Transforming the way we think
15 Oct 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his Business Day newspaper column, writes that the story of the Kings should be about hope and not ridicule.
The South African Rugby Union has never believed in the Eastern Cape as anything but an irritation to professional rugby but also a corporate cash cow in the name of development.
If any within the current administration refutes this then I challenge them to publicly apologise to the region for the way in which entry to Super Rugby was finalised and to apologise for making the Kings hated among a certain sector of provincial South African fan because they replaced a South African team, in the form of the Lions.
Saru’s apathy to the Eastern Cape needs to consistently be challenged. It has always been this way since professionalism in 1996. Saru, when convenient, uses the Eastern Cape as the missing link to a rugby rainbow nation but those with the responsibility within Saru have never had the heart and intent to make it the link. Instead all love for the Eastern Cape has been commercially and politically motivated.
It is disgusting. It has always been disgusting. It won’t easily change.
The Kings, on Super Rugby entry, should have been the good-news story of unity. It should have been fully endorsed because in a united rainbow nation it is very necessary to have a team from within the Eastern Cape in Super Rugby’s biggest southern hemisphere tournament. The Kings, representative of rugby in the Eastern Cape, should have been the missing link to show the game has finally transformed, not in black playing numbers, but by way of the thinking among administrators, supporters and the media in South Africa.
The backlash, resentment and resistance to the Kings suggests there is more than one link missing in a united South Africa and a united South African rugby structure.
Equally disturbing is how so many supporters refuse to see the significance of the Eastern Cape within the context of a healthy professional South African rugby international presence.
The administration has never surprised me. They have neither the intellectual capital nor the charisma (as individuals or a collective) to inspire. The game’s growth needs pioneers and instead the conveyer belt only produces pensioners, if not by age then certainly by way of enthusiasm and aspiration.
The administration of South African rugby has allowed for an emotional distaste for the Kings among supporters that is misplaced.
The Kings have not replaced the Lions in Super Rugby. They were given introduction to the tournament in place of the South African team that has been the worst performer in Super Rugby in 2012. Not historically, but only this year.
The Lions supporters really have to blame their players, coaches and the Lions administration that the Lions were the ones to make way. The Lions were the architects of their own demise, however temporary it may be.
Saru’s leadership, throughout the last year, have allowed for the resentment from those supporters to fester into something ugly. Not once has a voice within Saru preached perspective and done it with conviction. The platitudes have been that the Kings would play Super Rugby because it was best for South African rugby; that the decision was about transformation and had to be made.
What a cop out.
Transformation is in the way we should be thinking, not in how many black friends we have or how many black players the provincial or regional or national coach selects.
Transformation should be about the right kind of change and not change for the sake of change.
The Kings, as an entity, should have reflected the change of thinking in South African rugby but it has only reinforced how little has changed in the thinking within the game in this country.
Alan Solomons, formerly as EP head coach and now director of rugby, has done an unrivalled job with the EP Kings when you unemotionally consider what he has transformed about Eastern Province rugby in the last four years.
Those who disagree with me will do so on emotion and by way of not having been privy to the transformation, as a rugby entity, from four years ago.
Before you rant and accuse me of being on the Kings payroll, take a drive or get on bus, train or plane and sit with Solomons and do your own analysis of what has been achieved over the last four years.
There is so much vitriol aimed at the Kings because of Saru’s refusal to endorse change and absolute conviction that Sanzar would accommodate a sixth South African team.
The vitriol should be at those who govern our game, not the Kings, who on Saturday won the Currie Cup First Division in a titanic struggle against the Pumas.
To borrow from an American president, those within South African rugby should ask not what the Kings can do for them but more what Saru, as the custodians of the game in this country, could have done for the Kings.
Currently they have done nothing but set them up for Super Rugby failure and sadly they’ve hoodwinked so many supporters to embrace the prospect of this failure because they’ve made the Kings the bad guy, the Lions the fall guy and stood tall as the good guy.
Think about it …

942 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 19 » Show All
15 Oct 2012, 10:00 am
Fair enough. SARU should take the blame. The Kings are getting thrown in the deep end. Should have been guaranteed a place in the Currie Cup Premier Division years back and built up from there.
15 Oct 2012, 10:08 am
But the Eastern Cape were always part of Super Rugby. Until they sold their birthright for a pot of lentil soup.
Let’s repeat that little fact.
SARU never excluded the Eastern Cape from Super Rugby. Instead, the EC sold their right to participate in Super Rugby to the Sharks, in exchange for short term financial gain.
Now a decade or so later, they use political pressure to get back in, at the expense of one of SA’s traditional rugby unions. And people wonder why we are upset.
And not only do they not have to give back the cash they took to stay out (a bargain that they clearly aren’t keeping), but they are actually asking for massive handouts to help them get back in.
And somehow it is now SARU’s fault, or the Lions fault. Or traditional supporters’ fault. But not the Eastern Cape’s fault.
The irony is extreme.
15 Oct 2012, 10:12 am
Chucking in the “before your accuse me of being on the Kings’ payroll” disclaimer does nothing to diminish the perception that you are in fact in their pocket. Your vested interests are well known and widely reported, so your opinion on the matter carries very little objective weight.
And yes, the Kings won the second tier CC competition on Saturday, with TWO black players on the field and ONE on the bench. That’s THREE from 22. Even in the heartland of what you would probably describe as Afrikaner conservatism, it doesn’t get that white. So where, pray tell, is the transformation in the thinking you speak of? Because it’s not on the pitch in PE. And it won’t be next year either, judging by the signings they’ve made and are chasing.
So spare us the thinly veiled characterisation in your “certain sector of provincial South African fan” comment. You’re as bad as Skopskiet on this site – when all else fails, call those who disagree with you a racist.
15 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
You are getting back to your best Keo, very nice piece of writing this.
But good luck trying to tell SA Rugby Supporters to a) think and b) transform how they look at rugby in this country.
15 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
Keo your doings are too well known is this regard for your opinion to be taken seriously.
In fact I find it disgusting that you even try and be impartial.
15 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
cue the apparently incensed “they must have it” brigade…
15 Oct 2012, 10:16 am
Keo !lah blah blah – I’m not paying Supersport to watch Kings kak while my team sits out. They can get some Eastern Cape fellow to pay the R651 p/m if they want.
I’m through with them and talking with my feet.
15 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
I for one would be devestated if the Cheetahs lost a Currie Cup relegation match to the Kings. This after the Cheetahs sacrificed the few stars they can afford in order to assist the Bok cause, while the Kings had a full team all year round.
Unlike the Kings, the Cheetahs don’t have the political buddies to bail them out from financial ruin should they fall out of the Currie Cup Premier Division next season.
It would be a travesty of justice, and a hammer blow to SA rugby, if the REAL producer of most of our young talent – the Free State – gets relegated.
For the sake of SA rugby we should hope that the Kings lose both of the coming promotion/relegation games.
15 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
@Tacitus-2: “SARU never excluded the Eastern Cape from Super Rugby. Instead, the EC sold their right to participate in Super Rugby to the Sharks, in exchange for short term financial gain”
when was this “right” sold, for how much, what year and did SARU approve it?
15 Oct 2012, 10:19 am
I’ve said this a couple of times on this site. I spoke to Gert Smal after the 2007 World Cup. He made a presentation to SA Rugby about the development of rugby in the Eastern Cape – he started his coaching at Border for a couple of seasons and had a lot of knowledge about the untapped talent in the Eastern Cape. Gert seemed quite genuine to me in his proposal. SARU did not even respond to him !! Eventually he left for Ireland because a man has to provide for his family.
Last week I read an interesting comment by Graeme Joffe about Keo’s PRO work for the Kings and being Luke Watson’s agent. I believe Luke’s current package is around R3 million per annum, which will increase to R4 mill next year some time. I therefore believe Keo’s comments are not very objective because he is making big bucks out of the Kings’ budget !! Please correct me if I’m wrong Mark !!
15 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
I have written this before and will write it again.
The Kings are nothing more than SA Rugby’s version of a Bantustan…
All the same elements are there as in a literal, actual Bantustan of the past:
- Separate development. i.e. among others a franchise predicated on the colour of its members.
- a marriage or construct of convenience for SARU in order to tick their “transformation” box and forget about meaningful development of SA Rugby on a non racial basis.
- The Stench of corruption is strong
- A paramount chief at the head with dodgy credentials to leadership at the very least.
Contrary to claims of Kings being the future of black or non racial rugby, instead they are a jumb back to the past … A real illustration of colour based and not non racial sport. A franchise apart with a need for separate development…
A special case… truly special.
Just like the Bantustans of SA’s past.
15 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@Transformation-6: You too. Think if you chuck it in up front, it will diminish the (very true) accusation. Doesn’t work like that. This is “We Must Have It” in its purest form.
15 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
@Transformation-9:
The only relevant question is did someone put a gun to the EC’s collective head, or did they eagerly scoop up the cash with their money grubbing little hands?
As for the exact year, go and ask the Sharks. One year the Coastal Sharks consisted of Natal, Border and EP, and the next it was just the Sharks from KZN, while the other big franchises all had to continue with their dependent little cousins in tow.
15 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
@Tacitus-2: “SA’s traditional rugby unions.” – this traditional stuff is just emotional rubbish.
15 Oct 2012, 10:25 am
@Tacitus-13: no deflections please, answer the question!
“when was this “right” sold, for how much, what year and did SARU approve it?”
15 Oct 2012, 10:26 am
@katman-12: ja and the lions are the true epitome of “We been HAVING it”
15 Oct 2012, 10:31 am
If the “transformation” happens it won’t even matter if it’s not shown on tv . Paying Supersport a lot of folks even middleclass” okes can’t afford with all the other taxes and things we fork out money for. I mean food/transport/safety/medical surely comes first before entertainment.
15 Oct 2012, 10:33 am
@katman-3: “And yes, the Kings won the second tier CC competition on Saturday, with TWO black players on the field and ONE on the bench. That’s THREE from 22.”
ah, the bean counting, the refuge of “incensed”
the Kings are not a team for only black eastern cape born players, who was our captain on saturday, where does he come from?
i shared a beer with his dad after the game, an old man, classified in SA life to be a certain way, on saturday the words that came out of his mouth clearly displayed pride, affirmation, hope and joy in what the Kings organisation is doing.
VIVA KINGS!
15 Oct 2012, 10:33 am
@Transformation-15:
Are you disputing the fact that the EC took cash from the Sharks in exchange for leaving the Coastal Sharks franchise?
15 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@katman-3: one of the “black” winger is actually a kiwi. Fact
15 Oct 2012, 10:35 am
@Transformation-16: Funny how they still field more black players than the heartland of Xhosa Rugby. Perception can be a biitch, nê.
15 Oct 2012, 10:37 am
How about this for a thought experiment…
How about the Sharks offer the Kings a conduit to Super Rugby and reform the Coastal Sharks with half of their home games at PE Stadium…
They merge these vaunted EP academies with the Sharks academy and all Sharks structures are replicated in the Eastern Cape…
However the Kings will have to return the sum paid for by the Sharks for exclusivity of Super rugby franchise… Obviously with a fair interest rate charged.
Room will of course be made for Cheeky as head of Rugby Development… a more appropriate position for a liberation hero
Win win all round… Sharks benefit from the amazing talent pool of the EC, the raucous support at PE Stadium, expand their footprint as the premier SA Rugby franchise…
Kings benefit from the well established structures of the Sharks, the professionalism in commercial management and they dont have to leak cash outside of SA rugby in recruiting foreign nationals in a helter skelter rush to form a credible team next year…
EC supporters will also have the benefit not only of supporting the Kings in CC rugby but also supporting a premier, winning Super Rugby franchise…
15 Oct 2012, 10:38 am
@Heavens Game-11:
that’s a pretty novel perspective on the whole thing. certainly puts it in a different light/context from which to view it.
personally i dont think transformation will ever move fast enough at the other unions for it to satisfy all the people who want it. perhaps it may even be for the better for all parties concerned if the ec took the transformation albatross off everyone’s necks?
@Transformation-16:
shouldn’t the emphasis be: “We BEEN having it” ?
15 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@super_adi-1: I agree with this, The Kings should’ve been allowed to slowly develop by first getting a spot in the Currie Cup and then working themselves into a position to play Super Rugby. If we had been allowed to watch them grow and develop we would have more support for them. Fairytales aren’t about giving people leg ups, they’re about small teams doing big things and getting everyone behind them in the process.
15 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
Why is it important if Keo is on the payroll of the Kings? Hell for all I care he can be the president. The context of his argument is what is relevant.
15 Oct 2012, 10:41 am
@Transformation-18: Hardly bean COUNTING, bud. You could spot the number of black players in red and black with one cursory glance. These guys, the Kings, are supposed to awaken the rugby spirit in thousands of kids in rural Eastern Cape by showing them heroes that look like them and share their background.
No, as I said, if you want “We Must Have It”, look no further than Nkandla’s spending spree, or the EP Kings.
15 Oct 2012, 10:42 am
@RL-20:
gtfoh!
was he ‘tricky’ during play?
15 Oct 2012, 10:43 am
@Heavens Game-22: This will never happen… Why?
The Kings are not about “transformation” (whatever the fark that means) or meaningful development…
The Kings in their current guise are about money, stadium management, political convenience and liberation egos…
Thats all.
FucktheKings for the frauds they truly are.
15 Oct 2012, 10:45 am
@Tacitus-19: “when was this “right” sold, for how much, what year and did SARU approve it?”
15 Oct 2012, 10:46 am
@PissAnt-25: Keo is a duplictious liar, that is why – he says turn your viral to SARU which is not what he was doing all this time. Instead he was playing the game going after the Lions and their supporters in order for him to secure his interests. Check his archives and telll me he has being consistent in his “thinking”
No Keo is a first class prick only interested in rands.
15 Oct 2012, 10:46 am
@Heavens Game-22:
ag shutup!
no one believes you twisted tongue sharkies and all your false promises. after all, its thanks tou you we have this mess in the first place. first we had to ‘let you in’ to the cc and now we have to do the same for your ex franchise partners…
15 Oct 2012, 10:47 am
@Transformation-29:
So you’re trying to use the fact that none of us have access to the minutes of the Sharks or EP board meeting where this transaction was approved to cast doubt on whether it happened?
In other words, trying to fuzz the issue?
You should be running for office, my friend.
15 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-27: only tricky in the sense that he fled kiwi land after beating up a female – used up all the tricks to escape justice Bakkies.
15 Oct 2012, 10:52 am
@PissAnt-25:
that sounds a bit like saying one shouldn’t question the ‘credibility’ of a witness in a case involving a possibly innocent or guilty man even if the witness has a criminal record too big to fit in the cubby of skop’s bakkie…?..
cant be right…
15 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
Transformation is foolishness because it is built on the premiss that it matters what the racial split of a sports team is. The fact is it doen’t mean anything!
Sport (rugby in particular) is purely about ability, teamwork and winning! The whole purpose of quotas is to prevent “racist” selectors from excluding talented non-white players from top tier rugby. The idealism of the ruling government is that all people are equal in ability, rights, value etc.
Some of that is true, but ability sets people apart. Ablity, talent, intelligence, size, speed, agility and personallity makes sports a place of segregation.
It seperates those with all of the above from those who don’t. Skin colour has no baring on whether you will be able t ocompete at the highest level. Your ability does. Pure and simple. The best black/ coloured rugby players have made it to the top in the last 8 years. JDJ, Haban, Aplon, Chillyboy, Mvovo, Beast, Guthro and in future Kolisi have made it to the top.
If you are good enough you will make it to the top. The Kings have nothing to do with this! The Kings in super rugby is a gravy train for the Watsons, Mandela Bay stadium and ANC cronies.
Sorry but the Kings will not improve transformation, it only monotizes it for the select few of the ruling goverment, the same story as in all our sectors.
The ANC and the Kings have turned transformation into a cash cow!
15 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
@RL-30:
Bud I have never met Keo, have no plans to either to be honest because I have no need to.
I don’t always agree with him either, in fact, I seldom do (up to recently).
Who he is, what he does (outside of writing) and who he does it with I care very little for.
The relevance of this piece of writing however is what I find important or noteworthy.
15 Oct 2012, 10:55 am
@RL-33:
really?
well i never….
this requires investigating
15 Oct 2012, 10:55 am
@Tacitus-32: I couldn’t be bothered to search for it now, but it was around end 2004/2005. The Elephants and Bulldogs agreed to a cash settlement to forgo hosting any games in PE and East London. This meant that all players would be based in Durban too, and play for the Sharks CC union. Which they took the cash in return for sitting out the Super 14.
15 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-34:
Highlight any part in this column you find suspicious, not credible or just plain rubbish and I would be happy to debate the context with you. Forget Keo.
15 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
So basically this is all the Sharks fault.
Should have known.
15 Oct 2012, 10:58 am
Bring them home KINGS.
Bandisi Maku, Skara Ntubeni, Allan Dell, Steven Sykes, Keegan Daniel, Chris Cloete, CJ Stander, Jaque Potgieter, Dewald Potgieter, Roelof Smit ,
Ryan Kankovski, Lubabalo Mtembu, Jano Vermaak, Nic Groom, JP Smit, Johan Goosen, Josh Stander, Linel Cronje, Lwazi Mvovu, Sibusiso Sithole, Wandile Majekefu, Akona Ndungane, Paul Jordaan, Andile Jho, Meyer Bosman, JJ Engelbrecht, Tiger Bax, Tim Whitehead, Jan Serforntein, Bjorn Basson, Odwa Ndungane, Jongi Nokwe, Gouws Prinsloo, Frans Steyn, Brent Russell
15 Oct 2012, 11:03 am
@katman-26: did you watch our U21s who also won the Currie Cup B- Division and are to be promoted?
They are EC boys through and through, centres are usually Shane Gates (no.12 from Muir College in Uitenhage) and Lonwabo Ntleki (no.13 KES lad who was at Dale until grade 9 and was recruited). The back 3 of Siviwe Soyizwaphi (no.15 from Dale) Ofentse Boloko (Selborne) on the 1 wing and Brian Skosana (St Andrew’s) on the other. This what we trying to build here!
it is not sensible to chuck all these players when they’re not ready just to please bean counters like yourself, next thing when they lose you’ll be the first to p.iss yourself laughing that they’re out of their depth and label them “quotas”…
this is a transformed team, a team nonetheless…the best play, whether white green or blue…the coach could’ve picked jongi nokwe, siyanda grey, mlibo nqoro, mzwandile stick but were they the best to field on saturday?
he thought differently!
15 Oct 2012, 11:04 am
@Rockspider-41: Brent Russel?
Sure you don’t want to include Danie Gerber in the list?
15 Oct 2012, 11:04 am
@Rockspider-41: that the way to think get them home.. kick these last white bastions of greed up their over inflated grubby marauding mercenary backsides
15 Oct 2012, 11:08 am
Judging by where all the noise is coming from…
I’m 100% sure I’m backing the Kings in 2013.
@PissAnt-39:
Here is one “The Kings have not replaced the Lions in Super Rugby.”
This I find highly suspicious. Don’t you think?
@goodstuff-35: foolishness through out…
“The Kings in super rugby is a gravy train for the Watsons, Mandela Bay stadium and ANC cronies.”
whose gravy train were the lions for the past SEVEN years?
who was MILKING the Lions “cash cow” for all the funds the franchise generated? have they been publicly OSTRACISED?
do their actions reflect on ALL their contemporaries that share the same race as they do?
Manie Reyneke = Barend van Graan?
@Transformation-42: All these backs. Where are the tight 5 players that would have given the Boks a hard time 40 years ago?
15 Oct 2012, 11:09 am
@PissAnt-39:
i hear you, honest, and am not just looking for an argument for the arguments sake.
BUT, you have to admit the content of the article is/was not so much in question as was/is the author, at least in my case it is.
it may for all the world be the appropriate things to do and likely truth as told but it still is the testimony of an individual with major credibilty and conflict of interest issues. would it not be more prudent on his part to recuse himself from the debate and rather allow others to frame the narrative?
anyway, ja sure, not withstanding keo’s involvement i feel its for the best that this has happened but am unhappy with its implimentation and the potentially diasterous consquences it could have for the lions and cheetahs.
but those are different issues with different ‘persons of blame’.
15 Oct 2012, 11:10 am
When ratings drop and administrators throw their hands in the air wondering what the hell happened…..remember this stint you pulled
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 19 » Show All