Kings still hoping for foreign favour
17 Oct 2012
The Southern Kings are still hoping that Saru will accommodate their foreign player situation next season.
A fortnight ago, the Kings announced the signings of Argentina and Toulouse scrumhalf Nicolas Vergallo and Blues utility back Hadleigh Parkes. The EP Kings already have Samoan wing Paul Perez and Kiwi prop Clint Newland in their domestic squad, who will also be available for the franchise in 2013.
The Kings made these deals despite the regulations stating that all local teams only have two foreign players in their final Super Rugby squads.
At the time, the Kings had sent a request to Saru for these restrictions to be lifted. The Melbourne Rebels were allowed 10 international imports for their first season in 2010.
The Eastern Cape franchise argued that because of Saru’s delayed announcement of their tournament status in August, they were prevented the chance from signing experienced South African players earlier in the year. The Kings stressed that their four foreign players will help them be competitive during their debut Super Rugby campaign next season.
However, Saru declined this request a week later.
This leaves the Kings in a difficult situation as all four players will be expecting to play Super Rugby. Kings president Cheeky Watson confirmed that negotiations with Saru are still ongoing.
‘It’s a tricky situation. We are still holding talks with Saru about it,’ Watson told keo.co.za. ‘We are hoping that they’ll be able to accommodate our situation.’

96 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
17 Oct 2012, 19:14 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-50:
did someone say ‘pokerface’..?..
17 Oct 2012, 19:14 pm
BB out for now.
17 Oct 2012, 19:16 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-51: Yeah, … “He who speak with forked tongue…”
Cheers for now.
17 Oct 2012, 19:20 pm
I can’t take another Kings thread
17 Oct 2012, 19:25 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-53:
17 Oct 2012, 19:26 pm
@Transformation-47: The way Jurie answered these questions just confirms what most of us already knew. The Kings and the Lions have both been set up to fail in some way, shape or form. SARU are the pisswillyfckfaceruntcnuts (thanks Fitzella)in this saga, and I wish folk would now realise that and back off on the Kings a little.
I would also like to challenge Joffe to send similar questions to the GLRFU executive regarding all of their wheelings, dealings, failings and stealings over the last decade. (Which is where I think he should have started to be honest)
I would like to see de Klerk and co put pen to paper to answer a few ‘difficult’ questions….perhaps Joffe can do that.
17 Oct 2012, 19:28 pm
@Dawn-54:
are you kidding?
its only gonna get better from here on in
dont be a hater, dawn
spread the love
17 Oct 2012, 20:08 pm
@Dawn-54: Exactly. SARU is a democracy, not a monarchy. Fck the Kings.
17 Oct 2012, 20:23 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-56: “it’s legacy issues”
17 Oct 2012, 20:32 pm
i like this jurie roux.
slippery f u k ker but thats what we need on the front lines.
17 Oct 2012, 20:50 pm
Joffe???…..another oke that thinks he is the most important cog in the wheel.Get real Jofman and accept that the Lions are no more….well,at least KdK says he’s got a bunch of Asian teams lined up for them to devour.
17 Oct 2012, 21:01 pm
Who on this globe can beat us for the headlines we conjure up any and every day?
Take these, for example, to clinch the point:
1. CSA board is ‘too white’.
Is ‘too pink’ not a better fit? The story is astounding but not surprising as will be revealed. Reminds me of a picture I saw Monday, of an all black pig with only its front legs pink(typifies a grossly compromised S.Africa)
2. Nike tells Lance to take a hike
A tearful ‘Army’ is portrayed. with this following caption:
Nike broke with Lance Armstrong Wednesday over his alleged doping and accused the disgraced cycling star of deceiving his sponsor for years.
3. Weak Armstrong quits Livestrong foundation.
Note the double ‘strong’ is weaker than the single weak.
A fidgeting ‘Army’ is revealed with the caption:
Lance Armstrong said Wednesday he is stepping down as chairman of his Livestrong cancer-fighting charity.
What was it that one with foresight said about his (‘Army’) friends dropping him like hot cake?
I swear it could not happen to a ‘greater’ CHAMPION of CHEATING.
17 Oct 2012, 21:12 pm
@Mostofyou-62:
Ons kan jou net sowel E.T. Nakamura noem, want jy veg nogsteeds dide struggle net soos die Japanese soldaat wat hulle in 1974 in die Fillipyne gekry het wat gedink het hy veg nog WWII
17 Oct 2012, 21:18 pm
@victoriabok-63: Some of your ilk,like the boeremag,are still trying to bring back the good old days of apartheid/white supremacy.
17 Oct 2012, 21:23 pm
@wnbb-64:
STFU Julius, go and rouse some rubble somewhere
17 Oct 2012, 21:29 pm
@victoriabok-65: Can’t handle the truth??Remember,you started it.
17 Oct 2012, 21:38 pm
@wnbb-66:
Ek karring nie met jou nie, dis ou ekstrabal wat nie uit die 80′s kan kom nie
Hy droom nog van sy Pluimbal Wêreldbeker toernooi in 1985
Hy sou die Roger Federer van sy dag gewees het
17 Oct 2012, 21:42 pm
@wnbb-66: orrible little farker
17 Oct 2012, 21:46 pm
@wnbb-61:
> Joffe???…..another oke that thinks he is the most important cog in the wheel
We need more guys like him, he loves to show how morally corrupt Keohane is
He needs to kick Keo in the nuts more regularly, ok crouch down and kick the dwarf in the nuts
17 Oct 2012, 21:55 pm
So, much of yesterday’s hatred has drained the many deceitful haters as shown by this weak response to another King’s thread?
17 Oct 2012, 22:02 pm
CSA board is ‘too pink’
A race row has broken out over the new board and chairmanship of Cricket SA – which a key figure has slammed as “too white”.
Shawn Christiansen was head of an independent interim nominations committee appointed by the acting CSA board to find five new independent board members. Christiansen and Denver Hendricks, Brian O’Connell and Ansie Ramahlo advertised the call for nominations from August 13 to September 14 and later submitted their selection.
Their nomination for the new chairman was Arendse, followed by Dawn Mokhobo, Vusi Pikoli, Louis von Zeuner and Mohamed Iqbal Khan.
The committee recommended that Geoff Whyte and Julian Smith play key roles in sub-committees.
Whyte was described as “a proven business leader with experience in the top echelons of leading global organisations”, while Professor Smith is vice-rector at the University of Stellenbosch and professor of literature and drama.
Yesterday, the CSA acting board announced its decision, saying it had debated the committee’s recommendations thoroughly and had settled on its choice, as was its prerogative.
The board confirmed that it wanted Mokhobo, Pikoli, Von Zeuner and Khan. But it dismissed Arendse both as a board member and specifically as chairman.
Instead, the board appointed Von Zeuner as chairman, and added Whyte in Arendse’s place.
Asked why the board had not accepted the interim nominations committee’s recommendations, acting president Willie Basson explained: “Independence was at the core of the argument the whole time.”
He said the definition of “independent” had been exhaustively debated.
Ultimately, they had agreed that “independent excludes anyone who had anything to do with cricket in the past three years”.
Christiansen said he was unhappy that the nomination of Arendse had not been accepted.
The naming of two white people in the list of five – Von Zeunen and Whyte – left him “concerned about the demographics”.
He said the fact that CSA would have a white chairman was problematic, because cricket in SA “already has white captains, a white coach and a white CEO and a white acting president” – a reference to skippers Graeme Smith and AB de Villiers, Gary Kirsten and Jonathan Faull and Willie Basson.
“The coloured community in South Africa makes up an important constituency of cricket… as does the Indian community and the white community.
“We wanted to make sure that all our communities and races are sufficiently represented on this committee. So… we nominated Norman Arendse.”
Arendse said the supposed “involvement” in cricket in the past three years was “ridiculous” and included no actual involvement whatsoever.
Furthermore, this criterion had only been inserted into CSA’s articles of association after his nomination and interview, and was thus “patently unfair”.
Mostofyou here are fakes as is demonstrated with this DECEITFUL attempt at racism almost 20 years into the false democracy.
Trust ‘pinkies’? Not even my cold dead body would.
@Mostofyou-70:
70 is about right
That’s going to be the average points scored against the Kings
@Mostofyou-70: ag dont be so hard on yourself, your response wasnt that weak.
17 Oct 2012, 22:05 pm
@Mostofyou-71:
> Not even my cold dead body
Sies man, moenie ons onnodig bly maak nie
17 Oct 2012, 22:06 pm
@Mostofyou-71: arendse is a tunc.
so thankfully he is being left in the cold.
17 Oct 2012, 22:07 pm
arendse destroyed careers and used people as racial pawns.
pig.
17 Oct 2012, 22:11 pm
Do we have a silent form of censorship prevailing on this site now?
Why do you fakes not speak to post #71
Too shameful in 2012?
What do you expect from CSA when the aptly named president is one Willie Basson.
What is the chance he has family named Wouter ‘die kloutert’?
17 Oct 2012, 22:14 pm
The TRUTH is, the eminently educated Arendse seeks NO more than genuine non-racial sport, including cricket.
That is your lesson for another of your lying days.
Loop mooi want dit kan ook ‘dying days’ word.
17 Oct 2012, 22:16 pm
-75:
But CSA is again a SKUNK causing a racial STINK as the story hiiting the media shows.
17 Oct 2012, 22:18 pm
@Mostofyou-79: no, some oke is trying to play race by numbers and got the finger.
its beyewdiful.
17 Oct 2012, 22:25 pm
@Mostofyou-78:
> NO more than genuine non-racial sport
If he shares your views it means NO Pinkies correct?
> Loop mooi want dit kan ook ‘dying days’ word
Again don’t let your mouth write cheques your a-ss can’t cash
17 Oct 2012, 22:32 pm
Who on that independent committee chosen has more knowledge and cricketing background than Storming Norman. Certainly not even Wouter’s klouter Willie the acting president. You will predictably choose not to honestly answer this question. Expect just another empty joke or comment.
Stormin Norman is seeped in non-racial sport as is Prof Julian Smith who you do not even know was the very best scrum-half in his day and was the captain of the genuine SARU XV of his time(every year).
I am gone.
17 Oct 2012, 22:34 pm
@victoriabok-81:
Pinkies are the racist.
Non-racial people have NO hue.
Slaap mooi ou kleintjie grobbelaar.
17 Oct 2012, 22:37 pm
@Mostofyou-83:
If you ID anyone as a “pinkie” the racist is you
Doos
17 Oct 2012, 22:41 pm
@Mostofyou-82:
> Stormin Norman is seeped in non-racial sport
Non-racial as in only comrades need to apply, no formal sport experience needed
Klipgooi is net soos krieket anyway
> Prof Julian Smith who you do not even know was the very best scrum-half in his day and was the captain of the genuine SARU XV of his time
Yeah right, if he asked pretty pretty please with sugar on top he might have been allowed to clean Divan’s toks
17 Oct 2012, 22:44 pm
@Mostofyou-83:
> Slaap mooi
Wie slaap, dis 13:43
18 Oct 2012, 05:48 am
Roux and Hoskins, you both deserve a jail cell on either side of Gerald Majola. And the sooner it comes, for all three of you, the better, you lying collection of scum.
Just one more reason to despise the Kings.
18 Oct 2012, 06:30 am
@joe maher: ag shame
18 Oct 2012, 06:33 am
This is becoming a joke, We all know the Lions are going to be shafted by SARU next year, Cheeky will have run out of money and ducked, Super Kings will have a debt the size of Eastern Province government, and we would have gone back 10 years in rugby.
18 Oct 2012, 06:50 am
@Mostofyou-71: I knew you were dead. No living person could possible show so little sign of brain activity.
18 Oct 2012, 06:54 am
@Mostofyou-78: Arendse has been found out. The further he is kept from SA Cricket the better.
18 Oct 2012, 07:40 am
@umkhonto-89: pipe down & look @ your own union before sprouting about debt..
since cheeky & anele took over they’ce worked tirelessly to clean up EPRU & the union has got unqualified audits since with no amount money going unaccounted for…
18 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
@Transformation-47: @BrumbiesBoy-50: Any news for me yet?
18 Oct 2012, 12:08 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-48: because nobody in SARU is accountable for anything…SARU is the unions
18 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
@Transformation-94: At least you’re being honest!
However, please do me a favour now and go back to Katman’s #11 again.
Thanks
18 Oct 2012, 13:39 pm
The irritating part about all these organisations who make decisions based on grounds other than excellence (like “transformation” etc) is that they back it up with OUR money. SARU, CSA etc etc don’t have any money. It’s our money from buying tickets, paying for DSTV or just plain tax robbery proceeds.
Then they give it to Cheeky (should be changed to Crooked) and his lighty to pocket and import players to compete with SA’s players. Let alone Norman “The Rat” Arendse and his mate Majola.
Absolutely crazy. No wonder the AB’s donner us with depressing regularity. We ask for it and pay for it with OUR cash. Ja nee boet.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All