Super Sharks will win Currie Cup
22 Oct 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day newspaper, applauds the talents of Eben Etzebeth and Pat Lambie and writes the Sharks are the best domestic team in South Africa.
Eben Etzebeth made his Western Province Currie Cup debut a fortnight ago and is eligible to play in Saturday’s U21 final. He’s still a pup in terms of provincial experience and age but he’s definitely no pup in terms of performance.
He was colossal against the Lions in Western Province’s dramatic last minute Currie Cup semi-final victory. He commands presence, which explains the remarkable elevation from Varsity Cup player in 2011 to an eight-Test Springbok in 2012. A unique breed of player simply has it. Etzebeth is the newest international member of this club, and if he stays injury free he could become the most dominant of second rowers in the next decade.
He thrives on responsibility, especially when the crunch moments demand the tough to take the lead. We saw it in Super Rugby, most notably in the final 20 minutes when the Stormers repelled a Lions fightback in Johannesburg to win. Etzebeth towered above the rest that night and at the same venue, against the provincial Lions he effected a result of similar significance for Western Province players, who earlier in the year had played in the guise of the Stormers.
Etzebeth is among the 10 nominations for South Africa’s Player of the Year and while my preference is the revitalised and rejuvenated Western Province, Stormers and Springbok wing Bryan Habana, a more appropriate reward for Etzebeth would be the Rookie of the Year.
He plays with the authority of an old head, but the emotional maturity should not disguise his youthfulness. He is also an enforcer who lacks the crassness of a thug. He can impose his physicality without resorting to cheap shots, which is refreshing. There is more Brad Thorn to his persona than Bakkies Botha because he has the calmness a young Botha’s personality did not accommodate. Botha had mongrel but Etzebeth’s aggression is measured. The old dog can certainly teach Etzebeth a trick or two, which is why I’d select both for the end-of- year tour, but the emotional maturity and seemingly contentment of Etzebeth is unique among young international second rowers.
Etzebeth’s influence was massive in the lineout take and subsequent 20m maul that crushed the Lions in the last play of the game. Lions’ supporters would rightly have cursed his presence on Saturday night, but as South Africans they will have many a Saturday in which they’ll celebrate the fact he’s a South African who plays for the Springboks.
Another youngster who plays with the maturity of a veteran is Pat Lambie. National coach Heyneke Meyer has been reluctant on Lambie. Why? Who knows?
Lambie has shown his class as a person through a winter of frustration at national level. Picked as a bench warmer and only viewed as a fullback option he never spoke out against the coach and never threatened of a move to French or English club rugby. He spoke only when given a chance to start at flyhalf for the Sharks and his speaking came by way of performance. He was more commander than cavalier against the Bulls in the Sharks 20-3 semi-final victory.
He looked more Dan Carter than Quade Cooper in controlling the semi-final, which is a compliment of his class.
Lambie, two seasons ago, was brilliant in the Sharks’ Currie Cup final win against Western Province, but his versatility has been to his detriment. He can play 10, 12, 13 and 15 and he wouldn’t be out of place on the wing, but because of this quality he has become a jack of all trades when he has the potential to become the master of one.
Lambie really has been impressive at flyhalf in the most understated, yet effective manner. The hope is Meyer can review his earlier opinion that Lambie is a 15 and not a 10, and not fear misguided accusations that a change of opinion is because of a state of confusion.
Lambie, on the pending Bok tour, must get some game time at 10. Expect a big game from him in Durban on Saturday against Western Province. He’ll deliver because whenever he has been given an opportunity (not a 10-minute cameo role) the return has been a quality performance.
The Sharks were imposing and brutal against the Bulls and coach John Plumtree’s match 22 selection showed an understanding that play-off matches are determined more by the quality of the seven substitutes than the perceived pedigree of the starting XV.
The Sharks have been South Africa’s most consistent performer in Super Rugby and Currie Cup, with or without their current Springboks. They play the best rugby and they are South Africa’s best team. They will win the title on Saturday.

458 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 » Show All
22 Oct 2012, 16:35 pm
@sharks_lover-243: I have been to your tank many times. Always been a pleasant outing.
22 Oct 2012, 16:37 pm
@sharks_lover-246:
See they have Jordaan and Timmy as well. Have another article I have copied from McLook. He lives in New Zealand. A Province/Stormer supporter though. He says Lambie should be our number 10 and gives reasons why. Will put it up here now.
22 Oct 2012, 16:38 pm
@Dawn-247: I don’t think he dislikes me as much as he did, because I have praised a few guppies and said a few nice things about Kings Park.
Transformation is the new ME
22 Oct 2012, 16:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-251: , well glad you enjoyed it
22 Oct 2012, 16:39 pm
@Puma-252: Pleaserugbygods NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. No more Lambie talk – please?
Keep your post for tommorrow. A new day, a new couple of million reasons as to why Lambie rocks.
22 Oct 2012, 16:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-253: NO you just have happened to be less insulting and less snide remarks, so treat me with respect and i do the same Pedi , it is pretty simple
22 Oct 2012, 16:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-255:
I knew that was coming.
@OCO-233:
Oh rubbish man
@Puma-252: Yeah put it up Puma, good to see a Stormer supporters point of view view
22 Oct 2012, 16:42 pm
@sharks_lover-250:
Back to school
Off you go
@puma-242:
Isn’t it funny that the two midget centres showed up their bigger, stronger opponents? Hope Meyer was watching…
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-253:
Why does he call you Pedi?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-255: Well admit patty is the answer at 10 and then we can move to a new topic…..like why the cup will have a new home in Durban.
22 Oct 2012, 16:43 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-255: No need to put this one up. McLook’s knowledge of rugby is superb. A Province Supporter though. Lives in New Zealand. He gives the very reason so many of us feel. Read it and then you will understand why we are all hoping for Pat to get that 10 jersey for the Boks.
Here it is. Shark_Lover what you think bud?
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Where Jantjies was unable to pilot the game Lambie on the other hand was outstanding in his ability to navigate the Sharks to a win under high pressure circumstances. Lambie’s line kicks and place kicks were excellent but it is his ability to read the game that makes him such and valuable player at No10. While Lambie stood out in the match Morné Steyn was hardly noticeable during the entire match.
Lambie’s talents are wasted on No15.
He is the playmaker SA needs in the pivotal flyhalf berth. I like the way Lambie tackles low on the ankles in the flyhalf channel and he is a far better defender in that position than back at No15.
Lambie and Goossen should in my books be the flyhalfs for the end of year tour (that is if Goossen recovers in time. If not I’ll even consider Peter Grant). Here specifically is what I like about Lambie as a flyhalf:
1.He is unpredictable and constantly varies what he is doing;
2.He reads the game and have an intuitive feeling for where to be, what to do and where to position himself (deep or flat) behind his pack;
3.He defends well in the inside channel;
4.His tactical kicking is great and he uses the kick as an attacking weapon and not as an option because he doesn’t know what to do with the ball;
5.He is fast of the mark –probably the fastest of all the SA flyhalfs- and plays direct rugby;
6.He attack space and know how to put his outside backs into space; Frans Steyn is going to be a real factor on 12 if he plays next to Lambie;
7.His line kicks are excellent and he maintains a high percentage success rate as a place kicker and more importantly he can kick under pressure;
8.He has a compact built with a low center of gravity with fast feet and an intuitive feeling for space and time which not only makes him the ideal flyhalf but also less prone for injury; Goossen needs to be nursed and Lambie is a type of player who can take the brunt while Goossen matures;
9.He distributes well with both hands and;
10.He has good hands in the sense that he catch difficult passes (high, low and behinds his back) and can make instant decisions on what to do with the ball if he receives a bad pass under pressure.
Lambie in short is a player around which countries like Wales, England, Australia and New Zealand will construct backlines and game plans.
22 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
@Dawn-262: They met at “Mandy’s Pedicure Emporium”?
22 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
Puma to Lambie:
“I am your father”
22 Oct 2012, 16:45 pm
@Dawn-262: Because her nic is way, way tooooooooooooooo long. Can’t reply by typing that long nic out every time. Pedi it is from now….
22 Oct 2012, 16:45 pm
@Dawn-262: Pedi-gree?
Unless I am a Pedi warrior, or a pedicure?
22 Oct 2012, 16:46 pm
@Puma-267:
You dont have to
Just click the arrow
Or “Pedigree” like everyone else
@Dawn-266: Have you got father on your brain young lady?
Dawn to everyone here:
I am your mother
@Dawn-262: ET calls me dogshit……
22 Oct 2012, 16:47 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-268:
Wouldn’t put it past Granpappy to put you in some tribe.
22 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@Puma-270:
Ever seen “Star Wars”?
@Puma-264: Yup McLook always was a good blogger,
And Rugby knowledge is very good. And yes he makes the points some of us have been saying for a while now.
But hey like i told you, at times i wish no Sharks players were involved with the Boks and HM
@Dawn-269: We do….
@Dawn-272:
As you very well know, I have my own tribe
22 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@Dawn-273: No Dawnie. Why? I never watch those movies. Don’t interest me.
22 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
@Puma-277: Puma she was gonna tell you about her part as the lady of leasure she played…
22 Oct 2012, 16:51 pm
@sharks_lover-274: Yes his knowledge of the game is excellent. Really enjoyed the articles he used to write on RT. Especially after the world cup and the history articles. Some of those were excellent. He is a Stormer/Province supporter that has been living in New Zealand for a long time now.
22 Oct 2012, 16:51 pm
@sharks_lover-278:
Leisure not leasure
22 Oct 2012, 16:53 pm
@sharks_lover-278:
Have YOU seen Star Wars
22 Oct 2012, 17:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-271: HAHAHAHAHHAHA trust extraballas to be unique
22 Oct 2012, 17:03 pm
@sharks_lover-274: Did you read point 6 from that article of McLooks? Just as we have been saying and many others. Fransie will be a real factor playing with Lambie at flyhalf at Sharks next year.
22 Oct 2012, 17:04 pm
Lambie has always been a much talked abt player, until all hype around the goose began. Honestly, i’ve always preferred bambie ahead of both goosen and elton, he’s playing well now, against not very strong opposition, but he has been in much finer form, and against tuff teams.
22 Oct 2012, 17:04 pm
@Puma-279: yup I remember his articles Puma
22 Oct 2012, 17:06 pm
@Puma-283:
yeah read it and eish Boet what do we know?? we just sillt Sharks supporters, Unless ur from the Cape?? you know farkall
22 Oct 2012, 17:06 pm
@Puma-279: this is the thrid time you’re mentioning this “He is a Stormer/Province supporter that has been living in New Zealand”
we heard mate
22 Oct 2012, 17:09 pm
Question:
Is Eben Etzebeth the only Springbok to be capped before playing CC rugby?
22 Oct 2012, 17:10 pm
@sharks_lover-286:
22 Oct 2012, 17:11 pm
@willievz-288: Howzit Willie,
Jeez seems strange that he has played Super Rugby and Bok rugby before playing Currie Cup. Must be a first.
22 Oct 2012, 17:12 pm
@willievz-288: nope
22 Oct 2012, 17:13 pm
@Puma-289: And it seems now you need permission as to what you can post or how many times you may post it,:roll:
22 Oct 2012, 17:13 pm
@willievz-288: Schalk Burger.
22 Oct 2012, 17:14 pm
Still, I dont think Pat will shine so brightly outside ruan, neither will goose or elton, and it must be soul destroying for young hougies what heynecken and the bulls are doing to his game. We need complete new personnel for that 9 spot.
22 Oct 2012, 17:20 pm
@sharks_lover-292: I know. I just ignore the ones I don’t want to speak with. Easy…
@BokkeYouBeauties-294: Hougie has been truely messed about by Meyer. So was Lambie and a degree Jantjies too.
22 Oct 2012, 17:20 pm
@stormersboy-293: Never knew that.
22 Oct 2012, 17:22 pm
Oh dear
22 Oct 2012, 17:27 pm
@stormersboy-293: No, Schalk played in the 2003 CC before going to the 2003 RWC?
Remember him scoring a breakaway try against Griquas from the halfway line, at that point I knew he would be a surprise selection for the RWC.
22 Oct 2012, 17:29 pm
@Puma-295: you bumchum doesn’t possess the EQ to ignore….
22 Oct 2012, 17:30 pm
@willievz-298: Might be, I remember someone saying it on commentary, I’ve been searching to confirm it but i can’t.
It’s possible i was mistaken.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 » Show All