All Blacks break with tradition

The All Blacks jersey will have the three letters of new sponsor AIG on the front for the next five years, starting from next week’s Bledisloe Cup match in Brisbane.

The sponsorship deal with the US-based insurance company – which also takes in the NZ Maori, NZ Sevens, Black Ferns, Women’s Sevens and U20 national teams – was confirmed at a press conference in Auckland.

‘This is a great day for New Zealand rugby,’ said NZRU chief executive Steve Tew. ‘This is an exciting new partnership that will further secure the future of rugby at all levels in this country and pave the way for our game to reach new fans around the world. Today’s announcement is a game changer for New Zealand rugby.’

All Blacks captain Richie McCaw said the new sponsorship arrangement had his support.

‘It’s really flattering that a company this big has chosen New Zealand rugby to be its cornerstone sponsorship. It shows incredible respect for our traditions, heritage and record of success across all our teams. This will really help make our game stronger right from the community game to the All Blacks so this is great news for rugby.’

The AIG logo on the All Blacks jersey is just under one third the size of the maximum allowed under IRB guidelines.

‘This is not a decision we have taken lightly. Like all New Zealanders we greatly respect the rich and proud heritage of the black jersey, which is why NZRU consulted with senior players and others as we carefully weighed up this latest move,’ Tew said.

573 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 » Show All

• 451.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-448:

Small?

• 452.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-440:

He misses quite a bit.

• 453.cane: Reply to this comment

@RL-423:

Go North RL,

Your dour unimaginative rugby is more suited there anyway.

BUT WHY WOULD THEY WANT YOU OKES?

You are nothing but trouble.
    Always have been.
    Always will be .

TROUBLE.

• 454.the authority: Reply to this comment

@Green is Great…black is evil-446: I couldn’t agree more.

We are the good guys. The heroes of the story.

The All Blacks are the villains.

We will overcome our hardship and beat the cheating villains. The Hero always defeats the bad guy in the end.

Well said.

I am The Authority.

• 455.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-451:

Pops yes.

• 456.the authority: Reply to this comment

@cane-453: At least we don’t have cheating refs like you.

• 457.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-448: It’s so small it’s sometimes mistaken for a little beaver.

• 458.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Green is Great…black is evil-446:
    wow,no wonder you guys team is cr@p this year,look at what you have to put up with.
    As well as clueless fans why even play the game?
    1st RWC was in 1987, damn you guys should have been there…..it was awesome.

• 459.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-452: Actually I don’t.

• 460.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-457:

He gets that a lot.

• 461.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-447:
    Maybe he wants a loan. :-)

• 462.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-456:
    Oh so your refs dont cheat? lol

• 463.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-459:

I missed that. What don’t you get?

• 464.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-463: Nothing.

• 465.cane: Reply to this comment

@Green is Great…black is evil-446:

” That’s why Hollywood makes movies about us. …”

I know …………………………………….i saw “District 9″

You shallow barssttads.

Or do you refer to the movie by “Dirty Harry”.

Dirty Harry or District 9……………………………………………….scum.

• 466.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-464:

Right

• 467.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Danie Gerber, Michael & Carel dup, naas, ray mordt etc etc ,,,, best rugby team ever …. 1986 would’ve been a breeze!

• 468.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Oh well better log off.
    Dont like seeing grown men cry like authority.
    post 456 seemed he was shedding a tear.
    Then ends it with i am the authority.
    hahaha clown.

• 469.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-468:

The rush?

• 470.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-467:
    How many international tests did the 1986 bok team win?
    They didnt play the All Blacks that year.
    You cant have the best international rugby team ever and not play against international teams.

• 471.cane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-456:

May you choke in the puss and vomit generated by your own hatred.

• 472.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-466: I’m glad we had this chat. All that stuff needed to be said.

• 473.katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-471: Eish caner, that’s no way to kick off the weekend.

• 474.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-472:

I’m glad I got it off my chest.

• 475.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

choking on vomit? lol rich coming from NZ cannibals …

• 476.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-474: Pics or it never happened.

• 477.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-476:

It never happened.

I’m free to leave. Nag out grote.

• 478.RL: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-439: the 107M is over 5 years not a year

@cane-453: we have no choice but to go north – I blame the 3 evils for kicking my team out.

1. Hoskis and that devil Jurie Roux
    2. The harlot Watsons
    3. The kiwis and their inbred cousins

Blood has been spilt and superrugby will die.

• 479.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-475:
    NZ cannibals??
    This is probably why you guys missed alot of international rugby.
    Anyway you still havnt said where the game was and when for the 17000 attendence

• 480.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-477: I will charge you. Thats my frase ” Nag ou grote” :)

• 481.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Zandberg Jansen-480:

Apologies. Nag ou grote

• 482.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-477: I guess so.

• 483.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@RL-478:
    oh, still not bad. Better than not getting 107 million.
    I am sure SARU would jump at 107 million.

And dont blame NZ for the lions kicking out.
    You really needed to win more than what 3 games every year.

• 484.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Not going to read all these posts, but….isn’t AIG technically broke??

I know they got $170 billion bail out, so how can they now be a sponsor???

Not knocking the money the AB’s are getting, just the company giving it.

• 485.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-483:
    Actually where did you get the figure of 107 million from ?
    According to what i have found is that the number is undisclosed but they have said its the second biggest sponsorship in the world. The biggest rugby sponsorship ever is to the ABs which goes to 2019, and thats from adidas.
    So where did you find your source?

• 486.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-484:
    yep 180 million dollar bailout.
    Since then they have payed off the bailout and profited 19 billion US dollars.
    Not bad. But according to a poster here (suffer_guy), SARU makes more money than 19 billion a year.

• 487.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@RL-478:

The Lions kicked themselves out.

For the better part of 12 years they’ve been mucking around (both on and off the field).

Poor old Owen on Boots & All has been talking about his ‘rebuilding lions’ for more than decade (to the point that even he laughs at them, his former team).

Surely as fan you were getting tired of finishing last every single year????

• 488.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-486:

Oh okay.

But I don’t think they’ve payed off 180 billion mate!!?? Not a chance in hell.

I think the US goverment kinda gave it to them.

• 489.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-465:
    :shock:
    are you farken drunk?

district 9 is a make believe sci-fi movie set in joburg and revolves around a plot in which “aliens” land on earth and make their home here.

its make believe you chop…. aliens are’nt real… at least not yet.

• 490.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@cane-465: @cane-471:

Do you have down syndrome mate?

• 491.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-486:

http://money.cnn.com/2012/05/03/markets/aig-earnings/index.htm

So the US goverment still owns 70% of AIG.

Yet they are sponsoring an overseas rugby team. Kinda strange :)

• 492.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

New Zealanders still have nightmares about Bakkies Botha… It’s gonna take a lot of therapy before those scars heal.

• 493.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-492:
    its a shame really because with just a little effort he could have been back on the field.

oh well

• 494.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-468: It’s not a big deal when grown men cry. I imagine your father probably cried quite a lot when he realised what a disappointment you turned out to be.

• 495.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-493: He’ll be back soon I reckon. The kiwis will be praying he doesn’t though.

• 496.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-491: So the US is sponser the Kiwis, the next thing we here, the AB will have to where NFL crash helmets, and we will a offense and a defence team.

• 497.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-491:
    you’d be surprised at the amount of kak these kiwis will make up and the lengths to which they’ll go to in the course of perverting the truth.

major headcases

• 498.RL: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-484: don’t be so gullible londonguppy – true evil is printing money from thin air. Yes those evil Americans and their privately owned federal bank, run by antichrist zionist owners who just print and print and print – good match for the cheats.

@Hurricane-485: superrugby pie of 323 divided by 3.

@londonshark-487: this year we will not finish last guppy, GURANTEED.

• 499.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

where’s the doos..?..

has he been around yet?

think i’ll sniff through the posts

• 500.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@RL-498:

Agree, on both your responses :)

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.