Mealamu starts in milestone Test

Keven Mealamu will start his 100th Test on Saturday night as the All Blacks name their side to face Australia in Brisbane.

Mealamu joins Richie McCaw and Mils Muliaina as just the third man to make a century of appearances for the Blacks, who are in line for their 17th consecutive win.

There is just one other change from the side that beat the Springboks 32-16 in Soweto, with tighthead prop Charlie Faumuina coming in for Owen Franks who moves to the bench.

‘Kevvy is a hugely respected man, not only in the All Blacks and New Zealand rugby but also in his wider community,’ coach Steve Hansen said. ‘He is a key leader in the team and one of the true gentlemen of New Zealand rugby.’

New Zealand — 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Owen Franks,  18 Luke Romano, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Ben Smith.

194 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151.Brads: Reply to this comment

NZ 17 on the trot, then the actual record held by Lithuania, these are the targets, but after Hong Kong, I no longer dismiss anything versus Aus

We could lose.

The odds in my mind are about 5%.

• 152.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-148:
    no china, its about your dishonsty on the pitch.
    say what you will, ab’s are cheats.

@Hurricane-150:
    and we all know why it does…

• 153.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-152:
    Thanks Bakkies
    Everytime you post you give a little bit of insight into how SA mental
    health system is failing.
    Do you guys get out on good behavior? :-)

• 154.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-153:

nope its the same policy you guys have with Poep.

We try to normalise him by letting him mingle with the general population.

• 155.katman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-154: Sitting naked on a park bench spreading faeces over himself would be considered a massive step towards normality for Poeps.

• 156.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies how many Bokke would make a current world 15?

• 157.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-154:

*i see dead all blacks*

• 158.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-156:
    habana
    estebeth
    jpp
    bdp
    flow
    alberts
    goosen
    hougaard

off the top of my head

• 159.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

he he stop kidding around seriously

• 160.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-155:

That won’t go down well.

• 161.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-159:
    you’re right, there’s few more who should be added to that list.

• 162.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@gunther-160:

Like an eleven-year-old with braces.

• 163.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

you forgot Morne

• 164.gunther: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-163:

do us a favour sadsack.

quit whining and go and put your big girl panties on.

• 165.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Funny guy how many do you reckon?

• 166.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-165: Currently I reckon; Bismark (when fit), Etzebeth, JP Pietersen and Habana. In days gone by we would have one or two loosies but can’t choose Flo, Vermeulen, Alberts or Coetzee just yet.

• 167.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-166: i don’t know why you fall for china’s invite to j.erk him off :lol:

• 168.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-167: Just telling it like it is Transie……

• 169.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-168: are you going to the game tomorrow? guppys should take it a canter ;)

• 170.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-167:

it’s friday night he was getting desperate.

• 171.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-169: Nah, these days I am a guppy trapped in the big gold city! But I will be screaming abuse at my TV screen and hoping that Lambie makes Morne his beeatch!

• 172.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Skeppie fair calls and about right, Tranny you are a professional rugby blogger I expect more from you.Funny guy I’m blogging from my local foot massaging joint (no happy ending) a very pleasant way to spend a Friday evening.

• 173.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-172:
    why, dont you want to play the extra?

• 174.katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-172: Don’t your massage customers mind you blogging?

• 175.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Hello Bakkies you won’t be watching the game tomorrow night so i’d be happy to give you a summary after the game, i’ve got some dough on the black machine this weekend so looking forward to the win.

• 176.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

pay the extra?

• 177.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Hello Katty you watched that tape yet?

• 178.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

yer I got it Bakkies

• 179.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-175:
    no, i wont be. there is nothing more distasteful to me than sitting through any rugby involving the ab’s or most of the kiwi super rugby sides.

i can barely stomach them when they’re playing the boks, which is sad really.
    what a way to ruin what could have been a respected legacy.

• 180.gunther: Reply to this comment

@katman-174:

As long as he gets the job done they don’t mind what he does.

Quite frankly the more he talks on here and the less he says there, the happier they are.

• 181.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies sorry to hear that mate, you must have been crook for days after Soccer City.

• 182.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

New material for the funny men, this should be entertaining for a few minutes.

• 183.katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-177: Not yet. You don’t appear to have sent it yet. Are you perhaps struggling to cast a believable re-enactment video?

• 184.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

I won’t be sending it China Post is too unreliable, I may be in the republic at some stage again so I could hand deliver it?

• 185.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-181:
    two things:
    the better team lost.
    and what the ab’s dish up is just so offputting it ruins rugby as a spectacle.

• 186.katman: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-184: Um, no thanks. a “hand delivery” from a male chinese backstreet foot masseuse sounds like trouble.

• 187.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Bakkies keep an eye on A Smith he’ll surpass Genia next year.

• 188.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Plan B then, ask your old man trust me he knows.

• 189.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

Goodnight, the black tide by 20.

• 190.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-187:
    no, i really wont.
    but you knew that.

• 191.Black Power: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-190:

This will cheer you up Bakkies

AIG’s logo joins that of Adidas AG (ADS) and the team’s silver fern emblem on the All Blacks’ jersey. Adidas, the world’s second-biggest sporting-goods maker, has sponsored the All Blacks since 1999 and four years ago extended its contract through 2019. Upon renewing the deal, CEO Herbert Hainer described the All Blacks as “one of the most inspirational and talented sports teams in the world.”

• 192.Black Power: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-190:

Oh i forgot, you can read the full article on

http://www.businessweek.com/news/2012-10-11/aig-becomes-jersey-sponsor-of-rugby-world-champion-all-blacks

Enjoy

• 193.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-153: bwahahaha still got it Cane,AB’s have put all their ducks in a row…and the ducks dont like it.
    What I’m loving the most is as World Champs they havent fallen in a pile after their long ovefrdue win like some others. This team is the team of all teams to show other teams how REAL World Champs put their stamp on things. Not by beating a team of has beens then falling in a disgraceful heap.
    Gotta love McCaw he’s a man with no real equal in this game or his leadership.

• 194.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

KM you are legend, nothing more to say.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.