Aussie butthead gets two-Test ban

Australian Scott Higginbotham was banned for two Tests for kneeing and headbutting All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.

The All Blacks were understandably upset that no action was taken at that crucial juncture in the game.

‘I saw the headbutt – it’s another cheap shot,’ coach Steve Hansen said. ‘He seems to get them every week but everyone seems to miss them.’

Sanzar judicial officer Jannie Lubbe, who exonerated Wallabies playmaker Quade Cooper after he kneed McCaw in the head during the Tri-Nations decider in Brisbane last year, categorised Higginbotham’s foul play as ‘low level’.

Lubbe was of the opinion that the kneeing was more ‘was more of a bump than a hit’.

The headbutt, meanwhile, ‘was reckless and not executed with much force’.

Lubbe noted McCaw was not injured and was able to play on.

574 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All

• 301.poppa69: Reply to this comment

because I came for a holiday and got offered the opportunity to earn double what I did back in NZ.

• 302.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-299: Is Shaik still alive? Farken terrible terminal illness he must have.

• 303.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-294:
    I did not claim that Bees was found guilty of murder but the victim was murdered still the same, wasn’t he?

“It might seem Bees Roux got away with murder by paying a fine for killing a police officer, but not according to the practice of restorative justice.

Roux walked out of the North Gauteng High Court a free man on Friday after being given a suspended sentence for culpable homicide and drunken driving after the defence and prosecution in the case entered into a plea bargain agreement.”

In any case, that was not the real point.

• 304.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

I smell a fake CV ;)

• 305.blik: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-276:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOYy1LZHswI
    Was not an eye-gouge, his hand ws a fist, not possive to gouge like that.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xU2qXMJXIk
    That was a faked headbutt
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-DQ29ycLkU
    Stupid head but admittedly, but after Cowen was cheating
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P1znXpoxWRs
    Greyling stupid yes, will never play for the boks again
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YlcJ_1qXA0
    Spear tackle yes, like many teams do
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_rM0W-GSBo
    Stupid by burger

Funny how you have to use a number of years to get some footage of dirty play (As if the ABs never punch, spear, gouge, etc!?).

But it is pretty asy just to take one game to highlight how the ABs cheat and get away with it.

• 306.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Pops the whole of SA are not aids-ridden murderers.

Take it up with the individual.

• 307.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-300:
    look, i know where you’re coming from but like goldeboy said, lets not generalise.
    my criticism is at nama personally, only because i have read a lot of his posts and i feel there is an element of this.

i mean honestly, what point is there in citing one very exceptional and rare instance of a judicial/lawful resolution of a criminal case, which was specific to its merits and its merits alone.

and yes, there are other stuff you often say, nama.

• 308.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-298:
    So, tell me where I am coming from Bakkies.

• 309.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-296:

Wow..seriously..is that the way you reason? The big bad bully beat me up and now I will go and insult and take it out on his entire family? Oh no, why stop there, let’s go for the whole country..wtf guy..you would be a perfect recruit for the Taliban. (Facepalmforthisnutjob)

Anyway Po/es..may you live in interesting times.

• 310.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-303:
    why not discuss this case in its full seeing as you happily use it for some selfish purpose?

why not discuss the fact that roux beat the officer to death on discovering that he was in fact in the process of being highjacked and in quite likelyhood in danger of himself being murdered for his vehicle and/or other?

• 311.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-307:
    I used that example because it is the only one I know off where someone were allowed to pay compensation to the family of the person he killed.

There was absolutely no ulterior motive on my part.

• 312.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-277: If it was just overheard we would have denied it and claimed it was taken out of context, e.g. Honsis was cut off mid sentence “Let’s get the jarpies a christmas present to say thanks for being good blokes”

But from what i heard, we apologied so there must have been evidence and i’ve read it was an email as Bakkies mentioned. I’m sure i’ve seen the full email years ago but there must be some cover up going on

• 313.wnbb: Reply to this comment

If you know you are not,why get excited about it??People on here sometimes believe that they have total monopoly on bait.I say:give them gas Pops.

• 314.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-308:
    please refer #310

and then tell me whats your game by making the comments at post #292 in light of the general threads comments and discussions?

• 315.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nama1-303: You said he was a murderer. You say the victim was murdered.

This very same victim who was allegedly trying to rob Roux and got his arse handed to him. Justifiably, but Roux overstepped the bounds of what would be considered reasonable action to protect himself and his property, hence was found guilty of culpable homicide for acting negligently, not intentionally.

Big difference but that’s not the point.

The point you were alluding to was that justice was bought and paid for, which you very next post contradicts. Justice was served was it not?

What I would like to know is how justice has been served in Shaik’s case, and more so when contrasted with that of Derby-Lewis?

Its not justice for all now is it?

But that’s not the point either, as long as the the “right” person got the right sort of justice hey?

• 316.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-311:
    really nama, really?

i find that hard to believe but will accept your saying so.
    no worries, lets drop it.

• 317.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-310: you have official prove for that statement??

• 318.poppa69: Reply to this comment

again. show me the post where I specifically attack your family? you can’t

yet many of your countrymen generalize about kiwis all the time.

what’s good for the goose is good for the gander.

so I will watch closely the next time one of your countryman generalise about kiwis. I expect you to be jut as adamant and vehement with you criticism of their words.

I won’t hold my breath though

• 319.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-310:
    That was not the point of the discussion. The point was about lives in SA being CHEAP.

• 320.spartan: Reply to this comment

McCaw is actually the ultimate breakdown technician
    The refs would love to penalise him off the park
    But their problem is that they can’t
    call him what you will
    but the truth is he operates near perfection within the miniscule timeframe allowed by the tackle laws
    The refs go after him now and any time he is penalised it is a boderline decision
    People who call him a serial cheat fail to recognise the brilliance of one of the greatest players to ever play our beloved game

• 321.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-312:
    cheers gonzo, you are a good bloke and a rare kiwi for the fact you are (on rare occasion :grin: ) able to admit wrongdoing, failings or faults in what you do, especially with regard to rugby.

• 322.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-310: That’s a load of hogwash,bakkies.He was as drunk as a lord and basically refused to submit to the instructions of a black copper.You know how you okes are when you’re laced with klippies and coke.Sometimes you okes don’t even need to be drunk. :D

• 323.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-312: it was an e-mail which Bryce’s daddy sent in which he forgot to delete a conversation between him and some other Oz/Kiwi refs further down the mail which contained not only the infamous “lets get the japies’ but also some less than complimentary things about `Freek Burger, who happened to receive the mail.

Lawrence apparently apologised to Freek and that was that.

• 324.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-322: See post 317….

• 325.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-318: exactly pops.keep returning that serve pops.you got my full support. :D

• 326.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-324: Not interested.

• 327.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-313:

Really..so let’s say I call you, your mom and your entire family all the ****/t that this moron has been calling us to your face..you will walk away and not do or say anything because it doesn’t apply to them? Somehow I doubt it..and in my case, this nob has been doing it for years now..and if he is prepared to generalise, he should be prepared for reactions like mine. And frankly, encouraging this kind of behaviour makes you as culpable because you are enabling him to act the way he is.

His is the actions of a sick individual with some serious antisocial tendencies. You enabling him is akin to giving a serial killer a gun and telling him to ‘give the gas.’

• 328.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-312:
    oh and by the way, very funny :lol:

@wnbb-317:
    it all came out in the investigation, boet. so much so it necessitated an attempted cover up by the particular police authorities involved.

i know… shocking hey….

@nama1-319:
    its fine if you choose to see what the topic on cenversation was about.
    i disagree but thats the oint of these debates, isn’t it.

• 329.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-315:
    But he did kill the guy. That makes him a murderer because the victim was murdered!!!

What should he be called: was the victim “homocide” and is he now a “culpable homocider?”

• 330.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Greetings earthlings. :) So the forces of goodness; Auckland and WP make it to their respective finals to take on the forces of fuckingevilanddarkness: Canterbury and the Sharks – and here you lot are fighting about all sorts of less important sh y te. Tsk tsk.

Glorious WP:
    Our U/19′s will be playing the Bulls in their final
    Our U/21 ‘B’ team will be playing the Bulls in their final
    Our U/21 ‘A’ team will be taking on the fishfingers in the main event.

• 331.poppa69: Reply to this comment

golden boy.

I see you haven’t highlighted the post where I specifically attacked yor family, mum etc why is that? because you are reading more into it.

funny you’ve never had a problem with generalisations about kiwis huh? same thing, different label again.

your hypocrisy would be laughable if it wasn’t so sad.

• 332.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Golden Boy-327: the majority generalise on this site most of the time.Unless he called you out personally,i can only come to the conclusion that you are way to sensitive.

• 333.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-322:
    no, its sad that contemporary sa social dynamics are still caught up in and suffering from the sins of the past but in this instance that is exactly what was happening.

an attempted highjacking was in place by a few dirty cops who when their movements were traced back and investigated were found to heading to some predetermined rendezvous spot and were going nowhere near any known police station within any meanigful radius.

also some of the trascripts between the officers involved brought out a suspect story.

there was more, i’m repeating what i remember of the incident.

in an ironic way we’re just giving good reason for poppa to in fact say all the negative things he dos about sa…. the world’s a strange place hey…

• 334.spartan: Reply to this comment

Could anyone post every kick Habana has chased
    I just want to see if the biggest cheat in world rugby was onside when chasing even one of them
    not forgetting when he touched the clearing kick before it went out
    and then blatantly lied pointing back down the field saying out on the full

• 335.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nama1-329: jessus…man you are thicker than the callouses on Poppa’s palms.

Murder would require intent, the other negligence. So if I shoot an intruder in my home I am a murderer as I killed him? Or every person who causes an accident in which someone loses their life is a murderer?

Anyway, time for a movie

• 336.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-315:
    If you somehow think I should somehow defend the Shaik case, you are sadly mistaken.

Sorry.

• 337.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-330: :lol: at fiahfinders, FO you damn prat :lol:

• 338.poppa69: Reply to this comment

golden boy

where were you when poltergeist and the authority where calling all kiwis incestuous and bringing hurricanes daughter into it?

I didn see your outrage then.

did you just ignore them as banter ?

• 339.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-330: As Meatloaf would say – 2 out of 3 3 ain’t bad :)

• 340.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-318:

You are either incapable of reason or you are being deliberately obtuse..frankly I won’t give you credit for the latter therefore the former holds true. In which case I am wasting my time with you po/es.

If you do not know what a generalization is and you feel the constant need to regurgitate the rubbish you spout on here then like you, I shall ‘return serve’ since, like you, I have been insulted by yourself, so, like you, I will feel morally obligated to call you a po/es every time you comment on here since it will be a preemptive strike in response to any future provocation on your part.

So Po/es..see you around..

• 341.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-337: :) What is a fiahfinder? Is it a GPS type device?

• 342.Dilligafrican: Reply to this comment

@nama1-336: That was Wnbb..sorry.

Can’t we all just get along? :)

• 343.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-324:
    @wnbb-326:
    i think he meant #315

• 344.poppa69: Reply to this comment

golden boy
    no dramas. see ya later mamparra.

• 345.spartan: Reply to this comment

Yeah you Bokke are better of staying away from the subject of rugby
    you haven’t got a leg to stand on
    changing the subject and getting personal
    doesn’t alter the fact that your rugby team are struggling

• 346.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-333: transcripts?I asked you for official documentary evidence (reference)I am not interest in vague,circumstantial evidence,so unless you come up with the necessary evidence I am not going to discuss this further with you.

• 347.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-333:
    What you seem to “remember” was just speculation by people in the social media. Nothing about this was ever officially confirmed.

@Dilligafrican-335:
    Beating up a man until he is dead, is murder. The court may find you guilty of manslaughter due to other circumstances but it still does not mean that you did not murder the person.

Roux was originally charged with murder. It was only after they agreed on a plea agreement that the charge was changed to culpable homocide.

An accident is something way different from what we are talking about here. Stupid comparison.

In any case, enough of this.

• 348.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-341: :lol: a typo,

• 349.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@spartan-334:
    @spartan-345:

i watched the hi-lites of the ab-oz game on hurricanes suggestion and i just want to say that the number times the ab’s were offsides from their side of the ruck in the last two minutes of that match when the ozzies were working the ball up with pick and drives was more than fair grounds for a penalty.

joubert chose to overlook it and on this alone i feel oz deserved that game and were robbed of a win.

he even said this a number of times to the ab’s to ‘watch the offsides’ yet did not penalise them on the many instances they did play the advancing ozzie player from offside positions.

all this happening right in the strike zone for a very, very kickable penalty and nothing.

reechee knew this judging by the way in which he ‘rather uncustomarily’ rolled away at one point with a speed and determination i found quite unbelieveable :grin:

• 350.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@nama1-347: Funny how you dont mention the 100S of blck people murdering whites?? Oh wait that is obviously ok in your book/????

white woman of 91 being raped by a black man is ok then?? or the little girls being raped and murdered????

But your worst is to mention 1 incident where it involved a white man doing it????

Nama i told you before ur nothing but a racist, and you said not so, but again your words speak for itself,

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.