Cheetahs crush Kings

GARETH DUNCAN watched the Free State Cheetahs cruise to a 53-14 win over the EP Kings in Bloemfontein.

Despite the loss of 13 first-choice players to injury, Free State hammered the First Division champions in the first leg of the promotion-relegation play-offs. The hosts grabbed four tries on the each side of half-time to secure the big win.

Inside centre Andries Strauss, who will join the Kings next season, grabbed a brace, while tighthead prop Ross Geldenhuys, wing Nico Scheepers, No 8 Phillip van der Walt, hooker Adriaan Strauss and wing Rayno Benjamin crossed the chalk. Referee Jonathan Kaplan also awarded Free State a penalty try at the death.

The EP Kings were behind 24-0 at the break, and scored two consolation tries during the second stanza via flank Devin Oosthuizen and inside centre Shane Gates.

The second leg will be played in PE next weekend, but it’s highly unlikely that the Kings will be able to come back from this massive deficit. The Cheetahs landed a knockout blow in the first round.

226 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All

• 101.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@katman-99:

Thanks for the info, very interesting

A mate of mine is also a drummer, he showed me a stick he caught at a Bon Jovi concert

It was his price and joy

• 102.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-100:

He’s not in the mood for another reaming, seeing his team reamed like a Elton John groupie was enough for one evening

• 103.nama1: Reply to this comment

Holy ****** macaroni, what is it that you guys don’t realize or understand: whatever happens next week between the Cheetahs and the Kings in the<CC play off does not matter one bit.

The Kings are going to play Super Rugby next year.

The Loser Lions are not….

At least we’ll have Katman teaching us about music or writing us poems…or something…for the next twelve months :lol:

• 104.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@nama1-103: The Kinks aren’t going to play Super Rugby next year. They’re going to make up the numbers and assist in the wholesale rewriting of record books next year.

• 105.nama1: Reply to this comment

I believe the Kings will at least win THREE matches next year.

Anyone willing to bet, I’m game.

• 106.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-104:
    What did the Lions do the past 5 years then?

Made up the numbers?

Just a change of names, no?

• 107.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-104:
    How many games did the Blues win this year?

Did they make up the numbers while they were losing game after game …..after beating the Bulls at Loftus, only to win against the Lions, the Force and the Brumbies,(in their last game of the season), denying them (the Brumbies) a place in the play offs?

So, what if the Kings win FOUR matches next year? Do we say,”They only make up the numbers?”

• 108.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-107:
    Moeilike vrae vir oom Tackler.

Geweet hy sal dit nie wil/kan antwoord nie.

Nag, ou grootman. :smile:

• 109.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@nama1-108: The Blues are three times champions of Super Rugby. They have mana.

• 110.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The only thing the Kinks will beat next year will be their omelette eggs at breakfast.

• 111.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Kaplan did not make himself popular in SARU corridors allowing the expose of the Kings but then Jonker is already assigned to swindle WP into the Final while Lawrence is to help the Bulls at Kings Park, chief scoundrel Joubert will be on duty overseas so only Pro Legota was left available :(

• 112.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

kings got a snotklap from the cheetahs, but onwards and upwards we go

• 113.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

DIS LEKKER DIS LEKKER
    DIS LEKKER OM ‘N EP KING TE WEES

• 114.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

where the hell were all the BLACK EP players????

wasn’t the Queens concept to aide black player development in the EP, each time the commentator spoke about an EP player that had come through the academy, it was a white dude ??

Then we hear that Solly wants to recruit a clutch of Argies ?

Stop lying to us – maybe SA Blacks aren’t built for rugby, then go scouting in Zim, Kenya, Ghana (FYI – the wunderkind Rule comes from Accra), Ivory Coast and get some African players – not Argies !!

• 115.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-114:
    chillieboy,kolisi, mvovo,ndunganel’s etc certainly don’t play rugby right?

• 116.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

did anyone see the Pasella piece on Naka ?

I watched the insert on Naka on Pasella and found it very odd that his boys, when asked who they would want to play for one day – both replied “England” It is quite concerning when an ex-Bok’s kids want to play for England? Is Naka looking at moving abroad someday soon? [just an observation...]

• 117.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou-115:
    ndunganel’s = ndunganes’

• 118.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou-115: well done you named 4 or 5 players … brilliant !!

• 119.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-118:
    1 is enough to rebutt your statement that “maybe SA Blacks aren’t built for rugby”

• 120.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

lets also forget that rugby has been played in the eastern cape for over a hundred years by “blacks”

• 121.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

This is from the EP Kings Army on Facebook. Just solid facts for some of the HYPOCRITES AND CHEEKY WATSON HATERS. Kings cannot do worse than the Lions, Bull, Sharks not so long ago. It is no brainer that Kings will battle next year at Super rugby. What is critical for them is to survive and ensure they keep their status in Super rugby. Cheeky and his team are street wise and am positive they will achieve that.

” All the visitors on the page are making reference to Super Rugby, first, this side tonight is the CC side, only 12 of the whole EP squad have been offered SR contract, so Solly must have another +24 up his sleeve, however, we only have one season to try Mae a difference so Lets refresh some of those visitors memories, specific to some SR seasons : Lions 2008 pld 13 won 2, 2009 pld 13 won, 4, 2010 pld 13 won 0, 2011 pld 14 won 3, 2012 pld 14 won 3; Sharks 2000 pld 11 won 1, 2003 pld 11 won 3, 2005 pld 11 won 1; Blue Bulls, 1999 pld 11 won 1, 2000 pld 11 won 1, 2001 pld 11 won 2, 2002 pld 11 won 0. Hmmm and that’s with year after year of top rugby both Currie Cup & Super Rugby,

• 122.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

yes there are a handful of players but statistically, SA Blacks aren’t good at rugby or Soccer or Cricket

• 123.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-122:
    hahaha jy dit als op pasella gesien? the trust is bankrupt

• 124.Peter Mkata: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-114:

You are an ignorant idiot who has shown up yourself on public forum. You should be ashamed of your self. But that is expecting too much from an old **** like you. Go to google and type SA Black rugby. Then you will probably learn something you misserable excuse for a human being.

• 125.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-122:
    have a look at the agegroup teams and then come and tell me bout stats

• 126.husky: Reply to this comment

@116; shows which way SA rugby is going; down. Then “transformation” Kings have only two black players (on the bench nogal) and are begging special permission to buy foreign players because Cheeky, Luke (where was the little toad?), Snollymans and keow have scooped all our SNAFU loot! Just a little too obviously hypocritical; not to mention new SA greedy.

Add keow’s absolutely dishonest article and we have what typifies a corrupt system; lies and theft. Gezundheit.

• 127.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@Peter Mkata-124:
    “Against stupidity the best way is information,
    knowledge of things and examples of behaviour, of attitudes,” said Wenger.

• 128.katman: Reply to this comment

I’m almost inclined to appeal to SARU myself to let Cheeky buy more foreigners, on the condition that at least one of them is black. Because this snow white team from the Eastern Cape is so embarrassing it’s threatening to drag SA’s credit rating down.

• 129.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

@nama1-105: I will have a grand on that

• 130.RL: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou-125: the Kings will unlesash their 200 000 on the ignorant few – just watch this space. :grin:

• 131.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@DEE DAH-129: Yep, me too.

• 132.katman: Reply to this comment

@RL-130: Ah, didn’t hink of that. They’re holding back deliberately. Like those cowboy movies where you see ten indians up on a ridge. But when you ride up to the top, you see the 10 000 waiting for you on the other side. Cheeky chose to play 15 white journeymen last night (and next weekend), but come February we will get to the crest and see his army of Impis. We’re all in big kak. Why did I not see this coming?

• 133.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

So touchy… Typical. I guess Zuma is a good leader also?

• 134.katman: Reply to this comment

The Katman presents… Curry Cup facts to shock and awe:

Going into tonight’s game, the Lions have won four CC games in a row against WP.

• 135.katman: Reply to this comment

Currie… jeez katman, get it right you wally.

• 136.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@katman-135: you said it not me :lol:

• 137.katman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-136: You were thinking it though. I’m not stupid.

• 138.LoanShark: Reply to this comment

To all the over educated bloggers here….. We are still to see the Kings Super rugby team…. Kings have a budget to recruit +- 20 New players for the super rugby campaign!

• 139.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@katman-137: :lol: boet

By the way, Lions over WP could very well be 5 by this evening

• 140.katman: Reply to this comment

@LoanShark-138: Oh that’s right. Will have to be locals though, as their foreign quota is not just full but almost 200% overstocked. But fret not, I hear Owen Nkumane wants to make a comeback.

• 141.LoanShark: Reply to this comment

@katman-140:

How did you enjoy supporting you team basically finishing more or less last for 10 years running in super rugby? And then to make things worse – ABSA not willing to renew your R80m unsecured overdraft making you bankrupt. It is a sad to see the demise of a this previously prospering franchise!

• 142.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Hoani MacDonald, NZ Maori, Southland and Highlanders/Rebels 6ft 6in lock, had a heart attack playing for Southland versus Counties-Manukau in South Auckland today. He’s critical in an induced coma at Middlemore Hospital ICU. Let’s hope the big fella pulls through.

• 143.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust-133:
    hope that foot that you keep shoving into your mouth is clean

• 144.katman: Reply to this comment

@LoanShark-141: Man, that weak sidetrack is so off topic here, it’s almost not worth responding to. But allow me to leave you with a couple of thoughts:

The only thing standing between the Kings and a similar bankruptcy is a lifeline of funds from the government. Remember, the Lions made their own way through partnerships with Xerox, MTN etc. They didn’t have a funnel straight from the Lotto or from the small change in Zuma’s car ashtray after he came back from buying Nkandla. Gumede pulled out of the Lions when they couldn’t see eye to eye on his Pan-African team transformation, and everyone told him he’d find more acceptable bedfellows in the Kings. Do you suppose he still thinks so after last nights all-white run on team? Cheeky & Co will find out very soon that money talks and bullshit walks when the government start demanding “visible reforms” in return for their continued sponsorship. And that real brands with real money demand ROI (i.e. a winning team) or they too walk out. And this, my friend, equals an untenable situation for the Kings. Because we’re talking two circles that don’t overlap.

• 145.katman: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-142: Jeez, that’s sad news. Wishing him a full recovery.

• 146.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@katman-144:
    “small change in Zuma’s car ashtray after he came back from buying Nkandla.” keep spreading them lies

• 147.LoanShark: Reply to this comment

@katman-144:

Platypus…. Not a Kings supporter. Will always be a Shark! Just do not believe that the LIONS belong in Super Rugby! Their statistic and performance over the past 10 years is proof there off! Now if the Kings have a similar record to the Lions in super rugby, which at this stage is still pure speculation, will be the first to suggest that they don not belong! It should always be performance based?

• 148.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@katman-144:
    ” real brands with real money demand ROI (i.e. a winning team) or they too walk out.”
    like the lions in did in superrugby all these years?

• 149.mamma_lou: Reply to this comment

@mamma_lou-148:
    lions in did = lions did

• 150.Puma: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-142: Just read that on Sports24. Sad to to read about a young man having a heart attack. Hoping he makes a full recovery.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.