All Blacks break with tradition

The All Blacks jersey will have the three letters of new sponsor AIG on the front for the next five years, starting from next week’s Bledisloe Cup match in Brisbane.

The sponsorship deal with the US-based insurance company – which also takes in the NZ Maori, NZ Sevens, Black Ferns, Women’s Sevens and U20 national teams – was confirmed at a press conference in Auckland.

‘This is a great day for New Zealand rugby,’ said NZRU chief executive Steve Tew. ‘This is an exciting new partnership that will further secure the future of rugby at all levels in this country and pave the way for our game to reach new fans around the world. Today’s announcement is a game changer for New Zealand rugby.’

All Blacks captain Richie McCaw said the new sponsorship arrangement had his support.

‘It’s really flattering that a company this big has chosen New Zealand rugby to be its cornerstone sponsorship. It shows incredible respect for our traditions, heritage and record of success across all our teams. This will really help make our game stronger right from the community game to the All Blacks so this is great news for rugby.’

The AIG logo on the All Blacks jersey is just under one third the size of the maximum allowed under IRB guidelines.

‘This is not a decision we have taken lightly. Like all New Zealanders we greatly respect the rich and proud heritage of the black jersey, which is why NZRU consulted with senior players and others as we carefully weighed up this latest move,’ Tew said.

573 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All

• 501.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-481: I thought so; he’s speaking to you from beyond the grave.

And has been there since late 2006…

• 502.David: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-492:
    As I understand it, the US Treasury is due to sell off some more shares soon, but doesn’t believe it will recover the full amount.

• 503.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@David-502:
    it will never, ever recover the full amount.
    everybody knew this.
    just more financial ‘magic smoke tricks’ from the americans, like so much else of their financial systems.

biggest con job in history, and boy… when it goes pop….

• 504.katman: Reply to this comment

Oh, now I get it. AIG with an I.

The whole day I’ve thought they were sponsored by the guys who make dishwashers. Thought that was pretty ironic, since a hundred cycles on Hot couldn’t rinse them clean.

• 505.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

Kiwis are genuinely very filthy people. If tbey’re not molesting sheep and other live stock, theyre breeding with their family members.

Apparently Richie McCaw has had a child with his mother and no one is meant to know about it.

Filthy, filthy people.

• 506.David: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-503:
    As unappetising as the bailout was, I rekon it was the only option to avoid a global meltdown. The major problem is that there were no controls on how the money was to be used.
    With QE 1 & 2 the Fed has effectively been allowing the banks to re finance themselves at the US citizens expense.

• 507.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-325: BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :mrgreen: @ “captainhappymotherfucker”

• 508.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-470: Mate, did you think the best Bok team played in 1986?

You know we would have won the 1987 trophy so often referred to as the “first World Cup”. We were the best team in the 1980s, proven by the fact that we gave it to you up your Winnie the Pooh in 1986.

• 509.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz-508: did you ever get an answer as to exactly what “tradition” has been broken by Tew & kie?

• 510.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-509: Nope.

Perhaps the limited vocabulary of the Kiwis caught up with them.

• 511.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-505: Wow, that’s one strong statement to make, bud.

Does your source have some type of proof of this?

• 512.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-505: you like what age?? 5??

pathetic ffs

• 513.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@ Brumbiesboy: yes there is proof, but the scandal has been covered up and the child given up for adoption.

@ Sharks lover: shhhh

• 514.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Willie you still talking a big game like you before Soweto.

• 515.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-513: The dirty rotten scoundrel!

You would of course be prepared to make that statement to Richie face-to-face would you?

• 516.Rage: Reply to this comment

Heheh… This is one outrageous thread..

• 517.David: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-513:
    Where did you hear this rumour?

• 518.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-514: Get a map.

• 519.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Willie you keeping telling me the Ab’s are going to fold on the big stage, WC Soweto yet the only team folding is yours, next you’ll be telling us we’ll fold and won’t get the world record.

• 520.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-519: Again, get a map.

• 521.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-513: You’re telling me that Richie has a son with pure genes, not watered down by some lass outside his family. How old is he? Will he be of AB age by 2015? All our problems solved!

• 522.Black Power: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-513:

Go find a shrink, you need one desperatly.

• 523.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Katman, Nikita and Dawn.. ? wtf? I can understand the ladies enquiring about my “schnauser”, but you Katman… says it all right there actually. and I have to laugh, this obsession you saffas have with size hasnt exactly done your rugby team any giood has it? still the wannabees who cant beat the Wallabies :lol:

Poltergeist
    hahaha funny guy, are you the saffa they found having s.ex with corpses at the morgue? hence the nick? just another dumb neanderthal living off the profits of the oppression of a peoples for however many years..

IN 1987, SA was invited to the WC, they declined the invitation…

but its great to see so many knuckle draggers crying because their rugby is average, third rate and pathetic..

• 524.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so

60% possession
    did not concede a penalty for almost sixty minutes?

and your opposition STILL scored twice as many points? at altitude? after being disadvantaged by travel? in front of 80000 knuckle dragging Neanderthals?

hahahahaha

SA rugby isnt kak, it’s an abomination.

• 525.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Pos Team P W L D Pts
    1 All Blacks 6 6 0 0 26
    2 Wallabies 6 3 3 0 12
    3 Springboks 6 2 3 1 12
    4 Pumas 6 0 5 1 4

says it all doesnt it… 14 more points then the closest competition, that being Australia… no wonder so many of our younger generation see the Aussies as our true competition..

and who can blame them really..

must admit, the four try bonus point we got from the game at Soweto is pure satisfaction, 100% pure… have to laugh at a team that want to be “the best” yet allow four tries, that really is comical…

as a circus, there is none better than SA..

doot doot oodle doodle oot doot do do

• 526.out wide: Reply to this comment

A bit rich Saffers get on NZ’s case for putting three small letters on their jersey. We have had CASTLE, ABSA, SASOL emblazoned on ours for years and now some on this blog are so high and mighty to criticize. Surely someone else has picked up on this but I dont have time to trawl through all this stuff on this thread – Keo put a limit on this Bakkies guy please – his hate speech and unfounded statements are embarrassing as his namesake was.

• 527.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@outwide 526: good post, there have been a number of saffas on this site telling bakkies and HG to give it a rest. Thanks for shooting straight.

The fact that this a no news story like this about the all blacks can generate over 500 posts on a south African rugby site, shows why a multinational like AIG wants to sponsor us. We are by far the biggest draw card in international rugby, and the most marketable.

Every side that has won the world cup has cashed in on that success financially in the years following. The All Blacks have, however, taken this to a new level due to their winning record over the last 8 years (been number 1 for 95% of that time) and being the first team since 87 to dominate the international scene in the year post a world cup win.

This financial windfall will give the AB’s an advantage over their rivals over the next few years. Let’s hope we don’t squander li!

• 528.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

Ps – there is a high likelihood the nzru will f.uck it up so no need for saru to panic just yet!!!!

• 529.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so, the team a lot of its supporters will vehemently state are the best in the world, conceded 20 points while scoring NONE in the second half

against the “pretenders” from those three lil islands at the bottom of the world?

20 points to nil, 1st versus at the time the 2nd ranked team in the world? no wonder a sponsorship deal has you all so flustered, it is the last thin scraps of meat on the bone that you cling to in some vainglorious attempt to shelter yourselves from the truth that the ABs own your team, and did so in your own country (like they did in 08, 19-0 was it?)..

but hey, with all this incredible “depth”, surely that shouldnt be the case?

oh thats right, political interfwerence, quotas etc etc etc..

hahaha loving it, truly… its great to see so many Saffas having to deal with the fact that you guys are so far from the best at rugby..

• 530.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so lets look at the test season for comparative purposes..

the ABs have played nine tests, and on two occasions have kept their opposition scoreless (Ireland and Australia) – they have a 100% win ratio this season, and are now one win away from equalling the record of most consecutive wins. If they can beat the Aussies in Brisbane, they will then face Scotland to extend it to 18..

The Boks have won 4 tests from 9 ( :shock: ), beating England twice, Aust and Argentina once and with two draws.. 3rd seems to high in the rankings for a team that cant even win 50% of its tests.. they could only win 2 tests in TRC, so a 33% percent win rate… :lol: this from a nation who think they are indisputable the best, that have so much deopth of talent etc etc etc.. bring back PDV I say, at least he provided us with laughs off the field, Meyer only provides us with laughs in the way the Boks play and his selection policies..

Aussie have won 6 from 9 tests, doing something the Boks couldnt in beating Argentina IN Argentina, with only one loss coming at the hands of another team besides the ABs..

maybe the Boks should withdraw from the championship until they are good enough to actually win half their games?

• 531.defunkt: Reply to this comment

New logo is very demure, a small price to pay for $80 million dollars pumped into continuing global domination.

• 532.Black Power: Reply to this comment

Keo, put a bar on this poltergeist-513: guy. His comments are insulting for this site and for true Kiwi and South African supporters.

• 533.Black Power: Reply to this comment

I find it amazing that South Africans are complaining about a logo on our jersey when you have had one for years. Need i remind you CASTLE, ABSA, SASOL

• 534.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@poltergeist-505: and what is your excuse moron…how pathetic…grow up or do you still like to be stuck to your mother nipple…

• 535.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Some pretty-forgettable mouthbreathing pilgrim used to take delight in retorting “A4Y” whenever the ABs won another trophy or when they once again dined out on smoked springbok on the Highveld. I wonder where he is now buried? Somewhere near the gravesite of the repoutation of that silly snake-oily pseudo sports scientist bloakes who blew mouth-corner bubbles after taking a hard tackle, probably?

• 536.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

cant believe all of the **** coming out of SA about NZ….jealousy never wins…what a bunch of losers, NZ will survive nicely thankyou…even when your rubbish team goes north to play in the ***** league of 6 nations….jeez you may even win a trophy…me thinks your cabinet is bare at the moment…

• 537.Yellowhairman: Reply to this comment

@out wide-526: yeeeeha I have a saffer who supports NZ, you are so right, SA rugby sold their jersey years ago….good on you mate.

• 538.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

This really is embarrasing for the good SA bloggers.
    Bakkies, poltergeist and a few others need to sit down and stop making up stories, it like going back to primary school while the teacher is sittingdown reading abook that we all know is not real.
    Bakkies, you are a lier and have been found out.
    Suffer_guy yet cannot answer a simple question i asked him….again another found out.
    Poltergeist, you have no clue on life so a question to you would be a waste of time.

@willievz-508:
    Wille, you said this AB team was weak and will get beaten in South Africa……wrong
    Now you think cos the ABs sent to SA an oldies team with a couple of new ABs in 1986 and won you guys would beat the real ABs at home…..lol
    Again someone else that wont answer an easy question….Seen as you think that 1986 was the best team ever, how many international games did these guys play?

• 539.poppa69: Reply to this comment

one would have to say, after the boisterous noises coming out of the republic before the 32-16 manshaming

that the Bokkes

CHOKED!

no other word for it really..

• 540.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Read or McCaw for IRB player of the year, i’d go with McCaw though simply the best there has ever been. They might let him keep the trophy he’s been nominated and won it so many times.

• 541.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Ab’s will also take team of the year and Hanson will get the coaching gong.

• 542.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Hansen.

• 543.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-540: imagine if that happened

proof positive of the conspiracy that is all geared towards the ABs and definitely persecutes the so called “tough” africans..

one only has to read this blog after they lose to realise that that is the biggest myth ever..

we are so tough, we need to make more armbands because we cant adapt to a referee, our limited thinking capacity only knows one thing, we are physically superior :lol:

deluded and dumb, it makes for a funny combination..

SA Rugby – Uber k@K with no skill or smarts..

doot doot oodle doodle oot doot do do

• 544.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@poppa 523, there was a lot of discussion a couple of days ago about dog food, which started when I asked ‘sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food’ what his Nic stood for. I am still none the wiser as to which team he supports – tho it doesn’t appear to be the sharks.

Anyway, the discussion got onto what dogs everyone owns, hence dawns question to you.

• 545.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment-544: She is a WP supporter I believe (sharks rugby pedigree), and also the Blues are a favoured team of hers.. though I think its going to be a painful year for tmy Blues next season..

OK, I dont live in a gated community so have no need for a dog as added protection…

• 546.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so in the last seven matches between our two sides, South Africa have won just one of these?

yep, must be all the incredible depth

hahahahaha 1 from 7, ridiculous!

• 547.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@ poppa, yes it is 6 out of 7. 8 out of 13 since the start of 2008.

• 548.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@poppa 543. This year’s all black pack hasn’t been the most physical we have produced, but judging by some of the big fast brutes coming into the npc an super 15 teams like ardie savea we might fix this next couple o years.

• 549.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

you kiwis can all go ***** yourselves

@ out wide:
    like i farken care if keo bans me for telling it straight…
    you’re a doos, out wide… but what kind of a doos are you?.. local?

• 550.Black Power: Reply to this comment

i_love_u_bakkiesbotha & poltergeist-513:

You both are nothing but schlemiels

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.