Cheetahs crush Kings
19 Oct 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched the Free State Cheetahs cruise to a 53-14 win over the EP Kings in Bloemfontein.
Despite the loss of 13 first-choice players to injury, Free State hammered the First Division champions in the first leg of the promotion-relegation play-offs. The hosts grabbed four tries on the each side of half-time to secure the big win.
Inside centre Andries Strauss, who will join the Kings next season, grabbed a brace, while tighthead prop Ross Geldenhuys, wing Nico Scheepers, No 8 Phillip van der Walt, hooker Adriaan Strauss and wing Rayno Benjamin crossed the chalk. Referee Jonathan Kaplan also awarded Free State a penalty try at the death.
The EP Kings were behind 24-0 at the break, and scored two consolation tries during the second stanza via flank Devin Oosthuizen and inside centre Shane Gates.
The second leg will be played in PE next weekend, but it’s highly unlikely that the Kings will be able to come back from this massive deficit. The Cheetahs landed a knockout blow in the first round.

226 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
20 Oct 2012, 09:08 am
my badwater word koud cheers
20 Oct 2012, 09:13 am
@mamma_lou-148: Precisely. Do you think it’s coincidence that, during the periods when the Lions’ performance was at its lowest, their sponsorship retention was at its worst? These are lessons the Kings will learn too. But in their case the government will turn off that important tap too, for different reasons altogether. And that’s a sticky situation.
20 Oct 2012, 09:15 am
LOL!!!
SANZAR will get a wakeup call of note now, or not!
20 Oct 2012, 09:17 am
I reckon Lulu will be doing some big cotching in the Spears/Kings jersey in the near future.
Cheeky included.
LOL!
20 Oct 2012, 09:21 am
heh its going to be so horrible for the Kings and the Lions would have done so much better….
or would they?
lets look at history.
since 2008 the Lions have played 59 Super Rugby games. and they have won only 12.
59 -12.
we should have no more than 4 teams in Super Rugby.
20 Oct 2012, 09:24 am
As I have said so here before saru have messed up badly. They have set Kings up to fail in Super Rugby. How can they get only one year to prove themselves and have to play a relegation game to stay in after only one year??? Crazy, they will need at least 3 to 4 years to start being competitive. Kings should have been brought into CC next year and the following to get them ready for 2016. Would have been better for them, now it looks like they will be there for one year only to be out the next. What damn good does that do? Nothing, absolutely nothing. That is not building for the future for Eastern Province it is setting them up to fail. If they had come in 2016 by that time there would be a new format and they could have had a few years to get themselves competitive in SR. They had to play in CC first, it is no brainer really. Saru are fools.
Really feel for both these teams Lions and Kings and especially their players and supporters. How the heck can Kings be ready for Super Rugby after watching them last night? What were saru thinking? Had they played CC for a few years they would have been far better prepared. Now Lions are out of SR just when they had started getting it right, playing some good rugby. Yes I know they were last again this year, but really how can we judge them? They had about 7 or more players out injured. NO team can have that many players out and be competitive. Lions have their players back now and we can see they playing some good rugby in the CC. Lions too never gave away 5 points easy this year, they were hard to beat and even beat my Sharks who went onto the final. Lions should still be in Super Rugby next year building and Kings should be in CC for the next two years getting ready for Super Rugby. Kings are going to get slaughtered next year in SR if this is what they can produce at CC level. I feel for them really.
Anyhow well done to Cheetahs last night. Would have been a travesty not to have Cheetahs in CC. Kings and Pumas should just be brought in for next year. Makes CC more interesting having 8 teams than 6 teams in the tourney, as I said last week on RT.
20 Oct 2012, 09:29 am
So for now the weather man is right. Rained through the night here and still a slight mist of rain coming down. Not great for attractive rugby later. The field not gonna be great as we have the u21 semi played at 2pm first. Just hope the rain stops later.
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!
20 Oct 2012, 09:30 am
@Puma-156: SARU will move the goalposts.
Not like it will be the 1st time either
20 Oct 2012, 09:33 am
@trupisero-158: Yeah they do what the want it seems.
20 Oct 2012, 09:39 am
@Puma-159:
Howzit boet,you well?
20 Oct 2012, 09:43 am
This is for Dawn..Hiyas!
20 Oct 2012, 09:44 am
@Fern-160:
There’s an excellent picture doing the rounds on FB..shows a blue cow in the water being hunted down by a shark..classic!!!
20 Oct 2012, 09:45 am
@Fern-160: Howzit Fern, How you doing bro? Have not seen you about here for a long time.
Weather not great for our game later boet. Was hoping for a dry day.
20 Oct 2012, 09:47 am
@Predawn-162: hahaha. Would like to see that. There was a great one here before the Semi against Stormers as well. Someone put up the link.
20 Oct 2012, 09:48 am
@Predawn-162: I got a lot of those kind of pics,
20 Oct 2012, 09:49 am
@Puma-156:
Playing in the CC without a franchise to keep and attract players wouldn’t have helped. Look at how long the other franchises have had to develop by signing and releasing players until they’ve got their mix right.
20 Oct 2012, 09:52 am
@Puma-163:
I am taking it easy but taking it thanks,very busy at work,got a trip to Bloem and PE coming up for projects there.
2013 is going to be hectic.
Sharks are going to be ruthless.
@Predawn-162:
Lekker,heavy prophetic vibes right there.
20 Oct 2012, 09:54 am
Morne Steyn has a good record playing in the wet, it suits his game. If I was a shark fan i would be very worried.
20 Oct 2012, 09:54 am
@sharks_lover-165: Put a link up here. Someone put up a link here before we played Stormers in the semi of SR. Was brilliant that one.
20 Oct 2012, 09:55 am
@Fern-167: Plenty work is always good Fern. Yeah, looking forward to SR next year. If we can carry on from where we were this year, that will be great.
20 Oct 2012, 09:56 am
@Puma-169:
Got to go to Rustenburg aswell this year most prob.
This year is goneski but Dec is so far if you know what I mean.
20 Oct 2012, 09:57 am
@Puma-169: lemme check quickly lol
20 Oct 2012, 09:58 am
@sharks_lover-172: Okay bro.
20 Oct 2012, 09:58 am
@sharks_lover-172:
R U in Durbs already?
20 Oct 2012, 09:59 am
@Puma-173:
Hi Puma, whats the weather like at the moment?
20 Oct 2012, 10:03 am
Anyone know what time the WP-Bulls final starts next Saturday?
I like to plan ahead
20 Oct 2012, 10:03 am
@Robzim-175: Rubbish…LOL. Rained the whole night and still a slight mist of rain coming down. Total cloud cover right now.
20 Oct 2012, 10:04 am
@Robzim-174: yes
actualy in PMB , leaving for Durbs in a few
20 Oct 2012, 10:05 am
The real issue is that SA only has enough depth to field 3 competitive Super rugby sides, 4 at an absolute push.
Yet the Charlies at SARU have given us a 6th?……..
To the Kings and Cheeky Twatson:
PLEASE STOP with your “we can do no worse than the Lions” excuses.
Leaving aside the fact that you can (100 point assreamings every weekends will see you sink the bar even lower) it is just a PATHETIC excuse to make. Grow a backbone and shrug off your mediocrity excuses for failure already!
DOWN WITH THE UNDESERVING AND ANTI-TRANSFORMATION KINGS.
20 Oct 2012, 10:07 am
@stormersboy-176: Heard that one before the SR semi…hehehehe. We know how that one turned out…
20 Oct 2012, 10:07 am
@Puma-170:
I gotta do some building work at the dam over Dec and its a mates bday aswell.
It is going to be a boys only 5 day cruise on the Symphony to Baz and Maputo,never been so it is going to be cool.
His wife insisted on tagging along,he told her that Chunt du Fernly is going on the trip
aswell and she changed her mind:-)
Howzit SL,you well?
20 Oct 2012, 10:08 am
@Puma-177:
It’s a pity. At least the sharks must be used to play in such conditions by now. It wil probably be a tense low scoring game with the boot of either Lambie or Morne the deciding factor.
20 Oct 2012, 10:10 am
@Robzim-168: It seems so far the Sharks have a good record playing in the rain. We have done so almost every week the past month. In monsoon type of weather at times. WE came out tops in all of those games….
Morne can bring his wet weather game if he likes….
20 Oct 2012, 10:12 am
@Robzim-182:
LOL.. the boot of Lambie the deciding factor? Good one!
20 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
@Robzim-182: I think it is a real pity Rob, as Sharks won’t be able to play to their game plan. Would have been great to see our backline go against this Bulls team. Only dry weather would have allowed for that though. Will be very tight and the weather conditions will allow Bulls to be in it.
I would have said confidently that if it was dry Sharks would win. Now it is 50/50. Do hope Sharks win as I think Province will win the other semi and it would be great to have a Sharks/Province final next week.
20 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
Sharks by 15.
Lions by 12.
20 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
The rain is getting real heavy now. What a shame for a semi later.
20 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
Sharks have the best backline in SA. The rain will play into the Bulls’ hands.
But the Sharks are a superior team in all facets. They will come through and come through well.
20 Oct 2012, 10:16 am
I have this feeling that SARU will change the Currie cup to 8 teams, the promo/regu match between the last placed team and Lions will never happen, SARU is going to offer this vote to all the Unions before Super Rugby and no one will vote for this except the Lions, unless the smaller uions decide to throw a spanner in the works and vote with the Lions( SARU could bribe them) otherwise every man for himself.
SARU will then lay the blame at the unions for the voting.(Nobody would vote for the chance that they might be relegated).
Today could be the last Lions game where they still have good players, they will have to start to rebuild from the beginning.
Money could be an issue but it seems MTN has said they will stand by them, so we will see.
As for the Lions moving to FNB, the parking was a complete joke at the test, paid R150 for parking I could not even get to.
People will soften towards the Kings but not as long as Puke Watson plays for them.
20 Oct 2012, 10:16 am
@Puma-183:
Morne nearly boke my heart at newlands a few years ago when he won the semi with a last minute penalty against wp (after a late tackle by that big Fidjian who used to play for us) – lets hope he does not do the same to you today
20 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
@Liewe Luiperd-186: That could happen. Same two in the final as last year. Though think Province might sneak this one, then they did battle to beat your team at Ellis Park in SR. Think Stormers won that one by 4 points now they without some of their players. So Lions could win this one.
How is the weather up there bud?
20 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
I am hoping for a gauteng final !!!!!!
20 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
I think the 6 team Currie Cup format was great!
Short.
Intense.
No easy games.
I love the thrill of promotion/relegation matches.
The format is correct.
20 Oct 2012, 10:19 am
And these bunch of clowns want to play super rugby. Wake and smell the sh it you’re selling Cheeky.
@stormersboy-176: Yes, it starts at No O’clock in Noddy Land
@Liewe Luiperd-193: Agree. No easy games and full out intensity. Loved it.
20 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@Robzim-190: I remember that game very well Rob. The big player from Figian player cost you that game Rob. Morne was kicking almost 100% then. Has not been that great of late, except last week against a B Lions side. Remember it is wet here and sea level. Not the same kicking at altitude in the dry.
20 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@umkhonto-192: Already have tickets done and dusted if the final is in Jhb.
20 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
Puma
how’s things in durbs today. Wet under foor or should we prepare for a water polo match?
20 Oct 2012, 10:26 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-199: Very wet here, but so far not water polo kinda conditions. By 5pm it could be though boet.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All