WP edge Ellis Park epic

RYAN VREDE reports on a 21-16 victory for Western Province who shifted gears in the final quarter to down the Golden Lions in their Currie Cup semi-final.

WP lost twice to the Lions in the league phase, and appeared to be on their way out of the competition before they showed the mettle that has so often eluded them in knock-out matches. This will be an important step in their youngsters’ education, although a far greater test awaits against the Sharks in Durban next week.

The defending champions will lament poor goal kicking, but outside of a try from broken field, they never posed a serious attacking threat.

Defence dominated the first half, with the visitors faring better in the regard. The Lions didn’t test their now famously efficient system (even when Gerhard van den Heever was yellow carded in the seventh minute), refusing to earn the right to play the expansive game they wanted to.

A little more pragmatism in their play would have benefited them, but with their strike runners in the pack seeing too little of the ball and flyhalf Elton Jantjies tucked too deep in the pocket, they were always going to struggle to break down the WP wall. They compounded their problems with poor goal kicking, Jantjies missing three penalties in the first 40, while Ruan Combrink’s 55m effort came up short.

WP looked the more organsied side, playing well through the phases with their forwards. But they showed too little appreciation for the territory game and little inventiveness in the back division initially, Don Armand coming up with their best chance but being held up over the line in his attempt to score.

Demetri Catrakilis kicked both of his penalty goals, giving his side a 6-3 lead at half-time, but Jantjies levelled with a three pointer just after the restart. Then the Lions grabbed the initiative with a try that was birthed from a turnover in their 22m, Michael Rhodes running a good angle to cut through the line. Jantjies converted and the Lions looked galvanised.

The Joburg union upped the ante at the gainline and in their breakdown contesting, which in turn compromised WP’s ability to control the flow and tempo of their attacking play. There were a couple of flashes of brilliance from the Cape side’s backs, but their potency patently lay in their tight play, particularly their mauling. One such surge drove them into the Lions’ red zone, only to see yet another opportunity slip away through a combination of poor ball protection and a rabid Lions ruck assault.

WP gambled by sending on scrumhalf Louis Schreuder to replace ace goal kicker Catrakilis, no doubt hoping the youngster would inject something special into their attacking play. But the Lions were brutal in their defence and reduced their opponents to rudderless messes. With each minute that ticked by, the inexperienced WP side seemed to become more desperate and consequently more loose. This played into the Lions’ hands, as they were able to pick off their targets with relative ease.

The composure they showed under pressure, aided by the experience they were able to introduce off the bench, was impressive. But they finally succumbed, WP fullback Joe Pietersen rounding off a move in which his forwards depleted the Lions’ defensive line superbly. Crucially he missed the conversion attempt, leaving his side down by two, but he made no mistake from a penalty shortly thereafter.

One point game. Four minutes to play.

Jantjies held his nerve with a 78th-minute penalty, leaving the Lions with a desperate closing period, one they couldn’t negotiate successfully, with WP setting up a rolling maul 20m out from goal and rumbling to glory.

908 Comments

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 1419 » Show All

• 401.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@katman-392: The camera swooped on him in the stands as well :)

• 402.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-382: The poor old sod is probably hanging over a table now staring into bambi’s eyes. :D

• 403.mabu: Reply to this comment

Got a feeling Jantjies will not be coming back to ellis park.

This kid should do well with the Stormers and WP pack.

• 404.katman: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-401: I bet he has the number 1 on his back too.

• 405.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-396: The should be favourites against our u/21 team.

• 406.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-405: they

• 407.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Well done Lions great effort.

Was actually a good game of rugga. Frenetic pace, in difficult conditions.

This De Allende fellow looks the part and should start next week.

Scarra should also start ahead of a fit Liebenberg.

• 408.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@katman-404: It’s fabulous that the gingers once more have a hero of their own. Jannie de Beer and Pollock could only wave the flag for so long……

• 409.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-405: WP should start this match with a 30 point handicap :)

BOOM?

• 410.KeurboomPark: Reply to this comment

@RL-358:
    Koebaai teef :)

• 411.wnbb: Reply to this comment

The Stormers players in the Lions team had a fairly good game.See you lads soon. :D

• 412.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-409:

We have made all 3 finals… u19, 21 and senior.
    I wonder if there is not a special throphy for this achievement, lol .

• 413.W.P: Reply to this comment

Louis Schreuder also looked sharp at flyhalf. Carstens and Brok must be sent packing! Piss poor!!!

• 414.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Good day for me as far as sport is concerned.
    Even Liverpool won.

• 415.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-412: The u19′s probably the best bet for silverware

• 416.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-412: Yup, and when you think of how injuries disrupted all 3 teams (the junior teams indirectly…because players kept moving up to the ‘higher team’), it really is a remarkable achievement, all things considered.

U/19′s playing U/21

U/21′s playing Senior

It’s actually been a nightmare of a season for all 3 coaches, so the union must be doing something right ;)

I just have to enlist the help of a pro-googler, so that I can start comparing ‘caps’ between the Guppies and our young team heading off to Durban :)

• 417.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

Interesting. I’ve often though Schreuder would be much better at fullback or flyhalf. Didn’t expect them to gamble at a crucial stage like this though

• 418.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Robzim , lol!

• 419.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-415:

Probably yes…. they have no “superstars” but as a team they play very well.
    The under 21′s are more unpredictable but are probably in with at least a 50% chance.
    Not so sure about the seniors….. they are certainly the underdogs by quite a margin.

• 420.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-418:

Howzit Slappes, U doing well?

• 421.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-400: i’ve never seen this allende guy before today, brache maybe twice but the former stands up well in contact & makes metres which forced taute to help & thus free the outside players. good few minutes from him.

• 422.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@silent_shadow-417: That move actually shocked me.I was going at the screen…’what the fck is going on here’. :D

• 423.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Great win for Province. Marius Jonker made my blood boil , hate to say it but think today was our final can’t see us winning next weekend. Prroooooooovince

• 424.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-416:

Lol, sadly I cannot help you with the googling tonight… need to go and help my wife to finish a braai otherwise we will eat coals tonight…. cheers.

• 425.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-418: hoezit slappes… :-)

• 426.grant10: Reply to this comment

Farken incredibly happy…..beautiful WP….farken beautiful man!!!!

• 427.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Apparently the black people in PE love the Sharks and WP….

• 428.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Robzim, all good here in CFR mate. Happy for WP… now for those farkin clownfish mercenaries!

• 429.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Transie, dit gaan goed broer. Drink jy n ietsie vanaand? What you up to tonight..

• 430.ahasaid theclown: Reply to this comment

said it before and I’m saying it again.. Taute and Jantjies are not going to do WP many favors I would rather have had them both go to the Sharks.. we far better off without them

WP looked the best they have been all season when De Allende and Schreuder came on at 12 and 10, that was like a master stroke if you ask me..

Against guppies WP maybe should start like this

Pietersen
    Aplon
    De Jongh
    De Allende
    Habana
    Schreuder
    Groom
    Vermeulen
    Armand
    Fourie
    Steenkamp
    Etzebeth
    Malherbe
    Ntubeni
    Carstens

Harris, Kitschoff, Sinclair, Holmes, Catrakillis, Vd Heever, Brache

• 431.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-426: Fourie must have warmed your heart again

• 432.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@ahasaid theclown-430: Schreuder came on as 9

• 433.silent_shadow: Reply to this comment

No way should Pietersen be starting (or kicking) in a crucial game. Most mentally weak player we have by far

• 434.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@ahasaid theclown-430: Putting a scrummie at 10 for the first time and Carstens ahead of Ginger? Smoking crack dude.

• 435.ahasaid theclown: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-432: he came on at 10.. the best he’s ever played for Province is tonight at 10.. same as the best game Duvenhage ever played for Stormers was at 10 vs Blues in Auckland..

I rather have Schreuder at 10 than Catrakillis,, far more enterprising threat at 10 than the Cat.. that the way to go to disrupt guppies, play Groom , Schreuder at half back and De Allende at inside center,, then you see some fireworks happening at the guppy tank.

• 436.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Slappes-428:

Cheers slappes… good to hear from u again…if i dont go now my wife is going to moer me so hard u will hear the smack in CFR. cu around..

• 437.ahasaid theclown: Reply to this comment

Pietersen will be fine in Durban.. he overcame his jitters tonight.. Catrakillis the wrong option vs Sharks at 10.. play it flat and hard with Schreuder driving the ball up in Lambies face, and Carstens is an old bananaboy workhorse he knows the ropes how to disrupt those dudes, bring Kitshoff and Sinclair on later.. or even start the big boys at back row, Vermeulen, Armand and Sinclair and have Fourie start at 2, Ntubeni and Holmes on bench.

• 438.rangerman: Reply to this comment

so the wp get a chanced to win silverware.

pity its against the sharks.

• 439.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

Somebody please explain to me why the Kings signed the WP no. 10? He’s no improvement on what we have.

• 440.ahasaid theclown: Reply to this comment

Sharks gonna bottle it up and choke again next week just like they did last year and every time they ever made a final in SR

• 441.charo: Reply to this comment

well played weepee – sorry lions.

don’t understand this horseshit about weepee having to borrow u21 players for their 1st team.

weepee have the biggest rugby playing population in the country – by a friggen mile.
    by population;
    coloureds – mostly into rugby
    whites (afrikaans) – almost entirely rugby
    whites (english) – mainly rugby
    blacks (xhosa) – maybe 40% rugby

above in order of % of population.

now do a similar exercise for the rest of the provinces/franchises and see how they compare.

natal/sharks would come stone last (zulus, then indians, then english whites).

what this says to me is that wp underachieve and sharks/natal overachieve.

put it down to brain power.

• 442.rangerman: Reply to this comment

cute.

this is from a decade losing streak perspective?

• 443.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Lions would have won easily if the played without the players who joined Province. Jantjes and Taute threw the game.

• 444.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@charo-441: its definitely brain power.

in fact, without a natal soutie flyhalf or captain, the boks dont win world cups or even tri nations.

its sad that wp fans think they are relevantg because of the 1980′s.

• 445.ahasaid theclown: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa-439: you welcome to him.. except we also made a poor signing.. Jantjies and Taute are no improvement on what we have as back up at 10 and 15

Tonight the first time I seen AC and Fleck take a calculated gamble that paid off.. hooray first time ever they thought outside the staid old box and it worked.. Pietersen and De Allende and Schreuder on for Aplon, Brache and Catrakillis was a masterstroke, Ok Aplon sub was injury enforced but the De Allende to 12 and Schreuder to 10 is actually what swung the game around.. Catrakillis will never offer any threat to Sharks.. but Schreuder and De Allende at 10 and 12 could and would.

• 446.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@ahasaid theclown-435: De Allende at outside ot inside. Juan at inside.

• 447.ahasaid theclown: Reply to this comment

Sharks pinch all their players from neighboring provinces.. if it were down to Natal whiteys and Zulus playing for KZN they would be competing with Griffons for a place in the 2nd or 3rd division.

• 448.ahasaid theclown: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-446: yeah that the way to go.. JdJ at 12 and De Allende at 13 is the way we can smack those guppies for 6 with Schreuder at 10.. they won’t know wtf actually hit them.

• 449.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Lang Giel-443: Janjies played well below par yes but not Taute. I would say Butch was the biggest WP benefit

• 450.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@ahasaid theclown-448: sorry yes , meant to say De Allende at outside or 13. He is a natural outside centre/wing

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 1419 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.