Super Sharks will win Currie Cup
22 Oct 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day newspaper, applauds the talents of Eben Etzebeth and Pat Lambie and writes the Sharks are the best domestic team in South Africa.
Eben Etzebeth made his Western Province Currie Cup debut a fortnight ago and is eligible to play in Saturday’s U21 final. He’s still a pup in terms of provincial experience and age but he’s definitely no pup in terms of performance.
He was colossal against the Lions in Western Province’s dramatic last minute Currie Cup semi-final victory. He commands presence, which explains the remarkable elevation from Varsity Cup player in 2011 to an eight-Test Springbok in 2012. A unique breed of player simply has it. Etzebeth is the newest international member of this club, and if he stays injury free he could become the most dominant of second rowers in the next decade.
He thrives on responsibility, especially when the crunch moments demand the tough to take the lead. We saw it in Super Rugby, most notably in the final 20 minutes when the Stormers repelled a Lions fightback in Johannesburg to win. Etzebeth towered above the rest that night and at the same venue, against the provincial Lions he effected a result of similar significance for Western Province players, who earlier in the year had played in the guise of the Stormers.
Etzebeth is among the 10 nominations for South Africa’s Player of the Year and while my preference is the revitalised and rejuvenated Western Province, Stormers and Springbok wing Bryan Habana, a more appropriate reward for Etzebeth would be the Rookie of the Year.
He plays with the authority of an old head, but the emotional maturity should not disguise his youthfulness. He is also an enforcer who lacks the crassness of a thug. He can impose his physicality without resorting to cheap shots, which is refreshing. There is more Brad Thorn to his persona than Bakkies Botha because he has the calmness a young Botha’s personality did not accommodate. Botha had mongrel but Etzebeth’s aggression is measured. The old dog can certainly teach Etzebeth a trick or two, which is why I’d select both for the end-of- year tour, but the emotional maturity and seemingly contentment of Etzebeth is unique among young international second rowers.
Etzebeth’s influence was massive in the lineout take and subsequent 20m maul that crushed the Lions in the last play of the game. Lions’ supporters would rightly have cursed his presence on Saturday night, but as South Africans they will have many a Saturday in which they’ll celebrate the fact he’s a South African who plays for the Springboks.
Another youngster who plays with the maturity of a veteran is Pat Lambie. National coach Heyneke Meyer has been reluctant on Lambie. Why? Who knows?
Lambie has shown his class as a person through a winter of frustration at national level. Picked as a bench warmer and only viewed as a fullback option he never spoke out against the coach and never threatened of a move to French or English club rugby. He spoke only when given a chance to start at flyhalf for the Sharks and his speaking came by way of performance. He was more commander than cavalier against the Bulls in the Sharks 20-3 semi-final victory.
He looked more Dan Carter than Quade Cooper in controlling the semi-final, which is a compliment of his class.
Lambie, two seasons ago, was brilliant in the Sharks’ Currie Cup final win against Western Province, but his versatility has been to his detriment. He can play 10, 12, 13 and 15 and he wouldn’t be out of place on the wing, but because of this quality he has become a jack of all trades when he has the potential to become the master of one.
Lambie really has been impressive at flyhalf in the most understated, yet effective manner. The hope is Meyer can review his earlier opinion that Lambie is a 15 and not a 10, and not fear misguided accusations that a change of opinion is because of a state of confusion.
Lambie, on the pending Bok tour, must get some game time at 10. Expect a big game from him in Durban on Saturday against Western Province. He’ll deliver because whenever he has been given an opportunity (not a 10-minute cameo role) the return has been a quality performance.
The Sharks were imposing and brutal against the Bulls and coach John Plumtree’s match 22 selection showed an understanding that play-off matches are determined more by the quality of the seven substitutes than the perceived pedigree of the starting XV.
The Sharks have been South Africa’s most consistent performer in Super Rugby and Currie Cup, with or without their current Springboks. They play the best rugby and they are South Africa’s best team. They will win the title on Saturday.

458 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All
22 Oct 2012, 18:23 pm
Get with the programme Skunk
That Sharks Lover got nooo problem insulting black bloggers here by calling them “shack dwellers” and insulting their intelligence even though it’s streets ahead of his.
22 Oct 2012, 18:23 pm
Nikita
Thats my name. How can i help you.
22 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
@Nikita-337: Look Nikita, I have never come on here and been rude to anyone. And yes if I gave it I would take it. I just don’t do that. You can’t say all Shark Supporters polute this place. You are wrong.
Anyhow had enough, I am most definitely not going to blog here again.
@Robzim-339: Howzit Rob,
I don’t take myself serious, but really saying Sharks Supporters polute this place, from someone that works on this site is damn insulting. Coming from just another blogger I would normally have just not taken notice at all. Because there are some damn weird bunch that do blog here and you can’t take them serious, but really a person working for keo should have some restraint from doing that.
Anyhow good luck to both our teams for Saturday. Cheers Rob I am definitely not going to blog here again. Like ufo left too. Miss the decent bloggers that used to blog here.
22 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
Dawney my fair lady having issue with SL does not mean we all get the same treatment. Its not like i stand behind him vuvuzela in hand singing his praises when he goes sideways.
22 Oct 2012, 18:28 pm
@skunk-349:
Good on you.
22 Oct 2012, 18:29 pm
Are there any province fans intrested in proper banter. And none of this we are underdogs c r a p. The maniacal fans… We need some proper banter this week.
22 Oct 2012, 18:29 pm
@Puma-353:
Welcome back. I said you would be back.
22 Oct 2012, 18:31 pm
Nikey
Trust me I have taken worse. This is soft stuff.
@Nikita-347:
You HAVE done it NOW
Guess you will be controlling your lips a little better in the future.
Maybe you do prefer ‘verkrampte’ isolationism as too much Nikita-Keo POWER intoxicates you.
Since you are not impressed with ” Oh Nikita, is it cold in your little corner of the world” might you consider “You’re better of dead if you haven’t yet Died”?
Or is your preference ” B itch, B itch, the B itch is Back?
@skunk-356:
Only been here a while but the Province bloggers take a lot and yes they give it too. They don’t threaten or run.
22 Oct 2012, 18:33 pm
@Nikita-357:
You’re still smug and hurtful about your sick attitude too?
22 Oct 2012, 18:35 pm
Well well… what do we have here…a Sharks walk-out? O donner
22 Oct 2012, 18:36 pm
@Puma-353:
Give my regards to the boggers on the dark side.
Is that lunatic pieterman stil there
Good luck to your team too. They will most likely win.
I think you must reconsider, we don’t want the sharkies to go… nice to tease them every now and then.
22 Oct 2012, 18:38 pm
@Mostofyou-359:
Ouch
@Mostofyou-361:
Eina
22 Oct 2012, 18:38 pm
Nikita
A lot have ran. And yes they do cop a fair bit. That said I don’t see why they should say people should be banned.
22 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
@skunk-365:
No one gets banned. Only Skop.
22 Oct 2012, 18:42 pm
@Nikita-364:
STUPID you are still moving those lips. Keep them motionless or do the exercises, hourly and for days, that will gain you that CONTROL.
22 Oct 2012, 18:44 pm
@Mostofyou-367:
Sticks and stones.
22 Oct 2012, 18:45 pm
LAMBIIIEEEEEEEE!!!
Sharks playing such a refreshing brand. Well balanced pack, impressive how well they protect their ball at the rucks, and they never looked threatened at all by the Bulls during the match until the dying minutes. I think the underdog tag is just what the stormers need to perform well, epic battle coming up
22 Oct 2012, 18:52 pm
@Robzim-363:
22 Oct 2012, 18:53 pm
@Nikita-366:
I will petition Keo to BAN you for lack of CONTROL of your lips(note it does not read HIPS).
22 Oct 2012, 18:54 pm
@Nikita-368:I prefer whips and chains?
22 Oct 2012, 18:58 pm
Extraball hou jou bek
22 Oct 2012, 19:00 pm
@Puma-353: ignore that women, whenever I have come here and read her posts she seldom sais much of worth and sounds like that little lonely girl at school desperately trying to be liked by the in girls! only comes on when her boytjies.
Yeah I also came on thinking of the fun to be had with WP, but I guess this site has definitely become trash! I’ll head over to a more decent site where there is some good rugby chat! Its a pity I have always thought Cape Town had friendly and welcoming people, I am finding it also houses some trash!
22 Oct 2012, 19:03 pm
We are not all trash, nor street dwellers nor street corner women.
22 Oct 2012, 19:04 pm
@Sharksgirl-374:
Classy indeed.
22 Oct 2012, 19:11 pm
@Nikita-376:
Sal ek dit in rowwe Afrikaans stel vir jou?
Verstaan jy nie dat dit beter vir jou sal wees as jy jou bek uiteindelik stil hou?
Jy skree te lelik en dit is maar net geraas.
Mense het die reg om kwaad te wees as jy hulle lelik behandel en met geen feite om dit te doen.
22 Oct 2012, 19:16 pm
Hou jou bek
22 Oct 2012, 19:19 pm
I know. I am not either.
22 Oct 2012, 19:20 pm
Doen dit jou domding doenit!
22 Oct 2012, 19:23 pm
As a Province supporter I find some Shark supporter rants very strange. I have been called all sorts of names by the very people who are crying wolf. I have read everything and don’t actually know what the issue is.
22 Oct 2012, 19:28 pm
@Mostofyou-380:
Jy is ook nou besig om beheer te verloor. Haal drie keer diep asem…gaan stap om die blok …of gaan speel ‘n pot pluimbal of iets, voordat jy jou naam verder gat maak met jou kinderagtige “rants”. Jy klink al meer soos ‘n histeriese 12 jarige wie se bal weg is.
22 Oct 2012, 19:30 pm
Anyway… The Sharks have proven to be one step too far for provaas over the past few years. Saturdays result is inevitable
22 Oct 2012, 19:32 pm
@Robzim-382:
Howzit bud!
Too many victims now.
@BokkeYouBeauties-383:
Ja congrats on winning the 2012 Currie Cup.
22 Oct 2012, 19:36 pm
@Gumboots-384:
Hi Bill,
I guess he vibe is not so good in the rugby-loving parts of PTA today?
We also left it late on last Saturday- not good for the nerves.
What is your take for this weekend?
22 Oct 2012, 19:38 pm
@Robzim-387:
I like the gloating from the Shark fans. The underdog tag does the world of good. The Sharks believe they are the best, so we will just have to wait and see. Head says Sharks, heart Province. We wouldn’t be fans if we didn’t believe – right?
22 Oct 2012, 19:44 pm
@Gumboots-388:
Of course…… anything is possible in a once off final.
The Sharks have been in awesome form of late- but we all know it cannot last for ever – at some or other time they are going to come crashing down to earth with an almighty bang…… the time is just about right for that I reckon (or i hope, lol)
22 Oct 2012, 19:45 pm
@Robzim-389:
They have been really good. Playing in the fishbowl is going to be really tough. I hope they had their final against the Bulls…
22 Oct 2012, 19:48 pm
Sharkies are very emotional today.
Pressure getting to much.
Compare “The Sharks are polluting the place” with “The brokebacks are gerbilling”
22 Oct 2012, 20:09 pm
@Jeraldjay-391:
Now that the Sharks are not here to answer or defend , you duly go about pissing yourself like a ruptured PIG?
Do you not grant that different people have different sensitivity levels and have the right to exhibit that?
Now go and dry those horribly wet sticky thighs of yours otherwise you mum may tell you that you will go blind from messing yourself in that fashion.
22 Oct 2012, 20:13 pm
Way too many Province Poeftas on this site. I reckon it’s time we have a purge and ensure the sensitive arme little Province Palookas fark off and take their Dawn with them. This site is now claimed as a Sharks site. Come back Puma, come back SL, this is your place now. Your mission: pasteurise the Province plicks.
22 Oct 2012, 20:14 pm
Oh shut it
22 Oct 2012, 20:22 pm
@Mostofyou-392:
ET the defender of the Shark!es.
Never saw that com!ng.
You probably also support!ng your beloved Auss!es aga!nst the world’s top ranked test nat!on early next month.
22 Oct 2012, 20:25 pm
Domzim@-382
Sonder die Sharks hier soek jy maar net geselskap om laater, as dit te warm vir jou word, te kla om jou ‘posts’ te ignoreer- maar jy soekskoor eerste en weer.
Nou skryf jy soos die uitgelokte ware rugby boertjie seuntjie en sien net wat jy wil sien en lieg boonop. Hoe verskillend is dit van wat jou voormalige leiers Malan, Verwoerd, Vorster, Botha en De Klerk se apartheid sienings en houdings?
Kyk net hou lekker lieg jy met hierdie woorde van Saterdag:
a) ” I have not defended him for taking drugs…. I said he is the best TdF cyclist of his generation whether he took drugs or not- ”
b) ” and i stand by it……. or do you think he took more drugs than the other top guys?
22 Oct 2012, 20:27 pm
@Jeraldjay-395:
I defend human rights wherever and whenever it is trampled on and thanks for the clan recognition.
22 Oct 2012, 20:39 pm
Please keep it clean guys. There are schoolkids reading this blog.
22 Oct 2012, 20:43 pm
die groot trek part 2
First it was the bulls, and now its the arme sensitive sharks
Only the little lone martyr ET fighting their long lost soutie cause
22 Oct 2012, 20:47 pm
@Nikita-376: Ag…of course we know where the base of keo and his minions true allegiances lie. It is quite clear that they are mountain hugging poefters. The lot of them.
That makes me want to blog here even more. Considering that the Stormers/WP are the Sharks little b!tches. I mean the Sharks disposing of the Stormers from the Super 15 like a used piece of toilet paper was too beautiful to behold. Perfection personified.
If the Sharks win this weekend….is that 5 in a row ? That’s even hotter than you Nikita.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 » Show All