Bulls surge into semis
13 Oct 2012
RYAN VREDE watched the Blue Bulls qualify for the Currie Cup semi-finals with a 50-29 victory over the Golden Lions at Ellis Park.
The Bulls will travel to Kings Park to face the Sharks in one of next Saturday’s semi-finals, but for the first quarter of the match they where in real danger of finishing bottom and having to play a relegation-promotion match to retain their status in the Premier Division.
They trailed by 10 points and were on the ropes as the Lions ran everything. However they regrouped, improved their defensive accuracy and attacking potency to emerge comfortable victors after a testing first 60 minutes.
Mention must be made of Morne Steyn’s goal-kicking, which has been poor this season. The flyhalf amassed 22 points with his boot, many of those kicks from difficult angles.
The Lions, who had already qualified for a home play-off, played with a freedom that reflected their unassailable log position, spreading the ball at most opportunities. They also benefited from Butch James’s pin-point goalkicking – the flyhalf landing two penalties before they scored a try that was birthed deep in their half and featured slick interplay.
But that was as good as it got for the Lions, the Bulls pegging them back through Steyn’s boot before they matched the Lions’ try for wow-factor – Jacques Potgieter cutting the defensive line at speed before offloading to Bjorn Basson to score. Steyn banked the conversion and a couple of penalties to give the Bulls a 22-16 half-time lead.
The Lions had opted to rest a string of their first-choice players, but some of those were introduced and their influence was immediate. Twice they came away from the Bulls’ 22m with points, James sinking a brace of penalties to level the score. However, the Bulls cut loose once more to regain the lead, Arno Botha feeding Jano Vermaak with a pass that appeared to drift forward. Steyn converted from the touchline to take his side seven points ahead.
But the Lions responded brilliantly and instantly, driving into the Bulls’ red zone through intelligent, speedy and powerful phase play before Anthony Volmink wriggled out of a tackle en route to scoring. James kicked his seventh successful goal of the evening to level the scores at 29-29.
With 20 minutes to play, Botha emerged from an impressive rolling maul and powered over the line and four minutes later the Bulls pounced on a senseless quick lineout feed in the Lions’ 22m, Dewald Potgiter crossing the chalk for the try that broke the defending champions’ resistance.
Akona Ndungane gathered another wayward pass shortly thereafter to pave the way for them to put 50 on their Gauteng rivals and set up what has the potential to be a spectacle of note against the Sharks.

358 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All
14 Oct 2012, 14:26 pm
@RL-249: Why did Peter play Lambie at fh on the way tour with our B Boks? Why not Butch? If Peter never rated Lambie he would not have played him at fb either then for during the world cup.
14 Oct 2012, 14:27 pm
LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL!
Out of 54 votes cast so far only a measly 15 people see the Sharks beating the Bulls and making the final!
A whopping 31 people see the final between the Bulls and WP, at CT.
Am I missing something?
14 Oct 2012, 14:28 pm
@Puma-248: ONly time will tell Pooms, but if things work out?? this combination of Reinach and Lambie combinning with Fransie and JOrdaan?? could be huge, then add to that in inter play of our back 3, JPP mvovo and Ludick.
I also believe kanko is Imperitive to our play next year. As it again could allow us to play Alberts at lock and have a much faster loose trio as kanko excels in the Lineouts too
14 Oct 2012, 14:29 pm
@sharks_lover-250: Reinach is for sure pure class. Really looking forward to seeing him play a full Super Rugby season next year with Pat at fh. Jordaan and Fransie as well, even Timmy is playing well at inside centre, but Fransie is our best there. Hope JPP keeps this magnificent form too, he has been just brilliant this year.
14 Oct 2012, 14:29 pm
Patrick Lambie in 17 test, 0 drop goals, 0 tries and 0 penalties………what a match winner… is a keeper!
14 Oct 2012, 14:31 pm
@sharks_lover-253: Agree there. Absolutely need Kanko back. Hope he does not do a Fourie and changes his mind and stays in Japan. He was bloody awesome for us in the last few games. Agree, that does allow us to play Alberts at lock.
Ludik is the best fullback in the country RIGHT now that is.
14 Oct 2012, 14:32 pm
@phil72-255: It is not all about him getting tries, drop goals or penalties. It is how he puts the other players away for tries. Morne can’t do that you see..
14 Oct 2012, 14:33 pm
@Puma-256: In saying that POoms, Jandre is playing damn good rugga at Lock
14 Oct 2012, 14:33 pm
@Puma-257: Boet this oke will never understamd with what you just said, Its way beyond his means….
14 Oct 2012, 14:34 pm
@sharks_lover-253: Kanko was great in the lineouts. I much prefer a fast loose trio. So do hope Kanko comes back. That is the problem with the Boks our loose trio is just way, way too slow.
14 Oct 2012, 14:35 pm
Jissus this Phil are a thick plank.
14 Oct 2012, 14:36 pm
A dom dutchie.
14 Oct 2012, 14:36 pm
met n groot boep.
14 Oct 2012, 14:37 pm
@Puma-251: I said he didn’t rate him as a flyhalf, just like Heineken doen not rate him as a flyhalf and just like Plum who will drop him for a frog or for Elton in a second. Elton is the incumbent Bok flyhalf now after the injury to the Goose. After two solid years playing 10 at superrugby level, not like Lambie who has played only a year and a half at 10 and the rest at 15, Elton has finally killed the Lambie challenge, just like he did at u20 level.
14 Oct 2012, 14:37 pm
@sharks_lover-259: Yip gonna ignore him from now.
@sharks_lover-258: Jandre has been very good, but think Plum just might opt for Alberts there. Well think he might, then he will only do that if we get Kanko back. Need Kanko for the lineouts if Alberts is playing lock.
When will PSDT get back? See he played for u21′s a half game. Should be ready for SS though. Another that will be great at lock or 7.
14 Oct 2012, 14:39 pm
@sharks_lover-259: Cheers bro, out of here now.
14 Oct 2012, 14:40 pm
@RL-264: Stop talking KAK or are you as dumb as this {hil dude??
DO you struggle to read???
PLum DID NOT DROP LAMBIE AS A FLYHALF, it has been explained in the press now on many occasions, instead you try arguing all the time.
Eish, some people just cannot understand simple English
14 Oct 2012, 14:41 pm
@Puma-266: Cheers bro,
Me too i aint in the mood to argue with a fool.
14 Oct 2012, 14:42 pm
@Puma-265: PSDT not yet fully match fit after his long layoff due to injury.
LAst Saturday he was superb the first half but faded in the 2nd period
14 Oct 2012, 14:42 pm
@phil72-228:
I should probably hurl @ your comments. But that’s a privilege reserved for a night out with my mates after an overindulgence of my favourite beverage.
For you I wanna make an incision deep and precise enuff to disembowel myself so I get it over and done wit thoroughly!
Yours and everyone elses fickleness is disgusting, singing Mornes praises and condemning EJ after 1 weekend. Lambie rocks but you know nothing of it to comment my friend.
14 Oct 2012, 14:45 pm
@Puma-265:
Hear Plum in a bit a shamble in the moment for next year’s Super compo… Michalak not coming back and Jantjies suggesting would prefer to play for the Stompies… rumors are he s disparately talking to Hernandez again but not getting anywhere…..
14 Oct 2012, 14:46 pm
@RL-264: Before I go. Plum NEVER dropped Pat at fh.
I do rate Elton, but my fh would be Pat everytime. Elton never played well last night, Butch was way, way better than Elton, don’t you think?
Morne will wear the fh jersey on the eoyt, so stop kidding yourself. Unless the coach has some guts to select Elton or Lambie.
14 Oct 2012, 14:47 pm
@sharks_lover-267: he was dropped plain and simple – why the hell play him at 15 in the currie cup and super final in favour of a frog! If he is that good ffs don’t be thick and buy into your own comforting spin.
I hope that Elton signd for the guppies to kill this myth once and for all and to heart attack the Lambchop lovers into reality.
14 Oct 2012, 14:48 pm
@phil72-271: You just a troll and I am certainly not going to respond to your posts anymore. You obviously someone that blogs here blogging under another nic.
14 Oct 2012, 14:50 pm
@Puma-272: Elton didn’t start the match and the Lions played cowboy rugby – we will see how Elton goes in a knockout match against the WP. Steyn vs Lambie will be good too and if Steyn is hald decent he will sit on the bench right next to Lambie for the EOYT.
14 Oct 2012, 14:51 pm
@RL-273: You talking absolute c r a p as normal. Another that does not need any to respond to their posts. Next year you don’t have a team. Rather go think about that than worry about Lambie.
14 Oct 2012, 14:55 pm
@Puma-274:
But there is good news too…As lambie hasnt received any meaningful offers from other rugby franchises this year and over the past few years, he will more than likely be staying with the sharkies for some time….
14 Oct 2012, 14:56 pm
@RL-273: NO he did not you fool.
Frenchman was brought over as a Scrumhalf, as we had no depth there and Hoffman was injured.
French when Lambie broke his jaw during the super 15 then moved to Flyhalf to help out at the time, with Lambies return to play Ludick and Viljoen were totally out of form so Plum had to either drop the Frenchman or Play Lambie at the back, with Freddy also being in good form at that stage Plum made the call to play lambie at 15.
LAmbie has not been playing CC so please make sure of your facts, he has only just played his first CC for the season, and it was at flyhlaf.
Instead of being a idiot and making stupid statements dude get to know the facts first.
Plum has said onver and Over LAmbie is our first choice flyhlaf, but again believe what even you want, you obviously do not have the mentallity to undertsna dthe facts.
AS FOR JANTJES?? WE DO NOT WANT HIM OR NEED HIM,Bosman will do just fine and if enything we would accept Butch back on loan, Yesterdays play by Butch showed he is still a class 10 and your LIons lost the match when BUtch was shifted to 12 and Jantjes came onto the fiels of play..
Those are the facts, use it dont?? you problem not ours.
14 Oct 2012, 14:59 pm
@Puma-274: Ignore both Puma, this are little Juvernile deliquents in search of attention, they cant argue facts or present facts.
They just come with their little hate mentallity.
14 Oct 2012, 15:00 pm
@Puma-276: Dont worry Pooms, old RL there will be supporting the KIngs
14 Oct 2012, 15:00 pm
@sharks_lover-278:
The facts are that only the faithfull wannabee Bulls, Sharkie supporters rate Bambie….. The coaches with all the say don’t……………
14 Oct 2012, 15:06 pm
@sharks_lover-278: you don’t know much do you. Plum rushed Lambie right into the fullback position for last years currie cup final where he had a kak game! Just like when Plum played him at full back against the saders in the playoff match earlier that year where Lambie gifted Read 7 points. That is two big matches last year where Plum dropped him to fullback just like he did in the superfinal where surprise surprise Plum dropped him to fullback again. Why in all the big matches does Plum drop Lambie to fullback.
Heineken is only following Plums lead on Lambie, nothing wrong with him choosing the Goose and Elton as Bok flyhalfs for the next 8 tears.
14 Oct 2012, 15:16 pm
J@RL-282:
Jantjies certainly receives top marks for his entertaining value
Watching the ABs running through him last week was laughing stock of a legend status, we look forward for more of the same!
14 Oct 2012, 15:22 pm
@Hondo-283: you also like those two racist varkies who think that Lambchops is better than Elton – well unlike Lambie he will play in the big matches at flyhalf (EOYT matches included) and not in the lesser fullback position.
he will force Butch to centre or the bench for the semi.
Just watch how Elton destroys the mighty WP again, just like he did last year youy hond.
14 Oct 2012, 15:25 pm
@RL-284:
To explain rugby to these varkie chops is like explaining the difference between a loin chop and a leg chop to a tipsy, toothless 35 year old blond from the bluff………..
14 Oct 2012, 15:26 pm
@stormersboy-219: I loved that track when I was at school. Gary Moore and Phil Lynott from Thin Lizzy.
14 Oct 2012, 15:27 pm
@RL-284: AHHHH this dog RL shows his true racist rubbish self..
SO beacuse we think Lambie is the better player you brand us racist??
you just proved ur from a trailer park, papsak your preferred drink?? no doubt
14 Oct 2012, 15:30 pm
@phil72-285: you just keep proving us right that ur juts a little danville lowlife without a brain, run along dork
14 Oct 2012, 15:34 pm
@Hondo-283:
Yes laugh now chump..
14 Oct 2012, 15:35 pm
@Puma-276:
No Super 15 team in 2013 mainly thanks to Jantjies ‘The Relagator’, that is
Many in J’oburg are crossing fingers in the hope he will go to CT and stays there
14 Oct 2012, 15:35 pm
@sharks_lover-287: funny you don’t argue the fact that Lambchops was dropped to fullback by Plum for 3 must win matches. Why if he is so good does he always play in the lesser position. And FYI Strooli is going all out to sign Elton so where do you get this kak of DON’T NEED Elton who is putting Lambie into his rightfull place, fullback.
Pfffft admit it you just like the hond who does not rate Elton because of his hairdo.
14 Oct 2012, 15:36 pm
@sharks_lover-288:
Must have really insulted you when i mentioned your toothless girlfriend from the bluff………….. so sorry…..
14 Oct 2012, 15:37 pm
@RL-291: No use arguing with an idiot, i have made my point, not gonna repeat it dude, ur welcome to now sit and argue with yourself, it is prolly why ur here ion seek of attention.
14 Oct 2012, 15:39 pm
Run, Run, Run, Run……………………. runaway from you………………….
14 Oct 2012, 15:39 pm
@phil72-292: go play kid, ur getting more and more childlike, you by the way know nothing of me or my wife, so keep insulting away, all it is doing is showing your Danville?BB mentallity. keep entertaining urself kiddo,
14 Oct 2012, 15:43 pm
@sharks_lover-295:
Oh… so it is the toothless wife…………
14 Oct 2012, 15:46 pm
@sharks_lover-295:
So you can dish it out but cant take it…. must be a real softy, girl or maybe……. just a varkie……………….
14 Oct 2012, 16:06 pm
SL , Puma vs RL, Phil… very entertaining
Pls do cotinue.
14 Oct 2012, 17:57 pm
The two Sharks ladyboys lost their knickers again??
14 Oct 2012, 18:04 pm
@wnbb-299:
More like when artificial intelligence meets natural stupidity
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All