Bulls surge into semis

RYAN VREDE watched the Blue Bulls qualify for the Currie Cup semi-finals with a 50-29 victory over the Golden Lions at Ellis Park.

The Bulls will travel to Kings Park to face the Sharks in one of next Saturday’s semi-finals, but for the first quarter of the match they where in real danger of finishing bottom and having to play a relegation-promotion match to retain their status in the Premier Division.

They trailed by 10 points and were on the ropes as the Lions ran everything. However they regrouped, improved their defensive accuracy and attacking potency to emerge comfortable victors after a testing first 60 minutes.

Mention must be made of Morne Steyn’s goal-kicking, which has been poor this season. The flyhalf amassed 22 points with his boot, many of those kicks from difficult angles.

The Lions, who had already qualified for a home play-off, played with a freedom that reflected their unassailable log position, spreading the ball at most opportunities. They also benefited from Butch James’s pin-point goalkicking – the flyhalf landing two penalties before they scored a try that was birthed deep in their half and featured slick interplay.

But that was as good as it got for the Lions, the Bulls pegging them back through Steyn’s boot before they matched the Lions’ try for wow-factor – Jacques Potgieter cutting the defensive line at speed before offloading to Bjorn Basson to score. Steyn banked the conversion and a couple of penalties to give the Bulls a 22-16 half-time lead.

The Lions had opted to rest a string of their first-choice players, but some of those were introduced and their influence was immediate. Twice they came away from the Bulls’ 22m with points, James sinking a brace of penalties to level the score. However, the Bulls cut loose once more to regain the lead, Arno Botha feeding Jano Vermaak with a pass that appeared to drift forward. Steyn converted from the touchline to take his side seven points ahead.

But the Lions responded brilliantly and instantly, driving into the Bulls’ red zone through intelligent, speedy and powerful phase play before Anthony Volmink wriggled out of a tackle en route to scoring. James kicked his seventh successful goal of the evening to level the scores at 29-29.

With 20 minutes to play, Botha emerged from an impressive rolling maul and powered over the line and four minutes later the Bulls pounced on a senseless quick lineout feed in the Lions’ 22m, Dewald Potgiter crossing the chalk for the try that broke the defending champions’ resistance.

Akona Ndungane gathered another wayward pass shortly thereafter to pave the way for them to put 50 on their Gauteng rivals and set up what has the potential to be a spectacle of note against the Sharks.

358 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

• 301.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL !

According to this amazing poll of 107 voters 81 reckon the Bulls will beat the Sharks in the semi.

Only a measly 26 reckon the Sharks are going to win!

The table topping team at home.

Against the verkrampte skop en jag span that scraped into 4th place.

LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL !

Most will be Capies wishing their team get a home final! That deserves an extra laugh for the team that never wins trophies!

• 302.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

lots of chest beating braggadocio nonsene on here, latetely.

am just happy for the bulls strong finish, despite the lions best attempts otherwise.
    quietly confident they will rise to the occasion come saturday and blow the sharkies outta the water. it wont be easy, that much is certain…it’ll come down to belief and a bit a luck.

• 303.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-301:
    personally i think it will be a lions – bulls final.
    but who knows… knockout rugby, like the bounce of the ball can go any which way.

• 304.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@katman-286: It’s the Shiznit.

• 305.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-301: Aint that a fact. oh El Crappo sucking up to the BUlls now, what a sour little taod……

BUt it is good for the Bulls to be favourites boet,

Old Bakkies is trying to say it;s the Sharks supporters beating chect???? you cant help those who cannot read………………….. enough said..

Like i said before we will see come Saturday, What happened last week means Zero, what happens Saturday is what counts.

• 306.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-301: Yawn.The Bulls,as a team or union,lost that racist,verkrampte tag a long time ago.Anything new to add??

• 307.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-303: We didnt expect your choices any other way BAkkies,

You prolly made all 22 of the votes :lol: for LIons vs Bulls final

• 308.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

I really feel sorry for the players who have helped get their respective teams in a position to win, then having the big gun springboks take their ppace
    Not the fault of the boks coming back but SA rugby
    Firstly these boks should be rested and have no part of the rest of the currie cup
    This includes the semis and finals
    Let the younger players and the team that has stayed together win or lose
    Let our springboks rest after all the hard rugby they have played and get ready for the European tour.
    Just my opinion

• 309.phil72: Reply to this comment

Meerkatte…. coming into play again… Lions already out of super rugby, and…….if the Kings had to replace the cheeters in the cc…. only 1 option left…. Meerkatte……

• 310.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-308: Maybe so Pete, but why should players be punnished because they have gained higher honours??

Why should the likes of Lambie, JDJ, Burden etc sit our further when they have not been playing for how long now???

All Players want to do is play.

• 311.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-308: Howzit coach.The US of A still treating you ok?

• 312.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-310:
    Maybe not the reserves like Burden and lambie etc
    The players have gained higher honours by playing for the boks Full stop
    Why should these young players who have carried the team these weeks just be brushed aside?
    Plus the boks who have played a lot of rugby need that rest or they will be burnt out

• 313.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-311:
    Howzit yeah thanks Still ok Hope the elections correct the direction of the country

• 314.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Since that day Lambie flopped spectacularly for the Baby Boks,playing at fb against the Aussies,in the junior wc in Argentina,i always questioned his ability to play in the big games of International rugby.I can understand why Meyer is reluctant to play him as a ten,the engine of the backline.

• 315.phil72: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-314:

But remember… he is the chosen one?

• 316.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-314:
    This is going to upset Sharks lover but i agree
    He has not shown he is a steady 10 and neither at 15
    He was never in my bok 15 or 22

• 317.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-313: Neck and neck i see.Planning to hit the shores of Virginia Beach next summer to visit family.

• 318.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-317:
    Where are you located?

• 319.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-307:
    multiple votes, you can do that? :lol:

• 320.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Knock out rugby is scary chit fullstop. Its a matter of who plays the best on the day, the ref calls, the bounce of the ball.

To reach this stage of the tournament the teams are basically on a even footing.

Another thing, the flyhalf thing, we don’t really have one that rocks my world right now, but I would have Lambie (am a Shark) and Morne if he has his kicking boots on and experience, and only for those to reasons.

• 321.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Oh you are in SA? I dont know east coast too well

• 322.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-308:
    at the end of the day, its really about the team and not the individuals.
    makes me gain a whole new level of respect for a guy like danie.

• 323.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-320:
    Hi there :)
    No so sure about lambie I dont see enough aggression and intensity I am not sure what it is but he seems to be on a sunday stroll most games :)

• 324.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-322:
    And the # 1 team is the boks :)

• 325.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@phil72-315:
    no he’s not..?.. at least he’s certainly not rated at national level. personally my feeling is that while he is a very good fh, there are better.
    simple as that.

@sharks_lover-305:
    seriously… go back 100 posts, its just sharkies saying, sharkies saying that…
    i am not making this up, the evidence is there :grin:

• 326.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-324:
    sorry “are the boks”

• 327.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-325:
    Agreed

• 328.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-324:
    absolutely, at least it should be.
    bulls have made moerse sacrifices for the cause.
    i can say truthful things about the ‘other unions’ supporter and coaches who flip and flop in their own interests… but what would the point be…

this team is supposed to unite us… not tear us apart…
    its bad enough having to deal with those dirty litlle kiwis on a normal day.

• 329.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-327:
    on the sharkies 100 post drama?
    ja, i know.

• 330.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-328:

He is the varkies 2nd choice FB and the 2nd choice FH…. where does it put him with the boks? as per the varkies…. he has to start?

• 331.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

SHARKIES !!!!!Wooooohoooooo the last outpost, we stick together, right or wrong :twisted:

• 332.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this one’s for all you sharkies out there, just so you know whats coming your way:

You’ll never say hello to you
    Until you get it on the red line overload
    You’ll never know what you can do
    Until you get it up as high as you can go

Out along the edges
    Always where I burn to be
    The further on the edge
    The hotter the intensity

Highway to the danger zone
    Gonna take you
    Right into the danger zone

Highway to the danger zone

• 333.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

can you ride.?. huh..?..

better hope you can

• 334.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@phil72-330:
    look, the boys good and i dont wanna pull him down. so lets see who’s who in the rugby zoo come saturday.

• 335.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-331:
    Sticking together is wrong :)

• 336.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete…hahahahahahahaha

• 337.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger-336:
    Oh you were talking about sharks rugby fans LOL

• 338.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Im waiting for a apology from you guys… I said rhule was overrated and he will be killed by wp… I was right…. Again…. Overrated dragon

• 339.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-338: He’s a 20 year old with truckloads of potential. Far from the finished product, but an exciting find.

Pull up your panyts and stop acting like a c ock

• 340.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-332: Singing songs now…?

In the spirit of this campfires burning kumbaya stuff here’s a little song I dedicated to the AB’s just on the other thread earlier…

I dedicate it now to the Bulls, their supporters and their current farken closed minded idiocy… “Just so you know whats coming your way”

The roof… the roof… the roof is on fire…

We don’t need no water let the mothafuckas burn

Burn mothafuckas… Burn

(substitute Roof for KP… Bulls for braai’d, burnt Cow after the game… With Sharks running hot hot hot, and you catch my drift MOFO)

• 341.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Gonna be karmic extreme should Pat the “Fullback” totally fuckover and embarrass the hero of Loftus…

The “Fullback”
    Outkicking
    Out tackling
    Out running
    Out passing
    The “Flyhalf”…

Embarrassing for Morne, the Bulls, Heyneke, “finals rugby” and the rest of the dumbfuck, closed minded sheep who got any doubt about the credentials of Pat the “Fullback”… and Keegan the “Midget” Bok reject loosie…

Prove a point boys and farkemall… Burn them MOFOS down… In FLAMES

• 342.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@phil72-330: 1st choice 10… and first choice 15…

Sharks prefer him at 10… And Sharks know best…

Currently,
    They play the best rugby out of all SA Provinces…

They are the most consistent…

They have the best depth…

As indicated in actually reaching a Super Rugby final – THIS YEAR… and topping the CC log… Only a short matter of time until they hold both trophies at the same damn time…

Milk and Honey, Black and White Dynamite Promised Land just a short hop, skip and jump away… With every bit of success an indictment and embarrassment to the fuckup “Traditional Power” North/South mindset that is doing its best to screw Bok rugby at the moment with tunnel minded dumfuckery you quite clearly are part of…

BURN MOFO
    BURN…

• 343.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-338:
    ridiculous.
    the kid’s got loads of talent and i certainly think he’ll go far. there’s parts of his game which is really good but there are parts of his game which needs continual coaching and development.

its clearly far too early to tell.

@Heavens Game-340:

• 344.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Still wonder which yellow bellied excuse for officialdom will be reffing the match between the Dynamite and the Uit Die Hemel van Onse Blou Ballas come Saturday…

Cant let Die Blou Heilige Heyneke favourites be embarrassed too much by the Black and White Bok rejects…

Smells like a “Traditional Power” protectionist racket if there ever was one…

• 345.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-344:
    wow!
    its sunday and already you lining up excuses..
    couldn’t you have waited until monday?

• 346.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-345: Excuses? Where? Because the ref will be as bent as the average Clifton resident or the average Brooklyn Mall clientele doen’t mean the Black and White Bok rejects aint going to rip the Blou Ballas more than one new one… Despite the obvious clear intentions to protect the Heilige “Traditional Power” base from the Marriot sponsored Muttons in the Middle…

• 347.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

“Marriot sponsored Muttons in the Middle”

• 348.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-346:

here’s a little trip down memory lane. granted it was not a cc final, but it was just as sweet:

minute 78: try – albert van den berg (sharks)

minute 79 : missed conversion – frans steyn (sharks)

sharks 19 – bulls 13

minute 79: substitution (tactical) heini adams for fourie du preez (bulls)

minute 82: try! – bryan habana (bulls)

minute 83 conversion – derick hougaard (bulls)

minute 83: full time

minute 84: BOOM!

bulls 20 – sharks 19

• 349.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-348: Yes… Glory Days… A long time back… Pity the Heilge Blou Ballas still tunnel visioned and living in the distant past with distant outdated rugby theocracy…

Hows this for a more recent result… The Best of the Ballas vs the Best of the Sharks… at Kings Park… 2012

Sharks 32 Bulls 10

With an attacking Bonus Point cherry on top…

The cutting edge vs the outdated…

Sign of things to come… :lol:

• 350.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

every time Bulls needed to get out of trouble they needed Heini Adams both times they won the S14 it was due to understated Heini Adams who bailed them out the dwang twice. Not that overrated demigod of theirs the little molly cuddled mommies boy FdP, twice Bulls needed to get right out the craphole it was little nobody Heini Adams who saved their arseholes both times.

2007 FdP substituted at min 79 while trailing 19-13 in the SR final, on comes Adams and boom minute later Habana over to save the day

2009 Bulls need a miracle 76 point win vs Reds in the last round robin game to get through to play offs, who reads Reds the riot act and keep the Bulls on the hop all game long? no, not messiah FdP who had he started no hope in hell Bulls would ever have made that score, instead it was Heini Adams to the rescue again and wound up Reds by 93-6 or something as unheard of as that. Bulls go on to secure another SR title thanks to who? Heini Adams the real messiah of the cause, had FdP played that vital Reds game with his kick chase trash not a hope would Bulls have made the playoffs.

Same as 2007 was Heini Adams who put Bryan Habana away for the nail in coffin fluke result.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.