All Blacks break with tradition

The All Blacks jersey will have the three letters of new sponsor AIG on the front for the next five years, starting from next week’s Bledisloe Cup match in Brisbane.

The sponsorship deal with the US-based insurance company – which also takes in the NZ Maori, NZ Sevens, Black Ferns, Women’s Sevens and U20 national teams – was confirmed at a press conference in Auckland.

‘This is a great day for New Zealand rugby,’ said NZRU chief executive Steve Tew. ‘This is an exciting new partnership that will further secure the future of rugby at all levels in this country and pave the way for our game to reach new fans around the world. Today’s announcement is a game changer for New Zealand rugby.’

All Blacks captain Richie McCaw said the new sponsorship arrangement had his support.

‘It’s really flattering that a company this big has chosen New Zealand rugby to be its cornerstone sponsorship. It shows incredible respect for our traditions, heritage and record of success across all our teams. This will really help make our game stronger right from the community game to the All Blacks so this is great news for rugby.’

The AIG logo on the All Blacks jersey is just under one third the size of the maximum allowed under IRB guidelines.

‘This is not a decision we have taken lightly. Like all New Zealanders we greatly respect the rich and proud heritage of the black jersey, which is why NZRU consulted with senior players and others as we carefully weighed up this latest move,’ Tew said.

573 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 51.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-47:

a filthy team finds a dirty sponsor… what is there not to have a problem with…?..

P.S. (its rhetorical)

• 52.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@viewer-45:
    Do it Viewer.
    But dont tattoo yourself in the mirrior…..AIG will turn out a bit different

• 53.fishdish: Reply to this comment

Damn what a jealous clan!!!

And the hypocrisy of it all…calling NZers cheats
    How bout bartering a bowl of sugar or a pair of shoes for acres of inhabited foreign land…
    Huh, how’s dem apples??
    Maybe instead of hating we should learn from their unity and harmony.
    There is an organism that spreads itself causing nothing but disunity and incapable of integrating harmoniously with its new surroundings. Yep! A ****** virus

• 54.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-48: You forgot:

3) Or get served by Suzie…

• 55.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-49: Cheapest buy? The AB’s are as big a bunch of cheats as they are? They got ripped off though, look at the pathetic size of that logo. As a marketer I would not have taken that deal. But maybe they have an agreement to grow the logo size over the next couple of years to temper the possible fan backlash.

AIG was the one company that took on about 80-90% of the Western World’s (US/ Europe) bond insurance. So when so many stupid Amricans and Europeans could not afford their bonds (on a freaking low rate of 1-2%) AIG had to foot the bill, obviously they benefitted from the “bail outs’ that governments gave to the corporations and not the home owners.

It would be interesting to know what AIG paid for the sponsor.

• 56.RL: Reply to this comment

@viewer-45: one or two drunk Maori’s will tatoo those 3 letters on their chest – to go with ADIDAS and the fern. Who needs to buy a jersey!

Hopefully the tatoo artist is not dyslexic.

• 57.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-50:
    Why the silly post.
    If keo wasnt into the ABs, a little thing like a sponsorship deal wouldnt even make the headlines.
    Fact is alot of south africans are consumed with the ABs….look at Bakkies, he dreams of them.
    Strange how you say the ITM cup is weak as i thought that where the ABs start, its where you get noticed.
    We were told the ABs were weak as well…..BOOOM

• 58.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-55:
    Cheapest?
    Maybe the Sponsors didnt want eye gougers and dirty thugs supporting there name as well.
    You guys are the dirtiest team in the world….fact.

• 59.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

look at the houses and rugby stadiums in NZ … nothing special and very average … people don’t even attend rugby games anymore because they can’t afford it …. now a bank goes and spends millions on this advertising ,,, they will have to increase bank charges etc … which will make ppl even poorer … expect the Blues, Saders and Canes to play in empty stadiums (ever more empty than 2012) …

• 60.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-54:
    Yeah that was in the fine print.

• 61.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-57: I doubt any current AB was recognised for playing ITM, or whatever it was called last year. They get spread around by the NZRU and then chosen for AB’s based on Super Rugby performance. Name one player that was playing ITM this year and got into the AB team?

We get the ITM cup over here, have to say it is pretty poor IMO, but maybe it is because I don’t really care about the teams. Also Curry Cup has a far greater heritage. What will your domestic tournament be called next year? The American International Group (AIG) Cup? Pathetic.

• 62.RL: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-59: I reckon about twenty thousand Tshwanians wii be at Loftus this weekend to see Butch’s Lions in action.

• 63.viewer: Reply to this comment

This is getting ugly, fast :razz:
    But go on

• 64.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-59:
    Why are you having a go at our housing??
    Cape flats has just as much housing as NZ yet you complain about our housing?
    Help your own people and start worrying about your own backyard.
    Like the rand is actually worth something lol

• 65.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-58: Nah, Americans only care about winning no matter how much cheating is involved, see Lance Amstrong, se American doped Olympic athletes.

Also last I checked the last two yellow cards dished out at international stage was two AB’s? One for continual cheating at the ruck and one for a spier tackle.
    Oops…what is the word…BOOOOM.

• 66.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-61:
    What pathetic is a nation, that has a weak national tournament, weak super 15 teams, no supporters and useless stadiums and rubbish housing and bad weather still gives you clowns a ******* snotting every year. BOOOOOMMMM ******
    Woory about your own team cos its cr@p

• 67.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

my mistake …. i see its a US based insurance company … which makes it even worse ….. why aren’t ppl going to the games in NZ … even the NZ vs Boks game there were only 17 000 … in SA there were 80 000 (IN SOWETO of all places) … are people to scared to leave their homes in NZ?? i’ve read somewhere that “per population” – NZ has the second highest crime rate …. scary stuff !

• 68.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-65:
    OH no, the ABs and Lance are the same??
    Hang on,the last time drug cheat in rugby were found…..they were south africans,wasnt that the case.?

• 69.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

LIke the saying Goes”same old ****, different day ‘ :lol:

• 70.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

ugggg

its just the disgust of it all

i need a new thread

• 71.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-67:
    17000 at a AB and Bok game??
    When.
    Crime is bad every where but do you need to keep doing the crime stats.
    Point is in NZ we actually report crime. Fact is in SA people are too scared to report the crimes.
    Now lets keep to rugby, you are looking a tad foolish.

• 72.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-70:
    yeah just go.
    You have done nothing but spread the same pathetic rubbish. Boring, winter nights at Bakkies home must just fly.

• 73.viewer: Reply to this comment

Rugby attendances in NZ would increase if Kiwis were allowed to take their sheep into the stadium, put the damn thing on the lap & cuddle up to keep warm.
    A jersey made of wool just aint the same

• 74.wnbb: Reply to this comment

No problem with the Kiwis putting a sponsor’s name on their shirt,but these people got bailed out by the American people to the tune of over 180 billion in 2010.Obama and his democratic cohorts should really be proud of themselves to allow companies like these to operate like this whilst the American people are in dire economic straights.

• 75.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-69:
    I know. These guys are stupid. Go way over the top cos the ABs got a sponsor.
    Just so silly.

• 76.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-71: Nowhere in the world is the crime as baad as in SA, i mean just last week again a lady of 92 years old raped, Farking animals, no where are people murdered so senselesly

• 77.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-75: best to just ignore mate,

• 78.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-66: Sorry but our Currie Cup has been running for more than a 100 years, and still going strong. We have dominated that knock stages of SR for the last 4-5 years. Stormers finished top of the log albeit loosing in the semis and has the sharks in the final. You have one team (Crusaders) that has done well with the exception of the Chiefs this year.

Sharks, Bulls and Stormers are regulars in the play-offs. So getting a snotting each year applies more to the Blues, Lions, Cheetahs, Hurricans,Highlanders and every other Ozzie team. Our supporters are awsome, best attendence in Super rugby btw. Doesn’t help if your NZ$ is worth anything if the locals can’t spend it on a SR ticket.

Your supporters only support when you have a 80%+ win record, shucks wonder what would happen to your rugby if you ever dipped to 70% or 60%. The whole union would go bankrupt.

My house is great by the way.

• 79.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-76:
    Yeah mate, we dont need to go into it but someone here think its great pointing out crime in other countries. So wrong on all levels.

• 80.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-72:
    watching turtles race by would be a lot more enjoyable than discussing a disgusting team finding a dirty sponsor.

how do you people sleep at night?

• 81.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-68: Which player fool? But please narrow it down drugs, why is drugs bad in sport beacause it is cheating….

• 82.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

I am not sure why we have to sit and insult each other??

Surely all rugby supporters look forward to every rugby test between out nations??

• 83.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

So the US will make more money from the All Blacks than NZ will … okay! NZ rugby sold out its own country …

• 84.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-78:
    and we do all this without the need for filthy play

• 85.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80: Boet?? seriously?? thats just damn immature man, surely ur better then that??

• 86.mpundulu: Reply to this comment

Well done NZRU, great sponsor, with the All Blacks being the most valuable rugby brand by some considerable distance, it’s fitting that their sponsor has been classified by the US Treasury as too big too fail, as rugby would soon disintegrate without the ABs on the scene, who would entertain us, the boks?!

• 87.katman: Reply to this comment

@fishdish-53: I hate to burst your bubble here, buddy, but the white man is not indigenous to the islands of New Zealand. What exactly he bartered for his acres of inhabited land I do not know. So how it stacks up to a bowl of sugar and a pair of shoes is something I can’t comment on. But we can safely assume it was not a fair and dinkum trade. So pretty please, shove the sanctimonious self-righteous history waving sermon.

• 88.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-78:
    Blues won super rugby 3 times didnt they?
    But why are we talking about super rugby?
    we know SA have good teams and so they should. More than double the player base and more money.
    We are told continuosly that SA rugby has the best depth and you guys show this by making the play off at super rugby but rarely winning it. :shock:

• 89.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-82:
    no, i do not.

i despise them

and i despise their rugby

its disgusting

• 90.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-82: We do, but these KeoBlacks come here and make ****, don’t need to make them feel welcome when they piss on my front door.

Screw them, they have the best national team in the AB’s but why rub it in on the apposing teams website? Probably because SilverFern.NZ is designed like Ratalic’s face.

• 91.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-85:
    no, i’m probably not (better than that).

because i really do dislike these people and what they have done to the game.

in all likelyhood twenty or thirty years down the line they’ll be viewed as the lance armstrongs of the rugby world.

• 92.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-88:
    thats because we’ree honest.

• 93.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-90: I understand your dislike thats fine but you cant brand a whole nation because of a few??

By the way the one you argue with is actually a decent fella.

I would prolly understand had it been Poopa :lol:

• 94.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-91: Eish boet, ur being way to judgemental

• 95.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-88: Rarely? LOL. Also Blues won it in the ******* 90′s! THen the BRumbies dominated the competition and then the Saders and then the Bulls, know no team is really laying claim to Dominating but the Chiefs finally learnt how to win more than the odd game.

• 96.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-80:
    I sleep well thank you.
    Knowing you are having a dreadful sleep makes it all that much better

• 97.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I agree with SL…no need for insults between supporters of these great rugby countries….way better to stick to insulting those rugby pretenders,the Sharks. :D

• 98.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Life’s just way to short for this kind of stupidity,

Imma seek a blog where RUGBY is the subject, even though i know on Keo thats hard to find :lol:

• 99.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Oh well,this is starting to get a bit silly. From the ABs getting a sponsorship, i get called scum, we have the worst crime to only having one good team in Super rugby. lol
    What next….poaching…oh no i didnt say that.
    Guys, have a good one, hurricane out.

• 100.Black Power: Reply to this comment

We all have bad apples in each other countries. Unfortunatally i_love_u_bakkiesbotha and goodstuff are rotten apples.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.