Jantjies, Taute set for Stormers stints

Lions CEO Ruben Moggee confirmed that Elton Jantjies and Jaco Taute are expected to finalise loan deals with the Stormers this week.

Flyhalf Jantjies has been linked with the Stormers and Sharks for the past month. Springbok and Lions team-mate Jaco Taute has also been approached by other South African franchises, including the Stormers, Sharks and Bulls.

However, Moggee confirmed to this site that both players are expected to join the Stormers squad on loan during the 2013 Super Rugby campaign.

‘Things should be finalised this week,’ Moggee told keo.co.za. ‘We are currently discussing terms with the agents and Stormers.’

Jantjies is set to gain a starting berth with the Stormers during the opening rounds of Super Rugby next year.

WP pivot Demetri Catrakilis has signed a two-year contract with the Southern Kings, while Kurt Coleman and Gary van Aswegen are recovering from injuries. Senior flyhalf Peter Grant will join the squad at a late stage next year because of his club commitments with the Kobe Steelers in Japan.

Although Taute has started at outside centre for the Springboks, he is likely to compete for a spot at fullback considering the Stormers’ midfield depth, which includes Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Marcel Brache and JP du Plessis.

Meanwhile, Moggee also confirmed that suspended head coach John Mitchell’s disciplinary hearing has not been settled yet. The matter is expected to be resolved early this week.

208 Comments

• 1.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Cape Dragons??

• 2.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Good for SA rugby.
    They will play S15, and probably never leave the Stormers.
    Lions loss is Stormers gain here.
    Stormers – thank SARFU for ******** up the Lions province!

• 3.dr dre: Reply to this comment

This is an epic fail from WP Rugby Union.

Sure, we want to win a Super Rugby trophy but we want to do it with our own players …

Not some loan units from the spares place up the road.

This is unacceptable. These two are talented but its only acceptable if they are permanently contracted.

Idiots.

• 4.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@dr dre-3:

Ag please.

Provincialism at its best.

Anyway… Glad to see Taute in the Cape. We need a real fullback with some attacking flair. Joe Pietersen is looking more and more like he should’ve been a flyhalf rather then a fullback.

• 5.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

stil lthink he would be better off at the sharks. oh well, good luck to all involved.

@hendrikp-4:
    see that so often with players going to wp and starting off with a bang only to end with a whimper.

• 6.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-5:

And vice versa.. Like Bryan Habana :)

• 7.Horings: Reply to this comment

SARU will realise at some time that the only possible date to play the relegation playoffs is at the same time than the super rugby finals. Then these loan deals would be almost worthless.

• 8.Puma: Reply to this comment

@BULLET-2: They may not want to leave but both have a contract with Lions until end of 2014. Well I think it is until then. So both will head back to Lions if Lions win their relegation game.

• 9.Horings: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-5: Lions players to WP. Joe van Niekerk, Januarie, Conrad Jantjies, Brian Mujati, Jaque Fourie (he did well), Schalk Brits. All fairly good players that played better elsewhere than at the Stormers, except Fourie. He maintained his high standard.

• 10.Puma: Reply to this comment

@dr dre-3: I think it is good for SA rugby that these two are going to be playing Super Rugby. We can’t have talent like that just sitting about for a year. On the other hand it does mess about with Stormers as they will probably lose both players after Super Rugby if Lions win their relegation game. Think both these players have contracts with Lions until end of 2014.

• 11.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-5: see the same thing with WP boys coming to the Bulls and ending up as average forwards, e.g. Sadie, JJ Engelbrecht and Hougie just to name a few. Even Steyn had a running passing game before he was ruined for life after his unfortunate move.

• 12.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-6:
    huh? he left the bulls as the ‘best in the bizniz’ only to step it down a notch in try scoring ability..?..

@Horings-9:
    exactly my thoughts.
    jf was the money man and seems to still have a knack for scoring / opening up defenses for his *** team.

• 13.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-11:
    this conversation is specifically about the stormers, taute and jantjes.. ok… :grin:

• 14.Puma: Reply to this comment

Just reading that Van Rensburg and Mapoe picked up injuries in the game against the Bulls on Saturday. Van Rensburg is out and Lions are still waiting on Mapoe results after he went for scans on his knee. Without those players doubt very much Lions will win. Then even with those players think Province would win on Saturday.

• 15.dr dre: Reply to this comment

@Puma-10: Agree. I just dont want “non WP” players in our system.

I would rather try with contracted players and fail.

• 16.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Horings-7:

No use to speculate about this. The people signing the deals are certainly aware of this posibility and would have obtained some assurance from SARU re the dates ofthe relegation matches.

@Horings-9:

Brian Mujati and Schalk Brits both became springboks after they moved to WP and Conrad also did very well until he broke his leg. Joe was a disappointment.

• 17.RL: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13: ten 4. :razz:

• 18.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma-8: Jantjes only under Lions contract till end of 2013

• 19.Puma: Reply to this comment

@dr dre-15: Agree, though it is good for SA rugby to have both playing Super Rugby. Stormers will lose out as if Lions do win their relegation game both will go back to Lions. If somehow Stormers can buy them out of their contracts and sign them permanently then very good, that would be the best for Stormers. Think both their contracts are until 2014 with Lions. Not totally sure but read something like that, but one probably can’t take too much out of reading some of the rugby sites.

• 20.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-12:

I referred to your comment that he ” started off with a bang only to end with a whimper” . He did just the opposite by starting badly at the stormers and was about to be dropped when he recovered his old form and is back to being just about the back in he biz.

• 21.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-18: Okay was not 100% sure. Then Jantjies is a very good move for Stormers. Though he will be released for Currie Cup with Lions in 2013. Then probably move over permanently to WP/Stormers.

• 22.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10-18: correcr, only uneducated people will spew rubbish about Jantjies having a contract with the Lions until end of 2014. Everyone knows that he and Taute and just about every other Lion is signed up until 2013.

What will happen is that Taute and Jantjies will pen permanent deals to become Stormer players after superrugby next year.

Stormers win big time with Jantjies, Taute, Rhodes and Cilliers.

They will do well to sign Mapoe too as Aplon is getting old and shadow is average.

• 23.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Great signings but where will Taute play? 15, 14, 13?

Grant must be satisfied with a bench role because Jantjies will make that 10 jersey his own.

• 24.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-22: how can Hekkies be “average” when he was tagged “the return of the white wing”?

• 25.grant10: Reply to this comment

I have to eat some humble pie as I never believed WP would obtain these 2 high profile signatures.

Taute ticks a lot of boxes for Stormers….will add some real bite from 15….

And Elton adds something very different in terms of playing style than P Grant.

The good aspect of the loan deal is both the Stormers Suits and the 2 players will be able to decide whether a longer term contract is feasible after the loan period…..so a Stormers ‘ score ‘ in my opinion.

• 26.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-24:

…only by messiah Tac…

• 27.RL: Reply to this comment

“Although Taute has started at outside centre for the Springboks, he is likely to compete for a spot at fullback”

This is a good move by Taute. He has to pick a position and if he is choosing fullback then good for him. He has to get rid of that unwanted utility player tag, leave that tag for the little lamb who is too scared to tell Heineken what position he prefers.

If Taute plays one full season at fullback, and not all over the backline like he did this year then I predict the end of Kirchner.

• 28.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@RL-22: 100% correct.

Likely outcome.

• 29.grant10: Reply to this comment

Taute has said the attraction to Stormers is the 15 jersy…..and Stormers have said they will play him there….

Interesting that Taute prefers that 15 spot

Hope HM is listening….

In JDJ boks have a perfect 13…..no matter whet the Brig says

• 30.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@RL-27:

…agree otherwise he will just become another bench option. Never a good idea to move from position to another. Ask Pienaar and Frans?

• 31.RL: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-28: @grant10-29: get Mapoe and send shadow to the Kings! You cannot find a better finisher than Lionel. :razz:

• 32.gunther: Reply to this comment

What will snoekums say about these mercs pulling on the the stormers jersey?

• 33.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RL-31: You cannot? Really? Funny that, because I can name 2 already down at your closest Sharks franchise:
    JPP
    Mvovo

Both better. And both got more loyalty than that snake called Lionel who has absolutely no idea about honouring his contract.

Ever wonder why no franchise falling over themselves to obtaining his services next year… He only has himself to blame.

• 34.RL: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-30: Taute played wing, inside centre, outside centre and fullback in superrugby – he gets injured and returns to play inside centre one weekend – next weekend he is playing outside centre for the Boks.

He is getting shafted with that tag. If he chooses fullback then leave him there. Kirchers days are numbered.

• 35.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-29: I think Taute prefers the 15 jersey as that is where Meyer will want to play him in the future at the Boks. It is no secret that Meyer has wanted to play Taute there this year. Then he picked up a injury and only came back for home games against ABs. Then Fransie picked up a injury and Taute played 13. Doubt once Fransie is back that Taute will wear the 13 jersey. Just far too many outside centres that are better than him there. For a start our captain plays there for the Boks. We have, Mapoe and Jordaan playing far better than Taute at outside centre. Meyer has always had Taute in mind of FB so that is where he will want to play. No brainer really. Good on him as he is far better there than 13 if we go on how he played for Boks there. He was woeful at 13 against the ABs.

• 36.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL-31: apparently Mapoe is Bulls bound?

• 37.Obronie: Reply to this comment

I like both players and are happy that they are coming to CT, I am a bit concerned that we might have 2 excellent flyhalfs for the S15, which is very good but then no one for Currie Cup. Not to sure about van Aswegen or Coleman. Maybe Grant would decide next year that he had enough of Japan. But I have my confidence in the ability of WP structures (thanks Rassie) and AC to plan and bring up the new talent.

• 38.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-35: Forgot we also have JdJ that is better than Taute at outside centre. So Taute’s best bet is fullback where he played very good rugby for the Lions.

• 39.RL: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-33: JPP is class – Mvovo is crass on defence and under the high ball. End of story so give me the snake.

• 40.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Puma-35: If I was HM i would go with Frans Steyn at 12 and JD Jongh at 13…..no question imo…

• 41.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-32: Good point… Mercs unite at WP… along with little clauses guaranteeing them first choice playing time in their positions…

Whoever heard of competition for places? Not these Lions it seems… No wonder they aren’t playing S15…

Seems Mitchell’s demand for performance and genuine competition for places hurt the fragile feeling of the little sensitive souls in Rooibont jerseys…

A foreign concept now it seems… Kitchie must be rolling in his grave.

• 42.Puma: Reply to this comment

@grant10-36: He is Bulls bound. Also read now on Rugby365 that Mapoe might be out injured for the game against Province this weekend. He has gone for scans on the knee. Jeez he pickes up plenty injuries.

• 43.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RL-39: Weren’t you talking finishers? Aah, it seems those goalposts are movable… Nothing constant or consistent at the Lions it seems, eh – other than been guaranteed a starting place… No wonder the Rooibonte farken going to be watching Sharks win S15 on TV next year… :lol:

• 44.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-42: meant – picks

• 45.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-41:

I am waiting to hear from the usual David Icke supporters under the mountain about players being stockpiled like Bentleys in a sheik’s garage.

• 46.RL: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-43: look before the Stormers got reinforced with Elton, Taute, Cilliers and Rhodes I woild havew porobably said the guppies were the best of the SA teams but that all changed with some Lion blood in their setup, including the next Matfield the SA u2 and former Lion Ruan Botha who will displace Bekker one day.

Even you would admit that they have more depth than the guppies who will call on the kaak Bosman when the lamb hurts his hand or jaw or whatever next season.

• 47.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-40: Grant trust me you guys are welcome to Taute and Jantjes, Yes the Sharks also made a big on them but i reckon were not that interested once they saw the 2 were demanding starting places, i know that does not sit well at the Sharks.

Also how loyal will they be?? and also their place demands? how will that effect the players they are replacing??

Will Pietersen want to stay at the WP now? or P Grant or some of the youngsters comming through?

Contracting someone is one thing, this loan story another, I dont think the SHarks wanted that kind of disruptions

• 48.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

I for one feel the SHarks needed to maybe get the Lions capt JC Janse Van Rensburg? but in hindsite better to play our own youngsters,Only Lions player we loaned was VD Merwe, and even then not sure he will see much game time

• 49.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@gunther-45: hey GUnther, welcome back mate, long time no see here

• 50.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@gunther-32: Does it matter? Will anyone be able to understand him?

• 51.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-32: This is the biggest internal conflict he’s had since he accidentally swallowed that condom back in ’72.

• 52.grant10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-47: In the pro era you do what you must? In Pro football loan deals are rife…..wp / Stormers have been very poor last few years at obtaining deals and it has cost us big time.

Quality depth is essential in Super rugby. Grant feels nothing about arriving late for Stormers duty, And Van Aswegen has hardly played, Coleman has proved to be a journeyman at best.
    10 is a large problem at Stormers….

AC has made it clear he views Aplon as a wing…..

Joe Pietersen had a devcent Super 15 but faded badly at the end….

The Stormers loose forward problems are well documented, so Rhodes will be a useful acquisition…..as will Pat Cilliers as J C Kritzingers comeback has been cut short again at tighthead….

All in all these 4 players add some real value…..may just mean we able to challenge the mighty Sharks again next year…..after being thumped badly this season……we couldnt just sit back and expect things to change….had to aggresssively go after some star quality…..Person=ally I am happy to have them..

• 53.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Could be the best career move for the players and a great boost to WP Rugby.

Guppies fans are so desperate for the Lamb to shine that they’re now claiming Butch is a better flyhalf than Jantjies after this weekend’s games.

And the Bulls believe Morne has been reborn vs the Lions and ready to reclaim his rightful place in the Bok 10 jersey.

What a crazy weekend it has been indeed.

• 54.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Mitchell was at the Sale Sharks v Cardiff game yday. Isit me or are the Lions slightly behind in time I mean I read on planetrugby that Taute had signed last week. No wonder they dont know whats going on.

• 55.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-47: Hi SL, the thing about guaranteed starting places can’t “stand” forever. Remember that Sadie was also guaranteed a starting place at the Bulls but we all know how that turned out. I’m with Grant re Joe P. He had a good S15 but after his injury, his game never took off the way we all expected it to be. He had a better game on Saturday, although he also made a couple of mistakes. Maybe the Taute signing will motivate him to up his game.
    Bottom line: I don’t think it will cause any disruptions

• 56.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

15 Taute
    14 Aplon
    13 De Jongh
    12 De Villiers
    11 Habana
    10 Jantjes
    9 Groom

Thats a major backline.
    20 Schroeder 21 Grant 22 Pietersen

The missing cog in the Stormers team is Francois Louw. Make no doubt about it.

• 57.RL: Reply to this comment

@grant10-52: that loan Canadian didn’t fare too badly did he – although not in the same league as Rhodes.

The only positions the Stormers lack depth in is loosehead prop and hooker. JC will do as a loan if needed and perhaps Callie but he is Bulls bound.

The depth that the Stormers have no is impressive.

• 58.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@RL-57: I heard Sinclair on the radio this morning: he said that he’d like to stay on if he is offered a contract. This obviously means that he hasn’t been offered a contract. The powers (Wagner et al) at Province need to have a look at which loosies are available, bearing in mind the number of injuries. IMO they should offer Sinclair a year deal and see how the injured guys are healing

• 59.RL: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-55: only duplictious guppies will lie about so called demands for starting positions – go on believe what you are beind fed little lamb boy. :lol:

• 60.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-56: 100 % correst imo…

we get F Louw its game on for title….

• 61.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Forwards:
    8 Vermeulen 7 Kolisi 6 Burger 5 Bekker 4 Etzebeth 3 Malherbe 2 Liebenberg 1 Cilliers

16 Fourie 17 Kitshoff 18 Elstadt 19 Carr

Reserves:
    23 Ntubeni 24 Kritzinger 25 Ruan Botha 26 Michael Rhodes 27 Dewald Duvenhage 28 Gary Van Aswegen 29 Marcel Brache 30 Joe Pietersen

• 62.grant10: Reply to this comment

@RL-57: Yes….Loosehead depth is an issue….Carstens can fill a gap but that Lions capie is a good 1…..

@CharlesM-58: Hi Charles….That Canadian has done well….I agree….I would also contract him for at least next years Superrugby campaign….he seems very happy and settled …..and as we not sure about Schalk and Carr, and with Koster probably heading to Bath, I would offer him a short term contract…

• 63.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-61: Do you have any info on Carr’s re-hab?

He may not be fit next year.

• 64.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-53: NOt true mate,

It is not that we think Butch is better than Jantjes, BUt he aint worse either, BUtch showed this past season, specially in his last match that he is still a very good 10.

I wouls rather the Sharks contracted him for a season or 2 with Lambie, BUtch knows the Sharks setup etc very well and would easily fit in, He plays a simular game to Lambie thus would have no problem gelling with the rest of the backline.

seriously makes more sense to loan BUtch than Jantjes. And good luck to Jantjes, he is a very good 10 and deserves to be playing Super rugby etc, something that would not have happened had he not gone to WP on loan, same with Taute, Cilliers and Rhodes

• 65.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-62: Only one position worries me at the Sharks LH, Chadwick not a bad scrummager, but eish his other parts of his game is very poor

• 66.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-51:

indeed.

his boyfriend promised to give him the courtesy tap.

• 67.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-63: MIsseur M hiyas< lol

I reckon Stormers firm favourites next year.

Their forward pack now much better and Backline unrivaled in SR

• 68.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-63: Had his first field session last week….said it went very well…

• 69.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-67: Starting early with the underdog status i see.

@Rhys7-61: Brok??

Deon Fourie is going to Toulon/Toulouse not sure.

• 70.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-69: Sasuke, not so mate,

WP has gotten in a load of very goo players, 3 of the current Boks, none more so then Cilliers a strong Prop that plays both sides of the scrum, this is pone area the Sharks are lacking

• 71.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-66: Where have you been? Skoppie has unraveled like a snagged woolly jumper in your absence. Plus his Profanomatic 2000™ abuse generator is on the blink. His rants appear to be strings of Turkish nouns and Japanese verbs in no particular order.

• 72.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-67: Haha howzit T
    Not going there. Too much at stake.

the fact is, both teams have a very good looking squad, Sharks will be called favorites by many too, so at the end of the day they both just have to get on with it, I’d like to see a well contested season with both teams featuring strongly in the playoffs. That would be 1st prize for me.

• 73.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

My Stormers 22

1. Kitshoff
    2. Liebenberg
    3. Brok
    4. Etzebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Kolisi
    7. Burger/ Rhodes
    8. Vermeulen
    9. Dewaldt
    10. Jantjies
    11. Habana
    12. JDV
    13. JdJ
    14. Aplon
    15. Taute

16. Ntubeni
    17. Cilliers
    18. Elstadt
    19. Rhodes/Carr
    20. Schreuder
    21. Grant
    22. Joe Pietersen

• 74.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-72: Na boet, I say Stormers firm favourites now, the few weak ares in their team that they had now covered

MAybe only a true fethcer lacking with Fourie leaving and Flouw also having left,

Sharks dont have a genuine fetcher either but Bissy normaly fills that roll.

You used to have a so so 10 now you have Sa’s no1 FH, Centers and wings etc all Boks, FB also now taken care of, WP in a good place right now

• 75.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-68: That’s very good to hear, with Koster leaving our 8 position is a bit thin. He could be invaluable there over the season.

• 76.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-73: Brok over Cilliers?? what you smoking boet??? other then that excellent team

• 77.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-71:

I have been touring the countryside distributing alms to the peasant’s.

he has been very agitated lately.

I suspect rabies.

Turkish Deright indeed.

• 78.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-67: @stormersboy-72: Agreed. That front row, back row and backline of the Sharks looks amazeballs and they can also be firm favourites.

• 79.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Pat is a tighthead so it will be him and Kitsof as starting props most likely.

• 80.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-60:
    so it’s game on AGAIN…?..

love it

• 81.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-78: I think Sharks in some positions have to much depth , and that alone could also be disruptive, here is a look at the players available to the sharks and some positions its about who to play and who to leave out, yes nice to have but again the player sitting out wont be happy.

Backs:

Full Back: Louis Ludick, Riaan Viljoen, Gouws Prinsloo
    Right Wing: JP Pietersen, Odwa Ndugane, Piet Lindeque
    Outside Center: Paul Jordaan, Tyler Fisher, Marius Joubert
    Inside Center: Frans Steyn, Tim Whitehead, Meyer Bosman, Heimer Williams
    Left Wings: Lwazi Mvovo, Sibusiso Sithole, Rosco Speckman
    Flyhalf: Patrick Lambie, Fred Zeilinga, Robert Du Preez jnr
    ScrumHalf: Cobus Reinach, Charl Mcleod, Conrad Hoffmann, Hanco Venter

Forwards:

Eighthman: Ryan Kankowski, Keegan Daniel, Lubabalo Mtembu
    Flank: Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Marcel Coetzee, Jacques Botes, Chris Cloete, Franscois Kleinhans, Brynhard Stander
    Lock: Anton Bresler, Jandre Marais, Peet Marais, Pieter- Stef Du Toit, Franco VD Merwe
    Tighthead Prop: Jannie Du Plessis, Wiehann Herbst, Jullian Redelinghuys, Nick schonert
    Hooker: Bismark Du Plessis, Craig Burden, Kyle Cooper, Monde Hadebe, Franco Marais
    Loosehead Prop: Tendai Mtawarira, Dale Chadwick, Danie Mienie, Allan Dell

• 82.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-74: Do you think Marcell Coetzee will start next year for the Sharks?

For me it will be

6. Daniels (c)
    7. Alberts
    8. Kanko (if he is back in time)

19. Coetzee.

@sharks_lover-76: Brok is a very solid prop and gets around the field well. Also set combo with Liebenberg and Kitshoff but you might be right he might be displaced next season.

• 83.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-74: my concerns about the Stormers are 3-fold:

Hooker: We struggle to throw in properly at the lineouts which leaves us vulnerable sometimes. Tiaan is the best we have and occasionally he doesn’t get it right. Ntubeni is great in field play but is really bad at lineout time.

Fetcher: Like the Sharks we have relied on a combination of players to play that role, with OK results, like the Sharks, but we do still miss that focused deck player, and Deon’s play this past few months has shown us just how effective he can be in that position.

Scrumhalf: yes we have Groom and Schreuder but when Dewald is fit again it will be more of the same from him (as first choice no 9) and this is actually the biggest problem of all. He plus Grant were our biggest problems this year and they are still around. A real concern for me..

For me those 3 issue will restrict us from reaching full potential. Just how much remains to be seen.

• 84.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

should have played Pietersen at 10 and Taute at FB and Jantjies off bench

Coleman never got the chance to step up they fast tracked Catrakillis above him even though Coleman got more natural talent

Van Aswegen got done in by injury but no worse than Goosen, Van Aswegen is now consigned to the scrap heap.

Jantjies may or may not prove to be a hot shot purchase I reckon he’s more of a prima donna than the real McKoy, lets see if all the hoo ha bluster is as good as its panned out to be.. pity Sharks didn’t succeed with their grubby more is better philosophy.

• 85.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Mapoe would be the best purchase of the lot.. that is the one they should break the bank for not these overrated prima donnas that are coming to showcase their over inflated credentials.

• 86.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Sharks are simply greedy they don’t need half the players they stacking up like sandwiches in the reserves benches and in the shadows waiting for better days to come shine on through

• 87.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-83: CAn agree with that,

MUst say I am really happy with our new found wonderkind in Reinach, superb scrummy he is proving to be

• 88.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-86: you have even more bought depth so sopt whining like a ****** on steroids with a carrot up it’s ***

• 89.grant10: Reply to this comment

Stormers should be doing all they can to convince Deon Fourie to stay….

• 90.dr dre: Reply to this comment

**** ing sucks when you have to try and win a competition with players that are on loan ..

Bunch of w han kers

• 91.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-89: Yip he is becoming one of our top players! Great bench option. He will only stay if guaranteed a starting spot. Do you see him above Liebenberg or Kolisi?

• 92.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Maybe someone has asked this question already, but in the highly unlikely event of the Stormers picking up the wooden spoon for the SA Conference, who would Taute and Jantjies play for in the promotion-relegation games? Would they play for the Lions or the Stormers?

• 93.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@dr dre-90: Its just 2 players not a whole team and this is professional sport, win by any means possible. If we need loan players to win then so be it. They might become permanent players after next season.

• 94.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

If Lions had left Butch at 10 on Saturday and brought on Mapoe instead of Jantjies they would have wrapped up the Bulls who couldn’t handle Butches play making and in your face style, Morne was being totally overshadowed by Butch and as soon as Jantjies came on it gave Bulls the opportunity to open up and exploit the frailty in Lions back line.

Mapoe was brought on far too late and all Jantjies achieved was to disrupt the flow that was there before half time with Butch controlling the game.

Right now Boks do not have an international class fly half.. all the candidates are journeymen at best, between Morne Steyn, Jantjies and Pat Lambie we are all the way back to the drawing board with nobody nearly proficient enough to take the Boks forward into the next decade.

If its not Johann Goosen due to brittle bone structure then better start praying for Pollard or Jean Luc Du Plessis or Swiel or somebody more proficient than this bunch of mediocre journeymen. Perhaps look to Paul Jordaan or Andries Coetsee or Willie Le Roux or Riaan Smit to step up into the fly half berth, because the other three are middle of the road at best.

• 95.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

YESSSSSSSSSSSS!

• 96.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat-92: They would have to play for the Stormers as you can only represent 1 province in a season

• 97.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-89: Where is Deon going????

• 98.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Deon Fourie should be given a Bok jersey pronto he should be at 2 not 6,, but even at 6 he’s about the most aggressive ground ball player in the country by some distance.. Fourie in at 2 for Boks would have changed the dynamic 100 fold exactly what they been missing with Bismark absent they would have acquired with Fourie at hooker ahead of Strauss or Liebenberg or any other candidate in the wings.

• 99.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-87: He is playing really well for sure. I guess he’ll get some Super Rugby time next year.

• 100.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

You have to play Kolisi and Fourie together, Liebenberg must go to bench, Fourie must start at 2 every time.. not 6

• 101.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-100: Shut up.

• 102.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-96: When it was announced that Callie Visagie was going to the Bulls for the S15, it was specifically said that he will have to leave the Bulls 2 weeks before the promo/relegation games in order to play for the Lions. I hear what you are saying but the promo/relegation will actually not be a league fixture. Therefore I think the same will apply for Jantjies, Taute and Franco v d Merwe and whoever else are on loan

• 103.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Thought Taute dissapointed bitterly in the test arena this year. Having said that he was picked out of position in my opinion , Fullback is his best position and I hope to see him play there for teh stormers.

Ironically the one fullback I rate as probably the best in SA is nowhere near a bok jersey and that its Ludik ! That guy is pure class !! Much like his Captain who seems to be out of favor as well , then again Duane really stepped up

• 104.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-91: I am now starting to believe he can become a top class opensider…..he really has made that opensider spot his own this last couple of months….

Scarra and Tiaan can do the 2 duties…..

I would start Deon at 6…..he is another Brussow in the making imo….Kolisi is, imo , a 7 or an 8….

Great to have that depth……

• 105.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM-102: Thanks Charles, that clears that one up then

• 106.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-101: you shut up you little cuntarsed pseudo little boertjie fckface .. who the fck you think you are you pisswilly little runtcunt piece of over-inflated t’urd.. ?? little fckface nobody that thinks hes such a fancy boy somebody.. you better shut the fck up or I come **** your over inflated gob for you pisswilly little punk

• 107.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10-104: Deon is leaving though isn’t he?

• 108.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-106: I said shut up, now please oblige.

• 109.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-107: Yup M he is leaving in 2 weeks time,

• 110.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-108: you get fucked punkface.. I don’t oblige you fckall pisswilly little runtcunt t’urd that thinks your fannyfaced little backside is more entitled than the next.. you need the hiding of your over-inflated little fuckup life and that much you may just be obliged pisswilly little over inflated piece of trash fckface punk

• 111.grant10: Reply to this comment

@bokfan1-97: toulon

• 112.gunther: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-106:

please don’t come over anyone’s gob old timer.

this is a family show.

save that sort of thing for your missus.

• 113.katman: Reply to this comment

I said please, so what more do you want? For the love of god, shut up already. I really don’t see why the fck I must ask so so many times. Just do it. Just shut up.

• 114.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-94:
    oh shutup!
    morne steyn played a blinder you old goat (much to all the wizened old haters chagrin) and was going to boot and play whoever came up against him right off the park from the get go. the whole team wanted the win and played for the win.

even the lions likely starting combination for the semi or fnal would not have won that game. a bulls team with their tails up playing ‘finals’ rugby is hard beast to contain by any team.

• 115.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@gunther-112: sell it to your fanny faced little arsecreep broerdertjie.. leave me right out your jaundiced fckface fantasies you miserable little punk faced skunk.

• 116.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-114: Morne Steyn only came good after half time.. after Butch went to 12 and when Jantjies came on to disrupt the entire Lions momentum

You want Morne Steyn as Bok fly half be my guest its another whole enterprising solution to LOSING the same way Boks been LOSING ever since Fourie du Preez and Morne Steyn have led them to the last avalanche of losses in the last 3 years.

Morne Steyn is the worst solution to the fly half crisis and Elton Jantjies or Pat Lambie are hardly any better.. in short we are up shitcreek without an international fly half anywhere in sight.

• 117.Dummy Runner: Reply to this comment

Ok fellas,leave the name calling bollocks.chances are you wont tune it to each other face to face.rugby anyone?

• 118.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-116: “Morne Steyn only came good after half time.. after Butch went to 12 and when Jantjies came on to disrupt the entire Lions momentum”

Jy moet die ogies oop hou as jy na die TV kyk ballas.

• 119.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-113: and I told you to get fucked you miserable little piece of fanny faced arsecreep t’urd.. are you hard of hearing? .. I told you to get fucked so do me a favor and oblige you miserable little fuckface punk.. get fucked.. get it THROUGH your miserable little fuckface head, pisswilly fanny arsed little fckface punk .. get fucked .. when you ever going to get the message … get fucked punk.

• 120.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-118: ek het mooi gekyk.. as Butch by 10 gebly het sou Leeus nooit die game laat oopgemaak het vir julle skop and donner taktiek.. Jantjies het die hele game vir Leeus ingestort om die rigting in die agterlyn te verwyder heeltemaal in sy glory in.

• 121.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

‘totally overshadowed’

what a load of kak.

the bulls took the lead in the first half with morne contributing 17 of the bulls 1st half points against butch’s 11 points for the lions.

the bulls scored half of their points in the 1st half and the other half in the 2nd.
    lions were on a hiding to nothing either way.

• 122.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-120: Saterdag was nie net gewone Bulls rugby nie. Vir die eerste keer in n lang tyd het hulle die druk geabsorbeer en bietjie geduld aan die dag gele. Die Leeus was bereid om kanse te van en die Bulls het gescore van hulle foute af. In my boeke is hierdie presies hoe die Bulle kan speel maar nou ja kom ons kyk.
    Bygese mens kan ook nie alles in die game lees nie aangesien die Leeus hierin gegaan met niks om te verloor nie.

• 123.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-119: Geez guy , tone it down please man. Your ranting is unpleasant, Agree , Disagree with the man or whatever but there is no need for such foulness.

This is a rugby site and we are not animals you know. I ask again please tone it down.

Thanks

PS- CC Final at Newlands – WP vs Bulls

• 124.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-119: I think you are the one that is hard of hearing – you’ve been asked several times, bu more than 1 person to shut up.

So shut up already.

• 125.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-119: i am not sure what you were trying to say but i think you just told katters to get f u kk ed?

did i miss anything? :lol:

• 126.katman: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-123: I agree. Either tone it down or shut up. Choice is yours.

• 127.trupisero: Reply to this comment

So, half the voters on the poll reckon the bulls will do the business against the Sharks at the tank——- something they haven’t been able to do in the last 5 years of CC rugby?

• 128.rangerman: Reply to this comment

uh oh, pretty soon snoeky is going to alienate everyone with the potty mouthed rants.

left and right.

and center like me of course :lol:

• 129.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-116:
    please refer post#121

in regards to the flyhalf issue, i think morne is best placed for the eoyt with elton as understudy. its clear lambie is not going to picked so there’s no point in discussing it.

for next year, goosen to fight it out with morne and elton in terms of their form in the super comp.

for the future goosen, pollard and maybe elton (if he sorts his kak games out).

• 130.cane: Reply to this comment

If you paint Skoppie into a corner, he will attack.
    Ganging up on him, will not change the beast.

Skoppie is here to stay.
    He is a stayer.

• 131.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-126: and I told you to get fucked punk.. that what I told you fckface.. so get it straight.. you get fucked and then I may or may not shut up. Got It Punk !!

@sparticus-123: you tell that pisswilly little fuckface Boy.. he ain’t no man.. to get fucked.. get the message LOUD and clear.. you tell that katmanlittlecunt to get Fucked.. and then I may decide to shut up.. may being the operative word here.. get it straight..

katmancunt get Fucked you miserable hard of hearing little fuckface punk.. get fucked you pisswilly little fckface runt.. Get it clear you piece of garbage arsed fckface punk.

• 132.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-131: Sorry, I’m getting mixed messages here. What is it exactly that you want me to do?

• 133.gunther: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-123:

Bring it.

• 134.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-129: Morne will only take our rugby back to the miserable doldrums it has been the past 3 years nowhere further than that.. loss after loss after loss.. Morne is NOT an international grade fly half.. never was never will be., he leaves the back line flatfooted sparking on 1 cylinder out of 4 which is his kicking booty when that is firing which it is not always doing..

Lambie and Jantjies are middle of the road journeymen the both of them.. neither much better than the other.. so right now with Goosen crocked and not looking like he ever is going to get beyond a game or two in succession due to his perceived frailty at the tackle point.. it seems we are stuck at a mediocre crossroads where nobody is qualified enough to take the fly half berth by storm and make it dance..

I would look further afield than either of Steyn, Lambie or Jantjies.. none of them fill me with any kind of long term .. even medium term confidence.

• 135.grant10: Reply to this comment

We go back to M Steyn its back to the dark ages…..one wat street to mediocrity .

Lambie or Elton…..

• 136.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-132: go get fucked punk.. that the message loud and clear shut the fck up or get fucked.. choice is yours you frivolous pisswilly pissarse little fuckface piece of garbage punk…

• 137.grant10: Reply to this comment

way

• 138.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@gunther-133: We both know that the Bulls would rather face the Lions than WP come finals and we both know that Wp would rather face the Bulls than the sharks as well. Sharks had our number this year and we had the Bulls.

suppose anything can happen but I for one would prefer us to play the Bulls at home , off course that is if we can deal with the Lions. Maybe we need to talk to our new recruits Janjjies and Taute to just relax a little bit lol

• 139.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@grant10-135: Form is temporary, class is permanent.

Morne, like skopshyte, lacks the latter.

• 140.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-134: Okay so you can talk without the profanity , nice to see. Having said that I disagree with everything you say. Morne maybe not the solution now or for the future did have a role to play in SA rugby. One got to give him his due for that.

As for Lambie/Jantjies , strongly disagree , both are talented enough and strong mentally enough to have long successful international careers. Janjies especially is very underrated in my opinion.

The Greek boy of WP/Kings also looks solid , The first time I saw him play for WP I said he only needs to work on his defense and I see he did so very much. Pity he is leaving but also then again , good signing for the Kings.

• 141.grant10: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-139: M Steyn is far too limited…

He paralyses the Boks backs….has done for almost 3 years now.

time to move on

• 142.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-140: we won exactly 3 tests with Morne and FdP in the saddle against top flight top 5 rugby test playing nations since 2009.. go and count them .. those are the entire amount of tests we actually won with Morne at 10.. shocking series of dismal backward thinking backward trending rugby that should be discarded right here and right now before we even consider moving on..

Neither of Lambie or Jantjies fill me with any kind of top rate credential confidence at 10..they both flatter to deceive in y estimation.. If I have to choose one or the other right now it would have to be Lambie but that is purely on the basis of picking the best of a very mediocre and middle of the road unsatisfactory lot..

Goosen’s playing ability and read of the game leaves them both standing but Goosen unfortunately for whatever reason is highly injury prone.. so that leaves us all the way back at the drawing board.. Catrakillis stepped up but nowhere near to international class qualification.. I reckon we have to look further afield than either of the 3 on the shortlist right now.

• 143.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Salutations rntcunts, fckfaces, pisswillies,fkcface punks, garbageassedfckfacendpunks and anyone else I might have forgotten.
    Business as usual I see all round?
    Hating on the WP by Bulls and Sharks
    Hating on the Bulls by Sharks and WP
    Hating on the Sharks by everyone
    Hating on the AB’s by Bakkies
    Hating on the Kings by most of the above
    Hating on the Watsons by most of the above
    Adoration of Lambie by some (bow down)
    Adoration of Morne by others (bow down)
    And for some; hating on everything.
    All is right in the world.

• 144.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-141:
    @fitz1ella-142:
    this isn’t an argument for the merits of keeping morne or for his continued inclusion in the bok squad in disfavour of anyone else. its about who is best placed to hold the handle for eoyt tours and my money is on morne over elton or patrick.

long term is a whole other issue, besides its pretty clear the race is wide open for bok 10 no matter what or who.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-143:
    and greetings to you too.
    my apologies on the dirty playing kiwi youtube analyses, as it turned out i couldn’t even do the 2nd half analyses for posting here.

• 145.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-142: I agree the Greek is nowhere near a Bok jersey , to even think that he is would be just plain bias. However , how can we know re Janjies or Lambie fr that matter if they were never given the opportunity ? Goosen is special but so was Gaffie back in the day and we all know how that turned out. I reckon given the right direction , support and opportunity either or both of Lambie and Janjies will come out tops.

If you gonna say they both flatter to deceive then fine , but provide some backup please. I am not disagreeing entirely but I have seen enough to at least grant them the chance. They are at the very least the best flyhalfs currently playing in SA.

I base that on their form and on how they handled previous pressure situations like CC finals and semi’s. Hopefully we will get to see Janjies win a super rugby final next year :)

• 146.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-145: Sorry another player that has immense talent is Spies and we know just how **** he can be on a regular basis.

• 147.Horings: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-142: Please obtain any Springbok who has played more than 10 tests against the ABs to have the same record as the following against the All Blacks:

Fourie du Preez played 11 against the ABs of which we won 7.

• 148.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

France Eoyt 2009 – 13-20 Stade Toulouse - loss
    Ireland Eoyt 2009 – 10-15 Croke Park, Dublinoss – loss
    New Zealand 12-32 Eden Park, Auckland - loss
    New Zealand 17-31 Westpac Trust, Wellington - loss
    Australia 13-30 Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane – loss
    New Zealand 22-29 Soweto, Johannesburg – loss
    Australia 44-31 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria – win
    Australia 39-41 Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein – loss
    Australia 20-39 Stadium Australia, Sydney – loss
    New Zealand 7-40 Westpac Trust, Wellington - loss
    Australia 9-14 Kings Park Stadium, Durban – loss
    New Zealand 18-5 N. Mandela Bay, Pt Elizabeth – win

Played 12 – Lost 9 – won 3

That is the Morne Steyn – FdP – John Smit legacy since 2009

Since then it hasn’t improved much with 2 draws (England and Argentina)
    and 1 win against Aus in the SH competition at home.. with Morne not participating in the win, only in the losses.

• 149.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-148: U left out 2007 Unbeaten in world Cup……..

• 150.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-144: :) I will forgive you the Youtube negligence, if you guarantee me a Bulls win over the absolutebestest most wonderfullest and supertalentedest team in the galaxy on Saturday. Although reading some of the Lambie, JPP, Deysel, Keegan and Breseler adoration going on, I’m not sure why the Bulls are even bothering to pitch up.
    I believe the result is a given. :)

• 151.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@cane-130: Like herpes.

• 152.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-148: sorry its worse than that

Its played 12 – LOST 10 – Won TWO in the last 3 years with Morne and FdP in the saddle against top 5 rank internationals

that is a shocking 83.3 % LOSS ratio or a 16.7 % win ratio

How much more emphatic reason you need to ditch Morne and ditch him NOW?

As for Lambie and / or Jantjies they can only improve on that dismal set of results, the question is by how much?

I rather find a fly half that ticks all the boxes which Goosen does except for a very important one being fitness or ability to stand up in the tackle and not go down crocked..

Both Lambie and Jantjies seem to possess a certain amount of self confidence but neither fill me with any kind of euphoria at their play making or game breaking abilities the same way Goosen does.. so far as i’m concerned its back to the drawing board for the Bok coaches for the fly half berth and Morne should not even get a look in far as i’m concerned.

• 153.Horings: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-148: How many of those did Fourie du Preez play in. I ask again. Obtain any Springbok with more than a hand full of games against the All Black with a better record than Fourie du Preez’ record. Our benchmark is 7/11. 64%, criteria: more than say 8 games.

• 154.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-149: I said the last 3 years since EOYT 2009.. go count all the wins again.

@stormer in a teacup-151: what are you another little fckface cleverdicky bird gone wrong all the way up your self enlightened self aggrandized little self entitled arsehole upside down.?? clever arsed punk just like the other self satisfied pipsqueak punk faced pisswilly runts.

• 155.gunther: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-152:

you concveniently left out the tri nations before that you old phony runtcuntmotherfucker.

• 156.grant10: Reply to this comment

I would rather have Butch at 10 than M Steyn.

• 157.Horings: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-148: Fourie du Preez played in 4 of these 12 games. By mentioning his name you are putting forward your own agenda against Fourie du Preez by falsely stating facts.

• 158.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@Horings-153: I’m counting the tests we LOST since 2009 Eoyt and there were FAR too many of them.. the worst spate of Bok Losses any time in succession.. and FdP, Morne and John Smit along with Spies were the chief culprits of those losses. Beside Burger playing the wrong game under the wrong strategies.

That why I rather have Hougaard at 9 and a proper go ahead game reading front foot attacking fly half at 10.. like Goosen without the weak contact point breakdown which he seems to be prone to too much.

Right now perhaps Butch is still the best option at 10 till we find someone able enough to fill that role because neither Morne, Jantjies or Lambie fill me with any kind of top flight credential.

And FdP days are gone that style of kick chase rugby is verby.. we should never even dream about going back there ever again.

• 159.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-103: Good post Sparticus as always. Your last paragraph has to agree about Ludik. Said so a few days ago here. Ludik is our best fullback in South Africa right now and has been since the last part of Super Rugby. Have to wonder how the Bok coach totally misses him? Agree on Keegan as well. Top class player. but not rated it seems by Meyer either.

@sparticus-145: Again another good post. Only last line, I hope it is my Sharks that can win the SS cup next year… :mrgreen:

• 160.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-159: should read = Have to agree, not has. :roll:

• 161.Horings: Reply to this comment

Some random players records against NZ:

FdP 7 11 64%
    BdP 5 8 63%
    Mtawarira 4 7 57%
    F Steyn 4 8 50%
    P Spies 5 10 50%
    J Fourie 6 13 46%
    Januarie 5 11 45%
    M Steyn 4 9 44%
    B Habana 7 17 41%
    J Smith 4 12 33%
    S Burger 4 13 31%

• 162.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@gunther-155: I SAID SINCE EOYT 2009

are you UNABLE to READ phonyarsed pseudo intelligent fuckwit supreme..??

@Horings-157: Fourie du Preez contributed to the Eoyt 2009 losses with Morne

He also contributed to the losses in 2010 against NZ and Australia.. plus he contributed to the loss against Australia in the 2011 WC.. so far as i’m concerned Fourie du Preez best days of rugby are behind him.. like as far back as 2009 3N before the EOYT .. just like John Smit and Schalk Burger and a few others of that era and generation.

• 163.Horings: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-158: So by playing 4 out of 12 games Fourie du Preez was one of the main culprits. You are misguided my friend. And don’t talk to me about the wrong gameplan. The gameplan worked in 2009 and if it did not in 2010 the it is the coach’s responsibility to change the gameplan.

• 164.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Horings-161: go check Brussow

4 starts…4 wins

• 165.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-162: You don’t get to cherry pick the bleak patches that suite your argument, you little jizzpuddle.

• 166.Horings: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-162: That is debatable and maybe his best days are over, but you have been saying on this site that Fourie du Preez has never in your eyes been as good as some say. Know in 11 tests against the All Black he was in a winning team 7 times. Read this fact again and if you don’t believe it, read it again. He is only 30 years old and it is debatable if he can play a huge role in future.

• 167.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-162: hey settle down, no need for caps here we are all friends.

but leaving out 2009 where we won the 3n seems a little dishonest you old f u k head.

• 168.Horings: Reply to this comment

@grant10-164: Good yes, but my criteria is at least 8 games. This was to exclude these legends in 1930 that played one series against the ABs.

• 169.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@katman-165: there is NO bleak patches punk there is ONE stream of consistent LOSSES over a consistent period of 12 consecutive top international matches which produced 10 losses from 12 starts.. those are the facts go back to the other thread where you supposedly such a fundi on transformation issues and SARU principles of political implants.. you no fundi over here.. in other words get fucked one more time fuckface.. haven’t you learned your phony fckarse pseudo intelligentsia lesson YET.?

• 170.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-167: seems you little phony phuckwits can’t read HENCE the CAPITALS to get it THROUGH your miserable little phony fckarse heads.

I said it since my FIRST POST here. that SINCE 2009 EOYT .. again SINCE EOYT 2009 .. that Morne Steyn along with John Smit and FdP contributed 10 LOSSES from 12 STARTS.. how DIFFICULT is that for dumbfck morons the likes of your university graduate nincompoops to actually COMPREHEND..??!!!

• 171.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-169: ARE, poepol. There ARE no bleak patches. Must I explain this rule, or do you understand it?

And carefully selecting dismal runs – cutting of the more successful periods – to bolster your argument is pretty lame and transparent. In other words, it perfectly sums you up. Phony phucker.

• 172.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-170: because if you included the 3n in 2009 it would be 8 wins from 18 wouldnt it and that would dilute your point.

remind me again what this has to do with the kings inclusion in superrugby you crusty old bumstain?

• 173.Horings: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-162: By that argument Habana should have been on retirement years ago. I agree that Fourie du Preez was not on form last year. He was injured and I am sure not fully recovered. One guy showed me a game (I think vs Aus in TN) where he avoided every single possible contact situation, but he is in Carter’s class who won 76% of his games against SA.

• 174.katman: Reply to this comment

@katman-171: of = off

• 175.Horings: Reply to this comment

Here is a full list of players that played 7 or more games with a 50% or better record against NZ:

Player Span Mat Won %
    AC Koch 1949-1960 7 5 71.42
    PF du Preez 2004-2011 11 7 63.63
    BW du Plessis 2007-2011 8 5 62.5
    DJ de Villiers 1965-1970 7 4 57.14
    T Mtawarira 2008-2012 7 4 57.14
    JH Ellis 1965-1976 9 5 55.55
    JP Botha 2003-2011 14 7 50
    FCH du Preez 1965-1970 8 4 50
    PJ Mostert 1921-1928 7 3 50
    JA Nel 1960-1970 8 4 50
    JPR Pietersen 2007-2011 8 4 50
    FDT Roux 1965-1970 8 4 50
    PJ Spies 2006-2011 10 5 50
    FPL Steyn 2007-2012 8 4 50

• 176.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-150:
    sharkies can believe all the hype they want.

die blou bull eet nie vis van die vloer af nie… :grin:

• 177.Horings: Reply to this comment

Interesting that John Smith played 16 games against the ABs at hooker of which we won 4 and Bismark du Plessis played 8 games at hooker against the ABs of which we won 5. This is obviously due to the fact that we played with Bismark at 2 and Smit at 3 in 2009.

• 178.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-176: haha, lets see shall we bakkies?

i think we are in for a cracker and the tank should be full of blue painted…er…gentledutchmen drinking our booze in the stadium bars like they have never been allowed to have a beer in the stands before :lol:

• 179.rangerman: Reply to this comment

last time we had the bulls down for a semi i went into one of the pubs and there was a guy in blue paint from head to toe and wearing a pair of horns, a nose ring and an impala tail stuck to his a r se.

i tried chatting to him but he seemed to be fixated on the barladys….uhm jugs.

• 180.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-178:

sound like rugby will be the winner.

• 181.gunther: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-162:

so why don’t you take it from the tri-nations?

because it doesn’t suit your argument?

grow up runtcunt.

@rangerman-179:

on the udder hand darren.

• 182.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180: :lol:

indeed my man, indeed.

we enjoy hosting your herd of savage blue cows.

and the money they spend aint bad either.

• 183.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-179:

sounds like he had his priorities right.

win first score later

• 184.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-180: And SAB :)

• 185.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-181: :lol:

i also had to direct some poor farm lad to the train station after the final in 2008.

he was about 145 kgs in his socks but after yelling “DIE BAL!!!” for an hour and a half and having had to concede defeat he had surrendered himself to the vagaries of cheap sharkie beer and become quite literally a large cow with a tenuous understanding of gravity and the use of a tongue in speech formation.

i often wonder if he made the train :lol:

• 186.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-178:

HG has examined his stool and declared the sharks to be the winner.

Plus Grantie has thrown his weight behind the sharks (for today).

With that sort of backing I can’t see the dynamite losing.

• 187.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-183: he did seem like he had transcended some kind of plane indeed :lol:

• 188.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-186: well grant is a namibia supporter with the emotional age of a three year old.

hg is worldly wise and backed the sharks to make the s15 final so he may be right but i think its going to be a cracker either way.

• 189.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-186: With that backing, I would put 5k on the Bulls as fast as the ATM could spit it out.

• 190.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-184:
    has SAB ever lost..?.. :lol:

i remember reading about the b&i lions supporters drinking a number of pubs dry in 2009 :lol:

• 191.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-185:

agh he probably ended up in a cane field somewhere in Zululand, naked with his onnerbroek stuffed in his mouth after being used as a cultural diversity guineapig for a week.

don’t blame yourself though.

• 192.Puma: Reply to this comment

Just read that Bekker and Liebenberg will probably be out of the semi with injuries.

• 193.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-191: :lol:

well then i hope whoever did that had vacated the area before he woke up because he was a whole herd on his own.

• 194.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-189:

speaking of spitting , how was your weekend my angel?

• 195.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-194: :lol:

• 196.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-194: My weekend was HUGE thank you.

• 197.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-186:
    anything for a cheap shot at morne.

• 198.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-189: will you be changing your nic to “kings pedigree is blah blah blah” next year or is that honour reseved for teams that give wp a snottie all the time?

• 199.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-195:

I should make it clear at this point that I was talking abou the fruit of the vine rather than the fruit of the loin.

• 200.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-196:
    in inches…?.. :lol:

• 201.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-196:

excellent my babes.

I love a girl who gives it a 110%.

• 202.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-199: haha, ja right

• 203.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-198: No no, that is reserved for the JCL’s of top tier rugby. The EP have been around for wages and ages.

• 204.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-200: In profit :)

• 205.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-203: ah, so you do not feel threatened by them and you think you can be patronising?

thats so sweet :lol:

• 206.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther-186: LOL… Stools beat tea leaves any day…

More organic.

• 207.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-204:
    LMAO

• 208.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-111: Agggeneeeee!
    That is a big loss to WP/Stormers :-(
    I was hoping they might get Flouw back, and with Fourie, Flouw, Kolisi in the backrow (and rotating to give each guy some rest) the line up would be even better!

Like Joe getting some rest with Tatue there – I think both players will benefit.
    Grant and Elton also – we wont see the fatigue of last year.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.