Aussie butthead gets two-Test ban
21 Oct 2012
Australian Scott Higginbotham was banned for two Tests for kneeing and headbutting All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.
The All Blacks were understandably upset that no action was taken at that crucial juncture in the game.
‘I saw the headbutt – it’s another cheap shot,’ coach Steve Hansen said. ‘He seems to get them every week but everyone seems to miss them.’
Sanzar judicial officer Jannie Lubbe, who exonerated Wallabies playmaker Quade Cooper after he kneed McCaw in the head during the Tri-Nations decider in Brisbane last year, categorised Higginbotham’s foul play as ‘low level’.
Lubbe was of the opinion that the kneeing was more ‘was more of a bump than a hit’.
The headbutt, meanwhile, ‘was reckless and not executed with much force’.
Lubbe noted McCaw was not injured and was able to play on.

574 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
21 Oct 2012, 14:08 pm
@poppa69-200:

Later Pops, keep up the good work.
21 Oct 2012, 14:09 pm
@Hurricane-201: cheers Hurri… nah, had enough myself..
21 Oct 2012, 14:13 pm
@poppa69-200:
other than ‘dont do something obviously stupid which will put you in line of trouble’, no.
the same can be said anywhere in the world, sydney’s no exception or hobbitville.
have read of tourists suffering all kinds of assaults in new zealand, even murders.
21 Oct 2012, 15:12 pm
Examples of All Blacks cheating:
Richie McCaw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsP3Y1dDcb0&feature=g-vrec
All Black Scrum (2 videos needed to show the unbelievable leniency which the ABs are extended):
Video 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJ1mSIns8_o
Video 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2L3MDgcN2ys
All Blacks cheating proven to be a game plan (which means their coach has given them explicit instructions to cheat): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdr-W775hk4
There are loads more videos which clearly show the ABs cheating. The above are only a select few.
The All Blacks are cheaters. Always have been, always will be.
I am The Authority.
21 Oct 2012, 15:48 pm
@the authority-204: The video vs Italy: The IRB apologised to NZ and told Dickinson to go back to ref school. Just look at the way the Italian prop is illegally binding on the arm of the NZer prop. Explain to me how that’s not a penalty to NZ?
The video about the breakdown, this has been covered here a million times and the guy commentating has no idea what he’s talking about. Just read the comments on youtube, they tear the video apart. Here are a few
1:48 When Franks joins there is no ruck yet, Mealamu enters via the gate
2:11 Franks doesn’t run offside, he’s dragged by Smit
3:21 It’s called clearing a ruck!
4:26 McCaw doesn’t flop, he’s tackled
5:13 ref misses forward pass
6:20 Spies on wrong side of ruck
7:02 Ref says “in this particular area” i.e. red zone so next penalty at halfway is not a card
21 Oct 2012, 15:55 pm
Another hilarious squeal by fat boy about how his baby McSquawk was supposedly attacked and not even hurt. Did I hear him when his AB thugs deliberately took out BoD early in the first game of the Lions tour to NZ and sent him to hospital and out of the tour without any sanction. Did I hear him squeal when Thorne deliberately took out the Bok captain after the whistle, in front of one of PoB’s chums and effectively out of the TN, with only a slap on the wrist.
Now the fat little Billy Bunter squeals. Precious baby!
Man up Poep69 and Hurripain; it’s how you guys play the game.
21 Oct 2012, 16:21 pm
@husky-206: Didn’t Brad Thorn get banned for one game, the same as JdV did for his spear tackle?
Agree on the BoD tip, there should have been a citing. From what i remember, the citing commissioner (a South African) didn’t have enough footage at the time to make a decision because it was off the ball. The extra footage came out later but by then it was too late – same as when McCaw was gouged at the world cup
21 Oct 2012, 16:39 pm
@gonzo-205: Paddy O’Brien (a new zealander) is the one who apologised to the new zealanders. He later retracted his apology.
Paddy O’Brien is the problem in the first place. As a cheating new zealander, he has done everything in his power to give advantage to the ABs.
All of you new zealanders are cheats.
Always have been, always will be.
I am The Authority.
21 Oct 2012, 16:46 pm
@gonzo-205:
“The video vs Italy: The IRB apologised to NZ and told Dickinson to go back to ref school.”… really..?..
“In November 2009, O’Brien publicly apologized to New Zealand with regards to the refereeing performance of Stuart Dickinson during an international match against Italy.[5] He subsequently issued a public apology to both Dickinson and the Australian Rugby Union for his breach of IRB protocol in making his comments public rather than going through official channels for commenting on referee performance.[6]”
or
O’Brien issues apology to Dickinson
International Rugby Board referee manager Paddy O’Brien has issued an apology to Australian referee Stuart Dickinson and the Australian Rugby Union for publicly lambasting the official for his performance in the Test between Italy and New Zealand.
But in a statement O’Brien, a New Zealander, said, “I have unreservedly apologised to Stuart Dickinson for the action of publicly discussing elements of his performance review and would like to extend that apology to the Australian Rugby Union. A clear and confidential best practice protocol exists for match official appraisal and feedback involving all stakeholders and I regret breaching this protocol.”
21 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
or:
O’Brien apology to Dickinson
Johannesburg – International Rugby Board (IRB) referee manager Paddy O’Brien has issued an apology to Stuart Dickinson and the Australian Rugby Union (ARU) for public comments he made regarding Dickinson’s officiating of the Italy v New Zealand match on November 14.
O’Brien’s comments followed a scheduled meeting with the New Zealand management at the team hotel in London on Tuesday and were made in discussion with media assembled at the same hotel for a team media session.
While such meetings with team management are regular practice, the IRB said in a statement that it was not IRB policy to publicly comment on refereeing appraisals or to discuss details of meetings held with team officials and all such feedback should be conducted via the appropriate channels.
“I have unreservedly apologised to Stuart Dickinson for the action of publicly discussing elements of his performance review and would like to extend that apology to the Australian Rugby Union,” O’Brien said.
“A clear and confidential best practice protocol exists for match official appraisal and feedback involving all stakeholders and I regret breaching this protocol.
“The IRB has in place a dedicated high performance structure for the development of international referees and works hard with its member unions to identify up and coming talent and promote consistency at all levels of the game.
“Team management are also offered the opportunity to meet with the referee prior to a match or arrange a meeting with a performance reviewer or myself – this is normal practice.
“Again I would like to apologise to Stuart and the ARU for the public nature of the comments that I made.”
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/OBrien-apology-to-Dickinson-20091120
21 Oct 2012, 17:07 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-210: He apologises for making it public but the fact remains that Dickinson was wrong so the original claim that Italy should have had a penalty try is incorrect
21 Oct 2012, 17:13 pm
@gonzo-205:
that scumbag o’brein got put nicely on his arse by his employer for overstepping his authority.
doos had no rights what so ever to do that and he ended up having to make a double arse of himself by apologising like the arse he is for behaving like the arse he was.
your people have credibility.
21 Oct 2012, 17:13 pm
@the authority-208: Did you watch the video? Did you see the Italian prop binding illegally? Do you really think the Italians deserved a penalty try?
21 Oct 2012, 17:15 pm
@gonzo-211:
making up things now? wow!
according to who?
21 Oct 2012, 17:19 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-214: According to the article you posted. He broke protocol by lambasting him publicly. Nowhere does he say what he said was wrong, simply that it was said publicly
“I have unreservedly apologised to Stuart Dickinson for the action of publicly discussing elements of his performance review and would like to extend that apology to the Australian Rugby Union,”
21 Oct 2012, 17:19 pm
@gonzo-211:
no, he was made to apologise and what specifically he was made to apologise for has never been made public.
no information anywhere that dickinson was sent back to ref school is there.
what the assesment of dickinson’s refereeing was is not public either.
dont suck things, boet.
21 Oct 2012, 17:27 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-216: Show me an article where Paddy says Dickinson made the correct calls. Or even better, watch that video and tell me whether the Italian prop was binding legally or not
21 Oct 2012, 17:36 pm
@gonzo-217:
i doubt such articles exist but the point is you’re just infering stuff like the good little kiwi you are to make up your versions of the truth.
the facts are far from it.
21 Oct 2012, 17:38 pm
@gonzo-217:
like your ‘lets get the japies’ email cockup you guys are often exposed with egg on your faces.
21 Oct 2012, 17:41 pm
gonzo
save your breath
Bakkies only ever sees one teams indiscretions. he is the saddest person ever
a saffa with a chip on his block
he was trying to tell us earlier that SA had cleaned up its rugby
this is how deluded he is.
21 Oct 2012, 17:44 pm
let’s get the japies is the greatest thing in life
you fckers deserve it for apartheid
plain and FUCKEN snipe.
racist mofos
21 Oct 2012, 17:48 pm
@poppa69-221: Oh hell ur even more immature then i could have ever imagined, ur one tough guy on the internet aintcha???
Ur just proving so many in here what utter trailer trash you are.
Grow up some dude, ur pathetic
21 Oct 2012, 17:50 pm
you have to remember gonzo
Bakkies is a bloke wishing for another bloggers death.
this is your typical south african
life is cheap for them.
21 Oct 2012, 17:52 pm
sharks lover. I’m I’m Sydney.
come get me tough guy
21 Oct 2012, 17:57 pm
@poppa69-224: Oh boy and he goes even lower. Hell dude ur worthless, but sure as hell not gonna waste anymore energy on you, My 6 year old grand daughter is more mature then what you display here.
21 Oct 2012, 17:58 pm
@poppa69-223:
“Typical South African”.
> Racist comment
So in the spirit of national generalisations, allow me to try my hand, now that you’ve have “Cast the first stone”…
New Zealanders are a bunch a poaching, cheating nobodies who have the highest rate of consentual incest per capita in the world… Fact.
So instead of telling you to go f.uck yourself, how about you just go and have intercourse with your mother or father instead.
You just been schooled biitch.
21 Oct 2012, 17:58 pm
@poppa69-221:
wow pops, hows the view from the gutter?
‘can you see the stars?’
@poppa69-223:
still harping on this? i thought i took it back.
21 Oct 2012, 17:59 pm
Well done Bakkies..I love the way you return serve..serve this troll poopie a big fat dollop of fu on behalf of all of us. I have always remained on the sides when this moron has been trolling but no more. Its sickening the way you act poppa. Seriously grow up and get a life. You have been trolling on here all morning and you even come back later to have another dig. Fkn crass ****..**** you on behalf of all south africans.
21 Oct 2012, 17:59 pm
http://tvnz.co.nz/national-news/incest-cases-becoming-more-prevalent-in-nz-5052520
21 Oct 2012, 18:00 pm
@poppa69-220:
yes we have pops, say what you want but we have.
can nz say the same? (dont answer it)
21 Oct 2012, 18:00 pm
sharks lover.
guess the saffa hospitality has rubbed off on me
I’d fit right in to your society now
as evidenced on this blog.
you fckers are cnuts
plain and simple
21 Oct 2012, 18:01 pm
Haha Poppa is the biggest twat on this site.
Great to see him getting owned.
@ Kiwis, most of you are great guys, but you should be ashamed of this guy Poppa.
He is a disgrace.
21 Oct 2012, 18:02 pm
@poppa69-223: Those are disgusting comments mate.
21 Oct 2012, 18:03 pm
hahaha knuckle dragging Neanderthals getting upset.
dumb fcks.
21 Oct 2012, 18:04 pm
@poppa69-234:
You’re Sir are a racist. And now you have been exposed.
Your crdibility has just hit rock bottom.
Don’t expect any of us to take you seriously in future.
You are an embarrassment.
21 Oct 2012, 18:05 pm
After yesterdays performance i think dan carter is on the morne steyn route.. Hope he stayed awake a watched the wonderkind lambie play… Maybe he got some tips…
21 Oct 2012, 18:06 pm
@poppa69-231:
Haha you only think we’re “cnuts” because you have just been monumentally schooled.
Jog on son. You’re not worth anyone’s time.
21 Oct 2012, 18:07 pm
@gonzo-207:
you guys are well know for routinely ‘facilitating’ the video feeds editing processes and framing it accordingly whenever the rugby’s in nz. its gotten to the point of larfability in some instances.
@Golden Boy-228:
cheers,
its not even like i’m being far out and unfair towards them. for the most part its just a case of pointing out the obvious.
21 Oct 2012, 18:07 pm
@poppa69-234: NOt upset at all, just amazed that an adult could be so idioticly immature,
21 Oct 2012, 18:08 pm
@poppa69-231: There is no doubt whatsoever that you are the biggest cnut of all here.
Happily throwing comments about aids, etc, but then you get all precious when someone mentions cancer. I don’t suppose anybody here has lost anyone to Aids?
Not that that bothers you, as long as they don’t mention your mother. Grow a pair you stupid cnut – you think your mo would be proud of your constant dissing of an entire nation?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-219: Bakkies, I saw the jarpies email printed in full years ago but can’t find it anywhere now. Probably Paddy O’Brien spoke to Google and had it erased from cyber space. But it seems like something you’d have close to hand. Do you have a link? Not being facetious here, would like to see its full contents and i’m sure you’d love an excuse to post it.
Also, you haven’t answered about whether the Italian was binding illegally
I’m a kiwi and let me be the first to say I am disgusted by the racist comments of poppa on this site. Absolutely deplorable.
21 Oct 2012, 18:09 pm
ive been schooled?
how?
wasn’t me wishing another blogger would die.
oh that’s right, it was a saffa who did that.
but that’s somehow acceptable?
hypocritical knuckle dragging Neanderthals.
21 Oct 2012, 18:11 pm
@McAwesome-242: Thats fine Mc, I am pretty sure he alone is responsible for his actions.
21 Oct 2012, 18:12 pm
take your tongue out the back of their trousers mcawesone
give it a year or two. see what and how they really treat kiwis and visitors to this site.
21 Oct 2012, 18:12 pm
@McAwesome-242: Thanks Mcawesome!
21 Oct 2012, 18:13 pm
@poppa69-245: You’re a disgrace.
My wife is South African and I am disgusted by your comments.
Just talk rugby on this site or get lost.
21 Oct 2012, 18:14 pm
@poppa69-245:
You should just quit while youre behind son… Damage control at this point.
You have been properly schooled.
21 Oct 2012, 18:15 pm
@poppa69-245: take some soap to yours
21 Oct 2012, 18:18 pm
@gonzo-241:
no, i dont have a copy at hand but will scroll around.
yes, he probably was.
will you agree you are inferring stuff from the statements by o’brein in both instances?
@McAwesome-242:
cheers boet, and i would like to say i find some of poltergeist’s post to be way over the top and a little uneccesary in its extemeness.
ye poltergeist, i think you go too low at times.
please dial it down, boet.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All