Mealamu starts in milestone Test

Keven Mealamu will start his 100th Test on Saturday night as the All Blacks name their side to face Australia in Brisbane.

Mealamu joins Richie McCaw and Mils Muliaina as just the third man to make a century of appearances for the Blacks, who are in line for their 17th consecutive win.

There is just one other change from the side that beat the Springboks 32-16 in Soweto, with tighthead prop Charlie Faumuina coming in for Owen Franks who moves to the bench.

‘Kevvy is a hugely respected man, not only in the All Blacks and New Zealand rugby but also in his wider community,’ coach Steve Hansen said. ‘He is a key leader in the team and one of the true gentlemen of New Zealand rugby.’

New Zealand — 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Owen Franks,  18 Luke Romano, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Ben Smith.

194 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.willievz: Reply to this comment

Come on the curry yellow of Australia!!

• 102.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@the authority-35: calling Saffas neanderthals is racist? bwahahaha I thought that term was d.utchies? the Bokke were only dominant in that time because the majority of games were at home and teams couldnt select all their players, honorary whites was the term I believe..

I think youve got the yellow card stat wrong too, the ABs only get one every 40 odd games or something, we are the good guys.. you saffas are the evil ones, as history shows..

Pedigree… Young Lady, the Blues will be NZs answer to the Kings next year, sad but true..

• 103.willievz: Reply to this comment

The Springboks have never lost to the Maoris.

Interesting.

• 104.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@willievz-101:
    Fitzpatrick once stop the ref in mid sentence during a test match and said …”Please ref, its not gold, its yellow”

• 105.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-103: seeems very racist Willie, why single out the moaris?

I mean, it was a saffa journalist who was disgusted that white supporters would cheer for coloured players..

eish, cant help whats in your genes huh?

• 106.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-104: The ugliest yellow in the world!

Nethertheless, I will scream my lungs out for them over the weekend. Hope they kick the living pukana out of those ABs.

• 107.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-105: Just stated a fact I read today for the first time.

Never knew that.

• 108.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-107: best result has been a draw.. 81 I think

• 109.katman: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-104: Ha ha. Ever noticed how most refs can’t bring themselves to mention the colour when the Bulls are playing in their away kit. They prefer to say “roll away 6” or even “roll away please”. Roll away pink just sounds… odd.

• 110.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@the authority-30:
    @the authority-35:
    nicely said, boet.
    pretty much the truth and there’s more.

and to think it doesn’t half sum up the extent to which they are rotten and have made the game ugly.

• 111.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-110: the only thing thats ugly is the monotony with which we beat you..

47 to 33 or something, the gap keeps widening

you saffas need to go back to isolation, at least then you thought you were the best..

history proves otherwise..

keep crying bakkies.. its music to our ears

• 112.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-109:

“hands off pink”

gives the producers at supersport sleepless nights.

• 113.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-111:
    dont hit out at the person stating the issue, pops. rather, hit out at the issue under discussion.

my harping on repeatedly has got sweet farkall to do with the fact of the matter being undeniably true.

• 114.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-113: in your own little mind bakkies, in your own little mind

• 115.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-114:
    no pops, in the minds of all the worlds rugby public except nz (save one or two rare souls).

• 116.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-115: so you speak for the worlds rugby public now?

delusion, thy name is bakkies hahahaha

you is one sad individual mate, I truly hope you recover.

• 117.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-116:
    how far and wide do you need to go to see and here what the people of the rugby world have to say about nz rugby, pops?

or should i say how much further and how often do you need to see and hear this?

lie to yourself all you want, boet. it wont actually change a thing as far as people view you (nz rugby – mostly the ab’s and crusaders & to an extent kiwis in general, i suppose).

• 118.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

yes, i know there are spelling mistakes, thank you.
    but feel free to correct them all the same.

• 119.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-117: when youre on top, everyone wants to knock you off..

I understand you dont know this concept, it comes with being third or fourth best mate..

who knows, you may have another lucky 2009 moment in your lifetime.. I hope so for your sanity mate, because its disappearing quickly :D

• 120.poppa69: Reply to this comment

night night bakkies

correcting yourself for your spelling errors, well its a start

• 121.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-119:
    no pops, its not and you know this. its got everything to do with the way you play and how you’ve gone about achieving your success… a bit like lance armstrong at moment i suppose…

i’m sure deep down inside you do, as do most kiwis but you’ll never have the guts to say so on here.

@poppa69-120:
    ja whatever, boet.
    cheers.

• 122.the authority: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-102:

Yes, calling any group of peoples a derogatory term is racist… Doesn’t bother me, but if you want to play offside (much like your rugby team), then don’t going crying to Keo when we respond with interest son…. If it’s cool for you to spew racist slander, then don’t try and take a moral high ground when you get reminded of your country’s incestual history.

The yellow card stat is exactly correct. Your team cheats every game and not only do they not gen penalised as much as they should, but when they do get penalised, they don’t get yellow cards they deserve like every other team does. Take it up with the Daily Telegraph, Stuart Barnes and Will Greenwood if you disagree.

Evil ones? Us?? Hahahahaha!… Mate, you got your bearings crossed. Up a creak without a paddle…. You are the ones who cheat and get away with it, you are the ones who do a war dance before each match and sing death threats at the opposing team, you are the ones who want to “teach the Japies a lesson”, you are the ones who award Bryce Lawrence with Referee of the year after cheating in the world cup…. Hell you even wear Black… The colour of Evil.

We win trophies. You buy them.

Your ignorance offends me.

Next!

• 123.McAwesome: Reply to this comment

@the authority-122: I have seen that stat too and it’s true, the All Blacks have a higher penalty to yellow card ratio than any other top tier rugby nation, but this does not make us cheaters.

Take it up with the refs, it’s their faults!

• 124.poltergeist: Reply to this comment

@the authority-122:

Be careful Authority – if you school Poppa too hard, he’ll go tell on you to Keo.

Such is his patheticness.

• 125.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@the authority-122: I still don’t understand why people keep quoting this yellow card ****. Would you expect McCaw/Louw/Pocock to be carded the first time he plays the ball on the ground? I wouldn’t. But I would expect a yellow the first time someone headbutts the opposition captain or flies across a ruck, elbow first into their face. Of course teams that commit dangerous offences will have more cards per penalty than one that one breaks the laws of the breakdown

• 126.the authority: Reply to this comment

“The All Blacks are the Lance Armstrong of rugby” – The Authority, 18 October 2012.

• 127.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-125: go look at the tri-nations 2010 and see what both bakkies and danie were carded for…nothing like you described!

mccaw committed FIVE penalties for slowing the ball down and he got from alain rolland a “warning, a team warning and FINAL warning”

the same f.cuking player doing the same bloody thing, 3 different warnings… pffft :roll:

• 128.Kaizan: Reply to this comment

@the authority-126:

I will be sure to reference you when repeating this quote.

• 129.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-127:
    i like you a lot more when you are honest with the kiwis, transie.

its clear you are infatuated with them,culturally, and like the way their running backs play. which is all fine with me as i say each to his own.

i do of course also know that you are a bok supporter irrespective of your admiration for some of thier super rugby teams and coaches and have never had a problem with that. however, i have been here long enough to know that you never really chirp, bait, needle, wind them up the way you do the saffas. i’m at peace with that and it doesn’t bother me in the least.

i just want you to know that, those few times when you are honest with them… i like you a little more for doing so. i suppose maybe you dont wanna lose the friendships and thats why you dont tell it like it is..?..

anyway, thank you all the same… even if this doesn’t come across as me saying so :grin:

• 130.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-127:

mccaw committed FIVE penalties for slowing the ball down and he got from alain rolland a “warning, a team warning and FINAL warning”

• 131.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-130:
    nope
    the really funny bit is that he then happily proceeded to infringe thereafter any way.
    as well the rest of the team. some of those red zone killing of the ball stuff was just larfable that nothing happened to them.

• 132.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i dont think rugby has ever been dragged as low as 2010 or 2011.
    2012 was the usual stuff but at least the refs acted like they cared… not that they did anything.

• 133.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-129: lol haha i don’t know what u are rambling about…ask poeps if i haven’t dragged him around like a ragdoll and i guess you weren’t on keo when black pantie was looking for “traps” in everything i say.

• 134.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132:
    I suggest you losing cry babies up your game then.
    You are getting left behind.
    2010-12 have shown huge gaps between ABs and SA.
    Infact even NH have caught up to SA. At the EOTY tour, how many South Africans are positive of the Boks winning all games?
    You would probably surprised alot would expect a loss.
    Fact is Ireland, Wales and England and even Scotland know they can beat SA
    Cry all you like about the ABs, it is not getting your team anywhere.
    All it is doing is making the SA fans look like pansies.

• 135.Black Power: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132: @Transformation-133:

If you two combined your brains, you still would end up with a half of a brain.

• 136.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-127:
    And what has that got to do with ABs cheating??
    What it shows is that the ref needs to start penalising players.
    And if you think its only the ABs that gets away with things then you too like Bakkies have a problem.
    Here are SA myths that have already turned to rubbish:
    Just wait until the ABs have to travel to OZ,Arg and then SA. Then they will know about travel and how hard it is………. well we fixed that alright.
    Without POB you guys well be screwed……. yep another one gone.

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-136: you’re also rambling, i was answering gonzo who suggested that referees only issue cards for headbutts etc i then pointed out to him two innocuous instances.

Not everything is about the all blacks and your ‘gamesmanship’…pipe down

• 138.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-137:
    And i said that the refs are at fault here….correct.
    Strange how Bakkies thought you and him were going to become buddies.
    I also took your post as another hit at the way we play rugby.

• 139.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@blik-57: Blik, Fourie was a fantastic player, one of the best 13′s I have seen. Probably unfair to compare him to SBW in 2012, as he (JF) isn’t at his peak any more. Both at their peak, it would be a very difficult choice to make if it came down to one or the other. To be honest, the best outcome would be SBW at 12 and JF at 13. JF ran such good support lines he would get a bucket of tries off SBW. And his defence was rock solid (whereas SBW isn’t the finished article in that area).

To put it another way, I’ll see you my Nonu and Smith, you raise me SBW and Fourie, and I’ll fold at that point!!!

This AB side lacks some of the star power of the 96/7 and 2006/7 sides. But I think it is the best balanced side we have had since Buck Shelford’s team from 87 to 89, and Buck’s team never played the Boks so it is really hard to compare them to the present side.

This side won’t regularly rip apart teams as those others did, but this side will lose less matches due to better focus on defence and more “BMT”. I guess we’ve learnt something from you guys since 2007!!

• 140.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment-139: Thing is we dont know if JF is at his best anymore.

SBW and JF could prolly have been one of the best center pairings ever seen, But thats another story, one of the best center pairings we in SA have ever had is when JF and Fransie Steyn were together at the 2007 WC.

Frans is a better distributer than many Saffa’s give him credit for, and ur right, JF ran wonderful running lines, which is something Fransies new center partner at the Sharks does, Paul Jordaan.Many people want 2 huge centers etc, Centers are all about being a comination. For the MOst they should be 2 very different kinds of centers.

For me an inside center must be able to link and read play like a 10 too.

• 141.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-140: I was really impressd with Jordaan this season, and was pleased he WASN’T selected for the Soccer City match :-) The guy has real speed, something we don’t always see from SA midfielders??

• 142.corporal punishment: Reply to this comment

@corporal punishment-141: PS – two big centres has generally not worked for the AB’s either. Smith and Nonu, Smith and SBW, yes. SBW and Nonu, no.

Two of our best 12′s were Walter Little and Aaron Mauger. Not big guys, but great skills and good kicking games plus, as you say, distribution ability.

• 143.Black Power: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-137:
    Isn’t it past your bed time??

• 144.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-134:
    you are fooling no one here but yourself with this kiwi party line, hurri.

• 145.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies smoke and mirrors buddy we own you on the park, nothing else matters.

• 146.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-144:
    You are being left behind Bakkies…..left behind son.

• 147.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-145:
    your own smoke and your own mirrors in your own minds, boet.
    say what you want, the ab’s are a team that cheats for its wins and that’s all we’re saying.

@Hurricane-146:
    really?
    i’m no fundamentalist christian boet, are you?

• 148.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Smoke and mirrors Houston all just a sideshow to mask you poor showing in world rugby, we know it as do all your countrymen on this blog.

• 149.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies is praying for a miracle tomorrow night for something to stop the black juggernaut.

• 150.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-147:
    Yep really Bakkies.
    While you scream and wail everytime on Keo for excuses as to why the Boks lost, us Kiwis know why you lost…..cos the scoreboard said.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.