SA’s long-term investment

Johan Goosen has the potential to become a truly world-class flyhalf for the Springboks.

Every elite rugby playing country wishes they had a Dan Carter. But none more so than the All Blacks’ bitter rivals, the Springboks.

There have been false dawns, Gaffie du Toit the most notable of those. Others have been cast aside early as pretenders. Not so Goosen. He has something special, with just enough special to stir hope that the Springboks may have, in him, at very least a strong rebuttal to Carter, at best an answer to him.

BUY THE NEW ISSUE NOW FOR JUST R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION) OR GET 12 ISSUES FOR JUST R69.95!

In an exclusive interview with SA Rugby magazine, Goosen talks about:

• How he doesn’t feel the pressure of Test rugby
  • Why he sometimes gets very emotional
  • His early playing days
  • Why he’s always prepared to ‘have a go’ when it comes to long-range goal kicks
  • Why there’s no difference between kicking for posts at Super Rugby and Test levels
  • How he deals with criticism
  • His preferred style of play
  • His challengers for the Bok No 10 jersey
  • Why he’ll stay at the Cheetahs

– Why the Springboks must make an honest assessment of their 2012 season if they are to improve

– Once South African rugby’s forgotten man, Francois Louw could ironically become one of the Springboks’ most important figures in seasons to come

Cory Jane has proven that size doesn’t matter when it comes to Test wings

SA Rugby magazine analyses the Springboks’ end-of-year tour opponents

– Leinster hooker Richardt Strauss could soon be representing Ireland on the Test stage

Tim Visser was born and raised in the Netherlands, where rugby is an insignificant sport. Now he’s playing at the highest level for Scotland

– England centre Brad Barritt is finally starting to realise his potential as a Test player

– Ghanaian-born wing Raymond Rhule had an outstanding Currie Cup for the Cheetahs

JP du Plessis is pleased to be back in the Western Cape after short stints with the Sydney Roosters and Melbourne Rebels

Warren Gatland will become the second New Zealander to coach the Lions when they tour Australia next year, but he’s unlikely to make the same mistakes as Graham Henry in 2001

Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter
Like SA Rugby magazine on Facebook

Got an iPad? Get SA Rugby mag’s
FREE iPad app from iTunes

416 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-335:
    patrick lambie’s ceiling is super rugby, boet.
    he will never be the no.1 springbok fh.

• 352.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@gunther-348:

Everyone just goes for the free booze and food…oh, and of course the fancy dress party.

This year was “Wild West”… :lol:

• 353.willievz: Reply to this comment

By the way

I like the rugby balls as bullets in the article.

Good work guys (and gal) !!

• 354.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-337: @Jeraldjay-342: :lol: in Wenger we trust!

Excited about the return of Sir Jack to the midfield. Hopefully he can provide some steel to our midfield.

• 355.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-351:

Jislaaik, nou gaan die Sharks kla dat die Bulle OOK nou teen hulle is.

En ons dog die ouens het ‘n laer-mentaliteit in Pretoria!

• 356.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-347: Ja but that’s how it seemed to me.

• 357.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-351: HAHAHA Throw that bait out there Bakkies. Even you cannot make that anything but a laughable argument.

• 358.David: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-337:
    I don’t think it’s Wengers coaching that’s at fault, but his and the boards insistence on remaining solvent and not throwing money at new players. From what I understand, top players left because they realised that Arsenal would never spend the money needed to acquire the players needed to compete on equal terms with the other top sides.
    Possibly, when the new FA solvency rules start biting he’ll be proven correct.

• 359.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-346:
    come now skeppie, sharkies are every god kenners fancied team and should walk this one by rights. only sharkie i might have bashed is pat.

its not that i dont think he’s good (because he is) it’s because i think there’s better.

• 360.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-351: If that is the case, then Steyn’s level is Varsity Cup…He was only good in the BI Tour, but that was about it.

• 361.Nikita: Reply to this comment

Anyone know of a good coffe shop at Canal Walk?

• 362.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-355: Nee dis mos net julle inferiority complex. Mense in Pretoria het niks fout met hulle breine nie.

• 363.David: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-352:
    Somerset West? :wink:

• 364.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-359: Ok consider this a nibble……who would you play ahead of him?

• 365.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-359: At the moment, not injured? Name them?

• 366.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-333: Would it be nasty of me to give an air punch right about now?

• 367.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-361:

Apparently they serve great coffee at the Cattle Baron there, just ask stormersboy.

• 368.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-355:
    ek skiet maar net reguit wp-vir ewig, dis al. jy sal my nooit van die kant af vind kom soos n kiwi krap nie :lol:

• 369.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@David-363:

Well, if you look at the property market there at the moment, it does, indeed, resemble a desolate wasteland…picture tumbleweeds…

• 370.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-351: Bakkies – begone you heathen. I would start Jantjies or Lambie with a dodgy wrist, in a wheelchair, and suffering with bad gastro before starting Morne on the EOYT.

• 371.gunther: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-352:

did you go as Lilli von Shtupp?

• 372.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-354:
    Wilshere is like Goosen. They are young and have the potential to be legends but can breakdown at any moment.

Last season we survived the loss of Cesc, Chichy and Nasri and survived. This season we lost RVP and we’ll survive to play in Europe. But is that good enough.

• 373.David: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-369:
    Used to go to some great parties there, before it became a Gauteng retirement village.

• 374.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-357:

@KingTJ-360:
    morne steyn is horse kaka at the moment.
    no arguments here.
    i thought he would play his way back into form but he’s been uber kak. and to think he cost us three (or was it four) games with the boks this year… :shock:

@Skeppie-364:
    goosen
    morne
    jantjes
    lambie
    fouche
    pollard

in that order i would pick them with regards eoyt.

• 375.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-370: Please tell me he wasn’t going to say Steyn? Jantjies would be a fair argument….but Steyn…..

• 376.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-361:

@WP-Forever-367: LOL that used to be Sharks_Lovers’s place. Not anymore.

I would go to Vida e on the top level. best coffee in the place.

• 377.gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-376:

he sold?

• 378.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@gunther-371:

The Teutonic Titwillow? No, sadly not…

• 379.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-361: :D

• 380.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@KingTJ-365:
    there you have it #374

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-370:
    honestly, i think meyer will pick morne and elton at 10 and lambie as a fh come utility.

but i have been wrong before.

• 381.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-375: You know he was going to say Steyn :)

• 382.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-372: Yes true about Wilshere. It is not good enough for our high standards but it is better than most clubs. We will break our duck this season.

• 383.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy-376:

;) Oh really. Damning emails.

• 384.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-381: I was wrong! Bakkies says he was kak and is wayyyyyyyy out of form.
    Sorry Bakkies.

• 385.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@David-358: Yes true that is our dilemma now. In the end Arsenal will have the standard business model for running a club.

• 386.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-382:
    Most consistently successful club in the history of English football. Have never been relegated to a lower division,

• 387.KingTJ: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-374: Bakkies, that is a kak choice, Goosen is injured, Morne is kak ( by your own words). Jantjies should still have the inside lane if Meyer was consistent . ( but dont personally rate him) . We will see after this weekend >>>It’s Lambies for the taking I reckon.

• 388.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Wow, it’s so light-hearted on here today.

I haven’t read the word “shack” once!

• 389.Nikita: Reply to this comment

Anonymous, please post your email online. I’m sure Anonymous hasn’t been taken yet. Go ahead I dare you. It is good reading. Share it with the rest. It made me feel really good.

• 390.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-389:

You’ve got mail?

• 391.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-366: Nope go ahead!

@Jeraldjay-386: We make the Champions league every season, Always finish in the top 3 and we make a profit. Impressive.

In defence of Wenger he has stopped buying so much youngsters and rather bought established players such as Arteta, Podolski, Cazorla, Giroud. The team is yet to gel but they are close.

• 392.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

Did Dawn join the exodus?

• 393.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-389:

It wasn’t me.

Love

Shaggy.

• 394.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-390:

A few, but this one wins hands down.

• 395.David: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-380:
    That’s my feeling as well.

• 396.Nikita: Reply to this comment

@gunther-393:

Hmmm

• 397.David: Reply to this comment

@WP-Forever-392:
    No, she just doesn’t have anyone left to complain about. :lol:

• 398.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-394: Please post it. If it’s from Predawn trying to have poor old Fitzella banned again, it might be worth a read. I did see him asking bloggers to ‘mail the moderators’ re: this poor old Skop fella.

• 399.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-380:
    sorry, meant:
    fh come utility = fb come utility

• 400.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Nikita-383: emails?

You getting spammed? Nice.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.