SA’s long-term investment
23 Oct 2012
Johan Goosen has the potential to become a truly world-class flyhalf for the Springboks.
Every elite rugby playing country wishes they had a Dan Carter. But none more so than the All Blacks’ bitter rivals, the Springboks.
There have been false dawns, Gaffie du Toit the most notable of those. Others have been cast aside early as pretenders. Not so Goosen. He has something special, with just enough special to stir hope that the Springboks may have, in him, at very least a strong rebuttal to Carter, at best an answer to him.
BUY THE NEW ISSUE NOW FOR JUST R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION) OR GET 12 ISSUES FOR JUST R69.95!
In an exclusive interview with SA Rugby magazine, Goosen talks about:
- How he doesn’t feel the pressure of Test rugby
- Why he sometimes gets very emotional
- His early playing days
- Why he’s always prepared to ‘have a go’ when it comes to long-range goal kicks
- Why there’s no difference between kicking for posts at Super Rugby and Test levels
- How he deals with criticism
- His preferred style of play
- His challengers for the Bok No 10 jersey
- Why he’ll stay at the Cheetahs
– Why the Springboks must make an honest assessment of their 2012 season if they are to improve
– Once South African rugby’s forgotten man, Francois Louw could ironically become one of the Springboks’ most important figures in seasons to come
– Cory Jane has proven that size doesn’t matter when it comes to Test wings
– SA Rugby magazine analyses the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opponents
– Leinster hooker Richardt Strauss could soon be representing Ireland on the Test stage
– Tim Visser was born and raised in the Netherlands, where rugby is an insignificant sport. Now he’s playing at the highest level for Scotland
– England centre Brad Barritt is finally starting to realise his potential as a Test player
– Ghanaian-born wing Raymond Rhule had an outstanding Currie Cup for the Cheetahs
– JP du Plessis is pleased to be back in the Western Cape after short stints with the Sydney Roosters and Melbourne Rebels
– Warren Gatland will become the second New Zealander to coach the Lions when they tour Australia next year, but he’s unlikely to make the same mistakes as Graham Henry in 2001
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter
Like SA Rugby magazine on Facebook

416 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
23 Oct 2012, 08:57 am
@Sheriff-48:
Amazing those yanks, I didn’t even notice with my reception.
You must get an extra special HD reception not yet invented here on Earth.
Lucky you.
23 Oct 2012, 09:02 am
@jacoshark-44:
well then we disagree.
fouche has been really good at times for the bulls this season but i agree is too erratic as yet. hopefully he matures better in next season. his kicking is a strength but its not where it should be, in fact i would say his tactical kicking and passing has been better than his kicking, to often.
if you have been watching cc games then try to do so with an open mind and unbiased eyes?
pollard is/has got the kind of talent and ability which puts him in the ‘if he’s good enough he’s old enough’ category. one only need look at his performances in the junoir wc. do not kid yourself if you think that pollard will not be featuring in the bok mix in the not too distant future.
considering some of the factor concerned i would say the immediate and next two to three season bok flyhalf position is very much up for grabs (and so it should be until a chosen one cements it as his own).
we know the coach does not rate lambie in the postion so there is no point in flogging the dead horses there, and elton at best will be journeyman backup/benchwarmer by the look of things. considering that goosen has quite clearly leapfogged him.
i would say it up for grabs for any of fouche, pollard, goosen, morne, lambie and elton to contest for (with goosen in the driving seat and morne next to him, pat and elton are in the back but only cos the drivers are having difficulties at present).
23 Oct 2012, 09:05 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52:
n fact i would say his tactical kicking and passing has been better than his kicking, to often. = goal kicking
23 Oct 2012, 09:15 am
Lambie has to go down in history as thee most dicked around player of all time with regards to the boks. I still cant see Meyer selecting him at 10 even for the eoyt. Besides that, I also still dont buy into all the hype surrounding the goose, way to much smoke being blown up his arse for f okall
23 Oct 2012, 09:16 am
@Brads-51:
Thanks son. Yeah, I have noticed for some time that this guy seldom engages with the audience/crowds but seems to be a relay point of incoming signals be it written or audio.
Who is this guy really? Is he from Egypt?
But does it really matter, whether it is him for another term or Mitt – the Bilderbergers will have continuity with their agenda.
US of A & Vatican = the custodians of the Babylonian religion; conspiracy theory? Wait and see. Go to Google Images and search: St Peters Basilica and Washington DC – see the womb of Isis and obelisks? Co-incidence?
23 Oct 2012, 09:19 am
I would put Dimitri Katrikilus in there.
The future Henry Honiball.
Skinstadt said so!
23 Oct 2012, 09:26 am
@stormersboy-56:
i dont think peter grant would like that (and i think he would have a point).
23 Oct 2012, 09:28 am
@BokkeYouBeauties-54:
the only question in lambie’s case is whether he will stick around knowing he is not the 1st, 2nd and possibly even 3rd choice springbok 10.
23 Oct 2012, 09:31 am
Grant choked like he had a 20 inch cucumber rammed down his throat, during s15 semi final against sharks at home
23 Oct 2012, 09:32 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-57: Haha no he’s going to be a King next year remember?
I was actually just being ironic. During the Cheetahs WP game they complimented the way he was playing and Bob said it reminded him of HH.
23 Oct 2012, 09:39 am
Ghanian born Raymond Rhule. That explains his amazing strength.
23 Oct 2012, 09:40 am
@stormersboy-60:
i know
23 Oct 2012, 09:42 am
Goosen, Lambie, Jantjies
Boks are well stocked in terms of Flyhalf quality.
23 Oct 2012, 09:44 am
I’d rather have Dimitri at 10 – Mr Consistant than Jantjies who blows hot or cold … Elton has brilliant games against weak teams ….
23 Oct 2012, 09:45 am
Heinecken’s main mission will be to bring about some respectability to the win ratio,very interested to see team selection
23 Oct 2012, 09:47 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-52:
HM rightfully picked Lambie at 15 because that is where he played most of the season during SR, thats why he wasnt considered at 10..
Now things just might change…Especially when Lambie will be picked at 10 during next year’s SR..If the Sharks win the final, it will be hard not to admit that Lambie is the number one 10 in the country at the mo…
Jantjies surely a close second… But if continuity prevails Jantjies should get the nod and Lambie be second choice…But if form is the reason for selection then Lambie should get it…
I figure HM will be back to his stubborn ways and give the 10 jersey to MS. Lambie to stay on the bench as backup 15…
The selection at lock is going to be interesting…
23 Oct 2012, 09:51 am
@BokkeYouBeauties-65: We should go out and win all 3 games. The Irish game being the toughest.
Heyneke must keep the team more or less the same. Add 1 or 2 bolters/youngsters.
23 Oct 2012, 09:52 am
I remember a number of young 10s over the years, bursting onto the scene with signs of amazing talent and then disappointing, in a number of countries. Anyone remember Stephen Bretts performances for the ‘Saders when DC was out for a season? Let’s give these youngsters time to prove themselves before annointing the next messiah.
I reckon HM will go with Morne on the EOYT and be extremely conservative in his selections as he tries to salvage something from a disastrous win ratio for the year. His best bet is to hope next years S15 and a return by injured players will answer some of his positional questions before the incoming tours. Whether he then makes better choices is, of course, another matter.
23 Oct 2012, 09:54 am
Sheriff #55 – Are you hinting at the Rothchilds and their ownership of the international banking cartels?
23 Oct 2012, 09:54 am
@Jeez-66: HM rightfully picked Lambie at 15 because that is where he played most of the season during SR, thats why he wasnt considered at 10..
Incorrect. The number of times he played at flyhalf this season was mentioned a few times on here. I think it was 9 at flyhalf until he got injured then 3 at fullback.
Lambie should start for the Boks at 10 on the EOYT. M.Steyn should be watching the EOYT from his beachside villa in Mauritius.
23 Oct 2012, 09:55 am
@Jeez-66:
HM didn’t just pick Lambie as a 15, he stated that he considered him a better 15 than 10. Why, I’ll never know.
23 Oct 2012, 10:01 am
@Jeez-66:
He played more games at 10 than 15.
Hougaard played more games at 9 than wing yet he is playing wing for boks…………
23 Oct 2012, 10:10 am
@Mr Black-72: Strange selections from Mr Meyer. Hougaard will make a great impact player.
23 Oct 2012, 10:14 am
@race of tan-69:
I suppose I’m hinting at a host of things
In a nutshell what I am referring to is the agenda of the Adversary in these last days. You will recall that when Yeshua ben Yosef walked in the Galil (Galilea) he encountered people who were demon-possessed from time to time.
They would say things like: we know who you are, you are the Son of God. Or have you come to punish us prematurely? His response was usually to tell them to shut up.
So, there is demonic knowledge of future events out there. Given the urgency (or the fact that time is running out) there is an escalation of events to push their agenda, the New World Order. To name but a few:
Sep11; Manipulation of the crude oil price; the threat of global warming; financial crises the world over; US Fed Reserve $40 billion a month stimulus (think they call it quantitative easing)
The plans they are still hatching (future) secretly, behind tinted windows and closed boardrooms have been predicted (past) centuries ago
So the event in the US affect us, albeit indirectly – the price we pay at the pump is actually not so indirect…
23 Oct 2012, 10:16 am
@Jeez-66:
He played most S15 games at 10 Jeez.
Only started playing 15 right at the end after injury when Fred was having a cracker.
23 Oct 2012, 10:18 am
Players like Lambie epitomize qualities in great test rugby players. Yes, there is natural talent and skills that have to be there first and foremost, but then there is also a certain temperament that almost transforms players into a different beast at international level. I feel Lambie has been bestowed with this great gift
. The greater the challenge, the greater he rises to it. Sure Goosen may have the edge in the skills on offer column, but whether he has that certain Diddly doo daa i still think remains to be seen. Until we start seeing articles like Goosen Boots Boks/Cheetas into Final, i think his ego needs to be deflated somewhat.
23 Oct 2012, 10:19 am
My bok team for EOYT
1. Beast, CJ (will need the experience), Kitshoff
2. Adriaan, Chiliboy, Burden
3. Jannie, Cilliers
4. Etzebeth, Flip
5. Kruger, Steph du Toit
6. Flo, Coetzee
7. Alberts, Deysel
8. Vermeulen, Daniel
9. Pienaar, Hougaard, Reinach
10. Lambie, Jantjies
11. Habana, Rhule
12. JDV, Whitehead
13. JdJ, JJ
14. JPP, Basson
15. Kirchner, Taute
23 Oct 2012, 10:22 am
Ok let me say something about rugby here quickly:
The Sharks should win quite comfortably as they are the more balanced unit. It’s sad for me to say that as a Province fan, but that’s the reality.
Province’s strength and chance is the enthusiasm of youth.
They have nothing to lose; to play conservative – or differently stated, to play Heyneke Meyer rugby will be suicidal. They need to go out there and surprise the Sharks – that is there only chance.
By speeding up the game, they will tire the more experienced /older Sharks players and then anything can happen.
But I would not be surprised if the Sharks prevail… and if they do then it will be the 3rd consecutive year that a Kiwi coach wins our domestic competition
23 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
‘their only chance’
23 Oct 2012, 10:23 am
@Mr Black-72: There’s not much sense, in trying to find sense in Meyer’s selections
Coaching and tactic aside, surely personnel is always the biggest factor.
23 Oct 2012, 10:24 am
@Sasuke-77:
Is Frans out for the year?
23 Oct 2012, 10:26 am
sheriff – You should create your own blog with this stuff, fascinating!!
23 Oct 2012, 10:33 am
@Sasuke-77: Meyer would love a pack of heavies like that to start
23 Oct 2012, 10:33 am
@David-81: Yip i think so. Will only be back in December/January.
23 Oct 2012, 10:34 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-57: A draw is like a loss for the All Blacks
Article By: Tony, Johnson
Tuesday, 23 October 2012 3.16 p.m.
Is there anything in rugby more frustrating or less satisfying than a draw?
The All Blacks will treat Saturday’s stalemate in Brisbane as a defeat, while the Wallabies will probably be more inclined to regard it as some kind of victory, although if they are honest with themselves they will now know they let a gilt edged opportunity to score a win with an under strength side against the world’s best team.
Not that the All Blacks playing anything like up to that billing.
It is hard to know what ailed them.
Perhaps they fell back into an old trap of thinking, too far ahead, about the world record for consecutive wins that is now 18 games away again and not two.
It’s hard to imagine but they might have been focusing so much on doing the business for two revered comrades, Steve Hansen and Keven Mealamu, they lost focus on the task at hand.
Maybe they just didn’t get their preparation right and maybe they were just a tad flat after their outstanding sweep of the rugby championship.
Maybe a bit of all of the above, but in the end they were perhaps a little bit fortunate to escape even with a draw, although they made a bold last ditch effort that almost stole it after the hooter.
That would be the one positive they can take out of this match and that is the undeniable fact that they showed a lot more fortitude in trying for the win than the Wallabies. To take a scrum within range of their own posts from a penalty was brave given the chances of conceding a penalty, and they almost pulled it off.
The Wallabies on the other hand simply did not believe in their ability to win by means of anything other than Craig Joubert’s whistle.
He is the best referee in the world, Joubert, even if some consider him to be a “homer”, more inclined to give benefit of the doubt to his hosts. He was tough on the All Blacks at times on Saturday, but you could not fault his composure and control at the end as the Wallabies tried to milk a penalty.
They had every opportunity to try a dropped goal, but Kurtley Beale lost his bottle and refused to call for the ball.
The guy who would have backed himself to take the pot was “Aussie” Mike Harris and he certainly made himself available, but Beale, who had a shocker of a second half, just kept waving the forwards on, and in the end they simply ran out of energy and conceded a penalty.
In contrast Dan Carter may have been disconsolate after the game after missing the drop, but he at least backed himself to have a go in the way Michael Jordan would always shoulder responsibility for taking the three pointer on the buzzer. That’s what great players do, and sometimes they don’t succeed. Carter is not to blame for New Zealand not winning.
It was more a collective responsibility, and they will need to face up to that if they are to complete an unbeaten year because England and Wales will now sense the sniff of an opportunity.
The end might have been thrilling, but it was not a great test.
The Wallabies certainly raised their intensity, superbly led by Nathan Sharpe, although their willingness to mix it spilled over into another gutless assault on the All Black captain.
Scott Higginbotham seems to be the appointed “enforcer” of the Wallaby side but he is wasting his superb physical credentials with his almost obsessive desire to take out players off the ball around the fringes.
He got away with a lot on Saturday night but he did not get away with the knee to McCaw’s face and the subsequent head butt.
He might have been able to lie his way out of the kneeing charge in the way Quade Cooper did last year, but the butt revealed his true intentions. It was pure filth and for the judicial officer to describe it as “low level” misses the point completely.
So like Sisyphus, the character of Greek legend charged by the Gods with rolling a stone up to the top of a mountain, only to forever slip within sight of the summit, the All Blacks have seen this particular rock roll back down to the bottom again.
But they are still unbeaten, even after their worst performance in a year, and while the Wallabies might see this as a sign of promised success when and if they get their full compliment back, they have guaranteed themselves zero chance of catching the All Blacks off guard when they play their two Bledisloe Cup tests in New Zealand next year.
23 Oct 2012, 10:37 am
@BokkeYouBeauties-83: Starting pack
1. Beast
2. Strauss
3. Jannie
4. Etzebeth
5. Kruger
6. Flo
7. Alberts
8. Vermeulen
Only one change from the last game played with Bekker out and Kruger in.
Bench
16. Chiliboy
17. CJ
18. Cilliers
19. Flip
20. Coetzee.
The three front row bench comes into affect for the EOYT right?
23 Oct 2012, 10:39 am
@Sheriff-78: I think the sharks did well against the Bulls cos they were prepared for them, and they’re plan worked. Kept Morne’ out of kicking range virtually the whole game and kept their discipline. 3 points against is a fair reflection of that plan working well. The Sharks will have to believe that the Stormers are going to want to keep the ball more. It’s definitely not going to be a repeat of last weekend, so i think the Stormers have a good chance, even tho the odds are not stacked in their favor
23 Oct 2012, 10:44 am
@Sheriff-74:
23 Oct 2012, 10:49 am
Just read that Alistair Coetzee requested that new signings, Jantjies and Taute, be allowed to play in the CC final on Saturday in order for them “to get used to the WP culture and structures.” This was “rejected with contempt” by SARU. Coetzee nevertheless indicated that he would appeal the decision.
23 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
@race of tan-82:
Thanks for the compliment!
However, not even I feel to talk about these heavy topics all the time. My idea is merely to table topics. For e.g I’m stating that Sep 11 was orchestrated by a dark force, so that’s something that someone can investigate in their own time.
Use youtube and see what top structural engineers say about the events. See how ‘black boxes’ conveniently disappear…almost like SAPS dockets here in SA
Read up on the Bilderbergers Group and see that it is not just in someone’s imagination. And while one is at it, begin to study what Freemasonry is really about. it’s not the generous charity organisation to which distinguished white gentlemen (and increasingly black ones too!!!!) belong that they would like us to believe …
See why the ANC 100 year celebrations resembled that of the National Party of the Groot Trek.
Oh yes, did anyone wonder why the ANC has a wagon wheel on their logo? It’s actually a sunwheel …we are know that their ancestors did not travel by ox wagon, so why is it so important to be included in the logo??
I guess what i’m saying in a non-religious way: Wake up!!
23 Oct 2012, 10:50 am
@Finfan-89: Serious? Cheeky by Coetzee.
23 Oct 2012, 10:53 am
@Sasuke-86: Its a bull-ish pack, not that there are alot of bulls in it, just lots a bash it up heavies. With a pack like this, we’re stuck with
Plan A: Bliksem;
Plan B: Donner.
23 Oct 2012, 10:58 am
@BokkeYouBeauties-92: lol Who would you add?
23 Oct 2012, 10:59 am
@Jeez-66:
you make good points, unfortunately i don’t have time to answer meaningfully right now… will do so later. for now i wil lsay that ja, probably morne and elton to be picked at 10 for the eoyt with lambie either a fb or covering both postions.
in regards the lock choices… no, its simple… bring back bakkies
23 Oct 2012, 11:03 am
@BokkeYouBeauties-87:
Yeah it could be a fascinating contest!
Province has had their fair share of chokes over the last few years, so how do they approach this one?
I say remove the shackles and run the Sharks to pieces. Well that’s what the Sharks will set out to do.
You see what Heyneke Meyer does not understand is by transferring the ball from 9 to a forward as 1st receiver; you are slowing the game down. Now that he does because he believes that Afrikaners are bigger and stronger than anyone on earth. Why else would he persist with something so stupid?
Sharks will look to breach with Reinach at 9 (Charl as impact player later) transfer to Lambie who has to be on the money. He in turn will offload to another backline player, maybe JPP and then back to the loosies (Keegan and co)
Plum is a Kiwi; that’s how Kiwis play and it will be no different on Saturday.
Province’s big opportunity is to disrupt 9 & 10 of the Sharks
23 Oct 2012, 11:08 am
sheriff – It is rather frustrating reading about the BilderBergers and the Fed Reserve, as these people are untouchable except from Yahweh!
Interesting about the ANC flag, will read up on that!
23 Oct 2012, 11:08 am
@John Galt-75:
wasn’y he injured for a while too?
@Transformation-85:
The Wallabies on the other hand simply did not believe in their ability to win by means of anything other than Craig Joubert’s whistle.
He is the best referee in the world, Joubert, even if some consider him to be a “homer”, more inclined to give benefit of the doubt to his hosts. He was tough on the All Blacks at times on Saturday, but you could not fault his composure and control at the end as the Wallabies tried to milk a penalty.
They had every opportunity to try a dropped goal, but Kurtley Beale lost his bottle and refused to call for the ball.
The guy who would have backed himself to take the pot was “Aussie” Mike Harris and he certainly made himself available, but Beale, who had a shocker of a second half, just kept waving the forwards on, and in the end they simply ran out of energy and conceded a penalty.
———
in the above section he comes close but ultimately fails (TJ aka doos).
oz, by rights, should have been given a penalty for the repeated offsides infringments in the last two minutes as well the extra time al lthe way up to him blowing oz instead.
its got farkall to do with milking.
23 Oct 2012, 11:14 am
@Finfan-89:
seriously, i dont see what the fuss is. they’re not mercenary players coming in from a foreign league for the sole pupose of playing in the knockout games.
i would let them.
but then the sharkies would cry blue murder and say its not fair…. not fair like the way mark lawrence changed the laws of rugby on the fly for them on saturday not fair…
23 Oct 2012, 11:14 am
So,Sharkievarkies like Sharkslover and Puma left over one sentence containing the word ‘polluting’.Disappointed with Puma,but fully expected SL to do pull off a stunt like that.In any case they,especially SL,will be back on Saturday night.I fully expect a Sharks victory.
23 Oct 2012, 11:18 am
@race of tan-96:
I know what you mean.
Judas Iscariot was also untouchable, or was he? Like Judas whose act of betraying Messiah was prophesied long before he even lived, these enemies of Messiah will also plot their rebellion seemingly untouchable.
Judas was the bean counter; the chartered accountant in our modern society those who always look to manipulate people and events to make money…
Remember how indignant he was when Mary anointed Yeshua with the expensive oil? He said: this oil could have been sold and the proceeds given to charity?
This comment did not slip Yeshua’s attention, He actually responded to him and said that she has done a great thing; she unknowingly anointed him for His burial.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All