Blitzboks blitz Kiwis
13 Oct 2012
The Springbok Sevens eased to a 31-21 victory over New Zealand to secure an unbeaten run on day one of the Gold Coast Sevens.
In the Pool A decider, Paul Treu’s men excelled against the World Series defending champions.
After a disappointing campaign last season, which saw South Africa fail to secure a tournament victory, the Blitzboks displayed an all-round improvement and maturity.
Where there was once panic and hesitancy on attack, the Springbok Sevens were slick and with ball in hand. Their once shaky guard has been replaced with an effective defensive system. And while the New Zealanders were superior in size, South Africa’s intelligence and tactics in general play allowed them to hold the ascendancy.
Former IRB Sevens Player of the Year Cecil Afrika played a big part on attack and showed why he’s regarded as one of the top stars on the circuit. He was well supported by veterans Paul Delport, Branco du Preez, Frankie Horne, Steven Hunt and Chris Dry, while newbies Cornal Hendricks, Stephen Dippenaar and Ruwellyn Isbel also made impressive contributions.
This saw the Blitzbok camp inside the Kiwi’s red zone in the first stanza, with Hendricks, Delport and Horne scoring tries. New Zealand crossed the chalk after the half-time hooter as wing Tim Mikkelson raced to the corner from a free-kick tap.
South Africa led 19-7 at the break.
In the second stanza, Delport and Dippenaar sealed the win as they dotted down. New Zealand grabbed consolation tries via Iopu Iopu and Rhys Llewellyn.
The Springbok Sevens will meet France in the Cup quarter-finals on day two.
Earlier in the day, the Blitzboks claimed back-to-back group wins as they downed USA 33-5.
Matt Hawkins put the Americans into an early lead, but it was all South Africa thereafter. Tshotsho Mbovane hit back for Paul Treu’s charges, and Du Preez’s conversion secured a 7-5 half-time lead.
Tries from Du Preez, Dry, Kyle Brown and Delport in the second stanza sealed an easy triumph.
In their first match, the Springbok Sevens cruised to a 38-0 win over Canada.
Hendricks starred for the victors, grabbing a hat-trick. Hunt, Mbovane and Dry also crossed the chalk as South Africa scored six tries in the one-sided contest.
Blitzboks’ fixtures (day one):
South Africa 38 Canada 0
South Africa 33 USA 5
South Africa 31 New Zealand 21
Click here for all fixtures and results

88 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
13 Oct 2012, 07:01 am
How soon before the Blitzedboks bow out?
13 Oct 2012, 09:55 am
It’s only going to get harder for the Bok sevens team as the teams with Olympic gold aspirations start to up their spend on 7′s
13 Oct 2012, 11:30 am
6 min into first half Boks lead 14-0
13 Oct 2012, 11:31 am
make that 19-0
13 Oct 2012, 11:34 am
Half time 19-5
13 Oct 2012, 11:37 am
24-7
13 Oct 2012, 11:39 am
31-7
13 Oct 2012, 11:42 am
31-14
13 Oct 2012, 11:43 am
Well great 1st day to the 7 season, but still only 1st day.
Well done Bokke, I need some good rugby news.
13 Oct 2012, 11:44 am
final score 31-21 Boks
13 Oct 2012, 11:44 am
Not much place to cheat when playing sevens hey you dirty keewees.
@TheTackler-1:
Umama gulele msunu wakho.
13 Oct 2012, 11:45 am
that AB jersey looks uber kak.
13 Oct 2012, 11:46 am
Well done BlitzBoks
13 Oct 2012, 11:47 am
@Fern-11: Aint it nice being a Sharks supporter??
13 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
@Fern-11: Cheeeeting keeeeeeweeees
13 Oct 2012, 11:56 am
@TheTackler-1: Nouhoenou pisgevreet?
13 Oct 2012, 12:04 pm
Well, that was a surprise!
13 Oct 2012, 12:19 pm
Yeah, especially to the Kiwi 7′s team:)
13 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
And so the AIG 7s lose to the little Blitz 7s.
13 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
@Fern-11:
Nope and no way any of you scummy dirty eye gouging south africans can do their illegal tactics as well.
13 Oct 2012, 13:02 pm
@blik-15:
Racist eye gouging South Africans
13 Oct 2012, 13:10 pm
en nou Tekkels? what you got to say now
13 Oct 2012, 13:34 pm
@Fern-11: No cheating necessary. NZ 10:1 RSA
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IRB_Sevens_World_Series#Seasons
13 Oct 2012, 13:36 pm
@Hurricane-21: Speaking of gouging, have you seen this blitz on an alleged gouger? Might have cost us the cup but i half wish Richie had reacted this way in the final!
http://www.rugbydump.com/2012/10/2795/gloucesters-andy-hazell-sees-red-following-alleged-eye-gouge
13 Oct 2012, 13:36 pm
Looks like AIG has brought their own karma to the AB shirt.
13 Oct 2012, 13:43 pm
@David-25: beautiful thing karma.. it is the most beautiful thing ever devised by the architect of this universe.. it sorts all the hell out of separating the wheat from the chaff and the men from the boys.. it never ever fails in its inexorable perfectly functioning absolute knife cutting efficiency
13 Oct 2012, 14:05 pm
johan sadie LOANED to the Pumas to kill the Kings…hehehe…
13 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
GO PUMAS!!!!!!!
13 Oct 2012, 14:19 pm
@Transformation-27: why would they – it is not like they stand a chance in hell of beating the states – reinforced with their kwas brothers.
13 Oct 2012, 14:21 pm
@fitz1ella-26: You’re relying on the architect of the universe to reward SA’s good karma with a Bok win?
13 Oct 2012, 14:30 pm
@gonzo-30:
They are hoping for anything really. SA rugby in in trouble so they need a bit of luck or karma are they call it
13 Oct 2012, 14:31 pm
@gonzo-24:
The gouger was hammered.
Burger should watch this and consider himself lucky.
13 Oct 2012, 14:41 pm
The Glru have released the names of 2 of the top teams to contest the Lions Challenge: The Furious Fijian Fish Poachers (from Fiji) ; and the Romanian Rural District Farmers team. Rivetting rugby awaits.
13 Oct 2012, 15:01 pm
Well done Blitzboks… Victory against the Cheats. Good stuff.
The kiwis will be off to have *** with their family members now to ease the disappointment of this loss… Unless of course they come across some sheep beforehand.
Filthy people the kiwis… Filthy.
13 Oct 2012, 15:08 pm
http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/2771535/Dad-found-guilty-of-incest-gets-community-work
Pure filth.
13 Oct 2012, 15:12 pm
@poltergeist
True – incest and inbreeding is a national culture in New Zealand. Have you seen this one?
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10830202
13 Oct 2012, 15:15 pm
Apparently incest is on the rise in New Zealand too.
http://tvnz.co.nz/national-news/incest-cases-becoming-more-prevalent-in-nz-5052520
Scum. Theres no other word to describe them.
13 Oct 2012, 15:17 pm
@the authority-36: @poltergeist-35: You two may be on the wrong blog, this one is for rugby fans, not people obsessed with inbreeding. It’s getting kinda weird in here all of a sudden
13 Oct 2012, 16:08 pm
@gonzo
You kiwis are obsessed with inbreeding and yet you frequent this site do you not?
13 Oct 2012, 20:40 pm
@Transformation-22: see 16.
13 Oct 2012, 21:31 pm
poltergeist and the authority
sick individuals from a sick, rabid, murderous raping society. it’s no wonder you’re both so clued up on incest.
nothing like the voice of experience huh?
two gutless Internet wannabes that must be the biggest sore losers ever.
boks third, only Argentina saving another wooden spoon. 2 wins from 8/9 against Aussie, 1 win from 7 versus the kiwis.
hahahahahaha. you d.utchman are really stupid.
13 Oct 2012, 21:39 pm
poltergeist = Bakkies.
13 Oct 2012, 22:52 pm
@poltergeist-35: @the authority-36:
http://www.iol.co.za/news/crime-courts/soweto-incest-horror-exposed-1.1292296
http://www.3-mob.com/?tag=incest-in-south-africa
The recent Gert van Rooyen and Joey Haarhof saga has highlighted the growing incidence of sexual abuse in South Africa. However, despite these revelations, the widespread problem of sexual abuse still receives little attention.
Part of the reason for this is that most incidents of sexual abuse do not take the form of strange men abusing little girls as was the case with Van Rooyen. The Van Rooyen case was atypical for other reasons as well. Most incidents of sexual abuse do not involve abduction and physical violence and are not committed by anti-social personalities or psychopaths.
The predominant form of sexual abuse in South Africa takes place within the home and is committed by a family member.
This type of abuse is commonly referred to as incest and comprises 70 to 80 percent of all sexual abuse cases. The problem of incest and sexual abuse in South Africa is not isolated to particular geographic areas. It is a problem not only in the Afrikaans-speaking suburb of Capital Park where Van Rooyen lived, but also in the northern suburb homes of Johannesburg and the overcrowded houses of Soweto.
70 to 80% are incest related of the multitude of sexual abuse cases?? and you wish to highlight it being a problem in NZ? wtf????
seriously, how dumb are you two? is it because you cant mention rugby because you guys get schiooled routinely in the subject that you think highlighting a problem in NZ society in some sort of oneupmanship works?
thanks for pointing it out though, really, how stupid can you be
13 Oct 2012, 22:56 pm
the Authority
Poltergeist..
this is fun huh?
http://www.health24.com/child/Abuse/833-859,14659.asp
Recent reports indicate that one in two South African children have experienced some form of sexual abuse before the age of 18, says Joan van Niekerk, national coordinator of Childline, an organisation that assists children who have experienced abuse.
Tragically most cases of abuse go unreported. The full extent of statistics therefore remains unrecorded.
“Boys significantly under-report sexual abuse as they fear ridicule and also because much of the abuse on boys is male on male, they fear questions about their sexuality,” says Van Niekerk.
1 in 2? are you fcken serious? filthy scum indeed, you have one sick sick sick sick society
13 Oct 2012, 23:21 pm
And if incest wasnt enough, having *** with sheep and donkeys seems to be the other cultural hallmark of new zealand.
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/crime/news/article.cfm?c_id=30&objectid=10666166
Filthy, filthy people.
13 Oct 2012, 23:27 pm
New Zealand’s national characteristics:
Incest and inbreeding.
Beastiality
Poaching
Cheating
Sore losers
Average wine
I am The Authority
13 Oct 2012, 23:32 pm
@ kiwis
Sexual abuse and rape takes place in all countries.
But CONSENTUAL incest is your game. No one elses.
Filthy people indeed.
13 Oct 2012, 23:41 pm
@poltergeist-45: @the authority-46: @Green is Great…black is evil-47:
good to see the idiots have returned..
with the stats in South Africa, one of you sleeps with your sister, one is a psycopathic rapist and the other sleeps with dead bodies..
I just wonder which one of you is which..
still, you do show why SA is the cesspool, or hell on earth, your hatred is a wonderful thing to view…all because of a game?? one your not very good at either by the way
hahahaha
keep going, you only highlight why the world hates South Africa…
13 Oct 2012, 23:42 pm
The police are investigating a case of incest after a Soweto man allegedly fathered children with his biological daughter.
In a chilling case reminiscent of the sexual offences of Josef Fritzl – the Austrian man who incarcerated his daughter in his house and fathered seven children with her – the Soweto man has allegedly fathered two children (if not three) with his middle daughter.
The daughter lives with her father and the children aged 15, two and five months, in his four-room house in the township.
The identities of the man and his daughter are known to The Star. Their names and the location of the house are being withheld to protect their children.
The man, in his early sixties, also allegedly attempted to sexually violate his younger and elder daughters, but they both thwarted his evil intentions.
13 Oct 2012, 23:49 pm
@the authority-46:
SQA’s national characteristics
Racist
Rapists
Murderers
TYre burning Necklaces
Killing people who are protesting for decent wages
Townships where rats eat babies
Aids is not a disease, its a lifestyle
Bring me my machine gun
Rugby also rans
Aussies and NZs rugby biyatches
Apartheid is still seen aws the shining example of SA politics
Victim mentality due to conspiracy
Incest was a misdemeanor until 2007
Carjackers
and the big one
Cant win at rugby. because they are too stupid to realise that they are as tough as wet toilet paper..
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All