WP edge Ellis Park epic

RYAN VREDE reports on a 21-16 victory for Western Province who shifted gears in the final quarter to down the Golden Lions in their Currie Cup semi-final.

WP lost twice to the Lions in the league phase, and appeared to be on their way out of the competition before they showed the mettle that has so often eluded them in knock-out matches. This will be an important step in their youngsters’ education, although a far greater test awaits against the Sharks in Durban next week.

The defending champions will lament poor goal kicking, but outside of a try from broken field, they never posed a serious attacking threat.

Defence dominated the first half, with the visitors faring better in the regard. The Lions didn’t test their now famously efficient system (even when Gerhard van den Heever was yellow carded in the seventh minute), refusing to earn the right to play the expansive game they wanted to.

A little more pragmatism in their play would have benefited them, but with their strike runners in the pack seeing too little of the ball and flyhalf Elton Jantjies tucked too deep in the pocket, they were always going to struggle to break down the WP wall. They compounded their problems with poor goal kicking, Jantjies missing three penalties in the first 40, while Ruan Combrink’s 55m effort came up short.

WP looked the more organsied side, playing well through the phases with their forwards. But they showed too little appreciation for the territory game and little inventiveness in the back division initially, Don Armand coming up with their best chance but being held up over the line in his attempt to score.

Demetri Catrakilis kicked both of his penalty goals, giving his side a 6-3 lead at half-time, but Jantjies levelled with a three pointer just after the restart. Then the Lions grabbed the initiative with a try that was birthed from a turnover in their 22m, Michael Rhodes running a good angle to cut through the line. Jantjies converted and the Lions looked galvanised.

The Joburg union upped the ante at the gainline and in their breakdown contesting, which in turn compromised WP’s ability to control the flow and tempo of their attacking play. There were a couple of flashes of brilliance from the Cape side’s backs, but their potency patently lay in their tight play, particularly their mauling. One such surge drove them into the Lions’ red zone, only to see yet another opportunity slip away through a combination of poor ball protection and a rabid Lions ruck assault.

WP gambled by sending on scrumhalf Louis Schreuder to replace ace goal kicker Catrakilis, no doubt hoping the youngster would inject something special into their attacking play. But the Lions were brutal in their defence and reduced their opponents to rudderless messes. With each minute that ticked by, the inexperienced WP side seemed to become more desperate and consequently more loose. This played into the Lions’ hands, as they were able to pick off their targets with relative ease.

The composure they showed under pressure, aided by the experience they were able to introduce off the bench, was impressive. But they finally succumbed, WP fullback Joe Pietersen rounding off a move in which his forwards depleted the Lions’ defensive line superbly. Crucially he missed the conversion attempt, leaving his side down by two, but he made no mistake from a penalty shortly thereafter.

One point game. Four minutes to play.

Jantjies held his nerve with a 78th-minute penalty, leaving the Lions with a desperate closing period, one they couldn’t negotiate successfully, with WP setting up a rolling maul 20m out from goal and rumbling to glory.

908 Comments

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 » Show All

• 801.Guns: Reply to this comment

Can’t say “g.a.p” ? WTF!?
    That can’t be! let me try again – gap

• 802.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-844: Funny?? many posts from Wp supporters telling us they will win??? or you blind to those posts?? i mean every year we reaad and here how WP will win the Cup and have won the cup, in the press and on blogs etc.

@ years ago in Cape town before the Final in Duurban every day time you turned on the radio it was like wtf are the Sharks, do they even deserve to be on the same field of play?? We all know how that panned out don’t we??

• 803.Guns: Reply to this comment

hmmm.. wtf did I just type..

• 804.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@Guns-852: typo boet, you must have typed j a p

or a a p

• 805.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Guns-852: :lol:

• 806.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

aap

• 807.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

definitely j a p then :-)

• 808.cab: Reply to this comment

Guns – I’m not convinced all the great 10s had a burst of pace – I guess jonny is like lambie but I’m talking the type that opens it all up. I reckon lambie probably a better 15 or 12, but he is prob the best best at 10 for eoy tour -my prediction, we going to struggle.

• 809.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-844: Banter mate. You have to learn to take it sometimes. I have learned. Look you will see much of it this week. East Coast Brothers against West Coast Brothers we both gonna be giving plenty of banter to each other. Lighten up bru. I hardly ever, ever do this sort of thing, but come on it is the CC final let us just relax, take the banter with the humour and let it ride okay? If it becomes vitriol then that is when to draw the line. For now just have a laugh, there will be plenty nervous banter going on. Just have a laugh this week. Any of our teams could win it.

• 810.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Guns-852: :lol:

• 811.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Nonsense. Lambie “opened it up” in the CC final in 2010 again WP when the Sharks won 30-10. Lambie sliced through the line several times.

I am also getting sick and tred of these dumbf’cks who keep saying his best position is 15 or 12.

He is a flyhalf ffs. Have some confidence in the youngster with an extended run at 10 and he will become a great.

But jirrrrreee all this chopping and changing and contrary mary bs must be f’cking up his game.

• 812.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-851: The best after speach I will remember after a Currie Cup win was by Naas Botha.

“We from Northern Transvaal will NEVER lose to Natal again in a 100 years”……. hahahahahaha. Bliksem old Naas must still feel dof from saying that. That must have come to bite old Naas on the bloody backside. Because we became the best team in the 90′s. Now we hear Matfield saying it was the Sharks (Known as Natal way back) that the Bulls most feared. So there you have it. Some say things that they have not idea how the future might turn out…..lol.

• 813.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-861: That was after Natal won the 1990 Currie Cup.

• 814.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Puma-858:
    Banter ? looks l!ke you post!ng from your heart. You post w!th such pass!on for the Sharks. :lol:

Yes, Prov!nce have been here before.

But h!stor!cally WP choke ?n the sem!’s and the Sharks crack !n the f!nal so we have have the psycholog?cal edge.

But on a ser!ous note !s Cobus the late Jaco’s son?

• 815.Guns: Reply to this comment

c@Liewe Luiperd-853:

J a p die a ap then ;)

@cab-857:
    Ja did not think you were saying that, but what I think lambies strengths are – composure, tacktical awarness, eye for the gap etc (he is a good thinking player and no slouch on defence for his size either). Give him some time, who knows he could really do well, guess we will never know though.. Although now that Goosen injured it would be the perfect opportunity! Morne/Janjies can cover bench, im not conviced with Janjies great qualities but maybe just not ready, lacks self believe or something, in most games he has these lapses during critical moments and hesitations, regularly enough atm because I notice it pretty much every time he plays.

• 816.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-860: Brilliant post. Totally agree. Same as TJ the kiwi said. We need to play Lambie and have faith in him, he is our complete flyhalf. Poor yougster has never really had a chance with the Boks. Gets pushed to fb. He is a fh. Give him a chance. None can understand that at fh a player HAS to have bmt, Lambie has bucket loads of it.

• 817.cab: Reply to this comment

Now naas had severe spoed on him – if lambie had half that speed he coulda been great but I just can’t see it – goosen now tgat was potential whether he’s just unlucky or built of glass who knows.

• 818.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

@Puma-861: when did Matfield say the Sharks were their most feared opponents?

Makes sense. The Sharks snotklap them often and more than any other team.

Tacitus has said the same thing.

• 819.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-851: You have nothing to worry about this time around. There will be very little chest beating, as the WP are rabid underdogs.
    It’s 500 1st class caps up against 500000000 1st class caps; at home, and in good form. No matter how it is sliced and diced, the Sharks should pump this version of a WP team.

If your boys don’t take this by 25 I would call it a disappointing performance from a Sharks perspective. :)

Have a good evening all.

• 820.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Goosen should be called “Mr Glass” or “Splinter” because I get the sense he is a walking sick note like that blitsvinning bowler from the EC who looked as if he could have done really well – Mfuneko Ngam who didn’t get enough protein when he was a kid..

A shame really.

• 821.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Guns-864: I can tell you this. When Sharks played Chief at the Tank this year, it was Lambie and Tim that shut SBW down. Their defence was brilliant and that I have to say was the only time I saw SBW having a total nightmare game. Still have it on my pvr. Lambies defence at fh is totally solid. Something none of the other 3 very good fhs offer.

• 822.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-861: Oh hell who will ever forget that, and the best was somsone from capital radio pulling the plug during the after match speeches, they were so pissed off :lol:

• 823.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Liewe Luiperd-867: Said it on dstv the other day.

• 824.Guns: Reply to this comment

On another note, Ludik pawned Kirchner.
    Kyle Cooper & Bresler playing good rugby too, don’t see why Besler should not get a chance to join on the EOYT with bekker out. Bit more conditioning and he will be even more of a mennace.

• 825.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@cab-866: Funny how he is up with all play, stop dreaminf Cabby seriously, there is nothing wrong with Lambies speed.

Sometimes learn to give credit where it’s due, even when the player is not one of your favourites,

• 826.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-871: Well I was living in Holland at the time, but came home to watch that final. Watched it with friends I remember in Durban North. Never forget Naas saying that………..hahahahaha. AND here we are in 2012????? Still a threat…. Just love it boet.

• 827.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma-875: Never managed to get tickets to the final. That is why watched it with some good mates here.

• 828.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Bresler has improvedd dramatically. I really rate him now. Early this season I thought he was a bit soft, but boy has he hardenedthef’ckup.

• 829.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Guns-873: I have said that buddy. Good post pleased to see others see what I see.

• 830.Liewe Luiperd: Reply to this comment

Meyer doesn’t like Bresler’s mullet though……… not verkrampte enough……

• 831.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

One player that has to be !ncluded on the EOYT !s Lud!k.

If Aplon !s to small then Lou!s !s the only other opt!on.

• 832.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-870: Puma, here is the difference and then they always blame Sharks supporters.

when we say a Sharks player is top notch we get this whole **** about how we hype our players, yet the supporters do it just as much.

but the difference is this and i will give you a good example,

Etsebeth is being hyped by 99% of Sharks supporters too, no problem the Kid has had a fantastic year,so it matters not who he plays for.

We for example hype Lambie for his brilliance and all we keep getting is snide remarks from Other teams supporters,

Goosen or Jantjes can have 1 great game and is hailed the next big thing, Yet we keep reading about how Lambie must still prove himself. How he had this 1 baad game in the SR final, and he is hailed as useless.

So dont ever stop saying your say re the player you think is great, those who dont like it?? Fark them and the bus they drove in on.

They are welcome to scroll by

• 833.cab: Reply to this comment

SL 874, he’s got BMT as guns says, but so does morne, – he passes the best tho jantjies got a nicer inside ball – but is he as good as the australasians ? No I don’t think he got the x factor – goosen tore them a new one, lean slinky and deceptive, fantastic and tgen it all went titties up and meyer played him into the ground when he’s knee is gefkd.

• 834.cab: Reply to this comment

Bresler – ag asb tog nee fk, do we actually want to win any matches on tour – I don’t wanna cone 6th, fksake then we must petition..

• 835.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-875: :lol: Pooms, yeah i was working too and could no go, but hell it lives in the memory forever.

• 836.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Puma-870:
    Exactly. Pity Meyer probably only has recordings of the Bulls Super Rugby games ;)

Lambie at 10 with Franse Steyn at 12, 13 Whitehead, JPP – very sound defensive line. Just need to sort out 13, & 15 for Boks. Franse Steyn is extremely effective on defence.

• 837.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-880: Totally agree. How can a player of that class be ingnored by Meyer? What does it take to be a Bok? Ludik has done everything, has been our best FB since late in Super Rugby and still is. Hope he gets a call up and Bresler. Both been outstanding for Sharks. They would be great for Bok rugby, both of them.

• 838.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@cab-882: Goosen will make a better 15, as long as he learns to defend better

• 839.cab: Reply to this comment

Bresler – liewe fkn kameelperd – sharks got a decent team but only cos got about 4 worldclass players – I like to do them see well but I don’t wanna see them fking up the bokke chances when we got far better players..

• 840.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Guns-885: Nope Guns you cant have your centers both being the same type

You will see what i mean once Frans is back and playing alongside Jordaan, with that center pair you will see things happen

• 841.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Guns-885: Ludik for Fullback. Don’t underestimate Jordaan at outside centre. He might be too SMALL for Meyer’s liking, but heck the kid can tackle any size player in front of him. Outstanding 13 he is. Has plenty speed too.

• 842.Guns: Reply to this comment

@cab-882:
    Goosen is injured ATM thats the prob though, so let Lambie have a go then we can see shouldl his future be at 10/15.

@cab-883:
    Bresler has had a decent outing, very physical and keeps it up throught the game slowley taxing away at opposition just by being a tanker ;) Im just saying if he could get some real fire in his eyes he could be good, possibly under rated future prospect who knows.

• 843.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Guns-892: They dont want Lambie having a chance as they are scared he just keeps proving them wrong, How will they ever get their favourites back then??

• 844.Guns: Reply to this comment

leve him locked in a room with one bed to share between Etsebeth & Bismark, he will either die or come out just as demonic :D

• 845.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Guns-892: They dont wanna see a lock playing Rugby Guns, they wanna see a lock that moers opposition players.

HellBresler tore the Springbok BUlls locks a new one yesterday, just like he has been dloing most of the season.

Right now though to be honest i would still get Bakkies in there with Etsebeth and see how that works for now.

• 846.Puma: Reply to this comment

@cab-889: Cab, The Bokke chances were buggered up at Soccer City without SHARKS PLAYERS… :roll: We only had 3 in that team that day. Bresler is underestimated. Really I am starting to not care, if Meyer does not select the best players he has. He can stick with Province and Bulls players. AS long as our Shark players play for us at the Sharks, right now think that is the best for them. The brainwashed daft Bok game plan messed up many already. Rather leave our top Sharks Players at the Sharks where they can now prepare for Super Rugby. Why should we share our players with the Boks when NO ONE actually rates them. No bugger them all of them, keep our superb players for ourselves. Guys like you don’t appreciate the best players from South Africa being selected for Boks, because they have a problem with the Sharks players. Why should they then perform if they do get selected? No bugger that. Sharks for Sharks then.

• 847.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Puma-887:
    Fullback !n terms of Bok rugby !s a major concern.

Taute appeared to be the solut!on but my op!n!on on h!s ab!l!t!es has faded over the last few months. HM I feel pushed h!m to early.

Lud!k defens!vely and on attack !s the Real McCoy.

• 848.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@cab-855: Cabby The Bmt that Lambie has is very rare mate, his decisoin making is what makes him different to the rest,

Yes Goosen is a special talent , i too have said this, but even Goosen makes many wrong choices, you cant just run everything in test rugby.

The calmness Lambie shows is again something rare, and believe it or not he has the same traits as the other 10′s

• 849.Guns: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-893: Meyer should just grow a pair of foken balla and start lambie at 10 for the first faarkin game on EOYT, then the proof will just be in the pudding and if it does not work out he can put Morne at 10 till Goosen comes back. All lambie needs to do is practice his place kicking like there is no tomorrow come EOYT he will then be the best 10 by a hop while Goosen is injured.

• 850.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-846: What i told you before??? :lol:

Pages: « 19 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.