Meyer warms to Lambie
23 Oct 2012
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has confirmed Pat Lambie will be considered as a 10 option for the Boks’ end of year tour.
Meyer told Keo.co.za he had been impressed with Lambie’s performances for the Sharks in recent weeks and that the player gives him options at flyhalf and fullback.
Meyer initially saw Lambie more as a specialist fullback, but said that the player had worked hard at certain aspects of his game when with the Bok set-up and that he had translated that into performance in the Currie Cup.
‘I told Pat to work on his tactical kicking. He has really improved in that area and we will look at him as a 10 as well,’ said Meyer, who also confirmed he will assess the form of European-based South Africans playing in the Heineken and European Shield competitions.
‘We showed during the Rugby Championship that if we believe an overseas-based SA player would add value to the strength and depth of the national squad we would include him,’ said Meyer, in reference to the selections of Ruan Pienaar and Francois Louw, both of whom completed the competition as starting options.
‘The tour will provide a last opportunity in the year to assess form and value of players, with short and long term goals in mind. In 2013 I’d like to have the core of the squad settled as we work towards being successful in every Test and fine tune a squad capable of success at the World Cup in 2015.’
Meyer said injury to Andries Bekker was unfortunate and an emphasis would be on the depth at No 5 lock. He singled out the form of Eben Etzebeth and Flip van der Merwe and added that he would turn to an overseas-based SA option only if he believed there was not a player(s) of similar quality in South Africa in said positions.
‘If two players are of similar pedigree I will always first go with the guy in South Africa. The guy playing overseas has to be decidedly better to what is available at the time of selection.’
Meyer is meeting with the selectors of Thursday and confirmed much of the week has been spent working through footage of Heineken Cup games involving potential tour candidates.
‘The core of the Rugby Championship squad will travel if fit, but we are not going to look past a player who is overseas if his form is outstanding and we believe he would be an asset to the national squad.’
Veteran Springbok and former Bulls lock Bakkies Botha has been in good form for Toulon and he could be one of a select few South Africans abroad to make the squad.
Schalk Brits has been a standout performer for Saracens but his is not a name Meyer bandies about and injuries to South African-based props could see the Bok coach look north for tour replacements.
Louw (Bath) and Pienaar (Ulster) will make the squad again.

204 Comments
23 Oct 2012, 14:41 pm
You Dragons asked for it and now you got it.
Welcome home girls.
23 Oct 2012, 14:44 pm
Sheez, Heyneke Meyer showing the players that he is not a closed door as people think!
Good on you Pat Lambie & HM
23 Oct 2012, 14:45 pm
Good call Heyneke.
23 Oct 2012, 14:46 pm
And the guppies wept…………
(Very good news this though, time to see what the kid can do on the international stage)
23 Oct 2012, 14:48 pm
I tell you, HM is really warming my heart.
changing on Flo, dropping Steyn, bringing in Vermulen, acknowledging that Lambie is impressing him sufficiently to be a 10.
Perhaps his man management skills are better than people are giving him credit for?
23 Oct 2012, 14:48 pm
King Lambie in da house!
23 Oct 2012, 14:53 pm
@Nikita-1:
Aint gonna happen.
23 Oct 2012, 14:53 pm
Keo knows his market…
*Cue the lost tribe of the Guppys
o_O
23 Oct 2012, 14:54 pm
Time to shine Lambie.I believe in you boet.
23 Oct 2012, 14:57 pm
@Transformation-8: Nope. It seems the other site has had record Sharks registrations since yesterday
It seems they are gone for good.
How sad my fishy friends aren’t here to celebrate this Lambie news
23 Oct 2012, 14:57 pm
Lambie is the perfect ten…and I don’t need a sharks fan to tell me that.
23 Oct 2012, 15:00 pm
Apparently Jacques Potgieter out of end of year tour. Stander would have been great now.
Flo
Vermuelan
Daniel
errr, who else is there?
23 Oct 2012, 15:00 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-4: Do you have some extra tissues for me??
23 Oct 2012, 15:02 pm
More from Tony Johnson:
Before The Rugby Championship (can we have a competition to find a better name for it?) disappears in the rear view mirror, some awards.
These are random, feel free to agree, disagree, add your own.
Most riveting match: All Blacks v Springboks in Dunedin. An epic, brutal battle right out of the history of this great rivalry and, like so many in the past, decided as much by opportunities lost as by those taken.
Most complete performance: All Blacks v Argentina in La Plata. It took a brilliant Pumas try to spark it, but this was the one where potential became reality.
Outstanding individual: Richie McCaw. Surely even his arch-critics have to acknowledge his leadership, his bravery, his refusal to take a backward step.
Five established players who inspired: Juan Martin Fernandez-Lobbe, Nathan Sharpe, Rodrigo Roncero, Kieran Read, Bryan Habana.
Five “rookies” destined for greatness: Eben Etzebeth, Johan Goosen, Aaron Smith, Brodie Retallick, Michael Hooper.
Most disastrous cameo: Dean Greyling in Dunedin. Another five minutes of that and he’d have been added to the list of suspects in the Kennedy assassination.
Player most likely to inflict an injury on their own teammate: A tie between Owen Franks and Scott Higginbotham, with Conrad Smith a surprise contender after rearranging Luke Romano’s facial features in Buenos Aires.
Team of the tournament : Dagg, Jane, Habana, C Smith, Nonu, Carter, A Smith, Read, McCaw, Louw, Whitelock, Etzebeth, Franks, Strauss, Roncero.
Team try of the tournament : Martin Landajo for the Pumas against the All Blacks in La Plata…created by the dazzling footwork of Lucas Gonzales Amorosino. Magic.
Individual try of the tournament: Aaron Smith in Dunedin, probably the most important moment in the whole series.
Best ref: Jaco Peyper. Calm, composed, vigilant but empathetic.
And at the other end of the scale : Allain Rolland. Match-ruiningly pedantic in Sydney, myopic in Jo’burg.
Worst match: Wallabies v Pumas in Rosario. Much needed win for the crippled Wallabies, but the Pumas were out of gas, the mistakes were pandemic and some clown in the crowd started laser lighting Kurtley Beale while he was lining up kicks.
Best athmosphere : La Plata
Best stadium: FNB (despite the traffic snarl getting out).
Biggest mystery: The missed goal kicks in Dunedin. It’s covered, there’s no wind, FGS!
Toughest challenge: Trying to conquer the mixed meat “platter” at Las Nazarenas Steak House in Buenos Aires. Beef, pork, goat, lamb, chicken, sausage. It covered the entire table. We (five of us) just got through it, and no-one needed breakfast the next day. Warning: If you ever go to this place, DO NOT under any circumstance order an entrée or eat the bread rolls.
Best Beer: Windhoek, for the 10th year running.
Best Steak: The pepper-crusted sirloin at the Butcher Shop and Grill, Nelson Mandela Square.
Best weather: Jozi
Worst pickpockets: Buenos Aires
23 Oct 2012, 15:04 pm
The nights are so lonely the days are so sad and
I just keep thinking about the love that we had
And we missing you
And nobody knows it but us
Come back to us now
I see you right there, peeking and reading
but it is not like being here
And nobody knows it but us
23 Oct 2012, 15:06 pm
@John Galt-14: Haha. Good post! It took me 7 years of drinking SAB brands before Windhoek grew on me
23 Oct 2012, 15:07 pm
Doesnt matter who we play at 10.If hes still told to put up bombs,slow service from pienaar at 9,zigag defense,no linebreaking threat in midfeld,Kirchner at 15,hougaard out of position,willem alberts not at ful fitness etc
nothing going to change
Instead Lambie set up to fail
23 Oct 2012, 15:18 pm
@John Galt-14:
The rest of the world still haven’t worked out the SA openside being a 6. I’ve noticed in many of these best of teams, that they include an SA openside along with McCaw in their loose trio.
23 Oct 2012, 15:19 pm
Mshini ayisazani. Injani impilo?
23 Oct 2012, 15:20 pm
I can see this playing out.Sharks fans called for his inclusion at ten,but will now turn around and say that Bambi will be set up to fail.I hope it’s not so.
23 Oct 2012, 15:20 pm
@mshiniwami-17: Pienaar’s service once he picks the ball up is quick. He seldom does the sideways run like Guy Cronje for the Lions two weeks ago. He just messes around with the ball too much inside the ruck.
23 Oct 2012, 15:22 pm
marsupalami, Hougaard played his best rugby @ wing …
23 Oct 2012, 15:23 pm
Finally – someone is recognising the talent of Lambie. This guy has the potential to be better than Goosen. He is the iceman of flyhalves. Great temperament – attacks the defenders and distributes smoothly. I still maintain that he will make a brilliant 10/12 combo with Goosen. That, however, is wishful thinking because he is not the carthorse type that SA coaches want at 12. Let’s hope Meyer gives Lambie an opportunity at 10.
23 Oct 2012, 15:23 pm
cry baby bunting mammas gone a hunting, all the little wet fishies a swimming upstream with their sorry little sensitivity feelings hurt
Meyer is one fat cockup of a coach, everything he does is arse about face knee jerk reactionary stupid moron with his thinking in reverse. Now he tries to make out it was his astute coaching why Lambie suddenly put into practice his suggestion to work on his ‘tactical kicking’ turning his game around, this coach is an absolute moron and it shows. Making wrong calls and dismal stupid decisions since day one going in circles learning his trade by hit and miss knee jerk reactions as he goes along.
WP must just play Groom and Schreuder at 9 and 10 and they show these guppies what goes for what.
23 Oct 2012, 15:24 pm
s@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10: sorry, I missed this whole sharks supporters emigration.
please fill me in?
23 Oct 2012, 15:30 pm
@John Galt-14: You mean SA didn’t win the battle of the pickpockets????? Hallelujah for that
Our Kiwi friends would have had a field day……
23 Oct 2012, 15:31 pm
@Nikita-1:
way to suck up, dear….
DISCLAIMER: what meyer tells keo.co.za and what meyer actually does are two ‘delicately’ different things. i.e. just cos he thinks enough to say he’s in the frame does not mean he is going to ne in the frame.
23 Oct 2012, 15:31 pm
@Gtown-25: Nikita will fill you in. Tis all her fault.
23 Oct 2012, 15:33 pm
@KingTJ-13: This will make you sob even harder. Alistair Coetzee doing some Lambie praise singing that will reduce you to a gibbering wreck.
“There is no denying that Pat Lambie is a very special player indeed, one of those really classy players who stand out because of the extra time they have on the ball and their ability to win matches for their team,” said Coetzee.
“I’ve always rated Lambie, ever since I saw him first play. He is an excellent flyhalf, he has all the attributes for the position, and he has shown that since returning to the position since coming back from the Springboks.
“For someone like him, moving back to flyhalf is like getting back onto a bicycle. You never lose the knack of knowing how to do it.
“But I have been amazed at how strongly he has made his point with the opportunities he has been given in the last two matches for the Sharks. He has probably exceeded expectations. Against both Griquas and then against the Bulls he was outstanding.”
Reminded that 12 months ago he had said Lambie should be the Bok flyhalf, Coetzee just smiled.
“My opinion might not be that important, but he is a well rounded player. Lambie had a blinder in the 2010 final against us (where he scored 25 of the Sharks’ 30 points), but he is such a gifted player. Once he sees an opportunity, he will take it.”
You see, everyone loves Lambie – just like we told you.
23 Oct 2012, 15:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-29:
And nobody knows it but us.@Gtown-25:
Blame it on global warming.
23 Oct 2012, 15:36 pm
Is this what a virtual olive branch looks like?
23 Oct 2012, 15:36 pm
Good coaching of Lambie,Heyneke.I remember you saying the same about Habana,coach….until Habs only gave credit to his WP coaches for his turnaround in form.
23 Oct 2012, 15:41 pm
@Nikita-30:
Don’t blame it on the sunshine
Don’t blame it on the moonlight
Don’t blame it on the good times
Blame it on the boogie
23 Oct 2012, 15:41 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-10:
23 Oct 2012, 15:43 pm
Slowly but surely Boks headed the right direction……thank fark!
Spies….gone!
Plod….gone!
M Steyn….about to be gone !
Now if only we could have got rid of these wally in 2010 we could have won WC….
Farkit man…
23 Oct 2012, 15:44 pm
if the NAMBLA (natal man boy love association) members do indeed return then i would like to know what the fark is up with the ticket price fiasco..?..
typical sharkie thinking…
way to shoot the goose you’ve hardly grown.
23 Oct 2012, 15:44 pm
@stormersboy-33: poor boogie
@gunther-31:
23 Oct 2012, 15:45 pm
@grant10-35:
Don’t be too certain about Spies being gone.
23 Oct 2012, 15:47 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36:
They need the money to buy some more players.
23 Oct 2012, 15:47 pm
Now all we need to do is get rid of the fair weather Namibian supporters.
23 Oct 2012, 15:49 pm
Its plain BS. They seem to make a point of overcharging when it comes to finals down here. Anyways il not be paying that much. Dros gateway is the next port of call.
23 Oct 2012, 15:51 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-29: Nah never trust the enemy, they will say anything to throw your game. The bok coach is different, but then again he did say he was keeping keegan for the Australasia end of the tour……So i guess they all praat k.a.k, behalwe my Pa en Plumtree.
23 Oct 2012, 15:53 pm
Just a pity we still got a few Bulls supporters around.Hopefully we can purge them through a second ‘groot trek’.
23 Oct 2012, 15:55 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-26: @gunther-40: alking about dof thieves
Khulubuse Zuma’s car hijacked outside KFC
Times LIVE | 23 October, 2012 09:07
A source said: “They pointed the gun at the bodyguard’s head and demanded he show them how to drive the car. It seemed like the technology of the BMW 740i was a bit confusing for them.”
According to the source, the bodyguard then tried to show them how to start the car but the men panicked when they heard who the car belonged to.
“The suspects panicked when they heard the Zuma name and wanted to shoot the bodyguard… They were scared he would be able to identify them.
23 Oct 2012, 15:56 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: Buy season tickets…..no problem then ( we sharkies are sometimes on cheap side, I think we got it from our Indian cousins here who always want a bargain)
23 Oct 2012, 15:56 pm
@David-39:

that or the cost of erecting a 10 meter solid bronze statue of the legendary pat lambie is a little more expensive than initially estimated
@skunk-41:
ek stem saam, dis totale kak.
do they really need the money that badly? what about the die hard sharks supporters? when last have they had a reason to be happy…
23 Oct 2012, 15:58 pm
@KingTJ-45:
oh well, there’s also that i suppose.
23 Oct 2012, 15:58 pm
@Transformation-44: Only in Africa, still something you don’t know how to use…it is pretty much the same they want to do with the commercial farmers.
23 Oct 2012, 15:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-46: After this Saturday you will need to add an extra five metres to that statue.
23 Oct 2012, 15:59 pm
@Nikita-30: Aint seen anyone flip the bird as well as you yet !!!!!
23 Oct 2012, 16:00 pm
@Transformation-44:
hahaha.
when they saw it was parked outside the Drive thru. they should have twigged it belonged to KFC Zuma.
he was actually sitting in the passenger seat at the time but hijackers just thought that the airbags had deployed.
23 Oct 2012, 16:00 pm
@Transformation-44: Even funnier than how doff the ‘hi-jackers’ were, is this HEADLINE.
“Khulubuse Zuma’s car hijacked outside KFC”
23 Oct 2012, 16:01 pm
@Transformation-44: Ah yes KFC the natural watering hole of the fat cat species.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: this is going to really annoy Tacitus as gate takings mean a lot to him
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-46:
@Transformation-44:
I’m assuming Khulubuse was inside the KFC at the time.
23 Oct 2012, 16:04 pm
@wnbb-49: We wanted to do a Statue of King Shaka over the harbour mouth but we might just replace it with Iceman Pat…
23 Oct 2012, 16:05 pm
@wnbb-49: You’ve actually gotta feel sorry for Lambie. It’s never fair to pack such expectation on an individual. And honestly, in the last 2 weeks, the Lambie hype has been way heavier than the Goosen hype.
Me, I don’t think it’s fair on the kid.
23 Oct 2012, 16:06 pm
@WP-Forever-56: no, he was at his Durban North home, the driver/bodyguard had been sent to purchase some grub…
the headline is sensationalist and achieved its objective looking at post # 51, 52. 53 & 55
@WP-Forever-56: Nah, he just goes to the kitchen area, and puts his head in the deep fryers, sucking up chicken pieces nilly willy….
@WP-Forever-56: H couldn’t make up his mind if he should take the family feast or just get a bucket fro himself, He finally settled on having both.
23 Oct 2012, 16:07 pm
@Transformation-59:
Hey, a bodyguard has to eat, too…
23 Oct 2012, 16:08 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-58: No real hype, just hope because we believe in him. He knows we know that he can only try his best……the rest is just k.a’k praat on this website.
23 Oct 2012, 16:09 pm
Lambie will be fine, pressure, its like the kids staple diet
23 Oct 2012, 16:09 pm
I heard HM taking a 32 man squad and happy to consider some Euro Boks….
My 32 would be
15 Kirchner…Taute
14 JPP’ ”Rhule
11 Habana …Aplon..
13 jdj…..P Jordaan
12 JDV….
10 Lambie…Jantjes
9 Hougaard…Pienaar…Vermaak
8 Vermeulen…..keegan
7 Deysel….Alberts
6 F Louw….D Fourie
5 J Kruger….Bressler PsD T ..
4 Etsebeth…Flippie
3 Jannie Du Plessis….BJ Botha
2 chilliboy…..strauss….Burden
1 guthro…beast…
I believe Deysel and Alberts will do well on the heavier NH fields and 1 of them in tandem with Vermeulen and F Louw will give is a hard edged loose trio suited to conditions…
Lack of depth at 12 a big concern with no F Steyn….going to be in a bit of a hole if JDV doesent make tour….
23 Oct 2012, 16:10 pm
>The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food:
How’s the KD Lang collection comming on ??????????????????
23 Oct 2012, 16:11 pm
Anyway, all we are saying is give the man a fair chance, he is playing some excellent rugby and is better than anything else out there at the moment, taking in consideration the injury to Goosen
23 Oct 2012, 16:12 pm
@grant10-65:
Would not ave Kirchner there tho
23 Oct 2012, 16:13 pm
@assagai-24: got to agree skop, the guy barely gave Lambie 5 minutes at the end of tests and now he’s implying he’s owed some credit for his flyhalf performances.
@KingTJ-63: I’m actually referring to the media here. The journo’s, ‘kenners’, other coaches etc.
There has been a huge amount of Lambie hype in the media (from all quarters and all journos; north-south-east and west).
Fans always have expectations from their ‘faves’.
When journos, other coaches, respected commentators etc start hyping big time…..the pressure is different I reckon.
my 32 wud be Lambie and the rest, with lambie as capt.
23 Oct 2012, 16:16 pm
@Rockn Rolla-66: Well when you finally hand them over to me, as per the relevant court order – pretty darn well I guess.
23 Oct 2012, 16:20 pm
well we the people u find at the tank in the rain on a season when the sharks play **** are not the target because they know we not goin anywhere.
23 Oct 2012, 16:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: Bakkies lover – the price of the tickets is EXACTLY the same as the price of the 2010 final tickets. So what point are you trying to make about geese?
23 Oct 2012, 16:21 pm
@WP-Forever-56: I doubt it, they dont serve Crystal at the KFC
23 Oct 2012, 16:23 pm
OMW this guy is annoying. At the beginning of the year I was happy that HM was coaching, but after this season I am the mo er in with this guy, every kicker we have had for the Boks this year has kicked terribly for the Boks, but brilliantly for his province, give or take a few occasions, I wonder why. HM should have to explain this.
More importantly, for this poephol to say that it’s because of the training Lambie has had with the Sprinboks that he is performing better at CC level (fly half) is ludicrous. Wake up Heyneke, Lambie scored 20 (25 if I’m not mistaken) odd points in the 2010 CC final, so to say that it’s because of Sringbok training is an absolute joke. He has always been a brilliant player Heyneke and that has nothing to do with the training he has had at the Bok camps. It seems the only training he got there was how to warm a bench with a smile. I guarantee that the only reason this guy has said this is because he has now realised that “Vanish’s” twin brother is and has been pretty **** for the last few months, if not the last year.
Wake up Heyneke, pick players on their talent and not on your relationship with them. Lambie is a better fly half than Steyn and a better fullback than Kirchner. If I was any coach and had those options, I would pick Lambie to play fullback as well as 10 in the same game. And just incase you don’t understand what I am saying, I would play 14 men on my team with Lambie covering both 10 & 15 and I’m sure it would still be better than having ZK and MS rather than Lambie.
@24.assagai totally agree!!!
23 Oct 2012, 16:23 pm
@Transformation-59:
wena.
why haven’t his creditors impounded his chicken machine?
will their be a kfc at nkandla for entertaining foreign dignitaries?
23 Oct 2012, 16:26 pm
Another thing, if I am not mistaken, does PDV’s first year’s winning stats and overall stats beat HM’s by around 29%? I am sure I am right about this, 62% to 44%.
23 Oct 2012, 16:26 pm
@wnbb-49:
legends i tell you… they dont make em like they used to…
23 Oct 2012, 16:27 pm
Sorry guys I meant 20% (typo)
23 Oct 2012, 16:27 pm
@Transformation-54:
what exactly do you mean by this?
its not like he was advocating the bbc squeeze the loftus faithful dry.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-60:
@KingTJ-61:
23 Oct 2012, 16:28 pm
@BokkeYouBeauties-64:
really?
did he also eat bruce lee and kak chuck norris..?..
23 Oct 2012, 16:29 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-79: Bakkies. Now this news should be enough to make you Bulls fans weep. I reckon you will be saying goodbye to Arno Botha soon….
On Spies extending his contract with the Bulls for THREE YEARS: Ludeke’s comments:
“Pierre is a senior player and a leader who will have to carry a lot of responsibility in our vision and aim to once again become a title-winning team next season and beyond. I could not have asked for a better role model, person or player to help us become champions again.”
Bok fans – Meyer has had something to do with this. This WILL be our Bok captain, if Spies shows just a slight improvement in form. Betya.
23 Oct 2012, 16:30 pm
@grant10-65:Some questions:
1. Who will you pick if JdV is injured. Lambie JdJ and Jordaan? Need I say more?
2. No indication that Deysel is close to the Bok setup. His body position is also not good. I will rather bring in a young Arno Botha or Lappies Labuschagne. Will not be surprised if a blindside such as Wannenburg is brought in.
3. Hougaard is not ready. You cannot get away from box kicking when you are a scrumhalf. He does not need to do it with every ball, but in certain situautions it is the only option.
23 Oct 2012, 16:31 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-83: I am amazed at how loyal HM is….sometimes to his detriment. How can you back a player so much when the player clearly has commitment/physicality/tackling issues? Spies should tick the same boxes that everyone else has to, no free rides….the same should go for Morne Steyn
23 Oct 2012, 16:34 pm
@Dylan-78: And his stats in his last year? If you were to plot our winning percentages against time, PDiv came in high and went out low. Not a good investment.
23 Oct 2012, 16:34 pm
@skunk-73:
good for you skunk, stay true.
@Liewe Luiperd-74:
oh ok, was it R170 for the laaities then too?
if the durban people (faithful sharkie fans) are already complaining consider if it rains..?. nothing worse than empty seats at a final. remember, ellis park is your benchmark.
23 Oct 2012, 16:35 pm
@Dylan-80: I hear your point but their circumstances are different. PdV inherited a world cup championship team, HM inherited a new team full of injuries.
23 Oct 2012, 16:36 pm
@Dylan-78: And you conveniently talk about winning percentages and not losing percentages. HM only lost 3 tests out of 9.
23 Oct 2012, 16:36 pm
@Skeppie-85: Apart from his earlier years, Spies has been on a free ride since 2009. He is the Khulubuse Zuma of Bok and Bulls rugby….a leech. Massive suck up power.
23 Oct 2012, 16:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-90: We need Arno Botha at 8 for the Bulls. We need it desperately. He is the opposite of Spies.
23 Oct 2012, 16:40 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-90: Can’t disagree…he seems like a nice guy, strong leader and he has obvious strength’s but his unwillingness to get involved physically seems to just get overlooked, same as MS. I am amazed by this really, professional rugby players should have the basic skills down pat, yeah sure everyone will miss tackles etc but how can you pick a guy as a springbok knowing he does not defend well consistently?
23 Oct 2012, 16:40 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-83:
but if he does show just a little of his early career form we (the whole country) would be the better off, no?
one of the oft understated strengths of the bulls at the peak was the squad and bench strength they had.
and the fact that a guy like danie was happy to warm benches for most of his career yet still gave everything when he got a chance on the field.
arno, by all accounts, is very different to stander. i don’t think arno will/would make the same decision cj has (if the talk of playing for ireland is true).
23 Oct 2012, 16:42 pm
@Horings-89: “ONLY lost 3 tests out of 9″ and you are trumpeting that as some sort of achievement? you are the reason why NZ consistently out classes us when there is no reason why they should.
23 Oct 2012, 16:42 pm
“The impressive youngster has all the qualities you expect from a product of the Bulls loose forward factory. He is extremely fit and strong, huge and don’t know how to quit” This is a part of Botha’s profile on the Bulls website…..they clearly didn’t vet the grammar here.
23 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
@Skeppie-95:
It was probably written by one of these muppets.
23 Oct 2012, 16:44 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-94: Did I once suggest it was good. I said only because his winning percentage is 44%, which would suggest a 56% failure rate, but from a different angle it is ONLY 33%.
Dumbass!!!
23 Oct 2012, 16:46 pm
@Horings-84: Very concerned with the lack of 12 depth….I think JDV will have to play all 3 or move JDJ to 12 in emergency….real problem area…
Arno Botha looks the real deal, just think Deysel is close to back to his best after a horriffic run of injuries….
Would probably start with R Pienaar at 9 in the NH…..Hougaard needs an extended run at 9 to regain some confidence….I wonder whether he is regretting the possible move to CT mooted a year ago?
23 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@Horings-97: you’re assuming people aren’t already aware of that. We are. We don’t consider it to be relevant. You do, but that’s because you’re a Meyer apologist and you are scraping the bottom of the mediocrity barrel to try and justify your idol’s record. We can see through you.
23 Oct 2012, 16:48 pm
@88.Skeppie and
@ 86.Horings: I understand that totally, anyone can take a champion team and turn them into rubbish, but not vice versa. But in 20 years time and onwards, the books aren’t going to be written, “PDV had a 62% win ratio, but he was given a champion team” neither is it going to say “HM had a 44% win ratio, but he was actually given an “underperforming” team”. The history books are going to state the cold hard facts. But honestly Bru, I do understand your point, but sadly it wont matter in 20, 30 or 40 years time.
89.Horings: bru, a draw is a loss! Again, in the history books it will be about how many he waon and lost/drew. So as far as im concerned, a draw is a loss, especially when we are a champion nation and especially when those draws come from the hands of the Pumas and Roses.
23 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@grant10-98: Who are our other options at 12? The only real name that comes to mind is Tim Whitehead. It’s a serious worry. I reckon for the conditions in the NH Pienaar at 9 is a must with Lambie at 10, if we can get JdV back into 12 it will give some scope to give JdJ a chance which he deserves. With JPP and Habana both in great form we should have a really good backline available. I woud also give Taute a run at 15.
23 Oct 2012, 16:49 pm
@grant10-98: Well Hougaard got his run at 9 for the Bulls for the entire super rugby season. He would have struggled at the Stormers as well. He needs to work on some things and I will not even take him on tour.
He has a decision to make. If he wants to keep playing 9, he needs to get his kicking right and I think it is something he can get right on the practise field.
23 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
Lmfao, suprised it doesn’t read: he are extremely fit and strong
23 Oct 2012, 16:50 pm
@Horings-91: @Skeppie-92: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-93: When you have a natural leader, and gifted fella like Arno Botha ready to claim the Bulls No 8 jersey as his own, you don’t need a guy like Spies blocking him.
Spies by all accounts is an all round ‘nice guy’, so hopefully he understands why Ludeke HAS to bench him
Although if Spies (as captain – mistake No 1) gets to start every game, it’s a bonus for the opposition. I’d be more than happy with Arno on the bench from a Stormer perspective…..From a Bok perspective, I want Botha starting at least 75% of the Bulls games, ready for the international season.
23 Oct 2012, 16:51 pm
@Dylan-100: Also a fair point……all in all we should be winning 80% of our games anyway with our pedigree, history and resources so fair enough
23 Oct 2012, 16:55 pm
@Dylan-100: A draw has never been a loss. In the history book it will show games played, games won, games lost, games drawn. I have read history books with those exact record. I am sure every log has those same records.
@Liewe Luiperd-99: Well if you understood it why did you reach the wrong conclusion, which is me thinking losing 3 out of 9 is quite good. It is not.
33% is less than 56% and the word ONLY is therefore appropriate to use without any reference to my thinking how good or bad it is.
23 Oct 2012, 16:56 pm
@gunther-96:
Nah, it was Nikita “poluting” their site.
23 Oct 2012, 16:57 pm
@Horings-106: you’re a bonehead. Nobody cares. It’s all about how many games are won. Dylan has pointed this out to you. The only reason why you hanker on about it is because you are trying to justify Meyer’s shoddy record, admit it!
23 Oct 2012, 17:01 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-108:
As a friend of mine would have said: “HM picked the Boks up out of the gutter and brought them down to his level”.
23 Oct 2012, 17:05 pm
@David-109: lol.
Even Straueli and Viljoen had better records than Meyer presently has! Eish.
23 Oct 2012, 17:11 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-108: When you compare stats to other coaches the number of games drawn must count somewhere? Or are you maybe the opposite than me. You are here to crucify Meyer. Well let us find a middle ground. You get 1 point for a draw and 2 points for a win. That gives Meyer a 55% success rate. Peter de Villiers had a 62% record in his first year, which declined to 55% in his last year (which includes wins against NAM, FIJI and SAMOA) .
Do you want me to draw you a graph to explain when a coach comes in high and goes out low?
23 Oct 2012, 17:16 pm
Is there any counter argument to me saying Peter de Villiers achieved a 55% record in his last year with the most experienced Springbok team to ever play the game and Meyer achieved the same record by playing the All Blacks in Dunedin with less experience in the forwards than either Matfield or Smit.
Surely the only conclusion is Meyer’s record in 2012 is better than Peter de Villiers’ record in 2011 and Meyer did not even play Fiji, Samoa and Namibia to boost his record.
23 Oct 2012, 17:18 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-108: My apologies for all the stats. I know numbers are not the strong point for the average South African.
23 Oct 2012, 17:22 pm
@Big Hit-69: That’s 1 thing that’s suprised me abt HM.
Didn’t pick him as one whose soo eager to take credit for things. PdV always gave the credit away to his players, to a fault where it was to his detriment.
Like when HM stated that he had taken the Boks from 4th to 2nd, only to drop again a few hours earlier, with another blogger highlighting the French results in NH had us moved up before we even faced England.
Very strange from HM
23 Oct 2012, 17:23 pm
Honestly Heyneke! Lambie has 2 good Currie Cup games and suddenly you see an improved player who worked hard on his tactical kicking while with you in the Bok camp??? A player you kept benched the whole season??? So before the Bok camp started, not only was Lambie in your view a better 15 than a 10, he also did not have a good enough tactical boot to be considered as a starter in either the 10 or 15 position. Now after 2 currie cup games…he is good enough!???!
Now don’t get me wrong, I am really happy Lambie is being considered at 10 but not for the reasons HM advocates. Lambie was good enough 2 years ago. All I see is a man backpeddaling on everything he tried to justify before. He knows he screwed up with those initial Bok selections but still does not know how to apologies to us all for this massive mess up of a season (and his part in it). But wait…he may yet still not apologise. Don’t fool yourself into thinking he will suddenly play Lambie at 10 in the run on team. Until that run on team sheet is broadcasted we really can’t be sure of anything with this guy. I mean who suddenly believes in a player after 2 Currie Cup performances? Griquas and Bulls are not exactly setting the stage alight this year. With all that twisted reasoning from HM, still very happy to see Lambie as a Bok 10…but not happy about the lies from HM!
23 Oct 2012, 17:30 pm
So when the keo journalist asked Meyer. “Do you consider Lambie at 10″. Would all of you been happier with “No, he is only a fullback” or “Yes I will, he has worked on his tactical kicking and it showed in the rainy weather against the Bulls. I am happy with the progress he has made”
23 Oct 2012, 17:45 pm
@Horings-116: I’m actually happy that Heineken had the nerve, the bare faced cheek, to even suggest that he had anything to do with Lambie’s performance at flyhalf for the sharks. smile every time i think of it
23 Oct 2012, 17:45 pm
@Liewe Luiperd-108: @David-109:
Some of the thinking here is mind boggling…
This “championship side” that PdV inherited had a poor record just before “2007 RWC”, having taken a 3-1 beating in the 3N and somehow all of a sudden they became World beaters not having faced their 3N foes… mindboggling indeed.
23 Oct 2012, 17:49 pm
Heyneke is a box. He doesn’t deserve a player like Lambie.
23 Oct 2012, 17:52 pm
@Mr Black-119:
Morne Steyn has only been suspended for one match by SARU – he’ll be selected for the End of Year Tour, watch this space.
23 Oct 2012, 18:01 pm
Given Meyer’s obvious tactical style, some of his selections boggle me. Surely he would have wanted to utilize the massive boot of Frans Steyn in play by having him play full back. This would also allow JDV to play in his natural position. Opposition have always been weary of returning a kick with Frans lurking in the back, cos it always gets returned with interest. This could have been the ingredient that would bolster this game plan.
23 Oct 2012, 18:02 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72:
Bwahahahaha…….but a real rocken rolla wants the ******* lot
23 Oct 2012, 18:04 pm
@BokkeYouBeauties-121: I agree, but I suspect that if JDV was at 12 Meyer didn’t like the alternative options at 13.
@BokkeYouBeauties-121: The above is an example of horses for courses. Saying it was horses for courses starting Hougies at 9 then moving him to wing is just poor form.
how do some folk swear here without being edited
23 Oct 2012, 18:06 pm
@Big Hit-123:
JDV’s skillset goes down by 80% when he plays @ 13
23 Oct 2012, 18:08 pm
@Rockn Rolla-126: not saying he is a 13 either but Meyer clearly isn’t keen on De Jongh there and Taute had a ‘mare defensively against NZ.
23 Oct 2012, 18:09 pm
This site will go crazy when Meyer selects Serfontein for the EOYT.
23 Oct 2012, 18:11 pm
My god, saw that waitangi day pub crawl in london, never saw such ugly looking dames at once, it was like basset hound city !!!!!
23 Oct 2012, 18:11 pm
@Big Hit-123: Meyer definitely does not fancy De Jong.
23 Oct 2012, 18:13 pm
@Big Hit-127:
Ave you seen Paul Jordaan play…….Youtube “Paul Jordaan Try Vs Red Semi Final”
23 Oct 2012, 18:14 pm
@Horings-128:
As long as he fires John Mc Farland
23 Oct 2012, 18:14 pm
@BokkeYouBeauties-64: Well,he was piss-poor against the chiefs in the super rugby final.Don’t even start with the Sharkies favourite line that he just came back from an injury.They selected him because they believed that he could do something special…fact.He showed no bmt that day and I believe glorification from guys like you is not going to help him in the long run.Lay off the chap,let him be just a rugby player first and foremost without these superhero status attributed to him.
23 Oct 2012, 18:15 pm
@WP-Forever-120:
Nope, one week. It’s meaningless.
23 Oct 2012, 18:17 pm
@Rockn Rolla-125: don’t swear,mate,it’s not good for your health.We already lost Sharkslover when he started swearing like a sailor on here.
23 Oct 2012, 18:20 pm
@wnbb-133: lol, i was only far-king around with those statements, i even said he should be captain. Bakkies saw the funny side, choend Lambie ate Bruce Lee and sh@t out Chuck.
Truly, i’m skeptical when theres hype surrounding a player, like i am with the Goose. Lambie i personally feel should have been the immediate 2nd choice flyhalf while Steyn losing it. This has been my view all year long.
23 Oct 2012, 18:25 pm
@BokkeYouBeauties-136: :
. understand,bud.no problem.
23 Oct 2012, 18:28 pm
Lambie is a Black Sheep. Morne is mutton dressed up as lamb
23 Oct 2012, 18:28 pm
@wnbb-135: Na man…….i use my profanity sparingly……did sharks lover get all touretts on the keyboard over Meyers Selection antics or what happened
23 Oct 2012, 18:32 pm
@David-134:
You know what…..Morne Steyn needs sabatical, he needs a rest and to go play rugga in the south of France or Japan for 6 months or something……..not so ???
23 Oct 2012, 18:39 pm
@Rockn Rolla-139:
. Ag,we all know that he is a very passionate Sharks fan and usually very protective about the team and certain players in particular.His latest flip was about Lambie and a certain lady on here calling out sharks fans as website polluters.
23 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
@Rockn Rolla-140: Fully agree with you sentiments, I think the best bet would be Japan. FdP will be there to provide guidance and the calming influence.
23 Oct 2012, 18:40 pm
@Rockn Rolla-140:
Morne is just a journeyman who’s day has passed. He;s never had the ability to run a game at test level. It seems that HM though, believes that he can compensate for FdPs management of Morne through coaching. That’s just plain arrogance.
23 Oct 2012, 18:41 pm
Jdj and Paul Jordaan are the best 13′s this year. Both deserve to go on tour.
12′s? JDV of course, and who else? If Frankie is still injured then we could see a bolter in there. He’s already said that he won’t consider Japanese players for the tour, so who then?
23 Oct 2012, 18:43 pm
Lambie is the next big thing,thats what the Sharkies tried to tell you all…speaking of missing persons…where’s HG and RL?
23 Oct 2012, 18:43 pm
@wnbb-141: SL is in fact one of the main contributors RT, when they started off he was on here trying convince bloggers to join him over there.
23 Oct 2012, 18:48 pm
@David-143: Agree with you,mate.First Habana,now Lambie as well.In my opinion,of course,I believe that he is showing a total disrespect to the coaching staff of the Stormers and Sharks etc etc when he utters stuff like that in the media.If PdV had said that in his squeaky voice there would have been an outcry and ridicule of the poor man in the media and on fans rugby forums like this.
23 Oct 2012, 18:50 pm
@Horings-84: Hougaard’s performance against Sharks told a story of a player who started the year eager to prove he’s the best player in the world, to 1 whose soo low on confidence after being forced to play against his instincts and then told he’s not good enough.
Very poor man management!
23 Oct 2012, 18:51 pm
@Rage-145: Rl will be back in 2014.Hg has been locked up by his wife with only acess to toilet facilities.
23 Oct 2012, 18:54 pm
@wnbb-141:
At least you can spell the word.
23 Oct 2012, 18:55 pm
Meyer warms to Lambie should read; Meyer has learned how to play the crowd
23 Oct 2012, 18:57 pm
@wnbb-149:
With some of the cr*p he talks, I’m surprised he doesn’t already blog from there.
23 Oct 2012, 18:58 pm
@wnbb-147: Remember HM is a coach and not a picker so I fully expect him to take the credit for Lambie’s sparkling performances. After he identified Lambie’s shortcoming in the tactical kicking department, Koen did a good job in assisting the young lad.
23 Oct 2012, 18:59 pm
@Rage-145: so sick and tired of players being billed as the next best thing only for them to be thrown down again as not being able to make the stepup.
Its cos of the expectation we build. No1 player will just arrive in test rugby and dominate, not even SBW did such. Takes time, but recognise the one’s who showcase attributes that we want showcased, and support them accordingly.
23 Oct 2012, 19:00 pm
@ wnbb…hehe…Ive seen alotta guys bidding this blog farewell but most of em always come back in some or other guise…keo.co.za is addictive..RL will be back,the Sharkies too…just didnt expect HG to vanish so quietly into the night.
23 Oct 2012, 19:00 pm
Oh Lort help us, cos he’ll be taking a lot more credit then for shi* that’s got nothing to do with him!
23 Oct 2012, 19:01 pm
@Rage-155: sooo… What makes this blog addictive then mate?
23 Oct 2012, 19:07 pm
@papaown-156: He is the head coach therefore strategy, gameplan, taking credit, and deflecting blame is his main functions.
23 Oct 2012, 19:08 pm
@John1976-153: Heyneke Meyer is neither a coach nor picker. He is an arrogant fuckwit-the end.
This EOYT and all his kaktalk is going to introduce him to a world of pain never before experienced. Hybeterfokkenwakkerword.
23 Oct 2012, 19:11 pm
@145 papawagvijou
No dont get me wrong,Im not claiming that he’s the NBT…Goosen is… but @Lambie certainly is the #1 trending topic(or how do they say on twitter) at the moment…
23 Oct 2012, 19:15 pm
@papaown-157:
Very good question. Maybe the warmth, humality, friendliness and sincerety of the fellow bloggers including those who support different teams or who hold different views
23 Oct 2012, 19:17 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-159: Well he has coach Etsebeth, Habana and Flouw to become world class players in a short time and therefore deserves all the credit. FH, JJ, Greyling and JPot are still work in progress, next year we would be breakthrough year. He seems to be a bit unsure when it comes to the Shark players, therefore they are most benched or discarded after limited gametime.
23 Oct 2012, 19:20 pm
@ 157 Cant quite put my finger on it but hell,some people have been blogging here for more than half a decade..and they keep on coming back for more.
Basically,this place is like 7de Laan,a community in a community.Skop is our version of oom Oubaas.
23 Oct 2012, 19:20 pm
@PissAnt-151: Absolutely.
All spin.
23 Oct 2012, 19:27 pm
@PissAnt-151:
@willievz-164:
you’re not supposed to say that out loud.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-159:
don’t hold back.
tell us what you really think of meyer.
23 Oct 2012, 19:33 pm
@John1976-162: He coached them??
None so blind fella.
23 Oct 2012, 19:34 pm
RL said goodbye when the Lions got relegated, never to return
HG only slithers out after the Sharks win
SL is no great fecking loss.
23 Oct 2012, 19:40 pm
@John1976-162: Louw only had 3 days with Meyer before making his 1st start
(maybe that’s why his vein of form remains rich…) Etsebeth was in form when he was the size of a peanut in his mother’s womb (Etsebeths are born world class and ready…) and Bryan (for some reason)credits his form to his provincial coaches.
Indeed – the only players who have benefitted from Meyer’s coaching, are those he hasn’t selected/worked with/or utilised.
23 Oct 2012, 19:43 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-165:
Let’s see what his EOYT squad looks like Bakkies…..and how we go up north. Even though I have been most vocal about the man, I would still love being proved wrong. (and I reckon many other negative nellies such as I feel the same)
23 Oct 2012, 19:47 pm
Meyer is a playa!
… do we really believe him?
23 Oct 2012, 19:48 pm
I see a lot of rugby was spoken today! How come?
23 Oct 2012, 19:49 pm
@Dawn-167:
come on dawn, where’s the love?
people have put a lot of effort into building bridges and mending fences with the sharkies.
already four dedicated threads and counting (one of them a tribute to a legend at that).
play nicely
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-169:
ok, i’ll be here.
23 Oct 2012, 19:52 pm
Greyling a work in progress? Huhahaha
23 Oct 2012, 19:53 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-172:
What has happened?
23 Oct 2012, 19:53 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-168: Are you saying that HM can’t coach the current and ex-Stormers players to become better players? He took only six years, granted the Bulls ended 1 SR season without a single victory, to take the Bulls to SR glory.
23 Oct 2012, 19:54 pm
dawn is common
wie gee om
23 Oct 2012, 19:58 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-172: Building bridges
Hell Bakkies, it was blood, sweat and tears here today……I even posted Alistair Coetzee’s ode to the Lambie. There is not much more we mere mortals can do 
If Meyer proves me wrong I will wear crocs wiff my jeanpants for a year.
@John1976-175: You are making funny haha yes?
23 Oct 2012, 19:59 pm
@PissAnt-151: Dis nou n kak post vir n slim ou soos jy PA.
23 Oct 2012, 20:17 pm
@Gumboots-174:
sjoe! where to begin? perhpas i should point you in the direction of the evidence.
on the ‘super sharks will win cc’ thread yesterday nikita made the remark that the sharkies bloggers were ‘poluting’ the site, and all hell brok loose
things were said and words were spoken at the end of which every single sharkie supporter in durban and all around the country swore never to blog here again… ever… in solidarity with one another and patrick.
read it for yourself from post #301 onwards.
23 Oct 2012, 20:18 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-177:
these sharkies… they can’t get no satisfaction…
23 Oct 2012, 20:23 pm
Ja Fern
Jy gee om.
23 Oct 2012, 20:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-177: HM actually complained about having to start from scratch by fixing the lineouts, while his NZ counterpart could do all the fancy stuff such as offloading and backline moves. Under HM we will get there but I WC 2015 is an unrealistic target giving our disadvantage. We should just trust in HM, give him 6 years I say..
23 Oct 2012, 20:25 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-179:
SL and Puma? I think I was online last night and figured something was wrong.
I doubt Ranger would ever go over to the dark side.
23 Oct 2012, 20:27 pm
Is something wrong with Jantjies?
The Stormers/WP are dragging their feet in signing him!
23 Oct 2012, 20:28 pm
@Hondo-184:
I thought the deal was signed long ago…
23 Oct 2012, 20:30 pm
@Hondo-184: you have been posting the same line for the past few days now.why?
23 Oct 2012, 20:36 pm
@ 183 gumboots
Where’s this darkside pal?
23 Oct 2012, 20:37 pm
@Gumboots-183:
who knows.
hasn’t been seen or heard from since.
23 Oct 2012, 20:37 pm
@wnbb-186: Hondo is Elton’s agents, that is why he is always punting him during games.
23 Oct 2012, 20:47 pm
@Rage-187:
Hmmm where all the Sharkies meet…
23 Oct 2012, 20:51 pm
i’ve lost a lot of respect for meyer since he became bok coach. purely based on what came out of his mouth. his morning and afternoon talk is not the same. i’m not even gonna talk about tactics and gameplan etc.
23 Oct 2012, 20:56 pm
@wnbb-186:
Only a declaration of intent, no signing as such
The Lions’ CEO said there were ‘few issues to iron out’, that was 10 days ago
23 Oct 2012, 20:57 pm
@Gumboots-183: As soon as I noticed that they were upset with Stormersboy as well,I just knew that the s hyte was going to hit the fan.
23 Oct 2012, 20:57 pm
@Hondo-184:
if i’m not mistaken his contract ends next year so i think his agent is also busy with contract extension talks with lions and or permanent deal with other parties for after next season
23 Oct 2012, 20:59 pm
@John1976-189:
His game speaks for itself, doesn’t need me
Last two weekends were sublime demonstrations of the relegator’s capabilities
23 Oct 2012, 21:03 pm
@mamma_lou-194:
It took Altech and one of the SA biggest bank to conclude and sign a R450 hitech services contract 10 days some few years ago.
Get some perspective, the farce has been dragged on since August!
23 Oct 2012, 21:15 pm
@Hondo-196:
every deal is different and besides neither you or me are privvy to all the information concerning this particular one. all i’m doing is offering a possible reason why its taking so long
23 Oct 2012, 21:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-168: on the other hand darren, Heineke has selected most arm chair critics team and many have failed as they were just not good enough
23 Oct 2012, 21:40 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-178:
Rerig?
Die enigste rede hoekom Jake sy job in SA Rugby gehou het was om die publiek en media te lees en vir hulle wou gese het wat hulle wou ****.
My comment is geen refleksie op enige speler nie, dis net die politiese korrekte kak wat elke afrigter moet besef en hanteer om hierdie job te doen.
23 Oct 2012, 21:46 pm
Why did Nikita go and upset Puma?
She should know better….. !!
23 Oct 2012, 21:51 pm
polluters anonymous
24 Oct 2012, 00:03 am
We was banned
24 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
@106.Horings exactly, you are looking at only 3 losses, but tahts still only a 44% win ratio. And a draw is a loss. When my kids and grand kids look at the books, they are going to read that out of the 9 matches played by the Bokke in 2012, only 4 were won, they are not going to look at the draws or losses. when you google wining stats, it comes up mainly with win ratio, not draw and loss ratio (give or take a few pessimistic sites. And me being a South African, I want the Bokke to be the best, so a draw is a loss to me, that is a 56%lose ratio. Look how much a draw meant with the final Bledisloe Cup, it meant that NZ 17/17 match winning streak came to an end, whether it was due to a loss or a draw, it still ended a WINING streak. So I’m sorry boet but you are wrong on this one.
@108.Liewe Luiperd exactly, games won is what matters.
@ 111.Horings: yes, please draw a graph because I are not verstanding you on this point. WINS is what matters, not losses/Draws. Would you rather win the CC or share it? no you would want to win it, cos as everyone knows, sharing the CC is like kissing your sister.
@112.Horings: yes here is the counter, if your stats of 55% are correct, then PDV still had a better reckord in 2011 than HM has in 2012 because HM is 11% less than PDV (even though he had 4 years to “break” the team down as you are suggesting.
@ 116.Horings: neither bru!!! For goodness sake, read my first statement. Lambie was a brilliant tactical kicker long before he became a Bok.
@ 117.BokkeYouBeauties Thank you!!!
24 Oct 2012, 13:58 pm
Elton Jantjies sliding further down the pecking order afa Meyer is concerned.
It is probably now:
1. Goosen
2. Steyn
3. Lambie
4. Jantjies
A few good performances by Pollard next year in senior rugby and Jantjies may just find him at no. 5 by the end of next year.