WP edge Ellis Park epic
20 Oct 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a 21-16 victory for Western Province who shifted gears in the final quarter to down the Golden Lions in their Currie Cup semi-final.
WP lost twice to the Lions in the league phase, and appeared to be on their way out of the competition before they showed the mettle that has so often eluded them in knock-out matches. This will be an important step in their youngsters’ education, although a far greater test awaits against the Sharks in Durban next week.
The defending champions will lament poor goal kicking, but outside of a try from broken field, they never posed a serious attacking threat.
Defence dominated the first half, with the visitors faring better in the regard. The Lions didn’t test their now famously efficient system (even when Gerhard van den Heever was yellow carded in the seventh minute), refusing to earn the right to play the expansive game they wanted to.
A little more pragmatism in their play would have benefited them, but with their strike runners in the pack seeing too little of the ball and flyhalf Elton Jantjies tucked too deep in the pocket, they were always going to struggle to break down the WP wall. They compounded their problems with poor goal kicking, Jantjies missing three penalties in the first 40, while Ruan Combrink’s 55m effort came up short.
WP looked the more organsied side, playing well through the phases with their forwards. But they showed too little appreciation for the territory game and little inventiveness in the back division initially, Don Armand coming up with their best chance but being held up over the line in his attempt to score.
Demetri Catrakilis kicked both of his penalty goals, giving his side a 6-3 lead at half-time, but Jantjies levelled with a three pointer just after the restart. Then the Lions grabbed the initiative with a try that was birthed from a turnover in their 22m, Michael Rhodes running a good angle to cut through the line. Jantjies converted and the Lions looked galvanised.
The Joburg union upped the ante at the gainline and in their breakdown contesting, which in turn compromised WP’s ability to control the flow and tempo of their attacking play. There were a couple of flashes of brilliance from the Cape side’s backs, but their potency patently lay in their tight play, particularly their mauling. One such surge drove them into the Lions’ red zone, only to see yet another opportunity slip away through a combination of poor ball protection and a rabid Lions ruck assault.
WP gambled by sending on scrumhalf Louis Schreuder to replace ace goal kicker Catrakilis, no doubt hoping the youngster would inject something special into their attacking play. But the Lions were brutal in their defence and reduced their opponents to rudderless messes. With each minute that ticked by, the inexperienced WP side seemed to become more desperate and consequently more loose. This played into the Lions’ hands, as they were able to pick off their targets with relative ease.
The composure they showed under pressure, aided by the experience they were able to introduce off the bench, was impressive. But they finally succumbed, WP fullback Joe Pietersen rounding off a move in which his forwards depleted the Lions’ defensive line superbly. Crucially he missed the conversion attempt, leaving his side down by two, but he made no mistake from a penalty shortly thereafter.
One point game. Four minutes to play.
Jantjies held his nerve with a 78th-minute penalty, leaving the Lions with a desperate closing period, one they couldn’t negotiate successfully, with WP setting up a rolling maul 20m out from goal and rumbling to glory.

908 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 » Show All
21 Oct 2012, 13:45 pm
@sharks_lover-653:
Forget Plum, I remember quite a lot of lads wanted to see the back of Keegan especially in his role as captain.
21 Oct 2012, 13:45 pm
@sharks_lover-684:
sjoe SL, its hard to agree with you in regard some of the calls by the ref but congrats all the same and may the best team take it (no reffing conspiracies).
bulls are one or two season from being contenders but i agree maybe a coaching change or at the least get some technical specialist consultants in to twaek a few things or help open up the coaches perspectives.
21 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
@Puma-690:
I’m sure.
Any young players from the other provinces that you think should go on the EOYT?
21 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
@sharks_lover-684: Mark blew too soon and should have allowed that try after Lambie got tripped up. If Lambie never got tripped up he himself would have scored.
So the ref made mistakes our way too.
21 Oct 2012, 13:47 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-688:
Unlike certain Sharks supporters on here like Sl,I can really say that you are a great sport on this forum.
21 Oct 2012, 13:48 pm
@nama1-696: Jeez bud. Now that is hard, will have to think about it…..hehehe.
Ginger from WP. Always forget his name. JC Van Rensburg from Lions. Actually think Meyer might bring in Bakkies and Steenkamp that are playing in France. Just a feeling I get.
21 Oct 2012, 13:48 pm
@PissAnt-694: I’ll be honest innitialy i questioned Keegs as Capt, but hell he has grown unbelievably.
Never said he should be dropped as Capt though, but i did honesly worry about it in the beginning, that being early in the Super 15
21 Oct 2012, 13:49 pm
@nama1-642:
WP team that played the Lions yesterday:
Marius Jonker, Craig Joubert, Pro Legota
The Winning Combo
Some said Jantjies missed on purpose, but that came mostly from those who haven’t watched the dud last two years, glad to see him going to the Stormers
21 Oct 2012, 13:49 pm
@wnbb-698:
I like Bakkies. Reminds me of myself if i was mad as a hatter
21 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@sharks_lover-689:
somwhere in pretoria a coach quietly mutter to himself: “there is a time to laugh and a time to cry”…
21 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-695:
It would be a mistake to get rid of Pine Pienaar at the Bulls. This guy is a good coach.
21 Oct 2012, 13:51 pm
@PissAnt-694:
You’re not suppose to remind them of that.
They’re probably thinking of erecting a 3m statute of Keegan at the entrance of Kingspark right now.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-695:
The Bulls/Blue Bulls did actually quite well considering the quality of players and leadership they lost.
Playing in the knock out phases of both S15 and CC is a good showing by them, I reckon.
21 Oct 2012, 13:53 pm
@nama1-696: Yes there are quite a few. like Rhule and Kitshoff, i reckon they should get a chance in the smaller games.
Lemme tell you Noone mentions Herbst our backup TH, but noone has dominated him. so many young players comming through.
But wait…. Herbst is a Sharks so i knowall i’ll get is sarcaastic rebuffs re him being a Sharks and we only mention Sharks, but feel free to show me any props that have dominated him. and unlike Chadwik??? Herbst is very good in the loose and on defense.
21 Oct 2012, 13:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-703:
21 Oct 2012, 13:55 pm
@Hondo-701: Some say Taute knew what he was doing when he kicked out that ball at the end.
21 Oct 2012, 13:55 pm
@nama1-696: If JdV does not get over his injury then we are short at centre as we don’t have Fransie either. So we will have to cover ourselves there. Jaco and then JdJ should start. Though both are playing outside centre. So will need cover there.
There had to be 8 on the bench for eoyt. A full front row has to be on the bench. So we will be seeing 5/3 split from now on. Liebenberg is injured so think Chili will get selected and probably Burden as well.
21 Oct 2012, 13:56 pm
@nama1-705: well atleast we dream of erecting a statue of a start Sharks player, you guys dream of the star players erection, big diffs
21 Oct 2012, 13:56 pm
@wnbb-698:
you’re too kind. sir
and the same to you.
i always say variety is the very spice of life
(makes it fun and enjoyable so without all the different malkoppies, SL included, on here this place wouldn’t be half the larf)
21 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
@Hondo-701:
Who is favorites in your opinion on Saturday or are you waiting to see who will be the ref before you decide?
21 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
@sharks_lover-710: Start = Star Sharks player
21 Oct 2012, 13:58 pm
@Hurricane-702:
so you think you’re not a hatter..?..
21 Oct 2012, 13:58 pm
@sharks_lover-706: Forgot about Rhule. He will get selected. With the new rule of having to have a full front row on the bench. (8 players) now think that Meyer might have looked at Herbst as we don’t really have any other really good th. Herbst was very good yesterday. Then read that Bulls are thinking of playing Greyling at th for next year. Don’t rate him though.
21 Oct 2012, 13:59 pm
@Puma-709: Pooms i cant wait to see Fransie and JOrdaan in combo in out backline, and now Butch returning makes it seem just spicier
21 Oct 2012, 14:00 pm
@PissAnt-704:
ok, but then open up to outside consultants perhaps?
louden did a lot of good with the bulls imo.
21 Oct 2012, 14:01 pm
@Hurricane-702:
Hey my Sharkie friend howzit? See you will be supporting Sharks in the final of CC this week. Good to read that. You don’t have to go out and buy a Black jersey as you already have one for Saturday ….lol.
21 Oct 2012, 14:01 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-714:

Ok i am mad but only slightly.
Anyways logging off, later Bakkies
21 Oct 2012, 14:03 pm
@sharks_lover-716: I can’t wait either. Going to be a great centre pairing. Tim has been great for us this year. But Fransie is in a class of his own though. With Butch, Tim and Bosman we have good cover at centre and fh now. We sorted there. Just hope we can get JC Van Rensburg from the Lions to cover Beast….
21 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
@Hurricane-719: Hurrican mate, it should be easy for you to support the Sharks, you already have the black clothing, just add some white body paint on ur face and arms. and the Sharks play a Kiwi brand of Rugby, so you will feel right at home
@sharks_lover-706:
In SA, no one prop dominates another for some reason. That’s not a good enough reason to select him.
Your TH is suppose to dominate the opposition LH. Who has he dominated?
@Puma-709:
8 on the bench, Puma? Has the rules been changed wrt the total reserve players? Last time I checked, you could only select 7 reserves.
@sharks_lover-710:
I’m sure there are some who do.
@nama1-705:
ja, but they are better than that.
like the spartans, i spit on them for returning without glory
if you want to be the best you must always, always believe you are the best.. and then you just do it…
21 Oct 2012, 14:05 pm
@Puma-718:

Actually i dont own an All Blacks jersey, well a new one.
I have an early 1900s AB jersey, its more of a very dark brown though.
But that still wont stop me, i will be supporting the sharks
21 Oct 2012, 14:06 pm
@Puma-720: we are fine at LH bodet, trust me Chadwick is a very good scrummager, we need a combo prop like eugene van staden, or cilliers etc
Like Smitty was for us
21 Oct 2012, 14:07 pm
@Hurricane-719:
cheers hurri
21 Oct 2012, 14:08 pm
@nama1-722: well again if you watched yesterday you would have seen the answer you ask.
trust me he is a dman sight stronger that ur Brok backslapper
21 Oct 2012, 14:10 pm
@Hurricane-724: Good on you mate. Any black t-shirt will do. Sharks won’t disappoint either.
Jeez it will be a cracker this Saturday. Hope you guys get the CC final over there.
21 Oct 2012, 14:10 pm
@nama1-722: keep up with times Nama, ur a typically slow behind the times WP supporter
21 Oct 2012, 14:11 pm
@Sandytoes-659: Old enough to know that a team favoured and punted by the WP, Bulls “Traditional Supporter” dumbfucks coached by Meyer and playing “structured” rugby such as:
15 Zane
14. Habana
13. Taute
12. Donkey De Villiers (C)
11. Hougaard
10. Steyn/Goosen
9. Pienaar
8. Fatfuck Spermwhale Vermeulen
7. Potgieter
6. Louw
5. Kruger/Bekker
4. Etsebeth/Flip
3. Coenie
2. Strauss
1. Greyling/Gurthro
Will get absolutely annihilated at least 8 times out of 10 by the following playing Plums brand of rugger:
1. Beast/Chadwick
2. Bismarck/Cooper
3. DuP
4. Marais/Alberts
5. Bresler
6. Daniel (C.)
7. Coetsee/Alberts/Deysel
8. Kanko
9. Reinach/McLeod
10 Lambie/Bosman
11. Mvovo
12. Steyn/Whitehead
13. Jordaan/JPP
14. JPP/Odwa
15 Ludik
Fuckthe Boks if they cant see the Black and White talent wood for the superior Sharks rugby trees…
@Puma-728: Noe they lost to AUCKLAND yesterday, I think Bryce cost the canes the match
@sharks_lover-725: Chadwick played well yesterday. Starting to get there finally. Yes he can scrum well, but does give away some penalties. Agree we need a player that can scrum on both sides. Pity Cilliers is going to WP.
21 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
@Puma-715:
One of the effects of the new bench rule will be to reduce the need for a prop that can play 1 & 3.
21 Oct 2012, 14:12 pm
@sharks_lover-731: Never watched that match, was talking about our CC final coming up..lol. Hurri will be supporting our Sharks this Saturday.
21 Oct 2012, 14:14 pm
@Heavens Game-730: you forgot PSDT and Butch and Franco VD Merwe
eish and many others
21 Oct 2012, 14:15 pm
@David-733: I know. The rule states there has to be a full front row on the bench. Think that is great, will cut out the no contested scrums in future.
21 Oct 2012, 14:15 pm
@sharks_lover-710: Just like they would use your teeth impressions on bambi’s d!K to identify him???
21 Oct 2012, 14:16 pm
Rain pouring down again. Jeez we have had plenty rain this past 6 weeks. Do hope it is dry for the final next week.
21 Oct 2012, 14:17 pm
@wnbb-737: Again typically you nto G@y talk? back to your gutter poodlefekker, ur a disgrace to the human race.
21 Oct 2012, 14:19 pm
@Puma-738: you didnt answer me yet Pooms, you gonna be at the match??
21 Oct 2012, 14:21 pm
@sharks_lover-739: Well,is it true or not??? Remember,you started it.Can dish it out,but can’t take it.
21 Oct 2012, 14:21 pm
@Heavens Game-730:
my god meneer, lawrence gift you sharkies one lucky semi and now you skeem you the bees knees….?..
dont be a qualified nwata HG
bulls got more titles than tittie.s on a flea ridden bluff brak
21 Oct 2012, 14:22 pm
@nama1-658: Here you go… I will humour you Nama, since it is absolutely certain you dont really understand English and you definitely struggle to count…
Last Bok side that faced the AB’s:
The Run-on side:
15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermuelen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira
5 WP players excluding Louw.
2 Bulls
3 Sharks excluding Pienaar
2 Cheetahs
1 Lion
Do you understand now? Or are you truly as farken illiterate as your name suggests?
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 » Show All