Currie Cup preview (Play-offs)
19 Oct 2012
GARETH DUNCAN analyses this weekend’s play-offs.
SEMI-FINALS
SHARKS vs BLUE BULLS, DURBAN, SAT 16:30
These two teams have enjoyed the returns of several Springboks, which contributed to their wins last weekend. However, I think John Plumtree’s management of his Test players will be key in what happens at Kings Park.
Plumtree learnt a hard lesson in last year’s final at Ellis Park as his fatigued Boks, who had returned from the World Cup a fortnight before, were rushed into the starting XV and failed to make an impact. The Lions won that title decider 42-16.
However, this year, the Kiwi coach has eased his Test players back into the team and has rewarded the others who made telling contributions to the Sharks’ run to the top of log with starting spots.
The Sharks have the best backline in the competition, and they have an in-form, young halfback pair in Cobus Reinach and Pat Lambie to spearhead them. The hosts also have a strong pack, and the returns of tighthead prop Jannie du Plessis and flank Marcell Coetzee are valuable promotions to the forwards this weekend.
The Bulls have a near-Super Rugby strength side available, but they can’t afford the start they experienced against the Lions. They’re facing the Sharks, who are the best attacking team of the competition and boast the best defensive record.
The Bulls will need to get early momentum, and this will depend heavily on their forwards and the performance of flyhalf Morné Steyn. Considering their poor domestic run this year, it would be a massive achievement.
However, the Sharks should be good enough to restrict the visitors and end their hopes of a fairytale turnaround in this year’s Currie Cup.
FORM
Sharks WWLWLWLWWW
Bulls WLWLLLWLWW
Sharks – 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Keegan Daniel (c), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Jandré Marais, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Kyle Cooper, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Steven Sykes/Peet Marais, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Charl McLeod, 22 Meyer Bosman.
Blue Bulls – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Dewald Potgieter (c), 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Morné Mellett.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 CJ Stander, 20 Francois Hougaard, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 Dean Greyling.
Gareth’s prediction: Sharks by 12
GOLDEN LIONS vs WP, JOHANNESBURG, SAT 19:00
Both teams will have fresh memories of the Lions’ 22-9 victory at Newlands a fortnight ago. But this will be a stronger Province team the Johannesburg union will be facing this weekend.
WP cruised to victory against the Cheetahs at home during the last league round, thanks to the return of their seven Springboks. The likes of Tiaan Liebenberg, Andries Bekker, Duane Vermeulen, Bryan Habana, Jean de Villiers and Juan de Jongh added much-needed grunt and bolstered the side.
However, the loss of De Villiers, Liebenberg and Bekker to injury will be telling. I don’t think Marcel Brache and De Kock Steenkamp are good enough to fill the gaps left by the players they’ve replaced. Siyabonga Ntubeni isn’t as imposing as Liebenberg, but he has impressed me during the Currie Cup this season and Allister Coetzee will hope the youngster does a good job on match day.
Province will need their heavies to front their battle as they come up against the strongest pack of the Currie Cup. The Lions rested the likes of JC Janse van Rensburg, Jacobie Adriaanse and Franco van der Merwe last weekend, and will come out firing at Ellis Park.
The strengths of the Lions have been their set-piece execution and their ability to slow down and poach ball at the breakdowns. If they can replicate that form this weekend, they’ll have the platform to beat WP.
Expect both flyhalves to play a vital role with the boot.
FORM
Lions WLWLWWWWLL
WP LWLWWLWLLW
Golden Lions – 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Alwyn Hollenbach, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Jaco Kriel, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Callie Visagie, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg (c).
Subs:: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Hendrik Roodt, 19 Derick Minnie, 20 Ross Cronje, 21 Butch James, 22 Deon Helberg.
Western Province – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Marcel Brache, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Don Armand, 6 Deon Fourie (c), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Deon Carstens, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Damian de Allende, 22 Joe Pietersen.
Gareth’s prediction: Lions by 5
PROMOTION-RELEGATION PLAY-OFF, 1ST LEG
FREE STATE CHEETAHS vs EP KINGS, BLOEMFONTEIN, FRI 19:10
Usually, Free State would’ve been the easy pick to win this contest.
But losing 13 first-choice players is an injury crisis most teams would struggle with. Their inconsistent form on the domestic stage this season is also a concern. However, they still have a team strong enough to beat the First Division champions at home.
Free State will target the forward battle. The return of flanker Lappies Labuschagne is a major boost for the loose trio, while Adriaan Strauss will be a key feature in the front row. If the hosts gain the ascendancy up front, their dangerous backline will cause some problems for EP.
The Kings have lost five players to injury over the last fortnight, with the big blows being in-form skipper Luke Watson and lock Darron Nell. The men from PE also struggled under pressure against a physical Pumas outfit last weekend, and they’ll face a stronger unit in the Cheetahs, who have some hard men up front.
Free State should win the first leg, but the interesting fixture will be the second play-off in PE next weekend.
FORM
Cheetahs LWWLLLLWWL
EP Kings (First Division) WWWWWDWWWWWWDWWWWW
Cheetahs – 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Nico Scheepers, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Sias Ebersohn, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Phillip van der Walt, 7 Lappies Labuschagne, 6 Hendro Scholtz, 5 Izak van der Merwe, 4 Francois Uys, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Marcel van der Merwe
Subs: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Carl Wegner, 19 Davon Ruabenheimer, 20 Tewis du Bruyn, 21 Phillip Snyman, 22 Rayno Benjamin.
EP Kings – 15 SP Marais, 14 Paul Perez, 13 Wayne Stevens (c), 12 Shane Gates, 11 Michael Killian 10 Wesley Dunlop, 9 Falie Oelschig, 8 Cornell Du Preez, 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Devin Oosthuizen, 5 David Bullbring, 4 Reynier Bernardo, 3 Clint Newland, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Jaco Engels.
Subs: 16 Frank Herne, 17 Andre Schlechter, 18 Wayne van Heerden, 19 Mpho Mbiyozo, 20 Scott Mathie, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Norman Nelson.
Gareth’s prediction: Free State by 10

485 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
19 Oct 2012, 10:10 am
@Nikita-93: Iffn ya say so ma’am, LIke i said, if things go pear shaped as per predictions, come back and honour us with youe apology
19 Oct 2012, 10:11 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-98:
don’t worry my angel, this year isdefinitely your year.
if not it will almost certainly be next year.
fuckadilly has examined his morning stool and confirmed this.
@katman-96:
indeed.
it’s almost enough for another Boeing Fish Eagle.
19 Oct 2012, 10:11 am
A province win would really make my weekend, but I believe it will be over before half time With Marius Jonker.. Would love the stats on Wp/ Stormers games with him as a ref.. I once broke a laptop screen due to his reffing a game between us and the cheetahas about 4 years ago…
19 Oct 2012, 10:12 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-98:
Give them hope Jo’anna. I live by name.
19 Oct 2012, 10:12 am
@sharks_lover-101:
Apologise when right? Whatever.
19 Oct 2012, 10:13 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-98: typically the blog goes to the dogs when you walk in, show me where the Sharks are bragging liar boy?? most press article etc and blogs have bulls winning etc, Sharks have been keeping out of the press , one verstaan jy suig nog jou duim, maar hou op om om kak leeuns uit te suig
19 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
Wp were something like 22- 6 up halftime with excellent running tries (Yes remember I said 4 years ago) and then enter the wanker….
Lost the game that should have been walk in the park with ridiculous calls all over the show!!
But enough complaining.. I think the fact that Bekker and Tiaan are out is a problem for our line outs.. De Kock is really *****!! I hope eben can come to the party here.
@Nikita-100:
Why sharkfin soup??
Do you want to boost Gunther’s se xual potency or lower his cholesterol or both?
Hollenbach has been declared fit and will partner Taute in the midfield for his 100th first class game.
And Pat Cilliers has been dropped from the match 22, presumably because he’s off to WP next season. CJ replaces him on the bench.
Lions to take this by 10.
I had a great bottle of Bucheron White Merlot last night. Yummy. Yes your heard right – White Merlot. It is showing in my typing skills.
19 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-98: Sorry ma’am clicked on the wrong link, that was not meant for you, but senor El crappo
19 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
@sharks_lover-106: Shakrs will win dont stress… Bulls are really ***** this year….
Not even Lawrence could save them…
19 Oct 2012, 10:16 am
@Nikita-105:
Like is said……… moenie skaam wees nie ****??
19 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
@gunther-102: Ja, but that’s the stock standard Boeing. After presidential pimping the price tag jumps like Capo’s hydraulic Opel Record.
My AVG anti virus keeps giving me a malicious site blocked (hms adserver) when ever I refresh pages. Anyone else experiencing the same problem, or is it just a false positive?
I drink Black Merlot
19 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
@Provvas-112: Hope you are right boet, hopefully neither ref will influence the matches negatively, one can but hope.
Me i am at the Tank at 1.30 pm, May the beers flow :flow:
19 Oct 2012, 10:19 am
@Dawn-116:
@katman-114:
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-98: Not to mention Mr Price’s share price which will go through the roof on Monday,thus,ensuring supply of that wonderful garment to the black and white for the next 100 years.Sl would use it as temple garment-a form of underwear used by the majority of the adherents of Latter Day Saints movement.
19 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@David-115:
david
19 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@Robzim-108:
19 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
@katman-114:
First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.
19 Oct 2012, 10:22 am
@sharks_lover-117: SAAAKS have always been my second team, so No complaints if they win it this year… :0
@David-115: Actually i just installed Kaspersky, seems to be very good.
@sharks_lover-117:
Be in time for the under 21 curtain raiser and keep an eye on the WP number 10.
I hope it is rugby and not water polo this time.
Good luck.
19 Oct 2012, 10:24 am
@Provvas-124: If one looks at the teams that have been very good all through the year?? it’s WP and Sharks, so for me that would be the ideal final.
19 Oct 2012, 10:24 am
But a Saaks vs Wp final would be epic!!
19 Oct 2012, 10:25 am
@Robzim-126:
Rob trust me the reason i am going early is to watch the under21′s match.
Yeah heavy rains expected so i prolly need to go in a wet suit.
19 Oct 2012, 10:25 am
@Nikita-122:
It’s good for the skin and eye sight too.
But it must be fresh.
The blogger Skopskiet is a supplier.
He catches them in Vishoek using a longline attached to his lilo.
19 Oct 2012, 10:26 am
@Nikita-123: That’s a lot to take in. Will you give me a moment?
@sharks_lover-125:
I’ve already notified the HSM webmaster. I was just wondering whether this was just blocking an attempted ad or whether the adserver had been infected.
@Provvas-128: It would be quite funny, and also the 6th time these 2 teams would have met for the year.
19 Oct 2012, 10:27 am
@Robzim-130:
Rob
19 Oct 2012, 10:28 am
Oh dear.
19 Oct 2012, 10:28 am
@wnbb-120:
Mr Price profit jumps
Mr Price profit grows 48%
Profit surge for Mr Price
Mr Price reports sales growth
Mr Price lifts sales
Everytime the Sharks make a playoff game, their profits soar
(as you can see from the above list of articles for various quarters)
@katman-109: Lions by 35 I reckon. We seriously (and our tight five especially) are not worthy…….
19 Oct 2012, 10:29 am
@Robzim-130: But he’s not just a bakkie builder shark hunter; he’s a humanitarian too. So he carries his Ben 10 pillow on his lilo and after reeling the shark in, he gently suffocates it while singing “How much is that doggy in the window?” to it. It’s a very moving scene.
19 Oct 2012, 10:32 am
@Heavens Game-134: BOOM BANG SHANGALANG, hiyas HG
19 Oct 2012, 10:33 am
@Heavens Game-134: Did you cr@p in your boardshorts again?
19 Oct 2012, 10:33 am
@David-132: DAve seriously?? get Kaspersky, much better
19 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
Breaking News:
Bulls Blown Up in Kings Park on Saturday 19 October 2012.
Dynafuckingmite…
19 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@katman-138:
kat
19 Oct 2012, 10:37 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-137:
I just hope they don’t wear those jerseys in the rain, if the rest of the Mr Price dyed stuff is anything to go by!
19 Oct 2012, 10:37 am
@sharks_lover-139: Just BOOM! is good enough for me
Bulls slaughtered at the Abattoir – Otherwise known as Kings Park…
19 Oct 2012, 10:38 am
@Robzim-130: Pitgy they are not showing the under19 Smei’s
The capt and flyhalf of the Sharks team is young Robert Du Preez, He played KZN schools for 3 years, and his young brothers(twins) are 16 now and played 2 years KZN schools, the twins are 2 very big boys, I flank 1 lock,
19 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@Heavens Game-145:
19 Oct 2012, 10:40 am
Special Deal Kings Park Durban this Saturday!!!
Bull Steaks
Eat as much as you like…
Sharks Feast Saturday…
19 Oct 2012, 10:41 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-140: Need scat? Come to daddy, my girly…
19 Oct 2012, 10:43 am
@katman-114:
Indeed they wanted to install a presidential boma on Fishe Eagle II but the Air Safety vetoed it.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All