True test looms for Lambie
16 Oct 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes that Pat Lambie may have to steer the Sharks to Currie Cup glory if he’s going to convince Heyneke Meyer of his value as a match-winning flyhalf.
Did Lambie’s performance against Griquas mean anything? Of course it did. It was massive in the context of the Sharks’ season, as it helped the Durbanites bank a potential home final.
It was important in that it allowed Lambie a rare start, and even more significantly a rare start in his best position of flyhalf. But was it meaningful in the context of Lambie’s bid for the Bok flyhalf jersey? I don’t think so.
Lambie enjoyed a great return to the starting line-up last Friday. He was accurate in front of goal, he gave the Sharks direction both as a distributor and tactical kicker. He was solid on defence and innovative on attack. It was a complete performance, and it would have given him plenty of confidence.
But the pressure will mount this week ahead of a semi-final showdown against the Bulls. For all the bluster about Griquas being giant killers, they are never a threat at the back end of the season. They struggle because of injuries and battle to compete against the big five teams who are boosted by the returning Boks.
Griquas are never going to win the Currie Cup with their current game plan. There is too much emphasis on attack, and not enough on defence. This weakness was exploited all too easily by the Sharks last Friday. And yet, John Plumtree’s men would do well to remember that the defence of the better teams in the play-offs will be tougher to breach.
There will be more pressure on Lambie this Saturday. There will be more pressure from a defensive point of view. There will be more pressure on him to win the territorial battle, and there will also be more pressure on him to maintain his excellent goal-kicking form.
It has to be viewed as a great opportunity. If Lambie can excel under such pressure and steer the Sharks to victory, it would serve as a big statement. If he can go one step further and guide the Sharks to another Currie Cup title, well then it would be difficult for Heyneke Meyer to deny that he is the best flyhalf candidate for that November tour to Europe.
We have been in this situation before. Lambie helped the Sharks win the 2010 Currie Cup final, and one of the most enduring moments of that match was of the young flyhalf handing off WP captain Schalk Burger en route to the tryline. Unfortunately, he was used only as a substitute on the subsequent Bok tour. He did well when he started for the Boks at 10 against the All Blacks in 2011, but wasn’t used there again.
Meyer is still undecided about Lambie, and it isn’t hard to understand why. While it’s clear the kid has all the skills, he hasn’t really settled into one position.
Injury has also played a part in this unfortunate situation if you remember that Lambie was crocked in the 2012 Super Rugby competition just when he was starting to fire as a flyhalf. When he returned to fitness, the Sharks had settled on Freddie Michalak as their pivot and so Lambie filled in at fullback for the remainder of the season.
If the Sharks win this weekend and progress to the final, it will mean that Lambie will have three Currie Cup games in total to show Meyer what he can offer as a flyhalf. As I mentioned earlier, the fixture against Griquas was important for other reasons. The two play-off games will be massive in terms of pressure, with each of the four teams leaning on their Boks. If Lambie thrives in that environment, then it will say much for his mental aptitude as well as his physical ability.
Meyer will, of course, be watching the progress of other potential flyhalves closely.
Morné Steyn was better against the Lions last Saturday, but will also need to show that he can perform in the matches that matter. Just as a title win for the Sharks will underline Lambie’s value, another domestic trophy for the Bulls will show that Steyn is not a spent force as a match-winner.
With Johan Goosen ruled out with injury, Elton Jantjies played much of that Test against the All Blacks at Soccer City. The Lions lost to the Bulls last week, but they will be hoping that the reinstatement of Jantjies at 10 gets them back to winning ways. Again, it’s a high pressure environment that could reveal whether Jantjies is in the right headspace to spearhead the Boks’ coming overseas campaign.
I still believe that in the absence of Goosen, Lambie is the only flyhalf in South Africa who has the necessary all-round skills needed to bring the Boks success in a more balanced game plan. But Lambie has to use this semi-final opportunity, and possibly an opportunity in the final as well, to make a believer out of Meyer.

482 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All
16 Oct 2012, 14:21 pm
@The very reverend J. Jones-288: I have two now, which is more than enough. Trust me. I love them to death, but they can infuriate me more than Skoppie some times.
I don’t think I have the heart or stomach for pro-blogging. It’s very competitive and exhausting, and there are no benefits like medical aid or parking. Give it a bash though. Perhaps you can, to borrow from L Cohen, change the system from within.
@Puma-297: Amen.
its rotting in the cupboard
No way in hell that it will get near our bodies hehehe
Infact my wife won a brand new latest Stormer Jersey signed by Toks
You well?? will you be going to the match?? Imma be there, hopefully we can gat together there and have a beer?? lemme know
@Transformation-289:
laxatives.
16 Oct 2012, 14:22 pm
@katman-291: Or he got circumcised.
16 Oct 2012, 14:24 pm
@gunther-303: Hey im 6ft4, well close to 6ft5 so not that fat, Stormerboy knows me very well, so 12 KG’s is a lot to have lost, i did weigh 130KG’s, So no i eat less and smaller portions , i did not have to kak my lungs out
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-299:
@sharks_lover-302:
A stormers jersey signed by toks?
What was second prize?
Two jerseys signed by toks?
Or his latest Opera treffers?
@sharks_lover-290: It’s always tough at playoff time particularly when the weather closes the gap, as it often does.
I for one will be watching with interest,
16 Oct 2012, 14:26 pm
@katman-301: That’s all good and well, but everybody knows that the dice are loaded….
@gunther-307:
@sharks_lover-305:
I agree.
Just pulling your drumstick.
@gunther-303: hahahaha
snaaks!
16 Oct 2012, 14:27 pm
@gunther-311:
i know boet, and i am having a good laugh.
16 Oct 2012, 14:27 pm
@katman-301:
Maybe he can serve an apprenticeship under transie?
like a reverse AA vibe?
16 Oct 2012, 14:28 pm
@sharks_lover-305: don’t be conservative sharkie, we know what ya look like
16 Oct 2012, 14:28 pm
@sharks_lover-302: For sure just remember you may leave in the beautiful Cape, but you just stay a Sharkie supporter forever… Hehehe.
Not sure was thinking about going, but looks like torrential rain is forecast. Might just go with a few mates to the club to watch. Still not hundreds on that yet. Will mail you if I do go.
16 Oct 2012, 14:29 pm
@stormersboy-309: I see the Ref for our game is Mark look at my hairstyle Lawrence……
Sharks gonna have to be extra good come Saturday.
@Puma-316: brain gone to sleep. leave = live
@Puma-316: WWKD?
@sharks_lover-317: Oh bloody hell that is not good news. Lawerence hates the Sharks.
16 Oct 2012, 14:30 pm
@Puma-316: Come now Bro we should seriously get together for a beer man. A bit of rain wont make you melt
@gunther-314: skills transfer
@sharks_lover-317: Well I put my keo vote on a Sharks WP final. Sticking with that on the ‘bru.
WP to win of course
16 Oct 2012, 14:31 pm
@Puma-320: Yeah but Hey we have risen above the odds before, we will just need to do the same.
I would have preferred the little Black Ref Ratsa something, he is a very good unbiased ref
16 Oct 2012, 14:31 pm
@Transformation-315: \
facebook stalker.
16 Oct 2012, 14:32 pm
@stormersboy-323: Actually M i voted the Same
16 Oct 2012, 14:33 pm
@sharks_lover-321: I like comfort….hahaha. Jeez everytime I go to KP recently I have sat in the rain watching. So if it is torrential like it is forecast will go to the club.
16 Oct 2012, 14:33 pm
Just play your own game Pat, and you will be fine.
The game should be close, unlike the game in JHB, which will see WP win by 10 plus.
16 Oct 2012, 14:35 pm
@gunther-303:
@stormersboy-323: Would love a Sharks/WP final. I think it will be.
Only real chance Bulls have is the weather will be in their favour. Dry day and we will win it.
@MINISouthAfrica: MINI has never had any marketing association with the guilty individuals
#thecleanup…
16 Oct 2012, 14:37 pm
@Puma-330: The wet weather will help to keep the game tighter, which may (or may not) suit the Bulls more.
Dunno. Looking at my Superbru standings I really shouldn’t make any predictions. Ever.
16 Oct 2012, 14:38 pm
@gunther-314: He is a Reverend, and this blog is in desperate need of some spiritual guidance. Maybe keo can squeeze Vrede and Cardinelli to fit him on the payroll.
16 Oct 2012, 14:38 pm
@Mr Black-328: Agree. Pat just needs to play his own game and he most definitely will be fine. Not worried about our fh. More worried about the damn rain that is forecast. If the amount of rain that is forecast it will be similar conditions to what we played Stormers in a few weeks back. Bulls have a heavy pack and that could suit them.
16 Oct 2012, 14:39 pm
@Puma-318: Stop sitting on it then.
@Transformation-322:
let’s hope it works out better than it did at telkom.
I applied for a job there and Dr Ngubane told me te send in my faeces.
So I did.
I can’t understand why I haven’t heard back.
@Puma-320: where is your evidence – do you often vilify referees without any facts.
16 Oct 2012, 14:40 pm
@sharks_lover-324: why not the little white ref Peyper?
16 Oct 2012, 14:41 pm
@stormersboy-332: Will suit their kicking game. Our game plan suits a dry weather conditions and a dry field.
16 Oct 2012, 14:41 pm
@Transformation-315: no, Kanala Walk…
16 Oct 2012, 14:42 pm
@katman-335:
@Mr Black-328: Agreed boet, My worry though is if it rains?? thaat suits the Bulls more and will sit well with MOrne and his kicking for field position type game.
We are going to have to plan this carefully, remember when we last played the BUlls we just just won when Plum decided just before the game to PLay Viljoen at 10 and match the BUlls in a kicking game. it nearly cost us !!!
@katman-333:
I don’t think those boys can be squeezed anymore.
Reehan’s already had his workstation moved to the Wimpy to make space for Percy’s grooming products.
And Cardinelli’s noggin already looks like somebody has had a go at it with a vice.
16 Oct 2012, 14:43 pm
@Transformation-338: bacuse he is as crooked as you
a kak ref, I just happen to rate Rasta,
16 Oct 2012, 14:45 pm
@RL-337:
Lions vs WP
Whats your prediction Red Loser?
16 Oct 2012, 14:45 pm
@sharks_lover-295:
Go to the Britannia Hotel in Durban.
16 Oct 2012, 14:46 pm
@Puma-341: Plum must have the Boys playing their natural game, of course there will be knock ons etc, but the Sharks ddont play the kicking game that well, I say keep ball in hand etc. only kick when in own 22
16 Oct 2012, 14:47 pm
@WP-Forever-346: I am, They have the best BUnnies by far.
Hotel looks rubbish on the outside and awesome inside LOL
16 Oct 2012, 14:48 pm
@sharks_lover-342: Plum will have to think this one careful, because there will be plenty rain again. I know who he will go with in the backs just not sure who he will go with in our loose trio and locks.
16 Oct 2012, 14:49 pm
I see Bryce Lawrence has retired from refereeing.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All