Aussie butthead gets two-Test ban
21 Oct 2012
Australian Scott Higginbotham was banned for two Tests for kneeing and headbutting All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.
The All Blacks were understandably upset that no action was taken at that crucial juncture in the game.
‘I saw the headbutt – it’s another cheap shot,’ coach Steve Hansen said. ‘He seems to get them every week but everyone seems to miss them.’
Sanzar judicial officer Jannie Lubbe, who exonerated Wallabies playmaker Quade Cooper after he kneed McCaw in the head during the Tri-Nations decider in Brisbane last year, categorised Higginbotham’s foul play as ‘low level’.
Lubbe was of the opinion that the kneeing was more ‘was more of a bump than a hit’.
The headbutt, meanwhile, ‘was reckless and not executed with much force’.
Lubbe noted McCaw was not injured and was able to play on.

574 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All
22 Oct 2012, 12:06 pm
@bokfan1-495:
One B for Bastardo at a time:
Bakkies: This from Wikipedia.
“Then in August 2003 he was accused of biting and then eye-gouging Wallabies hooker Brendan Cannon, and although there was insufficient video evidence to consider the biting charge, and he was found not guilty of gouging, he was still suspended for eight weeks for “attacking the face”.[4] Cannon has given interviews stating that Botha both bit and gouged him [1] [2], and Botha himself gave an interview to The Times saying that his ban was “for an eye-gouge” [3].
Good enough for me.
22 Oct 2012, 12:09 pm
@cane-497:
Maybe if Higginbotham appeals he might get a reduced ban too.
Oh no wait, his nationality counts against him.
22 Oct 2012, 12:10 pm
@spartan-498: That is your opinion and it is logically sound, I will grant that.
Unfortunately reffing, the IRB and the application of the laws in Test rugby is not always logical
22 Oct 2012, 12:12 pm
Bastardo #2. (Wikipedia)
Burger.
During the opening minute of the second British and Irish Lions test at Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria, Burger made contact with the eyes of Lions winger Luke Fitzgerald. The incident was seen by touch judge Bryce Lawrence who reported it to match referee Christophe Berdos, who awarded a yellow card. Burger was subsequently cited by the commissioning officer for “making contact with the eye area” [9] and then handed an eight-week ban. A later investigation by judicial officer Alan Hudson concluded that contact with the face was made but there was no intention to gouge Fitzgerald’s eyes, but that Burger acted “contrary to good sportsmanship by making contact with the face in the eye area.”[10]
Good enough for me Bokfan.
22 Oct 2012, 12:13 pm
@bokfan1-495:
Wow…what type of question is that? It makes you sound you are just a newbie to rugby!!
22 Oct 2012, 12:16 pm
The 3rd *******.
Bismark: Wikipedia.
After South Africa’s second game of the 2008 Tri Nations Series, against New Zealand, du Plessis was cited for an eye-gouge on New Zealand’s Adam Thomson. At the subsequent disciplinary hearing, which was the first of his career, the judicial officer found that his action had been “careless”, not deliberate, and imposed a three-week suspension.
A careless Eye Gouge……………………………………………….Yeah right.
22 Oct 2012, 12:16 pm
@cane-504: “Touch judge Bryce Lawrence”.
Good enough for me.
I stopped reading just there and then.
22 Oct 2012, 12:17 pm
@cane-490:
Maybe the panel thought that richie should have got a bigger klap! I think he got 2 weeks because he did not hit richie harder!
22 Oct 2012, 12:17 pm
@cane-501: OMG, come on Cane. that is so spurious I am not even justifying it with a response.
I meant ACTUALLY cited by IRB and convicted of eye-gouging?
22 Oct 2012, 12:18 pm
@willievz-507:
And the rest of the world saw it for themselves…burger poking his fingers!
22 Oct 2012, 12:19 pm
@wallabie.-505:
Your Guys showed up this week Wallabie.
Maybe a little unlucky to only get a draw.
Good Luck on the Northern Turkey shoot.
22 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
@wallabie.-505: Wow – excellent use of English there.
All I need – a fekkin Wallaby supporter climbing in. Bless you child. You are the newbie now run along
22 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
@willievz-507:
Brycie is good enough for me too Willy.
22 Oct 2012, 12:23 pm
@bokfan1-512:
Wallabie ain’t no newby Bokfan.
He is a Veteran. He has more scars than The Rift Valley. Some as deep.
22 Oct 2012, 12:25 pm
@bokfan1-509:
Once again the process of citing is a relatively new development…..in 2003 their was no “citing” by a citing commissionar other than a team would recommend to a judiciary to have a look at particular incidents.
Yes he was not cited but he was accused and brought before a judicial team and also there was not a legal name to ” eye gouging”….. Other than “attacking the face of an opponent”.
22 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
@cane-511:
Lol….we were lucky ABs did not show up!!
22 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
@cane-506: Bless (or as we say in SA shaaaame) Cane – bookmarking Wikipedia, memorising the names and clinging onto opinions written on a site like Wikipedia…. bless/shaaaaaame.
A careless Eye Gouge is like McCaw always carelessly falling over on the wrong side, or onto the ball, or being careless at the “gate” of the ruck.
“not deliberate” like McCaw doesnt deliberately play the ball on the ground, or enter from the side, or finds himself sitting on his backside, yet still holds onto the ball… see? It happens very easily.
Didnt Brad Thorne accidentally pick up John Smit and drive him into the ground?
Verdict: none of those players were convicted of eye-gouging.
In the SAME WAY you and Spartan use the fact that Refs never ping Richie as proof he is within the law, thus do the not guilty verdicts prove the 3 players didnt do it. (Following your own logic and evidence)
And you are scraping the barrel if you are using Brendan Cannon as a character witness or an authority.
22 Oct 2012, 12:29 pm
@bokfan1-512:
Another point that YOU are the newbie and if you were around in the years back you would know i was the pied piper and the saffas would form queues behind him. I just played the tune and all you saffas just formed a line.
You missed the best years on this website.
22 Oct 2012, 12:32 pm
@bokfan1-517:
So bakkies and burger did not eye gouge…..strange thing that the law will make a person innocent but the public will hang ‘em given that the public caught them red handed!
22 Oct 2012, 12:34 pm
@bokfan1-509:
Call it what you will…………………………………………..”attacking the face in or about the area of the eye”.
These are not my words Bokfan.
SA is the only Rugby Union Test Playing Nation, to have ever had 3 Convicted Gougers in it’s pack at the same time.
Not even France have achieved this.
The Keo.co Equivalent of a Gunther, Katman and Dawn.
22 Oct 2012, 12:34 pm
@wallabie.-515: Ooof, let me help you out there fella:
“in 2003 their was no..” should be “there”
“commissionar” is “commissioner”
I appreciate you getting involved and sticking up for McCaw, but my response to Cane’s initial accusation stands
22 Oct 2012, 12:36 pm
@cane-520:
are you accusing me of gouging dawn?
22 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
@wallabie.-518: another great sentence ” you would know i was the pied piper and the saffas would form queues behind him.” – writing in 3rd person now?
Ive been on this site since 2003, and I recognise your nic, dont worry.
@wallabie.-519: I am SOOO glad you said that! By the same token then is McCaw guilty (as per the public) or not guilty (as per the refs)?
22 Oct 2012, 12:38 pm
Over 520 posts on here about an Ozzie eye gouging, but 40050+ about NZ or McCaw are cheats…lol
Priority guys.
Leaving feet, killing the ball and hands in the ruck are nothing compared to being kneed in the head, flying clothes line to someones head and head butts.
Makes me wonder about most you guys thinking violence is necessary to sort McCaw out.
As for the person saying McCaw was in the wrong again…..no he was not. He did nothing wrong to get Head butted or a knee to the head.
Open you dumb eyes for once.
22 Oct 2012, 12:38 pm
@Hurricane-524:
hmmm time for a new keyboard….. 450+ posts about McCaw.
22 Oct 2012, 12:39 pm
@gunther-522:
22 Oct 2012, 12:40 pm
Not sure about all Walla. You had good insight at times but wasted it trying to out do momies boy tackler or the saint. Strange thing is people fell for it.
22 Oct 2012, 12:41 pm
@cane-520: Again Cane – none of them were ever accused or convicted of eye-gouging. Let it go big guy.
Amazing how the kiwis on this site belittle everyone else for “whinging”, “moaning” and so on about McCaw, yet you do the same thing with this theory of yours of “eye-gouging”, and its now “fact”????
Even, EVEN if it was close to the truth… 1 incident in 2003, 1 in 2008 and 1 in 2009. 3 incidents in 6 years – hardly a shocking statistic.
Compared to McCaw’s rate of transgressions per match?
22 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
And Keo, change this article’s headline please, it’s sloppy, uncalled for & unprofessional journalism.
Thanking you in advance.
22 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
@bokfan1-517:
“Didnt Brad Thorne accidentally pick up John Smit and drive him into the ground?”.
Yip…………………………2.9 seconds after Barney kneed Thorn in the back,.
Something Barney admits in his autobiography.
Barney ……………………………..he was not a Gouger…………………………………………but a Saint neither.
Anyway …………………………….he landed on his fat arsse…………………….what more padding does a man need.
Pole Volters don’t get that much cushioning.
22 Oct 2012, 12:44 pm
Just watching The Worlds Fastest Indian
Bloody good movie that.
22 Oct 2012, 12:49 pm
@gunther-522:
No Gunther……………………………………..just your Tag Team attacks on Hurricane and skoppie.
22 Oct 2012, 12:52 pm
@bokfan1-521:
Forget The Spelling Police Shiit Bokfan.
Was it not you who said something about real men?
22 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
@bokfan1-528:
“Even, EVEN if it was close to the truth”.
So now being marginaly…………………accidentialy offside.
is = to………………………………….being an eye gouger.
Yeah Right…………………………………………..get another Tui out of the fridge.
22 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
@Hurricane-531:
Zorro, Hannibal,…………………………………………………………I think Bert Munroe may have been his best role.
22 Oct 2012, 13:03 pm
@bokfan1-528:
3 too many if you ask me.
You are comparing an offside person to someone that can blind a person.
Look we all understand McCaw get up your guys noses and he gets blamed for everything, even as shown on here with this incident, he was still accused for being offside….. and he was not.
This was a very cheap shot.
Sooner you stop comparing eye gouging to offsides the better.
22 Oct 2012, 13:05 pm
I’ve posted the last 4 posts:
I have killed this thread.
22 Oct 2012, 13:06 pm
@cane-535:
Yeah he did a good job, even tried his best with the Kiwi accent.
Cant believe the Kiwis record still stands at the Bonneville.
Amazing story
22 Oct 2012, 13:08 pm
@Hurricane-536:
I’m fairly sure, Bokfanny is a North Shore Oke.
22 Oct 2012, 13:08 pm
@cane-537:
“I have killed this thread.”
I believe its a kiwi thing….we just cant help it can we
22 Oct 2012, 13:09 pm
@cane-533: only mentioned the spelling as it affected my understanding of the post Cane.
Its a cliche that rugby players (and ex–players) are stupid. We should know how to spell.
@cane-534: I am absolutely NOT equating an accidental offside with eye-gouging Cane! Let me make that very clear.
You are being deliberately facetious there.
1. Accidental offside = happens to any player, minor transgression
2. Purposely offside continuously = cheating
3. Purposely offside continuously with no punishment or penalty = McCaw
4. None of those 3 players were convicted of eye-gouging.
Hence your equation above is totally wrong and absolutely NOT what I am saying.
Lets take a better example: 2003 Boks vs England. That game was dirty and the Boks were embarrassing that day. If you had used that example, then you would have a better point. I was embarrassed and the Boks deserved to lose that game. I can admit it, and I expect better and fairer play from my team.
Lastly – Im overjoyed by your reply in 530 as it illustrates ALL my points:
- So because Smit had “kneed him in the back” it was ok for Thorne to dump him?
- Therefore – by your own reasoning – it is ok for players to hurt McCaw if he oversteps the mark previously in a game?
(by the way in Smit’s book he admits pushing Thorne’s head down to get a reaction, nothing about kneeing him).
Tui sucks, although Steinlager is not bad.
22 Oct 2012, 13:11 pm
@Hurricane-538:
What was it ……………………………………3 parts Chevy, 1 part Ford.
22 Oct 2012, 13:12 pm
@gunther-522: oo-err
22 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@Hurricane-536: Hahahaha, that is brilliant!
You read the last post of Cane’s (which is so skewed its scary) and then carry on with the theme as if it is now a fact?
I am NOT equating offisde to gouging! Jeez! Cane is doing that. Read the posts if you want an accurate view of my argument.
But it doesnt matter – you guys will never discuss it rationally, objectively or admit anything. Thats fine – its to be expected of any loyal fan of their team and country.
22 Oct 2012, 13:14 pm
@bokfan1-541:
“facetious”.
Sorry Bokfan…………………………………………………i’ll need a dictionary here.
22 Oct 2012, 13:18 pm
@Big Hit-543:
I have an idea, who would come off second best.
22 Oct 2012, 13:21 pm
Goodnight All.
And I may not love you.
But ***** does.
Whether you like it or not.
22 Oct 2012, 13:23 pm
@bokfan1-544:
No i did not read Canes posts until a bit later….strange how both of us got your point incorrect.
Bokfan this is a blog….this is what we are doing, discussing objectively.
Look McCaw pushes the boundries and exceeds them many times. He has said this. Until the ref stops him with a few penalties then he calms it down. Now Habana is offside every kick into the corner or start off. He is also a cheat.
One thing i dont understand or seem to find it impossible to see is a cheat offside compared to an accidental offside.
You have suggested you know the difference.
I believe you sre basing your assumption on someone consistency offside is a cheat and a player that finds himself occasionally offside is normal accidental.
Is this how you see it?
22 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
@cane-532:
No my friend.
Gunther marches alone.
22 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
@cane-501:
@cane-504:
@cane-506:
hahahahaha
did poppa create those entries, or lert me guess… some kiwi doos did..?..
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 » Show All