WP edge Ellis Park epic
20 Oct 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on a 21-16 victory for Western Province who shifted gears in the final quarter to down the Golden Lions in their Currie Cup semi-final.
WP lost twice to the Lions in the league phase, and appeared to be on their way out of the competition before they showed the mettle that has so often eluded them in knock-out matches. This will be an important step in their youngsters’ education, although a far greater test awaits against the Sharks in Durban next week.
The defending champions will lament poor goal kicking, but outside of a try from broken field, they never posed a serious attacking threat.
Defence dominated the first half, with the visitors faring better in the regard. The Lions didn’t test their now famously efficient system (even when Gerhard van den Heever was yellow carded in the seventh minute), refusing to earn the right to play the expansive game they wanted to.
A little more pragmatism in their play would have benefited them, but with their strike runners in the pack seeing too little of the ball and flyhalf Elton Jantjies tucked too deep in the pocket, they were always going to struggle to break down the WP wall. They compounded their problems with poor goal kicking, Jantjies missing three penalties in the first 40, while Ruan Combrink’s 55m effort came up short.
WP looked the more organsied side, playing well through the phases with their forwards. But they showed too little appreciation for the territory game and little inventiveness in the back division initially, Don Armand coming up with their best chance but being held up over the line in his attempt to score.
Demetri Catrakilis kicked both of his penalty goals, giving his side a 6-3 lead at half-time, but Jantjies levelled with a three pointer just after the restart. Then the Lions grabbed the initiative with a try that was birthed from a turnover in their 22m, Michael Rhodes running a good angle to cut through the line. Jantjies converted and the Lions looked galvanised.
The Joburg union upped the ante at the gainline and in their breakdown contesting, which in turn compromised WP’s ability to control the flow and tempo of their attacking play. There were a couple of flashes of brilliance from the Cape side’s backs, but their potency patently lay in their tight play, particularly their mauling. One such surge drove them into the Lions’ red zone, only to see yet another opportunity slip away through a combination of poor ball protection and a rabid Lions ruck assault.
WP gambled by sending on scrumhalf Louis Schreuder to replace ace goal kicker Catrakilis, no doubt hoping the youngster would inject something special into their attacking play. But the Lions were brutal in their defence and reduced their opponents to rudderless messes. With each minute that ticked by, the inexperienced WP side seemed to become more desperate and consequently more loose. This played into the Lions’ hands, as they were able to pick off their targets with relative ease.
The composure they showed under pressure, aided by the experience they were able to introduce off the bench, was impressive. But they finally succumbed, WP fullback Joe Pietersen rounding off a move in which his forwards depleted the Lions’ defensive line superbly. Crucially he missed the conversion attempt, leaving his side down by two, but he made no mistake from a penalty shortly thereafter.
One point game. Four minutes to play.
Jantjies held his nerve with a 78th-minute penalty, leaving the Lions with a desperate closing period, one they couldn’t negotiate successfully, with WP setting up a rolling maul 20m out from goal and rumbling to glory.

908 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All
21 Oct 2012, 21:12 pm
@sharks_lover-867: Bresler OUT PLAYED the Bok Locks from the Bulls. And that was in the wet conditions that we will be playing in NH coming up in two weeks time. If Meyer can’t appreciate that kind of player then really he can bugger off too. Why should Bresler then play that brainwashed up rugby for Meyer if he is not appreciated? Jeez time to wait for a new coach it seems that can see who is really the real deal in each position. Bresler, Ludik and Keegan has been treated badly really. Bresler and Ludik by not getting selected and Keegan being dropped for what exactly? Keegan outplayed Arno yesterday dammit.
21 Oct 2012, 21:13 pm
@sharks_lover-845: If they dont get Dannie Russow or Bakkies I wuld say Bresler deservs inclusion for sure. Locks for Tour (Etzebeth, Flip, Kruger, Bresler). Still feel we really need a solid replacement to rotate with Junnie dup, his career may just be played into the ground at this rate.
21 Oct 2012, 21:13 pm
@Puma-846: Did you read the long post i posted re you??
21 Oct 2012, 21:17 pm
They should shave Bresler balled or give him a Mohawk and a goatie then he will be quite the sight!
21 Oct 2012, 21:19 pm
And don’t get me wrong I think Flip and Kuger had superb game against allblacks in nz, just feel Bresler has been solid throught the Super 15, CC and has potential as well.
21 Oct 2012, 21:19 pm
@Jeraldjay-847: I also thought Taute was the real deal. It could be that he is played out of position at the Boks. Might need a season at Province next year to prove again he really is that good, which he seemed at the time at Lions. Now Lions don’t even play him at fullback. Taute’s tackling was atrocious at outside centre against the ABs. They ran holes through him and JDV there.
At Fullback we have Ludik that is producing great play week in week out. From Super Rugby already. Think Meyer selects a player and sticks with him. Still think Meyer is waiting for JdV or who ever to play outside centre again so he can shift Taute to Fullback as that is the player he wants there. For now he is ruing the player’s mind up, as Taute is not that great at outside centre. Eish! bud we have to wait and see our Boks on this eoyt tour. Hope we beat Ireland and England as I feel we just might get a thrashing from those two countries. We should be Scotland, but then we never did the last time round either….
Selections is always key. Always has been for a top coach. Henry paid the price in 2007 by not selecting right either.
21 Oct 2012, 21:20 pm
@Puma-846:
The problem !s Sharks players cannot make the mental adjustment on the !nternat!onal stage.
Maybe just the front row, JPP and Alberts when h!s !n the mood.
21 Oct 2012, 21:20 pm
@Puma-856: ruing = ruining
21 Oct 2012, 21:22 pm
@Jeraldjay-857: Sorry mate but thats a load of higwash.
21 Oct 2012, 21:23 pm
Only 2 bok no 4 locks – elstadt and flip
tho etsebeth is fantastic, he’s prob a 5 for next couple of years to compete with Kruger and bekker.
These 5 locks are way better than anything else in sa, way way better, the drop off in class is mamoth – sa have never had great worldclass depth since readmission – how many times we seen midweek teams run close by Connaught en kie?
@Jeraldjay-857: Sharks players can and it has been the case in the wc last year. It is this daft game plan from Meyer that is ruining many a player. Not only Sharks players, but from all unions. Super Rugby pal, is not that far from International Rugby, not at all as some believe. It is the game plan we play for the Boks that is useless. Sharks players were outstanding together before they played for Boks. AND again they showing they can be even without their Bok players. Just shows the brainwased daft game plan the Boks are playing under Meyer.
@sharks_lover-859: HIgwash = hogwash
21 Oct 2012, 21:24 pm
@Puma-861: typo. meant – brainwashed.
21 Oct 2012, 21:26 pm
@cab-860: Kruger was owned in yesterday’s game by Bresler. Dammit Cabbie you need to watch some rugby boet to see it. Too much good red wine living in beautiful Paris for you it seems….
21 Oct 2012, 21:27 pm
@Jeraldjay-857: Rubbish. JPP, Franse Steyn have done it plenty times as does Alberts though he is made of different elk.
You don’t give Franse Stey credit he deserves, go watch his influence vs England, as well as on the last EOYT as well as his defence against most teams. Not his fault he was stuck with Meyers game plan and and out of sorts Morne.
@Puma-856:
Ludik has always been a class act, Meyer will NEVER select him though not unless he has bone marrow transplants or plays in stilts to trick Meyer into thinking he is bigger.
Taute at WP will create some good competitiveness be it at 13 or 15.
21 Oct 2012, 21:28 pm
@Puma-863:
dont worry bro, their excuses are quite funny, our players are too soft, too slow, not mentally tough, too small. the list goes on and on, yet those self same uselss okes are dominating SA rugby…. Go figure
21 Oct 2012, 21:30 pm
@Puma-861:
@sharks_lover-859:
Just banter before the b?g game.

Long week ahead.
I’m out.
21 Oct 2012, 21:30 pm
@Jeraldjay-857: You do remember don’t you it was mostly Sharks and Bulls players that won the 2007 world cup. Please tell me your remember that. So you have lost that argument totally there…..
Sharks players can play at the highest stage pal. Get with it….
It is under Meyer’s brainwashed gameplan that the players just can’t do it. Well that seems the way to me.
21 Oct 2012, 21:31 pm
@Guns-865:
Guns, not even wortht eh arguement mate, I was told last week how the BUlls know how to win playoffs, and how they will beat us as we dont have experience etc etc etc.
I was told how MOrne will outclass Lambie and dominate the field of play,
I was told Keegan is going to get pummeled by Arno Botha. blah blah blah…
The rest we know.
21 Oct 2012, 21:31 pm
@Jeraldjay-867: Okay. You lost this time round boet. See you during the week then…hehehe. Bring it on Province… Sharkies are waiting…LOL.
21 Oct 2012, 21:33 pm
@sharks_lover-866: For sure….hahaha. Just having a laugh here really…lol.
21 Oct 2012, 21:34 pm
@Guns-865: Agree with you mate.
21 Oct 2012, 21:34 pm
@Puma-868: And every world cup we won was with a Sharks 10
21 Oct 2012, 21:35 pm
@Puma-871:
for sure bro
Jeraldjay is a good bloke, so it all cool
21 Oct 2012, 21:38 pm
@sharks_lover-873: I know. Stransky in 95 and Butchie in 2007. Could 2015 be Lambies year???? bwaahahahaha. That will get some going….hehe.
@sharks_lover-874: Yip I know he is a good bloke. But this week we banter the whole week with our west coast brothers……..lol…..
21 Oct 2012, 21:38 pm
@Puma-872: Jokes aside bro’ it will be a dman hard match. and WP will be fighting the full 80 min. they showed that last weekend.
What i wonder is if there is any injuries to worry about, and what the team makeup will be for the final
21 Oct 2012, 21:40 pm
@sharks_lover-876: Exactly. It will be a very, very hard game against Province. It is all banter coming from me.
I do wonder if there is any injuries. Worried about Jannie and possible Breler too. Both took big knocks to the head in that clash with Potgieter.
21 Oct 2012, 21:42 pm
@sharks_lover-876: Injuries to any side will ruin a great Final coming up.
For now really hope for once we have good weather. With good weather both teams can play to their best. This rain is crazy. Thought it was over today just to have a massive thunderstorm. So pleased the game was yesterday, as that thunderstorm came around 4pm. Would have totally ruined the game if that happened.
21 Oct 2012, 21:42 pm
@Puma-877: exactly, those are my 2 concerns as if Jannie is out we only have Herbst as TH
The others comming through not in the class yet to play the higher level, and Beast and Chadwick both have never played LH
21 Oct 2012, 21:43 pm
Aint it nice that the Sharks are showing the way forward…
If their players are as inferior to those Bok incumbents as the dumfuck kenners from the “traditional powers” on this site think they are, then Plum, Hugh Reece and Bashford must be Rugby coaches extraordinaire…
Then the dumbfuck fools from SARU that thought the current Bok coaching setup are the answer are blind and as dumbfuck as these “kenners”….
However, if the Sharks players are better than the “kenners” give them credit for then the answer lies right here in why SA Rugby finds itself in a 4/9 success rate for this year…
It isn’t just the blind tunnel visioned mindset of Meyer that is fuckingup SA Rugby but also the blind tunnel visioned mindset of thos “traditional power” kenners, supporters and journo’s championing rugby and successes from a bygone era that now should be turfed out with the next aimless mortar bomb kick in the name of “structure” or “gameplan”…
Pity the fools
21 Oct 2012, 21:46 pm
@sharks_lover-869: @sharks_lover-876:
@Jeraldjay-867:
Ja WP did well to come back in the last 2min and contended throught the game, they have threatening backs like Habana, Aplon, JDJ, & JoeP who can all make a play or break when least expected.
The likes of 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Don Armand, 6 Deon Fourie (c), 5 De Kock Steenkamp, 4 Eben Etzebeth must also nt be under estimated, they are playing well together.
21 Oct 2012, 21:46 pm
@sharks_lover-879: Then we would only really have Herbst for th if Jannie is out. I think though if Bresler is out that would be a massive, massive blow. He has been outstanding for Sharks. A player so underestimated by many. One lock that don’t shy away from anything. Hits the rucks at speed. Tackles like a demon too. Would be a huge loss. So hoping he is fine. Also Jannie though as don’t care who says what he is SA best th right now and would be missed for this game.
21 Oct 2012, 21:47 pm
@Heavens Game-880:
yup our Sharks are just plain useless boet, I mean Lambie is all kinds of cant’s, he cant do this and he can do that, 10 years from now we will still read about he needs to still prove himself, and he is upagainst the best there is, the best there was and the best there ever will be “excuse the pun”
21 Oct 2012, 21:49 pm
@Guns-881: Province showed some true guts coming back line they did. Great rolling maul at the end to get it too. Well done to them. They will be hard to beat, but Sharks are no slouch either. We have a very good team. Will be a awesome match come Saturday if the weather allows for it.
@Guns-881: Agree 100%
@Puma-884: meant – like they did.
21 Oct 2012, 21:50 pm
Ja really worry Junnie is being played into the ground, his first rest/bench came courtisy of Plum on his return. We would miss him lots if he does not start or play a solid 40/50.
21 Oct 2012, 21:51 pm
@Heavens Game-880: hahahaha. Have to agree… LOL
21 Oct 2012, 21:52 pm
@Guns-887: For sure. As so many here just don’t rate Jannie, but if he never made the eoyt he would be a huge loss.
21 Oct 2012, 21:53 pm
Okay I am out of here.
As Heavens Game would say. Us Sharkies have cleared the deck here…… hahahaha.
Cheers everyone catch up tomorrow.
21 Oct 2012, 21:53 pm
I am tired of the niceties… Sharky supporters in general are nice and sporting to a fault… especially this week when they were politely commenting on how close yesterday’s semi would be against the Bulls especially in the wet…
Fark that… I knew the Black and White would absolutely annihilate the Bygone Blue Bulls in every facet of the game… Despite being led by a “too small” midget at 8, and steered by a “fullback” at flyhalf…
Fark the niceties once again this week for the final…
Sharks are going to absolutely farken shred these WP pretenders once and for all at Dynamite Stadium, Kings Park for, what, the fifth win in one season against a team that currently has the highest proportion of players in the run-on Bok side…
In fact, this Currie Cup could be labelled as the Sharks vs the Streeptrui Boks… And I guaranfuckingtee you all that short of a sniper brigade, earthquake or Bryce Lawrences long lost twin officiating the match, these Boks aint gonna win against these Sharks…
And “Traditional Power” rugby explodes in on itself…
21 Oct 2012, 21:55 pm
@sharks_lover-883: “I mean Lambie is all kinds of cant’s”… Beyootiful…
A quote of the year… Outfuckingstanding
21 Oct 2012, 21:56 pm
@Heavens Game, ok boyo its time to get your Sharks PJ’s on now and go to bed…
21 Oct 2012, 21:57 pm
@Puma-890: Cheers cuzzie… Sharks clear the deck anywhere… anytime…
21 Oct 2012, 21:58 pm
@Puma-889: Yep, and after a busy year all it can take is one more Semi or Final to set off an injury in a fatiuged player. Hopefully he holds out and can get some rest till then. He is a tough unit and def best currently is SA in his position. At 121kg when you see him you don’t always realise he is 6 ft 2 as well..
21 Oct 2012, 22:00 pm
@Heavens Game-892: hehehe
@Sandytoes-893:
@Puma-890: Cheers bro have a good one, chat tomorrow
21 Oct 2012, 22:02 pm
@Heavens Game-894: BOet i understand ur gonna be in aa box to watch the rugga but atleast lets meet before the match for a cold one.
21 Oct 2012, 22:02 pm
@Sandytoes-893: Boyo? You can address me sir next time, fckface, along with pressing that little arrow to direct a post at me if you actually want to be addressed and benefit from rugby wisdom that you are so obviously in dire need of… so obviously stuck in that closed minded mire of supremacist traditional tunnel vision and myopia that you couldnt see the rugby wood for the trees past the next “gameplan” or “structure” that is your dumfuck currency of rugby thought and absolutely nothing else…
Take heed…
Pages: « 1 … 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 » Show All