, like Bakkies making eyes at Welsh scrummies :-) :-)

• 166.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-164: LOL

Yes….used to be…but we all know that Plod fellow ruined the relationship…..with him not there anymore I must admit the heart is ruling the head now and again….I do like the way they played the last few months….

But Luke still my man so next year it is Stormers….Kings…Sharks….Cheetahs…….Valke….Pumas….Uct…mATIES…………………………………………………………………………………………………Toulon….Munster………………………………………………………………………………………..Bulls

• 167.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-165: WP should have rested JDV this week…..maybe Bekker as well….then throw the kitchen sink at Ellis Park…

• 168.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

13 Deon van Rensburg

Butch a true profeessional.

• 169.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-167: All the frontline Boks should have been rested for the duration of the CC.

• 170.Horings: Reply to this comment

Can someone please clarify in terms of the loan agreements when the player needs to return to the Lions. If the playoff game is in the finals series of the super 15 and the player needs to return to the Lions for the playoff then I can not see why the Stormers will pick Taute and Jantjies for the entire season.

• 171.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-166: Province confirm Bath approach for Koster?????

will Flo be coming back?

• 172.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-169: I said on a previous thread the CC finals should be played on the same weekend as the first two November tests and the CC should expand to 7/8 teams. In this way teams with Boks in it will not have a relegation threat hanging over their heads and teams going for semis will surely not pick their Boks for one or 2 games only to replace them again for the semis.

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Horings-170: surely they don’t have to play promotion relegation games while super rugby is still on?

• 174.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Horings-172: Sounds too sensible a solution for SARU :-)

• 175.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@grant10-166: you forgot Namibia

• 176.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Or simply centrally contract the players and have the Bok management keep them out of the whole CC.

• 177.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-173: But the CC starts the week after the super rugby tournament and teams will not want to wait until the end of the year to play such a game. Also, teams in that position will not be affected by the super rugby finals.

• 178.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-176: Not whilst we have “bulle bo bokke” kind of attitudes…

• 179.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-176: I do not think unions will allow it.

As far as I know Saru is responsible for the CC and if the sponsors are OK with it then they can implement my idea next year.

Saru will not convince any union to rest their Boks if promotion relegation is part of the CC.

• 180.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-170: The Lions have 1st option to use their players in the promotion/relegation match afa I understand it.

So if, for example the Stormers end up in last place amongst the SA teams, Taute and Jantjies (if he signs) will play for the Lions against the Stormers in the promotion/relegation match.

Would be interesting to see where SARU fit in this game because it looks as if the Lion’s players will be spreads among the franchises. That means they can’t set a date now because they don’t know if anyone of them will reach the final of the S15. A week or two later the RC starts and some Lion players may be involve with the Boks. Returning from the RC, they go straight into the CC and after that the EOYT.

When exactly is a opportune time to play the promotion/relegation match?

December?

• 181.Horings: Reply to this comment

An expanded CC with no Boks will provide the chance for the Lions, Cheetahs and the Kings to build confidence for a possible Super 15. Odds are that the Cheetahs or Bulls will win their promotion relegation match for the CC and Lions will probably win their promotion relegation match for the Super 15 next year so we need to find a place for the Kings. From the start I thought an extended run in the Currie Cup is the place to start.

• 182.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@Horings-179: The unions won’t allow your plan either.
    So back to square 1 where the best option is to follow the NZ route.

• 183.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-177:
    The Lions may be affected. One/some of their players may be involved in the final of the S15 with their adopted franchise.

• 184.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-180: The unions will not allow a date that late in the year. If they allow it they will not be able to contract players and the Lions and Kings will have no chance to get out of a yearly promotion relegation scenario.

The Kings cannot even get players and they knew from August that they will play super 15 rugby.

• 185.Horings: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-182: CC formats have been changed regularly, but to convince the unions that we are no in charge of your players will not fly. I am also not sure whether Saru is professional enough to do it. I think the Bulls and Sharks unions are defintely more professional and hopefully WP are catching up after Rassie made it clear where their problems lie.

The NZ model works well, because the first priority for them is NZ rugby. With Saru we have alterior motives behind every single decision.

• 186.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-171: Where have Bath seen Koster play?, in High School?

• 187.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-184:
    My thought exactly.

I just can’t see where they’ll fit in the match.

The Lions will want to play there best possible team, so it can’t be scheduled while some of their players are still playing for their “new franchises.” Keep in mind that they would want their players to train together for a week or two, maybe play a friendly, before they play the promotion/relegation match since their players will come from all these different franchises while some will only be playing Vodacom Cup during the RC.

• 188.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-183: The Lions will be affected and that is why the clause where the players need to be released for the promotion game is in their contracts, but the teams in the finals will not be affected because they are not the worst SA team.

• 189.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-187:
    During the S15…sorry.

• 190.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-187: Maybe one of these “journalists” need to find out. I think it is quite important. Can you imagine how the Stormers will feel when the date is set for the super rugby finals series and they cannot play all their players on loan?

• 191.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Horings-181: Good idea on paper if you don’t take into account the Super Rugby money the SR participants would be having, virtually continuing their dominance

• 192.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-188:
    OK, I get you.

Let’s for example say that Jantjies and Taute play a pivotal role in getting the Stormers to the final of the S15. SARU then decide that the promotion/relegation match must take place on the same day as the final, then Stormers will not be able to select them for the final because they will be playing for the Lions.

Mmmmmmmmm… dit kan kak wees. :lol:

• 193.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-190:
    “snap”

• 194.Horings: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-191: OK, but as things stand now the Kings will probably not win any of their promotion relegation games in the next year. Kings will struggle to get into the Currie Cup if the Springboks are available for that promotion game and if they do not play CC with no assurance of super rugby how will they win their super rugby promotion games in future. The sensible thing should have been CC rugby since the Spears got onto the scene. Now we have wasted 5 years and throwing them into an impossible situation.

• 195.Horings: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-191: I want the Kings to be in the equation. There is definitely more players in super rugby teams that went to school in EC than in the NC, but a NC team (Griquas) is more in the SA rugby equation than the EC.

• 196.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-195: And with them in super rugby I can go to Loftus once a year and boo Luke Watson.

• 197.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Horings-190: Seems as the promotion – relegation game will take place after Super Rugby. Just read this article about Callie Visagie going on loan to the Bulls

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Visagie’s agent, Eduard Kelder, confirmed the move and that Visagie had agreed to extend his contract with the Lions for the next year. He will rejoin the Lions two weeks before their promotion-relegation match after next year’s Super competition

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

As you can see from part of the article I copied that the promotion – relegation game will take part after Super Rugby and it seems the players have to be back with Lions 2 weeks before the relegation game is played. Probably to allow all players to gel again.

• 198.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-192: And it will not only be one match. It will be a home and away scenario.

• 199.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-197: In the middle of the Currie Cup???

• 200.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Puma-197: And if it is just after super rugby and they need to be back 2 weeks before that game then the same problem exist.

Ek verstaan miskien nou hoekom die Bulle nie so hard gejag het nie. Hier is ‘n slang in die gras.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.