Jantjies, Taute set for Stormers stints
15 Oct 2012
Lions CEO Ruben Moggee confirmed that Elton Jantjies and Jaco Taute are expected to finalise loan deals with the Stormers this week.
Flyhalf Jantjies has been linked with the Stormers and Sharks for the past month. Springbok and Lions team-mate Jaco Taute has also been approached by other South African franchises, including the Stormers, Sharks and Bulls.
However, Moggee confirmed to this site that both players are expected to join the Stormers squad on loan during the 2013 Super Rugby campaign.
‘Things should be finalised this week,’ Moggee told keo.co.za. ‘We are currently discussing terms with the agents and Stormers.’
Jantjies is set to gain a starting berth with the Stormers during the opening rounds of Super Rugby next year.
WP pivot Demetri Catrakilis has signed a two-year contract with the Southern Kings, while Kurt Coleman and Gary van Aswegen are recovering from injuries. Senior flyhalf Peter Grant will join the squad at a late stage next year because of his club commitments with the Kobe Steelers in Japan.
Although Taute has started at outside centre for the Springboks, he is likely to compete for a spot at fullback considering the Stormers’ midfield depth, which includes Jean de Villiers, Juan de Jongh, Marcel Brache and JP du Plessis.
Meanwhile, Moggee also confirmed that suspended head coach John Mitchell’s disciplinary hearing has not been settled yet. The matter is expected to be resolved early this week.

208 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
15 Oct 2012, 09:56 am
@gunther-32: This is the biggest internal conflict he’s had since he accidentally swallowed that condom back in ’72.
15 Oct 2012, 09:56 am
@sharks_lover-47: In the pro era you do what you must? In Pro football loan deals are rife…..wp / Stormers have been very poor last few years at obtaining deals and it has cost us big time.
Quality depth is essential in Super rugby. Grant feels nothing about arriving late for Stormers duty, And Van Aswegen has hardly played, Coleman has proved to be a journeyman at best.
10 is a large problem at Stormers….
AC has made it clear he views Aplon as a wing…..
Joe Pietersen had a devcent Super 15 but faded badly at the end….
The Stormers loose forward problems are well documented, so Rhodes will be a useful acquisition…..as will Pat Cilliers as J C Kritzingers comeback has been cut short again at tighthead….
All in all these 4 players add some real value…..may just mean we able to challenge the mighty Sharks again next year…..after being thumped badly this season……we couldnt just sit back and expect things to change….had to aggresssively go after some star quality…..Person=ally I am happy to have them..
15 Oct 2012, 10:00 am
Could be the best career move for the players and a great boost to WP Rugby.
Guppies fans are so desperate for the Lamb to shine that they’re now claiming Butch is a better flyhalf than Jantjies after this weekend’s games.
And the Bulls believe Morne has been reborn vs the Lions and ready to reclaim his rightful place in the Bok 10 jersey.
What a crazy weekend it has been indeed.
15 Oct 2012, 10:01 am
Mitchell was at the Sale Sharks v Cardiff game yday. Isit me or are the Lions slightly behind in time I mean I read on planetrugby that Taute had signed last week. No wonder they dont know whats going on.
15 Oct 2012, 10:03 am
@sharks_lover-47: Hi SL, the thing about guaranteed starting places can’t “stand” forever. Remember that Sadie was also guaranteed a starting place at the Bulls but we all know how that turned out. I’m with Grant re Joe P. He had a good S15 but after his injury, his game never took off the way we all expected it to be. He had a better game on Saturday, although he also made a couple of mistakes. Maybe the Taute signing will motivate him to up his game.
Bottom line: I don’t think it will cause any disruptions
15 Oct 2012, 10:03 am
15 Taute
14 Aplon
13 De Jongh
12 De Villiers
11 Habana
10 Jantjes
9 Groom
Thats a major backline.
20 Schroeder 21 Grant 22 Pietersen
The missing cog in the Stormers team is Francois Louw. Make no doubt about it.
15 Oct 2012, 10:04 am
@grant10-52: that loan Canadian didn’t fare too badly did he – although not in the same league as Rhodes.
The only positions the Stormers lack depth in is loosehead prop and hooker. JC will do as a loan if needed and perhaps Callie but he is Bulls bound.
The depth that the Stormers have no is impressive.
15 Oct 2012, 10:07 am
@RL-57: I heard Sinclair on the radio this morning: he said that he’d like to stay on if he is offered a contract. This obviously means that he hasn’t been offered a contract. The powers (Wagner et al) at Province need to have a look at which loosies are available, bearing in mind the number of injuries. IMO they should offer Sinclair a year deal and see how the injured guys are healing
15 Oct 2012, 10:09 am
@CharlesM-55: only duplictious guppies will lie about so called demands for starting positions – go on believe what you are beind fed little lamb boy.
15 Oct 2012, 10:10 am
@Rhys7-56: 100 % correst imo…
we get F Louw its game on for title….
15 Oct 2012, 10:13 am
Forwards:
8 Vermeulen 7 Kolisi 6 Burger 5 Bekker 4 Etzebeth 3 Malherbe 2 Liebenberg 1 Cilliers
16 Fourie 17 Kitshoff 18 Elstadt 19 Carr
Reserves:
23 Ntubeni 24 Kritzinger 25 Ruan Botha 26 Michael Rhodes 27 Dewald Duvenhage 28 Gary Van Aswegen 29 Marcel Brache 30 Joe Pietersen
15 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
@RL-57: Yes….Loosehead depth is an issue….Carstens can fill a gap but that Lions capie is a good 1…..
@CharlesM-58: Hi Charles….That Canadian has done well….I agree….I would also contract him for at least next years Superrugby campaign….he seems very happy and settled …..and as we not sure about Schalk and Carr, and with Koster probably heading to Bath, I would offer him a short term contract…
15 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
@Rhys7-61: Do you have any info on Carr’s re-hab?
He may not be fit next year.
15 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
@wpstormerbok-53: NOt true mate,
It is not that we think Butch is better than Jantjes, BUt he aint worse either, BUtch showed this past season, specially in his last match that he is still a very good 10.
I wouls rather the Sharks contracted him for a season or 2 with Lambie, BUtch knows the Sharks setup etc very well and would easily fit in, He plays a simular game to Lambie thus would have no problem gelling with the rest of the backline.
seriously makes more sense to loan BUtch than Jantjes. And good luck to Jantjes, he is a very good 10 and deserves to be playing Super rugby etc, something that would not have happened had he not gone to WP on loan, same with Taute, Cilliers and Rhodes
15 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@grant10-62: Only one position worries me at the Sharks LH, Chadwick not a bad scrummager, but eish his other parts of his game is very poor
15 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
@katman-51:
indeed.
his boyfriend promised to give him the courtesy tap.
15 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
@stormersboy-63: MIsseur M hiyas< lol
I reckon Stormers firm favourites next year.
Their forward pack now much better and Backline unrivaled in SR
15 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
@stormersboy-63: Had his first field session last week….said it went very well…
15 Oct 2012, 10:24 am
@sharks_lover-67: Starting early with the underdog status i see.
@Rhys7-61: Brok??
Deon Fourie is going to Toulon/Toulouse not sure.
15 Oct 2012, 10:26 am
@Sasuke-69: Sasuke, not so mate,
WP has gotten in a load of very goo players, 3 of the current Boks, none more so then Cilliers a strong Prop that plays both sides of the scrum, this is pone area the Sharks are lacking
15 Oct 2012, 10:28 am
@gunther-66: Where have you been? Skoppie has unraveled like a snagged woolly jumper in your absence. Plus his Profanomatic 2000™ abuse generator is on the blink. His rants appear to be strings of Turkish nouns and Japanese verbs in no particular order.
15 Oct 2012, 10:29 am
@sharks_lover-67: Haha howzit T
Not going there. Too much at stake.
the fact is, both teams have a very good looking squad, Sharks will be called favorites by many too, so at the end of the day they both just have to get on with it, I’d like to see a well contested season with both teams featuring strongly in the playoffs. That would be 1st prize for me.
15 Oct 2012, 10:30 am
My Stormers 22
1. Kitshoff
2. Liebenberg
3. Brok
4. Etzebeth
5. Bekker
6. Kolisi
7. Burger/ Rhodes
8. Vermeulen
9. Dewaldt
10. Jantjies
11. Habana
12. JDV
13. JdJ
14. Aplon
15. Taute
16. Ntubeni
17. Cilliers
18. Elstadt
19. Rhodes/Carr
20. Schreuder
21. Grant
22. Joe Pietersen
15 Oct 2012, 10:33 am
@stormersboy-72: Na boet, I say Stormers firm favourites now, the few weak ares in their team that they had now covered
MAybe only a true fethcer lacking with Fourie leaving and Flouw also having left,
Sharks dont have a genuine fetcher either but Bissy normaly fills that roll.
You used to have a so so 10 now you have Sa’s no1 FH, Centers and wings etc all Boks, FB also now taken care of, WP in a good place right now
15 Oct 2012, 10:33 am
@grant10-68: That’s very good to hear, with Koster leaving our 8 position is a bit thin. He could be invaluable there over the season.
15 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@Sasuke-73: Brok over Cilliers?? what you smoking boet??? other then that excellent team
15 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@katman-71:
I have been touring the countryside distributing alms to the peasant’s.
he has been very agitated lately.
I suspect rabies.
Turkish Deright indeed.
15 Oct 2012, 10:35 am
@sharks_lover-67: @stormersboy-72: Agreed. That front row, back row and backline of the Sharks looks amazeballs and they can also be firm favourites.
15 Oct 2012, 10:36 am
Pat is a tighthead so it will be him and Kitsof as starting props most likely.
15 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@grant10-60:
so it’s game on AGAIN…?..
love it
15 Oct 2012, 10:41 am
@Sasuke-78: I think Sharks in some positions have to much depth , and that alone could also be disruptive, here is a look at the players available to the sharks and some positions its about who to play and who to leave out, yes nice to have but again the player sitting out wont be happy.
Backs:
Full Back: Louis Ludick, Riaan Viljoen, Gouws Prinsloo
Right Wing: JP Pietersen, Odwa Ndugane, Piet Lindeque
Outside Center: Paul Jordaan, Tyler Fisher, Marius Joubert
Inside Center: Frans Steyn, Tim Whitehead, Meyer Bosman, Heimer Williams
Left Wings: Lwazi Mvovo, Sibusiso Sithole, Rosco Speckman
Flyhalf: Patrick Lambie, Fred Zeilinga, Robert Du Preez jnr
ScrumHalf: Cobus Reinach, Charl Mcleod, Conrad Hoffmann, Hanco Venter
Forwards:
Eighthman: Ryan Kankowski, Keegan Daniel, Lubabalo Mtembu
Flank: Willem Alberts, Jean Deysel, Marcel Coetzee, Jacques Botes, Chris Cloete, Franscois Kleinhans, Brynhard Stander
Lock: Anton Bresler, Jandre Marais, Peet Marais, Pieter- Stef Du Toit, Franco VD Merwe
Tighthead Prop: Jannie Du Plessis, Wiehann Herbst, Jullian Redelinghuys, Nick schonert
Hooker: Bismark Du Plessis, Craig Burden, Kyle Cooper, Monde Hadebe, Franco Marais
Loosehead Prop: Tendai Mtawarira, Dale Chadwick, Danie Mienie, Allan Dell
@sharks_lover-74: Do you think Marcell Coetzee will start next year for the Sharks?
For me it will be
6. Daniels (c)
7. Alberts
8. Kanko (if he is back in time)
19. Coetzee.
@sharks_lover-76: Brok is a very solid prop and gets around the field well. Also set combo with Liebenberg and Kitshoff but you might be right he might be displaced next season.
@sharks_lover-74: my concerns about the Stormers are 3-fold:
Hooker: We struggle to throw in properly at the lineouts which leaves us vulnerable sometimes. Tiaan is the best we have and occasionally he doesn’t get it right. Ntubeni is great in field play but is really bad at lineout time.
Fetcher: Like the Sharks we have relied on a combination of players to play that role, with OK results, like the Sharks, but we do still miss that focused deck player, and Deon’s play this past few months has shown us just how effective he can be in that position.
Scrumhalf: yes we have Groom and Schreuder but when Dewald is fit again it will be more of the same from him (as first choice no 9) and this is actually the biggest problem of all. He plus Grant were our biggest problems this year and they are still around. A real concern for me..
For me those 3 issue will restrict us from reaching full potential. Just how much remains to be seen.
15 Oct 2012, 10:43 am
should have played Pietersen at 10 and Taute at FB and Jantjies off bench
Coleman never got the chance to step up they fast tracked Catrakillis above him even though Coleman got more natural talent
Van Aswegen got done in by injury but no worse than Goosen, Van Aswegen is now consigned to the scrap heap.
Jantjies may or may not prove to be a hot shot purchase I reckon he’s more of a prima donna than the real McKoy, lets see if all the hoo ha bluster is as good as its panned out to be.. pity Sharks didn’t succeed with their grubby more is better philosophy.
15 Oct 2012, 10:44 am
Mapoe would be the best purchase of the lot.. that is the one they should break the bank for not these overrated prima donnas that are coming to showcase their over inflated credentials.
15 Oct 2012, 10:46 am
Sharks are simply greedy they don’t need half the players they stacking up like sandwiches in the reserves benches and in the shadows waiting for better days to come shine on through
15 Oct 2012, 10:47 am
@stormersboy-83: CAn agree with that,
MUst say I am really happy with our new found wonderkind in Reinach, superb scrummy he is proving to be
15 Oct 2012, 10:48 am
@fitz1ella-86: you have even more bought depth so sopt whining like a ****** on steroids with a carrot up it’s ***
15 Oct 2012, 10:49 am
Stormers should be doing all they can to convince Deon Fourie to stay….
15 Oct 2012, 10:51 am
**** ing sucks when you have to try and win a competition with players that are on loan ..
Bunch of w han kers
15 Oct 2012, 10:52 am
@grant10-89: Yip he is becoming one of our top players! Great bench option. He will only stay if guaranteed a starting spot. Do you see him above Liebenberg or Kolisi?
15 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
Maybe someone has asked this question already, but in the highly unlikely event of the Stormers picking up the wooden spoon for the SA Conference, who would Taute and Jantjies play for in the promotion-relegation games? Would they play for the Lions or the Stormers?
15 Oct 2012, 10:54 am
@dr dre-90: Its just 2 players not a whole team and this is professional sport, win by any means possible. If we need loan players to win then so be it. They might become permanent players after next season.
15 Oct 2012, 10:54 am
If Lions had left Butch at 10 on Saturday and brought on Mapoe instead of Jantjies they would have wrapped up the Bulls who couldn’t handle Butches play making and in your face style, Morne was being totally overshadowed by Butch and as soon as Jantjies came on it gave Bulls the opportunity to open up and exploit the frailty in Lions back line.
Mapoe was brought on far too late and all Jantjies achieved was to disrupt the flow that was there before half time with Butch controlling the game.
Right now Boks do not have an international class fly half.. all the candidates are journeymen at best, between Morne Steyn, Jantjies and Pat Lambie we are all the way back to the drawing board with nobody nearly proficient enough to take the Boks forward into the next decade.
If its not Johann Goosen due to brittle bone structure then better start praying for Pollard or Jean Luc Du Plessis or Swiel or somebody more proficient than this bunch of mediocre journeymen. Perhaps look to Paul Jordaan or Andries Coetsee or Willie Le Roux or Riaan Smit to step up into the fly half berth, because the other three are middle of the road at best.
15 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
YESSSSSSSSSSSS!
15 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
@Kietzphat-92: They would have to play for the Stormers as you can only represent 1 province in a season
@grant10-89: Where is Deon going????
Deon Fourie should be given a Bok jersey pronto he should be at 2 not 6,, but even at 6 he’s about the most aggressive ground ball player in the country by some distance.. Fourie in at 2 for Boks would have changed the dynamic 100 fold exactly what they been missing with Bismark absent they would have acquired with Fourie at hooker ahead of Strauss or Liebenberg or any other candidate in the wings.
15 Oct 2012, 10:58 am
@sharks_lover-87: He is playing really well for sure. I guess he’ll get some Super Rugby time next year.
15 Oct 2012, 10:59 am
You have to play Kolisi and Fourie together, Liebenberg must go to bench, Fourie must start at 2 every time.. not 6
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All