Mitchell linked to UK switch

Suspended Lions coach John Mitchell could join English club the Sale Sharks.

Mitchell is expected to settle his disciplinary hearing with the Lions by the end of the month. The Kiwi was suspended in June after complaints were made about his coaching style.

Sale are in a troubled position in the English Premiership as they sit at the bottom of the log after six consecutive defeats. However, they won their opening European Cup fixture against the Cardiff Blues last weekend.

Under-fire Sale Sharks boss Bryan Redpath said he would welcome Mitchell’s inclusion to his management.

‘Obviously there’s lots of chat about John and he’s got a wealth of experience and if it does get sorted out we’ll tap into that as much as possible,’ Redpath told The Guardian. ‘The rugby club’s bigger than me. So I’ve got to make sure I do my end of the bargain and prepare the players properly to perform, and not get too bogged down with who potentially will be added to the staff and the squad.’

63 Comments

• 1.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Run John run, before you win your case and have to return to the PK lions

• 2.Karma-zaf: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-1: That made me laugh so hard :D

• 3.XV: Reply to this comment

this was reported in the UK press last week. We continue to slip further behind NZ AND we cannot hold onto quality coaches…… co-incidence?

• 4.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

well so long then, john…

even though you never really as good as some here believe you to be, i did appreciate and respect your honesty on all things rugby. whether it was the boks or the ab’s you were not in any way biased to the ponit of not being honest publically.

one of the very, very few kiwis, who was an ab and an ab coach to boot, who admitting to an international audience that the ab’s (as is so clearly obvious) do in fact cheat and are quite clearly taught/coached to do so (you said the same for some of the super teams, from what i gather).

good luck with the rest of you career
    en sterkte voorentoe.

• 5.grant10: Reply to this comment

brilliant coach imo…SA loss

• 6.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-5:
    yet he’s never, ever cracked it anywhere..?..

look, i dont dislike the guy at all, but lets be honest about his ability to coach teams to success (yes, i know he won one cc but the quality of the ooposition and bok call ups helped a long way).

• 7.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

He might know a thing or two about rugby.

But he will need a crash course in man-management skills.

Don’t say that the kiwis didn’t warn us.

• 8.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-6:

He was not bad as at the top level as he won 23/28 or 82% as coach of the AB’s.

His record against SA as AB coach is 5-0 (100%) and that includes the 52-16 (7 tries to 1) thrashing they gave the Boks at Loftus

If Heinecke can even get close to this he will be hailed as the best thing since sliced bread in SA I suppose.

• 9.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-7:

He should have gone to the Stormers

At least his lifestyle would be accepted in Cape Town :-)

• 10.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-8:
    in context of other ab coaches its not such a big deal i my opinion.

well heyneke’s certainly left himself very little wiggle room to start off with.

• 11.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-4:
    “who admitting to an international audience that the ab’s (as is so clearly obvious) do in fact cheat and are quite clearly taught/coached to do so ”

So our coaches teach cheating.
    So it is safe to say that the Sharks and Lions have been taught to cheat and do so… therefore the players from those clubs are cheating in the Bok environment. Good to see have actually admitted that SA do cheat and have been coached to cheat/
    Italy, Argentina and Ozzie have also been coached from NZ coaches. Are they considered cheats as well?

• 12.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-11:
    i dunno, you tell me hurri…
    they dont seem to exhibit it to any extent comparable to kiwi teams so i would say no… its just a kiwi thing mostly and done in a kiwi envrionment.

• 13.Brads: Reply to this comment

@grant10-5:
    Mitchell is not without talent, that is a given.

Despite him having achieved bugger all, he obviously does well in interviews.

Obviously he is a gifted actor that knows how to play his audience.

Anyone who takes what he said as being what he actually thinks, needs their head read.

• 14.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Brads-13:

that would be our grantie.

the aliens read his head in 1987 and that, I suspect, is part of the problem.

• 15.Brads: Reply to this comment

@gunther-14:
    I assume you have history behind you to make that call against grant10, so I will not debate your comment.

However, do you agree or disagree with my observation, or was your post a simple dig at grant?

• 16.Brads: Reply to this comment

Bloody AVG. The pro version too.

Every time I refresh or move about the the keo site I am getting a warning of “multiple threats” – apparently some one wants to sell me something.

• 17.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-12:
    Can you show me the link to where he said we coach cheating in NZ.
    I know he said something but would like to read it again.

• 18.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Brads-16: some bad lines in the midget’s code….

• 19.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-16:
    AVG is too picky, too sensitive.

• 20.Brads: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-18:
    Could be, but I wouldn’t know.

I think I am clever when I can fix problems by rebooting my machine.

• 21.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-19:
    I think you are right, but seeing as I paid for the bugger, I will no doubt tough it out like a true miser.

By the way, if you want a link to a comment from Mitchell about cheating, here is one. Some of the other comments are worth noting as well.

http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/RugbyChampionship/South-Africans-in-awe-of-McCaw-20121009

• 22.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-21:
    Cheers Brads

• 23.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-17:
    i listended to him say it live on supersport, hurri
    but i can look around the interweb for a transcript of the conversation or an article in which the journalist quotes him, for you?

• 24.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-22:
    fyi i dont think there’s a single saffa other than maybe d.ick muir or gold’s dad who actually takes anything gold has to say seriously.

• 25.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-23:
    Yeah cool, i am trying to find it myself but no luck.
    Interesting in Brads link where Mitchell says he hates hearing the cheat calls.

• 26.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-24:
    Ok

• 27.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-25:
    dont read what you want to hear and read what is actually being said, you goat.

• 28.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-27:
    “He has a few detractors here who think he cheats a bit, but which opensides don’t?” former All Blacks and Lions coach John Mitchell said.

“I tend to get my pistols up a bit when I hear the cheating calls.

“He’s like a good politician. The good ones stay in power.”

So what do you get out of that dipstick?

• 29.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-27:
    So dont believe what Gold says cos all South Africans dont believe what he says and read between the lines of what Mitchell is saying…..lol

• 30.Brads: Reply to this comment

Here is another pre match gem from Mitchell

http://www.radiosport.co.nz/news/1746174928-springboks-will-ramp-up-attack-next-time—john-mitchell

Why anyone would put this fellow up as an oracle on how New Zealand should or shouldn’t play the game is a mystery to me.

SA will be well sorted when he pisses off to England.

• 31.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-28:
    seriously?
    you just wrote it out and you actually gonna choose to interpret it to your liking?
    wow

@Hurricane-29:
    gold talks a big game, always has.
    most times he’s so far of the mark its not even funny.

he said it plain as day on live television to a ninternational audience when the subject came up, hurri. i kid you not. ask any of the bloggers here about it.

it was in the lead up to one of the rc games, maybe the 2st or 2nd bok-ab game.

• 32.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-31:
    mitchell said it.

• 33.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Brads-15:

he’s a problem child that’s for sure.

(Mitchell not Grantie)

He is a strong personality and it always seems to end in tears with the players.

That’s three different countries now.

• 34.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-31:
    I got that from what Mitchell said,exact words. I have a function on the computer that i know you use and its called copy and paste.

@Brads-30:
    Makes you wonder why some would take his words as gospel.

• 35.Brads: Reply to this comment

@gunther-33:
    Couldn’t agree more.

During the lead in to RWC03 his press conferences were bizarre affairs where he would espouse all sorts of nonsense about being on a journey and we were all on the same train …..

Let the bugger go before he causes any more damage to SA rugby.

• 36.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@gunther-33:
    His people skills are rubbish.
    Reasons why NZRU didnt add any time to his contract.
    lol yeah 3 countries and going for a 4th

• 37.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-34:
    The mental health budget of some countries is woeful.

• 38.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Check this out guys.
    It gets a bit serious near the end….couple of drunk fans :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZB9TuTJ9UY

• 39.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-37:

• 40.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-36

: @Brads-37:

it’s a crying shame because he always sounds so mild mannered in the studio.

knows his rugby but let down by having the same personality as Charles Manson.

• 41.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-38:
    Just shows that some Kiwis are the same as any other country in the world.
    Some get very violent.
    Cant imagine walking around any city in SA saying Bakkies is dirty scum.
    I am sure it would end ugly :-)

• 42.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@gunther-40:
    Spot on.

• 43.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-38:
    Sorry, but that just confirms my attitude of Cantab folk.

Totally disgraceful.

• 44.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-41:
    Only in Canterbury would you get that rage.

• 45.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-43:
    I live here.
    Cantabs are the worst.
    I took my kids who were at the time aged 8,10,12 (wearing Hurricane colours)and they got a few people telling them to go home, calling them losers etc. Not a good look.

• 46.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-41:

hahahaa.

he was lucky to get away with his nuts.

• 47.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-44:
    You really cant say that can you….even though you just did.
    But can you imagine any cities hero and you wear something like that….you would be in trouble.
    But i am with you, i dont like the way Cantabs view there sport and react.

• 48.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@gunther-46:

• 49.gunther: Reply to this comment

Let that be a warning to Bakkies.

• 50.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-45:
    Weird, because it is all one way really.

We, (non Cantabs) may take the piss when we refer to folk from Cantab but it is light hearted, as it is with all other provincial rivalry.

• 51.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-47:
    No
    In the NZ environment, Cantab’s own the “our team is precious” concept.

• 52.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Brads-51:
    Yep very true.

• 53.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-41:

exactly my point about ‘you people’, hurri
    thank you for rare show of honesty :grin:

@gunther-49:
    @Hurricane-48:
    and fyi i’ve got a lot more meat on my bones than that little runt so any attempt at violence would be fun, whichever way the fight went :grin:

@Hurricane-34:
    keep dodging, boet.

mitchell said plain as day to an international tv audience.

• 54.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-53:
    haha
    Bakkies, is Jakie Chan or even Jet Li smaller than you?
    Little runts can kick your a$$
    Meat on your bones means either you are slow or fat or most likely both.

• 55.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-38: Jislaaik Hurricane, that guy had balls!!!

I love all the middle fingers going up in the background!!!

• 56.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-53:
    Bakkies, i cant find where Mitchell said that the ABs are taught to cheat.
    All NZ coaches teach them this.
    Seen as it was to an international audience, you would
    think it could be found on internet.

• 57.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-55:
    Yeah he wasnt enjoying it at the end :-)

• 58.katman: Reply to this comment

Those Cantabrians are unbelievable. If the guy walked around with a lab coat on and a sign that said the earth revolves around the sun, they’d probably laugh at him and flip the bird too.

• 59.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-54:

i was at a casino with some mates playing the tables once and this little runt of a chinese guy who was drunk as fark started making a scene and abusing the pretty croupier chick.

some of my buddies are real heavy hitters so we all thought the same thing, namely: lets take ‘care’ of this problem before the security gets there hehehe

so we go through the verbals explaining the technicalities of a pk and how he was gonna get one. only he goes ape and pulls some bladdy bruce lee moves with the arms and everything, telling us to ‘go FLuck ourselves’ (ja, Fluck not f.uck) .

no one wanted to risk decking him just in case he actually was some farken drunken kung fu master.

i ended up sneaking behind him and bending on all fours like kids do, and one of the other guys pushed him backwards so he could fall over me :lol: we went for a low risk approach :lol:

anway once he was on the ground he went to s.hit and turned out to be just another smartass. no one pk’d him cos he ws too wasted and we pitied him, just gave him a few back of the head smacks…

ah the joys of youth…. good times.. good times…. :grin:

• 60.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-56:
    i see what i can do.

@katman-58:
    ja, pretty much

• 61.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-57: Without any doubt the worst part was not having to carry that sign around his neck, it was the fear that family & friends might see him wearing THAT JERSEY!!!

Now that must’ve been terrifying!!!

• 62.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-60:
    Dont worry i think i found it.
    look up http://www.southafricanmythsanddreams.com

• 63.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-62: Howzit Hurri, I’m keen to know…did that U-Tube clip that you posted come off “Reunion?”

I’m just concerned that these constant cheating allegations have gone to far now.

I’m worried for the sake of rugby and other relations between these two great foes.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.