Rugby fans must move with the times
17 Oct 2012
JON CARDINELLI writes that supporters and reporters pushing for an out-and-out attacking philosophy have zero appreciation for the current laws and trends.
You cannot go to a Stormers or Western Province press conference nowadays without hearing the same questions being asked. ‘When is the ball going to get to the wings? Why aren’t we playing rugby like the great Province team of the 1980s?’
Allister Coetzee had fewer grey hairs when he first started as head coach. Every week since he’s had to listen to ignorant and misinformed reporters whining about running rugby. He’s also had to endure criticism and accusations that the Cape side play a boring brand.
Springbok and WP captain Jean de Villiers looked exhausted when he faced the media last week, and perhaps that’s what caused him to forget protocol when answering this question for the umpteenth time.
De Villiers pointed to the Super Rugby competition as an example, where the Stormers had finished top of the 16-team league. Why, De Villiers asked, would they change a game plan that allowed them to win the South African conference? Indeed, it was just a week or so before De Villiers’s return that an experimental and more attacking approach had cost WP in a Currie Cup match.
The Stormers and WP are not the only teams to be criticised in this manner.
Bok coach Heyneke Meyer’s game plan is considered by many to be overly conservative. I’ve watched Meyer closely when he’s been asked about the game plan, I’ve seen him roll his eyes. The reporters have asked him, they’ve begged him, to change tact. Why oh why, they pleaded, couldn’t the Boks play attacking rugby like the All Blacks?
These people haven’t got a clue.
The All Blacks won all six of their Rugby Championship matches, and it was before that final match at Soccer City when Meyer made special mention of the New Zealanders’ defence. Their record in this year’s tournament will show that they’re the best defensive side by some distance, having conceded just six tries. After the game at the Calabash, Meyer again paid tribute to that defence, as well as the game management of flyhalf Dan Carter.
The All Blacks may be the finest attacking team on the planet, but their defence and kicking game has been the bedrock of their success. This has allowed them to win the 2011 World Cup, as well as the 2012 Rugby Championship, and has put them into a position to break the record for the most consecutive Test victories.
The All Blacks conceded one try per game in the Rugby Championship. The tournament average was 1.83. It’s clear the All Blacks were a cut above in this department, but when you compare this stat to the averages of lesser competitions, it confirms that defences are harder to crack at the elite level.
The defence may be weaker as you drop down the tiers of competition, but the common denominator is that the best defensive teams in the respective tournaments either go on to top the log or win a trophy. It wasn’t a surprise to see the best defensive teams finishing in the top six of the Super Rugby league. The round robin phase of the Currie Cup recently concluded, and wouldn’t you know it, the teams with the best defensive records have advanced to the play-offs.
One level down, and it is the Eastern Province Kings who have topped the First Division log, their unbeaten record closely correlated with defensive stats that read 27 tries conceded in 14 matches, 19 tries fewer than the second-placed Pumas.
Coincidence? I think not.
What rugby supporters need to understand is that the current law set prescribes an outstanding defence and kicking game as the key ingredients to any title surge. There may be instances where a team doesn’t execute effectively on the day, as has been the case for a few Cape teams over the past few seasons, but that doesn’t mean that the game plan is at fault.
The fact that teams like the All Blacks and the Sharks have enjoyed such try-scoring success shouldn’t detract from their defensive strengths. The Sharks started to come right towards the end of the Super Rugby competition when they embraced a balanced approach (they altered their previous strategy which had placed too much emphasis on attack). In the 2012 Currie Cup, they have finished the league in first place, having scored the most tries and conceded the fewest.
If you can wrap your head around these trends, you will realise why the Bok game plan is not flawed. I’m not saying the Boks are exempt from criticism, but rather that they should be judged and scrutinised within this framework.
Does Meyer have the right personnel for this game plan? Are the players executing the game plan efficiently? These are the questions the intelligent rugby supporter should be asking, not when the Boks, WP or the Bulls are going to start running the ball from their own tryline.
If you don’t like the way the game is played nowadays, by all means channel your aggression into a strongly worded letter to the IRB. The world’s coaches and players develop their game plans according to the laws. If the rules were tweaked so that the breakdown wasn’t such a lottery, perhaps more teams would take more attacking risks in their own half. There would be less kicking and more running.
For now, that remains a pipe dream. As long as the rules remain as is, teams will continue to place an emphasis on kicking and defence. It’s something that rugby fans must learn to accept: that there are no prizes for losing beautifully.

270 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All
17 Oct 2012, 10:16 am
Morning Kiwis
17 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
our players are more skilful, face it..
Reads catch before the Whitelock try was superb, as was Nonu’s off Read when Nonu scored.
Id wager good money both of those passes would have been dropped by SA players..
17 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
I have no problem with us using a kicking game. But the issue is us relying only on it. Its sometimes so funny watching the boks kick the ball away when they have numbers out wide. Any of you thinking it will change soon are dreaming. HM is not going to change. He is the problem. Forget Mallet and the moody boys. Lets bring back Gert Smal.
17 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
Sa needs to find balance to its game more often. We struggle with this.
17 Oct 2012, 10:19 am
@mpundulu-77: Almost a dream team
I would add a League coach from somewhere as an ‘attack/skills’ consultant. An outsider.
That is my dream…..for the Stormers, and the Boks – a League coach from somewhere in Oz or NZ, who has not been indoctrinated with any sort of crash/boom/bang blueprint. A fellow who only knows how to coach players to keep the ball alive….(and who has ZERO previous connections with rugby in SA)
What a breath of fresh air that would be, someone to challenge the age old beliefs.
17 Oct 2012, 10:19 am
Poppa
Open the other eye mate.
17 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@skunk-103: I agree 100%
I said the same think a few days ago to PA.
17 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
@poppa69-102: Morning Blues man
Who will be filling in for Ma’a next year? I’m starting to get a little concerned……Any rumours of additional signings, other than the pretty low key ones already announced?
17 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
@skunk-106: you mean your backline didnt stuff up in Dunedin by not being able to pass the ball?
same as the 1/4 final in 2011?
ok then..
17 Oct 2012, 10:22 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-105: Is a great team, problem is the main 3 would all want to be the main oke
17 Oct 2012, 10:22 am
Still the same person calling us cheats etc.
The same person was telling me(i am a Maori living in NZ ) what it was like living in NZ as a Maori…. does this guy ever shut up.
17 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
It’s funny how such a puerile article can have seemingly semsible muppets (Tacticus) admiring it. Kind of proves the point that SA fans are somewhat behind. I think though that truth is that, journo’s, coaches, administrators and officials are way behind the times in SA. Then the players and fans just well, behind.
The article is just waffle and conjecture; no real meat. For example, my guess is that SA did not kick the most in the last series; but all fans say they kick too much (we won’t talk about effectiveness). Then it’s easy to waffle about defence but the AB’s first try came from a back row forward on the wing running at a crocked Goosen (why was he still on the field?). Now recall how many howled about Bekker and Matfield being in the backline (me too as they all were, no one protecting the tackle ball!!). It’s good coaching of the basics that is lacking in SA. Just on defense, the Bok coaches do not seem to know how to drill and organise defensive patterns that have to change all the time based on marking. They cannot seem to teach players to mark and identify superior numbers and overlaps; the very basis for successful attack in rugby.
@Bakkies; no good whining bru. I actually agree with you but until our oafficials and administrators grow a pair (Craig J – that’s you as well as Watson et al) and work out how to expose this “cheating”, it will continue for sure. McCaw is not just a good player on the field, he is very good at worming his way into the hearts and minds of officials who then somehow miss his, and his team’s, onfield transgressions.
17 Oct 2012, 10:25 am
@skunk-103:
2009 was built around defence and accurate kicking.
We all know what SA is aiming for. But this time we have backs that can actually catch the ball and run with speed and power. I believe we have got the SA game sorted.
17 Oct 2012, 10:26 am
I don’t buy into the idea that big coaching personalities can’t work together to put forward an informed rugby product. Henry, Hansen, Wayne Smith, Mike Cron, and Mick Byrne are regarded as the best in their respective fields worked within an AB environment where Henry encouraged debate amongst themselves and with the senior leaders within the player group.
The bok coaching group doesn’t hold a candle to Hansen, Foster, Fox, Aussie Maclean, Mick Byrne, and Mike Cron. Hansen is continuing Henry’s coaching philosophy and it’s working.
17 Oct 2012, 10:27 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-108: More young lady.. no rumours that I know off..
Frances Saiili is a good prospect at 12 and Malakai Fekitoa at 13 is another to watch… we are going to be pushing the kings for last spot next year, so not going to be pretty… ouir forwards are really going to struggle.
still, we wont have to listen to Bakkies because he wont be watching super rugby anymore, thats a positive
17 Oct 2012, 10:28 am
@sharks_lover-110: I like the idea of 3 hotheads fighting it out in the coaching stakes. Progress has NEVER ridden on the backs of a bunch of ja broers (yes messiah, no messiah)…..but rather on the backs of those who constantly challenge, question and argue.
Tis true
17 Oct 2012, 10:28 am
@mpundulu-114:
Yep but i am still not too sure on Foster.
Dont get me wrong we have looked really good in the backs but also at times we have looked clueless and below AB standard
17 Oct 2012, 10:32 am
@poppa69-115: Well my friend, I actually have news for you that is FAR worse than the news you have just given me RE: the Blues prospects
Prepare yourself.
Bakkies WILL be watching Super rugby next year. The Brycegate revelations have inspired a new period in the history of ‘The Bakkies’…..
I’m going to hunt for the post in which he states this.
17 Oct 2012, 10:32 am
JON, KAK KAK KAK KAK.
No one said that the Stormers must play 7′s rugby. Most people just said they needed a balance between attack and defense.
Yes they won the SA conference (which is the same as finishing on top of the currie cuo log, it means NOTHING).
Sh*t you guys write rubbish sometimes.
17 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
The Stormers gameplan actually only worked ONCE against the accepted top 3 teams (when they beat the Sharks in round 1).
They lost to the Saders, never played the Chiefs, and lost twice to the Sharks.
17 Oct 2012, 10:35 am
@londonshark-119: Amen. thats why i didnt bother even reading past the 3rd line
Poppa
they did mate. All i am saying is do not group the whole lot. Be balanced…
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-18: Bakkies when someone goes on the defensive like they are doing demonstrates guilt! ignore them and concentrate of purchasing all you will need to pick up your mood after my Sharks have sent your Bulls out of CC 2012
17 Oct 2012, 10:36 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-118: none of us believed he wouldnt watch next year..
seems a man of his word our bakkies..
this is the bloke who loved the chiefs up until the final lmfao
17 Oct 2012, 10:37 am
@londonshark-120: All one has to do is look ast tries for and tries against by all our teams, one then sees who is getting the ballance right in combining defense and attack, that happy medium
17 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@Sharksgirl-123:
And what guilt is that?
17 Oct 2012, 10:40 am
@skunk-95:
no, its not.
the boks are tainted intentionally so for us to do the same easily and quickly gets us into trouble, whereas they are allowed free reign.
besides, all should be equal before the law but we aren’t. you only have to look at some of the ridiculous reson for which bok players have been sin binned and worse yet were only guilty of doing similar and in many instances LESS than kiwi always do.
danie’s sin binning in 2010… what a larf…
or bakkies….
or some of the penalties given against us were the biggest joke going.
@sharks_lover-98:
agree on most points.
but as i’ve said above, our hands have been tied for the last 15 years so its pointless for us to try and cheat the way they do. what a kak way to win games though against oppostion who have one hand in the fight and then crow after, as if you actually achieved something.
17 Oct 2012, 10:41 am
@Hurricane-126: SA’s are sheeple mate, they all fall for the whole cheating angle..
its to relieve the fact they know they just arent good enough
Our forwards have more skills in offloading and passing then their backs do..
17 Oct 2012, 10:42 am
@husky-112:
yip, agreed.
the sad thing is rugby is the ultimate loser for all people concerned, even the kiwi’s but they just dont know it.
17 Oct 2012, 10:44 am
@Hurricane-126: Bakkies goes on and on, yet no mention that Habs try was off a forward pass?
I know, we have got away with a few in the past so it makes it okay apparently
17 Oct 2012, 10:45 am
I said ……
MORNING KIWIS
17 Oct 2012, 10:46 am
Happy Birthday Pat Lambie, a whole 22 today.. Your BIrthday present to us is victory over the Bulls on the weekend :mrgeen:
17 Oct 2012, 10:46 am
@Hurricane-117: They will find their balance. It was clear in the 1st test you fellows played against the Argies, that there was a little confusion in the coaching box during the 1st half – when it seemed the AB’s were insistent on playing the offload game, even though it was failing at the time. (Ok granted, if Carter was on the field at the time, as I have said before, I do believe he would have slowed things down, kicked for territory and changed the game at the 1st sign of trouble)
But when they came out after the halftime break – the balance was there. Coaches and senior players made a shift and you fellows haven’t lost that balance since. (Even when the Bok forwards put your lot under pressure in Dunedin).
I think we will see a continuation of this on the EOYT for your AB’s. A massacre awaits the northern challengers IMHO.
17 Oct 2012, 10:47 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-118:

now now
i said the fact that not one but three of the filthiest incompetent cheats to ever ref the game have been ‘retired’ from rugby might, just might say me to reconsider my boycott.
that together with the new extended tmo powers, the rule changes and the reprioritisation of the ‘big 5′ rules issues might actually make super rugby fainlty competitive, exciting and fair to even again.
17 Oct 2012, 10:47 am
@poppa69-128: Well ur not being very smart either. the more you respond the more he will continue, very simple really.
17 Oct 2012, 10:48 am
@Dawn-131: Ill say hello Dawn
Hoe gaan dit?
17 Oct 2012, 10:48 am
Oh neverfuckingmind.
17 Oct 2012, 10:49 am
@poppa69-130:
Pops, I know you still taking revenge on Saffa’s after some bloggers gave you a hard time in 2009, but seriously, isn’t it time to build a bridge.
By all means, give grief, but I honestly don’t know if you know anything about rugby. Because you never talk about it!!??
17 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
Bwaaaaaaaaahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
17 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-134: Bakkies, you will be planted on your couch come S15 just like the rest of us.
17 Oct 2012, 10:52 am
@sharks_lover-125:
Yep, the Stormers were a couple steps away from being the ‘perfect’ team.
But they refused to accept they had a problem on attack (like the Boks as well, and poor old JDV had to spew lies to cover his own ***, for the stormers and the boks).
17 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
Sheeple?
Is this some strange kiwi word to legitimise the continued abuse of merinos?
Why are people making excuses for HM??? I just read an article by Gavin Rich, also excusing HM from his p iss poor tenure thus far! Rubbish Jon! We are not stupid and calling for an all out attack al AB style! We are asking the right questions as supporters – why is HM choosing sub par players? Why is SARFU paying someone who is unable to recognise real talent? Why are we playing a game plan that we are no good at or that no longer brings dividends?? And if you want to talk about defence – why the BLEEP have they not hired Jacques Nienaber as defence consultant?!?! Everything is just wrong with this setup – HM is passionate but overly emotional. Why does he sit in that room all by himself, screaming into a walkie – how does that inspire confidence that he will make the right call in terms of tactics & substitutions or anything really?? Where is the ‘team’ to help him, or analyse and advise?? Speaking of management team – we have Koen as kicking coach, well we can see how that is going…. We have MacFarlen as defence coach, need I say more… And the absolute belter here – the joke bigger than PDivvy… Ricardo Laubsher as backline coach, with van Graan as forwards AND (wait for it) attack coach… WTF man?!? For real?! Are you flippening kidding me?!? What kind of a setup is that??? And SARFU pays them for this?! I though SARFU was a business. I’m under the impression that business want to make money. And they have entrusted their most prize cash cow to this motley crew?!?! EISH! Sorry Cardinelli, I don’t agree that I should move with the times…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-140: With horns out his nose yelling , nou die blou nou die blou, with his neck veins all swollen from stress
17 Oct 2012, 10:54 am
Hurricane, I also had reservations about Ian Foster in the beginning owing to his record at the chiefs, however , what I didn’t factor is that he spend a lot of time in the AB environment after he resigned as chief’s head coach, in particular with Wayne Smith, who I regard as the leading attack coach of all time, and Smith signed off on Foster as a worthy successor. What foster has done is institute a high skill and tempo attacking platform, typified by Aaron Smith’s service from the base, it’s allowing the ABs to score from set pieces. I think the moment the ABs get their timing right on attack, they’ll be scary.
17 Oct 2012, 10:55 am
@Sharksgirl-123:
KOMPUTER SAYS NO…..
but good luck all the same, dear
17 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
@gunther-142: good one… hilarious
17 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
@poppa69-128:
I mean you try and have a conversation with themabout the game but all you get is cheat this cheat that…. some really have no clue at all.
Surely Leicester and Saracens were cheaters, how about Scotland, Ireland and france…..how about Ozzie. All these teams in the last 4-5 years have beaten the boks. But the only ones that cheat is the team that is front of them….actually Bakkies blamed Argentina for cheating and the ref cheated that game as well when Boks drew with them.
I mean it is getting a bit over the top.
17 Oct 2012, 10:58 am
@Hurricane-148: desperate times call for desperate measures..
wait until they lose up north later this year..
but hey, if they want to concentrate on what the opposition is doing rather then what they are doing, theyll remain winning at about 60% of the time, a stat that is in decline too..
17 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
@Hurricane-148: NIe waar nie!!!
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 » Show All