SA’s long-term investment
23 Oct 2012
Johan Goosen has the potential to become a truly world-class flyhalf for the Springboks.
Every elite rugby playing country wishes they had a Dan Carter. But none more so than the All Blacks’ bitter rivals, the Springboks.
There have been false dawns, Gaffie du Toit the most notable of those. Others have been cast aside early as pretenders. Not so Goosen. He has something special, with just enough special to stir hope that the Springboks may have, in him, at very least a strong rebuttal to Carter, at best an answer to him.
BUY THE NEW ISSUE NOW FOR JUST R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION) OR GET 12 ISSUES FOR JUST R69.95!
In an exclusive interview with SA Rugby magazine, Goosen talks about:
- How he doesn’t feel the pressure of Test rugby
- Why he sometimes gets very emotional
- His early playing days
- Why he’s always prepared to ‘have a go’ when it comes to long-range goal kicks
- Why there’s no difference between kicking for posts at Super Rugby and Test levels
- How he deals with criticism
- His preferred style of play
- His challengers for the Bok No 10 jersey
- Why he’ll stay at the Cheetahs
– Why the Springboks must make an honest assessment of their 2012 season if they are to improve
– Once South African rugby’s forgotten man, Francois Louw could ironically become one of the Springboks’ most important figures in seasons to come
– Cory Jane has proven that size doesn’t matter when it comes to Test wings
– SA Rugby magazine analyses the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opponents
– Leinster hooker Richardt Strauss could soon be representing Ireland on the Test stage
– Tim Visser was born and raised in the Netherlands, where rugby is an insignificant sport. Now he’s playing at the highest level for Scotland
– England centre Brad Barritt is finally starting to realise his potential as a Test player
– Ghanaian-born wing Raymond Rhule had an outstanding Currie Cup for the Cheetahs
– JP du Plessis is pleased to be back in the Western Cape after short stints with the Sydney Roosters and Melbourne Rebels
– Warren Gatland will become the second New Zealander to coach the Lions when they tour Australia next year, but he’s unlikely to make the same mistakes as Graham Henry in 2001
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter
Like SA Rugby magazine on Facebook

416 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
23 Oct 2012, 11:21 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98: no man, they played for the Lions on saturday, Coetzee is MAL!
finfan, where did you read this?
23 Oct 2012, 11:25 am
So why complain about the fact that Barry uses a teleprompter?
Anyone joining a debate society at school for eg hopes to develop the following skills:
1. To think on your feet
2. To articulate your position with persuasion
So why do they set up a Presidential debate? This is supposedly to honour the principles of fairness and transparency to give the American voter an opportunity to see what these candidates have to say on a variety of topics.
They should hear the argument of the other and challenge it. almost like lawyers in court.
By using a teleprompter you are committing fraud in that you are now not seeing that candidate’s views and skills- you are really hearing the puppet master behind the curtain.
So why do they do this? Because everything about them is a lie. You see something that they want you to see, but the truth is something else.
The harsh reality is that the winner has in all likelihood already been decided and they are merely going through the motions. Sick isn’t it?
But Americans love it…
23 Oct 2012, 11:28 am
It was one year ago today.
Ritchie showed the fans how to play.
That’s right Oke Dokies.
NZ have been World Champs for a year now.
23 Oct 2012, 11:29 am
@Transformation-101: Agree, Coetzee is crazy. Apparently the WP players are up in arms about this and threatened to strike if Taute and Jantjies get more than 10 minutes on the field this Saturday.
23 Oct 2012, 11:31 am
@cane-103:
Yeah it’s a year since the ‘Day of Big Relief’
And only a year later and Ted is now plotting the demise of NZ rugby as part of the Arg rugby
Ted may want to prove one more thing: that he taught Steve Hansen everything he knows
23 Oct 2012, 11:34 am
What a difference in perspectives between NZ and SA coaches…
John Mitchel favours Lambie for the bok 12 jersey playing alongside either Jantjies/Goosen. Its a mentality displayed by the AB’s over the years where their most influential playmakers are involved early in phase play or indeed in set piece movements.
Size and where a player stacks up on the intimidation scale has had very little to do with selection. Remember the Carter/Mauger combo, with Umaga outside them? In Graham Henry’s book he underlines his mistake to abolish that combo going into the world cup.
Tackling has always been a technical skill in rugby and since when is 90 kg considered too small?? Only in this country where the tyranny of an oppressive regime still rears its ugly head in the guise of intimidation and cheap shots on the rugby field.
Jantjies, Lambie, Goosen, FSteyn…for now @ least, are our playmakers and three of these boys should be on the field and any coach worth his bloody salt would engineer that.
23 Oct 2012, 11:42 am
@Transformation-101:
if you want to be the best you must beat the best.
sharkies must lose the kiwi mentality and rather choose to play the strongest team they can, where they can, thus righltly earning the honour of being the best team and worthy champions.
this is an opportunity for them to do so.
@fishdish-106:
tackling ability is less a prerequisite than strength to break through tackles / straighten the attack for 12′s i would think.
its not not about lambie being able to tackle at all, its about him not being strong enough to break the line willfully and forcefully, as a 12.
23 Oct 2012, 11:42 am
Show us the article,Finfan…plain and simple.At this stage I can only say that you are bored and full of bollocks .
23 Oct 2012, 11:43 am
@wnbb-99:
I’d expected a bit more maturity from guys of their age than to make an issue of the words from a young girl who, admittedly acted unprofessionally, even though it was a joke.
I see they’re complaining on RT that Nikita actually insulted the whole of Durban and have taken an oath of allegiance to Rudi.
frans steyn is.
Goosen will only be a long term investment if he is well managed, like any good investment. SARU don’t have a good record in this regard. But there is some building needed as Meyer needs to accept that he has no World XV players except maybe Habana and the injured Bissy. There is plenty of potential but Meyer needs to develop this, if he can. Of course SARU aren’t helping, ignoring central contracts and possibly allowing a flood of imports into the Kings and hence a flood of exports to Europe, Japan etc. And SA doesn’t have the PI reservoir that Aus and NZ can draw on. Unless we can fast track a few Congolese into rugby!!
23 Oct 2012, 11:47 am
@Sheriff-105:
I see Sunni Bill Williams is going to fight Francois Botha in a months time in Brisbane.
Get your money on Botha now…………………………………………………..quick as you can…………………………………take any odds you can get………………………………………put as much as you can on Botha…………………………………………..borrow as much as you can, and put that on Botha as well…………………………………………sell your car if you have to………………………………….just get as much dosh on Botha as you can.
23 Oct 2012, 11:47 am
@David-109:
how now? this sounds interesting
23 Oct 2012, 11:50 am
The difference between Cruden and Goosen is that the former was blooded to be back up to Carter while the latter has been thrown in the deep end and now expected to start. He’s too young, not sure of his stats but her looks too small, too injury prone, and too inexperienced. He would be best to spend his down time taking more of those supplements he was caught with but considering what happened to Lance, he’d better be more careful this time. No doubt he has potential needs less pressure on him.
@cane-103: I might watch the replay of the final for about the 100th time to celebrate
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-107:
Hey Bakkies,
It’s Our Anniversary today.
1 year. Cool or what.
@husky-111:
Central contacting, unfortunately, is a long term mission unless the unions are prepared to allow SARU to take over existing contracts. As for the imports for the Kings, that’s also a short term (1 year) measure until they can negotiate with local players.
23 Oct 2012, 11:51 am
Morning earthlings. Did something go down on here late afternoon/evening? I’m reading all sorts of sh y te about ‘walkouts’ by Sharks fans? Dearestfuck I know for a FACT that I was in no way responsible for that, as I was getting on rather well with Lambie’s daddies.
Who p # ssed them off? Or tell me where to read about it.
Currie Cup final week and no guppies to enjoy it with? Woebefuckingme.
23 Oct 2012, 11:52 am
@Finfan-104: ag, where did you read this?
i suspect you are fibbing and fabricating because in the competition rules a player has to AT LEAST PLAY 4 games for the union to qualify for Playoffs, which is why AC and Rassie started Matt To’omua for years ago and benched Conrad Hoffman…
now tell us where you read this?
23 Oct 2012, 11:53 am
@cane-115:
ag cane, do you really want me to humour you for that underwhelming performance by a most underserving lot?
alright fine
well done on celebrating your win.
23 Oct 2012, 11:54 am
@David-109:
Do they have any pic’s of Our Nikita ?
i.e. is it worth me taking a look over there David?
23 Oct 2012, 11:55 am
@husky-111:
@David-116:
i do not agree with this kings foreign player business at all.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-119:
Thanks Big Guy.
@wnbb-108:
Transformation will do the “copy and paste” thing at some stage, I’m sure.
The WP players apparently also want Jantjies to change his hairstyle before he’d be allowed to put on the WP jersey on Saturday.
23 Oct 2012, 11:57 am
@cane-122:
such a chop
23 Oct 2012, 11:57 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-113:
Did you miss the rather dramatic walkout by the Sharks guys last night?
My wifes hairdresser couldn’t have done it better.
23 Oct 2012, 11:58 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-117:
i too would like to hear about this
3 more years as true world champions
meanwhole
in the land of 8th equal, a saffa team is about to win a trophy finally
SARU must be so proud.
@cane-112: He better sign his contract with the Roosters before he gets his jaw broken!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-107:
Bulls supporter aren’t you?
So I guess Wynand Olivier has served you far better than Aaron Mauger or Dan Carter have for the Crusaders at inside center? Think out the box a bit and we may find common ground. I definitely think the ability to off load and fend is important, but not more than making unpredictable, unexpected decisions.
@Transformation-118: There was a ‘tweet’ on this doing the rounds this morning…….
(and proceeded to go into the expected metallic rage with allegations of ‘it’s unfair/it’s cheating/it’s fraud/it’s wrong’)
Quiet a few seem to have believed it
Would have been a massively sneaky move if it were somehow pulled off though. Imagine the wailing…..
@cane-120:
Nah.
23 Oct 2012, 11:59 am
@gonzo-114:
I did tape THAT Final gonzo.
But have never been able to bring myself to watch the thing.
23 Oct 2012, 12:01 pm
@poppa69-127: I missed the Bledisloe test this weekend.
Is NZ still on track for a world-record of consecutive wins?
@David-125: Tell me where to read it. I was online until late yesterday afternoon, and I was getting along really well with S_L and Puma. I logged of when Dawn was bantering with them, and this morning they are gone.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-126: I just want to know what thread I must read
Although I’m going to check on the “super sharks to win the CC” one, because that is where I last saw S_L and Puma chatting happily.
@cane-112:
SBW will destroy Botha.
But why are you changing the topic?
Can it be that what I said resonated powerfully with you
23 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@David-125:

seee-r-eee-aaaaassssssss? this sounds snaaks, very snaaks
which thread?
i’ll start looking
23 Oct 2012, 12:02 pm
@Finfan-123:
23 Oct 2012, 12:03 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-130: oh, thanks lady
23 Oct 2012, 12:04 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-136: I found it Bakkies!!!!! Super Sharks to win Currie Cup thread. I JUST missed the action. Literally minutes after I had logged off. Life’s not fair.
Willie.
nope but they are still unbeaten in over 370 days.
they’ll suffice for me
how longs it been since 8th equal lost? 30 days or is it less? it’s only 23 days isn’t it
when they conceded twice as many points as they scored eish.
@poppa69-127:
You can be a cruel man sometimes Popps.
23 Oct 2012, 12:06 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-134:
It started with a comment by Nikita (301) on the Super Sharks will win thread.
23 Oct 2012, 12:07 pm
@fishdish-129:
look all i’m saying is i would rather frans over patrick as a 12.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-139:

will have a squiz
23 Oct 2012, 12:08 pm
@Sheriff-135:
Ted is just doing his bit for The International Game.
He has to keep busy or Mrs Ted makes him do the ironing.
So he gets out of the house…………………………………………….like any man would.
23 Oct 2012, 12:08 pm
it’s actually only 16 days Caner
I was being kind by adding an extra week
still. I do hope they are able to beat Argentina IN Argentina some day.
23 Oct 2012, 12:10 pm
Ted will be assisting JK in super rugby next season. shame my blues aren’t going to have a decent squad.
@cane-132: You’ve never rewatched it? You should, it’s a lot less stressful second time
It was an ugly game but on second viewing I was more impressed with how we performed.
I also rewatched the last 5 mins of this weekend’s game. Even though we “lost” it was an incredible sight. Confident, decisive, and determined like I’ve never seen the ABs. **** result but it seemed like a turning point for them mentally. In recent years we’d have frozen and not gone for the droppie and been left to wonder what could have been. Now we know at least
@willievz-133:
Are you trying to piss us Kiwi’s off Willy.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-130: However, Coetzee denied reports that he had requested SARU to prevent Lambie from playing flyhalve on Saturday because the national coach made it clear that he was a better fullback and that he should therefore only be used in this position – especially on Saturday.
23 Oct 2012, 12:12 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-139:
I did not even got a chance to say goodbye to my mate,Sl.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All