Bulls surge into semis
13 Oct 2012
RYAN VREDE watched the Blue Bulls qualify for the Currie Cup semi-finals with a 50-29 victory over the Golden Lions at Ellis Park.
The Bulls will travel to Kings Park to face the Sharks in one of next Saturday’s semi-finals, but for the first quarter of the match they where in real danger of finishing bottom and having to play a relegation-promotion match to retain their status in the Premier Division.
They trailed by 10 points and were on the ropes as the Lions ran everything. However they regrouped, improved their defensive accuracy and attacking potency to emerge comfortable victors after a testing first 60 minutes.
Mention must be made of Morne Steyn’s goal-kicking, which has been poor this season. The flyhalf amassed 22 points with his boot, many of those kicks from difficult angles.
The Lions, who had already qualified for a home play-off, played with a freedom that reflected their unassailable log position, spreading the ball at most opportunities. They also benefited from Butch James’s pin-point goalkicking – the flyhalf landing two penalties before they scored a try that was birthed deep in their half and featured slick interplay.
But that was as good as it got for the Lions, the Bulls pegging them back through Steyn’s boot before they matched the Lions’ try for wow-factor – Jacques Potgieter cutting the defensive line at speed before offloading to Bjorn Basson to score. Steyn banked the conversion and a couple of penalties to give the Bulls a 22-16 half-time lead.
The Lions had opted to rest a string of their first-choice players, but some of those were introduced and their influence was immediate. Twice they came away from the Bulls’ 22m with points, James sinking a brace of penalties to level the score. However, the Bulls cut loose once more to regain the lead, Arno Botha feeding Jano Vermaak with a pass that appeared to drift forward. Steyn converted from the touchline to take his side seven points ahead.
But the Lions responded brilliantly and instantly, driving into the Bulls’ red zone through intelligent, speedy and powerful phase play before Anthony Volmink wriggled out of a tackle en route to scoring. James kicked his seventh successful goal of the evening to level the scores at 29-29.
With 20 minutes to play, Botha emerged from an impressive rolling maul and powered over the line and four minutes later the Bulls pounced on a senseless quick lineout feed in the Lions’ 22m, Dewald Potgiter crossing the chalk for the try that broke the defending champions’ resistance.
Akona Ndungane gathered another wayward pass shortly thereafter to pave the way for them to put 50 on their Gauteng rivals and set up what has the potential to be a spectacle of note against the Sharks.

358 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All
14 Oct 2012, 12:54 pm
The Sharks are in poll position for sure but lets keep some perspective here. The Sharks looked great against Griquas. At home in DBN. Province put 45 points past them at Newlands, with Dimitri looking like the next Henry Honiball (lol), so yes, the Sharks are favorites but the team they played on Friday is not going to be the same proposition as the team they’ll play next weekend.
14 Oct 2012, 12:55 pm
@grant10-194:
WP should win this. Bekker, Etsebeth and Vermeulen make a big difference to the CC side.
14 Oct 2012, 12:59 pm
@David-202: I heard at the game yesterday that wp may actually rest some boks…..only played them yesterday because of the threat of promo relegation……so a lot depends who starts….
I dont like our chances at Ellis Park though….
14 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
@grant10-203:
Etsebeth and Bekker don’t need to be rested. Neither does JdJ, so it’s not too bad.
14 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
My feeling it will be a Sharks/WP final at the Tank. Province has hardly lost at Ellis Park. They lost last year there with all the world cup Boks coming back. Don’t think our Boks were really motivated for Currie Cup after losing a World Cup Semi. This time it will be different. Province will come out winners in next week semi imo. Sharks will edge Bulls. The last time we played bulls in Super Rugby we had Fransie, Bissie and Kanko who were massive in that game. Though with Whitehead a very capable replacement for Fransie and Keegan playing awesome rugby right now at 8 only Burden and Kyle are just not in the same class as Bissie at hooker. However still think we will edge the Bulls come Saturday.
Sharks/Province final at the Tank.
14 Oct 2012, 13:05 pm
Just hoping for good weather in Durbs for the semi. We have had some awful weather in the last month. Today is great and hope it stays that way. Wet weather will suit the Bulls, so hoping for a dry field and weather that will suit the Sharks game plan.
14 Oct 2012, 13:06 pm
@David-204: If we play all the Boks….lions by 2
If we dont…Lions by 7….
Sharks will bliksem the Bulls…..they playing awesome rugby right now….and with a swagger….
14 Oct 2012, 13:07 pm
@grant10-203: Grant the only time I remember Province losing at Ellis Park was last year. Our Boks coming back from the world come were not motivated for Currie Cup. Think all the players still wanted to be in NZ playing the semi of the world cup and not a semi of the CC. This year is different, the players will be up for it. I think Province with their Boks back will beat Lions.
14 Oct 2012, 13:08 pm
@Puma-208: meant = world cup
14 Oct 2012, 13:09 pm
@grant10-207:
Let’s agree to disagree. I’m certainly not pessimistic about our chances.
14 Oct 2012, 13:10 pm
@grant10-207: Lighten up bud. WP will beat the kittens.
14 Oct 2012, 13:10 pm
@grant10-207: Your last line there….
I LIKE IT…..LOL.
14 Oct 2012, 13:15 pm
@David-210: Hope you right David…I enjoyed yesterdays game very much….far better than the boring rubbish Stormers served up….I hope we will run it more next year and not go all defensive again….
Will be close…..
The game at the tank wont be…..Bulls look dead average to me…
14 Oct 2012, 13:15 pm
@grant10-200: Imma take ur word for it boet, and keep my heels firmly on the ground, I am going to the match by the way
14 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
@mikeybrass-211: hope so..beach here I come…cheers
14 Oct 2012, 13:17 pm
@sharks_lover-214: enjoy….should be a great atmosphere!
14 Oct 2012, 13:19 pm
If I were a bookie I’d be giving the following odds:
Sharks 3-2
Lions 55-45
But in the day the battle will be settled on the field.
I say this every year, and it’s true again:
I just hope that the game is not decided by some contentious reffing decision but by emphatic on field performance.
And I hope above all that we don’t injure ourselves in the process,
14 Oct 2012, 13:19 pm
@Puma-212: HIyas Pooms,
YOu must still be smiling about Lambies performance?
14 Oct 2012, 13:22 pm
In the words of the late, great Garry Moore:
It doesn’t matter
if you’re wrong or if you’re right.
It makes no difference
if you’re black or if you’re white.
All men are equal
till the victory is won.
No colour or religion
ever stopped the bullet from a gun.
Out in the fields,
the fighting has begun.
Out on the streets,
they’re falling one by one.
Out from the skies,
a thousand more will die each day.
Death is just a heartbeat away.
It doesn’t matter
if you’re left or to the right.
Don’t try to hide behind the cause
for what you fight.
There’ll be no prisoners taken
when the day is done.
No flag or uniform
ever stopped the bullet from a gun.
14 Oct 2012, 13:23 pm
@sharks_lover-218: Yes, then I expected him to play well. Slotted in like he had not even been away. To think he has not really played much rugby since the final of SS. So taking that into account he was really outstanding. Enjoying Reinach play as well. For now he is looking more and more that he will be our 1st choice scrummie for next year.
14 Oct 2012, 13:25 pm
@sharks_lover-218: Actually now after watching all 3 fhs play this weekend. Lambie this weekend was the best out of all of them. I know he miseed to kicks but his overall play was outstanding.
14 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
@Puma-221: Against Griquas
But yes, he looked good.
14 Oct 2012, 13:28 pm
@sharks_lover-218: Not sure what is up with Meyer, but really he should be looking at Ludik as well. Since the last part of Super Rugby he has been the best fullback in SA. Not sure what more he has to do to get into the Bok team.
14 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
@stormersboy-222: Yes. To think he has hardly had any rugby time since he got injured in June. He would have played well against any team bud. He is a class player M. Has too much skill just to be left on the damn bench by our daft Bok coach. Criminal by Meyer to leavr a play maker to rot on the bench with that class. Also look at Ludik he has been our best FB in the last part of SR and he gets overlooked by our daft Bok coach. The mind boggles.
14 Oct 2012, 13:37 pm
@Puma-224: I agree that he’s a class player and he would have started most of the tests this year at 15 for me.
He’s got possibly the best sense of calm out of all the top 4 flyhalves and almost never gets rattled.
I know you guys are on a high and deservedly so, but watching the game Lambie got given so much time from his forward pack (who were outstanding) against a very “open” style of backline that it helped him a great deal.
i expect him to outplay Morne this weekend, but it does depend on the type of ball that he gets. The Bulls will make it harder, much harder for guys like Keegan and the like.
14 Oct 2012, 13:38 pm
What is wrong with all the SA coaches? Lambie is not rated by HM, Divvy did not rate him and even Plumtree is always looking for another option at FH……………..
14 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
For me the Fyhalf pecking order going into the Tri Nations would have been for me
Elton
Lambie
Goose
Morne
Goose below Lambie because I have yet to see all the “hype” that others have, but time will tell.
Elton for me has the X factor that others don’t. I still believe that, even after yesterday.
14 Oct 2012, 13:43 pm
@stormersboy-227:
Morne made him his b i t c h…..
14 Oct 2012, 13:45 pm
Probelm wtih bambie is he is about our 3rd best 10, 12 and 15… What to do?
14 Oct 2012, 13:47 pm
@phil72-226: You talking nonsense as usual. Peter DID rate Lambie, he wanted to play him at fh on the eoyt in 2010. It was Matfield and FdP that stopped that and had Morne play instead. Then again last year Peter sent Lambie on the away tour with the B boks to NZ and OZ. For him to get game time there at fh because he was going to play Lambie and not Morne. As Morne as we heard back then was going to be dropped. Then when those Boks came home all of a sudden Morne got selected at fh. Go figure who had a say to that again?
Peter eventually played Lambie at fb in the world cup. At least he had better sense than this idiot coach we have now.
@phil72-228:
14 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@phil72-229: Right now Pat is our best fh. Meyer though will select Morne.
14 Oct 2012, 13:53 pm
@stormersboy-225: We will see next week.
14 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
@Puma-232: Yes we will. We have our own battles to fight
14 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
What will the Heilige Blue Ballas say if they should happen to lose to a Sharks side full of Bok rejects and a mere “Fullback” playing at 10 against awesome Morne?
What they gonna say if Ludik embarrasses Z aaane…?
What they gonna say if Mvovo, who cant catch a ball apparently, embarrasses BoereWelshman with tattoos on the wing…
Liewe Hemel
14 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
@phil72-229: \Ok Phil, even after we have set you right re Lambie and him having played 15, you continue with your arguement like a ******, this clearly shows your lack of any normal clear thought like an adult,
P Div Did rate Lambie, it just happened at that stage that MOrne did have some form , thus P Div played Lambie at 15, He was not a counch potato like is is with your BB minded useless HM.
But enough said, one cannot discuss a rational issue with an irational fool, tata, have a nice day………….. NOT
14 Oct 2012, 14:05 pm
@Heavens Game-234: eish bru thiss Phil clown is a thick as a plank it seems.
14 Oct 2012, 14:07 pm
What they gonna do should Midget Daniel ever outplay the sudden 2nd best no.8 in the Land, Arno Botha…
Fark this could get embarrassing for Heilige Heyneke and his Blou Ballas Stormtroepies…
The supremacy myth might start cracking all over like bone china should the Sharks playing 15 man running rugby go and beat the “knockout kings” packed with supreme “Boks” playing “finals rugby”…
Liewe Hemel uit die blou…
14 Oct 2012, 14:08 pm
@sharks_lover-235: In fact if Lambie had been a meter skew on his drop we would have won that QF against Aus.
And he would have been a national hero.
Great kick from a bad field position.
Zane would have up and under-ed it.
Like always.
14 Oct 2012, 14:10 pm
@stormersboy-233:
boet luckily we all entitled to our own opinions
For me even though is was against the Kwas, I would play
Lambie
Jantjes
Goosen (only because he is a skinny lad and needs time to build)but the kids pure class
Butch
Morne
The reason i go with Lambie is very simple boet, he reads play better than Jantjes for me thus he makes the right options more often the not compared to Jantjes.
Lambie tackles and reads defence better, although i’ll be the first to admit, jantjes defence has come on leaps and bounds and is not a poor defender my any matter of means.
KIcking they both very good kickers, but Lambie stays a lot calmer than most other players, and a calm head again makes the right choices when need be.
14 Oct 2012, 14:10 pm
Will give all Sharkies this much, off all the fullbacks playing FH in Currie cup this year, Bambie has been the best by far…….
14 Oct 2012, 14:11 pm
@sharks_lover-236: Ag, he’s just got the Liewe Hemel uit die Blou van onse Ballas tunnel vision…
Reminder to me: Must try dig out that CC shirt circa 1990 somewhere buried in a trunk in the garage…
You know, the commemorative one with the Piesang painfully molesting the dutpipe of a snorting Blou Bul
14 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
The Stormers/WP are still dragging their feet about signing Janties, wonder why?
14 Oct 2012, 14:14 pm
@Heavens Game-237: bwaaahahahahaha.
14 Oct 2012, 14:15 pm
@stormersboy-238:
14 Oct 2012, 14:17 pm
@stormersboy-238: Same as at Center, why Taute?? when JDJ is so much better and a natural center??
14 Oct 2012, 14:17 pm
@Heavens Game-241:
14 Oct 2012, 14:18 pm
@sharks_lover-239: Agree good post. I would go with Pat everytime.
How good is Reinach? Another class player to come out of our academy. Also JPP playing brilliant, just carried on from here he left off when he got injured. Best wing in the country if not the world. He us pure class.
14 Oct 2012, 14:19 pm
@Puma-247: us = is
14 Oct 2012, 14:23 pm
@Puma-230: Liar, PDV never rated Lambie as a flyhalf. He preferred Butch as his first choice but Plod and Matfield wanted Steyn. The only reason he settled for Lambs was because he needed to rest his preferred 10s in the 3N.
14 Oct 2012, 14:25 pm
@Puma-247: Puma little Reinach is a Gem unearthed, thiss kid if he can keep his feet on the ground and build on what he is showing us right now??? dare i say it??
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All