Bryce hangs up whistle
16 Oct 2012
New Zealand referee Bryce Lawrence has retired after officiating his 200th first-class match.
Lawrence, who faced mass criticism from the South African rugby fraternity after his poor performance during the Wallabies’ victory over the Springboks in the 2011 World Cup quarter-finals, became the fourth Kiwi official to reach the 200-match mark. He follows Paddy O’Brien (221 matches), Paul Honiss (220) and Steve Walsh (210).
Lawrence also refereed 25 Tests and 60 Super Rugby games.
He told the Bay of Plenty Times that he was forced into retirement because of the threats he received after the World Cup.
‘It got pretty bad,’ said Lawrence. \Not really threats on my family as such, there was a concern, but it was mainly aimed at me through social media. On Facebook they launched a ‘get rid of Bryce Lawrence’ site and it was pretty nasty.
‘That was absolutely the reason for my career change. I got told at the end of the World Cup that I would have a break from Test rugby for the Six Nations and I could totally accept that as there has to be a consequence for poor performance.
‘I was told I would be brought back in the middle of this year, as I was ranked in the top three or four referees in the world. But because of the political reaction from rugby unions like Australia and South Africa behind the scenes, they dropped me.
‘Sanzar used me but not in South Africa, so eventually they said it was getting tough having you in the draw, because we have to keep making changes to keep you in the system when you are not going to South Africa, so see you later. So I knew I was not able to referee at the level I needed to be re-contracted, really – all because of that one game.’
Lawrence also admitted that there was outside influence going into the Wallabies-Springbok quarter-final clash.
‘I went into the game knowing it was a massive match and I didn’t want to overly influence the outcome and that was in the back of my mind. The way that transpired was I didn’t make decisions and if I had my time again I would just go out there and do what I normally do, which is just referee and back myself.
‘I had four really good games at the World Cup and then I had that. I had outside pressure from pretty senior people from rugby countries behind the scenes that really created my mindset of lacking confidence to deliver what I normally do.
‘There was some pretty nasty political stuff going on about that appointment. I refereed Australia versus Ireland and Ireland had won but behind the scenes guys like [Australian CEO] John O’Neill were kicking up a massive stink. I knew a bit about that and it was enough to affect me, and it probably made me freeze on the biggest stage.’
Lawrence take on a new post as the NZRU High Performance referee reviewer.
Kiwi referees Vinny Munro and Keith Brown will also retire at the end of the New Zealand Cup.

576 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
16 Oct 2012, 16:31 pm
@Dusky-94: steve is a orrible ref, loves the limelight too much but he is far better than bryce lawrence ever was.
16 Oct 2012, 16:33 pm
@rangerman-99: Ha ha, and I honestly think we’re not that far off the mark. Funny how the two central figures here – Bryce and O’Neil – both step down within days of each other with no clear future plans. I smell a quokka.
16 Oct 2012, 16:35 pm
Big mouth trolls oh dear were you here in 09′, clearly not Rnager had the 2010 tri nations done and dusted weeks before it started.
16 Oct 2012, 16:35 pm
Hangs up the whistle? He should put the fcken thing on E-bay – brand new, never been used.
16 Oct 2012, 16:36 pm
@NZINCHINA-103: Shut up. Shouldn’t you be researching your abominable referee sighting?
@NZINCHINA-79:
how would you say today has gone for you my china plate?
first crooked Brycie walks the plank and now this dog’s breakfast of a thread.
if this keeps up you might have to find yourself something else to do in the evenings and weekends.
@katman-102:
that must be why you’ve been losing over the last few years, there couldn’t be any other reason
@katman-102: i do too mate.
but judging by bryces parting words he isnt that happy.
maybe they gave him lamb chops for life?
maybe they tried to pay him off with “all the bungee jumps you can do” and he thought the rope was suspect?
16 Oct 2012, 16:37 pm
@NZINCHINA-103: still waiting for an apology…
16 Oct 2012, 16:38 pm
@katman-105:
i dont need to ive seen the games, I would have thought a student of the game like yourself would have watched the tests in question before commenting and dismissing it, ill leave that with you
16 Oct 2012, 16:39 pm
@rangerman-109:
dont hold you breath i still waiting for one from you for not alllowing the brown brothers to tour SA for decades and Gerty
16 Oct 2012, 16:40 pm
What is a whitsle, by the way?
16 Oct 2012, 16:40 pm
the sad thing for bryce is he will never know if there is some drunk saffa about to poe s klap him on a night out.
i dont think we should take it to that level my saffa brothers and sisters.
it seems he is a broken man and thats never nice to see.
luckily the character of the boks who he robbed is made of sterner stuff.
16 Oct 2012, 16:41 pm
in the cold light of day, if we were to be bitterly honest as a community of nations, sharing in a commonly enjoyed sport… we would call for a judicial review of top level rugby going all the way back to 96… at least.
@NZINCHINA-111: ah so now its brown brothers as well as gerty eh?
you precious kiwi, apologise!
@WP-Forever-112: Something the All Gold tomato sauce man would have a hard time saying……well spotted!
16 Oct 2012, 16:42 pm
@NZINCHINA-111:
what brothers are these you talk of?
are they in laws or is it just metaphroical?
16 Oct 2012, 16:43 pm
@rangerman-113: Jy moer nie so ou nie. Jy knyp hom tot hy in sy broek pi s dan jaag hom huis toe dat sy vrou hom bliksem!!
@gunther-106:
funny guy to be fair I haven’t been around much lately once we took you at soccer city the fun was gone, the chase is much better
@NZINCHINA-111:
Who are the Brown Brothers?
Some obscure New Zealand blues band?
16 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
@Dusky-45: Well said Dusky. But dont let it upset you and dont let the kiwi-mafia-trolls wind you up either.
They couldnt win the cup anywhere else, so they had to manipulate all the factors they could to favour them – location, opponents, referees.
It took all of that for them to win the final by ONE point and by holding the ball at the back of the ruck for the last 5 minutes (too scared to actually play against the French). If the RWC final is a global event that is meant to capture new fans, that was one of the worst adverts ever!
Man of the Match in the final for NZ was Joubert.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-114: if we were brutally honest we would shove their heads up their ar se s at the next sanzar meeting by kindly explaining that the balance of power has shifted.
the money lies with us and will increasingly be with our argie brothers too.
the time of the anzac alliance outvoting us will rapidly become a distant memory mark my words.
@rangerman-113: He should apologise to Victor Matfield and John Smit and he should confess everything that was said to him prior to the game by “pretty senior” people. We can then move onto the people in these senior positions.
16 Oct 2012, 16:45 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-114:
lets go right back to the beginning
16 Oct 2012, 16:45 pm
@NZINCHINA-111: you are really being a doos…what do you think this was?
http://www.news24.com/sport24/Rugby/SARU-make-landmark-apology-20100513
16 Oct 2012, 16:46 pm
@rangerman-122:
no what you should do is try and beat us on the rugby field
@NZINCHINA-110: That’s like me saying I saw Bigfoot, but leaving it up to you to find the proof, even though you’re the one disputing it.
Do you even comprehend the daftness of the situation? Does your brain come with that gear?
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-118:
@gunther-117: @WP-Forever-120: i think the brown brothers are retiring.
well keith brown is anyway.
no one gives a ***** about the other one.
16 Oct 2012, 16:47 pm
@Transformation-125:
i want one from Ranger
16 Oct 2012, 16:47 pm
@katman-127:
watch the tape
16 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@Horings-123: exactly right.
polyograph the little weasel.
@Transformation-125: haha, now i will await his apology transie thank you.
16 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@rangerman-122:
there is nothing i want more all the way down to the depths of my soul.
if the choice was mine i would walk. tell the filthy anzacs to go play with themselves and then set up a sa alternative.
16 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@NZINCHINA-124:
its only the last 16 or so which stinks, china
16 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@NZINCHINA-130: No farking ways…don’t you watch horror movies!!!
16 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132: lets just see how the next three years play out rather.
o’neil gone
bryce an admitted incompetent nz ref of the year
money too tight to mention
argies our spiritual rugby brothers
times they are a changing…
16 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132:
run along Houston up to Scotland you go
16 Oct 2012, 16:51 pm
m.news24.com/sport24/Rugby/SARU-make-landmark-apology-20100513
SARU make landmark apology
View 63 comments Comment on
this story
2010-05-13 20:30
Johannesburg – The South African
Rugby Union apologised to New
Zealand’s Maori players and black
players in its own country who
were discriminated against during
South Africa’s racist past.
SARU president Oregan Hoskins
made the unexpected apology via
a written statement on Thursday.
“A number of Maori rugby players
became innocent victims of the
racist ideology of our former
government, a policy that
oppressed the daily lives of all
black South Africans,” Hoskins
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-133:
no Bakkies they all stank in Africa
@NZINCHINA-129: for what?
i wasnt born then, you gloated about a clearly corrupt event so you need to come clean my buddy, it will probably align you with the dragons or the lotus blossoms or some such thing.
for the first time EVER i look forward to actually reading or watching that tony johnson doos to see what wormlike slither he’ll pull for this one.
a bit like china’s doing now.
16 Oct 2012, 16:52 pm
@NZINCHINA-130: Fakme, but you’re extra slow today.
YOU make the claim. YOU produce the proof.
So pretty please, with sprinkles and a flake, where’s the fcken tape?
16 Oct 2012, 16:54 pm
@NZINCHINA-138: ag i am only joking about the apology china.
its not your fault your rugby is rotten and relies on match fixing and to be honest (without attempting to sound condescending of course), you are small fry.
its your rugby execs that should apologise and maybe do some community service in south africa.
16 Oct 2012, 16:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-140:
16 Oct 2012, 16:55 pm
@katman-141:
your old man will remember the games, don’t forget to give him a truth serum before he recounts the story though
16 Oct 2012, 16:56 pm
maybe that was a bit harsh?
forget the community service in south africa, they probably are a little scared much like brycie and charity begins at home anyway.
rather let kiwi kids see crime doesnt pay
@NZINCHINA-111: I would like to apologise for that too china. It was unacceptable and if I had been born, I wouldve been against it.
But that is a very different issue to the one concerning Bryce
@rangerman-135:
ja, i suppose.
the all blacks actually having to win matches… that’ll be a larf.
@NZINCHINA-136:
there are many ways to skin a rat, china
and the rat we’re holding onto right now stinks.
16 Oct 2012, 17:00 pm
@bokfan1-146: actually i second that china, it was absolute bs.
now your turn…
16 Oct 2012, 17:00 pm
@NZINCHINA-144: So it didn’t happen. Why must you then add to the already shady reputation of NZ rugby by fabricating 35 year old stories to somehow “even things out”? Besides being completely irrelevant (a supposed off the cuff remark by a ref after the game compared with a tell-all media release), it points to some worrying mental issues too.
16 Oct 2012, 17:01 pm
Ok so Paddy/Bryce are gone, O’Neil is gone, the travel is fixed with the Argies being there, your quota coach is gone, I think i’ve covered everything so are we all good now or is there something else?
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All