All Blacks break with tradition
12 Oct 2012
The All Blacks jersey will have the three letters of new sponsor AIG on the front for the next five years, starting from next week’s Bledisloe Cup match in Brisbane.
The sponsorship deal with the US-based insurance company – which also takes in the NZ Maori, NZ Sevens, Black Ferns, Women’s Sevens and U20 national teams – was confirmed at a press conference in Auckland.
‘This is a great day for New Zealand rugby,’ said NZRU chief executive Steve Tew. ‘This is an exciting new partnership that will further secure the future of rugby at all levels in this country and pave the way for our game to reach new fans around the world. Today’s announcement is a game changer for New Zealand rugby.’
All Blacks captain Richie McCaw said the new sponsorship arrangement had his support.
‘It’s really flattering that a company this big has chosen New Zealand rugby to be its cornerstone sponsorship. It shows incredible respect for our traditions, heritage and record of success across all our teams. This will really help make our game stronger right from the community game to the All Blacks so this is great news for rugby.’
The AIG logo on the All Blacks jersey is just under one third the size of the maximum allowed under IRB guidelines.
‘This is not a decision we have taken lightly. Like all New Zealanders we greatly respect the rich and proud heritage of the black jersey, which is why NZRU consulted with senior players and others as we carefully weighed up this latest move,’ Tew said.

573 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All
14 Oct 2012, 04:41 am
@Black Power-550:
Bakkies has multiple log ins. He is a cancer on this site.
On planet Bakkies what he says seems logical…. to the normal human being bakkies is a dipstick and needs to log off and play with his barbie dolls.
14 Oct 2012, 04:45 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-549:
Bakkies.
Out of all the South Africans on here you are by far the most pathetic.
You have about 5 followers….( 3 of themare alt log ins ) and the rest arejust embarrased as it makes them a look as though South Africans are cry babies.
It so far from the truth. What i have learnt on this site is that most SA bloggers are just like Kiwis, love the game and know when a team is better than their own. You on the other hand cannot accept that another team is better thanyour own so you go out and tell stories about us Kiwis.
All it is doing is making you look like a sore loser and a hopless case…..how about you fukoff and grow the fukup
14 Oct 2012, 06:10 am
@Hurricane-552:
bakkies is the Alf Garnett of SA rugby.
14 Oct 2012, 08:11 am
A recently published study found that the use of foul and racist language was an indication of psychopathology. There is a lot of material here.
14 Oct 2012, 08:36 am
@AiDoc-554:
Well most rugby players need help then.
Swearing is part of life, we all have done it sometime or another, but what i
cant get over is people on here find it ok to talk about your young daughters.
Its a problem that should be addressed on Keo.
14 Oct 2012, 08:42 am
AB’s just won the SF and will play Fiji in the final. Argentina beat Aus and Kenya knocked out the Opium Pushing Slave Traders.
14 Oct 2012, 08:43 am
watch on viptv
14 Oct 2012, 08:48 am
@Hurricane-555: yeah, then they all get upset when we return it with interest..
its the whole superiority issue, the D.utchman realise they are losing their grip fast and cant handle it anymore..
its a beautiful thing is karma, as Skop said the other day..
I like how it continually bites SA
14 Oct 2012, 08:50 am
18:32 (GMT + 10) the BlitzBokke will play Kenya for third place. Massive game. The Kiwis v Missionary Eaters in the final.
14 Oct 2012, 09:02 am
@555.Hurricane
On Line behaviour.
14 Oct 2012, 18:39 pm
@Hurricane-551:
huh..?..
what are you on about?
i have never logged on here pretending to be someone else. i have often changed my nics just for the fun of it or for a larf but have always done so with the username registered.
@Hurricane-552:
so you think i’m a cancer… big deal…
i think most of you kiwis are dooses as far as honsety in regard to your precious rugby team is concerned. patently incapable of being honest about the filth they get up to, habitually, in order to win.
did i hurt your feelings? its ok, come back, boet. dont phuckoff…. (rolling eyes smiley).
@Brads-553:
you can call me anything you like, boet. you’re team’s still as filthy as they come, and will probably remain so for a long time to come.
@poppa69-558:
you’re a despcable little pi who blogs like your team plays… low and dishonest…
there, happy now..?..
14 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
@Black Power-550:
learrnt a new word, blacky?
14 Oct 2012, 21:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-561:
Your world is consumed with your lies and deceipt.
From blaming IRB, saying the AB paid of Bryce and other refs to saying Argentina were lucky to get the draw as the ref ripped you off in that game….every loss is someone else fault. Then you start calling other nations names and so on….really pathetic and childish. You need to get real with yourself, it is you who is scum, it is you that is dirty and it is you that needs to grow up little fella.
14 Oct 2012, 21:22 pm
@Hurricane-563:
glad you’re back.
i agree i shouldnt use such offensive and harsh words to describe the nz team and their style of play hurri but when most people here attempt any honest examinations with regard to the patently clear and obvious way in which they play all i get is emotional knee jerk responses.
the trth is they are a dirty team in their style of play and i know you know this as much as i do. i guess its in our nature to never easily admit our shortcoming and faults and this is probably where you guys are coming from, so basically cannot help yourselves much..?…
and i’m not trying to be a sanctimonius doos when i say this, honestly. i should know, i too was there once upon a time.
also, poppa and other kiwis who come for the goading and trolling dont help things does it.
14 Oct 2012, 21:25 pm
@Hurricane-563:
and seriously, what part of the things i harp on about are ‘lies and deceit’?
14 Oct 2012, 21:28 pm
@Hurricane-563:
and for your information, i may perhaps come across as scummy by the things i sometimes say, this is true, but i can tell you straight out that i would never cheat you or give you reason to think of me as dirty, ever.
14 Oct 2012, 21:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-565:
Are you serious?
You have no clue?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-566:
Yet you find it very easy to call all kiwis cheaters and scum. What have i ever done to you except tell it how i see it….as what you claim to do?
14 Oct 2012, 21:42 pm
@Hurricane-567:
ok, i should not call you scum but you most definitely are cheats.
just because you continually do something and get away with it does not mean i should be offensive. i cannot promise you anything, but i will try.
i just wish the irb could sort cheating out of the game in an honest way by treating all teams fairly. this of course means that the ab’s would suffer in a big way and may even struggle to continue thier win ration but hey, that’s life and if they’re as good as you believe then they should be able to deal with it.
unfortunately, until that daty comes no one will ever know. which is all a pity really, as i trully believe, considering all the talent they have, they could have gone about building a worldwide legacy which rugby lovers the world over would have enjoyed, respected and admired.
for a win ration you guys have thrown that away.
14 Oct 2012, 21:43 pm
worldwide legacy = worldwide historical legacy
14 Oct 2012, 21:53 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-568:
Bakkies, you have to agree that in every game the Boks play, they also cheat etc. The game is so fast at times and with the amount of rules at ruck time it is too hard for the ref to spot everything. A call can go either way in a few circumstances.
It is hard and the refs are not coping. Rules need to be fixed and refs need to be accounted for.
14 Oct 2012, 21:59 pm
@Hurricane-570:
daylight between what the ab’s do and get away with and the rest, hurri.
daylight
also, i’d be given to thinking that at present there seems to three sets of rules for rugby. one for the ab’s, one for the rest and one for the boks.
anyway, yes… it is time the irb stamps on this behaviour in a more concerted manner. ulitmately, rugby is the loser.
14 Oct 2012, 22:11 pm
i’m out
you cheats
14 Oct 2012, 22:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-571:
yeah ok then
By the way only time rugby loses out is when the Boks lose. Seems to be the case with you anyways.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-572:
Ok cya Mcmoany
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Show All