Aussie butthead gets two-Test ban
21 Oct 2012
Australian Scott Higginbotham was banned for two Tests for kneeing and headbutting All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.
The All Blacks were understandably upset that no action was taken at that crucial juncture in the game.
‘I saw the headbutt – it’s another cheap shot,’ coach Steve Hansen said. ‘He seems to get them every week but everyone seems to miss them.’
Sanzar judicial officer Jannie Lubbe, who exonerated Wallabies playmaker Quade Cooper after he kneed McCaw in the head during the Tri-Nations decider in Brisbane last year, categorised Higginbotham’s foul play as ‘low level’.
Lubbe was of the opinion that the kneeing was more ‘was more of a bump than a hit’.
The headbutt, meanwhile, ‘was reckless and not executed with much force’.
Lubbe noted McCaw was not injured and was able to play on.

574 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
21 Oct 2012, 12:12 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-92:
So eye gouging, head butts and late shots is cleaning up?
How about fans running on and attacking refs?
A truckies toilet is cleaner than the Boks.
21 Oct 2012, 12:15 pm
@cane-97:
Thanks Cane.
Much appreciated
21 Oct 2012, 12:16 pm
@poppa69-91:

dont be ridiculous pops. how OTT of you
@Hurricane-93:
look, if the player did this he should and in all likelyhood will be heavily sanctioned.
but you lose ground when you cannot admit the fact he give reason to be targeted time and again due to his cheating and the refs not doing enough about it.
@poppa69-95:
do you honestly want me to list your dirty indiscretions too, pops
unvelievable….
21 Oct 2012, 12:16 pm
the kruger park may indeed be a once in a lifetime experience
but going to South africa is like signing the “do not resuscitate” papers..
21 Oct 2012, 12:18 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103: you said SA had cleaned up its act..
I just wanted clarification that the 3 examples I listed were in fact evidence of SA cleaning up its game
fark, it must have been cesspool dirty before this clean up..
21 Oct 2012, 12:18 pm
Right…
There seems to be a lot of back and forthing in here at the moment, so let me take this conversation by the scruff of the neck and put the definitive conclusion on here for everyone. Whilst you read this, do remember that I am The Authority and as such my conclusion is final.
The All Blacks have throughout the professional era had a higher penalty to yellow card ratio than any other team in world rugby. Fact.
The All Blacks have awarded referee of the year to bryce lawrence after making an unprecendented 47 errors in the rwc quarter final. Fact.
Keith Lawrence (kiwi referree) attempted to collude with Australian refs against South African teams in the super rugby tournament. He got caught bit was not punished. Fact.
The All Blacks, Richie McCaw has been rated by the Daily Telegraph as the biggest cheat in the history of rugby with stats backing up their analysis. Fact.
The All Blacks are cheaters. Fact.
I am The Authority.
21 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
Kiwis say whatever you want, Ritchie gets away with murder. It’s no surprise guys have started taking him out at the refs don’t. It may not be right but how else do you stop the guy?
21 Oct 2012, 12:20 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-103: isnt taking the laws into your own hands also a form of cheating?
haha your argument is one of sieves mate
full of fcken holes..
21 Oct 2012, 12:22 pm
@the authority-106:
“I am The Authority”.
No.
You are a cnut.
21 Oct 2012, 12:23 pm
@Hurricane-101:
glad you brought that up.
in the two well publicised instances when fans have attacked/bottled/whatever players or officials in sa they were severely reprimaned and had the full weight of the law thrown at them.
criminal charges were institued and life time bans carried out against the guilty perpetrators.
furthermore unconditional apologies were made to the victims by the teams, saru, players, stadium managers… everybody… and this was done in public and private… its on record.
NOW THEN, in just one of many instances of assaulst on players/officials in nz a sharks player was BOTTLED by a fan at auckland stadium at the result was a COMPLETE COVER UP by both the blues stadium management and nzru.
how farking disgusting that to this day your people have done nothing about that incident.
typical in the obvious.
there are more incidences involving you people i can go on…..
21 Oct 2012, 12:26 pm
Ritchie………………………………………………..100 Test wins.
Maybe never to be repeated in our lifetimes.
Unless of of course you are “the authority”,
who is 17 years old.
Hurri
wear the kevlar vest at all times
drive with the car doors locked
dont stop at robots
lock all doors and windows before turning in for the night
beware of the new trick of burning CDs being thrown into the room, it is a sure sign of burglary
dont trust the maid with your food, and take the small amount of valuables with you when you leave your hotel, the cleaning service means more than just tidying up
beware of being knocked down by armoured vehicles in the cities
dont join any striking workers in their protests
make sure your life insurance is up to date
dont mention the rugby
dont leave your hotel at night, in any circumstances
enjoy your time in South Africa boet, seems like a great place to visit
@the authority-106:
Yellow cards since the year 2000
South Africa 70 (43 players)
Italy 61 (34)
Aust 44 (30)
Argentina 44 (26)
Wales 39 (29)
NZ 37 (28)
England 37 (24)
Scotland 30 (19)
Ireland 26 (16)
France 24 (19)
21 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
@Hurricane-101:
its sdad that you cannot see this about yourselves, hurri.
sa rugby has made a clear and concious effort to clean itself up over the last 20 years and you people have unfortunately not.
i will never forget or forgive the fact that you disgustingly covered up that BOTTLING incident.
21 Oct 2012, 12:28 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-110:
Wasnt a few weeks before an Auckland player was bottled in SA?
I believe so.
But lets not go down dirty fans….nothing compares to pitch invasion and attcking refs.
You guys take the cake
21 Oct 2012, 12:29 pm
@poppa69-108:
hurri posted a rather telling and most interesting, but in now way surprising, youtube video on here the other day, pops.
you should watch it.
21 Oct 2012, 12:30 pm
@Hurricane-113:
precisely the point isn’t it.
something stinks at we all know what.
21 Oct 2012, 12:30 pm
@hurricane
Exactly, New Zealand gets so few yellow cards… The get penalised more per yellow card than any other team. Unfair but typical.
21 Oct 2012, 12:31 pm
@goyougoodthing2-107:
” Ritchie gets away with murder”.
Better than actually putting a bona-fide Murderer in your Team I suppose.
Tromp the Murderer.
Have you people no shame.
21 Oct 2012, 12:32 pm
@Hurricane-115:
i pity you, boet.
shame
it was after the blues player was bottled and just look at the difference in treatment, behaviour and response.
there is far more to that comedy clip than you have the guts to admit.
21 Oct 2012, 12:32 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-116: Ive seen it bakkies, what you fail to grasp is he was in a South African jersey..
thats why he got so much stick, because its been a concerted effort by Saffas over the years to discredit a kiwi legend..
like me saying Joost was a fcken disgrace..
but continue, it sure is funny you are now using that as “proof”
hahahah
21 Oct 2012, 12:33 pm
@the authority-106:
SEnt off/red cards
10 – Italy
9 – France
7 – Safrica
6 – Wales
5 – Arg
4 – England, Ireland
2 – Scotland, Australia (Drew Mitchell 2010 v NZ, David Codey 1987 v Wales), New Zealand (Colin Meads 1967 v Scotland, Cyril Brownlie 1925 v England)
Seems the Authority has got it confused.
Most yellow carded person
6 – Schalk Burger
21 Oct 2012, 12:34 pm
@cane-119: or Bees Roux – he just paid a fine and is now playing overseas.. a fine for murder, yep, ridiculous..
21 Oct 2012, 12:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-117:
@the authority-118:
You really have no case.
Penalties can range from forward passes to offside.
None of these are yellow card offences.
What it does prove is that the penalties you get is for foul and dirty play.
21 Oct 2012, 12:36 pm
@Hurricane-115:
cant believe you would actually try to explain away an instance of player assault BOTTLING NO LESS WHICH COULD HAVE SERIOULST INJURED THE TARGETED PLAYER because in this instance it was a kiwi who did it in a kiwi stadium… shame….
21 Oct 2012, 12:37 pm
@Hurricane-113:
Nice post.
Put the finger.
on the gougers, quite nicely.
21 Oct 2012, 12:38 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-125: are you sure it was a kiwi? since so many Saffas have relocated, our crime stats have risen alarmingly..
21 Oct 2012, 12:39 pm
Hurricane – you cant be that stupid mate.
I did not say the ABs have more yellow cards than any other team…. They have a higher penalty PER yellow card ratio than any other team.
In other words, they get more warnings from refs before they get sent off. Refs are not as strict with them.
Think before you post.
21 Oct 2012, 12:39 pm
@poppa69-121:
says a lot about the people carring out the assaults you’d think.
but you know this.
@Hurricane-124:
penalties in the red zone which should be penaty tries and red or yellows at the least, after repeat and concerted infringing..?..
oh wait, i remeber those ‘final’ final warnings… the system by which the ab’s are ‘advised’ on the field of play.
21 Oct 2012, 12:41 pm
“The All Blacks are the Lance Armstrong of rugby.” – The Authority
21 Oct 2012, 12:41 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-129: yep. seems saffas have taken their violent tendencies to NZ with them…
what an indictment on your country huh?
21 Oct 2012, 12:42 pm
@the authority-128:
its funny if it wasn’t so scary at times , the blindness
@poppa69-127:
seriously pops, serioulsy?
wow!
wow!
how low can our kiwi friends go….
21 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-120:
Ok so a Bulls supporter bottled Mealamu and the a month later an Auckland supporter bottled a Sharks player?
@poppa69-73: I’m not so sure, poltergeist/authority is just an angry teenage boy. And I don’t think he ever mentioned rugby before or hinted that he’s watched any games.
Bakkies is the opposite, he watches the games, over and over again. He’s also angry and one eyed but in a different way. His heart is in the right place though, he wants the Boks to win but they don’t and he doesn’t know what to do about it so he just vents on here.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-132: no friends here mate, youve made that quite obvious with your fikthy cheating scum posts..
just returning serve mate, but I dont own a gun so I cant do it Saffa style..
21 Oct 2012, 12:44 pm
@the authority-130: Suarez, Armstrong, McCaw…
21 Oct 2012, 12:44 pm
@Hurricane-122:
“Most yellow carded person
6 – Schalk Burger”.
What …………………………………..a South African.
Well ………………………………………….blow me over.
What a surprise.
21 Oct 2012, 12:45 pm
@Big Hit-136: bloodgate any body?? hahaha pot kettle etc..
21 Oct 2012, 12:46 pm
@the authority-128:
Again, post 124 saysit all.
You cannot say those penalties were yellow card offences.
It does not matter how many penalties teams get.
Yellow cards are for constant fouling….being the same foul or dirty play.
Seen as you guys have the stats avalible can you post me how many times in the professional era that the Abs have been penalised?
ok he’s not a pretty boy, but butthead really? Lol
Rugby debates are wasted on Poppa. He has proven himself incompetent at holding a discussion at this level and shall therefore be ignored by me from this point onwards.
21 Oct 2012, 12:47 pm
@Bakkies
Haha yep.. Hurricane is a good guy but very simple-minded it would appear..
21 Oct 2012, 12:48 pm
@the authority-141: best news Ive had… sorry, but cheating is not a rugby discussion, it is simply an excuse by desperate supporters whose team cannot compete..
21 Oct 2012, 12:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-129:
I have given you guys a stat of the most red and yellow cards and players to be sent off.
Authority said that the ABs have had more penalties with less yellow cards.
Can one of you post these stats and tell us what the penalties were for.
Weneed to know what they were for as we know not all penalties are yellow card offences.
@poppa69-131:
in the two well publicised instances when sa fans have attacked/bottled players or officials in sa they were severely reprimaned and had the full weight of the law thrown at them.
criminal charges were institued and life time bans carried out against the guilty perpetrators.
furthermore unconditional apologies were made to the victims by the sa teams, saru, players, stadium managers… everybody… and this was done in public and private… its on record.
SHAME ON YOU for how you have dealt with the similar instances involving such behaviour in nz rugby.
@Hurricane-133:
yes.
and now lets consider the respective responses to both incidences?
21 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
funny not one Saffa has responded to my post about TPN taking Jane out..
isnt this cheating?
why wasnt he penalised even?
only the ABs that do it huh?
one eyed losers spouting excuses
do continue, its fun to see just how much you guys are hurting because your rugby team is k@K
21 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
@the authority-142:
You have said
“The All Blacks have throughout the professional era had a higher penalty to yellow card ratio than any other team in world rugby. Fact.”
As asked, show how many AB penalties have been awarded against them. Dont forget to tell us what they were for as well.
21 Oct 2012, 12:51 pm
@poppa69-135:
to me you come across as the type of person i would be happy to see die in a tragic ‘highjacking’ incident.
21 Oct 2012, 12:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-146:
So what are we doing here again?
Fact is some clown, a bulls supporter( was it you ) bottled a player then after that a just as stupid Auckland supporter bottled a sharks player.
Soooo what really has this got to do with anything?
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All