Aussie butthead gets two-Test ban

Australian Scott Higginbotham was banned for two Tests for kneeing and headbutting All Blacks captain Richie McCaw.

The All Blacks were understandably upset that no action was taken at that crucial juncture in the game.

‘I saw the headbutt – it’s another cheap shot,’ coach Steve Hansen said. ‘He seems to get them every week but everyone seems to miss them.’

Sanzar judicial officer Jannie Lubbe, who exonerated Wallabies playmaker Quade Cooper after he kneed McCaw in the head during the Tri-Nations decider in Brisbane last year, categorised Higginbotham’s foul play as ‘low level’.

Lubbe was of the opinion that the kneeing was more ‘was more of a bump than a hit’.

The headbutt, meanwhile, ‘was reckless and not executed with much force’.

Lubbe noted McCaw was not injured and was able to play on.

574 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All

• 351.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-346:
    what are you talking about?
    this all came out in the trial.
    its documented and on record.

• 352.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Dilligafrican-342:
    Hey Rodney King, no reason why we can’t all get along.

Having different opinions on certain things should prevent us from doing so. :wink:

• 353.blik: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-330: When will Pieter Steph du Toit be back?

• 354.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-347:
    ok, believe what you will.
    it was all part of the trial and went towards the reason for the particular judgement but carry on, believe what you see fit.

• 355.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-351:
    There was no trial.

The was a plea bargain agreement. The court just ratified the agreement reached by the defence and prosecution.

• 356.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

ok, thats enough for me
    cheers all

• 357.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@nama1-347: good summation,Nama.In cases where the State feels that a murder conviction won’t be possible based on evidence they,under the new dispensation,offer a plea bargain to the accused on a lesser charge.With these plea bargains or even in trials where the accused pleads guilty the wider public will never get to know what actually happened in a particular case.What Bakkies knows about this bees case is mostly based on speculation and rumours,stuff that he probably picked up on media outlets like news24 etc etc .

• 358.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-350: Waar val jy uit?

• 359.JL1: Reply to this comment

assuming that the following stats show the true picture then refs must be blind or sht scared of Reechee Cheat
    History of Yellow cards in Tri Nations

2011 – None awarded
    2010 SAF = 4, AUS = 4, NZL = 1
    2009 SAF = 2, AUS = 4, NZL = 2
    2008 SAF = 1, AUS = 0, NZL = 1
    2007 SAF = 5, AUS = 0, NZL = 1
    2006 SAF = 1, AUS = 2, NZL = 0
    2005 SAF = 1, AUS = 0, NZL = 0
    2004 SAF = 2, AUS = 2, NZL = 1
    2003 SAF = 2, AUS = 1, NZL = 1

• 360.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-355:
    yes you are correct, the trial was set for certain dates and was continually delayed a number of times for reasons on both sides.
    the outcome was a pleas bargain.

but a part of the pre-trial process involved evidence with regard to the cop intentions to highjack (and who knows, maybe kill him) as well other information.

• 361.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@blik-353: The Sharks U/21 team lost to the WP on Saturday. PSDT played in that game. Was the Junior Sharks best player.

• 362.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-355:
    just so we’re on the same page:

According to the statement, Mogale had pulled Roux over for suspected drunk driving in the early hours of the morning.

When Roux admitted to having a few drinks at a nearby restaurant, Mogale did not arrest him, but took a bottle of whiskey out of the rugby player’s car and gave to two of his colleagues in their car.

Mogale then got into the driver’s seat of Roux’s car and aggressively demanded the PIN number of his bank card before driving with him to an unknown destination.

According to Roux, it was clear to him that Mogale was on a criminal frolic of his own. He decided to attack Mogale because he feared for his life.

He said he was “a large person with unusual physical strength” who had found himself in an emergency situation, and said he had “anguished over this incessantly ever since the incident”.

“I realise that I should have stopped any further assault on the deceased when he landed on the road outside the car.

“I was in a state of agitation and turmoil as a result of the incident, the likes of which I’d never experienced before.

‘I pleaded with him to pull through’
    “According to state witnesses, I proceeded to assault the deceased where he was prone on the ground by hitting him with clenched fists … I was screaming and yelling at bystanders to call the police and … at a stage when the deceased had evidently lost consciousness, I proceeded to plead with him to wake up so that he would ‘pull through’.

“I admit I exceeded the boundaries of private defence and although I had no intention to murder the deceased, assaulted him and negligently failed to foresee my actions might cause his death,” Roux said.

He said he had no prior history of violence and that everyone who knew him described him as a “gentle giant”.

According to Roux, Mogale must have stolen his wallet, because it was nowhere to be seen after the incident.

• 363.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-357:
    please refer #362

• 364.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@JL1-359:
    pretty much sums it up.

• 365.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-362:
    Well, we know that one of the bystanders, who picked up the purse, was brought before the court for using his credit cards. So, at least that part of his statement was not true.

• 366.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-365:
    realy? its just as easy to assume the individual accused of stealing and using roux’s cards had pick pocketed it from the dying policeman (turned thief and highjacker) who in turn had taken it from roux, is it not?

• 367.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-366:
    Really?

“Mogale then got into the driver’s seat of Roux’s car and aggressively demanded the PIN number of his bank card before driving with him to an unknown destination.

According to Roux, it was clear to him that Mogale was on a criminal frolic of his own. He decided to attack Mogale because he feared for his life.”

When did he have time to steal the purse and put it in his pocket? While he was getting moered to death?

• 368.JL1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-367: you are pretty thick on this one

His card and details were handed to the other policemen and Mokgale demanded to get the pin, most probably for his colleagues, hence him not having the card on him

• 369.JL1: Reply to this comment

Mogale then got into the driver’s seat of Roux’s car and aggressively demanded the PIN number of his bank card before driving with him to an unknown destination.

you dont demand the pin unless you have the card… fact

• 370.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-9:
    @Hurricane-11:

First up, a headbutt is never justified. Defending the perpetuator is plain stupid.

The abuse dished out on this board toward NZ is unacceptable and ill mannered.

BUT

If the two of you read your own posts.
    You are equally guilty.
    Insulting, bigoted, generalising and in many cases inaccurate.
    And even if it was accurate there is no justification for generalising and being bigoted.

And before you say the other guys were mean first
    a) That’s the justification some of the posters used to justify Higginbottom’s actions. McCaw cheated therefore retaliation is justified? No, Higginbottom was not justified and your insulting generalisations are not justified.

b) I am nothing but polite yet your generalisations smear me (I am South African)

c) Bad manners by some dont justify bad manners by others.

d) You started early on with your own abuse. The guys had hardly even started so you were hardly provoked at that point (not that it would be a defence)

A friendly South African living in CT (support the Sharks) that stops at robots, doesn’t have a gun, goes out at night etc)
    I dont deny we have our problems and they are significant but the insulting manner… Come one boys you are more civilised than that.
    Rugby lovers dont talk to each other like that (and that goes for the Saffers being abusive as well)

• 371.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-367:
    why would he be demanding a pin number to a card he does not have in his possesion?
    mybe he picked it up from the inside of roux’s car or had taken it from him when demanding his licence at an earlier point?

can we both agree there ws far more to the story around johannes mogale and bees roux than the simple little ‘bad white man beats good black man to death’ tale you would like to believe (perhaps as part of a deeper underlying psychology of guilt, blame, anger, uncompensated injustices which is the subconcious state of so many people in the wake of apartheids brutality)?

• 372.nama1: Reply to this comment

@JL1-368:
    Don’t know where you get that info. Bees don’t make mention of that in his statement posted by Bakkies.

“A man arrested in connection with the theft of rugby player Bees Roux’s credit card will remain in custody pending further investigation.

A 29-year-old man arrested in connection with the theft of Blue Bulls player Bees Roux’s credit card will remain in custody at the Leeuwkop Prison pending further investigations, the Pretoria Magistrate’s Court ruled on Monday.

Vusumuzi Ntloko, of Mamelodi, was arrested on Friday afternoon for allegedly using the two credit cards at several outlets and appeared in the Pretoria Magistrate’s Court on Monday on 12 counts of fraud and one of theft.

State advocate Mitric Luphondo argued that the court not release Ntloko on bail as he might tamper with material evidence, particularly at his workplace (Makro), where some electrical appliances where bought with one of Roux’s cards.

Ntloko allegedly picked up the two credit cards at scene where Tshwane metro police officer Ntshumane Johannes Mogale (38) was beaten to death, allegedly by Roux, on August 27.” (M&G)

• 373.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@JL1-368:
    @JL1-369:
    my thinking too but for this nama needs to find and make the conclusions on his own. he can either choose to do so or choose ingnorance and deceive himself abut it all.

• 374.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@JL1-369: NO NO NO NO NO it cannot be, it can only be the bad white man!!! ok??

• 375.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-372:
    allegedly.. or maybe it was planted by the cops in the other car… or maybe it was gotten rid of once they knew thet were in kak and there had been a serious consequence to their actions..?..

will you at least agree there was far more to the story of an ‘poor old innocent black policeman’ who was murdered by a ‘evil racist white rugby man’ than meets the eye..?.

• 376.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit-370:
    nicely said and agreed, for the most.

• 377.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-371:
    What it proves to me is that if you are politically connected or if you have money, you can get away with crime.

Can we agree on that?

• 378.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-375:
    It is “alleged” until proven guilty of course.

“maybe” this happened…”maybe” that happened…..

What’s that?

• 379.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

one alleged criminal died at the hands of his victim, and the other alleged criminal was not convicted of murder most likely due to the fact there was a reasonable argument for self defence.

all in all a sad situation that typifies life in SA. too much crime, too much violence. not enough respect for life and each other.

and of course it all started with drink driving. something that is too easily accepted in SA – the biggest worry for a drink driver is getting caught – not the thought they could actually kill someone for driving while impaired.

• 380.LITELOCK: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit-370: That is the first sensable post on this thread today! Keep it up

• 381.spartan: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-349:
    The real question is
    is it only the ABs who are guilty of this
    I’m dead cert that if you judged your Springboks as harsh as you do NZ
    you would find they are not too different from the AllBlacks

• 382.LITELOCK: Reply to this comment

@spartan-381: bakkies reminds me of my late grandfather.He was obsessed with his percieved cheating by the Boks.No amount of reason could get through to him.He could see no wrong doing by the All Blacks(but then ,he never looked very hard either).Good on bakkies for his blind devotion! Maximum respect!!

• 383.blik: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-376: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mr1-TGaVoks&feature=related

• 384.blik: Reply to this comment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KyI1UQfT6K0&NR=1&feature=endscreen

• 385.spartan: Reply to this comment

@LITELOCK-382:
    Yeah man I know a few bruthas who are just like your grandfather

• 386.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-11: I thought if you retaliated you should also get cited.richie retaliated by throwing higg on to the ground and got away with it again.

• 387.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Sorry Bakkies,but you are full of bull.You expect us to believe that story you are trying to spin on here.You simply accept Bees’s version without thinking that the oke concocted a story to save his arse.Accused people always come up with bullshit stories…fact.The credit card suspect is not connected to the dead copper,so there goes your theory right through the window,but you won’t admit it because it would spoil your nice story of bees as this gentle giant.Let me tell you this Bakkies:your friend bees is a cold blooded killer that got lucky…end of story

• 388.Fuck new zealand: Reply to this comment

• 389.Fuck new zealand: Reply to this comment

Hi everyone Im new here. What are we talking about?

• 390.Fuck new zealand: Reply to this comment

http://mg.co.za/article/2011-09-13-the-cost-of-justice-was-bees-roux-let-off-lightly

• 391.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-276:
    They get too you Gonzo.
    It how some of these clowns react.
    Cant beat an AB team so post things about cheating and racism in NZ ….lol

• 392.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit-370:
    Biscuit.
    Straight away some South Africans on here in the first 5 posts were saying Richie is a cheat. Nothing at all about the headbutt of Knees.
    Thats what i was getting at. Even now only a couple have said that knees and headbutts are a sad way to sort someone out.
    And when thigs start going pear shaped, some of these South Africans go for the family members…i dont know how many times my daughter have been bought into it.
    Yet they talk about incest in NZ and murders/rapes etc like SA is the nicest place in the world… Blind a$$holes.

• 393.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@blik-384:
    Are you kidding??
    Why post that. Do you see how many dirty elbows and lifting and cheap shots in that video?? lol

• 394.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

POst 388,389,390….lol
    Cya, nice lies and way to get kicked…..loser
    First time here …..lol, cowards on here their other alt log ins

• 395.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-391: Things are changing,keeweees aint going to get away with their cheating for much longer.Refs hopefully wising up.Biggest cheat,slowing the opposition support down to the breakdown.What you do as a keeeweeee after the tackle always make sure you stand up on the opposition side and wait a second or two before moving.Act innocent as we know they are men of integrity as we were told on this site.And when they get shoved or moved out the way cry foul and take the moral high ground.If you can do all these things with expertise and fool the refs you qualify as a all black.Oh one other thing,act arrogant at all times and do the haka at the drop of a hat anywhere because apparently the rest of the world loves it and doesnt find it tiresome and then you are a keeeeeweeee.Love us or beware.

• 396.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

All the world’s REAL test referees don’t see any cheating in Richie’s game. So what else matters? So what if cry-baby Yarpie couch-potato amateur refs think Sir Richard cheats?

• 397.snivelling little kiwi pricks: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler-396: yes they will be real test refs once the hangover from pobs reign diminishes.

• 398.Brads: Reply to this comment

Meanwhile, NZ rugby legend Sir Wilson Whineray passed away peacefully at Auckland Hospital today.

He was aged 77.

New Zealand Rugby Union chairman Mike Eagle said it was a sad day for the country.

“We have lost one of New Zealand’s great heroes and for the rugby community we have lost a much-loved patron and champion of rugby.

“Regarded as one of the great All Blacks legends, Sir Wilson also made significant contributions to the community through his work with sport, charities and business.

“We extend our condolences to Lady Elisabeth and to their family as they remember a much-loved husband, a father and a grandfather,” Eagle said.

• 399.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

RIP Sir Wilson.

To the butthead journalist who wrote this headline – cheap shot – next time please have the balls to write something similar when a South African player does-an-Etzebeth/Bakkies.

Cheap, cheap shot.

Having said that, Higginbotham must be punished accordingly when found guilty.

• 400.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@snivelling little kiwi pricks-395:
    Well show me that you Seth Afrekens dont do exactly what McCaw does.
    Dont be silly, we all know that all your players do exactly that.
    give it a rest…instead of crying just get better.

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.