All Blacks break with tradition

The All Blacks jersey will have the three letters of new sponsor AIG on the front for the next five years, starting from next week’s Bledisloe Cup match in Brisbane.

The sponsorship deal with the US-based insurance company – which also takes in the NZ Maori, NZ Sevens, Black Ferns, Women’s Sevens and U20 national teams – was confirmed at a press conference in Auckland.

‘This is a great day for New Zealand rugby,’ said NZRU chief executive Steve Tew. ‘This is an exciting new partnership that will further secure the future of rugby at all levels in this country and pave the way for our game to reach new fans around the world. Today’s announcement is a game changer for New Zealand rugby.’

All Blacks captain Richie McCaw said the new sponsorship arrangement had his support.

‘It’s really flattering that a company this big has chosen New Zealand rugby to be its cornerstone sponsorship. It shows incredible respect for our traditions, heritage and record of success across all our teams. This will really help make our game stronger right from the community game to the All Blacks so this is great news for rugby.’

The AIG logo on the All Blacks jersey is just under one third the size of the maximum allowed under IRB guidelines.

‘This is not a decision we have taken lightly. Like all New Zealanders we greatly respect the rich and proud heritage of the black jersey, which is why NZRU consulted with senior players and others as we carefully weighed up this latest move,’ Tew said.

573 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All

• 401.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-395:
    When and where??
    I have asked this simple question about 4 times now, still struggling i see.

• 402.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

poppa … wow well done, 2 – 0 at a stadium called “soccer city” – lol … what about Ellis Park/Cocal Cola park?

• 403.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-397: The shelter only opens at 7 in the summer. He forgot.

• 404.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-400: yep

• 405.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-399:
    lol.
    mate you have missed nothing here. :-)
    Even my posts are waffle on this thread hehe

• 406.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-403:

Do you think he has a dog?

• 407.Zandberg Jansen: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-394: i am afraid from “beyond”

• 408.David: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-386:
    I enjoy the Kiwi, Aussie and any other non Saffer posters here. It makes it a lot more interesting than the smug and parochial Silver Fern.
    I remember reading there a few years ago, “don’t post anything that you wouldn’t say in your local pub”. Hell, your pubs must be dead boring if what they censor is any example. :lol:

• 409.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-405:

S E R I O U S

• 410.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-405: Thought as much!

• 411.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Zandberg Jansen-407:

• 412.Nikita: Reply to this comment

500 then I go. Spead it up Katman.

• 413.the authority: Reply to this comment

@ i_love_u_bakkiesbotha

Just had the pleasure of reading some of your posts… I tip my hat to you Sir.

• 414.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@David-408: Well can you imagine Skop calling people the names he does here, face-to-face in a pub?

The beauty of the interweb, everyone can be a tough guy!

• 415.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-412: I noticed my oil-wrestling suggestion got no reply.

• 416.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

:lol: Nikita is scared she wont be paid if enough hits are not achieved

• 417.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-406: Yes I think he has one of those little German things. I think he has a miniature weiner.

• 418.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-414:

Skop is misunderstood.

• 419.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-418: By himself yes :lol:

• 420.katman: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-412: I get that quite often.

• 421.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-405: :lol: waffle from a twatwaffel :lol:

• 422.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the authority-413:
    You are just as messed up as him, are you sure you want people to know this?

• 423.RL: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-340:

Pops NZ get $107 millon US for 5 years from superrugby – the Poms get $244 million for 4 years for their domestic competition.

With your 80% win ratio you get 80% less earning than them if you include sponsorship and ticket sales.

It is peanuts and the sooner we dump the antipode dead weights the better.

• 424.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-417:

I also thought small.

• 425.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@David-408: I usually avoid NZ forums, partly because of the time zone, but mostly I hate the idea of bumping into a NZ version of Bakkies or this Authority character and having my national pride dented. I prefer to ignorantly assume they don’t exist in my home country :)

• 426.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-416:

Yes I used to rely on you but you went AWOL for a while. Welcome back.

• 427.cane: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-381:

“Even the Boks started to laugh when NZ did their haka …. you could see they tried not to, but it really looks silly…………”

Yeah,
    when the final whistle blew………………………………….the Boks where bowed with laughter…………………………………………..stomach cramps from laughing. 16-32.

what a hoot.
    60% posession and territory and they get shafted by 16 points.

Belly laughs from the forwards and snigggers from the backs…………………Yeah Right.

• 428.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Atleast the main match of the weekend will start soon, it beats the mumbo jumbo posted in here :grin:

• 429.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Nikita do you have a Silver Swan?

• 430.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-426: Why TY ma’am, work this time of the year gets a bit much yanno :lol:

• 431.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@katman-420:

Emphasis on quite, right?

• 432.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pops has a schnauzer

• 433.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@cane-427:

Now you go and spoil the friendship.

• 434.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-428:

Yes what time is the cricket?

• 435.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-422: I hear your neighbours down under are hosting the G@Y rugby world cup, you guys attending?? i know Cape Town WILL BE SENDING A TEAM :lol:

• 436.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

sharks lover . ..? the Kings vs Pumas final is only 2morrow

• 437.cane: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-425:

I exist all right gonzo.

• 438.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-434: :lol:

• 439.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@RL-423:
    It costs just over 100 million (NZ $) to run all NZ rugby per year.
    If we get 107 million US $ then great.
    Poms can keep their $244 million,they may need to use it to try and buy more kiwi players.

• 440.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-412:

Spead it up?

Now now. And this nogal to the biggest grammar nazi on this blog.

And he didn’t even notice.

• 441.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-429:

No suffer diamonds.

• 442.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-436: hehehe sorry boet Sharks play tonight, so 2 morrow’s matches are the curtan raisers :lol:

• 443.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@cane-427: There is NOTHING funny about losing to you lot. Wish some of the junior Boks felt the same way

• 444.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-421:

• 445.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-430:

Yes the Cape is good to foreigners.

• 446.Green is Great...black is evil: Reply to this comment

The Springboks are the true heroes. That’s why Hollywood makes movies about us.

More obstacles, challenges and hardship than any other team in the world:

- Quota players
    - Quota coaches
    - Racist government
    - Farm Murders and land redistribution
    - Loss of players to foreign countries
    - Cheating Kiwi Refs (Bryce Lawrence + Teach the Japies a lesson).
    - Rules changes whenever we reach number 1 ranking. (2007 and 2009)
    - Isolation against us by countries guilty of the same or worse history

And still, we win the first ever Real World Cup on our first attempt.

Best world cup win ratio of any team.

Real men, real character, true heroes.

Hollywood recognises this and I agree.

Green is the colour of greatness. Black is the colour of evil.

• 447.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-439: Hurricane, old RL there is trying anything to get his sinking ship lions to stay afloat, :lol:

• 448.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-432:

That sounds really small. :lol:

• 449.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-445: :lol:

• 450.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-435:

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.