Steyn suspended

Morne Steyn received a one-week ban after being found guilty at a disciplinary hearing on Tuesday.

Steyn was cited for allegedly breaching law 10.4 (a) which deals with the striking of an opponent with, for instance the arm, during following Blue Bulls’ 20-3 semi-final loss against The Sharks in Durban last Saturday.

The Springbok flyhalf is banned from all forms of rugby until 28 October.

Prop Morne Mellet was also cited for his trip on Sharks flyhalf Pat Lambie. But it was decided that the yellow card issued to him in the 30th minute was sufficient punishment.

53 Comments

• 1.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Reasonable official Dragons.

A yellow card on the field at most.

• 2.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Bulls not playing any rugby so the ban means nothing. Bloody joke

• 3.David: Reply to this comment

Doesn’t anyone else find these weekly/monthly suspensions ridiculous? Surely to mean anything they should be match based.

• 4.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@David-3: Rugby still has a long way to go…

• 5.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

It’s all so predictable.

“Okay, he’s found guilty, how many matches do they have this week?”

“None, your Honour.”

“Right, you’re suspended for a week.”

Absolute farce.

Bladdy agents.

• 6.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

What a joke.
    They might as well give him a 1 days ban.
    My understanding is the world of rugby hares any Springboks.
    What the hell is happening here?
    Is the NZRU paying the wrong people here?

• 7.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-6:
    hares = hates

But i have just realised….. maybe we did pay the right person.
    Lambie would have got 8 weeks for the samething, Morne being a thorn in SA side is probably why he only got 1 week and no rugby off.
    Universe is back in order.

• 8.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-7: no no no

this is, as bakkies puts it, South African rugby cleaning up its game :lol:

still, this paves the way for Morne to wear his “Matfield arm guard” in all future games…

• 9.poppa69: Reply to this comment

imagine the outcry if it was a kiwi who only got a one week suspension..

• 10.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-9:
    Yep, it would clear as daylight to a few on here that NZ always gets off and then they will bring out the South African famous e-mail….oh boy lol

• 11.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-10: we have to excuse their largesse though

they have lost the whole travel disadvantage conspiracy when we beat Argentina then SS after flying to each country..

lets let them have this one for a little while longer, ne?

• 12.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-11: SS was a typo, honest.. meant SA

• 13.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-10: if Morne hit you with that arm, you would probably be out for 6 months judging by your increasingly girly comments lately :)

Saying that. it was a rather iffy incident. nothing in it. did you two ladies even see it?

• 14.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Three of the first four posts slate what is a stupid decision but that does not stop the two two Kiwi girls having a go at SA in general in no less than seven posts following…maybe you two should think about taking up a hobby, what about knitting?

• 15.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@shooter-13: @Slartibartfast-14: look at the precious saffas..

cant we also post “tongue in cheek” or is it such that no matter what we post, with smilies as well, that we mean it?

eish..

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

You know what they say, you can dress up a **** with hundreds and thousands and stick a candle in it, it still stays a ****. No matter how many smiley faces you add to any of your posts, your track record over the last 4 years can’t be wiped out that easily.

• 17.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@shooter-13:
    @Slartibartfast-14:

Girls,girls,girls…please
    Just having a laugh….**** me.
    Seems its not right to have a crack at SA sportsmen on here without getting all serious. :-)

• 18.whatever: Reply to this comment

and then anyone who touches the faaking cheat reecheee gets 4 weeks

hahahahaha

Bladdy agents

Faak me sideways even the weatherman was having a little girly hissy because someone touched reeecheee………….epic

very touchy feely country this is…………like an imature self conscious teenager!

Sc rew the smiley………….

• 19.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-17:

Err no thanks, not interested! Ask HG I think he was looking for a pomp the other day…and I don’t think he is too fussy!

Anyway, lets just say I was returning serve…

Have you booked your tickets for your trip already?

PS If you need advice or even a contact name in SA let me know.

• 20.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever-18:
    So we going to do the McCaw thread again?
    Yeah, you like those head butts and knees dont you?
    Good to see you support those sorts of things…. suppose how your team plays has rubbed off on its supporters, which makes it ok.
    yeah.screw the smiley…instead an “up yours smiley”

• 21.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-19:
    Returning serve works better if i was serious :-)

We haven’t booked yet. Looking at about $7500 NZ which seems quite a bit for two people.
    Went to Canada for $4500.00 for two. So getting an agent to have a look for us to see whats going around and whens a good time.
    A good time for us is when its through our winter as you would expect.
    And yeah cheers dude, i will keep that in mind about contacts. Suppose i am on the right website to be looked after :-)
    Dont think too many here would want to meet me then kill me……. would they?

• 22.poppa69: Reply to this comment

seriously Hurricane, there are safer places in the world to visit..

look at the quality of people like whatever, you want to be in a nation full of those types?

good luck to you bro, hope to be able to speak to you if you return :wink:

• 23.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-20:

Hehehehe “up yours smiley”…dare I ask?!

• 24.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-21:

Ok returning serve with you caught in the crossfire!

Airtickets are the killer, rediculously expensive to SA. At R7 to a NZ$ the rest is cheap…

As for your last question, it is called easy prey…

• 25.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-20:

You mean like this?

…………………./´¯/)
    ………………..,/¯../
    ………………./…./
    …………./´¯/’…’/´¯¯`•¸
    ………/’/…/…./……/ ¯\
    ……..(’(…´…´…. ¯~/’…’)
    ………\……………..’…../
    ……….’\’…\………. _.•´
    …………\…………..(

• 26.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-21:

Airfares to SA should not cost you more than around $2200 NZ each dude, any more and you being ripped off…………

• 27.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-22:

yeah like you set a good example of what a keewee is like?

hahahahaha, what a DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOs

• 28.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-21: you just know Whatever has been saving that one for years, waiting for the opportunity to pounce..

we are a giving people us kiwis..

• 29.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-27: mate, you should talk to your teachers, in the almost four years Ive posted here your vocabulary has not progressed at all..

perhaps extra tuition after school might help?

• 30.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-28:

more like you pouncing………….hey you can swivell on it as well

be my guest……….. most dooos’s like to swivell on it so you will enjoy!

• 31.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever-26:

Very much depending on when you fly, around school holidays you will hardly get away with anything below $3k, unless you prepared to fly halfway around the world and taking forever.

• 32.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-30: here fishy fishy..

too easy :lol:

• 33.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-29:

Jeez, you been here 4 years? What you want a noddy badge?

You’ve also left 20 times after making an absolute t wat of yourself

Nothings changed there………… as you were!

• 34.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-31:

True, but if you book in advance you should get in the lower to mid two’s. Most I’ve paid is $2400 I think

• 35.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-33: didnt realise such a small fish could be so vociferous in its desire to keep biting.

• 36.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-35:

sniff the finger……………….

• 37.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-34: thats the most youve paid?

gees, immigration doing there best to get you out of the country huh?

• 38.whatever: Reply to this comment

sooooooooo, when you leaving again doos?

• 39.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-37:

supprised you got to Oz with your record? forged passport?

• 40.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-38: and still biting?

my goodness, Ive never fished in a pond before, but boy, they cant resist the bait can they?

• 41.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-39: dont feel to bad about it though boet, I only need one cast and I can reel in plenty of saffish..

• 42.whatever: Reply to this comment

anyway, getting bored playing with a fool

I’ll let you go do the rounds now, be sure to check all the windows and don’t use up too much co bandwidth on those naughty boy sites you like so much

• 43.whatever: Reply to this comment

and trust me………….I’m not your boet

• 44.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-42: one final nibble huh? :mrgreen:

• 45.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-43: bye bye fishy
    (too small, better throw this one back)

hahahahahaahaha

• 46.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-44:

nope……………one for the road…………did you smell the finger?

Recognise anyone?

Hahahahaha, you big dooos……….

• 47.whatever: Reply to this comment

you all alone now………have fun

• 48.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever-47: just when I thought Id exhausted the little nibbler, he comes back for one final effort.. :lol:

• 49.husky: Reply to this comment

Ah poeps and pain trolling. and here I thought kwees knew something about rugby. Never mind, soon migrant saffers will be well into your system. The Ab’s will be made up of saffers, PI’s and an honourary paka whatever..

• 50.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@husky-49: nah, after Rawlinsons efforts we dont want any more saffas mate… he didnt really do you guys any favours.

a bit like Rathbone going to Aussie, he needed to work on his core skills because he was so far behind..

do you see the trend?

• 51.oodles: Reply to this comment

Steyn was cited for allegedly breaching law 10.4 (a) which deals with the striking of an opponent with, for instance the arm, during following Blue Bulls’ 20-3 semi-final loss against The Sharks in Durban last Saturday.

Allegedly? – Either he did or he didn’t.

Striking a player is not to be condoned, but STEYNE!

Give the man a cigar, never thought he had it in him.

• 52.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Should have been banned for the first few weeks of the S15.

Probably a good thing he isnt banned though.
    A good thing for the opposition that is.

• 53.norman: Reply to this comment

the sighting business is so poorly adminstered.
    steyn in fact misses no games
    what a joke
    and this we call justice
    players will realise that if this type of sentence is imposed then they have nothing to fear and the game must suffer
    and then the officers in charge always bring in the fact that the players have no record
    did you see how the player whom he hit lay in pain suffering on the field?
    skande- dis al wat ek se

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.