Aussie butthead gets two-Test ban
21 Oct 2012
Australian Scott Higginbotham was banned for two Tests for kneeing and headbutting All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.
The All Blacks were understandably upset that no action was taken at that crucial juncture in the game.
‘I saw the headbutt – it’s another cheap shot,’ coach Steve Hansen said. ‘He seems to get them every week but everyone seems to miss them.’
Sanzar judicial officer Jannie Lubbe, who exonerated Wallabies playmaker Quade Cooper after he kneed McCaw in the head during the Tri-Nations decider in Brisbane last year, categorised Higginbotham’s foul play as ‘low level’.
Lubbe was of the opinion that the kneeing was more ‘was more of a bump than a hit’.
The headbutt, meanwhile, ‘was reckless and not executed with much force’.
Lubbe noted McCaw was not injured and was able to play on.

574 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
21 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-145: how have I dealt with it exactly? Ive said its disgusting by any fan, but I dont have the power to punish or even bring charges against the perpetrators…
no shame on me mate, shame on you for stating SA had cleaned up its rugby yet a SA player was sent of for thuggery this year..
eish…
21 Oct 2012, 12:53 pm
@poppa69-147:
Thing is the ref said it was ok.
So late and shoulder charge is all good now?
21 Oct 2012, 12:54 pm
@the authority-128: Show us the number of yellow cards for repeat infringements in the last few years. It just doesn’t happen very often at all.
Usually the cards are for dangerous play or illegally stopping a try. Teams tend to do these two things when they are desperate and losing, which is perhaps why NZ gets carded less often.
21 Oct 2012, 12:54 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-149: so now you wish I was dead?
oh bakkies, thats sad mate..
wishing someone was dead? seriously?
21 Oct 2012, 12:55 pm
@poppa69-151:
He has been found out.
Sa have not cleaned there act up at all.
They have 3rd most red/sent off for good players.
They have the highest yellow carded person and the most yellow cards than any team.
21 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
and I quote
“he type of person i would be happy to see die in a tragic ‘highjacking’ incident.”
seriously Bakkies? Im in sydney mate, perhaps you can organise a hit?
21 Oct 2012, 12:59 pm
@poppa69-156:
Watch out, Bakkies will throw ANOTHER bottle at a Blues player.
21 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-145:
“in the two well publicised instances when sa fans have attacked/bottled players …………………………”
YOUR WHOLE Cuntry is an attack/bottle/murder/robbery/murder/mugging zone.
Shame on who exacxtly!
WTF are you on about?
21 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
@Hurricane-157: a sad, true reflection on our “mate” bakkies..
as bad as some of the things Ive said on here, Ive never wished anyone to die..
sad that his hatred has sunk to this level
should I be scared? build myself a gated community and get myself alsation guard dogs?
21 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
a headbutt has no place in the game and deserves the sanction that is required.
To me though, serial breakdown offenders are as guilty just because one is considered “technical” and the other “dirty”….I see no reason why both are not as punishable even after the game. I would even suggest that a serial breakdown offender is even worse (murder 1 – premeditated)
there is a “cause and effect” situation when one side gets screwed over by a serial breakdown offender. This leads to frustration and a side/player then taking the law into his own hands.
So basically, Richie is a brilliant player but how brilliant would he have been on an even playing surface? how can it be that the most penalized player never gets carded? to the extent that the ref justs stops penalizing him at all for fear of having to answer questions as to why he carded McCaw?
I think there should be a reffing “player watch list”. It has always been a critism of mine that refs do not do enough post match analysis on players. Who should they look out for inparticular?
we all know there was the unspoken-bakkies-watchlist.
21 Oct 2012, 13:02 pm
@Hurricane-157: the way the blues are shaping next year I think the kings may register a victory against us..
Bakkies has just shown us the good old Saffa hospitality we hear so much about..
21 Oct 2012, 13:06 pm
where has bakkies gone?
on the phone to his nigerian contacts perhaps?
there is a car lurking around outside my house, shall I call the cops now or is it too early for Bakkies to have all the details in place?
21 Oct 2012, 13:12 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdr-W775hk4
21 Oct 2012, 13:12 pm
@Hurricane-150:
wow!
again:
in the two well publicised instances when sa fans have attacked/bottled players or officials in sa they were severely reprimaned and had the full weight of the law thrown at them.
criminal charges were institued and life time bans carried out against the guilty perpetrators.
furthermore unconditional apologies were made to the victims by the sa teams, saru, players, stadium managers… everybody… and this was done in public and private… its on record.
NOW THEN, in just one of many instances of assaulst on players/officials in nz a sharks player was BOTTLED by a fan at auckland stadium at the result was a COMPLETE COVER UP by both the blues stadium management and nzru.
NEVER A WORD MENTIONED OR ADMITTED TO THE PLAYER. THE TEAM OR ANYONE FOR THAT MATTER.
NO APOLOGIES… NOTHING….
how farking disgusting that to this day your people have done nothing about that incident.
21 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
Here is a good stat.
At home McCaw has won 96% of his home test matches…..
And 83% of his away matches.
WTF, thats incredible
21 Oct 2012, 13:17 pm
@poppa69-162:
pops, its not about me… its about you… you’re the type of guy anyone anywhere would be happy to see die under ‘nysterious circumstances’..
21 Oct 2012, 13:20 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-160:
agreed.
the game is being ruined by these people and we have lost so many great games which shuld have been wonderful historical contests because of this.
rugby is the loser because of these cheats.
but the people who react to thoer dirty play are punished rather and until a concerted effort is made by the international rugby stakeholders to clean nz rugby up (they seem clearly incapalbe of doing so themselves) then we can expect more of the same.
21 Oct 2012, 13:20 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-164:
Why are you hammering on about bottle throwing??
What ever way its sad. They could not identify the person who threw the bottle…well thats what Eden parks officials said.
All i know is he wasnt hit as you suggest he was.
But thats the last i know of it.
21 Oct 2012, 13:21 pm
@Hurricane-165: No one is doubting RM is a great player. But he is also very good at cheating and not getting caught, and that’s what a lot of people don’t like and don’t respect.
21 Oct 2012, 13:22 pm
“you’re the type of guy anyone anywhere would be happy to see die under ‘nysterious circumstances’..”
i await the hordes who take umbrage when I mention Aids or tyre burning necklaces to show their impartiality and condemn you for these words Bakkies..
the fcat you would wish anyone dead is really a sad indictment on the scum you are mate… Im in sydney, come get me you big tough saffa you..
21 Oct 2012, 13:23 pm
@blik-163:
All those things is what SA players do as well.
Dont be daft.
21 Oct 2012, 13:24 pm
I guess youre just a product of your environment Bakkies, I know its a daily occurence for you guys there, people disappearing and the like, but in the civilised world we dont wish others to die make..
sad, so very very sad.
21 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
@Hurricane-168:
thank you, hurri. i was starting to doubt you there for a bit. you have of course come nowhere far enough on this but its a start.
its clear the blues/nzru wanted it to die down as quickly as possible because its not a good fit with the image they project of nz/ab rugby to the world.
in that instance as in a few others i feel they actually lost more thant they could instead have gained if they had done what saru/sa rugby as a whole has in regard to these types of events.
21 Oct 2012, 13:26 pm
is this the spot for the sunday brawl?
lets get started shall we?
poopsie, i dont think you will ever die in a highjacking incident in sa.
you are too much of a p u s s y to come to big bad africa haha.
21 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
@blik-169:
What happens is that even when RM is kneed in the head and head butted, these guys say cos he was cheating…..lol
Wake up.Evertime Habana chases a ball he is a few meters offside, shall we just gouge him cos the refs are not doing anything about it?
This is silly. I have asked for what did McCaw do to get what he got from the Ozzie and no one here can answer.
21 Oct 2012, 13:28 pm
@rangerman-174: so condoning the comments Ranger? what a surprise
are you aids infested too?
21 Oct 2012, 13:29 pm
#68 Pongyghost
Thanks for that! Your whining opinion is important to me.
21 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
@DEE DAH-177:
Yeah i thought that post would get you really upset.
21 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
@poppa69-176: condoning?
i was trying to put you at ease you big girl lol.
so touchy poopsie.
21 Oct 2012, 13:32 pm
@poppa69-176: what is this aids infested talk about?
lets skip straight to cancer shall we?
21 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-173:
Again i dont see it the way you do.
Nowhere can i see that the NZRU decided not to abd the guys or find him.
Sometimes it is hard to find unless you get him on camera and get a good look at him. This case they did not.
Now if you think its a cover up, then go for it, its your opinion is harmless with no proof.
21 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
@rangerman-180: yeah lets, my mum died from it, what do you want to know?
you take the moral high ground, you seem to think you own it..
21 Oct 2012, 13:36 pm
@poppa69-172:
oh calm down you big girl.
why so ‘emotional’ today..?..
i admit my comment was over the line and i take it back.
of course i dont really mean it (well, just a little) and in my defense it’s mostly in response to your insults about sa. no consideration of the saffa here in what you said to hurri, because thats why you said it, isn’t it.
@poppa69-182: shame man.
hundreds of thousands of saffas have died from aids fu k n ut so show respect for your mom and their suffering eh?
i didnt ask you about being infested with cancer now did i?
face it ranger, if I had said I wished a saffa blogger died from horrible circumstances, you and your ilk would be up in arm about the whole thing..
yet when a saffa says it, Im neing precious?
fck off you hypocritical cnut
21 Oct 2012, 13:37 pm
@poppa69-182: so go for a walk and think about what your mom would have thought about you making light of dread disease you pu s sy.
when you have done that, come back and apologise to aids victims worldwide.
make sharp.
21 Oct 2012, 13:37 pm
@rangerman-174:
well… lets not say ever…
21 Oct 2012, 13:38 pm
@poppa69-182:
@rangerman-184:
Come on now, this is rubbish.
Aids, Cancer is serious and poeple at this point are living through that hell.
We have all lost someone due to either of those diseases.
21 Oct 2012, 13:39 pm
@poppa69-185: yes yes, you sour p us s
still upset about yesterdays game?
dry your eyes princess
back later to snotklap you again.
21 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
@rangerman-186: hahah anytime you want ranger, Im in sydney mate…come get me..
but continue with the mum angle, it makes your whole holier than thou argument so much more succinct..
21 Oct 2012, 13:41 pm
@rangerman-189:
Well i am still upset if it makes you any happier.
21 Oct 2012, 13:41 pm
@rangerman-189: not at all, my team is still unbeaten this season
I understand it s the saffa way that when someone disagrees with you they disappear, as bakkies alluded to..
the fact you are defending him says it all, just how many have you buried?
21 Oct 2012, 13:46 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-183: no, I am genuinely concerned for Hurris welfare while visiting your country..
preparation is the best defense..
21 Oct 2012, 13:47 pm
@poppa69-193:
21 Oct 2012, 13:50 pm
@Hurricane-181:
yes, yes i do.
21 Oct 2012, 13:52 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-195:
What?
You have proof of a cover up??
I hope not.
21 Oct 2012, 13:52 pm
@poppa69-193:
two words:
wow!
21 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
@Hurricane-196:
no, i dont… but i just know it..
21 Oct 2012, 13:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-198:
Bakkies got a feeling….a feeling he cant hide oh no
Great beatles song…of course they dont say Bakkies
21 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-197: so you are saying that Hurri should not take any precautions whilst visiting?
wow indeed..
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All