Bok boost for Sharks

The Sharks will start Lwazi Mvovo, Marcell Coetzee and Jannie du Plessis in their Currie Cup semi-final clash against the Blue Bulls in Durban.

The trio were benched against Griquas last weekend, but head coach John Plumtree has decided to promote them for Saturday’s play-off. Mvovo and Coetzee come in for the injured Odwa Ndungane and Jacques Botes, while Du Plessis rotates with Wiehahn Herbst.

These elevations see more Springboks included in the team as Beast Mtawarira and Willem Alberts feature among the reserves.

Lock Steven Sykes is bracketed with Peet Marais on the bench as the former faces a late fitness test.

Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Keegan Daniel (c), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Jandre Marais, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Beast Mtawarira, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Steven Sykes/Peet Marais, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Charl McLeod, 22 Meyer Bosman.

67 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@phil72-48:
    sharkies gonna find out the hard and painful way that finals rugby is not about throwing the ball around and running like a pi.

• 52.phil72: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-51:

Varkies still new to this….. they will learn and get better….

• 53.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-49:
    @victoriabok-50:

I see Gert Smal’s hand in this.

And yes that walkie talkie will be bouncing all over the coach’s booth.

• 54.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-53:
    i just dont understand the world anymore.

all these fake plastic jersies

fake plastic kicking tees

it wears me out

• 55.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-47:
    CJ has emigrated and hopes to play for Ireland. That’s the reality, like a number of Saffas. It’s not just an stint overseas.

• 56.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@David-55:

As I said we can see Gert Smal’s influence here.

Rather than Heyneke who doesn’t rate Stander. Which is a shame. Then again, Heyneke doesn’t really rate Spies either but was forced to play him while Vermeulen was injured.

• 57.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@David-55:

Like Uli and AJ Venter

• 58.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-54:

And pink, yes f.okken Pienk Bulls jerseys

• 59.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-56:

CJ would have been better than KD at test level

• 60.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-59:

I think that both the Bulls and the Boks have missed a trick here.

But at least the Bulls still have Jaques Potgieter. :D

• 61.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-58:
    nothing makes sense anymore… :)

anyway, i’m out

• 62.blueboy: Reply to this comment

If spies wants to leave the bulls i say go if arno botha turns out to be the player i think he is we will not miss spies.Botha is a class act and if he stays clear of any serious injury i think he eventually will be the bok No 8 as i think 8th man is his best position.One thing is for sure he is faster and classier than donkey vermeulen,`nuff said.

• 63.David: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-56:
    I think it’s got very little to do with HM. A lot of white South Africans are emigrating and getting jobs overseas. Why should rugby players be any different? I think we spend too much time lambasting the unions for not keeping players, as if rugby is their only motivation for going to Europe.

• 64.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@blueboy-62: This should make you happy :lol:

Spies to stay at Bulls
    2012-10-18 19:41

Pierre Spies (Gallo Images)
    Related Links
    Plumtree, Reinach bag awards Deysel to earn 50th cap Bulls forwards set to fire Cape Town – Springbok and Bulls No 8 Pierre Spies is set to stay in Pretoria despite reports indicating he might leave for France.

The supersport.com website on Thursday indicated Spies may leave Pretoria with French Top 14 club Bayonne reportedly making a massive offer for his services over the next three years.

Spies has been negotiating with the Bulls to extend his contract but has been unsuccessful thus far, and with time running out – his contract expires next week – there was some concern that he may be lured by the big offer. He has reportedly been offered close to R15m over three years, with a nett salary of €40 000 per month.

However, according to the Rugby365 website, the report has been described as mere “speculation without any merit”.

Spies’s agent, Gerrie Swart, told the rugby website that no negotiation has taken place with any other clubs.

“I don’t know where the speculation about France comes from,” Swart said. “Pierre has certainly not negotiated with any French clubs.”

Spies also assured Bulls fans via Twitter that he plans to stay in Pretoria.

“Has someone been negotiating on my behalf? Cause I’m going nowhere…” he tweeted on Thursday.

All indications are that Spies will sign a new contract with the Pretoria-based union by next Friday – likely for three years. The confusion created can be attributed to Springbok contracts also not being finalised for next year.

Spies is currently sidelined for the rest of the year after undergoing hand surgery.

• 65.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@David-63:

I’m just saying that it is sad to see him go as I rate the player.

And you’re right, you can’t blame young people for wanting to emigrate right now the way this country is being run.

• 66.rangerman: Reply to this comment

bulls on the braai
    lekker
    use a lekker spit
    eish
    up the smelly bit…

• 67.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Dear “I_love_u_bakkies_botha”

May I enquire what it is you do in the real world? Are you unemployed, because you spend most hours of your day uttering boring and monotonous posts on this forum.

Don’t you have anything better to do?

Kind regards
    A concerned Liewe Luiperd

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.