Super Sharks will win Currie Cup
22 Oct 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day newspaper, applauds the talents of Eben Etzebeth and Pat Lambie and writes the Sharks are the best domestic team in South Africa.
Eben Etzebeth made his Western Province Currie Cup debut a fortnight ago and is eligible to play in Saturday’s U21 final. He’s still a pup in terms of provincial experience and age but he’s definitely no pup in terms of performance.
He was colossal against the Lions in Western Province’s dramatic last minute Currie Cup semi-final victory. He commands presence, which explains the remarkable elevation from Varsity Cup player in 2011 to an eight-Test Springbok in 2012. A unique breed of player simply has it. Etzebeth is the newest international member of this club, and if he stays injury free he could become the most dominant of second rowers in the next decade.
He thrives on responsibility, especially when the crunch moments demand the tough to take the lead. We saw it in Super Rugby, most notably in the final 20 minutes when the Stormers repelled a Lions fightback in Johannesburg to win. Etzebeth towered above the rest that night and at the same venue, against the provincial Lions he effected a result of similar significance for Western Province players, who earlier in the year had played in the guise of the Stormers.
Etzebeth is among the 10 nominations for South Africa’s Player of the Year and while my preference is the revitalised and rejuvenated Western Province, Stormers and Springbok wing Bryan Habana, a more appropriate reward for Etzebeth would be the Rookie of the Year.
He plays with the authority of an old head, but the emotional maturity should not disguise his youthfulness. He is also an enforcer who lacks the crassness of a thug. He can impose his physicality without resorting to cheap shots, which is refreshing. There is more Brad Thorn to his persona than Bakkies Botha because he has the calmness a young Botha’s personality did not accommodate. Botha had mongrel but Etzebeth’s aggression is measured. The old dog can certainly teach Etzebeth a trick or two, which is why I’d select both for the end-of- year tour, but the emotional maturity and seemingly contentment of Etzebeth is unique among young international second rowers.
Etzebeth’s influence was massive in the lineout take and subsequent 20m maul that crushed the Lions in the last play of the game. Lions’ supporters would rightly have cursed his presence on Saturday night, but as South Africans they will have many a Saturday in which they’ll celebrate the fact he’s a South African who plays for the Springboks.
Another youngster who plays with the maturity of a veteran is Pat Lambie. National coach Heyneke Meyer has been reluctant on Lambie. Why? Who knows?
Lambie has shown his class as a person through a winter of frustration at national level. Picked as a bench warmer and only viewed as a fullback option he never spoke out against the coach and never threatened of a move to French or English club rugby. He spoke only when given a chance to start at flyhalf for the Sharks and his speaking came by way of performance. He was more commander than cavalier against the Bulls in the Sharks 20-3 semi-final victory.
He looked more Dan Carter than Quade Cooper in controlling the semi-final, which is a compliment of his class.
Lambie, two seasons ago, was brilliant in the Sharks’ Currie Cup final win against Western Province, but his versatility has been to his detriment. He can play 10, 12, 13 and 15 and he wouldn’t be out of place on the wing, but because of this quality he has become a jack of all trades when he has the potential to become the master of one.
Lambie really has been impressive at flyhalf in the most understated, yet effective manner. The hope is Meyer can review his earlier opinion that Lambie is a 15 and not a 10, and not fear misguided accusations that a change of opinion is because of a state of confusion.
Lambie, on the pending Bok tour, must get some game time at 10. Expect a big game from him in Durban on Saturday against Western Province. He’ll deliver because whenever he has been given an opportunity (not a 10-minute cameo role) the return has been a quality performance.
The Sharks were imposing and brutal against the Bulls and coach John Plumtree’s match 22 selection showed an understanding that play-off matches are determined more by the quality of the seven substitutes than the perceived pedigree of the starting XV.
The Sharks have been South Africa’s most consistent performer in Super Rugby and Currie Cup, with or without their current Springboks. They play the best rugby and they are South Africa’s best team. They will win the title on Saturday.

458 Comments
22 Oct 2012, 09:17 am
Boom dynamite.
22 Oct 2012, 09:18 am
Just happy to be the underdog and given no chance… Keep it coming Keolings!!
22 Oct 2012, 09:20 am
What I really did not understand was the Believe bulls had that they could actually beat the sharks before this weekends game.. the nerve to think a depleted Lions side they struggled against was any yardstick of a good performance from the bulls.
Same goes for the lions, Resting 11 players and thinking that back to back losses means nothing going into a sem.. wtf
22 Oct 2012, 09:21 am
The Sharks have been the most consistent team in the CC this year, that is true, but not in the SR Comp. That goes to their opponents, WP.
22 Oct 2012, 09:21 am
i said the sharks would win by 15 if it stayed dry
they won by 17 and it was wet
another walk in the park
sharks by 20+ if it stays dry
22 Oct 2012, 09:29 am
Sharks are overwhelming favourites to win the Currie Cup final!
BOOM
22 Oct 2012, 09:36 am
Keo has a super boner for these two boys. Good players yes but stop comparing them to legends.
22 Oct 2012, 09:40 am
Nooooo!! Not the KEO curse!!! For all we know half the team is injured now!!
22 Oct 2012, 09:48 am
I see Keo says nothin of his beloved Kings this morning??
22 Oct 2012, 09:49 am
Posting going superslow I see… must be those bulls and Lions posters that suddenly dissapeared??
22 Oct 2012, 09:51 am
Where is Katman when you need him? we will probably only see him here in 2014 now that wp decided his team must not play SR or not even CC finals!!
22 Oct 2012, 09:54 am
There is absolutely no way WP will beat the Sharks on Saturday… No chance at all – wont even be close – WP “B” too inexperienced and also they always lose in the tank!!!
Now WP will probably win it
22 Oct 2012, 09:56 am
@Transformation-6:
Lol.
Its all a bit much I must say.
22 Oct 2012, 09:57 am
if Brachie plays – Sharks by 18 ….. if he doesn’t , Sharks by 8
if JDV, Shalk Burger, bekker, Liebenberg make a miraculous recovery and play … WP by 10+
22 Oct 2012, 10:00 am
Oh dear! Keo might have given province a life line…
I support WP and always have. We have not won the CCup for more than a decade.
I don’t think we have much of a chance against the Sharks (who would most likely beat HM’s Bok side). Come Saturday – I will be shouting PROOOOOOVINCE with all my heart. Look what Europe achieved to beat the USA in the Ryder Cup – Province can win, it’s a long shot but you never know in sport.
@suffer_guy-12: Luckily a match is not won on what people say on blogs or in the press
22 Oct 2012, 10:03 am
no one gave Aus a change vs NZ … and looked what happened. Let just hope more than the Average 5 000 supporters pitch up for the final. Maybe the game should be played in Cpt or PE …
22 Oct 2012, 10:07 am
@Provvas-9: Yep and Gareth Duncan’s prediction was “Cheetahs by 10″ !!! LoL
@brains_trust-16: I feel the same way. I have always been a Province supporter but to be realistic the Sharks are favourites by at least 60 / 40. What I actually like is that we are being written off………. we may just spring a surprise (wishful thinking ?)
22 Oct 2012, 10:08 am
@sharks_lover-17: Hi SL, thanks for showing some respect (but the smiling face says it all I guess)
22 Oct 2012, 10:11 am
The last time brachie caught a ball, nataniel was still dating chicks ….
22 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
It sounds very much like straw-clutching (probably is) but why can’t Province pull of an all-time shock on Saturday?
They’ve been given no chance, so I can only hope AC encourages the pups to just express themselves without fear of defeat and go FTW.
They’ve been tagged ‘chokers’ deservedly in recent times, but Saturday night’s win is not characteristic of a typical c-worder. They finally dug deep when it mattered the most.
Every Stormers/WP playoff defeat since their resurgence in mid-2009 has been defined by the team failing to get to the match until after halftime, coupled with senior players (Bekker, Schalk and JDV most prominently) doing a Bermuda Triangle mystery on us. They won’t be there to go missing, again.
Pleeeeeaaaaaaaaaase, boys!
Ikeys to win the Currie Cup!
BOOM! (or whatever these overconfident Sharks fans usually say).
22 Oct 2012, 10:25 am
@BishopsOD-22:
Black and White dynamite. Boom boom – LOL
22 Oct 2012, 10:26 am
I agree that the Sharks are favourites.but finals rugby are normally tight and there is a slight chance my boys can win.but our backs look like the Uct backline.and if you are able to sub Deysel with Alberts during a game ,its going to be a long afternoon.
22 Oct 2012, 10:27 am
@Transformation-6: Our boys are going simply for the experience.
When the combined age of your starting front row is 60……..and your ‘player of the season’ has yet to turn 21, you know things might be a little tough
I would have preferred the kids in our senior team to play in the U/21 final to be honest – Kitshoff, Scarra, Malherbe, Eben, de Allende, van der Sluys etc released to play against a full strength Bulls U/21 team……THAT game would be something worth watching – the future of Bok rugby right there
The U/19 final will be just as good……also WP vs Bulls.
That said – what went wrong with the Guppies MUCH adored and praised junior teams?
22 Oct 2012, 10:29 am
The Sharks deserve it given they’ve been the dominant SA team this year. A Currie Cup trophy in the cupboard would at least give them something to show for this dominance.
22 Oct 2012, 10:31 am
The Sharks don’t need junior teams, they’ve got F.S.
22 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
It will be fun to watch the Sharks show yet again how ridiculous Pedigree’s nick is. What a plonker.
22 Oct 2012, 10:36 am
@Dummy Runner-24: Aplon, De Jongh, Schreuder and Joe P provide some Stellenbosch flavour as well
22 Oct 2012, 10:37 am
A little premature methinks. Keow approval could be the kiss of death for the Sharkies. I just hope he’s not talking them up because he’s financially involved there like the EP Klingons. Now that would be the screw of death.
22 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@tacitus-26:
Dominant? Didn’t they finish 3rd in the SA conference in SR? The best, yes, dominant hardly…. If the Lions had played their best team and won against the Bulls, they would’ve finished on top of the CC log…
22 Oct 2012, 10:42 am
Congrats to Sharkies and Wp.
My team the Bulls will hopefully now realise they need to re-invent themselves.
Stop to try and make clones for the great players of past. We failed to change and this has caught up with us. ( WP actually managed to add to their defence game)The Bulls managed to get even more predictable and boring.
With all the talent we have at 0/20 and 0/19′s , we are going to waist it all by trying to play this boring rugga.
We as supporters take a lot of flack , I feel the team and coaches have waisted the oppertunity to re-invent, they chose to stay boring , they made the same choises in S15 , the result thereoff was plain for all to see , worst is, we saw same result again.
Word wakker asb.
22 Oct 2012, 10:42 am
@kaksioek-28: You can win another 20 titles…… It will add to your future, but will do fuckall for your rather mediocre past
Fact is, if the traditional powers had not felt charitable enough to pull you chaps out of the gutters of the 1st Division and make something of you……well……you can imagine.
It’s a Pygmalion type story actually.
22 Oct 2012, 10:45 am
Charles M,off course.and a welcome mix of young varsity talent,but i fear its a case of inexperience against a well oiled machine.if only we had 15 Ezkebeths..
22 Oct 2012, 10:46 am
@capebull-32: Thanks Capebull!! I have expressed my concerns re Jan Serfontein as well as the SA SChools’ centre Rohan Janse v Rensburg (I think): botk are big inside centres and I hope they are not used to bash it up every time. While they are able to run “over” players at age level, this will not be the case in senior rugby. In that sense the coaching staff should wake up
22 Oct 2012, 10:48 am
@Dummy Runner-34: Yes, I think our only chance is the fact that nobody is giving us a chance !! Too much experience in the Sharks’ side, but never say “never” (We can only hope)
22 Oct 2012, 10:52 am
Charles M,i still have hope.our lineouts and driving mall are superior.but our scrums a bit of worry.but anything may happen.i might get more gees as the game aproaches.PROVINCE!
22 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
thought the sharks were pretty average on the weekend myself.
scrum was dodgy with no visible reasoning for them being awarded every scrum penalty. Lineouts were laughable and became basically another bulls put in.
defence from the maul was very good though but a good 50% of them were debatable pulling down.
Certainly did not see any of this much vaunted “modern rugby” everyone speaks of.
better out of hand kicking and a plethora of penalties which allowed them some momentum and the bulls none won this game.
province have a definate shot in the final so long as they don’t buy into the sharks hype.
22 Oct 2012, 10:56 am
Dan Retief wrote a great article in the Sunday Times.its about an unique South african way of playing and not outdated or copied styles.there must be a fresh blueprint incorporated from a young age.
22 Oct 2012, 10:57 am
@CharlesM-36: Hi Charles, you well??
Mate no problem but it is a simple fact, there actually no favourites come saturday, both team are playing on the same field, same conditions etc. bonce of the ball, oportunities taken, intercepts, missed tackles, etc etc etc and who wants it most is what will count.
There is the arguement that WP wants it most as a motivator because they have not won a troughy sonce moses hit town , and the counter arguement that the Sharks will have learnt from taking the Lions to lightly last year etc etc etc.
Again it all means nothing, on the day is what counts, but the banter inbetween is cool
22 Oct 2012, 11:00 am
@Dummy Runner-37: I still don’t like De Kock Steenkamp at 5. Fortunately it seems that Proudfoot gave clear instructions to keep it simple in the lineouts. I know they won’t do it but I’ll consider Sinclair at 7 and Armand to move from 7 to 4 with Eben to 5. The problem is that we may lose some weight in the scrums with Armand at 4 – like you said our scrums are not too good at the moment.
Sinclair poached a vital lineout ball in the front on our 22m line. He did the same against the Cheetahs: it seems that he can contest well in front. It is something Etzebeth needs to work on. At school he was a 5 lock and he only started playing lock in grade 11: that was about 4 or 5 years ago!!
22 Oct 2012, 11:01 am
Sharks lover.true,anything may happen.my biggest problem are my mates.they are all sharkies and they stay in my province nogal.its going to be epic.
22 Oct 2012, 11:02 am
@capebull-32:
a few changes will make a huge difference but so long as the bulls get no effort from the locks can’t see much changing, where was the Flip from Dunedin. Was he even playing? Juandre and flip are both decent players but seriously need to take a look in the mirror.
I lke our backrow options for next year.
I’ve a sneaky suspicion that we may well see
6.Dewald Potgietr
7.Spies
8.Arno botha as a combo
add to that the impact of J.Potgieter,Steggmnan and possibly some of our u21′s and we should be fine.
Basically, we have the players but they need to start performing everyweek. I also really like the fact that not many should get selected for the end of year tour and even fewer will play. I’d really like to see mastriet and bloometjies get more game next season, select those okes and we don’t need to change the way we play because they are the sort that just play different regardless.
22 Oct 2012, 11:03 am
@Tacitus-26: Stormers were the dominant team last year, but I suspect you didn’t think they deserved anything…
22 Oct 2012, 11:03 am
@sharks_lover-40: Hi SL, Yes it is, but some guys are (once again) talking a lot of *****: missing Katman and co. If he surfaces he will no doubt start by telling how lucky the Province guys were etc.
I hope the weather is improving – any news about that ?
22 Oct 2012, 11:05 am
Charles m,agree that Steenkamp does not give me confidence.we could use Sinclairs experience and grunt.we could really have done with Flo as well.but im happy Vermeulen is there to ‘sheriff’ proceedings.
22 Oct 2012, 11:07 am
Okay gents I’m out – keep the tempers down meanwhile: it’s still only Monday!!
22 Oct 2012, 11:09 am
For weather predictions:look at the weather in Cape Town Tuesday.on thursday it will reach P.E. By Saturday,Durban. Curse you global warming!
22 Oct 2012, 11:10 am
Can someone please explain why there isn’t more choice on the win margin poll on this site…
1-7 and 8 plus are not encompassing of all possible options…
How about 8-15, 15-20 and 20 plus…
A richer picture will emerge surely…
22 Oct 2012, 11:10 am
@mxhosa-31:
As math is not your strong point let me explain further. If the lions got 5 log points against the bulls they would still have trailed the Sharks by 3 points
22 Oct 2012, 11:13 am
Heavens game,the richer picture surely is that the majority voted for the Sharks win.safe bet (as betting goes)
22 Oct 2012, 11:14 am
Pedigree realy hates the Sharks. I enjoy reading the tentrums you throw. None are based on any rubgy facts. Sounds more like a bitter ex then anything else.
22 Oct 2012, 11:19 am
@skunk-52: I tolerate them. Their fans on the other hand
But it’s typical behaviour of those who could call the nouveau riche of SA rugby.
Laters Guppies. Long week ahead.
22 Oct 2012, 11:21 am
Whats the biggest win margin in a Currie Cup final? I think we may see it being tested this weekend, the gulf in class is huge.
22 Oct 2012, 11:23 am
@Gaz-54:
wasn’t it the bulls against the sharks 2003
40-9
something like that
22 Oct 2012, 11:26 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-53:
You seem a descent blogger most of the time, unless it comes to the Sharks.
Leave the hate, it consumes you, and i think you are better than that.
22 Oct 2012, 11:28 am
The WP laaities are going to klap the Shark toppies on Saturday.
WP by 10…at least.
GO PPRRRRROOOOOOOOOVVVVIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNCCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
22 Oct 2012, 11:29 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-55: Ouch. That awkward moment when someone gets smart and is then smacked down into his seat.
But for real, it’s gonna be a long week for Province fans on this site.
With good reason, of course. The Sharks and Bulls fans are gonna feed on our anxiety, with the semi defeat in CT this year coupled with that Final mauling in Dirtbin quite fresh in our hearts and minds.
Come Ikeys/Maties!
22 Oct 2012, 11:31 am
@Mr Black-56: Those who I antagonise, are those deserving of it
Sometimes you have to read between the lines, and seek the relevance AND decide just WHO you think the words are intended for…..
I am because fellows like HG are. Use what’s meant for you, ignore what isn’t.
22 Oct 2012, 11:33 am
@Mr Black-56:
Hate is goooooooood.
No decent WP supporter hates the Sharks…maybe the Blue Bulls, yes but not the Sharkies.
Feelings towards some of their supporters on the other hand….
@Brigadier Van Zyl-55:
Did you enjoy the semi?
Bulls let the supporters down this year imo.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-55:
wiki spits out 39 – 9 in 1980 Bulls v WP…
And for the record i am a province supporter, however, i am also a realist!
We aren’t going to win anything, with Groom, Catrikilis and Brache as a 9 – 10 – 12 combo.
22 Oct 2012, 11:34 am
@BishopsOD-58:
and lets not forget the u19 and u21′s
the u21′s are still a littlebt schoolboy but the u21′s is relevent as most of these okies will play cc soon. So basically both the bulls and wp have some decent blokes coming through.
22 Oct 2012, 11:37 am
@Mr Black-62:
not sure what to make of it, don’t think either side were particularly good at anything.
Lawrence definately stuffed the bulls and stopped them from getting any momentum. After that it was one way traffic. Would probably have been a good game to watch with another ref.
Wonder if Lawrence wonders why he is not on the internatonal panel anymore….and YES, I know he retired but only after being omitted.
22 Oct 2012, 11:38 am
@nama1-57:
And good luck to province. I’m glad we play you in the final, hate playing those pesky Lions.
22 Oct 2012, 11:41 am
@Gaz-63:
…and why not?
Groom to be the difference and show up Reinach as yet another great pretender from Sharkland.
22 Oct 2012, 11:43 am
Good on you Nama. None of this writing your own team off.
22 Oct 2012, 11:43 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-55:
How about last year – the Lions beat the Sharks by 26 – 42-16.
The biggest margin ever was 1980, when Northern Transvaal beat Western Province 39-9.
22 Oct 2012, 11:44 am
oh thanks for jinxing it, Keo.
22 Oct 2012, 11:46 am
@Mr Black-66:
Thanks. Good luck to your team too.
May the best team (WP) win on Saturday.
22 Oct 2012, 11:48 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-65:
Conditions wasn’t good, and i agree about Lawrence. He should have played advantage when Lambie was tripped and produced a yellow for the knee in the face.
But as you know the refs get it wrong sometimes so i will forgive him.
22 Oct 2012, 11:49 am
@nama1-61: I have yet to meet a WP supporter who hates the Sharks. The Sharks team lost their inferiority complex years ago…….Time for the some of the fans to do the same.
22 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
@skunk-68:
Of course not.
WP is IN to WIN it.
That’s why we play the game.
With Keo jinxing your team, our chances have increased by 20% to win the CC for the 1st time since 2001.
@WP-Forever-69:
Yes, Morne Dup withdrawing on the morning of the final in 1980, was the reason that the team was in disaaray on that day.
22 Oct 2012, 11:55 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-73:
Exactly.
Seems some of them are hating on WP.(read HG) Some Capetownian probably banged a girlfriend of his back in the day.
@nama1-74:
IN it to WIN it.
22 Oct 2012, 11:59 am
WP
22 Oct 2012, 12:00 pm
@nama1-75: HG (rather unsuccessfully actually), attempts to mask one of the hugest inferiority complex’s in history.
I feel more than one chick of his was banged proper by a Capetonian. A complex the size of his, is not born out of just one episode
22 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@nama1-74:
Saturday will be “Boys Against Men”.
Let’s hope our WP youngsters are hungry enough on the day.
But the future looks bright for Province.
22 Oct 2012, 12:04 pm
@WP-Forever-78:
defo.
next year will be our year.
22 Oct 2012, 12:05 pm
@nama1-74: Yes… margin of win is meaningless.. what has a lot of meaning though is the 1982 – 1986 era when Province won a unsurpassed currie cup 5 times in a row! Now that was the stuff of legends!!
I know bulls fans like to point out that since the buls entered the Currie cup they won it the most times, but I always say the same… since Wp have been in the Currie Cup… they have won it 32 times.. the most for any team
22 Oct 2012, 12:07 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-77:
22 Oct 2012, 12:10 pm
The Sharks match-day 22 will likely have double the number of Springboks that the WP match-day 22 will have.
Sharks are massive favourites to win this.
If they lose, it will be a choke.
22 Oct 2012, 12:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-77: Considering his constant “brokeback” talk, are you sure it was one of his “chicks”?
22 Oct 2012, 12:16 pm
@WP-Forever-78: @Provvas-80:
This young team has the quality to emulate the team of 1982-1986.
The reason why that team was so succesful was because they had a very good tight five in Henning, Robert/Shaun, Hempies, Hennie, Div/Markgraaf…and of course exiting back line players.
Just like this team, except that we need extra TH.
I, for one, am also very exited about our prospects for the next few years.
22 Oct 2012, 12:18 pm
I just can’t see The Sharks losing the final. They have too much composure and they can vary their play according to what course the game is taking. K Daniel has been inspirational as a Captain, leading from the front and really gets his team fired up (but sadly, he’s a great provincial player but can’t make the step up to International level with the same level of success). I have always been a Lambie supporter at 15, but he’s the best 10 in SA at the moment by a country mile (including Goosen who of course is injured). A player of true class is one who always has time on his hands – Lambie is always un-flustered. And then the rest of the team have many players in form at the moment, especially in key positions, 15, 10, 8 and front row – in fact this whole team is in form.
WP are simply not up with The Sharks right now. Having said that, its a final and anything can happen. But it will be a major upset if The Sharks don’t win, comfortably!
22 Oct 2012, 12:19 pm
@WP-Forever-82: Not a choke. It will be THE choke to end ALL chokes that have dome before.
Love the way the guppies are trying desperately hard not to claim the outright and fuckingclear favourites tag.
I say Guppies by 30, anything less and their superstars will look stupid.
22 Oct 2012, 12:21 pm
@Maljan-85: The Sharks will win because they have about 10000000000000000000 more test caps and 1st class caps than what the WP kids have.
Nothing to do with inspirational captains.
22 Oct 2012, 12:22 pm
@nama1-84:
A lot of our exciting backline players are exiting, though – Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Gio Aplon… :-p
@Mr Black-72:
Lambie is no Luis Suarez but he is getting there
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-86:
It is almost unthinkable to think the Sharks won’t win by at least 10 points.
22 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
@WP-Forever-90: Jannie dup has played in more tests than the combined age of our front row…….
That in it’s own is a telling blow (ala Blades…..)
22 Oct 2012, 12:24 pm
@WP-Forever-90:
Or as they say in one of my most favourite Rob Reiner films:
“Inconceivable!”
22 Oct 2012, 12:25 pm
@Robzim-89: Lambie might not be a Suarez diver yet, but K-Dawg Daniel is certainly a Wayne Rooney in terms of trying to influence officials.
22 Oct 2012, 12:26 pm
@WP-Forever-90:
Don’t forget to add the 4 points advantage they will have because they are playing at home- ( as per Ross Tucker’s formula).
22 Oct 2012, 12:27 pm
Steyn and Mellet cited
22 Oct 2012, 12:29 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-86: becaue you say so?? trying to avert the facts on how KAK your kings performed?? FO Douche
22 Oct 2012, 12:30 pm
OK Change to the news. Both Mellet and MOrne have been cited
@WP-Forever-82:
According to HG, you have to look at the last Bok team that played and then determine the number of Bok players in your team. That will give WP 5 “run on Boks”(Habana, JdV, Bekker, Vermeulen, Etzebeth,) while the Sharks had “only” 3. (Jannie, Beast and Alberts).
Conveniently ignoring the fact that there are probably another 6-8 Shark Bok players in the match 22 for Saturday or that two of the WP “run on Bok players” (JdV and Bekker) are not available.
Talk about clutching at straws to make a (moot) point.
eish beot you beat me to the punch
22 Oct 2012, 12:32 pm
@nama1-98: Hey now he is as bad as you
22 Oct 2012, 12:33 pm
Sharks looking formidable for both CC final and next S15 season.
But they still require greater depth at prop and flyhalf.
It is a loooooooong super rugby season.
Beast, Doc Jannie and Lambie need to be managed!
22 Oct 2012, 12:34 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-86:
An hour ago you said 25 now its 30.
the legend is growing
@Robzim-89:
It was a great dive, if he wanted he could have run Mellet’s leg into splinters, but he is to nice a bloke.
22 Oct 2012, 12:36 pm
@Mr Black-102: I saw your (Sharks) injury report, and the fact that there weren’t any. That’s worth 5 points.
22 Oct 2012, 12:36 pm
This my sound very Un-Bulls-like and I hate to say it, but maybe its time WP win the CC and bury this choker tag they have. They are our best bet in the Super 15 next year and with a strengthened squad they need to bring the believe back that we can win anything. This will have a positive influence on the Boks.
I believe the Bulls will be right up there in 2014 IF things change. Those of you who will watch the U21 final will see a very good and talented team playing positive rugby. I say 2014, because I will take a mediocre season next year if we see some positive changes. If we make the playoffs with Spies, Steyn and Olivier playing a boring kick and chase gameplan then we would have gone backwards.
22 Oct 2012, 12:43 pm
The two best teams in the country go head to head. Sharks have been most consistent and have home ground advantage so they are rightly favourites but WP are in it for sure.
22 Oct 2012, 12:44 pm
@Horings-104:
Why are they the best bet for SR next year?
Please explain.
22 Oct 2012, 12:48 pm
@Horings-104:
So, WHEN we beat the Sharkies by 10 on Saturday, do they inherit the Choker tag? It will be their third straight loss in a final.
22 Oct 2012, 12:48 pm
@Horings-104: It is simple for the bulls really:
1. Get a coach that is respected by the players. The bulls mentality has always been ons luister nie vi Windgat laaities nie…
2. Do not change the gameplan so much as changing the attitude towards it.. the bulls scored brilliant tries with this gameplan in previous years, but they earned the right to play a great game by forward dominance fisrt and foremost! They looked like boys vs men on sat.
3. Play Hougaard as 9 and give him free reign.. I hate the bulls but he is one player that can rip teams apart if he is left to do what he does best… sniping runs around the rucks as he is hard to bring down.
22 Oct 2012, 12:50 pm
87.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food –
Sorry, your theory doesn’t necessarily work – There was probably a greater imbalance of test caps last year and we witnessed the Lion’s thrashing of The Sharks. Motivation on and off the field works in Finals. Who wants it the most! The fact that they have both reached the final means that both teams can play. I think that form and motivation are going to win on Sat – as stated previously. Plum won’t allow the team to go into this final in a complacent mood either!
22 Oct 2012, 12:52 pm
@Mr Black-106: Just look at the u19, u 21 finals…. Both have Wp in them…. Look at the WP players and you will realise that most are eligable for u 21 duty!!
So going forward they will only get better, and besides.. you reckon the Cheetahs, bulls or Kings are better prospects?
22 Oct 2012, 12:57 pm
@Horings-104: I really wish our (WP’s) U/21′s were all playing in that final on Saturday……
Kitshoff, Eben, Scarra, Malherbe, de Allende etc.
Bulls and WP U/21′s at full strength – there’s a Bok team right there.
22 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
@Maljan-109:
A very sensible post.
Not that, “WP has the most run on Boks” tripe that some other fellow is preaching.
22 Oct 2012, 12:58 pm
@Provvas-110:
What about the Sharks?
They reached the final this year in SR and have loads of young players.
And our U/21′s was better than yours for 79.55 mins
22 Oct 2012, 12:59 pm
@Maljan-109: But the Sharks were playing away last year. Home ground advantage, all those caps and they ARE in form. C’mon mate – the Sharks are HUGE favourites, and really should put this WP team to bed before half time already.
22 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
@Mr Black-113:
faders!
22 Oct 2012, 13:00 pm
@Mr Black-113: I think the post said the two best teams will be Sharks and Wp…. Not particulary in that order…
22 Oct 2012, 13:02 pm
@Provvas-110:
@Mr Black-113:
The following sample Stormers team will certainly be in with a good chance next year:
15 Jaco Taute
14 Gerhard van den Heever
13 Juan de Jongh
12 Jean de Villiers (C)
11 Bryan Habana
10Elton Jantjes
9 Nic Groom
8 Duane Vermeulen
7 Siya Kolisi
6 Schalk Burger
5 Raynard Elstadt
4 Eben Etzebeth
3 Pat Cilliers
2 Liebenberg
1 Steven Kitshoff
Subs:
16 Frans Malherbe
17 Deon Fourie
18 and 19 … two of Andries Bekker, Nic Koster, Carr, Rhodes, Ruan Botha or Don Armand
20 Louis Schreuder or Duvenhage
21 Gio Aplon,
22 Joe Pietersen
22 Oct 2012, 13:05 pm
@David-115:
@Provvas-116:
I like that order
22 Oct 2012, 13:05 pm
1122. nama1 – Thanks.
108.Provvas – on the issue of Hougaard. His style of play is more suied to Sharks or Cheetahs. The fact that he has been under the wing of Fourie dP (who is no longer there to guide him) is a problem. He has a natrual instinct for broken play and the Bulls and Boks (under HM) for that matter are way too structured. He needs serious technical assistance on his box kicking – look how many times he has been charged down this year. He kicks facing forward and as as scrum half, the box kick is VERY technical, almost a backward over the shoulder kick while stepping back not facing forward. He really needs help and unfortunately, like M Steyn, his confidence is shattered!
114. The Sharks………dog food – was saying this all along!
22 Oct 2012, 13:06 pm
@Mr Black-118: The baby guppies choked at home – simple
22 Oct 2012, 13:09 pm
@Robzim-117:
Yes they will.
But are you saying that the Sharks can not put up a team as good as yours?
Because Horing thinks so it seems.
And we have a better coach
22 Oct 2012, 13:11 pm
Well done sharks you deserved your win on saturday over the bulls.I have backed the bulls game plan all the way,but now it is deffinately time for a change in our rugby tactics,and hopefully a change of coach for our CC and vodacom cup teams as pine pienaar is totally out of his depth at this level,and i hope he fecks of back to the free state where he came from and stuffs them up,the way he has stuffed us up.
22 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-111: Especially when Arno Botha and Francois Venter is also eligible to play. Scary to think that our best U21 player by far is actually U19. Serfontein can actually play for the U19s and Francois Venter for the U21s
Before anyone comments on Venter, please remember he plays alongside the player you probably hate most, now that Spies is injured.
22 Oct 2012, 13:13 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-120:
So you say the Sharks U21′s was the favorites? In other words a better team. How else do you choke if you are not the best?
Thanks!
And I agree they choked
22 Oct 2012, 13:15 pm
@Mr Black-121:
Toetie Coetzee is very underestimated as a coach.
His decision on Saturday to send Louis Schreuder on as a FLYHALF was a masterstroke and showed some good “out of the box” thinking.
Unless Fleckie told him to do so
Sharks and the Stormers should carry our flag next year for sure.
22 Oct 2012, 13:16 pm
@blueboy-122: I am not blaming Pienaar. Ludeke and Meyer (for taking most of the support staff) is to blame.
Pienaar should take a step back, but remain within the structures. Someone like Johan Ackerman is the sort of guy that needs to be nurturing our young pack. Niemand gaan hom k a k hap nie. And he is a Loftus hero.
22 Oct 2012, 13:21 pm
HOT BREAKING NEWS(on 7am national news on all national channels)
US. cycling body is at this moment officially stripping Lance ‘the prance’ Armstrong of all his medals and championships and banning him fir LIFE.
How more emphatic can that be?
Million dollar law suits, in untold numbers, are to follow.
22 Oct 2012, 13:22 pm
@Robzim-125:
I agree Rob.
As you know injuries can change a good season into an ordinary one, so who knows what can happen next year. But fact is that the Sharks and Stormers/Wp are the best teams in the country at present.
22 Oct 2012, 13:23 pm
@Mr Black-124: They were the favourites mate. Our boys had to give up too many players to the senior team in the week and throughout the season actually. Van der Sluys – our U/21 captain, de Allende etc.
A fullhouse WP U/21 team would have demolished your babies. Eben, Kitshoff, Scarra, Malherbe…….
@Horings-123: I like Venter. No-one is judged whilst playing next to Morne.
Wish it was a strength vs strength final – it would be a good indication of both teams.
22 Oct 2012, 13:25 pm
@blueboy-122: He is not a bad coach mate. The most important thing the Bulls need to change is ‘mindset’. That can only be done by making strong statements in terms of WHO starts for you guys in the S15 next year.
You have great youngsters, let then do their thing without being indocrinated or limited to playing the standard bluprint.
22 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
@Robzim-125:
I just hope that they won’t start with him on Saturday. It is a marvel to watch Groom clean the rucks as quickly as he does.
22 Oct 2012, 13:27 pm
@ET.-127:
This can turn ugly for Lance.
Are his lawyers still denying everything?
22 Oct 2012, 13:30 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-129:
Demolished!
Ofcourse they would have
22 Oct 2012, 13:31 pm
Now that I AM here let me say that a headline like this ” Lambie must play , Morne must rest” exists today in the year 2012 simply emphasises how disgracefully ‘verkrampt’ S.A. rugby still is and not far at all from the levels of thedays of denying the likes of Hopwood, Bedford, Wynand Claasens and more while promoting the likes of Avril and Abe Malan(brothers of Magnus) and the hideous Kobus Louw etc., etc.
22 Oct 2012, 13:33 pm
@nama1-131:
Ja, I hope so too, Nic was outstanding- also made a massive contribution on defence. I am really looking forward to see him and Elton Jantjes starting as a halfback combination next season.
22 Oct 2012, 13:34 pm
@ET.-134:
I think you’re getting your eras mixed up there.
22 Oct 2012, 13:35 pm
Lambie is the Carter/Oxlee natural ball player type who mostly does the correct thing on attack or defense and controls the game. Certainly not a bench warmer/impact player coming on late and tearing the opposition apart. In 2013 use him and Goosen together, initially Lambie @ 60/65% and Goosen as impact fly half to further confuse defences later in the game. By year end 2013 Goosen should be the real deal taking over as main fly half and Lambie staying on as reserve fly half (too much rugby has lots of player injuries) and becoming the main full back. Jantjies get less game time 2013 plus some in year end tour and by end 2013 is a good world class 3rd option going on in 2014 to being another real deal. All three go to the 2015 world cup as ‘real deals’ being underpinned by a good winning team, the pack/loosies will by that time start to equal the world beating pack of Smit/Matfield etc. This is team sport, not politics where you are either in or out. All world class players stay in the mix – full stop.
Bmck
22 Oct 2012, 13:37 pm
Appointment of Peyper for the CC Final isn’t coincidental
Neither that of Craig Joubert for the Kings-Cheetahs re match
22 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
@Robzim-125:
AC combo with Jonker/Joubert/Legota Et al is owesome
22 Oct 2012, 13:40 pm
@Hondo-138: If you think Peyper blowing the final is miraculously going to ‘heal’ some of our WP front line players (which is the only way in hell we would have any shot at all…) you are mistaken.
Sharks by 1000000000000 million points.
22 Oct 2012, 13:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-129: Unfortunately I think his game has gone backwards. I have seen (from junior rugby as well) our 12s being used as first receivers running into the flyhalf channel. This may work in junior rugby where Venter and Serfontein is probably more physical than most loosies, but running into the likes of Alberts the entire game will be very bad for their careers.
22 Oct 2012, 13:42 pm
@Hondo-138: Is it Peyper really?
well as long as it is not wanker, Joubert or Kaplan..
22 Oct 2012, 13:43 pm
@Robzim-135:
Yes, his defence was great as well.
@Hondo-138:
Any inside info on how Peyper will influence the outcome of the game on Saturday?
Please tell me that WP have him on their book.
22 Oct 2012, 13:48 pm
@Hondo-139: What was your predictions for the semis?
22 Oct 2012, 13:49 pm
This headline featuring Lambie’s name shows how backward rugby is in terms of thinking and how a national ‘gem’ has lost 2 years already of his rugby playing life.
The question you ask is, why?
Well two years ago, Oct. 2010, to this very rugby situation/time /rugby period, Lambie and his Sharks destroyed the Bulls at KP in the semis(remember the bees incident or that killer of that time ‘Bees’ Roux). A week later Lambie masterminded a -dancing- past- a- ‘verkrampte’- Burger performance to engineer a win for the Sharks and the CC championship.
Since those performances the young Lambie should have been permanently installed as the national fly-half and the national scene would have been a lot healthier.
But that has not happenned and 2 years later the now older Lambie has to repeat such playmaker roles to convince the prevailing ‘verkrampte’ coach even though he(coach and others) have done their best to force his game to deteriorate for 2 full years.
“Go on lad, get one for yourself”(another try) and expose the nakedness of the idea/s your national coach represents.
22 Oct 2012, 13:52 pm
@Mr Black-132:
Lance and his dwindling support is still denying everything but when can you do when even some of your past wives do not stand with you?
22 Oct 2012, 13:55 pm
@ET.-145: Excellent…
Welcome back… Fark me now there’s gonna be farken chaos, snot en trane…
You rate Lambie the ‘General’ like you did way back when he first emerged…
Maybe you are actually the real Cape Kenner these Cape Kenner sheep wish they
were after they finally get rid of the myopic Traditional Power tunnel vision once and for all…
22 Oct 2012, 13:57 pm
Congrats to Cheetas to now for another 50 against the King Watsons
22 Oct 2012, 13:59 pm
My EOYT squad:
15 Jaco Taute
14 JP Pietersen
13 Juan De Jongh
12 Jean de Villiers
11 Bryan Habana
10 Elton Jantjes
9 Ruan Pienaar
8 Duane Vermeulen
7 Marcell Coetzee
6 Francois Louw
5 Juandre Kruger (Time to step up)
4 Eben Etzebeth
3 Jannie Du Plessis
2 Adriaan Strauss
1 Tendai Mtawarira
16 Chilliboy Ralepelle
17 Patrick Cilliers
18 Flip Van Der Merwe
19 Willem Alberts
20 Francois Hougaard
21 Patrick Lambie (could start)
22 Gio Aplon
23 Bandise Maku
24 Steven Kitshoff / JC Janse Van Rensburg
25 Jean Deysel
26 Keegan Daniel
27 Jano Vermaak
28 Morne Steyn
29 Paul Jordaan
30 Lwazi Mvovo
22 Oct 2012, 14:01 pm
@Heavens Game-147: I have always rated Lambie as a 10, but not a fullback.. So completely agree that he is the biggest threat this coming weekend to Wp.
But as a fullback he is useless.. he is too slow and cannot join a backline effectively, which is why I dont understand that Meyer keep saying he is a FB.
Lastly, it must be mentioned in 2010 in the CC final he played agasint Willem de Waall.. oh gone are those days…
22 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
Taute has twice now made huge mistake by bad kicking.
My team for end year tour SA players only
15 ludick
14 Jp
13 JdJ
12 Frans
11 Habana
10 Lambie
9 Hougie
8 Arno
7 Alberts
6 Keegan
4 Eben
5 Bresler – He plays more like a 4
3 Jannie
2 Straus Cpt
1 Beast
22 Oct 2012, 14:02 pm
@Rhys7-149: 5 Wp backs?
22 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
15. Gio Aplon
14. JPP
13. Frans Steyn
12. JDV
11. Habana
10. Lambie
9 Hougaard
8 Vermeulen
7. Alberts
6. Flo
5 Bekker
4 eben
3 Jannie
2 Strauss
1. Beast
22 Oct 2012, 14:04 pm
@David-136:
Stop trying to make apologetic, sideshow excuses with your inanities. You can deflect as much as you like about “eras” while I reflect on mentality and ideas and here the difference is a mere degree or so.
Consider the larger picture of existing, on-going BACKWARDNESS(Norwich included – just for you) in the national game and the question of those who still in 2012 own and control it.
I am not here for the debate, no matter how stupid the level you choose to make it.
The Armstrong news is IMPORTANT and even and especially for drug-influenced S.A. rugby in ‘hollows’ like the OFS and other such areas of on-going backwardness where it is just all about making much money as easily as possible.
22 Oct 2012, 14:05 pm
I wonder why there is no comment from KEO today regarding the EP Kings hammering at the hands of a depleted Cheetahs side?
22 Oct 2012, 14:08 pm
@ikotikhulu-155: Nothing… Zip.. nadda!!
22 Oct 2012, 14:10 pm
@ET.-154:
Apologetic? Where on earth did you unearth that little fantasy of an interpretation from?
22 Oct 2012, 14:15 pm
@ET.-154: I hate this whole thing about Armstrong… why did they not test him positvie during his stint as a seven time champ? Or is it drugs that only now became banned? what is the story here.. as far as I am concerned if he was tested negative.. just give it up already!!
22 Oct 2012, 14:19 pm
@Provvas-153: Please no Hougaard. He must first get a coach to show him how to box kick. And dont come with the “Meyer should let him play his natural game”. Every single international scrumhalf in the world knows how to box kick.
22 Oct 2012, 14:19 pm
@Heavens Game-147:
Hey ‘makker’, I am surprised you do not give these ‘yobos’, lying louts more rotten egg in the face. They are without any self-respect at all and obviously worthless(I will be in their area again by Nov. 16 to ‘klap’ them silly for 6 weeks)
See how your ‘brokeback friends’ are trying to steal the high road away from you? How more scum-like can they really be with their hypocritical mentality?
Sorry i cannot join in the fun as I am too busy, but maybe my clan members can help you in launching the shame that they are about to face this week and about to climax(unlike the fakes of pedigreed dog-s hit) on Saturday with an expected super show performance by General Patrick Lambie, that Scottish military man..
22 Oct 2012, 14:20 pm
@Horings-159: Especially if we play Scotland in rainy conditions. Who played at 9 last time we were at Murrayfield?
22 Oct 2012, 14:26 pm
@David-157:
Deflection on an on-going, unhealthy ‘verkrampte’ mentality in S.A. is definitely apologetic. Their is a “Grand Canyon” in the way I see S.A. politics and the way you view it(all self-explanatory considering your background) but you are not my enemy you are merely my nuisance some time).
Worry rather about your falling, failing Norwich and I will do the same about my climbing Leeds despite that lout ‘klapping’ Kirkland. Did you see the game?
I am out guys, please.
22 Oct 2012, 14:31 pm
Oh hell, they gonna give their marriage a 2nd chance for the sake of their little boy. How beautiful.
How long will it last this time, I wonder?
22 Oct 2012, 14:31 pm
@Provvas-158:
It’s always and mostly because of money(and here the unique messiness of a relatively Cinderalla sport) and just to an aptly named Dr. Ferrari(1 of untold numbers), the Lance camp forked out more than a million$
22 Oct 2012, 14:38 pm
@ET.-160: Hehehe…
22 Oct 2012, 14:39 pm
@Rhys7-149: Have to disagree on ,
Taute, Vermeulen after 5 tests has done nothing, JC destroyed WP scrum Saturday , they just did not get penalties, Kitshoff not ready yet
22 Oct 2012, 14:39 pm
Cup to spend Christmas in Durban
——————————————————————————–
by Gavin Rich 22/10/2012, 10:49
My newspaper preview on the morning of the 2010 Currie Cup final ended with a prediction that the trophy would spend Christmas in Durban. This year, it isn’t necessary to leave such predictions until match day. Like me, the Currie Cup is set to spend December gathering rust in the KZN humidity.
Maybe there is just the slightest hesitation now that Western Province, and not the Lions, are playing in the decider. The Lions, as they showed last year, can win a home final, but I wasn’t sure they would be competitive against the Sharks in Durban. To be honest, I am not sure WP will be competitive either, but I just think they may have more chance to be, given the experience they have in their team.
And then there is the strong drive that WP must have to break their trophy drought. The Currie Cup isn’t what it used to be, and it is farcical to end with a full-strength play-off round when 90 percent of the league phase was played under-strength, but it is important to a Cape rugby fan-base that has started to develop an inferiority complex (they try to keep it hidden by bravado, but don’t be fooled!).
Last year the reaction to WP’s defeat in the semifinal was disproportionate to the event. It was a World Cup year, after all, and WP provided more World Cup players than most. But the outcry reflected the desperation of WP fans, and that desperation is going to be there until such time they can at last boast a meaningful trophy locked away in the Newlands cabinet.
So there will be a lot of drive from WP’s side, and if anyone is going to beat the Sharks on their home ground in a final, it is them. But it’s highly unlikely to happen, and to be truthful, I don’t want it to happen either. I have two reasons for that – one of them being the converse of what made me want the Stormers to win the Super Rugby semifinal between the same teams.
Firstly, the Sharks hadn’t even finished in the top four of Super Rugby, while the Stormers had topped the log. Having the top team knocked out by a middle-of-the-table finisher made a mockery of the 16-match league season. But now the roles are reversed, and it is the Sharks who are not only the form team of the Currie Cup, they are also the best team. They showed that by convincingly topping the final log, while WP could only finish third. Province also lost as many games as they won during the league phase of competition, which to me is not the making of a champion team.
The second reason why I would like to see the Sharks cap off their season with a deserved trophy comes down to coaching and player management. John Plumtree has clearly learned from mistakes in past years and the way he has phased his Springboks back in has been spot on.
WP coach Allister Coetzee last week spoke about how much he rated Marcel Brache and Scarra Ntubeni and trusted them to do the business for him in a semifinal. But they were only playing because of injuries, and he did not display the same confidence when he rushed Jean de Villiers into playing ahead of Brache even when it was clear that the national captain was struggling with a hamstring injury.
There have been whispers that Coetzee might be hoping that De Villiers has made a miraculous overnight recovery that will enable him to line up on Saturday, but hopefully those are just baseless rumours. It would make no sense, given the risk it would entail and the WP line, repeated often until suddenly it was forgotten a few weeks ago, that the Currie Cup is about building for Super Rugby.
WP can gain more from having Brache get the experience of playing in a final than they would from having De Villiers – who has played in umpteen tests and big games – in the team.
And that’s where Plumtree has got it completely right. When he said he was backing the youngsters he had brought through in the Currie Cup, there was nothing hollow or contortionist about what he was saying. He has selected almost every one of his newcomers into the starting team for the semifinal win over the Bulls, and if you consider the money the Sharks risked losing if they didn’t host this final, that’s quite a lot of faith.
That didn’t mean the Sharks’ Boks were ignored completely. Those, like Patrick Lambie, who did not play that much in the Rugby Championship, went straight back into the starting line-up. But Jean Deysel’s strong contribution for the Sharks in the Currie Cup was rewarded by him wearing the No 7 ahead of Willem Alberts, and ditto Dale Chadwick ahead of Beast.
Instead of just talking about Currie Cup being a stepping stone for Super Rugby, Plumtree has backed up his words with his selections, and on that basis he deserves to end this domestic season with his third Currie Cup title.
22 Oct 2012, 14:40 pm
@Provvas-153: Bekker still injured or on his way to next injury
22 Oct 2012, 14:44 pm
@ET.-160:
ET
22 Oct 2012, 14:57 pm
@ET.-160:
Oh dear.
Somebody should get Virgin Active to put out a nationwide alert.
22 Oct 2012, 15:11 pm
@ET.-160: HG is the only white you like. He must give good head, because I doubt it’s his struggle credentials that float your boat
22 Oct 2012, 15:11 pm
@WP-Forever-170: brown Sharks attack imminent
22 Oct 2012, 15:16 pm
it doesn’t matter if you are black or white, as long as you are dynamite….
22 Oct 2012, 15:17 pm
@sharks_lover-167:
OK, we’ll send the WP team with the Cup, for a holiday down to Durbs over Christmas.
Laat jou siel net kan rus.
22 Oct 2012, 15:20 pm
How the Bulls have fallen!
50% odds not bad though.
22 Oct 2012, 15:20 pm
@nama1-174: Hahaha Nama, the closest you guys have come to seeing the cup is on the front pages of your local newspapers….
22 Oct 2012, 15:21 pm
I cant wait for Ashwin analysis: Very time you hear Shaaks you must take a penelty drink.
Go Province!
Nag ou Groote
WP 15 Shaaks 12
22 Oct 2012, 15:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-171:
They had a bad break up a couple of years ago. They obviously are trying again for the sake of their little one, Lambie.
Don’t be too harsh on them.
22 Oct 2012, 15:22 pm
@Zandberg Jansen-177:
I really like you. So knowledgeable.
22 Oct 2012, 15:24 pm
@KingTJ-176:
Yeah, that’s true.
But…in 5 days time that will be a thing of the past.
22 Oct 2012, 15:27 pm
@Zandberg Jansen-177:
There we go.
Don’t give the Saarks so much credit. We’ll beat them by more than 3 points.
22 Oct 2012, 15:28 pm
@Zandberg Jansen-177: Saaaarks
22 Oct 2012, 15:29 pm
Extratesticular!
22 Oct 2012, 15:32 pm
@nama1-180: Ha-Ha!! Did you get yourself some tickets for the game at the tank? I’ll ask one of my mates if you can have your photo taken with it, then you don’t have to go home empty handed.
22 Oct 2012, 15:35 pm
@nama1-181:
I hope so. We better have 100% kick rate on the day.
@Transformation-182:
22 Oct 2012, 15:36 pm
@nama1-178: I thought Puma and Sharks_Lover spawned the Lambie? I can’t cope (and I certainly can’t keep up)with all these underlying battles, relationships and sharkshag molest fests.
@Transformation-182: Ashwin won’t be on SS for a while after the Goldfields revelations. Doubt he will ever return.
22 Oct 2012, 15:37 pm
@KingTJ-176:
22 Oct 2012, 15:40 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-186:
Yup, he doesn’t need the money.
22 Oct 2012, 15:40 pm
off topic, but aint it funny that AB’s are complaining about stealing players, when they have been pillaging the south sea islands for years.
22 Oct 2012, 15:42 pm
NO! NO! KEO why did you have to do this?! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! Wish I had never come on!
22 Oct 2012, 15:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-186: eish, i don’t even want to get involved in the “spawning” theories as i seem to induce meltdowns…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-186: Will you be coming to the Tank on Saturday?
The ode to an internet tosser, by some American biker from a forum there.
I guess in our case, there are a few candidates deserving of these words…..more than a few……
Hey you with the alligator mouth and canary ******* Yes you
with an ego the size of the Louisiana Purchase and a Planck length *****, you’ve
posted a bunch of stoopid ****.
You’ve more dicks in your mouth than the urinals at the Greyhound
bus terminal you old marmot felching, fellator of diseased yaks.
We haven’t had anyone this appallingly misanthropic, and just plain
spiteful, since ……..(fill in name) We do appreciate
your attempting to crawl out of the primordial slime, and better
yourself, by posting in here. Unfortunately, you were blown out in the
entrance exam, by a frozen turnip, a broken toaster, and a stretched
Panhead primary chain. Your habit of picking scabs, is, well, stupid.
You are weary, stale, flat and unprofitable. You are grimy, squalid,
nasty and profane. You’re a fool, an ignoramus. ******* look down on
you, and laugh. You are a waste of flesh. You have no rhythm. You are
ridiculous and obnoxious. You are a living emptiness, a meaningless
void. You are sour and senile. You are a disease, you puerile
one-handed, slack-jawed, drooling meat slapper.
Everything you have ever posted, or said, has been done before. And it
was better, the last time. You are a half-witted peter puffer, and you
clearly show yourself to be the most socially-inept, boorish,
flame-inviting idiot that ever has ever posted on Keo.
You repeatedly initiate incoherent, flaky, boring, and mindless threads,
and you egregiously assume moral, intellectual, and physical
superiority. It must suck to be you, but then, you already know this.
You have greatly misunderstood the purpose of Keo.co.za.
You have greatly misunderstood the purpose of the internet. You are
a loser. You must have spent your entire life in a skinner box to be this ******* clueless.
You clearly show yourself to be the most neanderthal, snotty,
first-against-the-wall-when-the-revolution-comes, raving, hemorrhoidal
misogynistic, slope-browed, eye-rollingly-sub-human, crappy,
threat-to-the-gene-pool, backwards, in-bred, sack-of-pus,
walking-advertisement-for-a-state-sponsored-sterility-program,
boot-licking, unfit-for-human-consumption, irritating, disgusting,
onerous, worse-speller-than-I, glassy-eyed, flame-inviting, creepy,
spiritually-devoid, whiny, needing-of-professional-supervision,
humorless, vile, sexually-undesirable, hell’s-pawn,(not Heavens game)
lacking-in-any-sort-of-grace-or-erudition, “Me-Too”-posting, addled,
un-repentantly-and-wickedly-perverse, trash-talking, toejam-sniffing,
****-for-a-mouth, toad-like, trying-on-one’s-patience, filthy,
sheet-and-pointy-hat-wearing, evil, reprehensible, mucus-dripping,
just-turn-them-insideout-for-a-few-more-days-smelly-underthings-wearing,
no-neuron, sunken-chested, piss-poor, foul-mouthed, scum-sucking,
rent-boy, sickeningly-ugly, clue-repulsing, “Make-Money-Fast”-spamming,
bringing-a-pen-knife-of-an-intellect-to-a-nukefest-of-a-battle-of-wits,
incapable-of-coming-to-terms-with-your-own-wretched-existence,
white-trash, boorish, rat-like, living-proof-of-why-cousins-shouldn’t-marry, can’t-be-allowed-sharp-objects, socially-inept, classless, inexcusable, plaid-pants-wearing, flatulence-enhanced, offensive, hate-filled, god-damnedest, insulting, unredeemable, make-me-wish-I-had-a-big-hammer-to-beat-some-sense-into-you, fearlessly-posting-disgusting-insults-with-a-stupid-handle, idiot that ever has ever obtained internet access.
And we wish you would go away. Realistically, I don’t think you have the intellectual wherewithal to make such a decision, i.e., a correct one. So you will stay here, spooging your petty hatreds and minor thoughts, into the ether, annoying any and all, until someday, someone, is gonna grab ya by the ears, and pull ya on like a sock.
22 Oct 2012, 15:45 pm
@Sharksgirl-190: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
22 Oct 2012, 15:46 pm
@Sharksgirl-192: Very good chance. I can get tickets from the WPRFU. But knowing you lot, we’ve been given seats at a nearby school with a flatscreen tv…..
22 Oct 2012, 15:47 pm
@KingTJ-184: stood in a very long que this morning to purchase tickets! I got at the tank at 8:30 and only managed to leave at 11:00 and there was pretty little left other than those ****** seats with the swallows
I fortunately managed to get last 4 behind posts and not too high sjoe. Now if those bleep bleep season ticket holders decide to turn up Kings park should be packed, for a change
22 Oct 2012, 15:47 pm
@Transformation-191: Begone satan.
22 Oct 2012, 15:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-195:
quite possible
or maybe you will become aquainted with our bird life
Mine are pretty high up too, but if those pesky season ticket holders do not turn up I plan to move down
22 Oct 2012, 15:50 pm
@David-188: I must be honest, I am disappointed in Ashwin. Huge sums of money to many undeserving people, while the most deserving have to ‘wait’. Made me feel sick actually.
22 Oct 2012, 15:50 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-193:
That is what fuckadilly wants to be when he grows up.
22 Oct 2012, 15:51 pm
@Sharksgirl-198: Yes, the season ticket holders…….Always the fuckerswho decide not to pitch. It’s the same everywhere. Really hope it’s a full house though, I’m sure it will be though. Someone said earlier the weather outlook was pretty good? Sun forecast?
22 Oct 2012, 15:52 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-199:
Him and Gayton go way back.
22 Oct 2012, 15:54 pm
@Sharksgirl-196: I think t is going to be a humdinger of a match, luckily I got season tickets,(which have been in the family for eons). Hopefully the rain stays away, because then we can really show that the “Traditionalist Powerhouse” WE PEE(thx HG) only blows hot air and nothing else
22 Oct 2012, 15:54 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-199: Totally agree! was really upset yesterday watching CarteBlanche! Starting to understand the Strikes! My mother was a chemist at Gold fields and had to go down a mine once a month to collect samples etc. She used to come back bleak at the terrible living and working conditions of the miners, and the wealth of the managers. That though was during apartheid, seems like very little has changed
22 Oct 2012, 15:55 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-201: beautifull day in Durban today, sun shining and a blue blue sky! PMB not too bad either hope it holds out till at least Sunday
22 Oct 2012, 15:56 pm
@Sharksgirl-204: Glad you got your tickets soughted.
22 Oct 2012, 15:57 pm
@KingTJ-203: The atmosphere at the Tank this morning was already very festive! Should be a good match! I remember in 2010, a whole lot of WP supporters dancing outside the Cage it was really festive! Can’t wait for Saturday!
22 Oct 2012, 16:00 pm
@Sharksgirl-207: Yep, the tank always festive on match day and I am sure our We Pee supporters will have a memorable day (even if they don’t get anything to take home excepts some great memories)
22 Oct 2012, 16:00 pm
@gunther-202: geez: kenny, gayton and now asswin
was asswin a silent partner @ ZAR? mmhhh
22 Oct 2012, 16:01 pm
@sharks_lover-206: The only frustrating thing was getting to the tank! Thought I would miss Kings Mead as there was a match there so thought oops traffic, and totally forgot the construction on Umgeni Road
There was a points man that was seriously irritating! Letting all t he traffic from Umgeni road go through and let us wait while the traffic was backing up onto the highway! Once at the Tank it was really festive, and other than having yet again spent my salary at the Shark Cage I enjoyed the day. The seats are not the best, but I will set PVR to record and enjoy the atmosphere. Plus I am taking my best friend with me I may have a new recruit
22 Oct 2012, 16:03 pm
@gunther-202: Of course they do…..I was in fact horrified that Gayton wasn’t investigated after he made the statement last year already, that he was the ONLY man in SA who could sort out Mineral rights and the sort.
ANY statement like that should have seen someone digging? (Granted these 2 journos have been on this for quite a while now – but I’m talking ‘the judiciary’)
Nah, I felt physically ill reading those names, all undeservingfuckwits.
@Sharksgirl-204: It’s bloody tragic. I’m honestly beyond disgusted with this. So there is a chance of good weather
22 Oct 2012, 16:03 pm
@KingTJ-208: That is always important, as good hosts we will make sure they at least will have a good time
22 Oct 2012, 16:08 pm
@sharks_lover-206:
“Sorted”, shack-dweller.
Not “soughted”
22 Oct 2012, 16:12 pm
@WP-Forever-170:
The FACTS, get them right. You of all ‘rugby boertjies’ should know how important that is to the Extra-Terrestrial, especially in this period of the Orionid fiery displays in the heavens – now F-off.
SAA from JFK translates to 13 hr. flight to JHB .
@gunther-183:
First thing you actually get right on this site as that was Lance’s cancer as you intimate.
Now are you both very happy you were acknowledged as I confuse you to my amusement ?
Made at least this day for you imbeciles who have been, or are about to be, obliterated once again?
Your ‘verkramptheid’ is a shameful thing.
22 Oct 2012, 16:12 pm
@Sharksgirl-210:
good, well atleast you’re soughted, which side you sitting?
I tried calling you just before the match last weekend but ur phone was off i think, i know that the stadium the blobk our signal.
As for that lady, shouldnt be to difficult to convert her
22 Oct 2012, 16:14 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-186: Well then I hope they replace him with dikbekke Botha and Matfield. Im sure they will have plenty to say about the refffing.
22 Oct 2012, 16:15 pm
@Transformation-209:
DJ SAAAAAAK!
The supersport presenter curse strike again!
22 Oct 2012, 16:16 pm
@Dawn-213: his spelling is putrod, i suspect he was “home schooled”
@Sharksgirl-212: YOu think the Tank will be full for the final???
@ET.-214: 13 Hours? With your struggle credentials and communist tendencies, I’m sure 13 hours is the time you spend trying to slither your way through customs and other sorts of border control checkpoints alone. (Dodging airport security whilst singing struggle songs and swearing at Capitalist pigs…)
Explaining the stones in your fannypack must be a bi @tch.
22 Oct 2012, 16:17 pm
@ET.-214:
how are you buddy?
22 Oct 2012, 16:19 pm
@Transformation-218:
Speshul skool!
22 Oct 2012, 16:20 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-220:
khakibollocks smuggles his contraband the old fashioned way.
22 Oct 2012, 16:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-33: When the gutter scum becomes superior to its rescuer, then you must know how kak the rescuer has become. But of course, with the IQ in the entire Western Cape adding up to about 1, it is understandable that you would make such a claim and think it insults the Sharks. Dom troepie….
22 Oct 2012, 16:22 pm
@gunther-223:
Makes sense. He probably enjoys the G-spot examination.
22 Oct 2012, 16:24 pm
@Dusky-224: Howthefuckareyou Dusky?
@Dusky-224:
And here’s Duskeeeee, going back 200 posts.
He will now proceed to respond to post 34.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-225: And I guess it would be normal for a Capetonian to believe that there is an anal G-spot. Eben is still trying to find Deons.
@Transformation-218: putrid…
22 Oct 2012, 16:25 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-226: Are good thanks. You ? I am actually excellent. My team is about to win the Currie Cup. Again.
22 Oct 2012, 16:25 pm
@Dawn-222: you lack dissapline Angie!!!!
22 Oct 2012, 16:26 pm
@Dawn-227: As I said – dont get moist
22 Oct 2012, 16:26 pm
See Jaco Pyper has been given the nod to ref the final (or should I say he has been ‘rolled out’ by WP?).
That’s a 14 point starting advantage to WP.
22 Oct 2012, 16:27 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-225:
He’s devastated that cellphones have become so small.
22 Oct 2012, 16:27 pm
@Dusky-232: Oh hell she sees a lighty 1/3 her age on the rugby field and her toungue hangs out, Imagine the poor little boys in her area.
22 Oct 2012, 16:28 pm
@OCO-233: hiyas OCo l;ong time no see mate, wtf you been??
As for the Ref we should be ok man, he not that bad,
22 Oct 2012, 16:28 pm
@Dusky-230: Congrats on that fella. They should take it by 20. Not sure why our kids are even bothering to make the trip.
22 Oct 2012, 16:29 pm
@OCO-233: Still won’t be enough for them…
22 Oct 2012, 16:29 pm
@gunther-234: Ohdeargodno. The image is horrific.
@sharks_lover-236: Proud of you. Calling a ref ‘not that bad’.
22 Oct 2012, 16:31 pm
@Skeppie-238: Skeppie, WP are hot favourites mate. I mean according to most of them we have rubbish players,
22 Oct 2012, 16:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-239: Proud of me too
but he still aint the ref i would have preferred.
22 Oct 2012, 16:32 pm
Here is Rugby365 team of the week. 9 Sharkies in that team…..
__________________________________________________________________________________________
Team of the Week – play-offs:
15 – Louis Ludik (Sharks):
His calm demeanour played a crucial role in the testing conditions. Stood up to some serious niggle as well.
Bubbling under: Andries Coetzee (Golden Lions)
14 – JP Pietersen (Sharks):
Pure class and a cut above the rest. A must for the Boks now that he is fit again.
Bubbling under: Ruan Combrinck (Golden Lions)
13 – Paul Jordaan (Sharks):
He is showing the maturity that will make him a fixture in the Sharks midfield for years to come.
Bubbling under: Juan de Jongh (Western Province)
12 – Tim Whitehead (Sharks):
He has come along in leaps an bounds this year, living up to the promise he showed as a junior.
Bubbling under: Andries Strauss (Free State Cheetahs)
11 – Bryan Habana (Western Province):
He has certainly regained his best form. There’s a few other senior Springboks that could a leaf out of his book.
Bubbling under: Raymond Rhule (Free State Cheetahs)
10 – Pat Lambie (Sharks):
Clearly the best, fit, No.10 in South Africa.
Bubbling under: Demetri Catrakilis (Western Province)
9 – Cobus Reinach (Sharks):
One of the finds of the season and a candidate for Young Player of the Year.
Bubbling under: Sarel Pretorius (Free State Cheetahs)
8 – Keegan Daniel (Sharks):
His Currie Cup form has been from the top shelve. Can he translate that into Test-match form? Will he even be selected?
Bubbling under: Warren Whiteley (Golden Lions)
7 – Jaco Kriel (Golden Lions):
The Lions may no longer have Super Rugby status, but they still have SUPER stars like Kriel.
Bubbling under: Jean Deysel (Sharks)
6 – Dewald Potgieter (Blue Bulls):
The one player in light blue that retained a clam demeanour when all around him imploded. He often seemed to fight a lone battle against the Sharks pack.
Bubbling under: Deon Fourie (Western Province)
5 – Anton Bresler (Sharks):
He has matured this season and is developing into a lock the could give the Sharks a very sound foundation in the set pieces.
Bubbling under: De Kock Steenkamp (Western Province)
4 – Eben Etzebeth (Western Province):
Still a bit wild and reckless at times, but certainly South Africa’s new enforcer.
Bubbling under: Michael Rhodes (Golden Lions)
3 – Jannie du Plessis (Sharks):
Despite claims of illegal scrumming, he has been the form tighthead prop in South Africa this season.
Bubbling under: Frans Malherbe (Western Province)
2 – Adriaan Strauss (Free State Cheetahs):
It may have been the lowly Kings, but he was not holding back.
Bubbling under: Callie Visagie (Golden Lions)
1 – Marcel van der Merwe (Free State Cheetahs):
He has developed into a very powerful ball carrier and if he works some more on his scrumming will be a truly world class prop soon.
Bubbling under: JC Janse van Rensburg (Golden Lions)
22 Oct 2012, 16:33 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-239: You should stop making excuses and come watch the final… missy
You might just find you like it there
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-140:
I surly hope so
But
If you saw what Jonker managed last 8 minutes of the WP-Lions game on Saturday, it may curb the enthusiasm a bit
Sharks are way ahead of WP in rugby terms, we know that
Peyper is a swindler with class, unlike Joubert and Jonker
@sharks_lover-235:
Tongue, not toungue
Back to your shack
22 Oct 2012, 16:34 pm
@Puma-242: Oh hell Puma, now you will see them diss the Sharks players, i mean hardly a mention for a WP player, and Rugby365 is a cape owned site.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-239:
Is Granpa making a move on you?
@OCO-233: Final should have gone to Rasta. Best ref in the CC this season.
22 Oct 2012, 16:35 pm
@OCO-233:
Starting early with the excuses, I see.
@Dawn-245: back to your lamp on the street corner!
@sharks_lover-243: I have been to your tank many times. Always been a pleasant outing.
22 Oct 2012, 16:37 pm
@sharks_lover-246:
See they have Jordaan and Timmy as well. Have another article I have copied from McLook. He lives in New Zealand. A Province/Stormer supporter though. He says Lambie should be our number 10 and gives reasons why. Will put it up here now.
22 Oct 2012, 16:38 pm
@Dawn-247: I don’t think he dislikes me as much as he did, because I have praised a few guppies and said a few nice things about Kings Park.
Transformation is the new ME
22 Oct 2012, 16:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-251: , well glad you enjoyed it
22 Oct 2012, 16:39 pm
@Puma-252: Pleaserugbygods NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. No more Lambie talk – please?
Keep your post for tommorrow. A new day, a new couple of million reasons as to why Lambie rocks.
22 Oct 2012, 16:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-253: NO you just have happened to be less insulting and less snide remarks, so treat me with respect and i do the same Pedi , it is pretty simple
22 Oct 2012, 16:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-255:
I knew that was coming.
@OCO-233:
Oh rubbish man
@Puma-252: Yeah put it up Puma, good to see a Stormer supporters point of view view
22 Oct 2012, 16:42 pm
@sharks_lover-250:
Back to school
Off you go
@puma-242:
Isn’t it funny that the two midget centres showed up their bigger, stronger opponents? Hope Meyer was watching…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-253:
Why does he call you Pedi?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-255: Well admit patty is the answer at 10 and then we can move to a new topic…..like why the cup will have a new home in Durban.
22 Oct 2012, 16:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-255: No need to put this one up. McLook’s knowledge of rugby is superb. A Province Supporter though. Lives in New Zealand. He gives the very reason so many of us feel. Read it and then you will understand why we are all hoping for Pat to get that 10 jersey for the Boks.
Here it is. Shark_Lover what you think bud?
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Where Jantjies was unable to pilot the game Lambie on the other hand was outstanding in his ability to navigate the Sharks to a win under high pressure circumstances. Lambie’s line kicks and place kicks were excellent but it is his ability to read the game that makes him such and valuable player at No10. While Lambie stood out in the match Morné Steyn was hardly noticeable during the entire match.
Lambie’s talents are wasted on No15.
He is the playmaker SA needs in the pivotal flyhalf berth. I like the way Lambie tackles low on the ankles in the flyhalf channel and he is a far better defender in that position than back at No15.
Lambie and Goossen should in my books be the flyhalfs for the end of year tour (that is if Goossen recovers in time. If not I’ll even consider Peter Grant). Here specifically is what I like about Lambie as a flyhalf:
1.He is unpredictable and constantly varies what he is doing;
2.He reads the game and have an intuitive feeling for where to be, what to do and where to position himself (deep or flat) behind his pack;
3.He defends well in the inside channel;
4.His tactical kicking is great and he uses the kick as an attacking weapon and not as an option because he doesn’t know what to do with the ball;
5.He is fast of the mark –probably the fastest of all the SA flyhalfs- and plays direct rugby;
6.He attack space and know how to put his outside backs into space; Frans Steyn is going to be a real factor on 12 if he plays next to Lambie;
7.His line kicks are excellent and he maintains a high percentage success rate as a place kicker and more importantly he can kick under pressure;
8.He has a compact built with a low center of gravity with fast feet and an intuitive feeling for space and time which not only makes him the ideal flyhalf but also less prone for injury; Goossen needs to be nursed and Lambie is a type of player who can take the brunt while Goossen matures;
9.He distributes well with both hands and;
10.He has good hands in the sense that he catch difficult passes (high, low and behinds his back) and can make instant decisions on what to do with the ball if he receives a bad pass under pressure.
Lambie in short is a player around which countries like Wales, England, Australia and New Zealand will construct backlines and game plans.
22 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
@Dawn-262: They met at “Mandy’s Pedicure Emporium”?
22 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
Puma to Lambie:
“I am your father”
22 Oct 2012, 16:45 pm
@Dawn-262: Because her nic is way, way tooooooooooooooo long. Can’t reply by typing that long nic out every time. Pedi it is from now….
22 Oct 2012, 16:45 pm
@Dawn-262: Pedi-gree?
Unless I am a Pedi warrior, or a pedicure?
22 Oct 2012, 16:46 pm
@Puma-267:
You dont have to
Just click the arrow
Or “Pedigree” like everyone else
@Dawn-266: Have you got father on your brain young lady?
Dawn to everyone here:
I am your mother
@Dawn-262: ET calls me dogshit……
22 Oct 2012, 16:47 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-268:
Wouldn’t put it past Granpappy to put you in some tribe.
22 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@Puma-270:
Ever seen “Star Wars”?
@Puma-264: Yup McLook always was a good blogger,
And Rugby knowledge is very good. And yes he makes the points some of us have been saying for a while now.
But hey like i told you, at times i wish no Sharks players were involved with the Boks and HM
@Dawn-269: We do….
@Dawn-272:
As you very well know, I have my own tribe
22 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@Dawn-273: No Dawnie. Why? I never watch those movies. Don’t interest me.
22 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
@Puma-277: Puma she was gonna tell you about her part as the lady of leasure she played…
22 Oct 2012, 16:51 pm
@sharks_lover-274: Yes his knowledge of the game is excellent. Really enjoyed the articles he used to write on RT. Especially after the world cup and the history articles. Some of those were excellent. He is a Stormer/Province supporter that has been living in New Zealand for a long time now.
22 Oct 2012, 16:51 pm
@sharks_lover-278:
Leisure not leasure
22 Oct 2012, 16:53 pm
@sharks_lover-278:
Have YOU seen Star Wars
22 Oct 2012, 17:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-271: HAHAHAHAHHAHA trust extraballas to be unique
22 Oct 2012, 17:03 pm
@sharks_lover-274: Did you read point 6 from that article of McLooks? Just as we have been saying and many others. Fransie will be a real factor playing with Lambie at flyhalf at Sharks next year.
22 Oct 2012, 17:04 pm
Lambie has always been a much talked abt player, until all hype around the goose began. Honestly, i’ve always preferred bambie ahead of both goosen and elton, he’s playing well now, against not very strong opposition, but he has been in much finer form, and against tuff teams.
22 Oct 2012, 17:04 pm
@Puma-279: yup I remember his articles Puma
22 Oct 2012, 17:06 pm
@Puma-283:
yeah read it and eish Boet what do we know?? we just sillt Sharks supporters, Unless ur from the Cape?? you know farkall
22 Oct 2012, 17:06 pm
@Puma-279: this is the thrid time you’re mentioning this “He is a Stormer/Province supporter that has been living in New Zealand”
we heard mate
22 Oct 2012, 17:09 pm
Question:
Is Eben Etzebeth the only Springbok to be capped before playing CC rugby?
22 Oct 2012, 17:10 pm
@sharks_lover-286:
22 Oct 2012, 17:11 pm
@willievz-288: Howzit Willie,
Jeez seems strange that he has played Super Rugby and Bok rugby before playing Currie Cup. Must be a first.
22 Oct 2012, 17:12 pm
@willievz-288: nope
22 Oct 2012, 17:13 pm
@Puma-289: And it seems now you need permission as to what you can post or how many times you may post it,:roll:
22 Oct 2012, 17:13 pm
@willievz-288: Schalk Burger.
22 Oct 2012, 17:14 pm
Still, I dont think Pat will shine so brightly outside ruan, neither will goose or elton, and it must be soul destroying for young hougies what heynecken and the bulls are doing to his game. We need complete new personnel for that 9 spot.
22 Oct 2012, 17:20 pm
@sharks_lover-292: I know. I just ignore the ones I don’t want to speak with. Easy…
@BokkeYouBeauties-294: Hougie has been truely messed about by Meyer. So was Lambie and a degree Jantjies too.
22 Oct 2012, 17:20 pm
@stormersboy-293: Never knew that.
22 Oct 2012, 17:22 pm
Oh dear
22 Oct 2012, 17:27 pm
@stormersboy-293: No, Schalk played in the 2003 CC before going to the 2003 RWC?
Remember him scoring a breakaway try against Griquas from the halfway line, at that point I knew he would be a surprise selection for the RWC.
22 Oct 2012, 17:29 pm
@Puma-295: you bumchum doesn’t possess the EQ to ignore….
22 Oct 2012, 17:30 pm
@willievz-298: Might be, I remember someone saying it on commentary, I’ve been searching to confirm it but i can’t.
It’s possible i was mistaken.
22 Oct 2012, 17:31 pm
@Nikita-297: What can the matter be?
22 Oct 2012, 17:35 pm
@willievz-288:
Danie Craven went straight from your Alma mater’s first team to the Boks before he played for WP.
22 Oct 2012, 17:35 pm
@stormersboy-301:
The Sharkies poluting the thread.
They promised to buy me a row of shark tickets.
22 Oct 2012, 17:37 pm
@Robzim-302: Ahhh, correct that is.
Are there any other post-apartheid players to be added to our list though?
22 Oct 2012, 17:37 pm
@Nikita-303: They’ve been all over the threads with their Lambie man-love the whole day.
I think there were some sticky keyboards at some point.
22 Oct 2012, 17:39 pm
@willievz-304: Schalk is listed in the 2003 CC squad, so it’s likely that he played there.
I think that what the commentators are referring to is him being selected for the Boks before having played Super Rugby. I knew it was something like that, IO had the tournaments confused.
22 Oct 2012, 17:39 pm
@stormersboy-305:
It appears on my screen all day. It gets a bit much.
22 Oct 2012, 17:40 pm
@willievz-304: If you talk squads then Swys Swart springs to mind, remember him?
22 Oct 2012, 17:40 pm
@stormersboy-305:
My prize is a flight to Durban King Shaka airport on Thursday. The big prize is a secret.
22 Oct 2012, 17:41 pm
@willievz-304:
Not sure, I only know of Doc Craven.
22 Oct 2012, 17:42 pm
@stormersboy-308: Yes, but I am referring specifically to guys making their test debut before playing CC.
Think Gaffie might be one, although he definitely played Vodacom Cup.
@stormersboy-305: yeah we just trash aint we, whilst the Cape Boys throw the insults around??
@Nikita-303: why not just ban all tthe Sharks supporters,??? would suit you would it???
@Nikita-307: I expect it would. Can you imagine the state they’ll be in *** Friday?
22 Oct 2012, 17:44 pm
Finals rugby, its anyones game, but its tru, the odds are stacked up against stormers. Must say, the bulls showed they can play finals rugby, they were actually good in defence, its the blind faith the pretoria coaches place in morne’ that tends to be their undoing. Steyn shuda been subbed after 20mins.
22 Oct 2012, 17:45 pm
@Nikita-309: you should get yourself quarantined and cleaned properly when leaving Durban again.
22 Oct 2012, 17:45 pm
@sharks_lover-312: Never said that, but this has been a hotbed of Lambie this and Lambie that since Saturday. Imagine being a Bulls or Lions supporter around here.
22 Oct 2012, 17:48 pm
@sharks_lover-312:
Why would we do that? There will be nothing to laugh about.
@sharks_lover-315:
Not a bad idea.
22 Oct 2012, 17:50 pm
Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula has done a Dean Greyling on Zuma. Gotto love him.
22 Oct 2012, 17:50 pm
@stormersboy-316: Well excuse us for lilving,
It matters not though that it is in response the negative insults flung at the kid, you dont see Sharks supporters flinging insults at Etsebeth?? when he has been hyped in here?? or Kitshof??
Thing is w have to read daily about us being racists and rubbish province aids infected etc etc etc,
But i guess that OK
22 Oct 2012, 17:53 pm
@stormersboy-316: Having a go to us Sharkies speaking about our player is a bit much don’t you think? When some come on here and are vitriol to each other. Then nothing is said or done about that, but heck let us praise our star flyhalf from the Sharks and all you have fit.
Best us Sharkies leave the site much as the Bulls supporters did.
22 Oct 2012, 17:55 pm
Think its cos finally the hype surrounding Johan Goosen is dying down, and the rest of SA are realising what we’ve alredi known all year, so yes, milking it..
22 Oct 2012, 17:55 pm
@Nikita-309:
well it can’t be anything to do with Keohane then.
22 Oct 2012, 17:56 pm
@sharks_lover-319: Boet, you guys can hardly claim innocence here. Sorry,
No one who tollerates HG and Fern on this site can claim innocence, it doesn’t work out. There’s no “returning serve” there.
22 Oct 2012, 17:56 pm
@Nikita-303: If we poluting this site then best the Shark Supporters leave this site Nikita.
I do remember someone here mentioning to you that the vitriol stuff would have been banned on Roar. You reponded by saying this site don’t treat people as childrend and freedom of speach and all. BUT you have a fit about us talking our fh up from our team? Come on. What has it come to now? Some come on here with their political rubbish and foul mouth and nothing gets done but if we mention Lambie then we should shut up? Best we leave like the Bulls Supporters left in droves.
22 Oct 2012, 17:57 pm
Pat Lambie = Jonny Wilkinson = Bond – James Bond
22 Oct 2012, 17:57 pm
@Puma-324: sorry meant – children
22 Oct 2012, 17:58 pm
@Puma-324:
Freedom of speech yes. Adult state always.
22 Oct 2012, 17:59 pm
@sharks_lover-319:
Very true.
I am out of here. See you on RT.
22 Oct 2012, 18:00 pm
@Puma-320: You guys have clearly lost your sense of humour this afternoon. If my (knowing me the way you do) post is one to push you over the edge then perhaps you are a little too emotionally invested at the moment.
No one is dissing Lambie, but there are some Sharkies who are insulting everyone else, and provoking the responses that they do, If they upset you then you need to self-regulate rather than encourage as some do.
22 Oct 2012, 18:02 pm
@Nikita-327: Nikita,
If you don’t want us to talk about Lambie then you had better suggest to your writers here not to put up articles about the youngster.
If you think Sharks supporters are poluting the place, rather we go blog else where then. Thought this week was about banter between Sharks and Province supporters anyhow.
Cheers out of here.
22 Oct 2012, 18:02 pm
@Nikita-327: So being insulted all the time is ok?? yeah i know youll say i did the same, it happens to be in response to having been insulted.
I am here to talk rugby, instead one gets snide insulting remarks.. but then again you acceptance of it says it all.
enough said, ur welcome to your site….
22 Oct 2012, 18:04 pm
@Puma-330: Im done Puma, check you on the other sites where adults blog
and of course where you dont have to ask permission to talk about your team or their players
22 Oct 2012, 18:07 pm
@stormersboy-329: I have a good sense of humour M. Also I never get into who says what here. I have always stayed out of it. Here I was talking about a player dammit bud. Then we are told by someone here that works on this site us Sharks Supporters are poluting the place. Come on that was a bit much. There are many of us here, we don’t have to be prefect to our other supporters and tell them what and not what to say, come on man, that is not on. It is childish.
You is upsetting me? I take no notice of most. You know that. But come on if we can’t talk about a rugby player and told to shut up, then really what is the damn point of blogging here on a rugby site?
Cheers M. See you on RT but I am definitely out of here.
22 Oct 2012, 18:09 pm
Stomersboy
Saying a sharks fan should imagine what its like being a loser and everyone having a proper gloat is funny. Mate iv been on this site for years. I have taken all of it on the chin. The guys can gloat all day and week if they like. Its funny that the rest feel they have the monopoly on gloating. Il give you a simple example. Remember the 07 super final. If you remember the carnage. I think Ranger and myself were the only ones that were left on here that week. So let people enjoy theselves. Its not their fault the Highveld bunch lost.
22 Oct 2012, 18:09 pm
@sharks_lover-332: For sure. See you over there.
Some really have disappointed me here. Jeez the bloody check to say we are poluting the place. Sharks Supporters should never blog here again. Probably the reason the Bulls Supporters all left.
See you on the otherside.
22 Oct 2012, 18:11 pm
@skunk-334: I have been blogging here for 5 years and have never read for anyone that works here that sharks supporters polute this place. Bloody insulting to some of us that never cause trouble.
I am gone from here.
22 Oct 2012, 18:12 pm
@Puma-330:
If you want to give you should be able to take. Who said you can’t say what you like?
Lambie is fab. Okey! Kiss and make up.
22 Oct 2012, 18:13 pm
@Puma-336:
Oh dear.
22 Oct 2012, 18:14 pm
Lots of Stormer/WP players took abuse here, and also their fans
Examples….
jean de Villiers has been called a donkey…… Duane Vermeulen a fatso…Andries Bekker a “parkie bankie vryer”, Deon Fourie has been called scum….. farkit, someone once even had a go at the pimples on Frans Malherbe’s cheeks (thankfully, it has since cleared up)
And then there are also names such as Rugridders,brokebacks..etc…that are aimed on a nearly daily basis at Stormer supporters/players/fans etc
Naw, this place is not or the over-sensitve or for people who take themselves too serious.
22 Oct 2012, 18:15 pm
@Puma-336:
You will be back. Too good here to resist. Nag ou grote
22 Oct 2012, 18:16 pm
@Robzim-339:
You don’t need to explain. It must be that time of the month.
22 Oct 2012, 18:18 pm
YIIIPPPPPEEEE
They’ve gone!!!!!!!!!!
22 Oct 2012, 18:19 pm
People forget this is a RUGBY blog. The banter gets waaay to personal and at times offensive. I blame the moderator for that. If Sharks fans are polluting the blog who would you rather have?
22 Oct 2012, 18:20 pm
Now PLEASE take that Heavens Gwathole too
They will be back come Saturday, trust me. Maybe even sooner.
@Nikita-340:
The words of the song Hotel California comes to mind:
“You can check out any time you like but you can never leave”
22 Oct 2012, 18:21 pm
@skunk-343:
Oh dear.
22 Oct 2012, 18:21 pm
@Robzim-339:
Most of these comments come from one individual.
22 Oct 2012, 18:22 pm
Rob
I agree. But let people give it and not have other act more important. Anyways my skin is way too thick for the c r a p to get to me.
22 Oct 2012, 18:22 pm
@Jinx2-348:
and they are really sick.
22 Oct 2012, 18:23 pm
Get with the programme Skunk
That Sharks Lover got nooo problem insulting black bloggers here by calling them “shack dwellers” and insulting their intelligence even though it’s streets ahead of his.
22 Oct 2012, 18:23 pm
Nikita
Thats my name. How can i help you.
22 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
@Nikita-337: Look Nikita, I have never come on here and been rude to anyone. And yes if I gave it I would take it. I just don’t do that. You can’t say all Shark Supporters polute this place. You are wrong.
Anyhow had enough, I am most definitely not going to blog here again.
@Robzim-339: Howzit Rob,
I don’t take myself serious, but really saying Sharks Supporters polute this place, from someone that works on this site is damn insulting. Coming from just another blogger I would normally have just not taken notice at all. Because there are some damn weird bunch that do blog here and you can’t take them serious, but really a person working for keo should have some restraint from doing that.
Anyhow good luck to both our teams for Saturday. Cheers Rob I am definitely not going to blog here again. Like ufo left too. Miss the decent bloggers that used to blog here.
22 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
Dawney my fair lady having issue with SL does not mean we all get the same treatment. Its not like i stand behind him vuvuzela in hand singing his praises when he goes sideways.
22 Oct 2012, 18:28 pm
@skunk-349:
Good on you.
22 Oct 2012, 18:29 pm
Are there any province fans intrested in proper banter. And none of this we are underdogs c r a p. The maniacal fans… We need some proper banter this week.
22 Oct 2012, 18:29 pm
@Puma-353:
Welcome back. I said you would be back.
22 Oct 2012, 18:31 pm
Nikey
Trust me I have taken worse. This is soft stuff.
@Nikita-347:
You HAVE done it NOW
Guess you will be controlling your lips a little better in the future.
Maybe you do prefer ‘verkrampte’ isolationism as too much Nikita-Keo POWER intoxicates you.
Since you are not impressed with ” Oh Nikita, is it cold in your little corner of the world” might you consider “You’re better of dead if you haven’t yet Died”?
Or is your preference ” B itch, B itch, the B itch is Back?
@skunk-356:
Only been here a while but the Province bloggers take a lot and yes they give it too. They don’t threaten or run.
22 Oct 2012, 18:33 pm
@Nikita-357:
You’re still smug and hurtful about your sick attitude too?
22 Oct 2012, 18:35 pm
Well well… what do we have here…a Sharks walk-out? O donner
22 Oct 2012, 18:36 pm
@Puma-353:
Give my regards to the boggers on the dark side.
Is that lunatic pieterman stil there
Good luck to your team too. They will most likely win.
I think you must reconsider, we don’t want the sharkies to go… nice to tease them every now and then.
22 Oct 2012, 18:38 pm
@Mostofyou-359:
Ouch
@Mostofyou-361:
Eina
22 Oct 2012, 18:38 pm
Nikita
A lot have ran. And yes they do cop a fair bit. That said I don’t see why they should say people should be banned.
22 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
@skunk-365:
No one gets banned. Only Skop.
22 Oct 2012, 18:42 pm
@Nikita-364:
STUPID you are still moving those lips. Keep them motionless or do the exercises, hourly and for days, that will gain you that CONTROL.
22 Oct 2012, 18:44 pm
@Mostofyou-367:
Sticks and stones.
22 Oct 2012, 18:45 pm
LAMBIIIEEEEEEEE!!!
Sharks playing such a refreshing brand. Well balanced pack, impressive how well they protect their ball at the rucks, and they never looked threatened at all by the Bulls during the match until the dying minutes. I think the underdog tag is just what the stormers need to perform well, epic battle coming up
22 Oct 2012, 18:52 pm
@Robzim-363:
22 Oct 2012, 18:53 pm
@Nikita-366:
I will petition Keo to BAN you for lack of CONTROL of your lips(note it does not read HIPS).
22 Oct 2012, 18:54 pm
@Nikita-368:I prefer whips and chains?
22 Oct 2012, 18:58 pm
Extraball hou jou bek
22 Oct 2012, 19:00 pm
@Puma-353: ignore that women, whenever I have come here and read her posts she seldom sais much of worth and sounds like that little lonely girl at school desperately trying to be liked by the in girls! only comes on when her boytjies.
Yeah I also came on thinking of the fun to be had with WP, but I guess this site has definitely become trash! I’ll head over to a more decent site where there is some good rugby chat! Its a pity I have always thought Cape Town had friendly and welcoming people, I am finding it also houses some trash!
22 Oct 2012, 19:03 pm
We are not all trash, nor street dwellers nor street corner women.
22 Oct 2012, 19:04 pm
@Sharksgirl-374:
Classy indeed.
22 Oct 2012, 19:11 pm
@Nikita-376:
Sal ek dit in rowwe Afrikaans stel vir jou?
Verstaan jy nie dat dit beter vir jou sal wees as jy jou bek uiteindelik stil hou?
Jy skree te lelik en dit is maar net geraas.
Mense het die reg om kwaad te wees as jy hulle lelik behandel en met geen feite om dit te doen.
22 Oct 2012, 19:16 pm
Hou jou bek
22 Oct 2012, 19:19 pm
I know. I am not either.
22 Oct 2012, 19:20 pm
Doen dit jou domding doenit!
22 Oct 2012, 19:23 pm
As a Province supporter I find some Shark supporter rants very strange. I have been called all sorts of names by the very people who are crying wolf. I have read everything and don’t actually know what the issue is.
22 Oct 2012, 19:28 pm
@Mostofyou-380:
Jy is ook nou besig om beheer te verloor. Haal drie keer diep asem…gaan stap om die blok …of gaan speel ‘n pot pluimbal of iets, voordat jy jou naam verder gat maak met jou kinderagtige “rants”. Jy klink al meer soos ‘n histeriese 12 jarige wie se bal weg is.
22 Oct 2012, 19:30 pm
Anyway… The Sharks have proven to be one step too far for provaas over the past few years. Saturdays result is inevitable
22 Oct 2012, 19:32 pm
@Robzim-382:
Howzit bud!
Too many victims now.
@BokkeYouBeauties-383:
Ja congrats on winning the 2012 Currie Cup.
22 Oct 2012, 19:36 pm
@Gumboots-384:
Hi Bill,
I guess he vibe is not so good in the rugby-loving parts of PTA today?
We also left it late on last Saturday- not good for the nerves.
What is your take for this weekend?
22 Oct 2012, 19:38 pm
@Robzim-387:
I like the gloating from the Shark fans. The underdog tag does the world of good. The Sharks believe they are the best, so we will just have to wait and see. Head says Sharks, heart Province. We wouldn’t be fans if we didn’t believe – right?
22 Oct 2012, 19:44 pm
@Gumboots-388:
Of course…… anything is possible in a once off final.
The Sharks have been in awesome form of late- but we all know it cannot last for ever – at some or other time they are going to come crashing down to earth with an almighty bang…… the time is just about right for that I reckon (or i hope, lol)
22 Oct 2012, 19:45 pm
@Robzim-389:
They have been really good. Playing in the fishbowl is going to be really tough. I hope they had their final against the Bulls…
22 Oct 2012, 19:48 pm
Sharkies are very emotional today.
Pressure getting to much.
Compare “The Sharks are polluting the place” with “The brokebacks are gerbilling”
22 Oct 2012, 20:09 pm
@Jeraldjay-391:
Now that the Sharks are not here to answer or defend , you duly go about pissing yourself like a ruptured PIG?
Do you not grant that different people have different sensitivity levels and have the right to exhibit that?
Now go and dry those horribly wet sticky thighs of yours otherwise you mum may tell you that you will go blind from messing yourself in that fashion.
22 Oct 2012, 20:13 pm
Way too many Province Poeftas on this site. I reckon it’s time we have a purge and ensure the sensitive arme little Province Palookas fark off and take their Dawn with them. This site is now claimed as a Sharks site. Come back Puma, come back SL, this is your place now. Your mission: pasteurise the Province plicks.
22 Oct 2012, 20:14 pm
Oh shut it
22 Oct 2012, 20:22 pm
@Mostofyou-392:
ET the defender of the Shark!es.
Never saw that com!ng.
You probably also support!ng your beloved Auss!es aga!nst the world’s top ranked test nat!on early next month.
22 Oct 2012, 20:25 pm
Domzim@-382
Sonder die Sharks hier soek jy maar net geselskap om laater, as dit te warm vir jou word, te kla om jou ‘posts’ te ignoreer- maar jy soekskoor eerste en weer.
Nou skryf jy soos die uitgelokte ware rugby boertjie seuntjie en sien net wat jy wil sien en lieg boonop. Hoe verskillend is dit van wat jou voormalige leiers Malan, Verwoerd, Vorster, Botha en De Klerk se apartheid sienings en houdings?
Kyk net hou lekker lieg jy met hierdie woorde van Saterdag:
a) ” I have not defended him for taking drugs…. I said he is the best TdF cyclist of his generation whether he took drugs or not- ”
b) ” and i stand by it……. or do you think he took more drugs than the other top guys?
22 Oct 2012, 20:27 pm
@Jeraldjay-395:
I defend human rights wherever and whenever it is trampled on and thanks for the clan recognition.
22 Oct 2012, 20:39 pm
Please keep it clean guys. There are schoolkids reading this blog.
22 Oct 2012, 20:43 pm
die groot trek part 2
First it was the bulls, and now its the arme sensitive sharks
Only the little lone martyr ET fighting their long lost soutie cause
22 Oct 2012, 20:47 pm
@Nikita-376: Ag…of course we know where the base of keo and his minions true allegiances lie. It is quite clear that they are mountain hugging poefters. The lot of them.
That makes me want to blog here even more. Considering that the Stormers/WP are the Sharks little b!tches. I mean the Sharks disposing of the Stormers from the Super 15 like a used piece of toilet paper was too beautiful to behold. Perfection personified.
If the Sharks win this weekend….is that 5 in a row ? That’s even hotter than you Nikita.
22 Oct 2012, 20:49 pm
ET Lite @396
Dit lyk my jy het goed geleer by jou eertydse base soos Malan, Voster , Verwoerd etc…. so goed dat jy ook glad files hou van ander bloggers se posts (soos die ou veiligheidspolisie). Het jy niks beters om te doen nie?
Verduidelik vir my hoe ek gelieg het deur te se dat Armstong (volgens my) die beste TdF fietsryer van sy tyd was?….. Indien dit nie hy was nie, wie was dan die beste en hoekom? Gee jy voor die ander top ryers het nie verbode middels gebruik nie- weet jy dat feitlik al die ryers wat tweede gekom het gedurende die toere wat hy gewen het ook positief getoets is gedurende hul loopbane?
Kan jy enige van hierdie vrae na behore antwoord en motiveer hoekom ek kwansuis gelieg het?
22 Oct 2012, 20:51 pm
@Jinx2-398: You ?
22 Oct 2012, 20:54 pm
@Robzim-401: There are more drugs in cycling than at Hyperpharm.
I say – just allow the guys to use the drugs. It levels the playing fields. If they all want their tollies to shrink, and to get cancer in their ballas – then so be it.
22 Oct 2012, 20:56 pm
@Robzim-401: Why are you hurting the feelings of the Sharks supporters on here ? Shouldn’t you be stocking up on tissues and anti depressants for Saturday evening ?
Domzim the more you commit yourself to the ‘Army’ cycling scandal defense the more ridiculous you come out in this fiasco of the biggest sporting doping scandal.
With these words look how appallingly ridiculous the claims of knowledge you seem to have come across relative to those worldwide involved in this investigation firsthand?:
a) ” I have not defended him for taking drugs…. I said he is the best TdF cyclist of his generation whether he took drugs or not- ”
b) ” and i stand by it……. or do you think he took more drugs than the other top guys?
Are you claiming that you know the blood drug analysis results of a generation of Tour cyclists from all over the globes countries?
Care to explain why he(and other individuals) have been found out but only he(Lance Army) and his TEAMS repeatedly and thus serially but not the teams of other guilty cyclists and not serially have been exposed and made an example of?
As for the claim of “best” in a) not even the world’s best exercise physiologists will make that claim(and especially in that murky dirty drug scenario) and they have the knowledge and you DO NOT.
The numerous and different investigators, experts all, know Lance took more drugs than the other top guys” and they saw the blood analysis results of all and any they wanted to and needed to see before banning any cyclist. What have YOU seen or examined?
Do you not feel utterly and inconceivably ridiculous as you merrily suck information from wherever ,on your person, and whenever, all in the pursuit of ‘boertjie’ is riight and might?
@Dusky-402:
I’m a teacher.
22 Oct 2012, 21:01 pm
@Jinx2-406: Sorry to hear.
22 Oct 2012, 21:04 pm
@Dusky-403:
I believe they are “winning’ the battle against drugs in cycling slowly but surely- there are indications of downward trends in indicators such as climbing times and output or watts per kilogram bodyweight – the sport therefore seems to be getting cleaner (even before the Armstrong fiasco) but it will probably never become pure, because human nature never will.
If you ask some people whether they wil take drugs knowing that they wont make 50 as a result but that it will guarantee them a tour win or an olympic gold they wil take the drugs. Scary, hey?
22 Oct 2012, 21:04 pm
@Mostofyou-405:
Forgot to list, for the ignoramus, the many drugs:
Testosterone, Corticosterone, HGH, EPO, blood/own RBC doping(if you understand), plasma and saline transfusion(for dilution purposes) and noy all yet.
Which other cyclists have that harmful, even deadly combination and for so very long to answer for? And had their wives come out against them in the investigation even for just ‘butter’?
22 Oct 2012, 21:07 pm
@Robzim-408: Dude, it starts in school already. I know doctors in Pretoria that will prescribe anabolic steroids to you without batting an eyelid.
22 Oct 2012, 21:12 pm
@Dusky-410:
22 Oct 2012, 21:13 pm
Domzim-408:
Who cares what you believe.
You cut so pathetic a lying figure that your Verwoerd clan even now become my “leaders”. I alone follow where I alone lead and I have NO Ossewabrandwag, Broederbond, Ruyterwacht or such leaders to call upon. Nver had and never will With your boertjie name can you honestly make the same claim. Just look at how easily lying comes to you much like it did for those of yours I named. Tell us your paternal name or STFU>
Janee soos hulle se(jy ken mos jou kappie), LIEG soos ‘n BOER, dis julle dit.
22 Oct 2012, 21:26 pm
@Mostofyou-405:
You have obviously not answered any of my questions.
You ask how I know that the others took drugs? Obviously I have not seen the results of all the tests but there is circumstantial evidence as in the case of Lance. Do the names Jan Ulrich, Bjarne Rijs, Floyd Landis, Alberto Contador, Alex Zulle, Andreas Kloden, Ivan Basso amongst others ring a bell? Do you know that they have all been tested positive or at least made payments to stop further investigations against them?
In his autobiography, “Stages of life and dark” the previous winner Bjarne Rijs matter of factly characterised doping as a part of his profession during his race years- – he in fact called it “ the circumstances of the business” for the time.
You obviously know better than Rijs.
I can go on all night…it was a murky dirty business and Armstrong performed the best amongst the whole dirty bunch—therefore IMO he was the best of his generation.
Domzim lol.
Funny.
Shaun stop trolling for names. You can just call him baas. OK?
Domzim, here is my global evidence. Now furnish me with your defense evidence :
Lance Armstrong Stripped of 7 Tour de France Titles, Banned for Life After Doping Scandal -the Headline
The global governing body of cycling today said it will officially strip Lance Armstrong of his seven Tour de France titles and ban him from the sport for life, marking an epic downfall for the cyclist once lauded as the greatest of all time but now at the center of a doping scandal.
“Lance Armstrong has no place in cycling and he deserves to be forgotten in cycling,” Pat McQuaid, the president of the International Cycling Union, known as UCI, said today at a news conference in Switzerland. “This is a landmark day for cycling.”
The UCI’s decision comes days after the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency banned Armstrong from the sport for life for alleged use of illegal performance-enhancing drugs. The USADA issued a 200-page report Oct. 10 after a wide-scale investigation into Armstrong’s alleged use of performance-enhancing substances.
The agency said its investigators interviewed 26 people with direct knowledge of Armstrong’s alleged doping, including 11 teammates, and collected 1,000 pages of evidence accusing him of cheating
Quaid accepted the USADA’s sanctions and said he was “sickened” by the evidence in the report, pointing to testimony from one of Armstrong’s former teammates David Zabriskie, in which he details how he was allegedly coercing into doping.
Armstrong tried to fight the USADA ban in court, but told the USADA in August that he wouldn’t fight the doping charges against him. He has maintained he never cheated.
Armstrong made two appearances this weekend at the Livestrong Foundation’s 15th anniversary charity gala, but did not concede much in the way of an explanation or apology for the alleged doping that cost him his medals and lucrative sponsors.
“People ask me a lot, ‘How are you doing?’ And I tell them, ‘I’ve been better but I’ve also been worse,’” the cancer survivor said. “This mission is bigger than me. It’s bigger than any individual.”
Armstrong stepped down as the chairman of the Lance Armstrong Foundation, the cancer charity commonly known as Livestrong that he founded in 1997, a year after he was diagnosed with testicular cancer at age 25. He resigned last week to “spare the foundation any negative effects as a result of controversy.”
Nike, Anheuser-Busch and Trek Bicycles are among the companies that severed ties with the cycling star last week in the wake of the scandal. Oakley sunglasses cut ties with Armstrong today after the UCI decision.
As Armstrong’s sponsorships and reputation have fallen off a cliff, the silence surrounding his alleged doping methods over the years has begun to crack. In the USADA report, teammates describe years of systematic doping, using banned substances and receiving illicit blood transfusions.
A former competitor, Stephen Swart, testified in a deposition that Armstrong bribed him to throw a race with a $1 million prize. Swart said he was offered approximately $50,000 to allow Armstrong to win.
The USADA also accuses Armstrong of trying to intimidate witnesses.
Former Sports Illustrated reporter Selena Roberts said Armstrong and his inner circle tried to turn her into a villain with her bosses and smear her reputation personally when they heard she was investigation doping allegations.
“I don’t really think there’s any politician, celebrity or athlete who has really put together the machinery to suppress reporting about them like Lance Armstrong has,” Roberts said.
Roberts said Armstrong’s Livestrong Foundation was never far from the surface, something others have referred to as his “cancer shield.”
“You’re confronted with sort of the perception that if you’re not pro-Lance, then, absurdly, you’re pro-cancer,” Roberts told ABC News.
Former Bicycling magazine editor and chief Steve Madden wrote about Armstrong’s alleged influence in a blog post: “Armstrong exerted a Corleone-like influence in the cycling industry … he could make an advertiser disappear from our pages.”
McQuaid said the UCI will meet Friday to discuss the fate of Armstrong’s 2000 Olympic bronze medal.
With the UCI decision, Armstrong might face multimillion-dollar lawsuits from ex-sponsors and might have to return about $4 million in cash prizes that he has won since 1998 as a seven-time Tour champion
22 Oct 2012, 21:27 pm
@Robzim-413: Who are they going to instate as winners now? I think they will struggle to find a non positive amoungst most of the podium guys,
22 Oct 2012, 21:32 pm
@stormersboy-416:
They will probably not declare any winners for those 7 years- unless ET or his cousin can find a clean one
22 Oct 2012, 21:35 pm
oh dear, has keo become a cycling blog?
back to rugby……
lambie v jantjies…..
lambie is like a junior jonny wilkinson.
jantjies like a junior carlos spencer.
both excellent in their respective roles.
22 Oct 2012, 21:38 pm
@charo-418:
I liked the mental toughness of Schreuder as well. WP must make a plan for this geezer.
22 Oct 2012, 21:40 pm
@Jinx2-419: You think Schreuder has a future at flyhalf?
He’s big enough.
22 Oct 2012, 21:42 pm
Domzim-413:
You asked questions? And they are based on what are outright , worldwide accepted LIES? You expect responses to ‘pinkpiggy’porkies?
Who truly are you? Are you any of Verwoerd, Vorster, Botha, Malan, DikPik gracing us from the dead?
Do you expect me to answer ANY question from YOU that stems from a LIE you cannot emotionally accept?
Will you ever have any worthy question ever in your life? Imagine what your offspring must feel like, and into this difficult fuure?
You have certainly no cycling questions to ask at all, let alone worthy ones, you LIAR.
GO hide in shame you Stellie moron. You are the personification of the laughing stock in the Cape.
22 Oct 2012, 21:43 pm
@charo-418:
Hi Charo
You have to admit rugby day after day can get quite repetitive!!
Bring on the bikes……. Opps, I forgot this is a rugby blog
22 Oct 2012, 21:47 pm
@carol-422: Hi Carol, will you be making your way to our shores next year for the race?
22 Oct 2012, 21:51 pm
@Domzim-417:
Get it right for just once Dommy. Two is more than one so it is always plural Thus it is cousinS. See the ‘S’
Thanks for the clan recognition and E.T. and I and other clan members will certainly do a better job than followers like you and the sports ADMINISTRATORS YOU SO FOLLOW.
Talk about sheep? Why do we even reference it to N.Z.?
Of course there should be NO winners. Declare those all NULL and VOID. That is how honour is restored.
In any case Lance has melted all the medals and now calls it butta, but he has to keep it a a very high temperature.
22 Oct 2012, 21:52 pm
@Mostofyou-421:
Yeah, if you cannot answer a question then you cop out by telling the person who asked it he has no right to ask it or that his questions are based on lies. No wonder you never got further than to act as a ball-boy for Chait and some of the weaker players of those days.
I have wasted enough time on you. Take care.
22 Oct 2012, 21:54 pm
@stormersboy-423:
Hello….
The race organisers have accepted my entry and taken the appropriate fee from my credit card!!
Guess that means I will hit Cape Town again in March wind and weather permitting!
You entering next time? I think two other Keoites are entered as well!!
But this is a rugby blog, not a cycling blog!!
22 Oct 2012, 21:55 pm
anyway i am out.
Night all
22 Oct 2012, 21:55 pm
@Robzim-425:
Is Mostofyou the ‘Saddo from Stevenage’?
22 Oct 2012, 21:56 pm
@stormersboy-427:
See you
22 Oct 2012, 21:56 pm
@Mostofyou-424:
Before I go… did you see the other that ET called you the “not so suave” member of the clan? U better take it up with him. Now I am out.
22 Oct 2012, 21:57 pm
@carol-426:That’s good to hear, to be honest Im not likely to ride, done my fair share of them back when it was still small enough to be fun (for me).
I’ll be doing more of the off road series this summer with my son I think.
22 Oct 2012, 21:57 pm
@carol-428: That’s the one.
Ciao
22 Oct 2012, 21:58 pm
@carol-428:
Hello,… Not sure…. here are so many cowards with multi-nic’s these days .CU in a bit, i must finish the dishes.
22 Oct 2012, 22:00 pm
@stormersboy-431:
That will be fun too….
22 Oct 2012, 22:01 pm
@stormersboy-432:
Oh big yawn then….
22 Oct 2012, 22:02 pm
@Robzim-433:
Catch you later.
PS Thought about getting a dishwasher?
22 Oct 2012, 22:04 pm
@carol-436: Isn’t he married??
22 Oct 2012, 22:07 pm
@stormersboy-420:
I do. He has a bit of Joost and a bit of Honiball in him. Can mix it with the brekers and has the head of a general.
22 Oct 2012, 22:09 pm
Domzim-413:
How difficult is it for you?
Even when you want to give us a mere modicum of ‘truth’ you cannot as shown here: ” You ask how I know that the others took drugs? Obviously I have not seen the results of all the tests ”
Your sentence structure pre-supposes you saw some.
You saw NO TEST results ever.
Now go shower for an hour for you have so repeatedly aand shamefully wet with your piss that you simply cannot dry yourself any more at all.
Thereafter you may consume a bottle of Tassies to drown your sorrowful , lying sorrows.
If you profusely and manfully apologise for dreadfully but disdainfully harming the sport of cycling (all sport for that matter) by gloryfying drug use for a win then I may seriously save your face for you by giving you a bottle of LE BONHEUR Estate Wine 1995 Prima(it is a Merlot, Cab. blend) within days of that admission.
I will not hold my breath. The wine is saved.
22 Oct 2012, 22:14 pm
Where is the rugby?
22 Oct 2012, 22:19 pm
Everybody’s hungover. Too many anabolic steroids.
22 Oct 2012, 22:27 pm
Extraball has a HISTORY of drug ABUSE
HENCE the obsession
22 Oct 2012, 22:31 pm
That’s why he’s grown an Extra Testicle
22 Oct 2012, 22:38 pm
You flourish when you see a testicle? Yet you have never seen one in the flesh?
Shame, poor ‘soul’, you are not ever given a chance it seems.
Have you felt one. It is said to be “velvety to the touch”.
22 Oct 2012, 22:50 pm
oi gewaldt
23 Oct 2012, 00:14 am
Oh Boy! Seems I did cause a stir, a commotion, some chaos with my early morning 7am EST breaking news revelations about poor Lance ‘the Prance’ Army cheater in sports.
There appears to also be a boycott of sorts and Jokers was stoking those fires(good for him as he knows a good boycott).
But Jokers also smashed a ‘ boertjie’ lying ego to the state of loss of control of pissing. Poor soul. Maybe he got that Cheltenham git to insert a catheter for his peeing problems.
He needlessly asked for the thorough dressing down and naked exposure though with all his arrogant lies. lies and more lies(and he dares to call them “questions”).
Jokers, got to hand it to you with that ever so cool name of “Domzim” you christened him with. You have learnt the ploys of the non-racial struggle so very well.
Fun times lie ahead for us in late Nov. when I am there.
23 Oct 2012, 00:44 am
So many times i see this ant and elephant ego’s here on Keo.
Don’t ask who the elephant is. But these idiots who think they’re blogging fundii and artists of the debate are definitely the ants. Take Et and whatzisface. What are you on about??? You don’t even realise how lame your reasoning sound. Always looking, never succeding evidently, to rid yourself of the inferiority complexes you so obviously suffer from… Especially when you start getting o-so-serious and “….”intellectual”….”
Why don’t you just have normal conversations? Have you asked yourself that question? Agree/ disagree/ have an opinion/ don’t/ reason/ debate… do all that. But why do you strive for attention so much that you have to decieve yourselve so much… ?
why indeed. anyway >>>
23 Oct 2012, 00:55 am
If putting your ideas together so haphazardly in poor sentence structure is so appalling and you cannot spell a simple word like “succeding”(correct form is SUCCEEDING) why should anyone take note of you?
23 Oct 2012, 02:32 am
And now I am left to adjudicate this “Domzim” debacle that he deems to be a ‘debate’.
My reading of the relevant posts reveals false claims being later made.
For example, “Domzim’s” post 413 @21.26pm. refers to questions (presumably asked before #413) which are more than answered by Jokers post #415 also @ 21.26pm(so they cross the internet wires in midstream) and evidence is provided by Jokers and he asks for “Domzim’s” evidence which is never forwarded by Dommie
I read one seeming question about lying in “Dommie’s post 401 unless he refers to question/s put days before(last week). Those I know were deemed to be no questions as he (Dommie) made too many suppositions of knowledge he has not an iota of such as blood drug levels of generations of cyclists in all those Tours won by the ‘Army’ Postal Teams
Read post #415 again “Domzim” as I know it requires a lot of intelligent interpretation of some good, somewhat heavy English writing in the US media. It may be just too much for a Stellie ‘boertjie’ with less than average English skills.
I seriously doubt you even read it as you exhibit more concern of a truly false image you have of yourself totally governed by cultural dynamics all self-imposed though.
23 Oct 2012, 04:23 am
“Domzim” for quite a while now, over a number of mostly S.African issues you have exhibited a lack of earmarking that which is distasteful to a large per centage of ordinary, honest people in a variable, highly differential cultural society.
Glorifying and celebrating absurd acts of human behaviour such as military or rugby player violence(Burgers etc.) and their vile or foul acts or language, cheating with drug use to win global sporting trophies, discussion, with a lack of sensitivity to living victims, of questionable and discredited ‘national service’ activities( against no other nation but fellow S.Africans of colour) seems to escape being deemed obnoxious and ugly by you. Is this the effectiveness of the stubborn ‘verkrampte’ culture revealing itself?
With a question and an analogy and a simple explanation I hope you see how serious this failing is looked upon.
When you have a large number of rotten apples in a large box of apples, discussing which rotten apples are better than other rotten apples is absurdly meaningless and immature.
Will you accept, normally, any of those rotten apples or will you instead get rid of all of them in order to save the good apples?
There are NO degrees of better or worse rotten apples as you will not eat any rotten apples(rotten is not simply blemished)
Absurdly you take joy from a rotten apple( a better cheat from my analogy) beating other rotten apples(worse cheats) by highlighting some, unknown to you (and all but the investigators ), blood drug levels affecting exercise physiological ‘facts’ and performances, as better and worse for many others.
Clearly the Postal Teams, led by LA , won because they had a ‘better’, more physiologically and biochemically and pharmacologically effective cocktail of drug regimens than opposing teams wrt cardiology, respiratory , endocrinology, neuro-muscular and more systems.
In all seriousness is that to be applauded and celebrated and glorified.as you do with your declaration of “best” of a totally rotten lot on a podium for year after year after year?
How happy will you be when you hypothetically learn 2 months from now that the Sharks win on Saturday because they were all on steroids the last 6 weeks even though some WP players may well be consuming numerous bottles of cough mixtures and more(difference is a mere degree)?
Is it not decidedly ABSURD, the ignorant and stupid claims you make?
23 Oct 2012, 05:13 am
@ET.-450:
Speaking of stupid…
523. E.T.(ET) :
January 10th, 2011 at 9:48 pm
A stupid remains a stupid.
It is CORPUS moron and not that KAK that you wrote(“compus”).
They were clearly handing out pieces of paper at the ‘Maritzburg campus of UN.
In your own words…a stupid remains a stupid!
23 Oct 2012, 05:19 am
Ja, Koos die Doos, you are correct, the reference to Angerman being stupid is right on the money.
Thanks for reminding him of his folly.
23 Oct 2012, 05:28 am
Maybe you should stop while you behind…first I have no idea who you referring to, second your memory is failing…
• 509. E.T.(ET) :
January 10th, 2011 at 9:17 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game) :
There is NO such word in English or Latin for what your Shark compost is trying to say or is that girlie or pig/swine stuff still affecting your brain?
And lastly and just incase you forgot what an absolute idiot you really are…
“Compos mentis is a term deriving from Latin meaning of a composed mind…”
The exact opposite of what you are…
23 Oct 2012, 05:44 am
Koos the Doos, you are the one clearly exhibiting failing memory if you do not know who you are.
Find yourself, before you commit yourself ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. to an institution.
23 Oct 2012, 06:17 am
@ET.-450:
Are you Aaron Crawley from Cheltenham?
23 Oct 2012, 06:40 am
@myth geskop-453: corpus dragons…
23 Oct 2012, 08:41 am
Well it is nice to see the banter here is all warm and cuddly.
23 Oct 2012, 13:01 pm
“The Sharks have been South Africa’s most consistent performer in Super Rugby and Currie Cup, with or without their current Springboks. They play the best rugby and they are South Africa’s best team. They will win the title on Saturday.”
Mark, you are an idiot. First of all they were not the most consistent performers in SR, that was in fact the Stormers. They play the best brand? they are the best team? That’s just your opinion
They WILL win? Really? do you have a crystall ball? They are favourites, sure, they have a great chance, yes. You may think you’re a god but nobody can predict the future. You would have probably bet your house that the blacks will crush the wallabies last saturday but they didn’t now did they?
On paper they have the best team with the most experience but in the end it’s 15 against 15, or 22 against 22 inside 80 minutes. How do you know the Sharks won’t implode? Remember, bounce of the ball, a bit of luck, utter determination may just get WP on top to claim the CC
Why don’t you rather focus on whatever the hell is going on with your friends at EP rugby? Until you can take a step backwards and be realistic, keep away from the keyboard please