Kings still hoping for foreign favour

The Southern Kings are still hoping that Saru will accommodate their foreign player situation next season.

A fortnight ago, the Kings announced the signings of Argentina and Toulouse scrumhalf Nicolas Vergallo and Blues utility back Hadleigh Parkes. The EP Kings already have Samoan wing Paul Perez and Kiwi prop Clint Newland in their domestic squad, who will also be available for the franchise in 2013.

The Kings made these deals despite the regulations stating that all local teams only have two foreign players in their final Super Rugby squads.

At the time, the Kings had sent a request to Saru for these restrictions to be lifted. The Melbourne Rebels were allowed 10 international imports for their first season in 2010.

The Eastern Cape franchise argued that because of Saru’s delayed announcement of their tournament status in August, they were prevented the chance from signing experienced South African players earlier in the year. The Kings stressed that their four foreign players will help them be competitive during their debut Super Rugby campaign next season.

However, Saru declined this request a week later.

This leaves the Kings in a difficult situation as all four players will be expecting to play Super Rugby. Kings president Cheeky Watson confirmed that negotiations with Saru are still ongoing.

‘It’s a tricky situation. We are still holding talks with Saru about it,’ Watson told keo.co.za. ‘We are hoping that they’ll be able to accommodate our situation.’

96 Comments

• 1.suffer_guy: Reply to this comment

Be clever cheeky…. dont build for super rugby… build a team to beat Lions next year in the relegation match…sign big names now for that game en beyond

• 2.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Ag sorry SARU, we contracted these okes before we were told our demands were not going to be met.

Then again, anything other side of the Fish River is foreign to them.

• 3.cjgrove: Reply to this comment

I agree with allowing more foreign players in a team but… NOT THE KINGS.

They promised to be the White Knight of PE!

• 4.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i too feel they should do their best with the local players we have.

• 5.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

The promotion/relegation games are less than a year from now. I hope SARU will not wait until the last minute to set the rules for this game ito which players will be allowed to play in those matches …

• 6.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@suffer_guy-1: The words clever and Cheeky in the same sentence………some other words come to mind but the moderator will have his hands full!!

• 7.lepel: Reply to this comment

SARU doesn’t seem sure whether they want the Kings to succeed or to fail. One day they help them, the next they hinder them. SARU is the problem with South African rugby, nothing else…

• 8.RAI8: Reply to this comment

Cheecky must fcukoff! What a prick!!

• 9.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Never trust a man who wears darkglasses during an interview…

• 10.gunther: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-9:

The future’s so bright he’s gotta wear shades.

#wemusthaveit.

• 11.katman: Reply to this comment

Sorry Cheeky, the tribe has spoken.
    Your foreign players will be limited to:
    …………./´¯/)……….. (\¯`\
    …………/….//……….. …\\….\
    ………../….//………… ….\\….\
    …../´¯/…./´¯\………../¯ `\….\¯`\
    .././…/…./…./.|_……_| .\….\….\…\.\..
    (.(….(….(…./.)..)..(..(. \….)….)….).)
    .\…………….\/…/….\. ..\/……………./
    ..\…………….. /……..\………………/
    ….\…………..(………. ..)……………./
    ……\………….\……… ../…………./

• 12.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

http://www.sport24.co.za/Columnists/GraemeJoffe/SA-Rugby-responds-20121017

This is rather interesting.

• 13.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Kings must keep the pressure on to get their way. Go Kings!

• 14.katman: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri-13: Indeed. Go Kings. And don’t let Beitbridge stop you.

• 15.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@katman-11: Oh excellent, Katman!

• 16.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-12:

So Jurie is a liar?

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-12: this joffers character is amusing… :D

• 18.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-16: It would seem so. Which is why I have zero faith in the upcoming promotion relegation match between the Cheetahs and the Kings. The Cheetahs are going to smash Cheeky’s boys, but Jurie & Co will wait till a month before the CC kicks off and find a way to include the Kings anyway. Probably force the Cheetahs and Griquas to merge. Maybe even merge the towns of Bloem and Kimberley.

• 19.katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-17: Perhaps, but that doesn’t alter the fact that Jurie is an outright liar, and has been caught out in clear black and white.

• 20.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-18:

sheeshkebab that is very embraboer.

saru looking inept.

again.

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-16: Jurie is tryna be slick :D

Thu, 16 Aug 2012 16:03

Chairman Oregan Hoskins explained that as all six franchises will continue to get financial support, SARU are happy that they have stayed true to their promise that the resolution would not be at the expense of any franchise.

“What we were referring to was that the team that fell out would be assisted by South African rugby. The extent to which that will happen we obviously still have to look at in conjunction with that franchise,” he said.

Jurie Roux adds on:

“When we made that statement in parliament and subsequent to that nobody ever asked us what was going to be the ‘at no expense’, nobody asked us for clarification on that and that is what it was – we need to look at that franchise and we need to look at opportunities for that franchise where we can assist them in keeping their franchise running and being able to compete should they win promotion next year,” he said.

• 22.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-21:

that’s kak and he knows it.

the expense in that context clearly refers to participation not renumeration.

I’m phoning Carte Blanche immediately.

• 23.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@katman-11:

with creative accounting that could easily be calculated to mean 11 :shock:

• 24.katman: Reply to this comment

Fck that, I’m putting Deborah Patta onto him. He’ll be crying for his Oregan in less than 5 minutes.

• 25.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-24:

Indeed she is a feisty one.

I saw her in the flesh.

I’m not ashamed to say I made a little wee.

• 26.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@katman-14: You are such a hater! :lol:

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-25: he fake tan is too much though… :D

• 28.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-27:

I must say shehad not tanlines at all when I last saw her.

• 29.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@gunther-28: :lol:

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-28: in the nude, you mean?

• 31.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-30:

but keep it on the downlow.

fuckadilly will be very jaloors.

• 32.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-31: He always fancied a bit of Patta Patta.

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-31: skop prefers Noeleen… :D

• 34.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-32:

That will get him down from the roof sharpish.

@Transformation-33:

Mo cushin fo da pushin.

• 35.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-21:

I see you are using my evidence!

• 36.Rooibaard2000: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-12: Holy Moly…. Jurie Roux is being less than honest… a SARU exec being a little econcomical with the truth… I won’t believe it! It cannot be true! Seriously though… SARU are so inept and so full of lies that any half decent journalist woulod have them spinning in circles. What the GLRU really eed though, is a half decent litigator to smoke those chimpanzees! Jurie and Hoskins need to be depployed elsewhere… EP Rugby might take them :-)

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Rooibaard2000-36: Manie Reyneke is that you?

• 38.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RL-35: i thought of you when i saw this :D

7. How much money has SARU put into the Kings since becoming a shareholder?
    JR: Not a cent.

• 39.RL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-38: was that Joffers my boy. :lol:

Just hope that Jurie can be his usual slimy duplictious self when renegotiating the super deal.

• 40.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

we will not go quietly in the night… you have to admire cheeky watson. the kings are in super rugby to stay

• 41.RL: Reply to this comment

3. Why was the onus on the Unions to come up with a solution – when in fact SARU put the cart before the horse with a “16th” franchise?
    JR: SARU is the unions

• 42.RL: Reply to this comment

10. Why is the onus on the provinces to confirm that an agent acting for a player is properly accredited? Surely, the onus is on SARU?
    JR: Because SARU is not a party to a union’s negotiations with its players and therefore cannot know who is acting for whom.

But SARU is the unions Jurie. :lol:

• 43.RL: Reply to this comment

11. Why did SARU not look at including the Kings in the Currie Cup 3-4 years ago?
    JR: The Kings are in the Currie Cup.

• 44.RL: Reply to this comment

Hahahaha Joffers my boy – you will never win with that demon Jurie Roux.

“By: Graeme Joffe
    2012-10-17 09:42
    It’s a start.

SA Rugby have responded to the questions in my last column, but most of the answers have left me with more questions.”

• 45.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-38: Your opinion on Graham Joffe’s article, please. And remember, no lies. :-)

P.S. And don’t even think of saying Roux’s obviously been misquoted, because nobody on here will believe you.

• 46.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-12: Excellent news this, thanks very much for posting it.

Joffers has these interviews published in a Johannesburg daily every Saturday; can’t wait to see what else is in there this week.

• 47.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-45: joffers is on a hiding to nothing trying to nail jurie the eel!

• 48.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-47: Why do you say that?

Because Jurie’s got “friends in high places” perhaps?

• 49.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@RL-43:
    i can picture him saying this with a straight face :lol:

• 50.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49: With his darkglasses on, no doubt.

• 51.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-50:

did someone say ‘pokerface’..?.. :lol:

• 52.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

BB out for now.

• 53.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-51: Yeah, … “He who speak with forked tongue…”

Cheers for now.

• 54.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I can’t take another Kings thread

• 55.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-53:

• 56.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-47: The way Jurie answered these questions just confirms what most of us already knew. The Kings and the Lions have both been set up to fail in some way, shape or form. SARU are the pisswillyfckfaceruntcnuts (thanks Fitzella)in this saga, and I wish folk would now realise that and back off on the Kings a little.

I would also like to challenge Joffe to send similar questions to the GLRFU executive regarding all of their wheelings, dealings, failings and stealings over the last decade. (Which is where I think he should have started to be honest)

I would like to see de Klerk and co put pen to paper to answer a few ‘difficult’ questions….perhaps Joffe can do that.

• 57.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-54:
    are you kidding?
    its only gonna get better from here on in :grin:

dont be a hater, dawn
    spread the love

• 58.katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-54: Exactly. SARU is a democracy, not a monarchy. Fck the Kings.

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-56: “it’s legacy issues”

• 60.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i like this jurie roux.

slippery f u k ker but thats what we need on the front lines.

• 61.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Joffe???…..another oke that thinks he is the most important cog in the wheel.Get real Jofman and accept that the Lions are no more….well,at least KdK says he’s got a bunch of Asian teams lined up for them to devour.

• 62.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

Who on this globe can beat us for the headlines we conjure up any and every day?

Take these, for example, to clinch the point:

1. CSA board is ‘too white’.

Is ‘too pink’ not a better fit? The story is astounding but not surprising as will be revealed. Reminds me of a picture I saw Monday, of an all black pig with only its front legs pink(typifies a grossly compromised S.Africa)

2. Nike tells Lance to take a hike

A tearful ‘Army’ is portrayed. with this following caption:

Nike broke with Lance Armstrong Wednesday over his alleged doping and accused the disgraced cycling star of deceiving his sponsor for years.

3. Weak Armstrong quits Livestrong foundation.

Note the double ‘strong’ is weaker than the single weak.

A fidgeting ‘Army’ is revealed with the caption:
    Lance Armstrong said Wednesday he is stepping down as chairman of his Livestrong cancer-fighting charity.

What was it that one with foresight said about his (‘Army’) friends dropping him like hot cake?
    I swear it could not happen to a ‘greater’ CHAMPION of CHEATING.

• 63.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-62:

Ons kan jou net sowel E.T. Nakamura noem, want jy veg nogsteeds dide struggle net soos die Japanese soldaat wat hulle in 1974 in die Fillipyne gekry het wat gedink het hy veg nog WWII

• 64.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-63: Some of your ilk,like the boeremag,are still trying to bring back the good old days of apartheid/white supremacy.

• 65.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-64:

STFU Julius, go and rouse some rubble somewhere

• 66.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-65: Can’t handle the truth??Remember,you started it. :D

• 67.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-66:

Ek karring nie met jou nie, dis ou ekstrabal wat nie uit die 80′s kan kom nie

Hy droom nog van sy Pluimbal Wêreldbeker toernooi in 1985

Hy sou die Roger Federer van sy dag gewees het

• 68.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-66: orrible little farker :lol:

• 69.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-61:

> Joffe???…..another oke that thinks he is the most important cog in the wheel

We need more guys like him, he loves to show how morally corrupt Keohane is

He needs to kick Keo in the nuts more regularly, ok crouch down and kick the dwarf in the nuts

• 70.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

So, much of yesterday’s hatred has drained the many deceitful haters as shown by this weak response to another King’s thread?

• 71.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

CSA board is ‘too pink’

A race row has broken out over the new board and chairmanship of Cricket SA – which a key figure has slammed as “too white”.

Shawn Christiansen was head of an independent interim nominations committee appointed by the acting CSA board to find five new independent board members. Christiansen and Denver Hendricks, Brian O’Connell and Ansie Ramahlo advertised the call for nominations from August 13 to September 14 and later submitted their selection.
    Their nomination for the new chairman was Arendse, followed by Dawn Mokhobo, Vusi Pikoli, Louis von Zeuner and Mohamed Iqbal Khan.

The committee recommended that Geoff Whyte and Julian Smith play key roles in sub-committees.

Whyte was described as “a proven business leader with experience in the top echelons of leading global organisations”, while Professor Smith is vice-rector at the University of Stellenbosch and professor of literature and drama.

Yesterday, the CSA acting board announced its decision, saying it had debated the committee’s recommendations thoroughly and had settled on its choice, as was its prerogative.

The board confirmed that it wanted Mokhobo, Pikoli, Von Zeuner and Khan. But it dismissed Arendse both as a board member and specifically as chairman.

Instead, the board appointed Von Zeuner as chairman, and added Whyte in Arendse’s place.

Asked why the board had not accepted the interim nominations committee’s recommendations, acting president Willie Basson explained: “Independence was at the core of the argument the whole time.”

He said the definition of “independent” had been exhaustively debated.

Ultimately, they had agreed that “independent excludes anyone who had anything to do with cricket in the past three years”.

Christiansen said he was unhappy that the nomination of Arendse had not been accepted.

The naming of two white people in the list of five – Von Zeunen and Whyte – left him “concerned about the demographics”.

He said the fact that CSA would have a white chairman was problematic, because cricket in SA “already has white captains, a white coach and a white CEO and a white acting president” – a reference to skippers Graeme Smith and AB de Villiers, Gary Kirsten and Jonathan Faull and Willie Basson.

“The coloured community in South Africa makes up an important constituency of cricket… as does the Indian community and the white community.

“We wanted to make sure that all our communities and races are sufficiently represented on this committee. So… we nominated Norman Arendse.”

Arendse said the supposed “involvement” in cricket in the past three years was “ridiculous” and included no actual involvement whatsoever.

Furthermore, this criterion had only been inserted into CSA’s articles of association after his nomination and interview, and was thus “patently unfair”.

Mostofyou here are fakes as is demonstrated with this DECEITFUL attempt at racism almost 20 years into the false democracy.
    Trust ‘pinkies’? Not even my cold dead body would.

• 72.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-70:

70 is about right

That’s going to be the average points scored against the Kings

• 73.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-70: ag dont be so hard on yourself, your response wasnt that weak.

• 74.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-71:

> Not even my cold dead body

Sies man, moenie ons onnodig bly maak nie

• 75.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-71: arendse is a tunc.

so thankfully he is being left in the cold.

• 76.rangerman: Reply to this comment

arendse destroyed careers and used people as racial pawns.

pig.

• 77.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

Do we have a silent form of censorship prevailing on this site now?

Why do you fakes not speak to post #71

Too shameful in 2012?

What do you expect from CSA when the aptly named president is one Willie Basson.
    What is the chance he has family named Wouter ‘die kloutert’?

• 78.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

The TRUTH is, the eminently educated Arendse seeks NO more than genuine non-racial sport, including cricket.
    That is your lesson for another of your lying days.

Loop mooi want dit kan ook ‘dying days’ word.

• 79.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

-75:

But CSA is again a SKUNK causing a racial STINK as the story hiiting the media shows.

• 80.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-79: no, some oke is trying to play race by numbers and got the finger.

its beyewdiful.

• 81.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-78:

> NO more than genuine non-racial sport

If he shares your views it means NO Pinkies correct?

> Loop mooi want dit kan ook ‘dying days’ word

Again don’t let your mouth write cheques your a-ss can’t cash

• 82.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

Who on that independent committee chosen has more knowledge and cricketing background than Storming Norman. Certainly not even Wouter’s klouter Willie the acting president. You will predictably choose not to honestly answer this question. Expect just another empty joke or comment.

Stormin Norman is seeped in non-racial sport as is Prof Julian Smith who you do not even know was the very best scrum-half in his day and was the captain of the genuine SARU XV of his time(every year).

I am gone.

• 83.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-81:

Pinkies are the racist.

Non-racial people have NO hue.

Slaap mooi ou kleintjie grobbelaar.

• 84.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-83:

If you ID anyone as a “pinkie” the racist is you

Doos

• 85.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-82:

> Stormin Norman is seeped in non-racial sport

Non-racial as in only comrades need to apply, no formal sport experience needed

Klipgooi is net soos krieket anyway

> Prof Julian Smith who you do not even know was the very best scrum-half in his day and was the captain of the genuine SARU XV of his time

Yeah right, if he asked pretty pretty please with sugar on top he might have been allowed to clean Divan’s toks

• 86.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-83:

> Slaap mooi

Wie slaap, dis 13:43

• 87.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

Roux and Hoskins, you both deserve a jail cell on either side of Gerald Majola. And the sooner it comes, for all three of you, the better, you lying collection of scum.

Just one more reason to despise the Kings.

• 88.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@joe maher: ag shame :lol:

• 89.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

This is becoming a joke, We all know the Lions are going to be shafted by SARU next year, Cheeky will have run out of money and ducked, Super Kings will have a debt the size of Eastern Province government, and we would have gone back 10 years in rugby.

• 90.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-71: I knew you were dead. No living person could possible show so little sign of brain activity.

• 91.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-78: Arendse has been found out. The further he is kept from SA Cricket the better.

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@umkhonto-89: pipe down & look @ your own union before sprouting about debt.. :D

since cheeky & anele took over they’ce worked tirelessly to clean up EPRU & the union has got unqualified audits since with no amount money going unaccounted for…

• 93.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-47: @BrumbiesBoy-50: Any news for me yet?

• 94.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-48: because nobody in SARU is accountable for anything…SARU is the unions :D

• 95.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-94: At least you’re being honest! :-)

However, please do me a favour now and go back to Katman’s #11 again.

• 96.husky: Reply to this comment

The irritating part about all these organisations who make decisions based on grounds other than excellence (like “transformation” etc) is that they back it up with OUR money. SARU, CSA etc etc don’t have any money. It’s our money from buying tickets, paying for DSTV or just plain tax robbery proceeds.

Then they give it to Cheeky (should be changed to Crooked) and his lighty to pocket and import players to compete with SA’s players. Let alone Norman “The Rat” Arendse and his mate Majola.

Absolutely crazy. No wonder the AB’s donner us with depressing regularity. We ask for it and pay for it with OUR cash. Ja nee boet.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.