WP edge Ellis Park epic
20 Oct 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a 21-16 victory for Western Province who shifted gears in the final quarter to down the Golden Lions in their Currie Cup semi-final.
WP lost twice to the Lions in the league phase, and appeared to be on their way out of the competition before they showed the mettle that has so often eluded them in knock-out matches. This will be an important step in their youngsters’ education, although a far greater test awaits against the Sharks in Durban next week.
The defending champions will lament poor goal kicking, but outside of a try from broken field, they never posed a serious attacking threat.
Defence dominated the first half, with the visitors faring better in the regard. The Lions didn’t test their now famously efficient system (even when Gerhard van den Heever was yellow carded in the seventh minute), refusing to earn the right to play the expansive game they wanted to.
A little more pragmatism in their play would have benefited them, but with their strike runners in the pack seeing too little of the ball and flyhalf Elton Jantjies tucked too deep in the pocket, they were always going to struggle to break down the WP wall. They compounded their problems with poor goal kicking, Jantjies missing three penalties in the first 40, while Ruan Combrink’s 55m effort came up short.
WP looked the more organsied side, playing well through the phases with their forwards. But they showed too little appreciation for the territory game and little inventiveness in the back division initially, Don Armand coming up with their best chance but being held up over the line in his attempt to score.
Demetri Catrakilis kicked both of his penalty goals, giving his side a 6-3 lead at half-time, but Jantjies levelled with a three pointer just after the restart. Then the Lions grabbed the initiative with a try that was birthed from a turnover in their 22m, Michael Rhodes running a good angle to cut through the line. Jantjies converted and the Lions looked galvanised.
The Joburg union upped the ante at the gainline and in their breakdown contesting, which in turn compromised WP’s ability to control the flow and tempo of their attacking play. There were a couple of flashes of brilliance from the Cape side’s backs, but their potency patently lay in their tight play, particularly their mauling. One such surge drove them into the Lions’ red zone, only to see yet another opportunity slip away through a combination of poor ball protection and a rabid Lions ruck assault.
WP gambled by sending on scrumhalf Louis Schreuder to replace ace goal kicker Catrakilis, no doubt hoping the youngster would inject something special into their attacking play. But the Lions were brutal in their defence and reduced their opponents to rudderless messes. With each minute that ticked by, the inexperienced WP side seemed to become more desperate and consequently more loose. This played into the Lions’ hands, as they were able to pick off their targets with relative ease.
The composure they showed under pressure, aided by the experience they were able to introduce off the bench, was impressive. But they finally succumbed, WP fullback Joe Pietersen rounding off a move in which his forwards depleted the Lions’ defensive line superbly. Crucially he missed the conversion attempt, leaving his side down by two, but he made no mistake from a penalty shortly thereafter.
One point game. Four minutes to play.
Jantjies held his nerve with a 78th-minute penalty, leaving the Lions with a desperate closing period, one they couldn’t negotiate successfully, with WP setting up a rolling maul 20m out from goal and rumbling to glory.

908 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 19 » Show All
21 Oct 2012, 00:57 am
Nic Groom…he be the man.
No Schreuder at SH…asseblief Allister.
21 Oct 2012, 05:01 am
@ahasaid theclown-538: Skop, I reckon you can rid yourself of all the anger by simply getting laid. Ask the frumpy cow if she can service you when province wins the CC?
21 Oct 2012, 06:04 am
There were very few brave men in J’oburg who risked their money on the Lions with Jonker’s appointment
I did the same: follow the money!
@nama1-539:
Celebration of the looters has started in earnest?
I see Skop earned another ban, must have said something right for a change?
21 Oct 2012, 07:45 am
Well, the good thing about the internet is that everything is logged…So racist rants are not only saved but so is the IP address of the computer from whence the cowardly comments came. I suspect that the clown is a troll but that doesn’t excuse the blatantly racist vitriol he was spewing.
21 Oct 2012, 08:01 am
@Westlyn-544:
It trolls from its cellphone.
21 Oct 2012, 08:19 am
I think the Province woud rather be playing the Flou Trille in the final.
21 Oct 2012, 08:21 am
@Westlyn-544:
Who..skopshyte? You could put her racist rants into a document the size of a telephone directory.
21 Oct 2012, 08:24 am
@ahasaid theclown-533:
..”academically brainwashed..”???
Sounds like something from the Soviet Union circa. 1980.
21 Oct 2012, 08:29 am
@Westlyn-544:
Unless you other bloggers start sending official complaints to the administrators like I do, nothing will be done about this drol.
Time to band together to exterminate with extreme prejudice or just keep on complaining.
21 Oct 2012, 08:30 am
Right, so the Brokeback hairdressers won the ‘hardebaarde’ from Brakpan. It seems the Province new style is giving them belief in scoring tries.
21 Oct 2012, 08:38 am
What do you call a team that has been beaten by a bunch of brokebacks?
21 Oct 2012, 09:10 am
Well played WP, didn’t give up.
Now for those bunch of imports, the UN of SA Rugby……
Papa wag vir jou….
21 Oct 2012, 09:11 am
A lucky escape by my beloved Province, but we will take this.
Tough luck Lions – you have played beyond yourselves, especially with all the problems in the union.
Going to be really tough next week and Sharks are overwhelming favourites.
21 Oct 2012, 09:20 am
Skopy,have you got nothing better to do with your time?
Get a life.
21 Oct 2012, 09:27 am
@Gumboots-553: It’s going to be really tough!! Sharks are huge favourites !!
I’m very happy that Proudfoot saw the light at lineout-time. The ball was thrown to the front virtually everytime. If Steenkamp had it his way, he would have called a number of balls on himself – fortunately he didn’t. I know Armand is perhaps not heavy enough for a lock, but I’ll consider to play him at 4 and Sinclair at 7. Sinclair made an important steal in the front of the lineout close to the Province’s 22m line. Province can move Etzebeth to the middle of the lineout. Steenkamp does not really contribute a lot during games.@Fern-555: I agree !!
21 Oct 2012, 09:31 am
@stormersboy-552: It will take one heck of an effort to beat the Sharks. At this stage the Sharks have to be 60 / 40 favourites (at least). But there is always a chance in a final.
21 Oct 2012, 09:32 am
@Gumboots-553: Nope WP are hot favourites,
you know us useless imports cant compete with the WP imports
21 Oct 2012, 09:34 am
Why do people bother respoding to Skopclown?? by doing that ur fedding it??
DO NOT FEED THE ROACH!!!! simple really
21 Oct 2012, 09:37 am
@sharks_lover-558: Hi SL, don’t start with the mind games so early (LoL) !! Your team really took the Bulls apart. Lambie really took control (his forwards did their bit though). I thought Mark Lawrence was a bit too hard on the Bulls at some stages but I guess you have to take it when it is not your day. J Kruger was so frustrated during the match. I’m not so sure that he’ll do the job for the Boks in the UK. The pitch conditions will probably be the same in a month’s time.
Do you have any idea what the weather predictions are for this week ? Kings Park really need a “good weather” break
21 Oct 2012, 09:39 am
@sharks_lover-559: I was not on the site last night but scrolled through the comments this morning. What can I say ? All this name calling is really so stupid – rather concentrate on rugby issues but I guess certain people can’t make any positive contributions.
21 Oct 2012, 09:41 am
@CharlesM-557: Absolutely. If we had Tiaan, Andries and Jean I’d feel a lot better, but the Sharks at home must be the bog favourites, I was just having a gentle dig at the Sharkies here.
Again Steenkamp was mediocre the whole game, as you say there must be better players than him available.
Eben was huge again, Deon played well, Scarra is a good player too.
Backline isn’t working yet. many passes went in front of players, stalling attacking momentum.
We have some work to do this week for sure!
21 Oct 2012, 09:43 am
@CharlesM-560:
GM charles, I am just teasing my good mate stormersboy a bit
Boet come the weekend it all comes back to what i said last week, best team on the day will win it.
As for the refs yesterday, agreed one or 2 calls went against the Bulls that could have gone either way, Lets take lambies little chip and we score, as we scoring he decides to blow the whistle and call us back. TRY already scored, Thats a try we have beeb robbed of, So ref made afew mistakes both ways.
I actually sitting at the match thought he was a bit harsh on the Bulls, getting home last night and then watching on Telly showed me he was not that bad.
I am not a Lawrence fan and he has always nailed the Sharks, but i thought he handled the match very well yesrterday.
21 Oct 2012, 09:47 am
@CharlesM-561: Agreed 100% Charles,
21 Oct 2012, 09:50 am
@sharks_lover-563: In defence of Lawrence, when Mellett tripped Lambie, he immediately blew the whistle. He explained it to Keegan that he thought it was a serious offence and had to blow. What he should have done was to play advantage, which he unfortunately did not do.
Did you watch the U/21 match ? I didn’t watch it but somebody referred to Tim Swiel, the WP flyhalf. I’ve never seen him play but some guys were raving about him. Any comments about him.
Stormersboy: I know you guys are having a go at each other. Any comments about Swiel at 10 ? I have to admit when Schreuder replaced DC I thought WTF… but he did quite well. To start him at 10 will be a huge risk. Joe’s kicking is not good enough to rely on in a final. De Allende played quite well when he came on IMO
21 Oct 2012, 09:53 am
@CharlesM-565: Swiel is a very very good talent, WP needs to Look after this kid,
21 Oct 2012, 09:55 am
@sharks_lover-566: Good to hear !!
Something else: I can’t understand why Plum took so long to bring Burden onto the park. Cooper struggled quite a bit in the lineouts (after an initial good start).
21 Oct 2012, 10:00 am
I had a look at the weather predictions for the week. It seems there will be a bit of a break in the rain but there will still be a little rain around on Saturday at Kings Park: fortunately not as much as the last couple of weeks.
21 Oct 2012, 10:01 am
@CharlesM-567: Charles, Plum has made mistakes before of just making changes for the sake of changes, but of late is is thinking more about the changes he makes, Cooper actually played very well in the loose etc, just lost it a bit on the lineouts, The was also the reason a lot of people are not seeing,
A lot of people last week were saying Plum is mad for not playing Beast and letting Chadwick start, well Chadwick yesterday must have gained huge confidence from the faith the coach showed in him, and infact he klapped the Bulls TH in the scrums,
I think this was also very much the case for Cooper, A tough kid and strong scrummager.
Yes his lineouts he needs to work on
21 Oct 2012, 10:06 am
@sharks_lover-571: I wanted to mention Cooper’s general play – he brought a lot to the game: the time J Potgieter tried to tackle him and got bumped was priceless!! The Beast is nowhere near his best. Chadwick is getting better and better and like you said his confidence got a boost, being selected to start.
Keegan Daniel once again showed what a mistake HM made to drop him.
21 Oct 2012, 10:06 am
Juan De Jong looked very impressive yesterday and is way ahead of Taute.
Should be 1st choice 13 for EOYT.
21 Oct 2012, 10:07 am
@sharks_lover-563: Hey fella hope the hangover isn’t too bad
Yes indeed it comes down to us 2 again, the 2 best teams in SA this year accross the competitions, as it should be,
Come Saturday as you said, it will be the team that plays better that will win, can’t wait to be honest!
21 Oct 2012, 10:09 am
Still don’t understand why Meyer chose Taute over de Jongh.
21 Oct 2012, 10:09 am
WP to take the CC next Saturday.
You can put money on it.
GP WIEPIEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!
21 Oct 2012, 10:10 am
@CharlesM-572: Regarding the lineouts: they should try to keep it simple, especially when the field is wet. Look how well Province did in the lineouts – the reason: they kept it simple (obviously Proudfoot gave Steenkamp instructions to keep it simple).
In my days with the old leather Super Springbok ball, it was a nightmare to feed the lineouts: that ball got so slippery – you had to “push” the ball into the lineouts because there was no grip on the ball
21 Oct 2012, 10:11 am
@RugbyStudent-575: His obsession with size!!
21 Oct 2012, 10:12 am
@CharlesM-570: People have no idea as to the weather conditions in Durban and what effect it had on the match.
This is why for the most i just laugh at some people in here making snide stupid remarks about the Sharks or the team they played against, Of course most of those remarks one looks at who the person is and just ignores,
The reason i say this is this. now i will take yesterday as an example.
Yes it rained, although not during the match(thankfully) and many people will say so what it is just wet, When it comes to Durban it is not just wet.
The humidity causes the ball with that salt content etc with the wet to be like a bar of soap.
THe air yesterday was so so heavy players were having a hard time getting distance with the ball, that besides the stiff breeze blowing that brought in more heavy rain that settled in after the match.
This is why i felt the Sharks played it very Smart against the Bulls yesterday, even though they should have had 2 tries and not only the 1, they slowy chocked the life out of the Bulls and did not pannick and try rushing a victory.
Sometimes you have play the situation and not just force what is not there to force.
21 Oct 2012, 10:15 am
@nama1-576: would’nt expect it any other way with you Nyama, GROOT BEK BLY N GROOT BEK,
Then again WP always win the trophy on the MOnday and tuesday etc prior to every final
21 Oct 2012, 10:17 am
15 Jaco Taute
14 JP Petersen
13 Jean De Villiers
12 Juan de Jongh
11 Bryan Habana
10 Pat Lambie
9 Ruan Pienaar
8 Duane Vermeulen
7 Willem Alberts
6 Francois Louw
5 Eben Etsebeth
4 Bakkies Botha
3 Pat Cilliers
2 Adriaan Strauss
1 Beast Mtawarira
21 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
@stormersboy-574: :lol; hiyas bro,
NOt too bad, was aweosome, and yeah I did call it in the week and say the Final will be Sharks vs WP.
Unlike Nikita who cam and told me how the BUlls would win and how she is never wrong
Still waiting for the Blondie to come show face in here lol
21 Oct 2012, 10:19 am
@sharks_lover-580: Like I said earlier – Sharks are the definite favourites. I’m obviously hoping for a Province victory but will not put money on it.
Okay gents I’m out – need to do the Sh*t, Shave and Shower routine !! It took me some time to get going this morning after too much Sauvignon Blanc at the braai.
21 Oct 2012, 10:20 am
@Charles, now that sounds brokeback to me lol!
@sharks_lover-582: For once my prediction was right as well !!
@sharks_lover-571:
Congrats with your team reaching the final.
Hope you’ll have better playing conditions for us next week.
It’s ON.
WP by 10.
21 Oct 2012, 10:21 am
@RugbyStudent-584: Hey man’s got to do what man’s got to do lol !! I need to clean up before I start my Sunday braai
21 Oct 2012, 10:22 am
@RugbyStudent-581: Taute at 15??
Here is a fact and it was proved again yesterday in terrible conditions.
Ludick is the best 15 in SA by a country mile,
21 Oct 2012, 10:22 am
@Charles, now that sounds broke back to me lol!
21 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
@sharks_lover-582: LOL I saw those posts. Yes, Sharks v WP is what I voted for as most likely on the Keo poll, and in my Superbru picks, which with the margin points actually saw me rocket up the standings once more. Nice.
I’ll wait until Friday to put my picks in for Saturday though, a lot depends on the fitness of players and team sheets.
@RugbyStudent-589: Please let me go sir !! LoL
@nama1-586: If you say so, Sharks actually do the talking on the saturday (matchday)
21 Oct 2012, 10:25 am
@sharks_lover-580:
If we can compete at scrumtime we have a chance. But yesterday against the Lions we looked ordinary and the Sharks frontrow is the best in the country.
Province will be chomping at the bit though. 11 years without silverware should motivate the players
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 19 » Show All