Bulls bench Hougaard… again
17 Oct 2012
Blue Bulls coach Pine Pienaar has avoided making changes to his starting side for the semi-final clash against the Sharks.
The Bulls advanced to the play-offs by virtue of a powerful performance in their last league match against the Golden Lions. It is because of this showing that Pienaar has stuck with the same starting combination.
What this means is that Springboks like Francois Hougaard, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Dean Greyling will continue to play from the bench.
Blue Bulls – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Juandré Kruger, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Morne Mellett.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 CJ Stander, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Louis Fouche, 22 Dean Greyling.

222 Comments
17 Oct 2012, 12:15 pm
Either I am a visionary (which I doubt) or else others are just slow on the uptake.
I was advocating Vermaak ahead of Hougaard at 9 since the Super 15 earlier this year.
Hougaard is not a scrumhalf. He is still a fantastic player, and has great potential as an impact player, but he is not a general at no.9.
Good move.
17 Oct 2012, 12:15 pm
That’s a strong bench filled with dragons.
But Sharks should have fair amount of Springboks on their bench too.
I’m guessing Plum might hold back Alberts for the second half.
17 Oct 2012, 12:17 pm
@puff-2:
I don’t think this Bulls team is as good as the Sharks team.
If they win, it will be by playing above themselves.
17 Oct 2012, 12:18 pm
@Tacitus-1:
From a Bok perspective, it is also a problem.
Hougaard best place is on the bench to make an impact where needed during course of game.
Pienaar not the best BMT, despite the hype claiming Irish stint has changed that.
Like the look of Van Zyl, young Cobus Reinach and Nic Groom.
Vermaak a solid option.
But Fourie Du Preez still best option for Boks IMO.
17 Oct 2012, 12:19 pm
@Tacitus-3:
Agreed.
Sharks should take the trophy.
17 Oct 2012, 12:21 pm
Said on Monday! no doubt BUlls will play 2 props off the bench, and this means 1 million up and unders and Lineouts by the plenty to setup as many rolling maauls as possible.
Sharks must select the right players to counter this but at the same time not hold back on their own style of play.
In simple words the Sharks must not allow themselves to be bullied in scrums and mauls, And dont kick the ball away all the time, only when in our 22,
17 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
I will repost the team i think the Sharks should pick to counter the bulls, this does mean a very strong heavy bench,
Here is my team:
15 Ludick
14 JPP
13 Jordaan
12 Whitehead
11 Odwa/Mvovo
10 Lambie
09 Reinach
08 Daniel
07 Deysel
06 Coetzee
05 Bresler
04 Jandre
03 Jannie
02 Burden
01 Beast
16 Cooper
17 Herbst
18 Alberts
19 PSDT/Tera Mtembu
20 Mcleod
21 Bosman
22 Mvovo/Odwa/Viljoen
Unless PLum goes for a 5-2 split as is normally the case against the Bulls.
Bench would then be Cooper, Herbst, Sykes ( I hear he might be ready after injury), Alberts, PSDT, Mcleod, Bosman
I know i have Odwa at 11 but thats purely because he would play in place of Mvovo, obviously if Odwa does play he and JPP would swop around.
Also
17 Oct 2012, 12:29 pm
Also if Sykes is still injured bring in Peet Marais, brother of Jandre, big strong mobile lock. but he is fast and defends very well
17 Oct 2012, 12:31 pm
Cape Town – Albeit unconfirmed, the likelihood that one of the current first-choice Springbok locks, Andries Bekker, will not be fit for the end-of-year tour may persuade coach Heyneke Meyer to seriously consider one or both of a pair overseas customers whose credentials he knows inside out.
Bakkies Botha and Danie Rossouw, who will become team-mates once more next year when the latter joins French Top 14 leaders Toulon, seem tempting horses for the probable heavy courses of Ireland and the United Kingdom when the Boks undertake their three-Test mission next month.
Meyer is under pressure to improve his win record in his first year in charge, which currently reads four from nine outings, so there is little doubt that he will want to assemble the most gnarly squad possible – despite a pretty formidable list of late-season injury casualties – for the successive games against Ireland (November 10), Scotland (November 17) and England (November 24).
The likes of Juandre Kruger and Flip van der Merwe have been in the broad Bok mix more or less throughout 2012 thus far, to add to the staple presence of soon 21-year-old find Eben Etzebeth, and the Bulls pair should both crack the nod for the trip.
But there will also be room, presumably, for a fourth second-rower in the party, and it is hard to believe that Meyer will not at least mull over the possibility – given the expected absence of towering Bekker — of calling up either of still-sprightly thirtysomethings Botha (Toulon) and Rossouw (Suntory Sungoliath, Japan, until his shift to France in February next year).
Whilst there will certainly be those keen to brand the stalwart Bok pair “has-beens”, at 33 and 34 respectively they are not exactly over-the-hill at their specialist trade, when you consider that players like England’s Simon Shaw (39) and the 37-year-old All Black Brad Thorn continue to ply their first-class trade most effectively.
Former Crusaders favourite Thorn recently committed to another season of Super Rugby in 2013, with the newly-ambitious Highlanders.
Botha, by all accounts, is in a decent state of fitness and zest for the French pace-setters, whilst Rossouw may be playing in the lesser environment of the Japanese Top League at present, but he remains a model professional and is unlikely to have got out of shape since leaving the Bulls fold.
Just as Botha has always said he aspires to further national duty, Rossouw, after the heart-breaking World Cup 2011 quarter-final exit to Australia, was immediately quoted as saying: “I still have Test ambitions; I will see if I can get myself in good shape over there (for Suntory).”
The lion-hearted, no-fuss Rossouw is an ideal player to have in a touring squad also because of the versatility he offers – he can easily do duty as a blindside flank or No 8 if the need suddenly arises.
The Boks will want to continue their scrummaging progress on the tour; that particular set-piece is always a handy one to have mastery of in slow European late-autumn conditions, and Botha and Rossouw are powerful tight-five assets in that regard.
Of course club contractual obligations can be obstacles in summoning overseas-based players, but there are also suitable gaps in the respective domestic calendars for both Botha and Rossouw while the Boks undergo their relatively short mission.
Toulon have a Top 14 fixture which coincides with the first Bok fixture against the Irish in Dublin, but then have a gap until November 29, almost a week after the South Africans have ended their programme.
As for Suntory, round eight of the Top League in Japan is contested on October 27, and then there is a break in league obligations until the ninth round on December
17 Oct 2012, 12:35 pm
well then they might as well recall all the old Bulls ,a nd just stay with that.
Beg Matfield to return, get back F DUP, @ mentioned above and also PIerre Spies and J Fourie, oh and dont forget Smitty
17 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
@sharks_lover-10:
don’t be like that sharkie.
roussouw and bakies would be very hand up north.
and you know it.
17 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
@gunther-11:
you were not meant to take the Bait ffs, that was for TAcci
boet I am not so sure about Roussow, BUt Bakkies fit?? no doubt at all
17 Oct 2012, 13:25 pm
@grant10-9:
beautiful
17 Oct 2012, 13:29 pm
Etsebeth and Bakkies would make an awesome combo
17 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
@Tacitus-1: Our problem over a good many years ( through Joost and FdP ) is that we have had excellent scrumhalves and very weak flyhalves.
This has lead to the perception that a #9 must be the ‘General’, and it is not an intelligent way to play rugby.
Your #10 has a much better perspective of the situation and should be the one who calls the shots.
Your #9′s primary role should be a bullet pass and the ability to snipe when its on. (And an extra bonus: he should irritate the k@k out of the opposition, then he is REALLY doing his job)
We are possibly the only nation who thinks a scrumhalf is a General and their primary function is to box-kick…….
17 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
Solid team… If the Sharks don’t show up then Morne will just keep the score board ticking over with drop goals and penalties…
17 Oct 2012, 13:35 pm
Gonna be a Lions Bulls final. Mark these words.
17 Oct 2012, 13:38 pm
@katman-17: Bliksem that would be lekker. If the Bulls play the same patient game they did on saturday the Sharks might find themselves on the wrong end of the stick.
17 Oct 2012, 13:39 pm
@katman-17: And i have a feeling it will be a Sharks WP final
17 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-18: Bulls firm favourites,
17 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
@katman-17: Die final gaan op Nuweland wees, WP teen die Bulle
17 Oct 2012, 13:42 pm
@sharks_lover-20: You reckon? I would’ve gone Sharks because of the homeground advantage. Superbru is going to be a bit ch this week. Lions by 7 and Bulls by….no Sharks….no Bulls….aaaaaag fok?
17 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-22:
weather and bulls style in the weather is why i say BUlls favourites, heavy rains forcast
17 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
thats what i said
17 Oct 2012, 13:48 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-22:
17 Oct 2012, 13:49 pm
This Bulls team looks pretty good on paper. And if you can bring guys like Ralepele, Stander and Hougaard on in the second half, you’re going to ask plenty of questions of the defense. I know Kings Park can be daunting, but the Bulls have won there before in crunch games. The katman says 25-20 to the Bulls.
In Jozi things are looking better and better for the Lions. Their team for Saturday bears little resemblance to the one that lost to the Bulls. And for a change this is planned and not some knee-jerk reaction. Saturday will see the strongest possible Lions outfit take on a fast crumbling Province squad, at altitude. The katman says 28-18 to the Lions.
17 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@sharks_lover-23:
a case of it being fish out of water perhaps..?..
17 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-27:
who woulda thought
17 Oct 2012, 13:54 pm
Lions by 5
Sharks by 7 in wet
sharks by 15 in dry
17 Oct 2012, 13:56 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-27: Or purhaps the Sharks will be ready for what is thrown their way by the Bulls??
Bassop vir haaie in diep waters
17 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
So will Smit be recalled now that Bissie, Tiaan out injured and Chilli not starting… Also covers prop.
Hahahahahaha AS IF!
17 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
@sharks_lover-23: There was rain forecast for today with thunderstorms. So far they have it wrong. Sun out the whole day. So who knows it could be a dry day on Saturday. If it is a dry day, Sharks will win it. Rain then it will be 50/50 who to win.
17 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
@Rhys7-31: I doubt Meyer will call up Smit. Think he will stick with who he had during the RC and also Chili will be there. Remember he has come back from injury probably why he is on the bench. Meyer will select: Strauss to start and Chili to cover or Burden to cover.
17 Oct 2012, 14:09 pm
@Puma-32: Yep yesterday too! was meant to be cold, I believed them dressed warmly and felt like I was in a sauna the whole day. I have a growing mistrust in our weatherman! Hope its a scorcher on Saturday, am willing to sacrifice the whole of next week to rain
17 Oct 2012, 14:11 pm
@grant10-29:
anyone but the bulls for you hey grantie.
4 to 1 odds on bulls to win the cc. if you placed your bets a week or two ago you will be making 8 to 1 or higher.
@sharks_lover-30:
this time dean’s going to take a kak under the goalposts… who needs je.sus
17 Oct 2012, 14:15 pm
@Sharksgirl-34: They do get it wrong plenty. So hoping Saturday is dry. Think our team has played in the rain in the last few games at the tank. For this game we most definitely want it dry…
17 Oct 2012, 14:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35: nothing against the Bulls…just dont think they as good as sharks…
17 Oct 2012, 14:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35: Let him just try! I am sitting behind the posts I will spray him with hot chilli peppers he will not be able to sit ever again, and I will reserve some of my trained bees for his derriere should he attempt to sully sacred turf that is Kings Park!
17 Oct 2012, 14:28 pm
@Sharksgirl-38:
17 Oct 2012, 14:47 pm
Two more critical errors by that silly Pienaar fellow. The Bulls can’t afford to play catch-up against the Sharks. You start with the big guns. Mellet is a marshmallow. The Lions proved that and Hougaard is one of the best attacking players in world rugby. He should be given the opportunity to torture the Sharks for 80 minutes. The Bulls will pay dearly (again) for giving the team to this noisy wimp.
17 Oct 2012, 14:53 pm
@Tacitus-1:
You also said Meyer would have a 80% win ratio.
17 Oct 2012, 14:57 pm
@Sharksgirl-38: I think what Bakkies ACTUALLY meant to say, was that Greyling is going to BE-kak himself behind the posts as the Bulls gather there in a little huddle after the 5th Sharks try.
That sounds more realistic?
Nah, game on here, a lot depending on the weather.
17 Oct 2012, 15:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-42: Well I certainly would like to see it that way
But yes this will be a real tough match!
17 Oct 2012, 15:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-35: Well the Bulls always KAK under their goal posts ffs
and Dean will be one groot KAK
17 Oct 2012, 15:11 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-42:
my thoughts exactly,
17 Oct 2012, 15:14 pm
That’s still a bloody good side let me tell you.
Never been a huge fan of Dewalt Potgieter in terms of his play but I doubt there is a better or more intelegent captain in SA at the moment.
Solid tight 5, Arno Botha is looking good, steady backline.
Perfect for playoff and finals rugby.
17 Oct 2012, 15:15 pm
@Sharksgirl-38:
Nobody should EVER be exposed to Greyling’s derriere.
17 Oct 2012, 15:25 pm
bulls got nothing….niks…bugg erall
17 Oct 2012, 15:25 pm
@WP-Forever-47: Oh dear. I honestly puked a little in my mouth. **dont know how to do a greenlookingsickashell smiley, but I would if I could**
17 Oct 2012, 15:33 pm
@John Galt-46: John no doubt as the the TAsk awaiting the Sharks boet, Gonna be a huge game and no doubt the Sharks will have to lift their game big time.
17 Oct 2012, 15:36 pm
It going to be a bit slippery with rain in Durbs on Sat again.
All we need is a Bee delay and this weekend is going to be an exact repeat of the 2010 semi between these 2 sides at KP.
Except the 2010 Bulls were obviously a far superior side to this one.
17 Oct 2012, 15:42 pm
Come on, Puma and sharks_lover, confess:
Which one of you two voted for Pat Lambie?
17 Oct 2012, 15:44 pm
17 Oct 2012, 15:48 pm
@WP-Forever-52: To be fair, Lambie really hasn’t played enough rugby this year to be a real contender IMHO. In fact, there are quite a few names there who shouldn’t be there, purely on the amount of rugby they have played this year fullstop.
I’m terribly objective and fair, so I’m going Habana or Eben
17 Oct 2012, 15:48 pm
@WP-Forever-52: want my honest answer??
Keegan Daniel, being the new capt?? and dellivereing the play he has?? absolutely brilliant.
Close for me is Etsebeth and JPP
17 Oct 2012, 15:49 pm
@WP-Forever-52:
I never vote for anything they have up there. Honestly the only names that should be there is: Habs, Eben, JPP and Keegan and probably Bissie.
If I do vote it would be for JPP. Best wing in the world right now. Was the best in Super Rugby too. Pity he missed the RC. Not sure if Eben will win this. He is my favourite Stormer player, but after the head butt which I don’t think really was on Sharp he can’t win it after picking up a ban. So think it will be Habs or JPP. Hope it is JPP…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-54: Actually MArcel Coetzee should have been on that list
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-54:
I went for Eben. He takes it for consistently performing well in his first year of top-flight rugby.
17 Oct 2012, 15:50 pm
@sharks_lover-57: You do realise that members of the public nominated these players?
You Coetzee fans didn’t do your work old fella.
17 Oct 2012, 15:50 pm
The principle of a Fair Play is maintained
Ndungenes cancelled out each other, Kirchner evens the field against Mvovo
With Houggie on the field the delicate ballance would fail.
The Bulls might not be in a hurry to bring on Chiliboi
Frustration shall result in another tattoo added for Hougie, that is if he finds clean space for it
17 Oct 2012, 15:51 pm
@sharks_lover-57:
And don’t forget Beast. Or Pieter-Steph du Toit. Or Paul Jordaan.
@sharks_lover-55: Yip or Keegan getting the Sharks to a Super Rugby final, especially the way we done it, by having to win all our last games and mostly with Bonus points.
I think though I would vote for JPP if I did vote.
@Puma-56: JPP hasn’t played any international rugby
That should effectively toss him out, if one was being fair and honest (Don’t know how to do the tongue sticking out thing)
17 Oct 2012, 15:52 pm
@WP-Forever-61: MacLeod, Bresler and Ludik deserve honourable mentions on this list as well
17 Oct 2012, 15:53 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-64:
How could we even forget Riaan Viljoen, or Steven Sykes!
17 Oct 2012, 15:54 pm
@sharks_lover-57: For sure. Came from only playing CC last year to a magnificent Super Rugby and being a Bok this year too. Only 21 as well. Same age as Eben. Jeez we have some bright young stars coming through. Pity we don’t have the right Bok coach for our talent we have.
17 Oct 2012, 15:55 pm
@WP-Forever-65: Hellyes! And the Reinach kid 2. He’s only played a few games for the Sharks, but sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeez he deserves a nomination here….
17 Oct 2012, 15:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-67:
Is he too young to be made Springbok captain?
17 Oct 2012, 15:57 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-63: He don’t need to have proved himself there, we could very well see his replacement was not up to it… LOL. JPP was brilliant in Super Rugby and a real shame we never had him for RC. Ag, you just done it now. Will go and vote for the first time here and it will be for JPP…
17 Oct 2012, 15:59 pm
@Puma-69: daft english. should read = didn’t need to prove himself.
17 Oct 2012, 16:01 pm
@WP-Forever-68: If you’re dynamite, you’re dynamite
Give it to him I say…..
17 Oct 2012, 16:02 pm
@Puma-69:
One thing about you Sharks fellas, you are loyal to a fault.
17 Oct 2012, 16:03 pm
If it rain,I have absolute confidence that the Bulls would pummel the Sharks into submission.This quality Bulls team hitting form just at the right time.
17 Oct 2012, 16:04 pm
Lambie shouldnt even be on that list.
Neither should Alberts.
Coetzee should be there though, most definitely.
17 Oct 2012, 16:05 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-63:
He was pretty dam good against England bud.
That was this year.
And England were a test playing side last time I checked.
17 Oct 2012, 16:06 pm
Habana gets my vote….what a great comeback….LEGEND …
17 Oct 2012, 16:07 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72: I know that what makes us great supporters ….hehehe.
17 Oct 2012, 16:07 pm
@WP-Forever-65: So if thats the criteria??? whats Kolisi doing there?
Then please tell me which south frican flank has been better than Marcel?? topping 90% of the stats in the super 15 and then having very good series for the Boks?
as DID ETSEBETH??
so see my friend your sarcasm is a little wasted
17 Oct 2012, 16:08 pm
@grant10-76: No problem with Habs really has been very good of laTE
17 Oct 2012, 16:09 pm
@sharks_lover-78:
Calm down. I count six Sharkies nominated out of a possible ten.
17 Oct 2012, 16:11 pm
@WP-Forever-68: Why not go check Rugby 365, news 24, twitter etc and the same question being asked, why is marcel not on the list????? and that from none sharks sites
17 Oct 2012, 16:11 pm
Sharks fans already talking up Reinach for eoyt selection??Amazing to say the least.If Carlsberg were into making delusional fans…sharks fans would have been selected as prototype
17 Oct 2012, 16:13 pm
@wnbb-73: Now you’ve gone and done it.
@John Galt-75: I’m sending calm vibes your way…..
17 Oct 2012, 16:13 pm
@WP-Forever-80: I am calm dude, just helping you right, I for one dont think Lmabie should be on the list, thats the point here. I am a huge Lambie fan, everyone knows that, but he has been injured most of the year
17 Oct 2012, 16:14 pm
@sharks_lover-78:
Kolisie,,,,
Must be a good reason for him to be included,,,
17 Oct 2012, 16:16 pm
Habana for me as well,G10.He absolutely proved himself this year as the greatest.Sharks would punt for JPP,but you actually need to play a bit of rugby to be recognised as the best.
17 Oct 2012, 16:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-42:
that’s right honeybun, hedge your bets.
its gonna get hot in here
@londonshark-41:
*nervous laughter*
@sharks_lover-44:
whether its on the skarks side or the bulls side, under the goalpost or over the tryline… there’s gonna be kak.. groot kak and lots of it..
@WP-Forever-47:
come saturday half of durban will feel like they have
@grant10-48:
keep it coming tough guy
17 Oct 2012, 16:17 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-83:
Im always calm my dear.
Just pointing out the ‘kenners’ mistake.
17 Oct 2012, 16:17 pm
@Hondo-85: Na boet he did play well in his first year. so no problem with his nomination
17 Oct 2012, 16:18 pm
@sharks_lover-81: If he is not on the list, it is the fault of his adoring fans.
Eben Etzebeth (Gallo)
Related Links
Door open to Bakkies, Danie? Is Bryce a match-fixer? Bulls unchanged for Sharks trip Cape Town – The 10 finalists for the prestigious SARU Rugby Player of the Year 2012 have been finalised, following a new public consultation process in conjunction with the votes of rugby media.
The rugby public nominated and voted for players on the Springboks’ Facebook page (www.facebook.com/springboks) and will now have a decisive say in determining which of the 10 top-rated players will be crowned on November 1, when the SARU Rugby Player of the Year Awards Function is held in Cape Town.
Why didn’t you Sharks fellows nominate and vote for him? Legit question I reckon?
17 Oct 2012, 16:21 pm
@John Galt-88: Playing England does not qualify as International rugby.
Save that one.
17 Oct 2012, 16:21 pm
This a bulls thread.
Please take your sharks and ant-sharks paranoia somewhere else.
And take Capo with you.
17 Oct 2012, 16:22 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-90: I understand that, it stays stupid though, Alberts too should not have been on the list, Marcel has been far better
17 Oct 2012, 16:23 pm
@gunther-92: no hell boet poodle fekker will be left right here
17 Oct 2012, 16:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-87: I have a website for y6ou for free Ibay tissues,
http://www.ekisbakkiesenekhetinmybroekiegekakkiesbenoodigbaietissues.com
17 Oct 2012, 16:25 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-90:
Some really **** PR from SARU. How many people actually knew about this?
17 Oct 2012, 16:27 pm
@gunther-92:
hehehe paranoia
the commies are coming
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-91:
Fair enough.
Ill give you that one.
@David-96: agree 100# David,
17 Oct 2012, 16:29 pm
The Bulls are going to surprise the Sharkies big time on SaturdayThere will be great angst on The Bluff comes Saturday evening.Men would prefer to be with men rather than their one-toothed blond partners.
17 Oct 2012, 16:31 pm
@wnbb-100: when it comes to one tooth in a mouth?? you and your kind pretty much own that, it how the world recognisers you
well of course with a papsak in the one hand
17 Oct 2012, 16:33 pm
Actually i dont agree with Habana either as he only recently started playing good rugby again,
Etsebeth would be a far better choice as he played well through the year as did Daniel.
17 Oct 2012, 16:35 pm
Lambie is on a list somewhere…try looking under the biggest forest bum list.
17 Oct 2012, 16:36 pm
@David-96: Very few it would seem. I had no idea that nominations were being called for.
@gunther-92: Ok then back to the Bulls. How many Bulls players have been nominated for SA player of the year? And which one, in your opinion is the most deserving out of said Bulls nominees?
17 Oct 2012, 16:36 pm
@sharks_lover-95:

nee wat,
i googled it and my komputer says no
17 Oct 2012, 16:37 pm
@wnbb-103: It is Lambie’s birthday today – show some respect
17 Oct 2012, 16:40 pm
@sharks_lover-101: Might well be a papsak in the one hand…..but there’s a wrinkly pair of guppy balls caught in a vice grip occupying the other one.
Really??Well they should not bother buying candles,they can sommer set his butt on fire..lots of wood there.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-105:
boet i know i had you laughing out loud
think jpp should get it. he’s been brilliant this season. so has habana and eben, but jpp gets my vote.
17 Oct 2012, 16:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-107: only in their dreams, but then again ya cape okes likes balls in their hand and mouths, so yeah not surprised
17 Oct 2012, 16:42 pm
@mamma_lou-110: I went for Keegan, but wont feel sad if one of those you mentioned won, they all had great seasons
17 Oct 2012, 16:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-104:
Frankie “knuckles” Hougaard.
Best ink.
Wynand Olivier
Best actress in a supporting role.
Deano Greyling
Best Villain.
17 Oct 2012, 16:43 pm
@sharks_lover-111: I’m talking more of ‘got ya by the balls’ in the manner AC/DC intended
17 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
@gunther-113:
I’m spitting out food again….classic.
17 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-105: This you voting on news24??
bakkies.botha.39 – October 17, 2012 at 15:27 Report commentComments Policy
EK stem!!! Hougard, Chilly, CJ Stander, JJ, Zane, Morne, Spies!!!!
17 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@sharks_lover-112:
keegan’s had a great season, pity he didn’t get a fair chance in a green jumper though.
17 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@gunther-113:
boet varking funny
17 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-114:
17 Oct 2012, 16:51 pm
@mamma_lou-117: Dont believe he was given a fair chance to be honest, but yeah that makes for another discussion at a later stage lol
Like i said ealier Marcel should have been there as he has ben brilliant all season and that includes being a BOK
Just like for me Etsebeth has
17 Oct 2012, 16:51 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-104: Jaque Potgieter
Best Stuntman…
17 Oct 2012, 16:54 pm
@Transformation-121:
@gunther-113:
Hahahaha thankfully i wasn’t eating when i read that.
@Transformation-121:
I’ve noticed he’s started walking like Lukas Whastembi.
Is that something you guys practice on the beach in PE?
Its a cross between Baywatch and Terminator.
the Hasselnegger walk.
17 Oct 2012, 16:56 pm
Surely Krusty deserves an award for something.
Maybe best actor in an animated role.
17 Oct 2012, 16:56 pm
@Transformation-121:
17 Oct 2012, 16:57 pm
@Jeraldjay-125:
Best comedy in a foreign language.
17 Oct 2012, 16:58 pm
@gunther-124: LMFAO
17 Oct 2012, 16:59 pm
Mama,there is a big difference between a Bok jumper and a Mr Price black and white jumper…even KD will admit it.
17 Oct 2012, 17:00 pm
@sharks_lover-120:
yeah agreed bout marcel should’ve been on the list
17 Oct 2012, 17:02 pm
@gunther-124: No man, that’s racist.
17 Oct 2012, 17:04 pm
@wnbb-129:
all i’m saying is give a guy a proper chance once you’ve picked him before discarding him
17 Oct 2012, 17:06 pm
@katman-131: MHXhosa and co will be here shortly
@mamma_lou-132: 100% correct MAMMA LOU
@gunther-124: at Newlands against Argentina, when the subs were warming up, during an iexplicable pause in the stands, some drunk chap stood up and yelled…”Pottie, Pottie, jy is kak”
Pottie never looked up to acknowledge the compliment
i was embraboer for Pottie
17 Oct 2012, 17:09 pm
wouldn’t be surprised if jacques potgieter won this thing, after all it is saru…
17 Oct 2012, 17:10 pm
Fair point mama,but sometimes you just know that the oke will never make it as a test great.Meyer is looking for exceptional …not CC good.
17 Oct 2012, 17:13 pm
@mamma_lou-136:
actually the BUlls have been done in CJ Stander could have been on the list
17 Oct 2012, 17:15 pm
@wnbb-137:
then why select him in the first place? also he had a great super season too, but this has been discussed ad nauseam…
17 Oct 2012, 17:16 pm
@katman-131:
I will prepare for Pundie and the rest of the keo youth league.
@Transformation-135:
typical wp manners.
basterauds.
I’m sure Conan just walked it off.
17 Oct 2012, 17:21 pm
Fair play to Meyer.He gave all the form super rugby players a fair shot at a place in the team,but,unfortunately,certain players like KD,Pottie etc etc blew the opportunity or were found out as not suitable for international rugby.
17 Oct 2012, 17:26 pm
@sharks_lover-116:
no, john philip has admirers far and wide.
he’s just that kinda guy.
brad thorn on the other hand, what a scumbag
@gunther-124:
the hasselnegger
@gunther-127:
please stop
@Transformation-135:
the spiritual home of rugby my arse
they must try that kak at loftus
17 Oct 2012, 17:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-142:
17 Oct 2012, 17:29 pm
@gunther-124:
dis die wind hier innie baai wat so tussen sy boude gewaai het se skuld
17 Oct 2012, 17:34 pm
@mamma_lou-144:
kom ons se maar hy’t die wind gery
17 Oct 2012, 17:35 pm
@gunther-124:
> Its a cross between Baywatch and Terminator.
Don’t compare Arnold to Pottie, the Fornicator gets laid a lot more
I see he even nailed Sly’s ex-wife, the Great Dane
17 Oct 2012, 17:54 pm
I noticed that nobody rated Kanko.
17 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
@David-147: UHm another Sharks?? old sneior el crappo would have had a full panty burst
17 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
senior
17 Oct 2012, 18:28 pm
@sharks_lover-148:
I would have had him there before Alberts.
17 Oct 2012, 18:30 pm
@David-150: Me too also as big a fan as i am of Lambie i thought Goosen made a far bigger impact this year.
Yes i believe Lambie should be the Bok 10 at present, that does not take away from Goosen and the season he had,
Another name is CJ Stander, huge season
17 Oct 2012, 18:33 pm
@sharks_lover-151:
> Another name is CJ Stander, huge season
CJ is one omission HM will regret in time
17 Oct 2012, 18:34 pm
WP boys running away with the votes…
17 Oct 2012, 18:35 pm
@sharks_lover-149:
senor?
17 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
@mxhosa-153:
No surprise, Keo is Brokeback Central after all
17 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
@sharks_lover-151:
It must be difficult for the youngsters at 10. It’s a position that needs to manage and control the game whilst the coach and older players are saying just cool it and don’t try too much. At least Lambie’s had game time with the Boks.
17 Oct 2012, 18:46 pm
@victoriabok-155:
Who did you vote for (f you have voted)?
I went for Bryan, I think it is sort of obvious?
Its not too bad fo you, at least he is a ex Bull
17 Oct 2012, 18:49 pm
@Tacitus-1:
> I was advocating Vermaak ahead of Hougaard at 9 since the Super 15 earlier this year.
> Hougaard is not a scrumhalf. He is still a fantastic player, and has great potential as an impact > player, but he is not a general at no.9
I won’t be surprised in Reinach gets the nod ahead of Hougie for the EOYT
He’s as lively as Hougie and his scrumhalf skills are way above anything Hougie has produced at no 9
17 Oct 2012, 18:51 pm
The 2 who voted for Jannie du Plessis are either wannabe satirists or very deluded shark fans.
17 Oct 2012, 18:56 pm
@Robzim-157:
JPP was on fire until he got injured, if not he would probably have helped us to win a game or two more
Habana hit form later in the season (I knew Heyneke would know how to get the best out of him)
Eben and Marcell are the finds of the season
Marcell should have been the winner, it should go to the best new player
17 Oct 2012, 18:57 pm
@Robzim-159:
His patients ?
17 Oct 2012, 18:58 pm
@Robzim-159:
@victoriabok-158: Oh hell dont dare saying Reinach is Bok quality, SOme Stormpoppies in here already have heart attacks accusing us sharks supporters of saying it
17 Oct 2012, 18:59 pm
@victoriabok-158:
This posting would probably get Skop, or what’s his new name again,
Aah-it’s-in-said-the-clown, come running in Hougie’s defence
17 Oct 2012, 19:00 pm
@victoriabok-160: Well said VB
17 Oct 2012, 19:02 pm
@David-156: Prolly is hard. Look Lambie is now getting his chances at 10 so i am sure he will rise in the stakes,
17 Oct 2012, 19:02 pm
stupid bloody morons they have just made it advantage Sharks.. why the hell are all these Bullbevok moron coaches so goddamn thick?
Any dumb coach still thinking Vermaak is better than Hougaard or Pienaar is better than Hougaard, or Macleod is better than Hougaard, is simple dumb befuddled in his brain.. these morons will never amount to anything and all they are currently succeeding in doing is destroying a promising career.
They started by trying to mold him into FdP.. almost stuffed his entire game in its glory.. and now they even undermining his confidence by turning hin into this dumb goddamn utility back line player just like they did at Boks since 2010 already.. Dump goddamn idiots are the worst bloody rugby coaches on the planet.. they don’t deserve any success and Bulls have just handed Sharks the early advantage.. dumb goddamn morons united..
No f’ng hope saloon with these bloody imbeciles running the show… Bulls have handed this game to Sharks on a goddamn plate …
17 Oct 2012, 19:07 pm
@victoriabok-152:
i’m surprised francois louw isn’t on the list.
17 Oct 2012, 19:08 pm
Now Reinach must be Bok 9 ahead of Hougaard.. where is all that Hougaard mystique gone to.. all that goddamn FdP’s junior protege garbage we were hearing for how many months and years coming out of bloubevok country?
Up in bloody smoke.. Vermaak is nowhere near the caliber of athlete or adrenalin live wire that Hougaard is and as promising as Reinach might be he should be Hougaards understudy… and Hougaard should take the 9 jersey back from Pienaar.
These morons have destroyed one more top rate SA rugby player.. another one gone to the scrap heap .. well done you bunch of goddamn morons.. first you want to clone the dude into a carbon copy of FdP and when that is NOT his style you wanna chuck him on the scrap heap…bunch of f’ng useless dunces bar none…
17 Oct 2012, 19:10 pm
@sharks_lover-162:
He hasn’t put a foot wrong up to now, I think he might be the real deal
We need a scrumhalf to play scrumhalf, and leave the playmaking to the flyhalf, the way it’s supposed to be
Up to now we haven’t had a real general at 10, Morne is to jammer-dat-ek-lewe, no wonder FdP wore the pants, Grant’s foot would dominate at Bulletjie rugby level only and the Sharks didn’t trust Lamb at 10 so why should the Boks?
Goosen is a real 10 brimming with self confidenceand he needs a consistent scrumhalf to supply him with good ball, if only we could wrap him in cotton wool between tests and make him sleep in a hypobaric chamber to keep him injury free
Hougie’s passing is to slow and he arrives late at the rucks, and can’t kick at all
17 Oct 2012, 19:12 pm
@ahasaid theclown-166:
really.. on a plate you say..?.
how bout we make a bet, skoppie.
sharkies win i will never ever say a bad word about the ab’s, kiwis or refs again.
bulls win you henceforth refer to coach meyer respectfully and and only say complimentary, positive and encouraging things about the the boks and the bulls…
whadaya say…deal..?..
17 Oct 2012, 19:12 pm
@Transformation-121:
At least the moron was good for something I spose…..
17 Oct 2012, 19:13 pm
@Robzim-159: Is there any other type of Sharks fan?
17 Oct 2012, 19:15 pm
@aah-its-in-said-the-clown-166:
Hougie had his chances, the S15, against the Poms, the Championship and I’m afraid he never delivered
17 Oct 2012, 19:17 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-170: I was and am still backing Bulls.. but this little chickenarsed backtrack super bench ploy ala Rassie WC 2011 strategy is a gift from heaven landed in Sharks lap..
Vermaak is noway near to Hougaard’s busting breakneck capacity.. nowhere near, now Reinach has now got open cards to run the show as he pleases and so has Lambie just been given another 2 meters breathing space to suss out all his options.. Bulls have given the first ace to Sharks.. now its catch up all the way.. stupid moronic dumb backward thinking idiots.
17 Oct 2012, 19:19 pm
@ahasaid theclown-166:
> Dump goddamn idiots are the worst bloody rugby coaches on the planet..
Pine?
I agree he’s a k@k coach, the Boks returning unfortunately saved his bacon
> they don’t deserve any success and Bulls have just handed Sharks the early advantage
They play at home, so they had the advantage all along and they’re on top of the log because they’ve got a good coach
Hougie wouldn’t have beaten them on his own
FdP at his best might have though
17 Oct 2012, 19:20 pm
If you wanna see a typical Sharks fan ,Pedigree ,just head over to a restaurant at Kanalla and just look for the oke with the Santa Claus cheeks.
17 Oct 2012, 19:21 pm
@victoriabok-173: go check the ONE and only game Boks pumped on all cylinders this year was second game vs England at Ellis Park.. for 30 minutes Boks were pumping like nobody’s business.. flat out on all 6 cylinders pumping at full throttle … and then they took foot off the gas and stuck the shift back to second gear and Hougaard out on the wing and that was the end of that.. entire momentum gone titties up hell for glory.. and Hougaard’s self assertive confidence shattered to smithereens.. dumb fck idiotic dunces are not rugby coaches arseholes .. the entire pathetic lot of them combined.
17 Oct 2012, 19:23 pm
@victoriabok-175: Hougaard at 9 and Bulls stand at least more than 50 / 50 chance.. now they gone and given Sharks the hole shot advantage from minute one. Idiots.
17 Oct 2012, 19:24 pm
@ahasaid theclown-174:
ok fair, i huess we’ll have to see how it pans out on asturday.
17 Oct 2012, 19:25 pm
@victoriabok-146: Yeah; She’s a real catch these days
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2186842/How-did-Stallones-movie-star-wife-Brigitte-Nielsen-end-drunk-park.html
17 Oct 2012, 19:29 pm
@wnbb-176: I hope he (like Santa Claus) comes bearing gifts?
17 Oct 2012, 19:29 pm
@ahasaid theclown-178: I rate Vermaak as a better all round scrummie than Hougaard, who has great energy and athleticism but lacks in the skills dept.
Remember a year or two ago how they were calling for Vermaak’s call up??
17 Oct 2012, 19:30 pm
@stormersboy-180:
No more about the Great Dane.
We’ve only just settled capo down.
17 Oct 2012, 19:32 pm
@gunther-183: Check that link though.
Seriaaas come down.
I remember when she was in Cobra.
Not bad then, now, not so much
17 Oct 2012, 19:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-181:
A large rare rib eye steak is a gift in my book.
Washed down with a bottle of extratesticular’s 25 year old Pinotage.
17 Oct 2012, 19:33 pm
@ahasaid theclown-174:
> Vermaak is noway near to Hougaard’s busting breakneck capacity.. nowhere near, now Reinach has now got open cards to run the show as he pleases and so has Lambie just been given another 2 meters breathing space to suss out all his options..
Hougie tackles well but he puts the team under pressure as he arrives late at the rucks and his passing can be wild spoiling good front foot ball
17 Oct 2012, 19:34 pm
@stormersboy-180:
She’s starting to look like Dolpf Ludgren.
17 Oct 2012, 19:34 pm
@gunther-183: lol
17 Oct 2012, 19:37 pm
@stormersboy-182: Vermaak was PdV’s u19 or u21 scrum half.. so he got a bit of talent .. but pretty much middle of the road kinda stuff, Vermaak has more so called ‘vision’ ala FdP and perhaps a slightly better kicking game than Hougaard but he don’t come near Hougaards tenacity or sniping ability or athleticism or speed or strength or courage.. Hougaard should be the modern day Joost Vd Westhuizen and even better.. flat out adrenalin junkie all systems go nothing phases him one little iota.. take the Bull by the horns and ride it into the goddamn turf…. but no these dumb stupid ignorant backward think twats were wanting the reincarnation of Fourie du Preez .. so what they got now ?? Vermaak.. hallef’nglujah.. just fckng deserts.. they got what they aimed for which was one big fat unadulterated 2nd rate MISS…
17 Oct 2012, 19:37 pm
@victoriabok-186:
I want to see him at fullback for the bulls.
I have already sent a strongly worded email to Ludeke.
17 Oct 2012, 19:39 pm
@gunther-187:
Maybe we should send her to Skop, she’d still be good for some Skootskiet stress relief
17 Oct 2012, 19:42 pm
@victoriabok-191:
We’d have to get him a stool to stand on.
Maybe the Keolings can have a whip around and raise the funds.
Or we could apply for Lotto funding.
17 Oct 2012, 19:44 pm
@gunther-190:
He would be great with the extra space to get up to speed and to look for openings but he likes to be close to the action and would be out of position when they kick deep
Spies on the other relishes the opportunity to shun contact and to be as far from it as possible so he would be a good fit at fullback
That way we can keep Arno at no 8 as well
17 Oct 2012, 19:44 pm
Bulls best scrum half in the last ten years was a little darky called Heini Adams the one and only star that gifted them 2 SR trophy’s all on his ownsome lonesome.. and he couldn’t kick for sh’t.
17 Oct 2012, 19:45 pm
Guther that could work… He looked good when he played outside centre too, can certainly do no worse than JJ.
17 Oct 2012, 19:47 pm
@victoriabok-193:
Hougaard has a good boot and is devastating in broken play.
He would see more ball there than he ever does at wing.
17 Oct 2012, 19:47 pm
@gunther-192:
Do you think he’s got the “furniture” for that worn out “house”?
After all the Guvernator took her for a spin around on Conan’s sword…
17 Oct 2012, 19:49 pm
@mxhosa-195:
JJ doesn’t play enough at centre he looks confused defensively.
He is a much better bet on the wing.
Bulls need to bring Serfontein on sharpish.
17 Oct 2012, 19:49 pm
@gunther-196:
But a 15 should remain in position, he’ll never be able to resist the tempation and the opposite 10 would kick behind him
17 Oct 2012, 19:52 pm
@victoriabok-199:
Look it would be an adjustment for sure.
But I reckon he has the goods.
17 Oct 2012, 19:54 pm
@gunther-185:
What Pinotage is that? Very few SA winemakers, other than Boland Coetzee when he was at Kanonkop, made reds to mature that long, and even then his pinotage faded after 10 years. I had cases of both his ’74 Cabernet and Pinotage I bought on the farm. The Cabinet was probably the finest red produced here, but the last bottles of pinotage I drank were definitely weakening.
17 Oct 2012, 19:57 pm
@gunther-198:
Yeah that’s true, he looked a good prospect at WP, was surprised the Bulls picked him at centre, ahead of Sadie nogal (the man Meyer would’ve gone to the world cup had he been coach). I guess his 6ft3 frame had something to do with it.
17 Oct 2012, 19:58 pm
@David-201:
Agreed.
But extraball maintains otherwise.
The fact is almost no South African reds are made to cellar for that long.
Added to this is that very few South Africans have the cellars to keep a wine properly over that period.
17 Oct 2012, 20:03 pm
@David-201:
Was the Cabinet woody?
17 Oct 2012, 20:04 pm
@gunther-203:
Extraball smuggled two bottles of Pinotage out of the country in his alimentary tract during the struggle
After 15 painful hours on the plane to JFK he thinks it’s the nectar of the gods
17 Oct 2012, 20:05 pm
@ahasaid theclown-189:
I can’t agree. Yes, against the Lions in the 2nd Test he was clearing quickly, but he was also getting quick ball and never threatened the defense. When Pienaar came on he actually selected who he should pass to, something Hougie never did. For me, Hougaard is a brilliant opportunist but not a natural 9. Possibly he needs more time there during the S15 to mature, but until then he shouldn’t be considered as the primary Bok scrumhalf.
17 Oct 2012, 20:05 pm
@David-201:
Best year was 1978… brought me a magnum last time he visited, must admit it was a Cabernet… he surly knows his wine!
17 Oct 2012, 20:09 pm
In other news, Nike has pulled the plug on Lance Armstrong and he has stepped down as Chairperson of Livestrong.
“Not about the Bike” was one of my favourite books and the title says it all ’cause it wasn’t about the bike or his “natural” talent.
17 Oct 2012, 20:12 pm
@mxhosa-202:
Agreed.
Sadie was very out of sorts.
17 Oct 2012, 20:21 pm
I have always suspected Brigite Nielsen and Dolf Lundgren are the same person. I’ve never seen them together. Has anyone?
17 Oct 2012, 20:30 pm
@katman-210:
They were made in the same plastic factory
17 Oct 2012, 20:49 pm
@katman-210: It is said they were once siamese twins!!
17 Oct 2012, 20:50 pm
@Jeraldjay-208: robzim shedding a tear.
17 Oct 2012, 20:52 pm
@Transformation-213:
Real or fake tear?
17 Oct 2012, 20:54 pm
@sharks_lover-212:
She was an amazon in her youth
17 Oct 2012, 20:56 pm
@phil72-207:
When Bolands ’74 Cabernet came up at the Nederburg Wine auction a few years later, the Sotherbys auctioneer said that it put Boland amongst the ranks of the worlds great wine makers.
17 Oct 2012, 21:00 pm
@David-216:
Funny how all the odd years are bad and the even years special… why… do not know?
17 Oct 2012, 21:02 pm
@phil72-217:
Also depends on how we mature them.. in my cellar all doing great!
17 Oct 2012, 21:03 pm
@phil72-217: That was an ’80′s thing with Cab Sav 82 84 86 etc supposed to be the better.
Nice sales pitch.
17 Oct 2012, 21:07 pm
Anyway, I’m off. cheers guys.
17 Oct 2012, 21:16 pm
@stormersboy-219:
Did you forget about the Kanonkop 72…. arguably the best wine ever made in this country?
17 Oct 2012, 21:22 pm
@phil72-221: I was referring specifically to the ’80s years, there was this whole “even year” thing going on. I had occasion to chat to one of the main wine makers from Nederburg in the mid ’90s and that was what he said. Mostly hype.
I can’t speak to the 72 kanonkop. Know nothing about it, I am a fan of Beyers Truter’s Pinotage work though, He was the wine maker there for some time. My personal preference in variety, along with Merlot. Both nice drinking wines, nice and smooth.
And with Pinotage being mainly grown in SA for a long time, i consider it my patriotic duty, if you know what I mean