Kings on the rise
18 Oct 2012
GARETH DUNCAN says the Kings should become a stronger entity than the Cheetahs, no matter what happens in the upcoming Currie Cup promotion-relegation play-offs.
The Free State Cheetahs are expected to beat the EP Kings in the Currie Cup promotion-relegation battle over the next fortnight.
Despite the Kings’ unbeaten run to the First Division title and the Cheetahs’ current injury crisis (a loss of 13 first-choice players, including flyhalf Johan Goosen, flank Heinrich Brussow and prop Coenie Oosthuizen), the Bloemfontein union is still considered favourites as they boast more players with experience of playing at higher levels.
I think the Kings will provide a challenge against a weakened Free State outfit. But I admit that domestic promotion would be a surprise, especially when you consider the fact that the current Kings side isn’t much stronger than the team that lost to the Pumas in the 2010 play-offs.
But look beyond this result and you’ll notice that the Southern Kings are making progress; to the extent where they are likely to become a more competitive team than the Cheetahs as soon as next season.
While the Stormers, Sharks and Bulls will be Super Rugby title contenders in 2013, the Cheetahs and Kings will battle in the wooden spoon race.
It’s something both franchises will want to avoid as the last-placed team is expected to face the Lions in the first South African Super Rugby promotion-relegation play-offs. I say expected because this format could still change if voted against at the next Saru Exco meeting; but that’s another story.
Many pundits expect the Kings to struggle because of the trend set by other tournament debutants. The Western Force and Melbourne Rebels have both finished last in their first campaigns in 2006 and 2011 respectively.
However, both Australian teams struggled because they were established from scratch. The Kings have a platform to work from in the EP Kings, Border and SWD.
They have a quality mentor in director of rugby Alan Solomons. He’s clearly had a positive effect on the EP Kings, who have only lost 10 out of 57 games in all domestic competitions since his arrival in June 2010. That’s a winning percentage of 82.4%.
The Kings team that will play in Super Rugby will also be much stronger than the side that has featured on the domestic scene over the last two seasons. They have signed the likes of centre Andries Strauss, lock Steven Sykes, flyhalf Demetri Catrakilis and hooker Bandise Maku, and have four internationals in wing Paul Perez, prop Clint Newland, scrumhalf Nicolas Vergallo and utility back Hadleigh Parkes. More reinforcements will arrive during the build-up to the 2013 campaign.
The only complication is that the Kings will only be allowed two of those foreigners in their final squad that they declare to Saru. The other two will be allowed in the wider squads and will be able to be called up in case of injury. There’s also a chance that Saru might accommodate the Kings, who are still requesting that the restrictions be lifted.
The Cheetahs haven’t impressed in Super Rugby since their readmission in 2006. They have won 27 out of 84 games (a winning percentage of just 32%) during this period and their highest finish has been 10th place.
They have lost key players since this year’s Super Rugby campaign in No 8 Ashley Johnson (London Wasps, England), prop WP Nel (Edinburgh, Scotland) and lock George Earle (Scarlets, Wales). The departures of flyhalf Sias Ebersohn (Western Force), lock Izak van der Westhuizen (Edinbugh), prop Marcel van der Merwe (Bulls) and Strauss at the end of the year will also cost the squad depth.
In reply, the Cheetahs have only signed on props Caylib Oosthuizen (Lions) and Rossouw de Klerk (Bulls), centre Johann Sadie (Bulls) and flyhalf Elgar Watts (Boland). Griquas will provide some depth, but the Cheetahs won’t be able to afford injuries to key players.
If you look a bit deeper, you’d see the Free State and EP junior teams are also experiencing contrasting fortunes.
This season, the Free State U21s only won four out 12 league games. Their U19s only won three of their 12 fixtures.
The EP U21s and U19s topped their respective logs in the B Divisions, with the former team securing the provincial title. They will compete for promotion to the A Division.
Transformation is also evident in EP’s junior teams, which bodes well for the future. The Southern Kings will also be able to tap into the top black talent in SWD and Border’s junior structures. However, Super Rugby participation will be vital in retaining these young players.
While many in the South African rugby fraternity are worried about the Lions, it looks like the Cheetahs are also struggling. And at all levels too.
These are still early days, but a power change has already begun by the looks of it. The Kings are on the rise, while the Cheetahs are headed in another direction.
Follow Gareth on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

327 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All
18 Oct 2012, 12:48 pm
@Jeraldjay-242:
was it a nissan 1400?
was he wearing a YOLO T-shirt with sandals and white socks?
18 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
@BrumbiesBoy-249:
no it has two if you count the goat track.
18 Oct 2012, 12:51 pm
@Puma-238: @Sharksgirl-236: I posted a team on here early in the week,
Mine is the same accept i had Beast to start and Chadwick off the bench, oh and burden to start and Cooper on the bench.
I chose Sykes off the bench by chance as he has been injured for a while now, and he is on it so quite chuffed, thats a very strong team
18 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@Puma-239: Puma, Beast looked a little tired during the RC, and the Bulls have an entire good front row on the bench I think Plumtree is trying to keep continuity with countering the Bulls bench on the bench. I don’t know if I am explaining myself properly
sometimes my thoughts are all over the place
18 Oct 2012, 12:56 pm
@gunther-251:
No an Isuzu s!ngle cab. F!t Skop’s prof!le to the tee.
Brumb?esperson ?t was the top ma?n road that takes you to Kommetj?e.
18 Oct 2012, 12:59 pm
@sharks_lover-253: Is a strong team, just not sure if it was wise to start with Chadwick, what you think? I would definitely have started with Beast. Pity Burden has not had much game time being with the Boks. He was in good form when called up, to do nothing really. Now he misses out. Though Kyle was very good last week. Anyhow our bench could cause some damage coming on later. Our backline looks lethal! hehehehe. Hope no rain, so far weather been good yesterday and today. Bit of rain last night, so still think that field will be dry. Unless the rain does come. Hope not.
@Sharksgirl-254: Beast had a rest last week. Think he would have been fine this week to start. Remember he never had a full SR season as he was out until think the Force game at the Tank when he came back to play.
18 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
@Puma-256: Boet i had as you saw the team spot on accept as i explaned i had BUrden to Start with Beast.
However i can understand PLums thinking,
18 Oct 2012, 13:07 pm
@John Galt-250: Yup John, i too can understand why Plum has made the selections he has.
So much rain expected, so meet fire with fire. I reckon with Sykes Beast Burden Bosman Mcleod Alberts and Herbst on the bench?? hell thats a very bery strong experienced bench.
@sharks_lover-257: You sure did have the team spot on. Burden may not be totally game fit, or he might want us to speed things up in the 2nd half bringing on Burden then, who knows. I still would have started with Beast. Just never know what you get from Chadwick. He can give away plenty penalties. Our scrum is stronger with Beast there.
@Puma-256:
Gonna be pouring with rain come 5pm Puma.
Dont expect either backline to be too dominant.
18 Oct 2012, 13:10 pm
@Jeraldjay-255: Old KB Samurai series ?
18 Oct 2012, 13:12 pm
@Puma-259: It is but trust me PLum has gone for an even stronger scrum off the bench. Herbst is a very strong TH and Beast we know, Burden again is very good so that makes for a very strong front row back up
Take into account the Bulls style of play with lineouts and rolling mauls?? Plum has made a good call i think
18 Oct 2012, 13:12 pm
@John Galt-260: I know with the rain it don’t matter. Damn it man, if it was played today that backline would be awesome. Rain might give Bulls the advantage with their big pack.
18 Oct 2012, 13:15 pm
@sharks_lover-262: Just hope we ahead by that time, if not still right there in it. If we need our bench to change matters we have to stay close on the score board.
18 Oct 2012, 13:15 pm
@sharks_lover-262: SL thank you, that is what I was trying to say in my haphazard way
18 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
@John Galt-260: It has to be huge defense from us with keeping ball in hand tactics.
The Bulls always come back stronger in the 2ndhalf because a fresh front row comes on and they then love the mauls, now we have a batter bench as far as i am concerned, stronger and more experienced, and the BUlls have not scrummed that well this year so Chadwick will be fine.
Cooper loves driving play with ball in hand, so he too will be fine in the weather i think, Burden loves to play more loose, the weather will not suit him as much
So yeah the team is a good one
18 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
@sharks_lover-262: He has selected well, just if it was me I would still have started with Beast. Just don’t want them to go ahead and we have to be chasing once our bench comes on.
18 Oct 2012, 13:17 pm
Pierre Spies possibly heading to Bayonne in France on a 3-year deal worth R15m. How many of you will pay him R15?
18 Oct 2012, 13:18 pm
@sharks_lover-266: Well I can tell you for all the weather forecasts none of it has happened like they said this week. Today and yesterda was supposed to be rain the whole day. Not a could in sight bro. So still hoping for a dry day on Saturday.
18 Oct 2012, 13:20 pm
@sharks_lover-266: I think both benches are quite good. Greyling can be a good impact player, but he has some demons in his game at this stage. Ralepele, Kirsten, Stander and Hougaard are all very good impact players. Steenkamp (lineout specialist) and Fouche (goal kicker) are there for insurance.
18 Oct 2012, 13:20 pm
@Horings-268: Howzit Horings. Yip read that on SuperSport. Think it is the best for him. With so many now coming through playing well at 8 really don’t see him getting that position back at the Boks. Or probably the Bulls with Arno Botha there.
18 Oct 2012, 13:22 pm
@Horings-270: Agree, Bulls have a very good bench too.
18 Oct 2012, 13:22 pm
@Horings-268: I would pay him R15 million to leave yes. I wonder who is actually offering the 15 mil? The French club, or a group of SA investors desperate to be rid of him?
18 Oct 2012, 13:23 pm
@Horings-268:
More money than brains those French.
18 Oct 2012, 13:24 pm
@Horings-268: R15K maybe….
18 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
@Puma-271: @Puma-272: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-273: @Hurricane-274: @Skeppie-275: I do not think I have had such a sequence of replies, but I will give all the credit to Spies.
18 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
@Horings-270: Boet this match will be a humddinger, it is such a pity about all the rain expected.
I am glad though the team has been practicing everyday in the rain, up and unders were pouring down
18 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
@Horings-276:
18 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
@Horings-276:
18 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
Stander must be kicking himself if Spies’ move realise. I would play Stander, Botha and Marnus Schoeman for the Bulls if I was DoR. You have possibly the 2nd best fetcher in the country this year, Physicallity with Stander, although he relies too much on his physicallity and then Botha will be a star.
Now we will play with Botha, Potgieter x2 and Stegmann. Hopefully Wiaan Liebenberg, Adendorff can come through the ranks quicker than anticipated.
18 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
The Bulls will have to be better than what they have been this year. Much better.
Sharks favourites by 2 to 1.
18 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
@sharks_lover-277: I really thought Plum might surprise us with Viljoen at the back, especially if rain is forecast, with his big boot. Pleased he has Ludik there though. Probably if there is a injury to Ludik, Lambie will have to cover there and hope that does not happen. Need Pat for the whole game at fh. Bosman will probably cover, centre fh and if necessary wing.
18 Oct 2012, 13:34 pm
@sharks_lover-277: You basically practised in rain all season. The Sharks handling in rain is so much better than any of the Bulls players that rain is not good news for me. We are very limited when it rains so I think the class of Daniel, Lambie’s handling skills will make a huge difference.
18 Oct 2012, 13:36 pm
@Puma-282: Bosman wing? I think Beast covers wing rather than Bosman. I remember the run Beast made against Aus last year and against the Bulls where Matfield chased him. Cannot remember Bosman ever runnning down the wing.
18 Oct 2012, 13:36 pm
@Horings-280: Stander should have waited. I blame the agents pushing the youngsters too soon to play overseas. Stander is a big loss for Bulls. Though Botha is playing some very good rugby.
18 Oct 2012, 13:38 pm
@Horings-284: hahahaha. Beast at wing…hehe.
Just no cover on the bench, so if we do have a injury there it will have to be Bosman moving over. Or Bosman to fh, Ludik to wing and Pat to fb. Just don’t want us to move Pat to FB. He is such class fh and for this game we need him for the full 80min there.
18 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
@Puma-282: Yeah Pooms i am glad PLum stayed sensible and didnt make the same mistake he made when last we played the BUlls, when the rain came just before the match he decided on Viljoen and it was terrible as Viljoen has a shocker.
I am now in hindsight extremely happy with the route Plum has taken
18 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@Horings-283: Boet what if it does not rain??? I reckon that would suit the Sharks more, I reckon Plum will watch the weather and if it seems it wont rain he will make a change just before the start.
But a huge match it will be
18 Oct 2012, 13:51 pm
@sharks_lover-287: @Puma-286:
What do you all think of Mark Lawrence in charge……..*****
18 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
@Rockn Rolla-289: eeeeeexxxxxxtremely unhappy, but it could have gone to the other Lawrence spelt Lourens and then I would have been suicidal!
18 Oct 2012, 14:03 pm
@Rockn Rolla-289: Very concerned about it, I said ealier ion the week i would rather have had the young Rasta something ref the match.
Lawrence always screws the Sharks, but the team are seriously gonna have to maintain dissapline, specially as the match will be mostly won by penalties
18 Oct 2012, 14:05 pm
@Rockn Rolla-289: @Sharksgirl-290: Lets try not worry about the Ref
18 Oct 2012, 14:06 pm
@Sharksgirl-290: Will give you a call before the match, I will prolly be there around 2 pm already to watch the under21 match, should be a cracker too
18 Oct 2012, 14:09 pm
Wie vat nou nog die Currie Cup kop toe?
18 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
@sharks_lover-292:
Realy…….that skidmark about as anti shark as those fools wid the blue helmets, horn and bulls rings that you see @ loftus with the 300% proof brandy breath
would love to see the stats of all the shark games his blown
18 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
@sharks_lover-287: Vijoen was terrible in the rain have to admit. Though thought Plum might play him at fb like he done against Stormers in the Semi SS with Ludik on the wing. Vijoen does make plenty handling errors though, but was very good with his big boot in that particular game. Against the Bulls at fh in the rain he made far too many errors.
18 Oct 2012, 14:16 pm
@Rockn Rolla-295: I would like to see the stats with the games he has blown for Sharks. Don’t remember us winning much with him there.
18 Oct 2012, 14:28 pm
I’ll be supporting the Bulls for a Newlands final but Morne has to have a kak game.
But victory at Kingspark will be the ultimate revenge.
18 Oct 2012, 14:31 pm
@Jeraldjay-298: hahaha. Your boys have to beat the Lions first, before thinking of a Newlands Final..
18 Oct 2012, 14:35 pm
@Jeraldjay-298: The optimism of a Stormers/ WP supporter before the finals. Just wait two weeks or so and he will be telling all why they will win the next tournament.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All